DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Currently, claims 1-3, 5-10, 15, 21-23 and 25-31 are pending in the application. Claims 1 and 15 have been amended. Claim 24 cancelled & added Claim 31
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 1.
Response to Arguments / Amendments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive, see discussion below.
The applicant argued that Fadell and the other references fail to teach, disclose, or make obvious determining any dimensions of a parcel, and opening a garage door "an amount at least partially based on a smallest dimension."
As to the above argument, Faddel discloses a3 garage door opening system ([0247], FIG. 8C) and 6 garage door opener configured to perform an action selected from the group consisting of opening a garage door, closing the garage door with smart-home environment with one or more intelligent, multi-sensing, network-connected appliances, such as intercom systems, gated entries, garage-door openers ([0057], FIG. 1)
In addition to Faddel, Eichenblatt teaches opening the garage door an amount at least partially based on a smallest dimension of the delivery parcel with permit packages to pass without necessarily allowing a full-grown person to pass or the package door 3 may be a door that is a subsection of a larger-sized door 4 with flexible types and sizes of a security gate ([0025], FIG. 4)
Eichenblatt teaches package size information is stored in the attribute data 27 such that the system logic 25 is configured to unlock the secondary locking mechanism 55 automatically for particular packages (sizes) such as a user or courier may enter into the attribute data 27, in advance of the courier's arrival, package information indicating that the package's size is too large to pass through the doorway of the package door 3 and the computing device 19 based on the package size information included in the attribute data 27 may signal for the secondary locking mechanism 55 to automatically unlock ([0051])
It should be further noted that Applicant has not presented any specific arguments with regards to the rejections of the dependent claims.
Accordingly, Examiner maintains the rejection with regards to above arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 15, 21-23 and 25-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faddel et al. (US 20150156031, hereinafter Faddel) in view of Eichenblatt (US 20160247344, hereinafter Eichenblatt), Lyman et al. (US 20150310381, hereinafter Lyman) Zundel et al. (US 20170236193, hereinafter Zundel).
Regarding claim 1, Faddel discloses a3 garage door opening system comprising:
a parcel identification detection system configured to detect a delivery parcel identification code of a delivery parcel ([0247], FIG. 8C, sensors 828 detect when packages are delivered to the door of the smart-home environment and scan the bar code or other type of identifying tag affixed to or associated with the package; [0248], bar code to obtain information about the package);
6 a garage door opener configured to perform an action selected from the group consisting of opening a garage door, closing the garage door, and combinations thereof([0057], FIG. 1, smart-home environment with one or more intelligent, multi-sensing, network-connected appliances, such as intercom systems, gated entries, garage-door openers; [0350], automatically detecting any suitable package identification information without requiring any specific activity on behalf of the deliverer such as detecting suitable package identification information using NFC or RFID or Bluetooth technology; [0358], access to the deliverer by opening door 186 by unlocking doorknob 122 for a certain amount of time via Bluetooth or any other suitable protocol communication); and
a computing system configured to receive the delivery parcel identification code detected by the parcel identification detection system ([0246], barcode scanner; [0326], obtain identifying information from a code, such as a linear barcode, a two-dimensional or matrix barcode, a three-dimensional barcode; [0350], automatically detecting any suitable package identification information without requiring any specific activity on behalf of the deliverer such as detecting suitable package identification information using NFC or RFID or Bluetooth technology ),
send a communication to the garage door opener in response to determining that the delivery parcel identification code is indicative of the delivery parcel being an expected delivery ([0358], access to the deliverer by opening door 186 by unlocking doorknob 122 for a certain amount of time via Bluetooth or any other suitable protocol communication; [0368], accessible opening to the secure to partially indicate to deliverer DL where and how to deposit the package securely),
Faddel does not explicitly disclose wherein the garage door opener is configured to open the garage door an amount at least partially based on a smallest dimension of the delivery parcel and comparing (compare) the delivery parcel identification code to a database comprising an expected delivery identification code.
Eichenblatt teaches wherein the garage door opener is configured to open the garage door an amount at least partially based on a smallest dimension of the delivery parcel ([0025], FIG. 4,the package door 3 may be smaller to permit packages to pass without necessarily allowing a full-grown person to pass or the package door 3 may be a door that is a subsection of a larger-sized door 4 with flexible types and sizes of a security gate, such as wrought iron exterior gate; a garage door; a door for a drop box, mail box, large box or bench; a door through a building wall; and other types of doors; [0051] package size information is stored in the attribute data 27 such that the system logic 25 is configured to unlock the secondary locking mechanism 55 automatically for particular packages (sizes) such as a user or courier may enter into the attribute data 27, in advance of the courier's arrival, package information indicating that the package's size is too large to pass through the doorway of the package door 3 and the computing device 19 based on the package size information included in the attribute data 27 may signal for the secondary locking mechanism 55 to automatically unlock) and comparing (compare) the delivery parcel identification code to a database comprising an expected delivery identification code ([0031], FIG. 2, attribute data 27 are stored in memory 29 (database) and system logic 25 determines whether the package data 23 corresponds to at least one attribute defined by the attribute data).
Eichenblatt also teaches tracking number or other information may be wirelessly transmitted from the package or a device carried by the courier to the data input device 7 using Bluetooth, radio frequency identification (RFID), near field communication (NFC), or other wireless technology ([0045] FIG. 3) and package or a device carried by the person delivering the package may also be equipped with a wireless communication device, such as an RFID or NFC device, that wirelessly communicate package attributes, such as a package identifier, sender or recipient name, or other package information, to the data input device 7 ([0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Faddel by explicitly using the package attributes data as taught by Eichenblatt as above as one of known techniques in the art and in order to ensure secured package delivery and tracking (Eichenblatt, [0026]).
Faddel further discloses detecting position information of a delivery vehicle relative the garage door opening system by sensing visitor information at any particular location of detected visitor information with vehicle of such a delivery truck of a deliverer is identified using one or more sensing components or detection resource in which a visitor is detected at different locations at a particular distance using facial recognition or other suitable detection systems or RFID tag detection ([0454]).
However, Faddel and Eichenblatt do not explicitly an expected delivery time associated with the delivery parcel, and that a current time of day is within a period of time encompassing the expected delivery time, such that the garage door opener is configured to open the garage door in response to each of identifying that the current time of day is within the period of time encompassing the expected delivery time and detecting the delivery parcel identification code.
Lyman teaches an expected delivery time associated with the delivery parcel, and that a current time of day is within a period of time encompassing the expected delivery time, such that the garage door opener is configured to open the garage door ([0038], provide temporary access code to unlock the front door, a temporary frequency code configured to open the garage door wirelessly, or a temporary keypad code configured to open the garage door via a keypad outside the garage door that operates only during a predetermined time period (e.g., based on an expected time of delivery received by the monitoring module 205, etc.), upon detecting the arrival of the delivery person, and/or upon authenticating the identity of the delivery person).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Faddel and Eichenblatt by an expected delivery time associated with the delivery parcel as taught by Lyman as above enabling monitoring the delivery area while the delivery person is delivering the package, capturing photo and/or video images of the delivery area which is captured and sent to occupants of the premises in a real-time to enable the occupant to monitor delivery in-progress (Lyman, [0022]).
However, Lyman do not explicitly opening the garage door in response to each of identifying that the current time of day is within the period of time encompassing the expected delivery time and detecting the delivery parcel identification code
Zundel teaches opening the garage door in response to each of identifying that the current time of day is within the period of time encompassing the expected delivery time and detecting the delivery parcel identification code ([0028] communicate a scheduled delivery time for the parcel and generate an access code based on the scheduled delivery time such as if purchase of an item were made on January 1 and delivery of the item were scheduled for January 4 after 1:00 PM and before 3:00 PM, then automation system may receive the scheduled delivery time and generate the access code based at least in part on the scheduled delivery time. For example, the automation system may generate the access code on January 4 at 12:00 PM, or one hour before the time window during which the item is scheduled to be delivered, and provide the access code to a machine of the delivery service or delivery person. In some cases, the POS system may generate the access code at the time of sale or at a delayed time and provide the generated access code to a machine of the delivery service or delivery person)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Faddel and Eichenblatt by an expected delivery time associated with the delivery parcel as taught by Zundel as above providing secure delivery module provides the generated access code to a delivery service to enable the delivery service to securely deliver the item to the premises such as inside a secured area of the premises (Zundel, [0023]).
Regarding claim 2, Faddel in view of Eichenblatt , Lyman & Zundel discloses the614 system of Claim 1. Faddel discloses wherein the first computer system is communicatively coupled to the parcel identification detection system and the garage door opener ([0326]; [0358], a deliverer device is communicatively coupled with a smart device of environment 100, paired via Bluetooth or any other suitable protocol).
Regarding claim 3, Faddel in view of Eichenblatt , Lyman & Zundel discloses the614 system of Claim 1. Faddel discloses wherein the parcel identification detection system is coupled to a building that comprises the garage door ([0057], FIG. 1, smart-home environment with one or more intelligent, multi-sensing, network-connected appliances, such as intercom systems, gated entries, garage-door openers).
Regarding claim 5, Faddel in view of Eichenblatt , Lyman & Zundel discloses the614 system of Claim 1. Faddel further discloses wherein the garage door opener is configured to close the garage door in response to a predetermined amount of time passing ([0358], access to the deliverer by opening door 186 by unlocking doorknob 122 for a certain amount of time ; a deliverer device 266 is communicatively coupled with a smart device of environment 100, paired via Bluetooth or any other suitable protocol;[0368], temporarily accessible opening to the secure area or more output components of doorbell 106 configured to at least partially indicate to deliverer DL where and how to deposit the package securely; [0373], suitable smart device of environment 100 are selectively opened and closed).
Regarding claim 6, Faddel in view of Eichenblatt , Lyman & Zundel discloses the614 system of Claim 1. Faddel in view of Eichenblatt , Lyman & Zundel discloses further comprising a camera system configured to take a first picture of the delivery parcel and to take a second picture of the garage door in an at least partially open state (Faddel: [0226], CCD sensor incorporated in any of a variety of different smart-home garage door openers; [0326], obtain identifying information using still or video camera; Eichenblatt: [0083] a picture of the user is taken and the package door is opened).
Regarding claim 7, Faddel in view of Eichenblatt , Lyman & Zundel discloses the614 system of Claim 1. Faddel discloses further comprising a camera configured to take a first picture of the delivery parcel, wherein the garage door opening system is configured to send the first picture to a remote computing device ([0082], live video feeds and function as security cameras; [0136], transmit video to the central server and cloud-computing system; [0204], the camera in the doorbell 106 can transmit their image to the smart wall switches [0374]).
Regarding claim 8, Faddel in view of Eichenblatt , Lyman & Zundel discloses the614 system of Claim 1. Faddel in view of Eichenblatt discloses further comprising a camera configured to take a first picture of the delivery parcel in response to the parcel identification detection system detecting the delivery parcel (Faddel: [0226], CCD sensor incorporated in any of a variety of different smart-home garage door openers; [0326], obtain identifying information using still or video camera; Eichenblatt: [0083] a picture of the user is taken and the package door is opened).
Regarding claim 9 Faddel in view of Eichenblatt , Lyman & Zundel discloses the614 system of Claim 1. Faddel discloses wherein the parcel identification detection system comprises a camera, and the parcel identification detection system is configured to detect the delivery parcel identification code in response to the camera taking a picture of a barcode on the delivery parcel ([0082], live video feeds and function as security cameras; [0136], transmit video to the central server and cloud-computing system; [0204], the camera in the doorbell 106 can transmit their image to the smart wall switches [0374]).
Regarding claim 10 Faddel in view of Eichenblatt , Lyman & Zundel discloses the614 system of Claim 9. Faddel discloses 26 wherein the parcel identification detection system is configured to detect the delivery parcel identification code in response to analyzing the picture to identify the delivery parcel identification code ([0326], obtain identifying information using still or video camera; [0385], analyzing the detected package information using a computing system that is communicatively coupled to the entryway interface smart device).
Regarding Claim 15, Garage door opening system claims 15 of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 1, and the rejections of which are incorporated herein for the same reasons as used above.
Faddel further discloses an image analysis system configured to analyze a picture taken by the camera to determine that the entity has left at least a portion of a field of view of the camera, wherein the garage door opener is configured to close the garage door in response to the image analysis system determining that the entity has left ([0326], obtain identifying information using still or video camera; [0385], analyzing the detected package information using a computing system that is communicatively coupled to the entryway interface smart device).
Regarding claim 21 Faddel in view of Eichenblatt , Lyman & Zundel discloses the614 system of Claim 8. Faddel discloses 26wherein the garage door is configured to close in response to capturing the picture of the delivery parcel ([0329], communicating digital data from a deliverer's mobile device; [0348], [0349], the information associated with the package detected by capturing image data of deliverer DL (deliverer identification) and package PL; [0350]).
Regarding claim 22 Faddel in view of Eichenblatt , Lyman & Zundel discloses the614 system of Claim 1. Faddel discloses wherein the expected delivery time is an expected delivery time window, and wherein the garage door is configured to open at a beginning of the expected delivery time window and to close at an end of the expected delivery time window.
Regarding claim 23 Faddel in view of Eichenblatt , Lyman & Zundel discloses the614 system of Claim 22. Lyman discloses wherein the garage door is configured to open at a predetermined time before the beginning of the expected delivery time window ([0038], provide temporary access code to unlock the front door, a temporary frequency code configured to open the garage door wirelessly, or a temporary keypad code configured to open the garage door via a keypad outside the garage door that operates only during a predetermined time period (e.g., based on an expected time of delivery received by the monitoring module 205, etc.), upon detecting the arrival of the delivery person, and/or upon authenticating the identity of the delivery person). The same reason or rational of obviousness motivation applied as used above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 25 Faddel in view of Eichenblatt , Lyman & Zundel discloses the614 system of Claim 1. Faddel discloses wherein the parcel identification detection system is configured to receive position location information, of a remote computing device associated with a delivery vehicle, relative to the garage door opening system, and wherein the computing system is further configured to verify that the remote computing device is within a predetermined distance from the garage door opening system in connection with receipt of location position information of the remote computing device ([0454], sensing visitor information at any particular location of detected visitor information with vehicle of such a visitor (car of a system user or delivery truck of a deliverer) identified using one or more sensing components or detection resource in which a visitor is detected at different locations (LA, LB, LC) at a particular distance (DD) using facial recognition or other suitable detection systems or RFID tag detection, etc.).
Regarding claim 26 Faddel in view of Eichenblatt , Lyman & Zundel discloses the614 system of Claim 25. Faddel discloses wherein the computing system is further configured to send a communication to the garage door opener in response to determining that the remote computing device is within the predetermined distance from the garage door opening system ([0454], sensing visitor information at any particular location of detected visitor information with vehicle of such a visitor (car of a system user or delivery truck of a deliverer) identified using one or more sensing components or detection resource in which a visitor is detected at different locations (LA, LB, LC) at a particular distance (DD) using facial recognition or other suitable detection systems or RFID tag detection, etc.).
Regarding claim 27 Faddel in view of Eichenblatt , Lyman & Zundel discloses the614 system of Claim 15. Faddel discloses further comprising a camera configured to take a picture of at least one of the delivery parcel and an entity that delivers the delivery parcel in response to the parcel identification detection system detecting the delivery parcel.
([0329], communicating digital data from a deliverer's mobile device; [0348], [0349], the information associated with the package detected by capturing image data of deliverer DL (deliverer identification) and package PL; [0350]),
Regarding claim 28 Faddel in view of Eichenblatt , Lyman & Zundel discloses the614 system of Claim 27. Faddel discloses further comprising an image analysis system configured to analyze a picture taken by the camera to determine that the entity has left at least a portion of a field of view of the camera, wherein the computing system is configured to disable the digital key, and the garage door opener is configured to close the garage door, in response to determining that the entity has left ([0326], obtain identifying information using still or video camera; [0385], analyzing the detected package information using a computing system that is communicatively coupled to the entryway interface smart device).
Regarding claim 29 Faddel in view of Eichenblatt , Lyman & Zundel discloses the614 system of Claim 27. Faddel discloses wherein the computing system is configured to disable the digital key, such that the garage door opener is configured to close the garage door a predetermined amount of time after the camera takes the picture of the delivery parcel ([0326], obtain identifying information using still or video camera; [0385], analyzing the detected package information using a computing system that is communicatively coupled to the entryway interface smart device).
Regarding claim 30 Faddel in view of Eichenblatt , Lyman & Zundel discloses the614 system of Claim 15. Lyman discloses wherein the database further comprises an expected delivery time associated with the delivery parcel, and wherein the computing system provides the digital key to the remote computing device at a predetermined time prior to the expected delivery time ([0038], provide temporary access code to unlock the front door, a temporary frequency code configured to open the garage door wirelessly, or a temporary keypad code configured to open the garage door via a keypad outside the garage door that operates only during a predetermined time period (e.g., based on an expected time of delivery received by the monitoring module 205, etc.), upon detecting the arrival of the delivery person, and/or upon authenticating the identity of the delivery person). The same reason or rational of obviousness motivation applied as used above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 31 Faddel in view of Eichenblatt , Lyman & Zundel discloses the614 system of Claim 30. Lyman wherein the computing system is configured to disable the digital key at a predetermined time past the expected delivery time([0038], provide temporary access code to unlock the front door, a temporary frequency code configured to open the garage door wirelessly, or a temporary keypad code configured to open the garage door via a keypad outside the garage door that operates only during a predetermined time period (e.g., based on an expected time of delivery received by the monitoring module 205, etc.), upon detecting the arrival of the delivery person, and/or upon authenticating the identity of the delivery person). The same reason or rational of obviousness motivation applied as used above in claim 1.
Conclusion
/SAMUEL D FEREJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487