DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-8, and 10-11, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding Claim 6; “a power module…, wherein the power module is positioned between the first side of the stacked busbar and the second side pf the stacked busbar” is unclear; whereas the module does not refer back to an inverter which is already asserted in claim 1 line 1. Note: the drawings only appear to separately depict a power module and an inverter as different structures. Regarding Claim 10; “an inverter” is unclear; whereas an inverter is already asserted in claim 1, and thus it cannot be readily ascertained if the same or different inverter is intended. Further, “a power module” is unclear; whereas the module does not refer back to an inverter which is already asserted in claim 1 line 1. Note: the drawings only appear to separately depict a power module and an inverter as different structures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-10, and 17-19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by (Dimino 5,729,450).
Regarding Claim 1; Dimino discloses a bulk capacitor assembly (as disclosed by col. 2, lines 56-67) for an inverter (as depicted by Fig.’s 2-3, wherein a power module is constituted by six IGBTs-16 defines an inverter disposed on a water cooled plate-18), the bulk capacitor assembly comprising: a stacked busbar (as depicted by Fig. 3--whereas bus bar assembly-20 is stacked with bus bars 26, and 28), the stacked busbar including a first direct current (DC) busbar and a second DC busbar (whereas the bus assemblies are collectively represented as first and second conductors 30, 32-Fig. 4 which receive the DC input via input terminals 12—as further disclosed by col. 3, lines 1-13); first capacitors on a first side of the stacked busbar (as constituted by 24 is disposed below the stacked busbar—as depicted by Fig. 3), the first capacitors electrically connected to the first DC busbar and the second DC busbar (as already disclosed by col. 2, lines 56-67—whereas 24 is interconnected by means of 26, 28 which also connect 24 to the inverter-16 and the second capacitors 22); and second capacitors on a second side of the stacked busbar (as constituted by 22 is disposed above the stacked busbar—as depicted by Fig. 3), the first side being opposite to the second side (as depicted by Fig. 3), the second capacitors electrically connected to the first DC busbar and the second DC busbar (as already disclosed by col. 2, lines 56-67—whereas 24 is interconnected by means of 26, 28 which also connect 24 to the second capacitors 22). NOTE: a bulk capacitor assembly alone does not necessitate only or all of any particular structure or respective functions thereof, and further first capacitors and second capacitors thereof does not necessitate any particular type, actual functions, and/or cooperative relationships thereof to constitute the assembly, as intended. Further Note: the claims are herein deemed as constructively elected, as rejected.
Regarding Claim(s) 2-4; Dimino discloses the bulk capacitor assembly of claim 1, wherein the first DC busbar includes one or more first apertures, and wherein the capacitors are electrically connected to the second DC busbar through the one or more first apertures, and wherein the second DC busbar includes one or more second apertures, the one or more second apertures corresponding to the one or more first apertures (as constituted by bolt(s) through corresponding aperture(s) connecting each 26, 28 to 24).
Regarding Claim 5; Dimino discloses the bulk capacitor assembly of claim 1, wherein the first capacitors include: a first capacitor electrically connected to the first DC busbar, a second capacitor electrically connected to the second DC busbar, and a conductive plate electrically connecting the first capacitor to the second capacitor in a series configuration, wherein electrical current is configured to flow from the first DC busbar, through the first capacitor, through the conductive plate, through the second capacitor, and to the second DC busbar.
Regarding Claim 6; Dimino discloses the bulk capacitor assembly of claim 1, further comprising: a power module electrically connected to the first DC busbar and the second DC busbar, wherein the power module is positioned between the first side of the stacked busbar and the second side of the stacked busbar (as already depicted by Fig. 3—whereas a power module is defined by the inverter defined by IGBTs diposed on a water cooled plate-18 further defining a heat sink assembly, wherein the inverter is interconnected with bus bars 26, 28, further defined by the IGBTs being series connected across the bus assemblies represented as conductors 30, 32—as further depicted by Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 7; Dimino discloses the bulk capacitor assembly of claim 6, further comprising: a heat sink assembly, wherein the heat sink assembly is positioned with the power module between the first side of the stacked busbar and the second side of the stacked busbar, and wherein the heat sink assembly is configured to cool the first capacitors, the second capacitors, the stacked busbar, and the power module (whereas the power module and the heat sink assembly are integrated above the stacked bus bar assembly, and the heat sink assembly defined by 18 is in direct or indirect thermal with each of the capacitors, the power module and the stack busbar—as depicted by Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 9; Dimino discloses the bulk capacitor assembly of claim 1, wherein a cross-section of the bulk capacitor assembly includes: the first capacitors on the first side of the stacked busbar; the second capacitors on the second side of the stacked busbar; a power module between the first side of the stacked busbar and the second side of the stacked busbar; and a heat sink assembly between the first side of the stacked busbar and the second side of the stacked busbar (as already depicted by Fig. 3—whereas a power module is defined by the inverter defined by IGBTs diposed on a water cooled plate-18 further defining a heat sink assembly, wherein the inverter is interconnected with bus bars 26, 28, further defined by the IGBTs being series connected across the bus assemblies represented as conductors 30, 32—as further depicted by Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 10; Dimino discloses an inverter (as already set forth) comprising: the bulk capacitor assembly of claim 1; a power module configured to switch direct current electricity into alternating current (whereas the inverter may define a power module as a 3x2 matrix of IGBTs mounted on a water cooled plate-18—as disclosed by col. 2, lines 43-48 or otherwise as a power module defining an H-Bridge inverter having four switches, wherein the inverter constitutes DC changed to AC--as disclosed by col. 5, lines 43-48); and a heat sink assembly, wherein the heat sink assembly is configured to cool the power module and the bulk capacitor assembly.
Regarding Claim 17; Dimino discloses a stacked busbar assembly (as depicted by Fig. 3--whereas bus bar assembly-20 is stacked with bus bars 26, and 28) for a bulk capacitor assembly (as disclosed by col. 2, lines 56-67) for an inverter (as depicted by Fig.’s 2-3, wherein a power module is constituted by six IGBTs-16 defines an inverter disposed on a water cooled plate-18), the stacked busbar assembly comprising: a first direct current (DC) busbar; and a second DC busbar (whereas the bus assemblies are collectively represented as first and second conductors 30, 32-Fig. 4 which receive the DC input via input terminals 12—as further disclosed by col. 3, lines 1-13), wherein the first DC busbar and the second DC busbar are arranged for first capacitors to be provided on a first side of the stacked busbar assembly (as constituted by 24 is disposed below the stacked busbar—as depicted by Fig. 3) and for second capacitors to be provided on a second side of the stacked busbar assembly (as constituted by 22 is disposed above the stacked busbar—as depicted by Fig. 3), wherein the first side is opposite to the second side (as depicted by Fig. 3). NOTE: a bulk capacitor assembly alone does not necessitate only or all of any particular structure or respective functions thereof, and further first capacitors and second capacitors thereof does not necessitate any particular type, actual functions, and/or cooperative relationships thereof to constitute the assembly, as intended. Further Note: the claims are herein deemed as constructively elected, as rejected.
Regarding Claim(s) 18; Dimino discloses the stacked busbar assembly of claim 17, wherein the first DC busbar includes one or more first apertures, wherein the first capacitors are to be electrically connected to the second DC busbar through the one or more first apertures, and wherein the second DC busbar includes one or more second apertures, the one or more second apertures corresponding to the one or more first apertures (as constituted by bolt(s) through corresponding aperture(s) connecting each 26, 28 to 24).
Regarding Claim 19; Dimino discloses the stacked busbar assembly of claim 17, wherein the first DC busbar includes one or more first apertures, wherein the first capacitors are to be electrically connected to the first DC busbar at the one or more first apertures (as depicted by Fig. 3—whereas 24 electrically connects is 26 via an aperture bolted thereto), and wherein the second DC busbar includes one or more second apertures, the one or more second apertures corresponding to the one or more first apertures (as depicted by Fig. 3—whereas the bolted aperture of 26 corresponds to an aperture of 28).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-12, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (Dimino 5,729,450) in view of (Fisher 2021/0111552).
Regarding Claim 11; Dimino does not explicitly disclose a vehicle comprising the inverter of claim 10. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the inverter within a electric vehicle since it was known in the art that, as set forth by Fisher--para.’s 0307 0444 that an electric vehicle may employ a combination of a battery, fuel cell and/or a capacitor, according to application, and wherein the inverter is positioned between a power source and a load and/or between the battery and a motor to condition power for power distribution efficiency, energy storage, power utilization and/or peak power production. Going further, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding Claim 12; Dimino discloses a system (whereas Fig.’s 2-4 depicts a power conversion system; and col. 1, lines 42-54 further discloses a power conversion system characterized by an inverter circuit including interconnected electrolytic and snubber capacitors for current supply and bulk filtering to protect switching transistors) comprising: an inverter configured to convert DC power from a battery to AC power to drive a motor (as disclosed by col. 5, lines 43-48), wherein the inverter includes: a power module (as depicted by Fig.’s 2-3, wherein a power module is constituted by six IGBTs-16 defines an inverter disposed on a water cooled plate-18); and a bulk capacitor assembly (as disclosed by col. 2, lines 56-67), the bulk capacitor assembly including: a stacked busbar (as depicted by Fig. 3--whereas bus bar assembly-20 is stacked with bus bars 26, and 28), the stacked busbar including a first direct current (DC) busbar and a second DC busbar (whereas the bus assemblies are collectively represented as first and second conductors 30, 32-Fig. 4 which receive the DC input via input terminals 12—as further disclosed by col. 3, lines 1-13); first capacitors on a first side of the stacked busbar (as constituted by 24 is disposed below the stacked busbar—as depicted by Fig. 3), the first capacitors electrically connected to the first DC busbar and the second DC busbar (as already disclosed by col. 2, lines 56-67—whereas 24 is interconnected by means of 26, 28 which also connect 24 to the inverter-16 and the second capacitors 22); and second capacitors on a second side of the stacked busbar (as constituted by 22 is disposed below the stacked busbar—as depicted by Fig. 3), the first side being opposite to the second side (as depicted by Fig. 3), the second capacitors electrically connected to the first DC busbar and the second DC busbar (as already disclosed by col. 2, lines 56-67—whereas 24 is interconnected by means of 26, 28 which also connect 24 to the second capacitors 22). Except, Dimino does not explicitly disclose the power from a battery. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the inverter within a electric vehicle since it was known in the art that, as set forth by Fisher--para.’s 0307, 0444 that an electric vehicle may employ a combination of a battery, fuel cell and/or a capacitor, according to application, and wherein the inverter is positioned between a power source and a load and/or between the battery and a motor to condition power for power distribution efficiency, energy storage, power utilization and/or peak power production. Going further, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). NOTE: a bulk capacitor assembly alone does not necessitate only or all of any particular structure or respective functions thereof, and further first capacitors and second capacitors thereof does not necessitate any particular type, actual functions, and/or cooperative relationships thereof to constitute the assembly, as intended. Further Note: the claims are herein deemed as constructively elected, as rejected.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8, 13-15, and 20, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 8; the bulk capacitor assembly of claim 7, further comprising: a printed circuit board extending across the first side of the stacked busbar and the second side of the stacked busbar.
Regarding Claim 3; the system of claim 12, further comprising: a heat sink assembly, wherein the heat sink assembly is positioned with the power module between the first side of the stacked busbar and the second side of the stacked busbar, and wherein the heat sink assembly is configured to cool the first capacitors, the second capacitors, the stacked busbar, and the power module; and a printed circuit board extending across the first side of the stacked busbar and the second side of the stacked busbar.
Regarding Claim 5; the bulk capacitor assembly of claim 1, wherein the first capacitors include: a first capacitor electrically connected to the first DC busbar, a second capacitor electrically connected to the second DC busbar, and a conductive plate electrically connecting the first capacitor to the second capacitor in a series configuration, wherein electrical current is configured to flow from the first DC busbar, through the first capacitor, through the conductive plate, through the second capacitor, and to the second DC busbar.
Regarding Claim 15; the bulk capacitor assembly of claim 12, wherein the first capacitors include: a first capacitor electrically connected to the first DC busbar, a second capacitor electrically connected to the second DC busbar, and a conductive plate electrically connecting the first capacitor to the second capacitor in a series configuration, wherein electrical current is configured to flow from the first DC busbar, through the first capacitor, through the conductive plate, through the second capacitor, and to the second DC busbar.
Regarding Claim 20; the stacked busbar assembly of claim 17, wherein the first DC busbar includes a first connection aperture and a through aperture, wherein the second DC busbar includes a second connection aperture corresponding to the through aperture, and an isolation aperture corresponding to the first connection aperture, wherein the first connection aperture is configured to electrically connect the first DC busbar to a first capacitor of the first capacitors, and wherein the second connection aperture is configured to electrically connect the second DC busbar to a second capacitor of the first capacitors through the first through aperture.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20110149625-A1
AZUMA; Katsunori et al.
Fig. 20
US 11329591 B2
Matsuda; Ryou et al.
Fig.’s 3B and 4B
EP 677916 A2
KEHL C et al.
Fig.’s 1-2, and 4-5
/COURTNEY L SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835