DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s response to the last Office Action, filed 8/4/2026, has been entered and made of record.
Applicant has amended claims 1, 7-11, and 18-20. Claim 5 is cancelled. Claim 21 is new. Claims 1-4, 6-21 are currently pending.
Applicant's arguments filed 8/4/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 10, and 11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding clams 1, 10, and 11, applicant argues on page 10 “There is no teaching in any reference of “processing… at least some of the sets of feature data… to generate a plurality of textual captions respectively for the plurality of objects” as recited in amended claim 1.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant points out that Krishnamurthy teaches a system for “Scene Annotation” and at most the combination of arts would result in an output of a caption for the entire scene. However, ¶65 of Krishnamurthy teaches determining scene elements (objects) in a single image frame. “the scene elements may provide a background for the action as shown in FIG. 4 the action is the runner 401 crossing the finish line 402. The scene elements as shown would then be road 403, the sea 404, the sea wall 405, the sailboat 406 and the time of day 407. The Scene Annotation module 120 may generate text describing these scene elements and combine the text with image data to form a caption for the scene.” This shows the scene annotation module generates text (caption) for each object (as described in amended claim 1) then simply combines them into a full scene annotation.
The following example in ¶65 also shows the scene caption is just text for each object combined and the text for each object may be done by a different neural network. “For example and without limitation for the scene shown in FIG. 4, the Scene Annotation module 120 may produce a caption like “It is a sunny day by the sea, a sail boat floats in the distance. A road is in front of a wall.” Several neural networks may be used to generate the text.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 11-17, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnamurthy (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0134316) in view of Zhou et al., “Global Tracking Transformers.”, arXiv:2203.13250v2, April 25, 2022, 10 pages. hereinafter referred to as (Zhou) in view of X. Wu, G. Li, Q. Cao, Q. Ji and L. Lin, "Interpretable Video Captioning via Trajectory Structured Localization," 2018 IEEE/CVF Conference on Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition, Salt Lake City, UT, USA, 2018, pp. 6829-6837 hereinafter referred to as (Wu).
Regarding Claim 1, Krishnamurthy teaches a computer-implemented method to perform dense video object captioning, the method comprising (¶65 The Scene Annotation component module 120 uses an image frame from a video stream presented to a user to generate a text description of scene elements within the image frame:)
obtaining, by a computing system comprising one or more computing devices (¶41 Each module may be separate and independent or each module may simply be a process carried out by single general-purpose computer,) a video comprising a plurality of image frames, wherein the video depicts a plurality of objects (¶65 The Scene Annotation component module 120 uses an image frame from a video stream presented to a user to generate a text description of scene elements (objects) within the image frame;)
respectively processing, by the computing system, each image frame with a machine-learned object detection model to extract one or more sets of feature data respectively for one or more of the plurality of objects that are depicted in the image frame (¶66 The neural networks may be arranged as an encoder pair as shown in FIG. 5. The first NN, referred to herein as the encoder 501, is a deep convolutional network (CNN) type that outputs a feature vector 502; ¶67 The encoder 501 is trained to classify objects within the image frame;)
processing, by the computing system (¶65 the scene elements (objects) may provide a background for the action as shown in FIG. 4 the action is the runner 401 crossing the finish line 402. The scene elements as shown would then be road 403, the sea 404, the sea wall 405, the sailboat 406 and the time of day 407) with a machine-learned text generation model to generate a plurality of textual captions respectively for the plurality of objects (¶65 for the scene shown in FIG. 4, the Scene Annotation module 120 may produce a caption like “It is a sunny day by the sea, a sail boat floats in the distance. A road is in front of a wall.” Several neural networks may be used to generate the text;)
and providing, by the computing system, the textual caption for each object as an output (¶67 The decoder 503 takes feature vectors and outputs captions for the image frames.)
Krishnamurthy does not explicitly disclose processing, by the computing system, the sets of feature data extracted for the plurality of image frames with a machine-learned tracking model to generate a plurality of trajectories respectively for the plurality of objects, wherein the trajectory for each object identifies the sets of feature data that correspond to the object;
respectively processing, by the computing system and based on the plurality of trajectories, at least some of the respective sets of feature data that correspond to the trajectory of each object with a machine-learned text generation model to generate a textual caption for each object; and providing, by the computing system, the textual caption for each object as an output.
Zhou is in the same field of art of image analysis. Further, Zhou teaches processing, by the computing system, the sets of feature data extracted for the plurality of image frames with a machine-learned tracking model to generate a plurality of trajectories respectively for the plurality of objects, wherein the trajectory for each object identifies the sets of feature data that correspond to the object (Zhou, Abstract: Our network takes a short sequence of frames as input and produces global trajectories for all objects. The core component is a global tracking transformer that operates on objects from all frames in the sequence. The transformer encodes object features from all frames, and uses trajectory queries to group them into trajectories. The trajectory queries are object features from a single frame and naturally produce unique trajectories.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Krishnamurthy by generating trajectories for the objects that is taught by Zhou; thus, one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references to improve upon baselines based on pairwise association (Zhou Abstract).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Wu is in the same field of image analysis. Further Wu teaches processing, by the computing system and based on the plurality of trajectories, at least some of the sets of feature data extracted for the plurality of image frames with a machine-learned (section 3: As with the encoder, the architecture of the de coder can be CNN or RNN) text generation model to generate a plurality of textual captions respectively for the plurality of objects; and providing, by the computing system, the textual caption for each object as an output (Fig. 1; Section 1: we propose a trajectory structured attentional encoder-decoder frame work (TSA-ED) which works by incorporating an attentive structured localization mechanism in a prevailing LSTM based encoder and decoder framework. In particular, our proposed TSA-ED is composed of a pre-processing stage for trajectory cluster feature representation and a structured aware encoder-decoder network framework. In the pre processing stage, we extract a set of trajectory cluster features. Each trajectory cluster well captures one specific local motion pattern and it is used in the decoding phase for local spatial-temporal feature attention. During the de coding phase, we dynamically change the feature vectors of candidate spatial-temporal regions in video and simultaneously generate the caption.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Krishnamurthy by inputting trajectories into a model to generate a caption that is taught by Wu; thus, one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since It is able to generate more elaborate and more accurate video captioning than existing traditional global image feature or static object representation based methods (Wu Section 1).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 2, Krishnamurthy in view of Zhou in view of Wu discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein two or more of the machine-learned object detection model, the machine-learned tracking model, and the machine-learned text generation model have been trained on two or more disjoint tasks (Krishnamurthy, ¶67 During training the encoder and decoder may be trained separately ... The inputs to the encoder during training are labeled image frames ... The labels are hidden from the encoder and checked with the encoder output during training ... The input to the decoder are image feature vectors having captions that are hidden from the decoder and checked during training.)
Regarding Claim 3, Krishnamurthy in view of Zhou in view of Wu discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the two or more disjoint tasks comprise two or more of: an object detection task (Krishnamurthy, ¶67 The encoder 501 is trained to classify objects within the image frame. The inputs to the encoder during training are labeled image frames ... The labels are hidden from the encoder and checked with the encoder output during training;) a dense captioning in images task (Krishnamurthy, ¶67 he decoder 503 takes feature vectors and outputs captions for the image frames. The input to the decoder are image feature vectors having captions that are hidden from the decoder and checked during training;) a global video captioning task; and a tracking task.
Regarding Claim 4, Krishnamurthy in view of Zhou in view of Wu discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein two or more of the machine-learned object detection model, the machine-learned tracking model, and the machine-learned text generation model have been trained jointly together (Krishnamurthy, ¶67 In alternative implementations, a encoder-decoder architecture may be trained jointly to translate an image to text. By way of example, and not by way of limitation, the encoder, e.g., a deep CNN, may generate an image embedding from an image. The decoder, e.g., an RNN variant, may then take this image embedding and generate corresponding text. The NN algorithms discussed above are used for adjustment of weights and optimization.)
Regarding Claim 6, Krishnamurthy in view of Zhou in view of Wu discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein processing, by the computing system, the sets of feature data extracted for the plurality of image frames with the machine-learned tracking model to generate the plurality of trajectories comprises generating, by the computing system using the machine-learned tracking model, a global association matrix that assigns the sets of feature data to the plurality of objects (Zhou, Section 4.4: The global tracking transformer takes a stack of object features F ∈ R N×D as the encoder input, a matrix of queries Q ∈ RM×D as the decoder input, and produces an association matrix G ∈ RM×N between queries and objects.)
The reasons for combining Krishnamurthy and Zhou and Wu are similar to that stated in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, this same reasoning is pertinent and applicable to the rejections of claims 7 and 15 below.
Regarding Claim 7, Krishnamurthy in view of Zhou in view of Wu discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 6, wherein processing, by the computing system, the sets of feature data extracted for the plurality of image frames with the machine-learned tracking model to generate the plurality of trajectories further comprises performing, by the computing system, a greedy grouping algorithm on the global association matrix (Zhou, Section 1: Local trackers [4, 5, 54, 55, 60, 66] primarily consider pairwise associations in a greedy way (Figure 1a). They maintain a status of each trajectory based on location [5, 68] and/or identity features [55, 66], and associate current-frame detections with each trajectory based on its last visible status; Section 3: Most prior works define the association greedily through pairwise matches between objects in adjacent or nearby frames [4, 5, 66, 68], or rely on offline combinatorial optimization for global association [6, 16, 65].)
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 has been analyzed with regard to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above as well as in accordance with Krishnamurthy further teaching on: A computing system comprising one or more processors and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media that store computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing system to perform operations, the operations comprising (¶21 a computer platform which is an electronic computing device that includes a processor which manipulates and transforms data represented as physical (e.g., electronic) quantities within the processor's registers and accessible platform memories into other data similarly represented as physical quantities within the computer platform memories, processor registers, or display screen; ¶22 A computer program may be stored in a computer readable storage medium, such as, but not limited to … any other type of non-transitory media suitable for storing electronic instructions.)
Claim 12 recites limitations similar to claim 2 and is rejected under the same rationale and reasoning.
Claim 13 recites limitations similar to claim 3 and is rejected under the same rationale and reasoning.
Claim 14 recites limitations similar to claim 4 and is rejected under the same rationale and reasoning.
Regarding Claim 15, Krishnamurthy in view of Zhou in view of Wu discloses the computing system of claim 11, wherein: the machine-learned object detection model has been trained using an object detection loss function (Krishnamurthy, ¶67 The encoder 501 is trained to classify objects within the image frame. The inputs to the encoder during training are labeled image frames. The labels are hidden from the encoder and checked with the encoder output during training; This will give a detection loss during the training. 150 also explains example loss functions while training neural networks;)
the machine-learned tracking model has been trained using an association loss function; and (Zhou, Section 4.2: We train Lasso jointly with standard detection losses [70], including classification and bounding-box regression losses, and optionally second stage classification and regression losses for multi-class tracking [13])
the machine-learned text generation has been trained using a caption loss function (Krishnamurthy, ¶67 The decoder 503 takes feature vectors and outputs captions for the image frames. The input to the decoder are image feature vectors having captions that are hidden from the decoder and checked during training; This will give a caption loss during the training. 150 explains example loss function while training neural networks.)
Claim 16 recites limitations similar to claim 6 and is rejected under the same rationale and reasoning.
Claim 17 recites limitations similar to claim 7 and is rejected under the same rationale and reasoning.
Regarding Claim 20, Krishnamurthy in view of Zhou in view of Wu discloses the computing system of claim 11, wherein the one or more non-transitory computer readable media further stores the machine-learned object detection model, the machine-learned tracking model, and the machine-learned text generation model (Krishnamurthy, ¶21 Unless specifically stated or otherwise as apparent from the following discussion, it is to be appreciated that throughout the description, discussions utilizing terms such as “processing”, “computing”, “converting”, “reconciling”, “determining” or “identifying,” refer to the actions and processes of a computer platform which is an electronic computing device that includes a processor which manipulates and transforms data represented as physical (e.g., electronic) quantities within the processor's registers and accessible platform memories into other data similarly represented as physical quantities within the computer platform memories, processor registers, or display screen; ¶22 A computer program may be stored in a computer readable storage medium, such as, but not limited to, any type of disk including floppy disks, optical disks (e.g., compact disc read only memory (CD-ROMs), digital video discs (DVDs), Blu-Ray Discs™, etc.), and magnetic-optical disks, read-only memories (ROMs), random access memories (RAMs), EPROMs, EEPROMs, magnetic or optical cards, flash memories, or any other type of non-transitory media suitable for storing electronic instructions.)
Regarding Claim 21, Krishnamurthy in view of Zhou in view of Wu discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of captions are generated based on the machine-learned text generation model receiving a plurality of inputs corresponding to the plurality of objects (Krishnamurthy, ¶65 the scene elements may provide a background for the action as shown in FIG. 4 the action is the runner 401 crossing the finish line 402. The scene elements as shown would then be road 403, the sea 404, the sea wall 405, the sailboat 406 and the time of day 407. The Scene Annotation module 120 may generate text describing these scene elements and combine the text with image data to form a caption for the scene. For example and without limitation for the scene shown in FIG. 4, the Scene Annotation module 120 may produce a caption like “It is a sunny day by the sea, a sail boat floats in the distance. A road is in front of a wall.” Several neural networks may be used to generate the text.)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnamurthy (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0134316) in view of (Zhou) in view of (Wu) in view of Cohen (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0027083).
Regarding Claim 10, Krishnamurthy teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media that store computer-readable instructions that, when executed by a computing system, cause the computing system to perform operations, the operations comprising (¶21 a computer platform which is an electronic computing device that includes a processor which manipulates and transforms data represented as physical (e.g., electronic) quantities within the processor's registers and accessible platform memories into other data similarly represented as physical quantities within the computer platform memories, processor registers, or display screen; ¶22 A computer program may be stored in a computer readable storage medium, such as, but not limited to … any other type of non-transitory media suitable for storing electronic instructions:)
obtaining, by the computing system, a video comprising a plurality of image frames, wherein the video depicts a plurality of objects (¶65 The Scene Annotation component module 120 uses an image frame from a video stream presented to a user to generate a text description of scene elements (objects) within the image frame;)
respectively processing, by the computing system, each image frame with a machine-learned object detection model to extract one or more sets of feature data respectively for one or more of the plurality of objects that are depicted in the image frame (¶66 The neural networks may be arranged as an encoder pair as shown in FIG. 5. The first NN, referred to herein as the encoder 501, is a deep convolutional network (CNN) type that outputs a feature vector 502; ¶67 The encoder 501 is trained to classify objects within the image frame.)
Krishnamurthy does not explicitly disclose to generate a set of bounding boxes and detection scores for the plurality of objects;
processing, by the computing system, the sets of feature data extracted for the plurality of image frames with a machine-learned tracking model to generate a plurality of trajectories respectively for the plurality of objects, wherein the trajectory for each object identifies the sets of feature data that correspond to the object;
obtaining, by the computing system and based on the plurality of trajectories, a plurality of textual queries respectively for the plurality of objects; and
identifying, by the computing system based on the set of bounding boxes and detection scores and using a machine-learned text generation model, one or more bounding boxes with a highest weighted likelihood for each textual query of the plurality of textual queries.
Zhou is in the same field of art of image analysis. Further, Zhou teaches processing, by the computing system, the sets of feature data extracted for the plurality of image frames with a machine-learned tracking model to generate a plurality of trajectories respectively for the plurality of objects, wherein the trajectory for each object identifies the sets of feature data that correspond to the object (Zhou, Abstract: Our network takes a short sequence of frames as input and produces global trajectories for all objects. The core component is a global tracking transformer that operates on objects from all frames in the sequence. The transformer encodes object features from all frames, and uses trajectory queries to group them into trajectories. The trajectory queries are object features from a single frame and naturally produce unique trajectories.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Krishnamurthy by generating trajectories for the objects that is taught by Zhou; thus, one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references to improve upon baselines based on pairwise association (Zhou Abstract).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Wu is in the same field of image analysis. Further Wu teaches obtaining based on the trajectory for each object a textual caption (Fig. 1; Section 1: we propose a trajectory structured attentional encoder-decoder frame work (TSA-ED) which works by incorporating an attentive structured localization mechanism in a prevailing LSTM based encoder and decoder framework. In particular, our proposed TSA-ED is composed of a pre-processing stage for trajectory cluster feature representation and a structured aware encoder-decoder network framework. In the pre processing stage, we extract a set of trajectory cluster features. Each trajectory cluster well captures one specific local motion pattern and it is used in the decoding phase for local spatial-temporal feature attention. During the de coding phase, we dynamically change the feature vectors of candidate spatial-temporal regions in video and simultaneously generate the caption.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Krishnamurthy by inputting trajectories into a model to generate a caption that is taught by Wu; thus, one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since It is able to generate more elaborate and more accurate video captioning than existing traditional global image feature or static object representation based methods (Wu Section 1).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Cohen is in the same field of art of image analysis. Further, Cohen teaches to generate a set of bounding boxes and detection scores for the plurality of objects (¶86 the object selection system 106 can utilize the object classification neural network to tag each bounding box with a prediction of one or more known objects identified within the bounding box. In some embodiments, the label includes known object detection confidence scores (e.g., prediction probability scores) for each of the object class tags;)
obtaining, by the computing system and based on the plurality of trajectories, a plurality of textual queries respectively for the plurality of objects; and (¶58 As shown in FIG. 2 in connection with the act 202, the user provides the query string of “sign” to be selected from the image (can use query taught by Wu))
identifying, by the computing system based on the set of bounding boxes and detection scores and using a machine-learned text generation model, one or more bounding boxes with a highest weighted likelihood for each textual query of the plurality of textual queries (¶130 the object selection system 106 can detect the query object from the potential objects. For example, as shown in FIG. 7, the act 310 further includes the act 714 of the object selection system 106 detecting the query object in the image based on the correlation scores. In one or more embodiments, the object selection system 106 can select the potential object that has the highest correlation score as the detected query object; ¶131 the object selection system 106 can label the bounding box of a detected query object. For example, upon determining that a potential object in the image correlates with the query object, the object selection system 106 can tag the bounding box of the detected query object with a label matching the query object and/or the object class of the query object; this processes can be done for the multiple objects taught by Krishnamurthy.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Krishnamurthy in view of Zhou by generating bounding boxes and confidence scores and using those to determine the most likely bounding box caption that is taught by Cohen; thus, one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references to accurately detect and optionally automatically selects user-requested objects (e.g., query objects) in digital images (Cohen Abstract).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9, and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 8 and 18, No prior art teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein processing, by the computing system and based on the plurality of trajectories, at least some of the sets of feature data extracted for the plurality of image frames with a machine-learned text generation model to generate a plurality of captions respectively for the plurality of objects comprises: uniformly sampling, by the computing system, from the sets of feature data that correspond to each object to obtain sampled sets of feature data for each object; and processing, by the computing system, the sampled sets of feature data for each object with the machine-learned text generation model to generate the textual caption for the object.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, No prior art teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein processing, by the computing system and based on the plurality of trajectories, at least some of the sets of feature data extracted for the plurality of image frames with a machine-learned text generation model to generate a plurality of captions respectively for the plurality of objects comprises: computing, by the computing system for each object, a weighted sum of features in the trajectory from other image frames; and processing, by the computing system, the weighted sum of features for each object with the machine-learned text generation model to generate the textual caption for the object.
Conclusion
/DUSTIN BILODEAU/Examiner, Art Unit 2664