DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed 9/25/26.
Claims 1-2, 4-12, 15-18, 20-22, and 24-26 are finally rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 26, the claim recites ‘a second plane different from the first plane […] wherein the second plane is parallel to the first plane’. A careful review of the specification as originally filed reveals no explicit disclosure of the claimed parallel relationship between first and second fluid distribution networks. While Fig. 1B, cited by applicant, depicts sets of liquid distribution networks as being roughly parallel, patent drawings are not engineering blueprints and proportions of features in a drawing are not evidence of actual proportions when drawings are not to scale (See MPEP 2125 II). Therefore, Fig. 1B alone cannot provide support for first and second fluid distribution networks which extend along different first and second planes and which are parallel to each other, as required.
Furthermore, the examiner notes that the written description explicitly discloses that the support unit 105 is flexible and therefore capable of deformation (Par. 35). Therefore, fig. 1B at best depicts a snapshot of the device in a single arbitrary static posture and a POSITA, in addition to the reasons stated above, would not reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of a structure constrained to a rigid ‘parallel’ arrangement at the time that the invention was filed. As such, newly added claim 26 lacks written description support under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claims 1-2, 4-12, 15-18, 20-22 and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: one or more thermoelectric elements.
A review of applicants’ disclosure indicates that thermoelectric elements (TECs) are essential aspect of the invention and are regarded as such by applicant, and that their omission amounts to a gap between elements. The specification in par. 28 describes the invention as directed to “a thermal management device and system that, amongst other features, is safer, allows for better temperature control, and enables enhanced thermal contact between the device and the user/mammal, e.g., by being flexible, and lighter and thinner than current related devices,” and further lists ‘thermoelectric components’ as one of the three essential components of the device.
Further, in contrast to the disadvantages of prior art devices disclosed in par. 27, par. 28 of applicant’s disclosure states, “The TECs can each be individually controlled (e.g., set to a particular temperature) by a controller operably coupled thereto. As such, individual regions of the device can be set to different temperatures relative to other regions, and can thus individually treat corresponding target areas of the mammal that the device is disposed on or around. When in a cooling mode, heat can flow to and/or from the target area to the TECs and to the heat transfer system.”
Therefore, it is clear from applicant’s disclosure that TECs were considered essential by applicant since they are the only disclosed component that performs the primary function of the device, i.e. directly heating or cooling of the user, and since they are disclosed to be essential in overcoming the disadvantages of prior art devices. Omitting them in the claim, therefore, amounts to omitting an essential element of the device, and a failure to distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention.
In addition, a review of applicant’s disclosure will indicate that TECs are disclosed as essential features throughout the specification and are present in every embodiment discussed by applicant. Further, there is no indication within the specification that applicant conceived of an alternative or variant preferred or non-preferred to TECs.
Further regarding claim 26, the claim is indefinite since it appears to recite the device in terms of an arbitrary static posture rather than an inherent feature of device. For instance, the written description repeatedly discloses support unit 105 as flexible (e.g. par. 31). Therefore, even if the device is capable of being positioned such that two of the fluid distribution networks extend along parallel planes, the device is also capable of being flexed in such that none of the fluid distribution networks extend along parallel planes. Therefore, it becomes unclear when or under what conditions the claim is infringed. For instance, for a device to infringe upon the claim language does it merely require that the device is capable of being positioned in a way that two of the liquid distribution networks are ‘parallel’ or does the claim require this ‘parallel’ orientation to be a fixed feature of the device. Further, it is unclear whether the infringing device would infringe continuously or only sporadically when manually flexed such that two of the liquid distribution networks are parallel to each other. As such the scope of the claim is ambiguous, rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-12, 15-18, 20-22 and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiss (US 20150114606) in view of Oh (US 20170312119).
Regarding claim 1, Weiss teaches a heat transfer device (Abstract, “A heat exchanger which including a metal exchange surface having a plurality of upward extending walls forming channels between the walls.”), comprising: a support unit (Fig. 1, thermoelectric generator 40) configured to be thermally coupled to a target area (Par. 10, “Thermoelectric generators generally work under the principle of a heat source being applied to one side and the opposite side being exposed to some form of a heat sink, which in the illustrated embodiments, is formed by heat exchanger 1.”); a material (Fig. 1, cover 20); and a fluid distribution network thermally coupled to the support unit (Figs. 1-2, heat exchanger 1), wherein: the fluid distribution network includes (i) microfeatures (Fig. 2, walls 4) spaced apart from each other along a first axis to at least partially define multiple channels (Fig. 2, channels 5) configured to receive a working fluid (Par. 15, “Capillary action between the channels 5 and the refrigerant, plus absorption of refrigerant on the porous metal surface (when the exchange surface is metalized), will draw refrigerant across the exchange surface 3.”), (ii) a liquid distribution passage configured to provide the working fluid to the channels (Figs. 1-2, reservoir space 8/21; par. 15, “In operation, a refrigerant in a liquid phase will at least partially fill the reservoir space 8/21.”), and (iii) a vapor collection passage configured to receive the working fluid from the channels (Fig. 1, vapor outlet 23; par. 15, “Heat, conducting through exchanger base 2 and into the channels 5 and walls 4, will cause the refrigerant to boil or evaporate into the vapor phase. Refrigerant in the vapor phase will pass through vapor outlet 23”), the microfeatures are positioned between the support unit and the material (Figs. 1-2, walls 4 and channels 5 of heat exchange surface 3 is positioned between thermoelectric generator 40 and cover 20); the microfeatures are positioned to induce capillary forces to the working fluid that drive the working fluid through the channels (Par. 15, “Capillary action between the channels 5 and the refrigerant, plus absorption of refrigerant on the porous metal surface (when the exchange surface is metalized), will draw refrigerant across the exchange surface 3”), the channels (i) are parallel to one another along an entirety of fluid pathways (Fig. 2, channels 5 are parallel to each other along their entire length) and (ii) define separate fluid pathways each configured to direct the working fluid away from the liquid distribution passage (Fig. 2, channels 5 define separate fluid pathways), in operation, the working fluid flows through the channels and absorbs heat from the microfeatures (Par. 15, “Heat, conducting through exchanger base 2 and into the channels 5 and walls 4, will cause the refrigerant to boil or evaporate into the vapor phase.”), and the microfeatures are spaced apart from the vapor collection passage along a second axis (Figs. 1-2, walls 4 are separated from vapor outlet 23 along a vertical axis).
Weiss fails to teach that the material is a flexible material.
Oh teaches a heat transfer device (Abstract, “The cooling system (100, 300, 400, 500, 700, 750) includes an applicator (101, 501, 701) configured to hold a predetermined amount of solid coolant and fluid coolant (117) to cool a targeted area of the body (162, 570) to crystalize the lipid-rich cells underneath the targeted area to reduce the fat cells. The applicator may include a thermoelectric cooler (TEC, 136, 704, 706) where the hot side is cooled by coolant held within the applicator.”), comprising: a support unit (Fig. 5, TECs 136 and cooling plates 138) configured to be thermally coupled to a target area (Fig. 6, showing TECs 136 and cooling plates 138 coupled to a targeted area of the body 162); a flexible material (Fig. 6, the flexible material can be considered lid 106 of container 102; par. 54, “The container 102 may be made of flexible material such that the container 102 may bulge out when pressed on by the strap 172 to allow the cooling plates 128 to better conform to the outer body contour shape of the torso 170 of the user”); and a fluid (Fig. 3 and par. 45, “The TEC system 128 may include a radiator 130 which may be cooled by the first portion of the solid coolant and the second portion of the fluid coolant within the container 102 as discussed in more detail below.”) distribution network thermally coupled to the support unit, wherein: the fluid distribution network includes (i) microfeatures spaced apart from each other along a first axis (Fig. 8, fins 174) to at least partially define multiple channels (Fig. 8, channels between fins 174) configured to receive a working fluid (Par. 45, “radiator 130 which may be cooled by the first portion of the solid coolant and the second portion of the fluid coolant within the container 102 as discussed in more detail below”), (ii) a liquid distribution passage configured to provide the working fluid to the channels (Fig. 2, opening 116), the microfeatures are positioned between the support unit and the flexible material (Figs. 5 and 8, fins 174 of radiator 130 are located between TECs 136/cooling plates 138 and lid 106 of container 102).
Oh further teaches that the flexibility of container 102 is facilitates the ability of the device to conform to the contours of an curved target area (Par. 54, “The container 102 may be made of flexible material such that the container 102 may bulge out when pressed on by the strap 172 to allow the cooling plates 128 to better conform to the outer body contour shape of the torso 170 of the user”).
Therefore, in view of Oh, it would have been obvious to a POSITA at the time that the invention was filed to modify Weiss by constructing heat exchanger 1 including cover 20 of a flexible material, to allow it to conform to the contours of a curved target area, as taught by Oh.
Further, upon modification the ‘flexible material’ could be mapped to cover 20 of Weiss, in which case walls 4 and channels 5—mapped to the recited ‘microfeatures’—would be located between thermoelectric generator 40—mapped to the recited ‘support unit’—and cover 20—mapped to the recited ‘flexible material’.
Regarding claim 2, Weiss, as modified, further teaches wherein the fluid distribution network further comprises a base member (Fig. 2, base 2) that forms a continuous surface with the microfeatures (Fig. 2, walls 4 extending from base 2), and wherein the base member is positioned over and thermally coupled to the support (Fig. 1, base 2 coupled to thermoelectric generator 40).
Regarding claim 4, Weiss, as modified, further teaches wherein the microfeatures are positioned in a chamber (Figs. 1-2, walls 4 and channels 4 are located within a chamber defined by base 2 and cover 20) in fluid communication with each of the liquid distribution passage and the vapor collection passage (Figs. 1-2 and par. 15, “In operation, a refrigerant in a liquid phase will at least partially fill the reservoir space 8/21. Capillary action between the channels 5 and the refrigerant, plus absorption of refrigerant on the porous metal surface (when the exchange surface is metalized), will draw refrigerant across the exchange surface 3. Heat, conducting through exchanger base 2 and into the channels 5 and walls 4, will cause the refrigerant to boil or evaporate into the vapor phase. Refrigerant in the vapor phase will pass through vapor outlet 23”).
Regarding claim 5, Weiss, as modified, further teaches wherein the microfeatures comprise first microfeatures (Fig. 2, the ‘first microfeatures’ considered half of the walls 4), and wherein the fluid distribution network further includes: a first base member thermally coupled to each of the first microfeatures and the support unit (Figs. 1-2, the ‘first base member’ can be considered the portion of base 2 which comprises the first set of microfeatures and which is coupled to thermoelectric generator 40); second microfeatures spaced apart from each other (Fig. 2, the ‘second microfeatures’ can be considered the other half of walls 4), and a second base member spaced apart from the first base member and thermally coupled to each of the second microfeatures and the support unit (Figs. 1-2, the ‘second base member’ can be considered the portion of base 2 which comprises the second set of microfeatures and which is coupled to thermoelectric generator 40).
Regarding claim 6, Weiss, as modified, further teaches wherein the first microfeatures and the second microfeatures are positioned in a common chamber (Figs. 1-2, the first set and second set of microfeatures are located within the chamber formed by base 2 and cover 20) in fluid communication with each of the liquid distribution passage and the vapor collection passage (Par. 15, “Capillary action between the channels 5 and the refrigerant, plus absorption of refrigerant on the porous metal surface (when the exchange surface is metalized), will draw refrigerant across the exchange surface 3. Heat, conducting through exchanger base 2 and into the channels 5 and walls 4, will cause the refrigerant to boil or evaporate into the vapor phase. Refrigerant in the vapor phase will pass through vapor outlet 23”).
Regarding claim 8, Weiss, as modified, further teaches wherein the fluid distribution network comprises a two-phase fluid distribution network (Par. 15, “In operation, a refrigerant in a liquid phase will at least partially fill the reservoir space 8/21. Capillary action between the channels 5 and the refrigerant, plus absorption of refrigerant on the porous metal surface (when the exchange surface is metalized), will draw refrigerant across the exchange surface 3. Heat, conducting through exchanger base 2 and into the channels 5 and walls 4, will cause the refrigerant to boil or evaporate into the vapor phase.”), and wherein, in operation, a meniscus of the working fluid extends between adjacent ones of the microfeatures (Par. 22, considering that the channels are disclosed to be between 5 and 500 microns in width, are disclosed to induce capillary force and are within the channel width range disclosed by applicant of 5-1000 microns, it is the examiner’s position that the channels disclosed by Weiss are inherently capable of inducing a working fluid to form a meniscus between adjacent walls).
Regarding claim 9, Weiss, as modified, further teaches wherein the fluid distribution network comprises a two-phase fluid distribution network (Par. 15, “In operation, a refrigerant in a liquid phase will at least partially fill the reservoir space 8/21. Capillary action between the channels 5 and the refrigerant, plus absorption of refrigerant on the porous metal surface (when the exchange surface is metalized), will draw refrigerant across the exchange surface 3. Heat, conducting through exchanger base 2 and into the channels 5 and walls 4, will cause the refrigerant to boil or evaporate into the vapor phase.”), and wherein, in operation a meniscus of the working fluid extends between adjacent ones of the microfeatures, and the working fluid undergoes a phase change at the meniscus via thin-film evaporation (Par. 22, considering that the channels are disclosed to be between 5 and 500 microns in width, are disclosed to induce capillary forces on a working fluid and are within the channel width range disclosed by applicant of 5-1000 microns, it is the examiner’s position that the channels disclosed by Weiss are inherently capable of inducing a working fluid to form a meniscus and to undergo thin-film evaporation at the meniscus).
Regarding claim 10, Weiss fails to teach wherein individual ones of the microfeatures have a width between 5-250 microns.
The examiner maintains, however that the POSITA would have regarded the width of the microfeatures to be a result-effective variable which affects the heat capacity of the microfeatures and thus the ability of the microfeatures to conduct heat to the working fluid, therefore a POSITA would have found it obvious to optimize this feature in order to optimize the ability of the microfeatures to conduct heat to the working fluid, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 11, Weiss further teaches wherein adjacent ones of the microfeatures are spaced apart by a distance between 5-1,000 microns (Abstract, “The channels are between about 5 and about 500 um in width”).
Regarding claim 12, Weiss further teaches wherein individual ones of the microfeatures have a height no more than 10 mm (Abstract, “the walls are between about 50 and about 1000 um in height”).
Regarding claim 7, Weiss, as modified, fails to teach wherein the first base member extends along a first plane, and wherein the second base member extends along a second plane different from the first plane.
Oh, however, further teaches wherein the microfeatures comprise first microfeatures (Figs. 3 and 8, showing a first radiator 130 having fins 174), and wherein the fluid distribution network further includes: a first base member thermally coupled to each of the first microfeatures and the support unit (Figs. 3, 5 and 8, the first radiator 130 has a base 156 coupled to fins 174 and a first TEC/cooling plate 136/138); second microfeatures spaced apart from each other (Figs. 3 and 8, showing a second radiator 130 having fins 174), and a second base member spaced apart from the first base member (Figs. 3 and 8, showing the second radiator 130 spaced apart from the first radiating member and having a base 156) and thermally coupled to each of the second microfeatures and the support unit (Figs. 3, 5 and 8, the second radiator 130 has a base 156 coupled to fins 174 and a second TEC/cooling plate 136/138); wherein the first base member extends along a first plane, and wherein the second base member extends along a second plane different from the first plane (Figs. 5 and 8, showing the first and second radiators each having bases 156 extending along different first and second planes).
Therefore, in view of Oh it would have been obvious to a POSITA at the time that the invention was filed to further modify Weiss by configuring the heat exchanger in two halves having first and second sets of microfeatures spaced apart from each other and thermally coupled to first and second thermoelectric generator elements, to facilitate bending and coupling of the heat exchanger to a curved surface, as taught by Oh.
Regarding claim 15, Weiss, as modified teaches a heat transfer device (Abstract, “A heat exchanger which including a metal exchange surface having a plurality of upward extending walls forming channels between the walls.”), comprising: a support unit (Fig. 1, thermoelectric generator 40) configured to be thermally coupled to a target area (Par. 10, “Thermoelectric generators generally work under the principle of a heat source being applied to one side and the opposite side being exposed to some form of a heat sink, which in the illustrated embodiments, is formed by heat exchanger 1.”); a material (Fig. 1, cover 20); a first fluid distribution network thermally coupled to the support unit (Weiss has previously been modified in view of Oh to configure the heat exchanger of Weiss in two halves having first and second sets of microfeatures; see Oh, figs. 5 and 8, first and second radiators 130 coupled to TECs 136; see Weiss, figs. 1-2, heat exchanger 1 coupled to thermoelectric generator 40), wherein: the first fluid distribution network includes first microfeatures (See Oh, figs. 5 and 8, first radiator 130 comprising fins 174; see Weiss, fig. 2, heat exchanger body 2 comprising walls 4) spaced apart from each other to at least partially define first channels (Fig. 2, walls 4 are spaced apart to define channels 5) configured to receive a working fluid (Par. 15, “Capillary action between the channels 5 and the refrigerant, plus absorption of refrigerant on the porous metal surface (when the exchange surface is metalized), will draw refrigerant across the exchange surface 3.”), the first microfeatures are positioned between the support unit and the material (Figs. 1-2, walls 4 and channels 5 of heat exchange surface 3 is positioned between thermoelectric generator 40 and cover 20), the first microfeatures are positioned to induce capillary forces to the working fluid that drive the working fluid through the first channels (Par. 15, “Capillary action between the channels 5 and the refrigerant, plus absorption of refrigerant on the porous metal surface (when the exchange surface is metalized), will draw refrigerant across the exchange surface 3.”), the first channels (i) are parallel to one another along first fluid pathways (Fig. 2, channels 5 are parallel to each other) and (ii) define separate fluid pathways each configured to direct the working fluid therethrough (Fig. 2, channels 5 are separated by walls 4; par. 15), and in operation, the working fluid flows through the first channels and absorbs heat from the first microfeatures (Par. 15, “Heat, conducting through exchanger base 2 and into the channels 5 and walls 4, will cause the refrigerant to boil or evaporate into the vapor phase.”); and second fluid distribution network thermally coupled to the support unit (Weiss has previously been modified in view of Oh to configure the heat exchanger of Weiss in two halves having first and second sets of microfeatures; see Oh, figs. 5 and 8, first and second radiators 130 coupled to TECs 136; see Weiss, figs. 1-2, heat exchanger 1 coupled to thermoelectric generator 40), wherein: the second fluid distribution network includes second microfeatures (See Oh, figs. 5 and 8, second radiator 130 comprising fins 174; see Weiss, fig. 2, heat exchanger body 2 comprising walls 4) spaced apart from each other to at least partially define second channels (Fig. 2, walls 4 are spaced apart to define channels 5) configured to receive the working fluid (Par. 15, “Capillary action between the channels 5 and the refrigerant, plus absorption of refrigerant on the porous metal surface (when the exchange surface is metalized), will draw refrigerant across the exchange surface 3.”), and the second channels (i) are parallel to one another along second fluid pathways (Fig. 2, channels 5 are parallel to each other) and (ii) define separate fluid pathways each configured to direct the working fluid therethrough (Fig. 2, channels 5 are separated by walls 4; par. 15), wherein the first fluid distribution network extends along a first plane and the second fluid distribution network extends along a second plane different from the first plane (Weiss has previously been modified in view of Oh to configure the heat exchanger of Weiss in two halves having first and second sets of microfeatures extending along different planes; see Oh, figs. 5 and 8, showing the first and second radiators each having bases 156 extending along different first and second planes).
Weiss fails to teach that the material is a foam material.
The examiner maintains, however, that it would have been obvious to POSITA at the time that the invention was filed to construct cover 20 of Weiss of whatever material was deemed appropriate or expedient, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 16, Weiss, as modified, further teaches a liquid distribution passage configured to provide the working fluid to the first channels and the second channels (Fig. 2, reservoirs 8a-b; par. 15, “In operation, a refrigerant in a liquid phase will at least partially fill the reservoir space 8/21. Capillary action between the channels 5 and the refrigerant, plus absorption of refrigerant on the porous metal surface (when the exchange surface is metalized), will draw refrigerant across the exchange surface 3”; Weiss has previously been modified in view of Oh to configure the heat exchanger of Weiss in two halves having first and second sets of microfeatures) and (ii) a vapor collection passage configured to receive the working fluid from the first channels and the second channels (Fig. 1, vapor outlet 23 and par. 15, “Heat, conducting through exchanger base 2 and into the channels 5 and walls 4, will cause the refrigerant to boil or evaporate into the vapor phase. Refrigerant in the vapor phase will pass through vapor outlet 23”).
Regarding claim 17, Weiss, as modified, further teaches wherein the first fluid distribution network further includes a first base member that forms a continuous surface with the first microfeatures (Weiss has previously been modified in view of Oh to configure the heat exchanger of Weiss in two halves having first and second sets of microfeatures; see Oh, figs. 5 and 8, showing first and second radiators each having bases 156 and fins 174; see Weiss, fig. 2, base of heat exchanger 2 forms a continuous surface with walls 4), wherein the second fluid distribution network further includes a second base member that forms a continuous surface with the second microfeatures (See Oh, figs. 5 and 8, showing first and second radiators each having bases 156 and fins 174; see Weiss, fig. 2, base of heat exchanger 2 forms a continuous surface with walls 4) and wherein each of the first base member and the second base member is positioned over and thermally coupled to the support unit (See Oh, figs. 5 and 8, showing bases 156 of first and second radiators 130 coupled to TECs 136; see Weiss, fig. 1, heat exchanger 1 coupled to thermoelectric generator 40).
Regarding claim 18, Weiss, as modified, further teaches wherein individual ones of the first channels are no more than 1000 microns wide (Abstract, “The channels are between about 5 and about 500 um in width”).
Regarding claim 20, Weiss, as modified, further teaches wherein the first microfeatures and the second microfeatures are positioned in a common chamber (Weiss has previously been modified in view of Oh to configure the heat exchanger of Weiss in two halves having first and second sets of microfeatures; see Oh, fig. 3, first and second radiators 130 located within interior space 118; see Weiss, figs. 1 and 4, the microfeatures are located within the chamber formed by base 2 and cover 20).
Regarding claim 21, Weiss, as modified, further teaches wherein the first fluid distribution network comprises a first two-phase fluid distribution network, wherein the second fluid distribution network comprises a second two-phase fluid distribution network (Weiss has previously been modified in view of Oh to configure the heat exchanger of Weiss in two halves as two different fluid distribution networks; see Oh, fig. 3, first and second radiators 130; see Weiss, par. 15, “In operation, a refrigerant in a liquid phase will at least partially fill the reservoir space 8/21. Capillary action between the channels 5 and the refrigerant, plus absorption of refrigerant on the porous metal surface (when the exchange surface is metalized), will draw refrigerant across the exchange surface 3. Heat, conducting through exchanger base 2 and into the channels 5 and walls 4, will cause the refrigerant to boil or evaporate into the vapor phase.”), and wherein, in operation, (i) a meniscus of the working fluid extends between adjacent ones of the first microfeatures and between adjacent ones of the second microfeatures and (ii) the working fluid undergoes a phase change at the meniscus via thin-film evaporation (Par. 22, considering that the channels are disclosed to be between 5 and 500 microns in width, are capable of inducing capillary forces on a working fluid and are within the channel width range of 5-1000 microns disclosed by applicant, it is the examiner’s position that the channels disclosed by Weiss are inherently capable of inducing a working fluid to form a meniscus to undergo thin-film evaporation).
Regarding claim 22, Weiss, as modified, further teaches wherein individual ones of the first microfeatures have a width between 5-250 microns (Wiess has previously been modified to optimize the widths of the different microfeatures; see the discussion of claim 10, above).
Regarding claim 24, Weiss, as modified, further teaches wherein adjacent ones of the first microfeatures are spaced apart by a distance between 5-1,000 microns (Abstract, “The channels are between about 5 and about 500 um in width”).
Regarding claim 25, Weiss, as modified, further teaches wherein individual ones of the first microfeatures have a height no more than 10 mm (Abstract, “the walls are between about 50 and about 1000 um in height”).
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments, see “Remarks” filed 9/25/26, with respect to the rejection of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The examiner maintains that the claims are indefinite for omitting essential elements. Mainly, the claims fail to recite any components which perform active heating/cooling of the user which is the disclosed to be the primary function of the device. Par. 25 cited by applicant discloses some deficiencies of prior art devices and does not rebut the examiner’s argument. Further, par. 29 cited by applicant supports the examiner’s contention that the fluid distribution networks are disclosed to cool the hot side of the thermoelectric elements and not to provide active heating/cooling to the user. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 9/25/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2, 4-12, 15-18, 20-22 and 24-25 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made over Weiss in view of Oh, as discussed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ADAM JOSEPH. AVIGAN
Examiner
Art Unit 3739
/ADAM J AVIGAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/JOSEPH A STOKLOSA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794