DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group 1 in the reply filed on 1/26/26 is acknowledged. The traversal has been found persuasive; therefore, the restriction mailed on 11/24/25 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re: claims 19, 31, and 37. The phrase “blade-like” is indefinite the term “like” fails to clearly define the metes and bounds of the claim.
Re: claims 23 and 25. The phrase “said at least one through-going aperture” is indefinite. It is unclear to the Examiner whether Applicant intends to refer to the through going aperture of the first flexible element or the second flexible element. A similar issue exists in claim 25.
The remaining claims are indefinite due to their dependency from one of claims 19, 31, and 37.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19, 23-25, 28, 29, 31, and 35-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP-3816482 (EP’482).
Re: claims 19, 31, and 37. EP’482 shows in figure 1A a method of manufacturing a damping device, for damping vibrations and/or absorbing shocks, comprising the steps of: S1) implementing an Additive Manufacturing step to produce a monolithic structure as described in in paragraph [0037] comprising a first flexible element 131 essentially having a sheet or blade-like geometry and at least a second flexible element 132 essentially having a sheet or blade- like geometry and extending substantially parallel to said first flexible element, wherein at least said first flexible element comprises at least one through-going aperture 134, S2) Providing a material, in the region between said first flexible element and said at least second flexible element, which is adapted to change of physical and/or chemical state to turn into a viscoelastic material when the material is submitted to a suitable predefined treatment as described in paragraph [0028], and S3) Applying said suitable predefined treatment to said material to conform a dissipative layer of viscoelastic material as described in paragraph [0028], extending between said first flexible element 131 and said at least second flexible element 132 and secured to both of said first flexible element 131 and said at least second flexible element 132, wherein said at least one through going aperture is at least partially filled by the viscoelastic material as shown in figure 1A.
Re: claim 23. EP’482 shows in figure 1A wherein the additive manufacturing step S1 is implemented so as to provide the at least second flexible element 132 with at least one through going aperture 135 and wherein the steps S2 and S3 are implemented in such a way that the at least one through going aperture 135 is at least partially filled with the viscoelastic material of the dissipative layer as shown.
Re: claim 24. EP’482 shows in figure 1A in an alternate interpretation the first flexible element 133 comprising an internal surface shown at the end of the lead line of 133, facing an internal or left surface of at least second flexible element 131, and an external or left surface opposite said internal surface shown at the end of line 133, wherein said steps S2 and S3 are implemented in such a way that said dissipative layer described in paragraph [0028] and shown at 150 extends beyond a through-going aperture 136 or at least one of said plurality of through-going apertures so as to cover at least partially said external or left surface of said first flexible element 133.
Re: claims 25 and 36. EP’482 shows in figure 1A wherein said Additive Manufacturing step S1 is implemented so as to provide said monolithic structure with at least one additional flexible layer 133 having a sheet or blade-like geometry, extending substantially parallel to said first 131 and second 132 flexible elements, so as to form a sandwich structure defined by two external flexible elements and at least one internal flexible element, the at least one internal flexible element being provided with at least one through-going aperture 136, wherein the region between all the flexible elements of said monolithic structure is filled by said viscoelastic material of said dissipative layer as shown in figure 1A and described in paragraph [0028], including said at least one through-going aperture 136.
Re: claim 28. EP’482 shows in figure 1A and describes in paragraph [0028] wherein the viscoelastic material is a polymer, and wherein the step S3 includes a curing operation chosen from the group comprising applying UV radiation, applying heat, or waiting the necessary time to complete a polymerization or vulcanization reaction or particularly applying heat as the operating temperature reaches the transition phase temperature range of the viscoelastic material as described in the cited paragraph.
Re: claims 29 and 35. EP’482 describes in paragraph [0002] and in the title the limitation wherein the monolithic structure is provided with a mechanical mounting organ or coupled to portion of the described gas turbine engine that receives the damping benefits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20, 32, and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP’482 in view of US Patent Application 2006/0037809 to Fuller et al.
EP’482 shows the at least one through-going aperture 134 representing a percentage of the surface of the first flexible element, but is silent with regard to the percentage being between 10% and 80%.
Fuller et al. teach in figure 14 the use of a plurality of perforations or holes 172 representing between 10-80% (showing at least half) of the surface of the first element 170.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the percentage of the surface of EP’482 being represented by the at least one through-going aperture being between 10-80%, in view of the teachings of Fuller et al., in order to provide a means of not only improving the coupling between the two flexible elements but also increasing the energy dissipation or damping capacity by having more holes/apertures through which the viscoelastic material can flow.
Also see In re Aller. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller,105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP’482 in view of DE-102004027691 (DE’691).
EP’482 is silent with regard to the inclusion of the operation of providing at least one sacrificial bridge that is ultimately removed in an additional step.
DE’691 teaches in claim 8 the use of a layered component including the provision of a sacrificial bridge that is ultimately removed in an additional step.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the layered component or damping device of EP’482 to have included the provision of at least one sacrificial bridge and the steps to have included the ultimate removal of the sacrificial bridge, in view of the teachings of DE’691, in order to provide a means of enabling the precise creation of internal cavities during manufacturing procedures.
Claim(s) 22 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP’482 in view of WO-9922160 (WO’160).
EP’482 is silent with regard to the at least second flexible element having at least one protrusion extending in the direction of the first flexible element.
WO’160 teaches in figure 4 the use of a second flexible element 2 having at least one protrusion 4 extending in the direction of the first flexible element 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the second flexible element of EP’482 to have included at least one protrusion extending in the direction of the first flexible element, in view of the teachings of WO’160, in order to provide improved load transfer into the damping layer and improved interlocking in the viscoelastic material.
Claim(s) 26 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP’482 in view of .US Patent Application 2007/0062758 to Jensen et al.
EP’482 is silent with regard to a permanent rigid connection between the first and second flexible elements.
Jensen teaches in figure 4 the use of a permanent rigid connection 24 between first 16 and second 26 elements of a damping device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the connection of the first and second flexible elements of EP’482 to have included a permanent rigid connection, in view of the teachings of Jensen et al., in order to provide improved structural integrity of the damping device to help extend the overall life of the device.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP’482 in view of JP-2010031640 (JP’640).
EP’482 is silent with regard to the particular tan delta range.
JP’640 teaches in claim 2 the use of a damping means having a tan delta greater than 0.1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the tan delta of the damping layer of EP’482 to have been greater than 0.1, in view of the teachings of JP’640, in order to provide increased energy dissipation and damping capabilities.
Claim(s) 33 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP’482 in view of US 3251076 to Burke.
EP’482 is silent with regard to the at least second flexible element having at least one protrusion extending in the direction of the first flexible element.
Burke teaches in figure 8 the use of a second flexible element B1 having at least one protrusion 102 extending in the direction of the first flexible element A1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the second flexible element of EP’482 to have included at least one protrusion extending in the direction of the first flexible element, in view of the teachings of Burke, in order to provide improved load transfer into the damping layer and improved interlocking in the viscoelastic material. Examiner notes that the combination would result in the at least one protrusion 102 extending at least partially through at least one aperture 116 of a first flexible element A1 to further improve the stability of the damping device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US20130153145, US5483028, and US3079277 teach the use of similar damping device.
mmb
March 21, 2026
/MELODY M BURCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616