Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 21-27, 30, 31, 34 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by European Patent Application Publication No. EP3865875 to Holmes et al. (cited by applicant).
In claim 1, the limitation “different from the first or second test” in lines 9-10 has been interpreted under broadest reasonable interpretation and thus interpreted as the:
the third test different from the first test; or
the third test different from the second test.
Regarding applicant’s claim 1, Holmes et al. discloses systems and method for sample processing that provides for multiple analysis. [0643], [1525]-[1527]
Holmes et al. teaches flow cytometry (first test) to measure surface antigens on antibody labeled cells. [1732].
In addition, Holmes et al. teaches cell counting (second test). [1736], [1740].
Further, Holmes et al. teaches cell imaging (third test) that can provide information on cell size. [1744]. It is noted that the cell imaging (third test) is different from the flow cytometry (first test).
Holmes et al. teaches a network that provides performance for diagnostic device to communicate with a remote server, device, or other system for any of the purposes described. [0360]
Further, Holmes et al. teaches each module may have its own local communication unit and that in some instances, each module may be capable of communicating independently of other modules and/or devices. The module may use its communication unit to communicate with an external device, with the device, or with other modules. The provision for allowing each module to communicate with one another in addition to external devices reads on the network recited in claim 1.
Holmes et al. teaches “a controller operatively coupled to said at least one module and an electronic display and that the display is operatively coupled to the controller. [0211], [0212]
Holmes et al. further teaches data may be displayed on the touch screen (display) after analysis, for methods above or elsewhere herein, alone or in combination. [0281]
At para. [1901], Holmes et al. teaches that display may output information about one or more automated process that may be implemented by the device.
Further, Holmes et al. teaches that a controller may be or use processors. [1377]
Therefore, Holmes et al. teaches an information processing apparatus that includes a controller and a display and that the controller is programmed to acquire one or more test results and the test results on a display in reference to each other.
The automated processes are performed in one or more modules that may be capable of performing one or more of a sample preparation, sample assay, and detection step. The device may be capable of performing the steps using a small volume of sample. (Abstract).
The samples may be different samples or portions of the same sample (e.g., portions of a blood sample). [0643]
Holmes et al. teaches displaying output information about one of more automated processes anticipates displaying data results of the flow cytometry, blood cell count and blood cell imaging data citation. [1901]
II.) Regarding applicant’s claim 22, as noted above Holmes et al. anticipates claim 21 from which claim 22 depends.
Claim 22 recites that the controller is programmed to control the display to show the first, second and third test results on the display such that the first, second and third test results supplement one with the other two.
As noted above, Holmes et al. anticipates displaying data results of the flow cytometry, blood cell count and blood cell imaging data.
By displaying data results of the flow cytometry, blood cell count and blood cell imaging data, the controller provides these test results in a manner in which one is supplemented with the other two.
Therefore, Holmes et al. anticipates claim 22.
III.) Regarding applicant’s claim 23, as noted above Holmes et al. anticipates claim 21 from which claim 23 depends.
Claim 23 recites that the first test uses the antibody reagent selected in view of the second and third test results.
As noted above, teaches flow cytometry to measure surface antigens on antibody labeled cells.
The antibody labels allow comparison between the test, including between the flow cytometry test and the blood cell count and blood cell imaging data.
Therefore, Holmes et al. anticipates claim 23.
IV.) Regarding applicant’s claim 24, as noted above Holmes et al. anticipates claim 21 from which claim 24 depends.
Claim 24 recites that the controller is programmed to control the display to show a list of items that include an identification of a patient and link information indicative of how the first, second and third tests are associated with each other, and receive a test order requesting the first test with respect to the patient selected from the list.
Holmes et al. teaches that the display may output information to an operator of the device. The display may prompt the operator to perform one or more steps in the operation of the device. The display may display information about the sample collected, the subject, and/or data relating to one or more preparation step performed or chemical reaction run. The display may output information about one or more automated process that may be implemented by the device. [1901]
Information as to how the first, second and third tests are associated with each other reads on the different tests that the operator can be prompted to select for operation in any order (using portions of the same sample as noted above).
Therefore, Holmes et al. anticipates claim 24.
V.) Regarding applicant’s claim 25, as noted above Holmes et al. anticipates claim 24 from which claim 25 depends.
Claim 25 recites that the controller is programmed to acquire the first test result requested by the test order and associate the identification of the patient with the first, second and third test results.
As noted above, Holmes et al. teaches that the display may output information to an operator of the device. The display may prompt the operator to perform one or more steps in the operation of the device. The display may display information about the sample collected, the subject, and/or data relating to one or more preparation step performed or chemical reaction run. The display may output information about one or more automated process that may be implemented by the device and results. [1901]
The operator can be prompted to select for operation in any order, after which the first ordered test result will be displayed together with information about the subject.
Therefore, Holmes et al. anticipates claim 25.
VI.) Regarding applicant’s claim 26, as noted above Holmes et al. anticipates claim 24 from which claim 26 depends.
Claim 26 recites that the information regarding the identification of the patient includes an identification of a specimen that identifies the blood specimen collected from the patient.
As noted above, Holmes et al. teaches that the display may output information to an operator of the device. The display may prompt the operator to perform one or more steps in the operation of the device. The display may display information about the sample collected, the subject, and/or data relating to one or more preparation step performed or chemical reaction run. The display may output information about one or more automated process that may be implemented by the device, and display results. [1901]
By displaying information about the sample collected and about the subject, and/or data relating to one or more preparation step performed or chemical reaction run, the blood sample collected for the testing (from the subject) will be displayed with information about and identifying the subject.
Therefore, Holmes et al. renders claim 26 obvious.
VII.) Regarding applicant’s claim 27 as noted above Holmes et al. anticipates claim 21 from which claim 27 depends.
Claim 27 recites that the controller is programmed to receive an input inclusive of: (1) a first specimen identification that identifies a first blood specimen; (2) a second specimen identification correlated to the first specimen identification that identifies a second blood specimen; and (3) a third specimen identification correlated to the first and second specimen identifications that identifies a third blood specimen, and the controller is further programmed to acquire the first test result with the first specimen identification, the second test result with the second specimen identification, and the third test result with the third specimen identification.
Aa noted above, Holmes et al. teaches that the display may output information to an operator of the device. The display may prompt the operator to perform one or more steps in the operation of the device. The display may display information about the sample collected, the subject, and/or data relating to one or more preparation step performed or chemical reaction run. The display may output information about one or more automated process that may be implemented by the device, and results. [1901]
Since the display can display information about the subject and the data related to one or more preparation step performed or chemical reaction run on samples, the controller has to be programmed to receive such information about subject for each test (which Holmes et al. allows to be portions of the same sample). Since the display displays data and results in addition to information about the subject, the controller in Holmes et al. will acquire and display the first test result with the first specimen identification, the second test result with the second specimen identification, and the third test result with the third specimen identification.
Therefore, Holmes et al. anticipates claim 27.
VIII.) Regarding applicant’s claim 30 as noted above Holmes et al. anticipates claim 21 from which claim 30 depends.
Claim 30 recites that the controller is programmed to control the display to show the first, second and third test results on a test result screen including a first region for displaying the first test result, a second region for displaying the second test result and a third region for displaying the third test result.
As noted above, Holmes et al. teaches that display may output information about one or more automated process that may be implemented by the device.
Displaying the first, second and third test results on the display in Holmes et al would involve displaying the test results in different regions of the display so as not to overlap.
Therefore, Holmes et al. anticipates claim 30.
IX.) Regarding applicant’s claim 31 as noted above Holmes et al. anticipates claim 30 from which claim 31 depends.
Claim 31 recites that the controller is programmed to control the display to show an item of the second test result indicating an abnormality in the second region and an item of the third test result indicating an abnormality in the third region.
In Holmes et al. a sample having tests results that evidence an abnormality in the blood cell count and blood cell imaging will be displayed to show an item of the second test result indicating an abnormality in a second region and an item of the third test result indicating an abnormality in a third region.
Therefore, Holmes et al. anticipates claim 31.
X.) Regarding applicant’s claim 34 as noted above Holmes et al. anticipates claim 21 from which claim 34 depends.
Claim 34 recites that the controller is programmed to acquire the first test result with a test identification that identifies the first test.
Since, as noted above, the display can display information about the subject and the data related to one or more preparation step performed or chemical reaction run on samples, the controller has to be programmed to receive such information about subject for each test, in addition to acquiring each test result.
Therefore, Holmes et al. anticipates claim 34.
XI.) Regarding applicant’s claim 36 as noted above Holmes et al. anticipates claim 34 from which claim 36 depends.
Claim 36 recites that the controller is programmed to control the display to show the first test result with the test identification information.
Since, as noted above, the display can display information about the subject and the data related to one or more preparation step performed or chemical reaction run on samples, the controller has to be programmed to display information about subject for each test, in addition to displaying each test result.
Therefore, Holmes et al. anticipates claim 36.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 32, 33 and 35 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Holmes et al. as applied to claim 30 and further in view of Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art found in para. [0005].
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 32, as noted above Holmes et al. anticipates claim 30 from which claim 32 depends.
Claim 32 recites that the controller is programmed to control the display to show a plurality of different types of antibody reagents used in the first test, wherein the plurality of different types of antibody reagents are dispensed in different containers for preparing different measurement samples for the first test, and to display in the first region the first test results obtained from the different measurement samples.
Holmes et al. does not teach that the controller is programmed to control the display to show a plurality of different types of antibody reagents used in the first test, wherein the plurality of different types of antibody reagents are dispensed in different containers for preparing different measurement samples for the first test, and to display in the first region the first test results obtained from the different measurement samples.
Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art found in para. [0005] states that in a test by a flow cytometer, in order to detect or determine a disease, various types of antigens may be measured. When various types of antigens are measured by the flow cytometer, a clinical technologist examines whether the reliabilities of the respective measurement results of the various types of antigens are high, with reference to another test result of a specimen of the same subject.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Holmes et al. to run the flow cytometer test to measure different antigens using different antibodies as taught by Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art for purposes of detecting or determining different diseases. As noted above it would have been obvious to provide the different test results in different regions of the display. Providing the antibodies in different containers would have been an obvious way to provide the antibodies.
Displaying the results of the flow cytometer tests (firs tests) in a first test region in the display of Homes et al would have been obvious.
Therefore, Holmes et al. in view of Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art renders claim 32 obvious.
II.) Regarding applicant’s claim 33, as noted above Holmes et al. in view of Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art renders claim 32 obvious from which claim 33 depends.
Claim 33 recites that the controller is programmed to control the display to switch and display in the first region the first test results obtained from the different measurement samples.
Holmes et al. in view of Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art does not teach that the controller is programmed to control the display to switch and display in the first region the first test results obtained from the different measurement samples.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify Holmes et al. in view of Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art to configure the controller to control the display to switch and display in the first region the first test results obtained from the different measurement samples for purposes of reviewing each of the flow cytometer test results.
Therefore, Holmes in view of Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art renders claim 33 obvious.
III.) Regarding applicant’s claim 35, as noted above Holmes et al. anticipates claim 34 from which claim 33 depends.
Claim 35 recites that the test identification includes an identification of the antibody reagent used in the first test.
Holmes et al. does not teach that the test identification includes an identification of the antibody reagent used in the first test.
As noted above, Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art found in para. [0005] states that in a test by a flow cytometer, in order to detect or determine a disease, various types of antigens may be measured. When various types of antigens are measured by the flow cytometer, a clinical technologist examines whether the reliabilities of the respective measurement results of the various types of antigens are high, with reference to another test result of a specimen of the same subject.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Holmes et al. so that the test identification includes an identification of the antibody reagent used in the first test, in view of Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art which teaches that various types of antigens maybe measured (thus requiring different antibody reagents), for purposes of keeping track of the specific antibody reagent used in a particular test.
Therefore, Holmes et al. in view of Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art renders claim 35 obvious.
3. Claims 37 and 38 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Holmes et al. as applied to claim 21 and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0096515 to Nagai et al.
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 37 as noted above Holmes et al. anticipates claim 21 from which claim 37 depends.
Claim 37 recites a specimen pretreatment device configured to prepare a measurement sample tested in the first test, wherein the information processing apparatus is operably connected to the specimen pretreatment device via the network and is programmed to transmit, to the specimen pretreatment device, a test identification that identifies the first test.
As noted above, Holmes et al. teaches flow cytometry to measure surface antigens on antibody labeled cells and test identification that identifies the performed tests..
However, Holmes et al does not teach a specimen pretreatment device configured to prepare a measurement sample tested in the first test, wherein the information processing apparatus is operably connected to the specimen pretreatment device via the network and is programmed to transmit, to the specimen pretreatment device, a test identification that identifies the first test.
Nagai et al. teaches a specimen pretreatment device in which a specimen is pretreated with a labeling reagent such as an antibody reagent to prepare a sample and the sample is analyzed by a flow cytometer and a container containing a specimen to be pretreated, with a reader, and accesses an external management computer. The pretreatment device acquires measurement item information of the flow cytometer for the specimen from the management computer, mixes the specimen and the labeling reagent based on the measurement item information. [0005]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify Holmes et al. to include specimen pretreatment device configured to prepare a measurement sample tested in the first test as taught by Nagai et al. and have the information processing apparatus (comparable to the management computer of Nagai et al.) operably connected to the specimen pretreatment device via the network and programmed to transmit, to the specimen pretreatment device, a test identification that identifies the first test.
Therefore, Holmes et al. in view of Nagai et al. renders claim 37 obvious.
II.) Regarding applicant’s claim 38, as noted above Holmes et al. in view of Nagai et al. renders claim 37 obvious from which claim 38 depends.
Claim 38 recites that the specimen pretreatment device is configured to use a setting unit in which a plurality of containers for preparing measurement samples to be respectively set at setting positions different from each other, to prepare the measurement samples in the containers, and the controller is programmed to store a test order in which the test identification and the setting position are associated with each other.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify In Holmes et al. in view of Nagai et al. to use the specimen pretreatment device to prepare a plurality of samples ahead for analyzing multiple samples and provide the sample in separate containers. It would further have been obvious for the have the information processing apparatus (comparable to the management computer of Nagai et al.) keep track of the location of each prepared sample containers for purposes of associating a test identification with each sample when they are tested.
Therefore, Holmes et al. in view of Nagai et al. renders claim 38 obvious.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 28 and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record does not teach or suggest a controller that is programmed to control a display to show second and third test results prior to acquiring a first test result and receive a test order requesting the first test, subsequent to showing the second and third test results in conjunction with the test system of claim 21. Claim 29 depends from claim 28.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0384220 to Umetsu et al. teaches an information processing apparatus, information processing method and program that uses antibodies and teaches a processing unit 101 that can display reagent information corresponding to the combination of the antibodies (or antigens). [0233]
/M.S.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798