DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1-19 are pending. Claims 1 and 10 have been amended. Claim 19 is new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 10-13, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunner et al. (US 2011/0041542 A1), hereafter referred to as “Brunner,” in view of Kaga et al. (US 2007/0006606 A1), hereafter referred to as “Kaga,” Linstromberg (4,475,357), and Ross (US 2005/0081554 A1).
Regarding Claim 1: Brunner teaches a countertop ice maker appliance (10, paragraph [0038]) defining a vertical direction, a lateral direction, and a transverse direction, the countertop ice maker appliance (10) comprising:
a cabinet (paragraph [0045]) comprising a user interface (paragraph [0043]);
a motor assembly (75, paragraph [0052]) to selectively drive an auger (74) whereby at least partially frozen water is conveyed by the auger from a casing (functional limitation of 74);
a sealed refrigeration system (40, paragraph [0047]) comprising a compressor (41) and a condenser (43),
a condenser fan (54) to selectively urge a flow of air over the condenser (43, paragraph [0049]).
Brunner fails to teach wherein the motor assembly includes a variable speed motor; wherein the compressor is a variable speed compressor; a controller operably coupled with the motor assembly, the compressor, and the condenser fan, the controller configured to perform an operation, the operation comprising: initiating a standard ice making cycle, the standard ice making cycle comprising a first set of parameters for each of the motor assembly, the compressor, and the condenser fan, whereby the motor assembly is operated according to the first set of parameters for the motor assembly, the first set of parameters for the motor assembly including a first motor speed of the variable speed motor; receiving, via the user interface, a signal to initiate an adjusted ice making cycle; adjusting the first set of parameters to form a second set of parameters for each of the motor assembly, the compressor, and the condenser fan; and initiating the adjusted ice making cycle whereby the motor assembly is operated according to the second set of parameters for the motor assembly and whereby the countertop ice maker appliance makes ice at a faster rate than the standard ice making cycle, the second set of parameters for the motor assembly including a second motor speed of the variable speed motor greater than the first motor speed.
Kaga teaches wherein a compressor (11) is a variable speed compressor (11, speed controlled by motor 16 and inverter circuit 43, paragraph [0043]); a controller (42, paragraph [0043]) operably coupled with a motor assembly (25, paragraph [0040]), a compressor (11), and a condenser fan (18, paragraph [0039]), the controller (42) configured to perform an operation (paragraph [0043], see Figures 3 and 6), the operation comprising: initiating a standard ice making cycle (56 to controller 42), the standard ice making cycle comprising a first set of parameters for each of the motor assembly (25), the compressor (11), and the condenser fan (18); receiving, via a user interface (56, paragraph [0059]), a signal to initiate an adjusted ice making cycle (from 56 to 42 to change the performance, paragraph [0059]); adjusting the first set of parameters to form a second set of parameters for each of the motor assembly (25), the compressor (11), and the condenser fan (18); and initiating the adjusted ice making cycle according to the second set of parameters (methods steps in Figures 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the compressor is a variable speed compressor; a controller operably coupled with the motor assembly, the compressor, and the condenser fan, the controller configured to perform an operation, the operation comprising: initiating a standard ice making cycle, the standard ice making cycle comprising a first set of parameters for each of the motor assembly, the compressor, and the condenser fan; receiving, via the user interface, a signal to initiate an adjusted ice making cycle; adjusting the first set of parameters to form a second set of parameters for each of the motor assembly, the compressor, and the condenser fan; and initiating the adjusted ice making cycle according to the second set of parameters to the structure of Brunner as taught by Kaga in order to advantageously provide automated control of the ice making machine to change the performance of the system a based on the user input and adjust the operation based on the monitored parameters (see Kaga, paragraph [0059]).
Linstromberg teaches whereby an ice maker appliance (title) makes ice at a faster rate (when fast cycle is selected, Column 5, lines 51-65) than a standard ice making cycle (normal cycle is selected, Column 5, lines 51-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided whereby the countertop ice maker appliance makes ice at a faster rate than the standard ice making cycle to the structure of Brunner modified supra as taught by Linstromberg in order to advantageously provide the user the options for mode of operation depending on demands (Column 2, lines 46-65).
Ross teaches a motor assembly includes a variable speed motor (46, paragraph [0012]); whereby the motor assembly (46) is operated according to a first set of parameters for the motor assembly, the first set of parameters for the motor assembly including a first motor speed of the variable speed motor (paragraph [0012]); whereby the motor assembly (46) is operated according to a second set of parameters for the motor assembly (46) and whereby an ice maker appliance (10) makes ice at a faster rate than a standard ice making cycle (paragraph [0031]), the second set of parameters for the motor assembly including a second motor speed of the variable speed motor greater than the first motor speed (paragraphs [0032] and [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the motor assembly includes a variable speed motor; whereby the motor assembly is operated according to the first set of parameters for the motor assembly, the first set of parameters for the motor assembly including a first motor speed of the variable speed motor; whereby the motor assembly is operated according to the second set of parameters for the motor assembly and whereby the countertop ice maker appliance makes ice at a faster rate than the standard ice making cycle, the second set of parameters for the motor assembly including a second motor speed of the variable speed motor greater than the first motor speed to the structure of Brunner modified supra as taught by Ross in order to advantageously provide variable motor control to operate the appliance in various modes and based on user input (see Ross, paragraph [0032]).
Regarding Claim 2: Brunner modified supra fails to teach wherein the first set of parameters for the compressor comprises a compressor capacity, the compressor capacity being between 60% and 80% of a total compressor capacity.
Brunner modified supra does, however, disclose the structure of the countertop ice maker including the condenser fans, controller, compressor, auger, auger motor, and cabinet. Therefore, the ratio and ranges are recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result and optimization through routine experimentation. In this case, the recognized result is that a change in the operating speeds are obvious and renders a change in system capacity. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim were disclosed in the prior art by Brunner modified supra, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the ice maker, condenser fans, compressor, auger, and auger motor disclosed by Brunner modified supra having it operating with varying speed ranges and capacities. Furthermore, the ratios and ranges is recognized by the Examiner to be a very broad range, and a range that an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2144.05 I and II A-C.
Regarding Claim 3: Brunner modified supra fails to teach wherein the second set of parameters for the compressor comprises the compressor capacity, the compressor capacity being 100%.
Brunner modified supra does, however, disclose the structure of the countertop ice maker including the condenser fans, controller, compressor, auger, auger motor, and cabinet. Therefore, the ratio and ranges are recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result and optimization through routine experimentation. In this case, the recognized result is that a change in the operating speeds are obvious and renders a change in system capacity. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim were disclosed in the prior art by Brunner modified supra, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the ice maker, condenser fans, compressor, auger, and auger motor disclosed by Brunner modified supra having it operating with varying speed ranges and capacities. Furthermore, the ratios and ranges is recognized by the Examiner to be a very broad range, and a range that an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2144.05 I and II A-C.
Regarding Claim 4: Brunner modified supra fails to teach wherein the first set of parameters for the motor assembly comprises a motor speed, the motor speed being between 60% and 80% of a maximum motor speed.
Brunner modified supra does, however, disclose the structure of the countertop ice maker including the condenser fans, controller, compressor, auger, auger motor, and cabinet. Therefore, the ratio and ranges are recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result and optimization through routine experimentation. In this case, the recognized result is that a change in the operating speeds are obvious and renders a change in system capacity. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim were disclosed in the prior art by Brunner modified supra, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the ice maker, condenser fans, compressor, auger, and auger motor disclosed by Brunner modified supra having it operating with varying speed ranges and capacities. Furthermore, the ratios and ranges is recognized by the Examiner to be a very broad range, and a range that an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2144.05 I and II A-C.
Regarding Claim 6: Brunner modified supra fails to teach wherein the first set of parameters for the condenser fan comprises a fan speed, the fan speed being between 60% and 80% of a maximum fan speed.
Brunner modified supra does, however, disclose the structure of the countertop ice maker including the condenser fans, controller, compressor, auger, auger motor, and cabinet. Therefore, the ratio and ranges are recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result and optimization through routine experimentation. In this case, the recognized result is that a change in the operating speeds are obvious and renders a change in system capacity. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim were disclosed in the prior art by Brunner modified supra, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the ice maker, condenser fans, compressor, auger, and auger motor disclosed by Brunner modified supra having it operating with varying speed ranges and capacities. Furthermore, the ratios and ranges is recognized by the Examiner to be a very broad range, and a range that an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2144.05 I and II A-C.
Regarding Claim 10: Brunner teaches a method of operating a countertop ice maker appliance (10, paragraph [0038]), the countertop ice maker appliance (10, paragraph [0038]) comprising a compressor (11), a condenser (43), a condenser fan (54), and a motor assembly (75).
Brunner fails to explicitly disclose the following in the method comprising: the motor assembly includes a variable speed motor; initiating a standard ice making cycle, the standard ice making cycle comprising a first set of parameters for each of the motor assembly, the compressor, and the condenser fan, whereby the motor assembly is operated according to the first set of parameters for the motor assembly, the first set of parameters for the motor assembly including a first motor speed of the variable speed motor; receiving, via the user interface, a signal to initiate an adjusted ice making cycle; adjusting the first set of parameters to form a second set of parameters for each of the motor assembly, the compressor, and the condenser fan; and initiating the adjusted ice making cycle whereby the motor assembly is operated according to the second set of parameters of the motor assembly and whereby the countertop ice maker appliance makes ice at a faster rate than the standard ice making cycle, the second set of parameters of the motor assembly including a second motor speed of the variable speed motor greater than the first motor speed.
Kaga teaches initiating a standard ice making cycle (via controller 42, paragraph [0043]), the standard ice making cycle comprising a first set of parameters for each of a motor assembly (25), a compressor (11), and a condenser fan (18, paragraph [0039]); receiving, via a user interface (56), a signal to initiate an adjusted ice making cycle (from 56 to 42 to change the paragraph [0059]); adjusting the first set of parameters to form a second set of parameters (56 to 42) for each of the motor assembly (25), the compressor (11), and the condenser fan (18); and initiating the adjusted ice making cycle according to the second set of parameters (methods steps in Figures 4-5).
Kaga teaches wherein a compressor (11); a controller (42, paragraph [0043]) operably coupled with a motor assembly (25, paragraph [0040]), a compressor (11), and a condenser fan (18, paragraph [0039]), the controller (42) configured to perform an operation (paragraph [0043], see Figures 3 and 6), the operation comprising: initiating a standard ice making cycle (56 to controller 42), the standard ice making cycle comprising a first set of parameters for each of the motor assembly (25), the compressor (11), and the condenser fan (18); receiving, via a user interface (56, paragraph [0059]), a signal to initiate an adjusted ice making cycle (from 56 to 42 to change the performance, paragraph [0059]); adjusting the first set of parameters to form a second set of parameters for each of the motor assembly (25), the compressor (11), and the condenser fan (18); and initiating the adjusted ice making cycle according to the second set of parameters (methods steps in Figures 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided initiating a standard ice making cycle, the standard ice making cycle comprising a first set of parameters for each of the motor assembly, the compressor, and the condenser fan; receiving, via the user interface, a signal to initiate an adjusted ice making cycle; adjusting the first set of parameters to form a second set of parameters for each of the motor assembly, the compressor, and the condenser fan; and initiating the adjusted ice making cycle according to the second set of parameters to the structure of Brunner as taught by Kaga in order to advantageously provide automated control of the ice making machine to change the performance of the system a based on the user input and adjust the operation based on the monitored parameters (see Kaga, paragraph [0059]).
Linstromberg teaches whereby an ice maker appliance (title) makes ice at a faster rate (when fast cycle is selected, Column 5, lines 51-65) than a standard ice making cycle (normal cycle is selected, Column 5, lines 51-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided whereby the countertop ice maker appliance makes ice at a faster rate than the standard ice making cycle to the structure of Brunner modified supra as taught by Linstromberg in order to advantageously provide the user the options for mode of operation depending on demands (Column 2, lines 46-65).
Ross teaches a motor assembly (46) includes a variable speed motor (paragraph [0012]); whereby the motor assembly (46) is operated according to a first set of parameters for the motor assembly, the first set of parameters for the motor assembly including a first motor speed of the variable speed motor (paragraph [0012]); and initiating an adjusted ice making cycle whereby the motor assembly (46) is operated according to a second set of parameters of the motor assembly (46) and whereby an ice maker appliance (10) makes ice at a faster rate than a standard ice making cycle (paragraph [0031]), the second set of parameters of the motor assembly including a second motor speed of the variable speed motor greater than the first motor speed (paragraphs [0032] and [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the motor assembly includes a variable speed motor; whereby the motor assembly is operated according to the first set of parameters for the motor assembly, the first set of parameters for the motor assembly including a first motor speed of the variable speed motor; and initiating the adjusted ice making cycle whereby the motor assembly is operated according to the second set of parameters of the motor assembly and whereby the countertop ice maker appliance makes ice at a faster rate than the standard ice making cycle, the second set of parameters of the motor assembly including a second motor speed of the variable speed motor greater than the first motor speed to the structure of Brunner modified supra as taught by Ross in order to advantageously provide variable motor control to operate the appliance in various modes and based on user input (see Ross, paragraph [0032]).
Regarding Claim 11: Brunner modified supra fails to teach wherein the first set of parameters for the compressor comprises a compressor capacity, the compressor capacity being between 60% and 80% of a total compressor capacity.
Brunner modified supra does, however, disclose the structure of the countertop ice maker including the condenser fans, controller, compressor, auger, auger motor, and cabinet. Therefore, the ratio and ranges are recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result and optimization through routine experimentation. In this case, the recognized result is that a change in the operating speeds are obvious and renders a change in system capacity. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim were disclosed in the prior art by Brunner modified supra, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the ice maker, condenser fans, compressor, auger, and auger motor disclosed by Brunner modified supra having it operating with varying speed ranges and capacities. Furthermore, the ratios and ranges is recognized by the Examiner to be a very broad range, and a range that an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2144.05 I and II A-C.
Regarding Claim 12: Brunner modified supra fails to teach wherein the second set of parameters for the compressor comprises the compressor capacity, the compressor capacity being 100%.
Brunner modified supra does, however, disclose the structure of the countertop ice maker including the condenser fans, controller, compressor, auger, auger motor, and cabinet. Therefore, the ratio and ranges are recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result and optimization through routine experimentation. In this case, the recognized result is that a change in the operating speeds are obvious and renders a change in system capacity. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim were disclosed in the prior art by Brunner modified supra, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the ice maker, condenser fans, compressor, auger, and auger motor disclosed by Brunner modified supra having it operating with varying speed ranges and capacities. Furthermore, the ratios and ranges is recognized by the Examiner to be a very broad range, and a range that an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2144.05 I and II A-C.
Regarding Claim 13: Brunner modified supra fails to teach wherein the first set of parameters for the motor assembly comprises a motor speed, the motor speed being between 60% and 80% of a maximum motor speed.
Brunner modified supra does, however, disclose the structure of the countertop ice maker including the condenser fans, controller, compressor, auger, auger motor, and cabinet. Therefore, the ratio and ranges are recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result and optimization through routine experimentation. In this case, the recognized result is that a change in the operating speeds are obvious and renders a change in system capacity. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim were disclosed in the prior art by Brunner modified supra, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the ice maker, condenser fans, compressor, auger, and auger motor disclosed by Brunner modified supra having it operating with varying speed ranges and capacities. Furthermore, the ratios and ranges is recognized by the Examiner to be a very broad range, and a range that an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2144.05 I and II A-C.
Regarding Claim 15: Brunner modified supra fails to teach wherein the first set of parameters for the condenser fan comprises a fan speed, the fan speed being between 60% and 80% of a maximum fan speed.
Brunner modified supra does, however, disclose the structure of the countertop ice maker including the condenser fans, controller, compressor, auger, auger motor, and cabinet. Therefore, the ratio and ranges are recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result and optimization through routine experimentation. In this case, the recognized result is that a change in the operating speeds are obvious and renders a change in system capacity. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim were disclosed in the prior art by Brunner modified supra, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the ice maker, condenser fans, compressor, auger, and auger motor disclosed by Brunner modified supra having it operating with varying speed ranges and capacities. Furthermore, the ratios and ranges is recognized by the Examiner to be a very broad range, and a range that an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2144.05 I and II A-C.
Regarding Claim 19: Brunner teaches a method of operating a countertop ice maker appliance (10, paragraph [0038]), the countertop ice maker appliance (10, paragraph [0038]) comprising a compressor (11), a condenser (43), a condenser fan (54), and a motor assembly (75).
Brunner fails to teach the motor assembly including a variable speed motor, the method comprising: initiating a standard ice making cycle, the standard ice making cycle comprising a first set of parameters for each of the motor assembly, the compressor, and the condenser fan, whereby the motor assembly is operated according to the first set of parameters for the motor assembly, the first set of parameters for the motor assembly including a first motor speed of the variable speed motor; receiving, via the user interface, a signal to initiate an adjusted ice making cycle; adjusting the first set of parameters to form a second set of parameters for each of the motor assembly, the compressor, and the condenser fan; and initiating the adjusted ice making cycle whereby the motor assembly is operated according to the second set of parameters of the motor assembly and whereby the countertop ice maker appliance makes ice at a faster rate than the standard ice making cycle, the second set of parameters of the motor assembly including a maximum motor speed of the variable speed motor greater than the first motor speed.
Kaga teaches initiating a standard ice making cycle (via controller 42, paragraph [0043]), the standard ice making cycle comprising a first set of parameters for each of a motor assembly (25), a compressor (11), and a condenser fan (18, paragraph [0039]); receiving, via a user interface (56), a signal to initiate an adjusted ice making cycle (from 56 to 42 to change the paragraph [0059]); adjusting the first set of parameters to form a second set of parameters (56 to 42) for each of the motor assembly (25), the compressor (11), and the condenser fan (18); and initiating the adjusted ice making cycle according to the second set of parameters (methods steps in Figures 4-5).
Kaga teaches wherein a compressor (11); a controller (42, paragraph [0043]) operably coupled with a motor assembly (25, paragraph [0040]), a compressor (11), and a condenser fan (18, paragraph [0039]), the controller (42) configured to perform an operation (paragraph [0043], see Figures 3 and 6), the operation comprising: initiating a standard ice making cycle (56 to controller 42), the standard ice making cycle comprising a first set of parameters for each of the motor assembly (25), the compressor (11), and the condenser fan (18); receiving, via a user interface (56, paragraph [0059]), a signal to initiate an adjusted ice making cycle (from 56 to 42 to change the performance, paragraph [0059]); adjusting the first set of parameters to form a second set of parameters for each of the motor assembly (25), the compressor (11), and the condenser fan (18); and initiating the adjusted ice making cycle according to the second set of parameters (methods steps in Figures 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided initiating a standard ice making cycle, the standard ice making cycle comprising a first set of parameters for each of the motor assembly, the compressor, and the condenser fan; receiving, via the user interface, a signal to initiate an adjusted ice making cycle; adjusting the first set of parameters to form a second set of parameters for each of the motor assembly, the compressor, and the condenser fan; and initiating the adjusted ice making cycle according to the second set of parameters to the structure of Brunner as taught by Kaga in order to advantageously provide automated control of the ice making machine to change the performance of the system a based on the user input and adjust the operation based on the monitored parameters (see Kaga, paragraph [0059]).
Linstromberg teaches whereby an ice maker appliance (title) makes ice at a faster rate (when fast cycle is selected, Column 5, lines 51-65) than a standard ice making cycle (normal cycle is selected, Column 5, lines 51-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided whereby the countertop ice maker appliance makes ice at a faster rate than the standard ice making cycle to the structure of Brunner modified supra as taught by Linstromberg in order to advantageously provide the user the options for mode of operation depending on demands (Column 2, lines 46-65).
Ross teaches a motor assembly (46) including a variable speed motor (paragraph [0012]), the method comprising: initiating a standard ice making cycle (based on selection by 39), the standard ice making cycle comprising a first set of parameters for each of the motor assembly (39 sends commands to 48 to 46), whereby the motor assembly is operated according to the first set of parameters for the motor assembly, the first set of parameters for the motor assembly including a first motor speed of the variable speed motor; receiving, via a user interface (39), a signal to initiate an adjusted ice making cycle (paragraph [0032]); adjusting the first set of parameters to form a second set of parameters for each of the motor assembly (paragraph [0031]); and initiating the adjusted ice making cycle whereby the motor assembly (46) is operated according to the second set of parameters of the motor assembly (46) and whereby an ice maker appliance (10) makes ice at a faster rate than the standard ice making cycle, the second set of parameters of the motor assembly (46) including a maximum motor speed (the fastest speed that the motor is capable of) of the variable speed motor greater than the first motor speed (paragraphs [0032] and [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the motor assembly including a variable speed motor, the method comprising: initiating a standard ice making cycle, the standard ice making cycle comprising a first set of parameters for each of the motor assembly, whereby the motor assembly is operated according to the first set of parameters for the motor assembly, the first set of parameters for the motor assembly including a first motor speed of the variable speed motor; receiving, via the user interface, a signal to initiate an adjusted ice making cycle; adjusting the first set of parameters to form a second set of parameters for each of the motor assembly; and initiating the adjusted ice making cycle whereby the motor assembly is operated according to the second set of parameters of the motor assembly and whereby the countertop ice maker appliance makes ice at a faster rate than the standard ice making cycle, the second set of parameters of the motor assembly including a maximum motor speed of the variable speed motor greater than the first motor speed to the structure of Brunner modified supra as taught by Ross in order to advantageously provide variable motor control to operate the appliance in various modes and based on user input (see Ross, paragraph [0032]).
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunner et al. (US 2011/0041542 A1), hereafter referred to as “Brunner,” in view of Kaga et al. (US 2007/0006606 A1), hereafter referred to as “Kaga,” Linstromberg (4,475,357), and Ross (US 2005/0081554 A1), as applied to claims 4 and 13 above, and further in view of Ross et al. (US 2003/0150236 A1), hereafter referred to as “Ross ‘236.”
Regarding Claims 5 and 14: Brunner modified supra fails to teach wherein the second set of parameters for the motor assembly comprises the motor speed, the motor speed being the maximum motor speed.
Ross ‘236 teaches a set of parameters for a motor assembly comprises a motor speed, the motor speed being the maximum motor speed (paragraph [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the second set of parameters for the motor assembly comprises the motor speed, the motor speed being the maximum motor speed to the structure of Brunner modified supra as taught by Ross ‘236 in order to advantageously provide varying speed to the motor to adjust to production needs (see Ross ‘236, paragraph [0038]).
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunner et al. (US 2011/0041542 A1), hereafter referred to as “Brunner,” in view of Kaga et al. (US 2007/0006606 A1), hereafter referred to as “Kaga,” Linstromberg (4,475,357), and Ross (US 2005/0081554 A1), as applied to claims 6 and 15 above, and further in view of Kuroyanagi et al. (US 2003/0010055 A1), hereafter referred to as “Kuroyanagi.”
Regarding Claims 7 and 16: Brunner modified supra fails to teach wherein the second set of parameters for the condenser fan comprises the fan speed, the fan speed being the maximum fan speed.
Kuroyanagi teaches a set of parameters for a condenser fan comprises a fan speed, the fan speed being a maximum fan speed (paragraphs [0103]-[0110]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the second set of parameters for the condenser fan comprises the fan speed, the fan speed being the maximum fan speed to the structure of Brunner modified supra as taught by Kuroyanagi in order to advantageously provide a range of fan speed for varying the capacity of the ice making machine (see Kuroyanagi, paragraph [0024]).
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunner et al. (US 2011/0041542 A1), hereafter referred to as “Brunner,” in view of Kaga et al. (US 2007/0006606 A1), hereafter referred to as “Kaga,” Linstromberg (4,475,357), and Ross (US 2005/0081554 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Kodama et al. (US 2009/0326716 A1), hereafter referred to as “Kodama.”
Regarding Claims 8 and 17: Brunner modified supra fails to teach wherein the motor assembly comprises a brushless direct current (DC) motor.
Kodama teaches a motor assembly (3) comprises a brushless direct current (DC) motor (4, paragraph [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the motor assembly comprises a brushless direct current (DC) motor to the structure of Brunner modified supra as taught by Kodama in order to advantageously provide a known type of motor in the ice making system (see Kodama, paragraph [0024]).
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunner et al. (US 2011/0041542 A1), hereafter referred to as “Brunner,” in view of Kaga et al. (US 2007/0006606 A1), hereafter referred to as “Kaga,” Linstromberg (4,475,357), and Ross (US 2005/0081554 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Schlosser et al. (US 2006/0277937 A1), hereafter referred to as “Schlosser.”
Regarding Claims 9 and 18: Brunner modified supra fails to teach directing the adjusted ice making cycle for a predetermined length of time.
Schlosser teaches directing an adjusted ice making cycle for a predetermined length of time (paragraphs [0065]-[0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided directing the adjusted ice making cycle for a predetermined length of time to the structure of Brunner modified supra as taught by Schlosser in order to advantageously provide time to run the alternative modes to ensure system safety (see Schlosser, paragraphs [0065]-[0066]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Reynolds (3,196,624).
/KIRSTIN U OSWALD/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763