DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1, and 3-20 are pending for examination in the application filed 11/23/2025. Claims 1, 3-6, 10, 13-16, and 20 have been amended and claim 2 has been cancelled.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent application KR10-2022-0179694 filed on 12/20/2022.
Response to Arguments and Amendments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1, 13, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument, as facilitated by the newly added amendments. The amendments to claim 1 include limitations previously presented in dependent claims 2 and 6, which are taught by Geddes in view of Christian (see page 6 of the Non-Final Rejection filed 08/22/2025) and Geddes in view of Christian and Lindskog (see page 9-10 of the Non-Final Rejection filed 08/22/2025), respectively. Applicant argues in the Remarks filed 11/23/2025 that Geddes does not teach the newly added amendments. Please see below for the 35 USC § 103 rejection of independent claims 1, 13, and 20 of Geddes in view of Christian and Lindskog, as facilitated by the newly added amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 10-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geddes (US20230344666A1) in view of Christian (US9848167B1) and Lindskog (US20200082535A1).
Regarding claim 1, Geddes teaches an image processing device comprising: a pre-processor ([0040] The computing device 200 includes components or units, such as a processor 202) configured to extract a background area of an image based on pixel data received from an external device (camera of client device 502) and generate a low-resolution sub-image in which the background area is downscaled ([0017] According to implementations of this disclosure, where a bandwidth reduction affecting such a conference participant is detected, the video stream is segmented into a background and a foreground, in which the foreground is the portion of the video stream images depicting the conference participant and the background is the remaining portion of the video stream images. The background may then be treated as a virtual background described above, such as by the background being adjusted (e.g., by a decrease in a resolution of the background) without also adjusting the foreground (e.g., while maintaining a resolution of the foreground));
a background blur component (client application 510) configured to generate an intermediate image in which a blur operation is performed on the low-resolution sub-image ([0074] Based on a detection of a bandwidth reduction affecting the conference participant using the client device 502, the client application 510 may cause the virtual background software 512 to adjust one or more portions of the video stream being transmitted from the user device 502. [0097] Adjusting the background without also adjusting the foreground can also or instead include blurring the background based on the bandwidth reduction)
and upscale the intermediate image to original resolution ([0092] The resolution of the virtual background can be restored (e.g., to the original resolution of the virtual background prior to the detection of the bandwidth reduction) based on the bandwidth of the computing device increasing);
and an image compositor (virtual background software) configured to generate a blurred image in which a foreground area of the image is composited to the upscaled intermediate image ([0069] The client application 510 obtains the composite images from the virtual background software 512 and transmits them as the video stream for the conference participant to the conferencing software 508. [0082] FIG. 6B is an illustration of an example of the composite image 600 of FIG. 6A including the foreground 602 and a virtual background 604B adjusted based on a detected bandwidth reduction. The virtual background 604B thus is a version of the virtual background 604A of FIG. 6A which has been adjusted).
Geddes does not teach wherein the pre-processor determines a target resolution of the low-resolution sub-image based on an intensity of the blur operation, and performs a downscaling operation according to the target resolution.
Christian, in the same field of endeavor of blurred image generation, teaches wherein the pre-processor determines a target resolution of the low-resolution sub-image based on an intensity of the blur operation, and performs a downscaling operation according to the target resolution ([col. 2 ln. 29-34] To reduce a bandwidth consumption and/or processing consumption while sending blurred video data to the second user, devices, systems and methods are disclosed that provide a standby mode that generates low resolution video data at a local device and sends the low resolution video data to a remote device. [col. 4 ln. 17-29] The device 102 may downsample (130) the second video data using a graphics processing unit (GPU) to generate downsampled video data, may optionally apply (132) a blurring process (e.g., apply a Gaussian blur or the like) to the downsampled video data to generate blurred video data and may send (134) the blurred video data. For example, the first device 102a may downsample the second video data from the second resolution to a third resolution (e.g., 12 pixels by 12 pixels or the like) using techniques known to one of skill in the art, such as bilinear downsampling, bilinear interpolation, bicubic interpolation, decimation, or the like. The device 102 may optionally apply the blurring process to distort the downsampled video data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the device of Geddes with the teachings of Christian to downscale the image resolution based on the blur intensity because "the blurring process consumes processing power of the local device and the blurred video data consumes bandwidth between the local device and the remote device" [col. 2 ln. 25-28].
Geddes does not teach wherein the background blur component determines an intensity of the blur operation based on a depth of field of the blurred image, the depth of field indicating a ratio of a portion corresponding to an in-focus point in the blurred image.
Lindskog, in the same field of endeavor of image background segmentation, teaches wherein the background blur component determines an intensity of the blur operation based on a depth of field of the blurred image, the depth of field indicating a ratio of a portion corresponding to an in-focus point in the blurred image ([0011] According to some embodiments disclosed herein, the camera devices may utilize one (or more) cameras and image sensors to capture an input image of a scene, as well as corresponding depth/disparity information for the captured scene, which may provide an initial estimate of the depth of the various objects in the captured scene and, by extension, an indication of the portions of the captured image that are believed to be in the scene's background and/or foreground…[0011] According to some such embodiments, the depth information data may be converted into the form of an initial blur map, e.g., a two-dimensional array of values, wherein each value represents a radius, diameter (or other size-indicative parameter) of the blurring operation to be applied to the corresponding pixel in the captured image in a blurring operation. [0005] For example, in such portrait-style, synthetic SDOF images, a greater amount of blurring may be applied to objects and pixels that are estimated to be farther away from the focal plane of a captured scene. In other words, in synthetic SDOF images having a focal plane in the foreground of the captured scene, objects that are “deeper” in the captured scene may have a greater amount of blurring applied to them, whereas in focus foreground objects, such as a human subject, may remain relatively sharper, thus pleasantly emphasizing the appearance of the human subject to a viewer of the image).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the device of Geddes with the teachings of Lindskog to determine the blur intensity based on the depth of field because "to achieve an image having a shallower depth of field, it may be necessary to artificially synthesize an out-of-focus blur in the image after it is captured, e.g., by using estimated depth maps for the captured images" [Lindskog 0004] and to determine the ratio of the portion corresponding to an in-focus point "in synthetic SDOF images having a focal plane in the foreground of the captured scene, objects that are 'deeper' in the captured scene may have a greater amount of blurring applied to them, whereas in focus foreground objects, such as a human subject, may remain relatively sharper, thus pleasantly emphasizing the appearance of the human subject to a viewer of the image" [Lindskog 0005].
Regarding claim 3, Geddes, Christian, and Lindskog teach the device of claim 1. Christian teaches wherein the pre-processor determines the target resolution to be less as the intensity of the blur operation increases ([col. 4 ln. 38-53] In the example illustrated in FIG. 1, the second device 102b may receive the first video data at a first time and may display the first video data on the display 108 to a second user. The first video data may have a relatively high bandwidth consumption and high image quality and may include details that enable the second user to identify an identity of the first user and/or objects of interest in the first video data. Later, the second device 102b may receive the blurred video data at a second time after the first time and may display video(s) based on the blurred video data on the display 108. In contrast to the first video data, the blurred video data may have a relatively low bandwidth consumption and low image quality and may obscure details such that the presence of the first user and/or objects of interest in the first environment can be determined but identities of the first user and/or objects of interest cannot be determined by the second user).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the device of Geddes with the teachings of Christian for the resolution to be less as the blur intensity increases because "the blurred video data reduces a bandwidth consumption while offering the first user privacy until the first user instructs the first device 102a to enter the active mode" [col. 4 ln. 54-56].
Regarding claim 4, Geddes, Christian, and Lindskog teach the device of claim 1. Lindskog teaches wherein the pre-processor determines the background area and the foreground area based on depth information of the image ([0011] According to some embodiments disclosed herein, the camera devices may utilize one (or more) cameras and image sensors to capture an input image of a scene, as well as corresponding depth/disparity information for the captured scene, which may provide an initial estimate of the depth of the various objects in the captured scene and, by extension, an indication of the portions of the captured image that are believed to be in the scene's background and/or foreground).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the device of Geddes with the teachings of Lindskog to determine the background and foreground area based on depth information because "in synthetic SDOF images having a focal plane in the foreground of the captured scene, objects that are 'deeper' in the captured scene may have a greater amount of blurring applied to them, whereas in focus foreground objects, such as a human subject, may remain relatively sharper, thus pleasantly emphasizing the appearance of the human subject to a viewer of the image" [Lindskog 0005].
Regarding claim 5, Geddes, Christian, and Lindskog teach the device of claim 1. Christian teaches wherein the pre-processor performs the downscaling operation in a bilinear interpolation method, and generates the low-resolution sub-image having the target resolution ([col. 2 ln. 29-34] To reduce a bandwidth consumption and/or processing consumption while sending blurred video data to the second user, devices, systems and methods are disclosed that provide a standby mode that generates low resolution video data at a local device and sends the low resolution video data to a remote device. [col. 4 ln. 17-29] The device 102 may downsample (130) the second video data using a graphics processing unit (GPU) to generate downsampled video data, may optionally apply (132) a blurring process (e.g., apply a Gaussian blur or the like) to the downsampled video data to generate blurred video data and may send (134) the blurred video data. For example, the first device 102a may downsample the second video data from the second resolution to a third resolution (e.g., 12 pixels by 12 pixels or the like) using techniques known to one of skill in the art, such as bilinear downsampling, bilinear interpolation, bicubic interpolation, decimation, or the like. The device 102 may optionally apply the blurring process to distort the downsampled video data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the device of Geddes with the teachings of Christian to downscale the image using bilinear interpolation because "the blurring process consumes processing power of the local device and the blurred video data consumes bandwidth between the local device and the remote device" [col. 2 ln. 25-28].
Regarding claim 6, Geddes, Christian, and Lindskog teach the device of claim 1. Lindskog teaches wherein the background blur component performs the blur operation according to the intensity of the blur operation ([0011] According to some such embodiments, the depth information data may be converted into the form of an initial blur map, e.g., a two-dimensional array of values, wherein each value represents a radius, diameter (or other size-indicative parameter) of the blurring operation to be applied to the corresponding pixel in the captured image in a blurring operation. [0012] Based on the obtained segmentation mask, a determined amount of blurring may be subtracted from the amount of blurring indicated in the initial blur map for portions of the captured image that have been segmented out as being “people” (or other type of segmented object in the scene that is desired to be in focus in a given implementation)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the device of Geddes with the teachings of Lindskog to perform the blur operation according to the intensity because "to achieve an image having a shallower depth of field, it may be necessary to artificially synthesize an out-of-focus blur in the image after it is captured, e.g., by using estimated depth maps for the captured images" [Lindskog 0004].
Regarding claim 7, Geddes, Christian, and Lindskog teach the device of claim 6. Lindskog teaches wherein the background blur component determines the intensity of the blur operation to be greater as the depth of field is shallower ([0034] Turning now to FIG. 1D, an initial blur map 120 for the image 100 shown in FIG. 1A is illustrated. In the convention of initial blur map 120, brighter pixels reflect pixels that are estimated to be farther from the focal plane, e.g., deeper, in the scene (thus resulting in a greater amount of blurring being applied during an SDOF rendering process), and darker pixels reflect pixels that are estimated to be closer to the focal plane, e.g., shallower, in the scene (thus resulting in a lesser amount of blurring being applied during an SDOF rendering process). As shown in FIG. 1D, the various human subjects 102/104/106 from image 100 are represented in the initial blur map 120 at positions 122/124/126, respectively. Initial blur map 120 also reflects the fact that subject 122 will receive comparatively less blurring than subjects 124/126, located deeper in the captured scene).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the device of Geddes with the teachings of Lindskog for the blur intensity to be greater as the depth of field is shallower because "to achieve an image having a shallower depth of field, it may be necessary to artificially synthesize an out-of-focus blur in the image after it is captured, e.g., by using estimated depth maps for the captured images" [Lindskog 0004].
Regarding claim 10, Geddes, Christian, and Lindskog teach the device of claim 1. Geddes further teaches wherein the background blur component performs the upscaling operation on the intermediate image in response to the downscaling operation ([0017] The background may then be treated as a virtual background described above, such as by the background being adjusted (e.g., by a decrease in a resolution of the background) without also adjusting the foreground (e.g., while maintaining a resolution of the foreground). [0092] The resolution of the virtual background can be restored (e.g., to the original resolution of the virtual background prior to the detection of the bandwidth reduction) based on the bandwidth of the computing device increasing).
Regarding claim 11, Geddes, Christian, and Lindskog teach the device of claim 10. Christian teaches wherein the background blur component performs the upscaling operation in a bicubic interpolation method, and generates the intermediate image having the original resolution ([col. 11 ln. 54-67] A second GPU 420b on the second device 102b may perform upsampling 442 on the downsampled video data 312 (or blurred video data generated by the CPU 430 by applying the blurring process 432 to the downsampled video data 312) to generate the upsampled video data 314 having a fourth resolution, which is larger than the third resolution and may be larger than the first resolution and/or the second resolution. For example, the second GPU 420b may generate the upsampled video data 314 based on a resolution of the display 108 of the second device 102b, which may have a larger resolution than a maximum resolution of the camera 104. The first GPU 420a and/or the second GPU 420b may perform the downsampling 422 and/or upsampling 442 using bilinear upsampling/downsampling, bilinear interpolation, bicubic interpolation, decimation, or the like).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the device of Geddes with the teachings of Christian to perform upscaling in bicubic interpolation because "the upsampled video data indicates an environment of the local device while blurring details, enabling a user of the remote device to identify movement or activity while maintaining privacy for anyone near the local device" [Christian col. 2 ln. 44-48].
Regarding claim 12, Geddes, Christian, and Lindskog teach the device of claim 6. Lindskog teaches wherein the pre-processor determines a size of the extracted background area based on the depth of field ([0011] depth/disparity information for the captured scene, which may provide an initial estimate of the depth of the various objects in the captured scene and, by extension, an indication of the portions of the captured image that are believed to be in the scene's background and/or foreground…According to some such embodiments, the depth information data may be converted into the form of an initial blur map, e.g., a two-dimensional array of values, wherein each value represents a radius, diameter (or other size-indicative parameter) of the blurring operation to be applied to the corresponding pixel in the captured image in a blurring operation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the device of Geddes with the teachings of Lindskog to determine the size of the background based on the depth of field because "in synthetic SDOF images having a focal plane in the foreground of the captured scene, objects that are 'deeper' in the captured scene may have a greater amount of blurring applied to them, whereas in focus foreground objects, such as a human subject, may remain relatively sharper, thus pleasantly emphasizing the appearance of the human subject to a viewer of the image" [Lindskog 0005].
Regarding claim 13, Geddes teaches an image processing method (Fig. 7-8) comprising: extracting a background area of an image based on pixel data received from an external device (camera of client device 502); generating a low-resolution sub-image in which a downscaling operation is performed on the background area ([0017] According to implementations of this disclosure, where a bandwidth reduction affecting such a conference participant is detected, the video stream is segmented into a background and a foreground, in which the foreground is the portion of the video stream images depicting the conference participant and the background is the remaining portion of the video stream images. The background may then be treated as a virtual background described above, such as by the background being adjusted (e.g., by a decrease in a resolution of the background) without also adjusting the foreground (e.g., while maintaining a resolution of the foreground));
performing a blur operation on the low-resolution sub-image ([0074] Based on a detection of a bandwidth reduction affecting the conference participant using the client device 502, the client application 510 may cause the virtual background software 512 to adjust one or more portions of the video stream being transmitted from the user device 502. [0097] Adjusting the background without also adjusting the foreground can also or instead include blurring the background based on the bandwidth reduction)
upscaling an intermediate on which the blur operation is performed to original resolution ([0092] The resolution of the virtual background can be restored (e.g., to the original resolution of the virtual background prior to the detection of the bandwidth reduction) based on the bandwidth of the computing device increasing);
and compositing the upscaled intermediate image and a foreground area of the image ([0069] The client application 510 obtains the composite images from the virtual background software 512 and transmits them as the video stream for the conference participant to the conferencing software 508. [0082] FIG. 6B is an illustration of an example of the composite image 600 of FIG. 6A including the foreground 602 and a virtual background 604B adjusted based on a detected bandwidth reduction. The virtual background 604B thus is a version of the virtual background 604A of FIG. 6A which has been adjusted).
Geddes does not teach wherein generating the low-resolution sub-image comprises: determining a target resolution of the low-resolution sub-image based on an intensity of the blur operation.
Christian, in the same field of endeavor of blurred image generation, teaches wherein generating the low-resolution sub-image comprises: determining a target resolution of the low-resolution sub-image based on an intensity of the blur operation ([col. 2 ln. 29-34] To reduce a bandwidth consumption and/or processing consumption while sending blurred video data to the second user, devices, systems and methods are disclosed that provide a standby mode that generates low resolution video data at a local device and sends the low resolution video data to a remote device. [col. 4 ln. 17-29] The device 102 may downsample (130) the second video data using a graphics processing unit (GPU) to generate downsampled video data, may optionally apply (132) a blurring process (e.g., apply a Gaussian blur or the like) to the downsampled video data to generate blurred video data and may send (134) the blurred video data. For example, the first device 102a may downsample the second video data from the second resolution to a third resolution (e.g., 12 pixels by 12 pixels or the like) using techniques known to one of skill in the art, such as bilinear downsampling, bilinear interpolation, bicubic interpolation, decimation, or the like. The device 102 may optionally apply the blurring process to distort the downsampled video data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the method of Geddes with the teachings of Christian to downscale the image resolution based on the blur intensity because "the blurring process consumes processing power of the local device and the blurred video data consumes bandwidth between the local device and the remote device" [col. 2 ln. 25-28].
Geddes does not teach determining an intensity of the blur operation based on a depth of field of the image, the depth of field indicating a ratio of a portion corresponding to an in-focus point in the blurred image.
Lindskog, in the same field of endeavor of image background segmentation, teaches determining an intensity of the blur operation based on a depth of field of the blurred image, the depth of field indicating a ratio of a portion corresponding to an in-focus point in the blurred image ([0011] According to some embodiments disclosed herein, the camera devices may utilize one (or more) cameras and image sensors to capture an input image of a scene, as well as corresponding depth/disparity information for the captured scene, which may provide an initial estimate of the depth of the various objects in the captured scene and, by extension, an indication of the portions of the captured image that are believed to be in the scene's background and/or foreground…[0011] According to some such embodiments, the depth information data may be converted into the form of an initial blur map, e.g., a two-dimensional array of values, wherein each value represents a radius, diameter (or other size-indicative parameter) of the blurring operation to be applied to the corresponding pixel in the captured image in a blurring operation. [0005] For example, in such portrait-style, synthetic SDOF images, a greater amount of blurring may be applied to objects and pixels that are estimated to be farther away from the focal plane of a captured scene. In other words, in synthetic SDOF images having a focal plane in the foreground of the captured scene, objects that are “deeper” in the captured scene may have a greater amount of blurring applied to them, whereas in focus foreground objects, such as a human subject, may remain relatively sharper, thus pleasantly emphasizing the appearance of the human subject to a viewer of the image).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the method of Geddes with the teachings of Lindskog to determine the blur intensity based on the depth of field because "to achieve an image having a shallower depth of field, it may be necessary to artificially synthesize an out-of-focus blur in the image after it is captured, e.g., by using estimated depth maps for the captured images" [Lindskog 0004] and to determine the ratio of the portion corresponding to an in-focus point "in synthetic SDOF images having a focal plane in the foreground of the captured scene, objects that are 'deeper' in the captured scene may have a greater amount of blurring applied to them, whereas in focus foreground objects, such as a human subject, may remain relatively sharper, thus pleasantly emphasizing the appearance of the human subject to a viewer of the image" [Lindskog 0005].
Regarding claim 14, Geddes, Christian, and Lindskog teach the method of claim 13. Lindskog teaches wherein the extracting of the background area comprises: determining the background area based on depth information of the image ([0011] According to some embodiments disclosed herein, the camera devices may utilize one (or more) cameras and image sensors to capture an input image of a scene, as well as corresponding depth/disparity information for the captured scene, which may provide an initial estimate of the depth of the various objects in the captured scene and, by extension, an indication of the portions of the captured image that are believed to be in the scene's background and/or foreground);
and determining a size of the background area based on the depth of field for the blur operation ([0011] corresponding depth/disparity information for the captured scene, which may provide an initial estimate of the depth of the various objects in the captured scene and, by extension, an indication of the portions of the captured image that are believed to be in the scene's background and/or foreground…According to some such embodiments, the depth information data may be converted into the form of an initial blur map, e.g., a two-dimensional array of values, wherein each value represents a radius, diameter (or other size-indicative parameter) of the blurring operation to be applied to the corresponding pixel in the captured image in a blurring operation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the method of Geddes with the teachings of Lindskog to determine the background area based on depth information because "in synthetic SDOF images having a focal plane in the foreground of the captured scene, objects that are 'deeper' in the captured scene may have a greater amount of blurring applied to them, whereas in focus foreground objects, such as a human subject, may remain relatively sharper, thus pleasantly emphasizing the appearance of the human subject to a viewer of the image" [Lindskog 0005].
Regarding claim 15, Geddes, Christian, and Lindskog teach the method of claim 14. Geddes teaches wherein generating the low-resolution sub-image comprises: performing the downscaling operation on the background area ([0017] According to implementations of this disclosure, where a bandwidth reduction affecting such a conference participant is detected, the video stream is segmented into a background and a foreground, in which the foreground is the portion of the video stream images depicting the conference participant and the background is the remaining portion of the video stream images. The background may then be treated as a virtual background described above, such as by the background being adjusted (e.g., by a decrease in a resolution of the background) without also adjusting the foreground (e.g., while maintaining a resolution of the foreground)).
Geddes does not teach performing the downscaling operation in a bilinear interpolation method according to the target resolution.
Christian teaches performing the downscaling operation in a bilinear interpolation method according to the target resolution ([col. 2 ln. 29-34] To reduce a bandwidth consumption and/or processing consumption while sending blurred video data to the second user, devices, systems and methods are disclosed that provide a standby mode that generates low resolution video data at a local device and sends the low resolution video data to a remote device. [col. 4 ln. 17-29] The device 102 may downsample (130) the second video data using a graphics processing unit (GPU) to generate downsampled video data, may optionally apply (132) a blurring process (e.g., apply a Gaussian blur or the like) to the downsampled video data to generate blurred video data and may send (134) the blurred video data. For example, the first device 102a may downsample the second video data from the second resolution to a third resolution (e.g., 12 pixels by 12 pixels or the like) using techniques known to one of skill in the art, such as bilinear downsampling, bilinear interpolation, bicubic interpolation, decimation, or the like. The device 102 may optionally apply the blurring process to distort the downsampled video data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the method of Geddes with the teachings of Christian to downscale the image using bilinear interpolation because "the blurring process consumes processing power of the local device and the blurred video data consumes bandwidth between the local device and the remote device" [col. 2 ln. 25-28].
Regarding claim 18, Geddes, Christian, and Lindskog teach the method of claim 15. Christian teaches wherein the upscaling comprises: determining the original resolution corresponding to the target resolution; upscaling the intermediate image in a bicubic interpolation method; and generating the intermediate image having the original resolution ([col. 11 ln. 54-67] A second GPU 420b on the second device 102b may perform upsampling 442 on the downsampled video data 312 (or blurred video data generated by the CPU 430 by applying the blurring process 432 to the downsampled video data 312) to generate the upsampled video data 314 having a fourth resolution, which is larger than the third resolution and may be larger than the first resolution and/or the second resolution. For example, the second GPU 420b may generate the upsampled video data 314 based on a resolution of the display 108 of the second device 102b, which may have a larger resolution than a maximum resolution of the camera 104. The first GPU 420a and/or the second GPU 420b may perform the downsampling 422 and/or upsampling 442 using bilinear upsampling/downsampling, bilinear interpolation, bicubic interpolation, decimation, or the like).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the method of Geddes with the teachings of Christian to perform upscaling in bicubic interpolation because "the upsampled video data indicates an environment of the local device while blurring details, enabling a user of the remote device to identify movement or activity while maintaining privacy for anyone near the local device" [Christian col. 2 ln. 44-48].
Regarding claim 19, Geddes, Christian, and Lindskog teach the method of claim 13. Geddes further teaches wherein compositing the intermediate image and the foreground area comprises generating a blurred image in which the foreground area is composited to the intermediate image having the same resolution as the foreground area ([0097] Adjusting the background without also adjusting the foreground can also or instead include blurring the background based on the bandwidth reduction. [0082] FIG. 6B is an illustration of an example of the composite image 600 of FIG. 6A including the foreground 602 and a virtual background 604B adjusted based on a detected bandwidth reduction. The virtual background 604B thus is a version of the virtual background 604A of FIG. 6A which has been adjusted. [0092] The resolution of the virtual background can be restored (e.g., to the original resolution of the virtual background prior to the detection of the bandwidth reduction) based on the bandwidth of the computing device increasing).
Regarding claim 20, Geddes teaches an image processing system comprising: an image sensor configured to generate pixel data including brightness information ([0069] The virtual background software 512 performs a segmentation process to effectively clip out, from the images of the video stream captured by the camera of the client device 502, a portion of the images depicting the conference participant (i.e., the user of the client device 502). [0095] The foreground depicts the conference participant and thus represents a portion of images of the video stream that includes pixel information representative of the conference participant. The background corresponds to the remaining portion of the images of the video stream);
and an image processing device (computing device 200) configured to generate a blurred image in which a background area of an image is blurred based on the pixel data ([0097] Adjusting the background without also adjusting the foreground can also or instead include blurring the background based on the bandwidth reduction),
wherein the image processing device comprises: a pre-processor ([0040] The computing device 200 includes components or units, such as a processor 202) configured to extract a background area of an image and generate a low-resolution sub-image for the background area ([0017] According to implementations of this disclosure, where a bandwidth reduction affecting such a conference participant is detected, the video stream is segmented into a background and a foreground, in which the foreground is the portion of the video stream images depicting the conference participant and the background is the remaining portion of the video stream images. The background may then be treated as a virtual background described above, such as by the background being adjusted (e.g., by a decrease in a resolution of the background) without also adjusting the foreground (e.g., while maintaining a resolution of the foreground));
a background blur component (client application 510) configured to generate an intermediate image in which a blur operation is performed on the low-resolution sub-image ([0074] Based on a detection of a bandwidth reduction affecting the conference participant using the client device 502, the client application 510 may cause the virtual background software 512 to adjust one or more portions of the video stream being transmitted from the user device 502. [0097] Adjusting the background without also adjusting the foreground can also or instead include blurring the background based on the bandwidth reduction)
and increase resolution of the intermediate image ([0092] The resolution of the virtual background can be restored (e.g., to the original resolution of the virtual background prior to the detection of the bandwidth reduction) based on the bandwidth of the computing device increasing);
and an image compositor (virtual background software) configured to composite the intermediate image of which resolution is increased to a foreground area of the image ([0069] The client application 510 obtains the composite images from the virtual background software 512 and transmits them as the video stream for the conference participant to the conferencing software 508. [0082] FIG. 6B is an illustration of an example of the composite image 600 of FIG. 6A including the foreground 602 and a virtual background 604B adjusted based on a detected bandwidth reduction. The virtual background 604B thus is a version of the virtual background 604A of FIG. 6A which has been adjusted. [0092] The resolution of the virtual background can be restored (e.g., to the original resolution of the virtual background prior to the detection of the bandwidth reduction) based on the bandwidth of the computing device increasing).
Geddes does not teach generate a low-resolution sub-image based on an intensity of a blur operation, wherein the pre-processor determines a target resolution of the low-resolution sub-image based on an intensity of the blur operation, and performs a downscaling operation according to the target resolution.
Christian, in the same field of endeavor of blurred image generation, teaches generate a low-resolution sub-image on an intensity of the blur operation, wherein the pre-processor determines a target resolution of the low-resolution sub-image based on an intensity of the blur operation, and performs a downscaling operation according to the target resolution ([col. 2 ln. 29-34] To reduce a bandwidth consumption and/or processing consumption while sending blurred video data to the second user, devices, systems and methods are disclosed that provide a standby mode that generates low resolution video data at a local device and sends the low resolution video data to a remote device. [col. 4 ln. 17-29] The device 102 may downsample (130) the second video data using a graphics processing unit (GPU) to generate downsampled video data, may optionally apply (132) a blurring process (e.g., apply a Gaussian blur or the like) to the downsampled video data to generate blurred video data and may send (134) the blurred video data. For example, the first device 102a may downsample the second video data from the second resolution to a third resolution (e.g., 12 pixels by 12 pixels or the like) using techniques known to one of skill in the art, such as bilinear downsampling, bilinear interpolation, bicubic interpolation, decimation, or the like. The device 102 may optionally apply the blurring process to distort the downsampled video data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the device of Geddes with the teachings of Christian to downscale the image resolution based on the blur intensity because "the blurring process consumes processing power of the local device and the blurred video data consumes bandwidth between the local device and the remote device" [col. 2 ln. 25-28].
Geddes does not teach generate depth information; extract the background area of the image based on the depth information, wherein the background blur component determines an intensity of the blur operation based on a depth of field of the blurred image, the depth of field indicating a ratio of a portion corresponding to an in-focus point in the blurred image.
Lindskog, in the same field of endeavor of image background segmentation, teaches generate depth information; extract the background area of the image based on the depth information, wherein the background blur component determines an intensity of the blur operation based on a depth of field of the blurred image, the depth of field indicating a ratio of a portion corresponding to an in-focus point in the blurred image ([0011] According to some embodiments disclosed herein, the camera devices may utilize one (or more) cameras and image sensors to capture an input image of a scene, as well as corresponding depth/disparity information for the captured scene, which may provide an initial estimate of the depth of the various objects in the captured scene and, by extension, an indication of the portions of the captured image that are believed to be in the scene's background and/or foreground…[0011] According to some such embodiments, the depth information data may be converted into the form of an initial blur map, e.g., a two-dimensional array of values, wherein each value represents a radius, diameter (or other size-indicative parameter) of the blurring operation to be applied to the corresponding pixel in the captured image in a blurring operation. [0005] For example, in such portrait-style, synthetic SDOF images, a greater amount of blurring may be applied to objects and pixels that are estimated to be farther away from the focal plane of a captured scene. In other words, in synthetic SDOF images having a focal plane in the foreground of the captured scene, objects that are “deeper” in the captured scene may have a greater amount of blurring applied to them, whereas in focus foreground objects, such as a human subject, may remain relatively sharper, thus pleasantly emphasizing the appearance of the human subject to a viewer of the image).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the device of Geddes with the teachings of Lindskog to extract the background area based on depth information because "in synthetic SDOF images having a focal plane in the foreground of the captured scene, objects that are 'deeper' in the captured scene may have a greater amount of blurring applied to them, whereas in focus foreground objects, such as a human subject, may remain relatively sharper, thus pleasantly emphasizing the appearance of the human subject to a viewer of the image" [Lindskog 0005] and to determine the blur intensity based on the depth of field because "to achieve an image having a shallower depth of field, it may be necessary to artificially synthesize an out-of-focus blur in the image after it is captured, e.g., by using estimated depth maps for the captured images" [Lindskog 0004] and to determine the ratio of the portion corresponding to an in-focus point "in synthetic SDOF images having a focal plane in the foreground of the captured scene, objects that are 'deeper' in the captured scene may have a greater amount of blurring applied to them, whereas in focus foreground objects, such as a human subject, may remain relatively sharper, thus pleasantly emphasizing the appearance of the human subject to a viewer of the image" [Lindskog 0005].
Claims 8-9 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geddes in view of Christian, Lindskog, and Wajs (US20160255323A1).
Regarding claim 8, Geddes, Christian, and Lindskog teach the device of claim 6. Geddes teaches the low-resolution sub image ([0017] The background may then be treated as a virtual background described above, such as by the background being adjusted (e.g., by a decrease in a resolution of the background) without also adjusting the foreground (e.g., while maintaining a resolution of the foreground)). Wajs, in the same field of endeavor of blur kernel convolutions, teaches wherein the background blur component generates a kernel of a point spread function corresponding to the intensity of the blur operation ([0062] blurriness is measured by the blur size or point spread function (PSF) of the imaging system), and performs a convolution operation of the image and the kernel ([0082] in FIG. 6, the IR image is convolved with many different blur kernels).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the device of Geddes with the teachings of Wajs to use a point spread function and convolution for "estimating the object distance based on the color and infrared blur spots" [Wajs 0065].
Regarding claim 9, Geddes, Christian, Lindskog, and Wajs teach the device of claim 8. Wajs teaches wherein the background blur component determines a size of the kernel based on the target resolution ([0089] The size of the blur kernel may be selected to reduce computation (e.g., by down-sampling) and also possibly in order to provide sufficient resolution for the depth estimation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the device of Geddes with the teachings of Wajs to determine the kernel size based on the target resolution "to reduce computation while still maintaining a finer resolution" [Wajs 0078].
Regarding claim 16, Geddes, Christian, and Lindskog teach the method of claim 15. Geddes teaches the low-resolution sub image ([0017] The background may then be treated as a virtual background described above, such as by the background being adjusted (e.g., by a decrease in a resolution of the background) without also adjusting the foreground (e.g., while maintaining a resolution of the foreground)).
Geddes does not teach wherein performing the blur operation comprises: generating a kernel of a point spread function corresponding to the intensity of the blur operation; and performing a convolution operation of the image and the kernel.
Wajs teaches wherein performing the blur operation comprises: generating a kernel of a point spread function corresponding to the intensity of the blur operation ([0062] blurriness is measured by the blur size or point spread function (PSF) of the imaging system), and performing a convolution operation of the image and the kernel ([0082] in FIG. 6, the IR image is convolved with many different blur kernels).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the device of Geddes with the teachings of Wajs to use a point spread function and convolution for "estimating the object distance based on the color and infrared blur spots" [Wajs 0065].
Regarding claim 17, Geddes, Christian, Lindskog, and Wajs teach the method of claim 16. Wajs teaches wherein generating the kernel of the point spread function comprises determining a size of the kernel based on the target resolution ([0089] The size of the blur kernel may be selected to reduce computation (e.g., by down-sampling) and also possibly in order to provide sufficient resolution for the depth estimation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the method of Geddes with the teachings of Wajs to determine the kernel size based on the target resolution "to reduce computation while still maintaining a finer resolution" [Wajs 0078].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACQUELINE R ZAK/Examiner, Art Unit 2666
/EMILY C TERRELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2666