DETAILED ACTION
This Final Office Action is in response to the REMARKS/Applicant Arguments correspondence filed on 12/29/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending and rejected.
Response to Arguments
First, Applicant’s arguments, see REMARKS, filed 12/29/2025, with respect to Specification objection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Objection of the specification in regards to claim 11's use of has been withdrawn.
Second, Applicant’s 35 USC 103 arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faccin et al (US20200267554A1) in view of Vrzic et al (WO2018141269), in further view of Yungjing (CN109257815B).
Regarding claim 11 (and method claim 1), Faccin teaches a network device comprising:
a transceiver ([0099] transceiver); and a controller coupled with the transceiver ([0099], controller with more processors)
wherein the controller is configured to:
receive, from a network slice manager (NSM), information about a network slice ([0022], [0041]-[0042], [0050]-[0051], [0068], [0073]-[0075], [0228]-[0235], [0238]), discloses receiving, at a UE, information about network slices including allowed NSSAI identifying authorized slices and Unauthorized/rejected NSAI identifying non-authorized slices, which are generated by a network slice management function (e.g. NSSF determining allowed NSSAI) and provided to the UE via the AMF; further teaching determining whether access is allowed based on such information, as only authorized slices included in the allowed NSSAI are permitted for use while unauthorized slices are denied access; The Examiner interprets the network slice management function to correspond to the NSM)
in response to the reception of the registration request, determine to allow the slice access of the terminal, based on the information on the network slice (([0022], [0041]-[0042], [0050]-[0051], [0068], [0073]-[0075], [0228]-[0235], [0238]), discloses receiving, at a UE, information about network slices including allowed NSSAI identifying authorized slices and Unauthorized/rejected NSAI identifying non-authorized slices, which are generated by a network slice management function (e.g. NSSF determining allowed NSSAI) and provided to the UE via the AMF; further teaching determining whether access is allowed based on such information, as only authorized slices included in the allowed NSSAI are permitted for use while unauthorized slices are denied access),
transmit, to the AMF, a registration response message ([0023], transmit registration response message to NSSAI).
But Faccin fails to teach obtain, from a unified data repository (UDR) entity, an external network identifier of the terminal,
receive, from an external network server, information on whether or not the terminal is allowed to be registered in the network slice based on the external network identifier of the terminal,
However, Vrzic teaches obtain, from a unified data repository (UDR) entity, an external network identifier of the terminal,
([0054]-[0060], discusses obtaining subscriber-related identifiers (e.g. external or enterprise IDs) from a subscriber information database (analogous to UDR),
receive, from an external network server, information on whether or not the terminal is allowed to be registered in the network slice based on the external network identifier of the terminal, ([0064]-[0070], shows an external server authorizing terminal slice registration based on the external identifier),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine Faccin with Vrzic to arrive at the claimed method. Faccin discloses receiving, at a UE, information about network slices including allowed NSSAI identifying authorized slices and Unauthorized/rejected NSAI identifying non-authorized slices, which are generated by a network slice management function (e.g. NSSF determining allowed NSSAI) and provided to the UE via the AMF; further teaching determining whether access is allowed based on such information, as only authorized slices included in the allowed NSSAI are permitted for use while unauthorized slices are denied access. Vrzic teaches supplementing internal network slice admission with external server to determine whether a terminal should be admitted to a service or slice.
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine the slice admission and registration workflow of Faccin with the registration to network slice method of Vrzic to improve access control and enable enterprise-specific or third-party controlled network slices. Doing so would yield predictable results: (i) the AMF receiving an access request message for a network slice, (ii) the UDR being queried to obtain an external network identifier of the terminal, (iii) an external server providing an allow/deny decision based on that identifier, and (iv) the AMF receiving a response message reflecting that decision. The combination represents a straightforward substitution of one known form of authorization (external identifier-based) into an established 5G registration/admission framework.
But Vrzic fails to teach receive a registration request message of a terminal for the network slice from an access and mobility management function (AMF).
However, Yungjing teaches receive, from an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity, a registration request message of a terminal for requesting the slice access to the network slice (English Translation, Abstract, Fig 2, 3, pg. 4 line 2, pg. 7-8 paragraphs 6-10, & first AMF redirects/forwards a registration request message (control plane message) from a terminal (contains slice info) to another AMF—second AMF receives a forwarded registration request message of a terminal from another AMF).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine Faccin, Vrzic and Yungjing to arrive at the claimed method. Faccin discloses receiving, at a UE, information about network slices including allowed NSSAI identifying authorized slices and Unauthorized/rejected NSAI identifying non-authorized slices, which are generated by a network slice management function (e.g. NSSF determining allowed NSSAI) and provided to the UE via the AMF; further teaching determining whether access is allowed based on such information, as only authorized slices included in the allowed NSSAI are permitted for use while unauthorized slices are denied access. Vrzic teaches supplementing internal network slice admission with external server to determine whether a terminal should be admitted to a service or slice. Yungjing teaches a management method for registration request which requires multiple AMFs to forward registration request messages to another AMF in order to improve the flexibility of message transmission and reducing the waste of signaling resources.
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine the slice admission and registration workflow of Faccin with the registration to network slice method of Vrzic to improve access control and enable enterprise-specific or third-party controlled network slices. Furthermore, a POSITA would’ve been motivated to combine Yungjing with the other references for a method for registration request which requires multiple AMFs to forward registration request messages to another AMF in order to improve the flexibility of message transmission and reducing the waste of signaling resources. Doing so would yield predictable results: (i) the AMF receiving an access request message for a network slice, (ii) the UDR being queried to obtain an external network identifier of the terminal, (iii) an external server providing an allow/deny decision based on that identifier, and (iv) the AMF receiving a response message reflecting that decision. The combination represents a straightforward substitution of one known form of authorization (external identifier-based) into an established 5G registration/admission framework.
Regarding claim 12 (and method claim 2), Faccin teaches the network device wherein the information on the network slice includes at least one of a first identifier of the network slice, a number of terminals allowed in the network slice, a number of protocol data unit (PDU) sessions allowed in the network slice, or a number of terminal-specific allowed PDU sessions ([0022], [0036], [0065]-[0066], [0073]-[0075], discloses that information about a network slice includes a network slice identifier, such as S-NSSAI (single network slice selection assistance information), which identifies network slices and is included in requested NSSAI and Allowed NSSAI messages exchanged between the UE and the network))
But Faccin fails to teach wherein the registration request message includes an identifier of the terminal and a second identifier of the network slice, and wherein the identifier of the terminal corresponds to the external network identifier of the terminal.
However, Vrzic teaches wherein the registration request message includes an identifier of the terminal and a second identifier of the network slice, and wherein the identifier of the terminal corresponds to the external network identifier of the terminal ([0059], maps subscriber identifiers (SUPI) to external (enterprise IDs) included in registration messaging).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine Faccin, Vrzic and Yungjing to arrive at the claimed method. Faccin discloses receiving, at a UE, information about network slices including allowed NSSAI identifying authorized slices and Unauthorized/rejected NSAI identifying non-authorized slices, which are generated by a network slice management function (e.g. NSSF determining allowed NSSAI) and provided to the UE via the AMF; further teaching determining whether access is allowed based on such information, as only authorized slices included in the allowed NSSAI are permitted for use while unauthorized slices are denied access. Vrzic teaches supplementing internal network slice admission with external server to determine whether a terminal should be admitted to a service or slice. Yungjing teaches a management method for registration request which requires multiple AMFs to forward registration request messages to another AMF in order to improve the flexibility of message transmission and reducing the waste of signaling resources.
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine the slice admission and registration workflow of Faccin with the registration to network slice method of Vrzic to improve access control and enable enterprise-specific or third-party controlled network slices. Furthermore, a POSITA would’ve been motivated to combine Yungjing with the other references for a method for registration request which requires multiple AMFs to forward registration request messages to another AMF in order to improve the flexibility of message transmission and reducing the waste of signaling resources. Doing so would yield predictable results: (i) the AMF receiving an access request message for a network slice, (ii) the UDR being queried to obtain an external network identifier of the terminal, (iii) an external server providing an allow/deny decision based on that identifier, and (iv) the AMF receiving a response message reflecting that decision. The combination represents a straightforward substitution of one known form of authorization (external identifier-based) into an established 5G registration/admission framework.
Regarding claim 13 (and method claim 3), Faccin teaches the network device wherein a number of terminals connected to the network slice is less than the number of terminals allowed in the network slice ([0022], [0041]-[0042], [0068], [0228]-[0235], discloses determining whether to allow access of a terminal to a network slice based on slice authorization information, such as allowed NSSAI identifying authorized slices and unauthorized NSSAI identifying non-authorized slices, determined by network entities including an AMF and NSSF).
Regarding claim 14 (and method claim 4), Faccin fails to teach the network device wherein the processor is further configured to store mapping information between the identifier of the terminal and the external network identifier of the terminal.
However, Vrzic teaches the network device wherein the controller is further configured to store mapping information between the identifier of the terminal and the external network identifier of the terminal ([0066]-[0067], teaches binding internal subscriber identifies and external enterprise IDs in a mapping repository).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine Faccin, Vrzic and Yungjing to arrive at the claimed method. Faccin discloses receiving, at a UE, information about network slices including allowed NSSAI identifying authorized slices and Unauthorized/rejected NSAI identifying non-authorized slices, which are generated by a network slice management function (e.g. NSSF determining allowed NSSAI) and provided to the UE via the AMF; further teaching determining whether access is allowed based on such information, as only authorized slices included in the allowed NSSAI are permitted for use while unauthorized slices are denied access. Vrzic teaches supplementing internal network slice admission with external server to determine whether a terminal should be admitted to a service or slice. Yungjing teaches a management method for registration request which requires multiple AMFs to forward registration request messages to another AMF in order to improve the flexibility of message transmission and reducing the waste of signaling resources.
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine the slice admission and registration workflow of Faccin with the registration to network slice method of Vrzic to improve access control and enable enterprise-specific or third-party controlled network slices. Furthermore, a POSITA would’ve been motivated to combine Yungjing with the other references for a method for registration request which requires multiple AMFs to forward registration request messages to another AMF in order to improve the flexibility of message transmission and reducing the waste of signaling resources. Doing so would yield predictable results: (i) the AMF receiving an access request message for a network slice, (ii) the UDR being queried to obtain an external network identifier of the terminal, (iii) an external server providing an allow/deny decision based on that identifier, and (iv) the AMF receiving a response message reflecting that decision. The combination represents a straightforward substitution of one known form of authorization (external identifier-based) into an established 5G registration/admission framework.
Regarding claim 15 (and method claim 5), Faccin fails to teach the network wherein the processor is further configured to identify that the external network identifier of the terminal is required in case that the identifier of the terminal is a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI).
However, Vrzic teaches wherein the controller is further configured to identify the external network identifier of the terminal is required in case that the identifier of the terminal is a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) ([0061], SUPI-to-external ID resolution is required for authorization by external server).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine Faccin, Vrzic and Yungjing to arrive at the claimed method. Faccin discloses receiving, at a UE, information about network slices including allowed NSSAI identifying authorized slices and Unauthorized/rejected NSAI identifying non-authorized slices, which are generated by a network slice management function (e.g. NSSF determining allowed NSSAI) and provided to the UE via the AMF; further teaching determining whether access is allowed based on such information, as only authorized slices included in the allowed NSSAI are permitted for use while unauthorized slices are denied access. Vrzic teaches supplementing internal network slice admission with external server to determine whether a terminal should be admitted to a service or slice. Yungjing teaches a management method for registration request which requires multiple AMFs to forward registration request messages to another AMF in order to improve the flexibility of message transmission and reducing the waste of signaling resources.
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine the slice admission and registration workflow of Faccin with the registration to network slice method of Vrzic to improve access control and enable enterprise-specific or third-party controlled network slices. Furthermore, a POSITA would’ve been motivated to combine Yungjing with the other references for a method for registration request which requires multiple AMFs to forward registration request messages to another AMF in order to improve the flexibility of message transmission and reducing the waste of signaling resources. Doing so would yield predictable results: (i) the AMF receiving an access request message for a network slice, (ii) the UDR being queried to obtain an external network identifier of the terminal, (iii) an external server providing an allow/deny decision based on that identifier, and (iv) the AMF receiving a response message reflecting that decision. The combination represents a straightforward substitution of one known form of authorization (external identifier-based) into an established 5G registration/admission framework.
Regarding claim 16 (and method claim 6), Faccin teaches the network device wherein the processor is further configured to: identify a number of terminals connected to the network slice, and transmit, to the NSM entity, information on the number of terminals connected to the network slice (([0022], [0041]-[0042], [0068], [0228]-[0235], discloses determining whether to allow access of a terminal to a network slice based on slice authorization information, such as allowed NSSAI identifying authorized slices and unauthorized NSSAI identifying non-authorized slices, determined by network entities including an AMF and NSSF).
Regarding claim 17 (and method claim 7), Faccin teaches the network device wherein the controller is further configured to:
receive, from a session management function (SMF) entity, a PDU session establishment request message for the network slice ([0022], [0041]-[0042], [0050]-[0051], [0068], [0073]-[0075], [0228]-[0235], [0238]), discloses receiving, at a UE, information about network slices including allowed NSSAI identifying authorized slices and Unauthorized/rejected NSAI identifying non-authorized slices, which are generated by a network slice management function (e.g. NSSF determining allowed NSSAI) and provided to the UE via the AMF; further teaching determining whether access is allowed based on such information, as only authorized slices included in the allowed NSSAI are permitted for use while unauthorized slices are denied access)),
determine to allow an establishment of a PDU session, based on at least one of the number of PDU sessions allowed in the network slice or the number of terminal-specific allowed PDU sessions ([0022], [0041]-[0042], [0050]-[0051], [0068], [0073]-[0075], [0228]-[0235], [0238]), discloses receiving, at a UE, information about network slices including allowed NSSAI identifying authorized slices and Unauthorized/rejected NSAI identifying non-authorized slices, which are generated by a network slice management function (e.g. NSSF determining allowed NSSAI) and provided to the UE via the AMF; further teaching determining whether access is allowed based on such information, as only authorized slices included in the allowed NSSAI are permitted for use while unauthorized slices are denied access),
transmit, to the SMF entity, a PDU session establishment response message (([0022], [0041]-[0042], [0050]-[0051], [0068], [0073]-[0075], [0228]-[0235], [0238]), discloses receiving, at a UE, information about network slices including allowed NSSAI identifying authorized slices and Unauthorized/rejected NSAI identifying non-authorized slices, which are generated by a network slice management function (e.g. NSSF determining allowed NSSAI) and provided to the UE via the AMF; further teaching determining whether access is allowed based on such information, as only authorized slices included in the allowed NSSAI are permitted for use while unauthorized slices are denied access)).
But Faccin fails to teach identify the external network identifier of the terminal, based on the mapping information,
obtain, from the external network server, information on whether or not to allow the establishment of the PDU session for the network slice, based on the external network identifier.
However, Vrzic teaches identify the external network identifier of the terminal, based on the mapping information, ([0066], use of mapping for session control),
obtain, from the external network server, information on whether or not to allow the establishment of the PDU session for the network slice, based on the external network identifier. and ([0068], external policy server authorizes session).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine Faccin, Vrzic and Yungjing to arrive at the claimed method. Faccin discloses receiving, at a UE, information about network slices including allowed NSSAI identifying authorized slices and Unauthorized/rejected NSAI identifying non-authorized slices, which are generated by a network slice management function (e.g. NSSF determining allowed NSSAI) and provided to the UE via the AMF; further teaching determining whether access is allowed based on such information, as only authorized slices included in the allowed NSSAI are permitted for use while unauthorized slices are denied access. Vrzic teaches supplementing internal network slice admission with external server to determine whether a terminal should be admitted to a service or slice. Yungjing teaches a management method for registration request which requires multiple AMFs to forward registration request messages to another AMF in order to improve the flexibility of message transmission and reducing the waste of signaling resources.
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine the slice admission and registration workflow of Faccin with the registration to network slice method of Vrzic to improve access control and enable enterprise-specific or third-party controlled network slices. Furthermore, a POSITA would’ve been motivated to combine Yungjing with the other references for a method for registration request which requires multiple AMFs to forward registration request messages to another AMF in order to improve the flexibility of message transmission and reducing the waste of signaling resources. Doing so would yield predictable results: (i) the AMF receiving an access request message for a network slice, (ii) the UDR being queried to obtain an external network identifier of the terminal, (iii) an external server providing an allow/deny decision based on that identifier, and (iv) the AMF receiving a response message reflecting that decision. The combination represents a straightforward substitution of one known form of authorization (external identifier-based) into an established 5G registration/admission framework.
Regarding claim 18 (and method claim 8), Faccin teaches the network device wherein the processor is further configured to:
identify a number of PDU sessions established in the network slice, based on the information on whether or not to allow the establishment of the PDU sessions ([0022], [0042], [0093]-[0095], [0228]-[0235], discloses that PDU sessions are associated with network slices identifies by S-NSSAI, and that network entities determine whether access to such network slices is authorized, with allowed NSSAI identifying slices for which access and corresponding session establishment are permitted), and transmit, to the NSM, information on the number of PDU sessions established in the network slice ([0022], [0042], [0093]-[0095], [0228]-[0235], discloses that PDU sessions are associated with network slices identifies by S-NSSAI, and that network entities determine whether access to such network slices is authorized, with allowed NSSAI identifying slices for which access and corresponding session establishment are permitted).
Regarding claim 19 (and method claim 9), Faccin teaches the network device wherein the processor is further configured to:
identify one or more terminals to which the policy is applied based on the policy control request message (([0022], [0042], [0093]-[0095], [0228]-[0235], discloses that PDU sessions are associated with network slices identifies by S-NSSAI, and that network entities determine whether access to such network slices is authorized, with allowed NSSAI identifying slices for which access and corresponding session establishment are permitted),
perform a policy control procedure for the one or more terminals (([0022], [0042], [0093]-[0095], [0228]-[0235], discloses that PDU sessions are associated with network slices identifies by S-NSSAI, and that network entities determine whether access to such network slices is authorized, with allowed NSSAI identifying slices for which access and corresponding session establishment are permitted),
obtain, from a policy control function (PCF) entity (([0022], [0042], [0093]-[0095], [0228]-[0235], discloses that PDU sessions are associated with network slices identifies by S-NSSAI, and that network entities determine whether access to such network slices is authorized, with allowed NSSAI identifying slices for which access and corresponding session establishment are permitted), and transmit, to the external network server, the policy control result (([0022], [0042], [0093]-[0095], [0228]-[0235], discloses that PDU sessions are associated with network slices identifies by S-NSSAI, and that network entities determine whether access to such network slices is authorized, with allowed NSSAI identifying slices for which access and corresponding session establishment are permitted).
But Faccin fails to teach receive from the external network server, a policy control request message,
However, Vrzic teaches receive from the external network server, a policy control request message ([0072], external server pushing policy control requests),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine Faccin, Vrzic and Yungjing to arrive at the claimed method. Faccin discloses receiving, at a UE, information about network slices including allowed NSSAI identifying authorized slices and Unauthorized/rejected NSAI identifying non-authorized slices, which are generated by a network slice management function (e.g. NSSF determining allowed NSSAI) and provided to the UE via the AMF; further teaching determining whether access is allowed based on such information, as only authorized slices included in the allowed NSSAI are permitted for use while unauthorized slices are denied access. Vrzic teaches supplementing internal network slice admission with external server to determine whether a terminal should be admitted to a service or slice. Yungjing teaches a management method for registration request which requires multiple AMFs to forward registration request messages to another AMF in order to improve the flexibility of message transmission and reducing the waste of signaling resources.
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine the slice admission and registration workflow of Faccin with the registration to network slice method of Vrzic to improve access control and enable enterprise-specific or third-party controlled network slices. Furthermore, a POSITA would’ve been motivated to combine Yungjing with the other references for a method for registration request which requires multiple AMFs to forward registration request messages to another AMF in order to improve the flexibility of message transmission and reducing the waste of signaling resources. Doing so would yield predictable results: (i) the AMF receiving an access request message for a network slice, (ii) the UDR being queried to obtain an external network identifier of the terminal, (iii) an external server providing an allow/deny decision based on that identifier, and (iv) the AMF receiving a response message reflecting that decision. The combination represents a straightforward substitution of one known form of authorization (external identifier-based) into an established 5G registration/admission framework.
Regarding claim 20 (and method claim 10), Faccin teaches the network device wherein the processor is further configured to: identify a policy applied to the network slice, based on the policy control result ([0075], [0095], [0103]-[0105], [0228], [0235], discloses that the policy control is performed by a Policy Control ), and transmit information about the policy applied to the network slice to the NSM ([0022], [0042], [0093]-[0095], [0228]-[0235], discloses that PDU sessions are associated with network slices identifies by S-NSSAI, and that network entities determine whether access to such network slices is authorized, with allowed NSSAI identifying slices for which access and corresponding session establishment are permitted).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL WILLIAM ABBATINE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/JENEE HOLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469