DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly
indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/11/25 was considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Linnen et al. (Linnen), US publication no. 2019/0317672.
As per claim 10, Linnen teaches a method for performing thermal management in a server [figure 7; para 18], the method comprising:
receiving thermal data associated with a plurality of data storage devices; identifying, based on thermal data, a first portion of the plurality of data storage devices located in a hot zone relative to a second portion of the plurality of data storage devices located outside of the hot zone [figure 5; para 44, 49]; and based on an identification of the first portion of the plurality of data storage devices located in the hot zone, performing thermal management of the plurality of data storage devices, wherein, performing thermal management includes logically shuffling the plurality of data storage devices to create a distributed hot zone [figure 7; para 44, 60].
Linnen teaches:
[0060] The method 700 also includes redirecting the parity data (e.g., XOR parity data) designated for the at least one parity NVM die to the one or more overheated NVM dies as shown at block 706. In one aspect, the redirecting the parity data includes storing the parity data in the one or more overheated NVM dies having the temperature at or above the threshold temperature instead of the at least one parity NVM die. In another aspect, the redirecting the parity data includes storing the parity data in a location alternative to the at least one parity NVM die. In an aspect, the redirecting the
parity data includes selecting parity data for future write operations to be written in the one or more overheated NVM dies instead of the at least one parity NVM die. In another aspect, the redirecting the parity data includes migrating user data stored in the one or more overheated NVM dies away from the one or more overheated NVM dies, and writing the parity data into the one or more overheated NVM dies. In one aspect, the migrating the user data stored in the one or more overheated NVM dies away from the one or more overheated NVM dies includes moving the user data out of
the one or more overheated NVM dies having the temperature at or above the threshold and moving the user data into at least one NVM die having a temperature below the threshold temperature. The redirecting the parity data may further include activating a garbage collection operation to facilitate migration of the user data away from the one or more overheated NVM dies. In a further aspect, when the
temperature of the one or more overheated NVM dies is detected be at or above the threshold temperature, the method may, additionally or alternatively, redirect parity
data (e.g., XOR parity data) designated to be stored in at least one die of the SSD ( different from an NVM die) or a host, to the one or more overheated NVM dies.
As per claim 11, Linnen teaches of identifying the first portion of the plurality of data storage devices includes determining a pattern associated with a usage of each of the plurality of data storage devices, and the method includes logically shuffling the plurality of data storage devices based on the pattern [para 60, 61].
As per claim 12, Linnen teaches the pattern includes a determination that the first portion of the plurality of data storage devices are used more frequently than the second portion of the plurality of data storage devices during a first time period [para 49, 60].
As per claim 13, Linnen teaches the pattern includes a determination that the second portion of the plurality of data storage devices are used more frequently than the first portion of the plurality of data storage devices during a second time period different than the first time period [figure 7; para 24, 60].
As per claim 14, Linnen teaches the plurality of data storage devices is disposed in a chassis having at least one air channel, the second portion of the plurality of data storage devices includes at least one data storage device disposed directly adjacent
to the at least one air channel, and logically shuffling the plurality of data storage devices includes exchanging memory locations of at least one data storage device included in the first portion of the plurality of data storage devices located in the hot zone with memory locations of the at least one data storage device disposed directly adjacent to the at least one air channel [figures 1, 5; para 24-26, 28].
As per claim 15, Linnen teaches of generating a heat map of the plurality of data storage devices, the heat map including thermal data associated with the plurality of data storage devices over a period of time [figure 5; para 49].
As per claim 16, Linnen teaches in response to identifying the first portion of the plurality of data storage devices located in the hot zone relative, providing a notification to a user interface of the server, the notification including a request for permission to
perform the thermal management, and performing the thermal management in response to receiving permission from an operator of the server through the user interface [para 18, 20].
As per claim 17, Linnen teaches the thermal data includes an amount of data operations performed by each of the plurality of data storage devices, and an amount of data operations performed by the first portion of the plurality of data storage devices is greater than an amount of data operations performed by the second portion of the plurality of data storage devices [figure 5; para 24, 49].
As per claim 18, Linnen teaches the thermal data includes a temperature measurement associated with each of the plurality of data storage devices, and
a temperature associated with the first portion of the plurality of data storage devices is greater than a temperature associated with the second portion of the plurality of data storage devices [para 48, 51, 59-60].
As to claims 1-9, basically are the corresponding elements that are carried out the method of operating step in claims 10-18. Accordingly, claims 1-9 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 10-18.
As to claims 19-20, directed to a machine-readable medium storing the
machine readable instructions to perform the method of steps executed by the system
as set forth in claims 10, 11 and 14. Therefore, it is rejected on the same basis as set forth hereinabove.
7. Examiner's note: Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. MPEP 2141.02 VI: “PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS."
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Jayaraman et al., US publication no. 2017/0046088, discloses a system for managing temperature of a solid state disk (SSD) device.
Conclusion
Dec. 17, 2025
/CHUN CAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115