DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8, 9, 10, 11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Banninga et al. (US 11,518,289).
The Banninga et al. reference discloses a load-carrier vehicle comprising a load container 206 and a visual sensor 246 which determines the amount of material loaded and dumped from the vehicle.
In regard to claims 4 and 5, see load level (proximate reference numeral 238 in Fig. 1A) , where and the visual sensor 246 which clearly visualizes the particulate or objects that make up the load regardless whether an upper load level is on a substantially flat plane or not. Furthermore, Applicant’s attention is directed to Figure 1A which depicts a load proximate reference numeral 238 that could be considered as being disposed on a substantially flat plane.
In regard to claim 9, see the full paragraph that bridges col. 9 and 10 which clearly describes autonomous operation of the vehicle.
In regard to claim 10, see remote network 300 and remote systems 304 in Figure 2.
In regard to claims 11 and 13, see col. 8, line 66 through col. 10, line 13, wherein the method as claimed would be inherent during normal use and operation of the load-carrier vehicle, as claimed. Furthermore, since the flowrate into the vehicle is continuously monitored, notification that an upper load level has been reached would be implied during the continuous monitoring of the loading of the vehicle.
In regard to claim 14, see col. 10, lines 24-32.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 6, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banninga et al. (US 11,518,289) in view of Jensen (US 9,145,661).
In regard to claims 2,3 and 7, the Banninga et al. reference discloses a load-carrier system with an optical sensor (supra), but fails to disclose the optical sensor as being a LIDAR-type sensor. The Jensen reference discloses another load-carrier system having another optical sensor that takes the form of a LIDAR sensor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical sensor of the Banninga et al. device to be a LIDAR type sensor as, for example, taught by Jensen, wherein so doing would merely amount to the substitution of one type of optical sensor for another that would work equally as well in the device of Banninga et al.
In regard to claim 6, the Banninga et al. reference discloses a load-carrier system (supra), where the optical sensor 246 is disposed on an upper part of the load container (see Figure 1A), but fails to clearly disclose the whether the sensor is centered or disposed on an upper corner thereof. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dispose the sensor 246 anywhere on the upper part of the load container and more particularly in a corner thereof, wherein it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/16/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regard to Applicant’s argument that since the sensor 246 of Banninga measures flowrate of the material being loaded, it can not determine the amount of the material loaded (see page 6, lines 1-14 of Applicant’s remarks), the Office disagrees. The sensor most definitely measures the amount of material flowing into the dump body, especially since the flowrate is directly related to the change in quantity of material over time. Applicant further argues that the sensor 246 of Banninga fails to monitor an upper load level as claimed (see page 6, last paragraph and page 7, first paragraph of Applicant’s remarks), the Office again disagrees and directs Applicant’s attention to the portion of the rejection above in italics for further information regard to the Office’s position. Applicant further argues that Banninga fails to disclose notification when an upper load level is reached (see page 7, lines 5-9 of Applicant’s remarks), the Office disagrees especially since the flowrate into the vehicle is continuously monitored and such notification that an upper load level has been reached would be implied during the continuous monitoring of the loading of the vehicle.
Applicant’s arguments that Banninga fails to disclose the limitations of claim 12, in particular the registering of the position of the vehicle when an object is detected as entering or moving the upper load level during motion of the vehicle, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 12 and 13 has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Claims 12 and 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN O DOUGLAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612