Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/19/2026 have been entered. Claims 1, 5-10 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner notes applicant’s discussion of the intended use and structure of the limitation of algae control wells overcomes the 112(b) rejection of record, and the additional 112(b) rejections previously set forth concerning antecedent basis are withdrawn in view of the amendment and remarks. However, the remarks regarding the amendment of claim 5 to define the variable m are not persuasive, it is not clear that the variable m would necessity be the number of units.
In response to applicant’s argument that the cited references do not teach or suggest the particular combination of features or the determination of the deployment of the algae control wells based on the above flow and hydraulic conditions, examiner notes “the arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record”, In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965), and the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
In response to applicant’s argument that the instant application demonstrates algae removal effect, if this is intended as an assertion of unexpected results, see MPEP 716.02 for details regarding allegations of unexpected results. The burden of establishing results are unexpected and significant falls on applicant. Evidence of unexpected properties may be in the form of a direct or indirect comparison of the claimed invention with the closest prior art which is commensurate in scope with the claims, and must be weighed against evidence supporting prima facie obviousness in making a final determination of the obviousness of the claimed invention. Whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the "objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support.”
Specification
The substitute specification filed 08/19/2026 has not been entered because it does not conform to 37 CFR 1.125(b) and (c) because: the remarks regarding the amendment of claim 5 to define the variable m are not persuasive, it is not clear that the variable m would necessity be the number of units.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea or mental process without significantly more. Claim 1 recites limitations including:
defining positions of a sluice-pump hub and a river diversion channel
creating a water flow model
determining whether it is necessary to adopt rectification measures
obtaining hydraulic characteristic values
determining whether the currently arranged algae control wells
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because once the determinations are complete there is no application of the abstract idea to a particular application. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claimed components of pumping stations, retaining wall are recited are recited at a high level of generality.
Instant claim 1 requires:
Defining position of a pump hub, and arranging pumping units (a mental process);
Creating a water flow module (abstract process), obtaining a flow velocity distribution (data gathering), determining if necessary to adopt rectification measures;
Obtaining hydraulic values (data gathering), determining if algae control requirements met (mental process);
Performing grid division and verification (mental process) and obtaining number of grids (data gathering);
Description of the flow model (math);
Analysis (mental process)
Establish a range (mental process)
And that if values are not within the range, rectification measures need to be adopted (no action is taken).
Examiner notes that the new limitation of based on the optimal number of grids derived from the grid division, killing algae in the sluice-pump hub area to improve water quality, does not appear to be supported by the instant specification, and is unclear, it is unclear what is killing the algae, and the claim does not require any implementation of any action if the analysis falls within the determined range.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: algae control wells in claim 1, the instant specification does not appear to provide corresponding structure or description for the recited wells, or for performing the function of algae control, examiner notes applicant’s remarks filed 08/19/2026 describing the term as a physical well structure arranged in the intake channel of the sluice-pump hub area, and is an intended use of the well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites based on the optimal number of grids derived from the grid division, killing algae in the sluice-pump hub area to improve water quality, this limitation does not appear to be supported by the instant specification, and is unclear, it is unclear what is killing the algae, and the claim does not require any implementation of any action if the analysis falls within the determined range.
Claim 5 recites a formula comprising the symbol m, and is the claim 5 and the specification are amended to recite and m is the number of pumping station units, however this definition does not appear to be supported or obvious in view of the instant specification.
Claims 1, 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites based on the optimal number of grids derived from the grid division, killing algae in the sluice-pump hub area to improve water quality, this limitation does not appear to be supported by the instant specification, and is unclear, it is unclear what is killing the algae, and the claim does not require any implementation of any action if the analysis falls within the determined range.
Additional claims are rejected as dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shang (CN 212476272 U), in view of Liu (CN 112814079 A), in view of Fan CN 114934495 A.
With respect to claim 1, 5-7, Shang teaches wetland purification systems comprising water conservancy control mechanism, flood diversion dike, multi-level pond wetland purification system; riverway in-situ purification system and river water conservancy station hinge (abstract, river diversion channel), river water sluice station hinge connected with a purifying system and the downstream end of the river and drainage pump station with two sides and four pumps (Figs. 1-4, p. 3-4 embodiment 1, sluice-pump hub area, at least two sets of pumping station units side by side at the water outlet end of the river diversion channel); water conservancy control mechanism 100 comprising a dam and control valve (Figs. 1-4, p. 3-4 embodiment 1, a retaining wall is arranged in the river diversion channel), and a flood guide dike which enhances flood and flood storage and water purification capability of river mouth area of river comprising Shang does not teach an inlet water tank, algae control wells are arranged at the retaining wall according to predetermined gaps, or the recited use of a model.
Shang is silent as the specifics of the pumping arrangements. Liu teaches double water pumping stations with a shared inlet pool (abstract), In the long-distance water diversion project of the major river, it is necessary to set the double-delivery pump station and that dual water delivery pump stations generally includes: front tank, overhauling gate, water inlet pool, double-water pump room and auxiliary factory building (background). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a inlet tank or pool as described by Shang as according to Shang, dual water pumping stations for use in river projects are generally used and when a primary reference is silent as to a certain detail, one of ordinary skill would be motivated to consult a secondary reference which satisfies the deficiencies of the primary reference.
Fan teaches a river channel algae control system based on ship lock water conservancy hinge and rectification analysis method comprising a bank wall and algae removing wells (abstract), and a control system and rectification analysis method (Technical Field), the method comprising establishing a three dimensional flow field model to accurately analyze and calculate rectification measures (p. 3), and the use of hydraulic data (p. 6-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention combine Fan’s river channel algae control system and rectification analysis method into the taught combination in order to prevent algae impact to the river water quality, water ecological environment, and lift and improve the water environment (background).
Fan teaches introducing grid for precise analysis and calculation (p. 3, 6-7), setting rectification measures at the river bottom and the use of rectifying structures (p. 2-4), and a flow control equation and a turbulent model for simulating the physical quantity of the flow state of the water flow, comprehensively considering the precision and solving efficiency, preferably using the Navier-Stokes equation of Reynolds time to describe the flow field movement, and selecting the widely used standard k-epsilon turbulent flow model based on the physical quantity of the flow state of the water flow, designing waterpower characteristics analysis function, specifically analyzing the characteristics state of the water flow, wherein the hydraulic characteristics function at least comprises flow speed distribution uniformity, speed weighted average angle, characteristics state of the water flow at least comprises the uniformity of the flow speed distribution and the directionality of the water flow pump. While the taught combination does teach the specific recited formulas, applicant’s formula appears to be a variant of Navier-Stokes, absent evidence of unexpected results the specific math would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Examiner notes "Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed. A “whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.” Id. (quoting Minton v. Nat’l Ass’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003); MPEP §2111.04). Where a reference discloses the terms of the recited method steps, and such steps necessarily result in the desired and recited effect, the fact that the reference does not describe the recited effect in haec verba is of no significance because the reference meets the claim under the doctrine of inherency.", absent clarification of differences over the prior art, killing algae is considered inherent.
With respect to claim 8, Fan teaches a bottom sill 5 (p. 8, Fig. 5).
With respect to claim 9, Shang teaches a dam as discussed above. Fan teaches algae wells arranged in the bank/dam in a row (p. 5).
Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shang (CN 212476272 U), in view of Liu (CN 112814079 A), in view of Fan CN 114934495 A, in view of Mao (CN 105381641 B).
With respect to claim 10, the taught combination provides a dam/bank/retaining wall comprising algae control wells arranged opposite to the sluice-pump hub at an interval, while the taught combination does not explicitly teach an arc-shaped wall, absent evidence of criticality changes in shape are obvious, see MPEP 2144.04 IV. B., alternatively, Mao teaches a bloom elimination system for a curved body, intercepting algae (abstract, p. 2-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a curved bank as described by Mao as curved bodies are known for use in algae elimination in river systems as shown by Mao and the courts have held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date, see MPEP §2143.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEANNIE MCDERMOTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1776
/BRADLEY R SPIES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776