Election/Restrictions
Claim 25 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method of operation, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/31/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-24 in the reply filed on 07/31/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 12-15, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Konrad et al. (US 6363731 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Konrad teaches a fuel cell exhaust system comprising, in figure 2, a first fuel cell exhaust gas cooler, 12, a separator downstream of the cooler, 9, and a first fuel cell exhaust gas heater downstream of the separator which can be any of , 12, 13, or 14 (Fig. 2, bottom of page 3, page 4 lines 46-50, element 12 initially cools the exhaust stream and then later uses the exhaust stream as the cooling medium which absorbs the heat meaning 12 can be both the heater and cooler depending on if the exhaust gas is upstream or downstream of the separator, 9).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Konrad teaches claim 1 as described above and further teaches that the first cooler is a first heat exchanger with a cooling gas as the medium (fig. 2 bottom of page 3).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Konrad teaches claim 2 as described above and further teaches that the first heater is a second heat exchanger with a gas or liquid as the heating medium (page 4 lines 46-50).
Regarding claim 6, Konrad teaches claim 4 as described above and further teaches that both the first and second heat exchangers have a heat transfer medium (Fig. 2, bottom of page 3, page 4 lines 46-50).
Regarding claim 7, Konrad teaches claim 4 as described above and further teaches that the first heat exchanger, 12, is a composite heat exchanger as the wet exhaust gas transfers its heat to the dry exhaust gas meaning the upstream and downstream regions are in thermal contact with each other (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Konrad teaches claim 7 as described above and further teaches that the separator, 9, is in between the upstream portion and downstream portion of heat exchanger 12(fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Konrad teaches claim 7 as described above and further teaches that the first heat exchanger, 12, can be cross-current or counter-current (page 4 line 7).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Konrad teaches claim 1 as described above and further teaches that the exhaust gas line is a cathode exhaust gas line that leads into the first cooler (fig. 2, cathode chamber, 3, leads into first cooler, 12).
Regarding claim 15, Konrad teaches claim 13 as described above and further teaches a radiator, 5, which separates out water from the exhaust gas and can be called a separator (fig. 2, page 4 lines 24-27).
Regarding claim 23, Konrad teaches a fuel cell exhaust system comprising, in figure 2, a fuel cell, 1, a first fuel cell exhaust gas cooler, 12, a separator downstream of the cooler, 9, and a first fuel cell exhaust gas heater downstream of the separator, 13 (Fig. 2, bottom of page 3, page 4 lines 46-50).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-11 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konrad et al. (US 6363731 B1).
Regarding claim 9 and 10, Konrad teaches claim 7 as described above but is silent to a third heat exchanger, which takes the form of a second gas cooler downstream of the upstream heat exchanger region. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, however, to simply duplicate the first gas cooler and place the new cooler downstream of the upstream heat exchanger region in order to further cool the exhaust gas, mere duplication of parts, as well as rearrangement of parts, has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, See MPEP 2144.04.VI. As the end result is simply further cooling the exhaust gas, no new or unexpected result occurs via the addition of a duplicate cooler. Further, Konrad already discusses potentially using a radiator in order to cool and condense the exhaust gas more than a single cooler could do by itself making it obvious to one of ordinary skill to add an additional way of cooling the gas (page 4 lines 23-26).
As the first cooler transfers heat to the cooling medium as discussed regarding claim 2, the duplicate of it forming the second cooler also transfers heat to the cooling medium in the same manner.
Regarding claim 11, Konrad teaches claim 10 as described above further teaches that the fuel cell exhaust system is in a car which can generically be called a housing and encompasses all the heat exchangers (page 2 line 65).
Regarding claim 24, Konrad teaches claim 23 as described above further teaches that the cathode and anode can have separate exhaust lines which can both be condensed to extract water in certain cases (Konrad page 2 line 28). Konrad further teaches that a throttle valve, 6, is known in the art and allows for the amount of flow through the condenser to be manipulated and can considered a shut-off unit that connects the cathode exhaust line to the cathode exhaust outlet. While the valve is exemplified for the cathode exhaust it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to duplicate at least the condensing portion having the throttle valve and put it on the anode exhaust side in order to condense the anode exhaust in the same manner, See MPEP 2144.04.VI.
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konrad et al. (US 6363731 B1) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Yoshitomi et al. (US 20220302479 A1).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Konrad teaches claim 15 as described above and further teaches a discharge line leading away from the first exhaust gas heater and that both the cathode and anode can have individual exhaust lines, the first and second exhaust gas lines respectively (Konrad page 2 line 28), but is silent to eventually merging the lines prompting one of ordinary skill to look at related art.
In a similar field of endeavor, Yoshitomi teaches a fuel cell exhaust system with a cathode and anode exhaust where the exhaust gasses go through their respective humidifier, which can be called the second separator, and separator before merging in order to prevent a backflow of water (Yoshitomi fig. 1 0008).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the fuel cell exhaust system of Konrad and have the cathode exhaust line, the first exhaust line, merge with the anode exhaust line, the second exhaust line, after their respective separators as described in Yoshitomi in order to prevent backflow of water.
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konrad et al. (US 6363731 B1) in view of Yoshitomi et al. (US 20220302479 A1) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Lamm (US 20090104491 A1).
Regarding claim 18 and 19, modified Konrad teaches claim 16 as described above but is silent to the exhaust system comprising a catalytic converter for oxidizing hydrogen in the fuel cell exhaust gas prompting one of ordinary skill to look at related art.
In a similar field of endeavor, Lamm teaches a fuel cell exhaust gas system where the exhaust gas goes through a catalytic converter, 16, which is located downstream of a humidifier, 15, but upstream of an exhaust heating section, 18, in order to clean up unwanted gasses and pollutants present in the exhaust gas (Lamm fig. 1 0025 0029).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to take modified Konrad and further add a catalytic converter as described in Lamm in order to reduce unwanted pollutants in the exhaust.
Regarding claim 20, modified Konrad teaches claim 18 as described above and Lamm further teaches that the catalytic converter, 16, is before an exhaust system comprising a heater, 18, meaning it is necessarily present in the first or second fuel cell exhaust line as those are the only exhaust lines possible before it turns into the fuel cell exhaust discharge line, 21, after the heater (Lamm fig. 1, 0025 0029 0030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the catalytic converter downstream of the merge point, which has been established to be right after the second separator, and upstream of at least the final heater as taught in Lamm as doing so allows both the cathode and anode exhaust to be cleaned of any potential pollutants and the temperature to be normalized at once instead of needing separate systems for each, meaning that money is saved.
Claim(s) 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konrad et al. (US 6363731 B1) in view of Lamm (US 20090104491 A1) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Takeshita et al. (US 20090229899 A1).
Regarding claims 21 and 22, Modified Konrad teaches claim 16 as described above but is silent to an exhaust gas silencer downstream of both the merge point and the exhaust heater prompting one of ordinary skill to look at related art.
In a similar field of endeavor, Takeshita et al. teaches a fuel cell for a vehicle where the cathode and anode off gasses merge and then travel through a muffler (silencer) as the last step in order to reduce noise before discharging the exhaust to the atmosphere (Takeshita fig. 1 0025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take modified Konrad as described above and further add a muffler at the end of the exhaust system after the merging point as taught by Takeshita in order to reduce noise without needing separate mufflers for each exhaust line.
Conclusion
/SEAN R. BROWN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/GALEN H HAUTH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743