DETAILED ACTION
The response filed August 14, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-41 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous 112 rejection of claim 5 has been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments and remarks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 20 2021 104761 U1 (“Kirchhoff”).
Regarding claim 1, Kirchhoff teaches battery packs with a frame formed from several frame parts connected to at least one strut, typically welded thereto ([0016]). Kirchhoff teaches the frame may include clearances for cooling lines or other components ([0077]) and teaches a cooling liquid ([0083]). Kirchhoff teaches a base part and cover parts ([0027]). Kirchhoff teaches frame parts can be connected by means of welding or a screw connection ([0076]). Kirchhoff teaches a cooling module can be made up of one or more cooling plates ([0030]). Kirchhoff teaches a supply line and a return line of a coolant supply ([0058]). Kirchhoff teaches creating a circumferential seal between a cover part and lower part of the device housing by using an adhesive and/or sealing compound, and that alternatively, spot joining or spot welding also be used ([0063]).
Kirchhoff teaches a seal is provided between the cover part (not shown) and the base part 202, between the screw connection in the second connection area 215 and the battery module 203, in order to make the traction battery housing 201 liquid-tight ([0098]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to fasten or connect components in a battery pack together with known methods (fastener, welding, etc.) and to seal components (i.e. liquid-tight) to protect internal components. Both of these concepts (fastener and sealing) are considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Kirchhoff does not use the same terminology to describe each part of the battery pack. However, taking into consideration the level of ordinary skill in the art, the structure and components of the battery pack are considered obvious. Kirchhoff teaches the concepts of covers/plates surrounding a plurality of battery modules to form a housing, frames to support the structure, a cooling module, and a circumferential seal, as discussed above.
As to claims 2-14, the claims pertain to the cooling plates, cooling passages, and supply/distribution/discharge of refrigerant (i.e. coolant). In view of the teachings of Kirchhoff above, the number of cooling plates, how they are connected (e.g. welding), the location and shape of cooling passages and supply/distribution/discharge lines are all considered obvious when considering the level of ordinary skill in the art.
As to claims 15-23, the claims pertain to locations of sealers in grooves and holes connecting and sealing different parts of the structure. Considering the level of ordinary skill in the art and the teachings of Kirchhoff, as discussed above, adding an adhesive/sealer into a groove or in a fastening hole to connect/seal different parts of a structure is considered obvious.
As to claims 24-41, Kirchhoff teaches the battery packs can be cast with an insulating compound inside the frame ([0018]), encapsulating the battery cells and electrically insulating the electrical contacts ([0021]). Kirchhoff teaches two battery cells can be bonded together in a material-locking manner with the interposition of an adhesive ([0080]). Kirchhoff teaches connection openings ([0064]), and fastening elements such as nuts, bolts, or similar ([0066]). Bus bars for electrically connecting terminals of battery cells are well known in the art. In view of the teachings of Kirchhoff and considering the level of ordinary skill in the art, the limitations of claims 24-41 are considered obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Kirchhoff does not disclose, teach , or otherwise suggest at least “a plurality of frames coupled to teach other by a fastening member” and “a sealing member sealing spaces between the frames of the frame portion” as recited in claim 1.
As stated in the rejection above, Kirchhoff teaches a seal is provided between the cover part (not shown) and the base part 202, between the screw connection in the second connection area 215 and the battery module 203, in order to make the traction battery housing 201 liquid-tight ([0098]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to fasten or connect components in a battery pack together with known methods (fastener, welding, etc.) and to seal components (i.e. liquid-tight) to protect internal components. Both of these concepts (fastener and sealing) are considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art and are suggested by the prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DANIEL H. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/DANIEL H LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746