DETAILED ACTION
The response filed on May 04 2026 is being examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Rejection of claim 1, multiple terms “an longitudinally extending region”, “an orthogonally extending region”, “a width direction”, and “a longitudinal direction” lack antecedent bases. It is not clear it refers to what.
Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) (whichever apply) as being anticipated by Kino et al. (US20080213615, herein referred to as Kino).
Rejection of claim 1, Kino discloses a shielding tape (figures 1-2 of Kino) comprising:
a tape material having an adhesive surface (19) and
a thin metal film ( 15) adhering to the adhesive surface (19),
wherein the thin metal film adheres to the adhesive surface while leaving a longitudinally extending region where the adhesive surface is exposed on at least one end portion of the tape material in a width direction (see figures 1-2 of Kino );
and the thin metal film adheres to the adhesive surface while leaving an orthogonally extending region where the adhesive surface is exposed on both ends of the tape material in a longitudinal direction, the orthogonally extending region being orthogonal to the longitudinally extending region (see figures 1-2 of Kino ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cook et al. (US20130133941, herein referred to as Cook) or Miller et al. (US5593756, herein referred to as Miller) in view of Jensen et al. (US4954670, herein referred to as Jensen) or Diaz et al. (US4209352, herein referred to as Diaz).
Rejection of claim 1, a shielding tape discloses a shielding tape (figure 3 of Cook or figure 1 of Miller) comprising:
a tape material having an adhesive surface (216 in figure 3 of cook; or strip shaped adhesive 16 or 20 having adhesive surface in miller) and
a thin metal film ( 212 in Cook; or Miller discloses 24 is metal substrate) adhering to the adhesive surface (see figure 3 of Cook; or adhesive surface of adhesive 16 or 20 attached to 24 in miller),
wherein the thin metal film adheres to the adhesive surface while leaving a longitudinally extending region where the adhesive surface is exposed on at least one end portion of the tape material in a width direction (see figure 3 of Cook; or see figure 1 of Miller ).
Cook or Miller fails to disclose and the thin metal film adheres to the adhesive surface while leaving an orthogonally extending region where the adhesive surface is exposed on both ends of the tape material in a longitudinal direction, the orthogonally extending region being orthogonal to the longitudinally extending region.
Jensen or Diaz disclose and the thin metal film adheres to the adhesive surface while leaving an orthogonally extending region where the adhesive surface is exposed on both ends of the tape material in a longitudinal direction, the orthogonally extending region being orthogonal to the longitudinally extending region (see 12 in figure 2a of Jensen; or see 13 in figure 1 or figure 3 of Diaz).
It would have been obvious to ordinally skill in the before the effective filing date of the shielding tape of cook or miller to have peripheral adhesive surface of tape material or sheet as taught by Jensen or Diaz so that it is secure or protect different parts of tape material as well as configure to tightly secure or seal elongated article within tape material in longitudinal and orthogonal direction of the tape material or sheet (see specification and figures of Jenson or Diaz).
Pertinent Prior Arts
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent arts in the present case, all of which disclose various shielding tapes.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/PARESH PAGHADAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847