DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1, 13, 16, 19 and 20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Regarding the previously pending 35 USC 101 rejection, claims 19 and 20 as a whole, recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, under Prong Two of Step 2A of the Alice analysis.
Specifically, amended independent claim 19 recites, inter alia, “receiving, from a second client device associated with a participant of the at least three participants, a reply to the calendar event invite indicating the participant as an async participant, wherein the second client device determines to provide an async participant option within the calendar event invite based on information included in the calendar event invite, the information including meeting details generated from the calendar event object and the set of meeting sub-objects”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 9-16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Niess et al (US 20220368660 A1).
As per claim 1, Niess et al disclose a computer-implemented method for implementing asynchronous user participation across multiple computer applications (i.e., Techniques described herein enable users to “attend” or participate in an asynchronous meeting at any time or place that is convenient for them, using functionality available via a communication platform, ¶ 0020), comprising:
receiving a calendar event invite for a virtual meeting a client device associated with a user (i.e., the first user can tag one or more second users (e.g., meeting attendees) in the message. In some examples, such a tag can be an “invitation” to join an asynchronous meeting. In some examples, the first user can identify the one or more second users via an input to the message generation user interface. In some examples, the first user can tag a second user via a mention, a profile view, an email, or generating a link from the meeting generation interface that enables a second user to be added as an attendee of the asynchronous meeting, ¶ 0039, wherein scheduled asynchronous meetings can be generated via additional or alternative mechanisms, such as via a bot (e.g., based on detecting an intent to schedule a meeting, etc.), in association with a reminder, in association with a calendar appointment, ¶ 0049),
wherein the calendar event invite includes a calendar event object having a set of meeting sub-objects, including a meeting collaborative object and an attendance collection that identifies invitees and attendance status (i.e., asynchronous meetings, regardless of how they are scheduled, can be associated with an object that is stored in the datastore 122. Such an object can be a meeting object, which can be associated with a meeting identifier. In at least one example, the message object can be associated with a meeting identifier, one or more user identifiers (e.g., indicating the attendee(s) of the meeting), an originating user identifier (e.g., indicating the message originator), one or more invitee user identifier(s), ¶ 0068);
determining, by a processor, to provide an async participant option within the calendar event invite based on information included in the calendar event invite, the information including meeting details generated from the calendar event object and the set of meeting sub-objects (i.e., the message object can be associated with a r 15 meeting identifier, one or more user identifiers (e.g., indicating the attendee(s) of the asynchronous meeting), an originating user identifier (e.g., indicating the message originator), one or more invitee user identifier(s), identifier(s) of virtual space(s) to which the message is to be posted, ¶ 0050),
wherein determining to provide the async participant option within the calendar event invite causes a graphical user interface that displays the calendar event invite on the client device to display a new selectable element for the async participant option (i.e., the first user can tag a second user via a mention, a profile view, an email, or generating a link from the meeting generation interface that enables a second user to be added as an attendee of the asynchronous meeting, ¶ 0039);
in response to detecting a selection of the async participant option: providing a reply to the calendar event invite indicating the user as an async participant of the virtual meeting (i.e., the first user can tag a second user via a mention, a profile view, an email, or generating a link from the meeting generation interface that enables a second user to be added as an attendee of the asynchronous meeting, ¶ 0039); and
modifying a calendar event for the user displayed on the client device based on updating the calendar event object at the client device, which causes the calendar event to indicate async participation by the user in the virtual meeting, wherein the calendar event with the user as an async participant has different visual properties from other calendar events of the user (i.e., the meeting management component 116 can generate a meeting object based at least in part on the meeting details. In some examples, meetings, regardless of how they are scheduled, can be associated with an object that is stored in the datastore 122. Such an object can be a meeting object, which can be associated with a meeting identifier. In at least one example, based at least in part on receiving data input into the meeting generation user interface, the meeting management component 116 can receive such data and can generate a meeting object for the asynchronous meeting, ¶ 0151);
based on determining, during the virtual meeting, that the calendar event object associated with the virtual meeting indicates the user as an async participant, initiating creation of one or more meeting resources for the user (i.e., asynchronous meetings, regardless of how they are scheduled, can be associated with an object that is stored in the datastore 122. Such an object can be a meeting object, which can be associated with a meeting identifier (¶ 0050). A channel-based messaging platform, and/or any other platform for facilitating communication between and among users, can enable users to exchange messages and/or other data via the communication platform, ¶ 0018, wherein a user can post a message that is associated with an asynchronous meeting or the meeting management component 116 can post a message that is associated with an asynchronous meeting in a virtual space such as a channel, a direct message, a board, a virtual meeting hub, and/or the like. Meeting attendees can comprise users who are tagged in the message. In at least one example, attendees can be notified when a message is posted to a virtual space and can reply to the message, ¶ 0086); and
after the virtual meeting occurs, notifying the client device when meeting resources created from the virtual meeting have been added to the calendar event displayed on the client device (i.e., content can be uploaded while it is being recorded or otherwise captured (or immediately after recording or otherwise capturing) such that a creator can post the content when the creator has finished recording or otherwise capturing the content. Content generated, uploaded, and/or otherwise provided can be posted as a reply to the message (e.g., representative of the asynchronous meeting), ¶ 0122).
As per claim 2, Niess et al disclose determining that the calendar event invite includes three or more meeting participants (i.e., the meeting generation user interface 226 can be a pop-up (as illustrated in FIG. 2B), overlay, or other user interface element presented via the user interface of the communication platform. In some examples, the meeting generation user interface 226 can take over the user interface 200 of the communication platform or comprise a new user interface, ¶ 0113 and Figure 2B); and enabling display of the async participant option within the calendar event invite in connection with a positive participant option and a negative participant option (i.e., FIG. 3A illustrates an instance of the user interface 200 as presented via a client of a user tagged as an attendee of the asynchronous meeting generated in FIG. 2B and/or another member of the virtual space (e.g., Channel D). As described above, in at least one example, the meeting management component 116 can cause a message associated with the asynchronous meeting, ¶ 0117).
As per claim 3, Niess et al disclose adding a prefix to a title of the calendar event indicating the async participant option (i.e., Meeting details can include a title and/or topic of the asynchronous meeting, ¶ 0037).
As per claim 4, Niess et al disclose modifying a visual appearance of the calendar event to a different color, transparency, or shade than the other non-async calendar events of the user from a same calendar (i.e., messages associated with asynchronous meetings can be associated with different presentation characteristics than messages that are not associated with asynchronous meetings such that they appear visually distinct from messages that are not associated with asynchronous meetings. For example, the user interface element 300 can be a different color, size, shape, etc. than other messages that are not associated with asynchronous meetings, ¶ 0117).
As per claim 6, Niess et al disclose determining that the calendar event invite includes an async participant flag positively indicating an availability of the async participant option (i.e., a user can post a message that is associated with an asynchronous meeting or the meeting management component 116 can post a message that is associated with an asynchronous meeting in a virtual space such as a channel, a direct message, a board, a virtual meeting hub, and/or the like. The message can be associated with one or more attendees. Meeting attendees can comprise users who are tagged in the message, ¶ 0086); and enabling display the async participant option within the calendar event invite in connection with a positive participant option and a negative participant option (i.e., FIG. 3A illustrates an instance of the user interface 200 as presented via a client of a user tagged as an attendee of the asynchronous meeting generated in FIG. 2B and/or another member of the virtual space (e.g., Channel D), ¶ 0117).
As per claim 7, Niess et al disclose generating a reply message that includes a selection of a positive participant option, a negative participant option, or a tentative participant option combined with an async participant flag (i.e., the notification can prompt each of the attendees to post a reply to the message. While the user interface element 306 is illustrated as a badge, in some examples, an attendee can be notified via a pop-up, a banner, or other user interface element presented via the user interface 200, ¶ 0120).
As per claim 9, Niess et al disclose wherein notifying the client device when the meeting resources created from the virtual meeting have been added to the calendar event is based on the user being an async participant of the virtual meeting (i.e., Content generated, uploaded, and/or otherwise provided can be posted as a reply to the message (e.g., representative of the asynchronous meeting), ¶ 0122).
As per claim 10, Niess et al disclose the meeting resources created from the virtual meeting that are added to the calendar event of the user include meeting notes, a meeting summary, or access to a meeting recording (i.e., content can be uploaded while it is being recorded or otherwise captured (or immediately after recording or otherwise capturing) such that a creator can post the content when the creator has finished recording or otherwise capturing the content. Content generated, uploaded, and/or otherwise provided can be posted as a reply to the message (e.g., representative of the asynchronous meeting), ¶ 0122).
As per claim 11, Niess et al disclose a calendar event object for the virtual meeting to be modified to indicate the user as an async participant, wherein multiple computer applications access the calendar event object to show the user as an async participant (i.e., the first user can tag a second user via a mention, a profile view, an email, or generating a link from the meeting generation interface that enables a second user to be added as an attendee of the asynchronous meeting, ¶ 0039, wherein the user computing device 104 can correspond to a “client” of a user. In some examples, the user computing device 104 can be associated with multiple “clients,” in which case, each instance of an application or other access point can be its own client. For example, a user can be signed into a first client (e.g., the application 140) and a second client (e.g., a web browser), both of which can be associated with the user computing device 104, ¶ 0082).
As per claim 12, Niess et al disclose detecting, before the virtual meeting, an additional selection of a positive participant option or a negative participant option within the calendar event; and removing modifications to the calendar event indicating the user as the async participant (i.e., As illustrated in FIG. 3A, a user interface element 300 can be presented via the user interface 200, for example, in association with the feed of Channel D. In at least one example, the message associated with the asynchronous meeting is viewable and/or interactable by each member of the virtual space (e.g., via instances of the user interface 200 presented via respective clients of the other members). In some examples, the message can be viewable and/or interactable by fewer than all members of the virtual space (e.g., users associated with a particular group, users tagged as attendees, etc.), ¶ 0117).
Claim 13 is rejected based upon the same rationale as the rejection of claim 1,
since it is the system claim corresponding to the method claim.
As per claim 14, Niess et al disclose the first application is a calendar application and the second application is a video-conferencing application (i.e., the virtual meeting hub may be organized by meeting type (e.g., asynchronous and synchronous). In some examples, the virtual meeting hub may also include a list of active users currently online and provide a user with a quick way to start a conversation with other active users whether it is via an audio, message, or video-based conversation, ¶ 0099).
As per claim 15, Niess et al disclose both the first application is a calendar application and the second application are a same video-conferencing application (i.e., the virtual meeting hub may be organized by meeting type (e.g., asynchronous and synchronous). In some examples, the virtual meeting hub may also include a list of active users currently online and provide a user with a quick way to start a conversation with other active users whether it is via an audio, message, or video-based conversation, ¶ 0099).
As per claim 16, Niess et al disclose providing the reply to the calendar event invite indicating the user as an async participant of the virtual meeting causes a calendar event object for the virtual meeting to be modified to indicate the user as an async participant, wherein a video-conference application prompts a participant attending the virtual meeting to perform one or more actions based on the calendar event object indicating the user as an async participant (i.e., the first user can tag a second user via a mention, a profile view, an email, or generating a link from the meeting generation interface that enables a second user to be added as an attendee of the asynchronous meeting, ¶ 0039, wherein the user computing device 104 can correspond to a “client” of a user. In some examples, the user computing device 104 can be associated with multiple “clients,” in which case, each instance of an application or other access point can be its own client. For example, a user can be signed into a first client (e.g., the application 140) and a second client (e.g., a web browser), both of which can be associated with the user computing device 104, ¶ 0082).
As per claim 19, Niess et al disclose a computer-implemented method for implementing asynchronous user participation across multiple computer applications (i.e., Techniques described herein enable users to “attend” or participate in an asynchronous meeting at any time or place that is convenient for them, using functionality available via a communication platform, ¶ 0020), comprising:
generating, at a first client device associated with a meeting organizer, a calendar event invite for a virtual meeting that includes at least three participants (i.e., the first user can tag one or more second users (e.g., meeting attendees) in the message. In some examples, such a tag can be an “invitation” to join an asynchronous meeting. In some examples, the first user can identify the one or more second users via an input to the message generation user interface. In some examples, the first user can tag a second user via a mention, a profile view, an email, or generating a link from the meeting generation interface that enables a second user to be added as an attendee of the asynchronous meeting, ¶ 0039, wherein scheduled asynchronous meetings can be generated via additional or alternative mechanisms, such as via a bot (e.g., based on detecting an intent to schedule a meeting, etc.), in association with a reminder, in association with a calendar appointment, ¶ 0049),
wherein the calendar event invite includes a calendar event object having a set of meeting sub-objects, including a meeting collaborative object and an attendance collection that identifies invitees and attendance status (i.e., asynchronous meetings, regardless of how they are scheduled, can be associated with an object that is stored in the datastore 122. Such an object can be a meeting object, which can be associated with a meeting identifier. In at least one example, the message object can be associated with a meeting identifier, one or more user identifiers (e.g., indicating the attendee(s) of the meeting), an originating user identifier (e.g., indicating the message originator), one or more invitee user identifier(s), ¶ 0068);
receiving, from a second client device associated with a participant of the at least three participants, a reply to the calendar event invite indicating the participant as an async participant (i.e., the first user can tag a second user via a mention, a profile view, an email, or generating a link from the meeting generation interface that enables a second user to be added as an attendee of the asynchronous meeting, ¶ 0039),
wherein the second client device determines to provide an async participant option within the calendar event invite based on information included in the calendar event, the information including meeting details generated from the calendar event object and the set of meeting sub-objects invite (i.e., the message object can be associated with a r 15 meeting identifier, one or more user identifiers (e.g., indicating the attendee(s) of the asynchronous meeting), an originating user identifier (e.g., indicating the message originator), one or more invitee user identifier(s), identifier(s) of virtual space(s) to which the message is to be posted, ¶ 0050);
modifying an organizer calendar event for the virtual meeting displayed on the first client device based on updating the calendar event object at the first client device, which causes the organizer calendar event to indicate the participant as an async participant (i.e., the meeting management component 116 can generate a meeting object based at least in part on the meeting details. In some examples, meetings, regardless of how they are scheduled, can be associated with an object that is stored in the datastore 122. Such an object can be a meeting object, which can be associated with a meeting identifier. In at least one example, based at least in part on receiving data input into the meeting generation user interface, the meeting management component 116 can receive such data and can generate a meeting object for the asynchronous meeting, ¶ 0151); and
based on the organizer calendar event indicating the participant as an async participant: initiating creation of one or more meeting resources for the participant based on determining, during the virtual meeting, that the calendar event object for the virtual meeting indicates the participant as an async participant (i.e., asynchronous meetings, regardless of how they are scheduled, can be associated with an object that is stored in the datastore 122. Such an object can be a meeting object, which can be associated with a meeting identifier (¶ 0050). A channel-based messaging platform, and/or any other platform for facilitating communication between and among users, can enable users to exchange messages and/or other data via the communication platform, ¶ 0018, wherein a user can post a message that is associated with an asynchronous meeting or the meeting management component 116 can post a message that is associated with an asynchronous meeting in a virtual space such as a channel, a direct message, a board, a virtual meeting hub, and/or the like. Meeting attendees can comprise users who are tagged in the message. In at least one example, attendees can be notified when a message is posted to a virtual space and can reply to the message, ¶ 0086); and
enabling display within the virtual meeting, the participant as an async participant that has access to meeting resources but that is not attending the virtual meeting (i.e., the virtual space can be a channel, a direct message, a board, a virtual meeting hub, and/or the like. In at least one example, the message associated with the asynchronous meeting is viewable by each member of the virtual space (e.g., each user permissioned to access the virtual space), ¶ 0041).
As per claim 20, Niess et al disclose starting a recording of the virtual meeting to be provided to one or more async participants; providing a first message for the virtual meeting to be recorded for the one or more async participants; or providing a second message for virtual meeting notes to be captured for the one or more async participants (i.e., content can be uploaded while it is being recorded or otherwise captured (or immediately after recording or otherwise capturing) such that a creator can post the content when the creator has finished recording or otherwise capturing the content. Content generated, uploaded, and/or otherwise provided can be posted as a reply to the message (e.g., representative of the asynchronous meeting), ¶ 0122).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 8, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niess et al (US 20220368660 A1), in view of Springer (US 20230030262 A1).
As per claim 5, Niess et al including the user as an async participant of the virtual meeting using a different indication than indications used to indicate an attending participant and a non-attending participant (i.e., a user can post a message that is associated with an asynchronous meeting or the meeting management component 116 can post a message that is associated with an asynchronous meeting in a virtual space such as a channel, a direct message, a board, a virtual meeting hub, and/or the like. The message can be associated with one or more attendees. Meeting attendees can comprise users who are tagged in the message, ¶ 0086); and setting a user status as available (i.e., a user interface element 300 can be presented via the user interface 200, for example, in association with the feed of Channel D. In at least one example, the message associated with the asynchronous meeting is viewable and/or interactable by each member of the virtual space (e.g., via instances of the user interface 200 presented via respective clients of the other members), ¶ 0117).
Niess et al does not disclose muting reminder notifications of the calendar event.
Springer discloses altering a notification may equate to different actions depending on different embodiments, situations, or contexts. In some embodiments, altering a notification may be performed by muting the notification or removing the notification (¶ 0058).
Niess et al and Springer are concerned with effective meeting and participant management. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include muting reminder notifications of the calendar event in Niess et al, as seen in Springer, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 8, Niess et al disclose providing, at the client device, the user with access to communications from other meeting participants occurring during the virtual meeting (i.e., the virtual space can be a channel, a direct message, a board, a virtual meeting hub, and/or the like. In at least one example, the message associated with the asynchronous meeting is viewable by each member of the virtual space (e.g., each user permissioned to access the virtual space), ¶ 0041).
Niess et al does not disclose muting notifications at the client device of the communications from the other meeting participants occurring during the virtual meeting.
Springer discloses altering a notification may equate to different actions depending on different embodiments, situations, or contexts. In some embodiments, altering a notification may be performed by muting the notification or removing the notification (¶ 0058).
Niess et al and Springer are concerned with effective meeting and participant management. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include muting notifications at the client device of the communications from the other meeting participants occurring during the virtual meeting in Niess et al, as seen in Springer, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 17 is rejected based upon the same rationale as the rejection of claim 8, since it is the system claim corresponding to the method claim.
As per claim 18, Niess et al disclose providing the reply to the calendar event invite indicating the user as an async participant of the virtual meeting includes: indicating the user as a participant type supported by the third-party communication system; and automatically populating the reply to indicate that the user intends to join the virtual meeting as an async participant (i.e., the first user can tag a second user via a mention, a profile view, an email, or generating a link from the meeting generation interface that enables a second user to be added as an attendee of the asynchronous meeting, ¶ 0039).
Niess et al does not disclose the calendar event invite is provided by a third-party communication system that does not support async participants.
Springer discloses the calendar is external to the communication platform, and may be developed and/or maintained by a third party. In some embodiments, the communication platform integrates the calendar functionality into the platform, and/or connects to the calendar via a remote network or cloud solution (¶ 0042).
Niess et al and Springer are concerned with effective meeting and participant management. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the calendar event invite is provided by a third-party communication system that does not support async participants in Niess et al, as seen in Springer, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Response to Arguments
In the Remarks, Applicant argues Niess does not appear to disclose "based on determining, during the virtual meeting, that the calendar event object associated with the virtual meeting indicates the user as an async participant, initiating creation of one or more meeting resources for the user," as recited by currently amended independent claim 1. Independent claims 13 and 19, while having different claim scopes, have been amended to include similar subject matter.
While Niess relates to an "asynchronous collaboration in a communication platform," Niess discloses a message-centric asynchronous meeting in which attendees are associated with a message and may generate, record, upload, or otherwise provide content that is posted as a reply to the message. For example, Niess describes content being recorded or otherwise captured by a creator and subsequently posted as a reply to a message representative of the asynchronous meeting. See Niess at [0122]. However, Niess does not disclose determining, during a virtual meeting, that a calendar event object associated with the virtual meeting indicates a user as an async participant and, based on that determination, initiating creation of meeting resources for the user. While Niess describes meeting or message objects that may be associated with user identifiers, such disclosure does not indicate that the object identifies a user as an async participant or that such an indication is used during the virtual meeting to initiate creation of meeting resources for the user. Thus, Niess does not disclose the newly amended subject matter of the independent claims. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Contrary to Applicant’s assertion, as discussed in the updated rejection, Niess et al indeed disclose Applicant’s amended claim language. Specifically, Niess et al disclose asynchronous meetings, regardless of how they are scheduled, can be associated with an object that is stored in the datastore 122. Such an object can be a meeting object, which can be associated with a meeting identifier (¶ 0050). A channel-based messaging platform, and/or any other platform for facilitating communication between and among users, can enable users to exchange messages and/or other data via the communication platform, ¶ 0018, wherein a user can post a message that is associated with an asynchronous meeting or the meeting management component 116 can post a message that is associated with an asynchronous meeting in a virtual space such as a channel, a direct message, a board, a virtual meeting hub, and/or the like. Meeting attendees can comprise users who are tagged in the message. In at least one example, attendees can be notified when a message is posted to a virtual space and can reply to the message, ¶ 0086.
Conclusion
/ANDRE D BOYCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3623 September 4, 2026