Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL1 (SDformer: Efficient End-to-End Transformer for Depth Completion, Jian Qian et al., IEEE, 2022, Pages 56-61) hereafter NPL1 in view of Xiong et al. (US12333730) hereafter Xiong and in further view of Singh et al. (US20240127596) hereafter Singh.
1. Regarding claim 1, NPL1 discloses a processor-implemented method (fig 1, pages 56-57 discloses “In practice, the SDformer obtains state-of-the-art results against the CNN-based depth completion models with lower computing loads (i.e processor implemented method performed by at least one processor/computer, page 59 section B discloses NVIDIA RTX 3090 GPUs with 24GB GPU memory) and parameters on the NYU Depth V2 and KITTI DC datasets”) performed by at least one processor, the processor-implemented method comprising:
receiving, by an artificial neural network (ANN), an input comprising an image and a sparse depth measurement (fig 1, pages 56-57, page 57 col 1 “In particular, the input module employs a convolution layer to extract the features from depth maps and RGB images, then concatenates these features to the two subsequent modules. The U-shaped encoder-decoder Transformer is mainly composed of a series of SDformer blocks, each of which utilizes the Different Window-based Multi-Scale Self-Attention(DWSA) and the Gated Feed-Forward Network(GFFN) for extracting local and global information of depth features.”, “Section II “Proposed method” shows and discloses CNN based (i.e artificial neural network) SDformer consisting of an input comprising RGB image and a sparse depth measurement meeting the claim limitations);
extracting, by the ANN, visual features of the input (fig 1, page 57 col 1 discloses “In particular, the input module employs a convolution layer to extract the features from depth maps and RGB images (visual features), then concatenates these features to the two subsequent modules. The U-shaped encoder-decoder Transformer is mainly composed of a series of SDformer blocks, each of which utilizes the Different Window-based Multi-Scale Self-Attention (DWSA) and the Gated Feed-Forward Network(GFFN) for extracting local and global information of depth features. and “we first apply a 3×3 convolutional layer with LeakyReLU [16] to extract low-level features of depth Ps ∈ RC1×H×W and RGB image Pc ∈ RC2×H×W” (to produce multi-scale visual features) meeting the claim limitations);
applying, by the ANN, a self-attention mechanism to (fig 1, page 57 cols 1-2 discloses “We first apply a 3×3 convolutional layer with LeakyReLU [16] to extract low-level features of depth Ps ∈ RC1×H×W and RGB image Pc ∈ RC2×H×W .Then, we concatenate them in the channel dimensions P0 ∈ RC×H×W . Next, The concatenated features P0 pass through the U-shaped encoder-decoder SDformer blocks to get the deep features Pd ∈ R2C×H×W . Each stage of the encoding decoding contains several transformer blocks, which utilize the self-attention mechanism to capture long-range dependencies and reduce the computational cost of the feature maps with the different windows.” meeting the claim limitations),
generating, by the ANN, a dense depth map based on the set of attended multi-scale visual features (fig1, page 57 col 1-2 discloses “Each stage of the encoding decoding contains several transformer blocks, which utilize the self-attention mechanism to capture long-range dependencies and reduce the computational cost of the feature maps with the different windows. During each step of encoding, we employ shuffling and unshuffling procedures to down-sample and up-sample the features. After that, the deep features Pd ∈ R2C×H×W concatenate with the shallow features P0 ∈ RC×H×W and go through the refinement stage to get the enriched feature maps Pr ∈ R3C×H×W. Finally, a 3 × 3 convolution layer is applied to the refinement features Pr ∈ R3C×H×W to generate a final depth prediction P ∈ R1×H×W “meeting the claim limitations). As seen above NPL1 discloses input visual features and producing multi-scale visual features. NPL1 is silent and fail to disclose the input image at multiple different scales, applying self-attention to a subset of features and the subset comprising fewer than all of the multi-scale visual features.
Xiong discloses the input image at multiple different scales within the input (fig 3 element 330 and col 9 lines 4-14 discloses the input image at multiple different scales within the input meeting the above claim limitations). Before the effective filing date of the invention was made, NPL1 and Xiong are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor and are analogous art of image processing. The suggestion/motivation would be a faster and cost-effective method/system at col 9 lines 44-51. As seen above NPL1 discloses the self-attention mechanism applied to the multi-scale features. NPL1 and Xiong however are silent and fails to disclose self-attention to a subset of features and the subset comprising fewer than all of the multi-scale visual features.
Singh discloses using a self-attention to a subset of features and the subset comprising fewer than all of the multi-scale visual features (para 0103 discloses a self-attention to a subset of features and the subset comprising fewer than all of the multi-scale visual features). Before the effective filing date of the invention was made, Singh, Xiong and NPL1 are combinable because they are from the same filed of endeavor and are analogous art of image processing. The suggestion/motivation would be a faster and efficient system/method at para 0103. Therefore, it would be obvious and within one of ordinary skill in the art to have recognized the advantages of Singh and Xiong in the method of NPL1 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
2. Regarding claim 2, NPL1, Xiong and Singh disclose the processor-implemented method of claim 1. NPL1 disclose further in which the sparse depth measurement comprises a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) measurement (pages 58-59 discloses “The sparse depth maps were generated from HDL-64 LIDAR meeting the claim limitations, examiner notes that due to the recital of or only one is required to be met), or
3. Regarding claim 3, NPL1, Xiong and Singh disclose the processor-implemented method of claim 1. NPL1 disclose further wherein the processor-implemented method is performed by at least one processor (fig 1, pages 56-57 disclose “In practice, the SDformer obtains state-of-the-art results against the CNN-based depth completion models with lower computing loads (i.e processor implemented method performed by at least one processor/computer, page 59 section B discloses NVIDIA RTX 3090 GPUs with 24GB GPU memory) and parameters on the NYU Depth V2 and KITTI DC datasets”) (fig 1 element 100 (mobile device) with 140, Col 4 lines 42-59 shows and discloses the method performed by at least one processor 140 of the mobile device (i.e the smartphone) meeting the above claim limitations). NPL1 and Xiong combined would therefore meet the limitations of claim 3.
4. Regarding claim 4, NPL1, Xiong and Singh disclose the processor-implemented method of claim 1. NPL1 discloses on page 56 the method used in various computer vision applications such as robot navigation (i.e a robotics application as claimed in claim 4), augmented reality, and motion planning. Xiong also discloses further implementing the dense depth map in an extended reality (XR) application (fig 1 element 162, col 4 lines 60-64, col 7 lines 63 through col 8 lines 9 shows and discloses implementing the dense depth map in an extended reality (XR) application, examiner notes that due to the recital of or only one is required to be met),
5. Regarding claim 5, NPL1, Xiong and Singh disclose the processor-implemented method of claim 1. NPL1 disclose further comprising processing, by the ANN, the multi-scale visual features by applying a depth-separable convolution to the multi-scale visual features (fig 1 and page 57 discloses “The U-shaped encoder-decoder Transformer is mainly composed of a series of SDformer blocks, each of which utilizes the Different Window-based Multi-Scale Self-Attention(DWSA) and the Gated Feed-Forward Network(GFFN) for extracting local and global information of depth features. Finally, we refine the predicted features from the input module and the U-shaped encoder-decoder SDformer blocks to get the enriching depth features and apply a convolution layer to obtain the dense depth map.” meeting the above claim limitations) and Singh discloses the subset of the features (para 0103). NPL1, Xiong and Singh together would therefore meet the limitations of claim 5.
6. Regarding claim 6, NPL1, Xiong and Singh disclose the processor-implemented method of claim 1. NPL1 disclose further in which the ANN comprises a sparse-to-dense (S2D) network (fig 1, page 56 col 1 discloses In this work, we propose a different window-based Transformer architecture for depth completion tasks named Sparse-to-Dense Transformer (SDformer) and page 57 shows a sparse to dense CNN network meeting the claim limitations).
7. Regarding claim 7, NPL1, Xiong and Singh disclose the processor-implemented method of claim 1. NPL1 disclose further in which the ANN comprises a convolutional neural network (CNN) (pages 56-57 and fig 1 shows and discloses a CNN based method (i.e the artificial neural network ANN comprises convolutional neural network) meeting the claim limitations).
8. Regarding claim 8, NPL1, Xiong and Singh disclose the processor-implemented method of claim 1. NPL1 disclose further in which the image is captured by a single camera (page 58 section A discloses the dataset consists of a RGB and depth images captured by a Microsoft Kinect Camera (i.e a single camera) meeting the claim limitations).
9. Regarding claim 9, NPL1, Xiong and Singh disclose the processor-implemented method of claim 8. NPL1 also discloses on page 56 the method used in various computer vision applications such as robot navigation, augmented reality, and motion planning. NPL1 also discloses a single camera (page 58 section A discloses the dataset consists of a RGB and depth images captured by a Microsoft Kinect Camera (i.e a single camera). NPL1 however fails to disclose wherein the processor-implemented method is performed by at least one processor of a mobile device, wherein the single camera is included in the mobile device. Xiong discloses wherein the processor-implemented method is performed by at least one processor of a mobile device, wherein the single camera is included in the mobile device (fig 1 element 100 (mobile device) with 140 (processor), Col 4 lines 42-59, col 6 lines 33 shows and discloses the method performed by at least one processor 140 of the mobile device (i.e the smartphone), the mobile device having one or more cameras 186 (i.e a single camera) included in the mobile device 100 meeting the above claim limitations). NPL1 and Xiong combined would therefore meet the limitations of claim 9.
10. Claim 10 is a corresponding apparatus claim of claim 1. See the explanation of claim 1. NPL1 discloses and shows an apparatus, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory, the at least one processor configured to in (Figs 1-3 and on page 59 section B “Our method was implemented with the Pytorch library and was trained on two NVIDIA RTX 3090 GPUs (at least one processor configured to perform the steps/functions) with 24GB GPU memory” meeting the claim limitations).
11. Claim 11 is a corresponding apparatus claim of claim 2. See the corresponding explanation of claim 2.
12. Claim 12 is a corresponding apparatus claim of claim 3. See the corresponding explanation of claim 3.
13. Claim 13 is a corresponding apparatus claim of claim 4. See the corresponding explanation of claim 4.
14. Claim 14 is a corresponding apparatus claim of claim 5. See the corresponding explanation of claim 5.
15. Claim 15 is a corresponding apparatus claim of claim 6. See the corresponding explanation of claim 6.
16. Claim 16 is a corresponding apparatus claim of claim 7. See the corresponding explanation of claim 7.
17. Claim 17 is a corresponding apparatus claim of claim 8. See the corresponding explanation of claim 8.
18. Claim 18 is a corresponding apparatus claim of claim 9. See the corresponding explanation of claim 9.
19. Regarding claim 19, NPL1 discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium having program code recorded thereon, the program code executed by at least one processor and comprising: program (“A non-transitory computer-readable medium having program code recorded thereon, the program code executed by at least one processor to perform the steps” would be obvious in view of “fig 1, pages 56-57 discloses “In practice, the SDformer obtains state-of-the-art results against the CNN-based depth completion models with lower computing loads (i.e a computer with a processor and a memory storing the instructions), page 59 section B discloses NVIDIA RTX 3090 GPUs with 24GB GPU memory i.e “A non-transitory computer-readable medium having program code recorded thereon, the program code executed by at least one processor and comprising: program code to perform the steps/functions”)
program code to receive, by an artificial neural network (ANN), an input comprising an image and a sparse depth measurement (fig 1, pages 56-57, page 57 col 1 “In particular, the input module employs a convolution layer to extract the features from depth maps and RGB images, then concatenates these features to the two subsequent modules. The U-shaped encoder-decoder Transformer is mainly composed of a series of SDformer blocks, each of which utilizes the Different Window-based Multi-Scale Self-Attention(DWSA) and the Gated Feed-Forward Network(GFFN) for extracting local and global information of depth features.”, “Section II “Proposed method” shows and discloses CNN based (i.e artificial neural network) SDformer consisting of an input comprising RGB image and a sparse depth measurement meeting the claim limitations);
program code to extract, by the ANN, visual features of the input (fig 1, page 57 col 1 discloses “In particular, the input module employs a convolution layer to extract the features from depth maps and RGB images (visual features), then concatenates these features to the two subsequent modules. The U-shaped encoder-decoder Transformer is mainly composed of a series of SDformer blocks, each of which utilizes the Different Window-based Multi-Scale Self-Attention(DWSA) and the Gated Feed-Forward Network(GFFN) for extracting local and global information of depth features. and “we first apply a 3×3 convolutional layer with LeakyReLU [16] to extract low-level features of depth Ps ∈ RC1×H×W and RGB image Pc ∈ RC2×H×W” (to produce multi-scale visual features) meeting the claim limitations);
program code to apply, by the ANN, a self-attention mechanism to (fig 1, page 57 cols 1-2 discloses “We first apply a 3×3 convolutional layer with LeakyReLU [16] to extract low-level features of depth Ps ∈ RC1×H×W and RGB image Pc ∈ RC2×H×W. Then, we concatenate them in the channel dimensions P0 ∈ RC×H×W . Next, The concatenated features P0 pass through the U-shaped encoder-decoder SDformer blocks to get the deep features Pd ∈ R2C×H×W . Each stage of the encoding decoding contains several transformer blocks, which utilize the self-attention mechanism to capture long-range dependencies and reduce the computational cost of the feature maps with the different windows..” meeting the claim limitations),
program code to generate, by the ANN, a dense depth map based on the set of attended multi-scale visual features (fig1, page 57 col 1-2 discloses “Each stage of the encoding decoding contains several transformer blocks, which utilize the self-attention mechanism to capture long-range dependencies and reduce the computational cost of the feature maps with the different windows. During each step of encoding, we employ shuffling and unshuffling procedures to down-sample and up-sample the features. After that, the deep features Pd ∈ R2C×H×W concatenate with the shallow features P0 ∈ RC×H×W and go through the refinement stage to get the enriched feature maps Pr ∈ R3C×H×W. Finally, a 3 × 3 convolution layer is applied to the refinement features Pr ∈ R3C×H×W to generate a final depth prediction P ∈ R1×H×W “meeting the claim limitations). As seen above NPL1 discloses input visual features and producing multi-scale visual features. NPL1 is silent and fail to disclose the input image at multiple different scales, applying self-attention to a subset of features and the subset comprising fewer than all of the multi-scale visual features.
Xiong discloses the input image at multiple different scales within the input (fig 3 element 330 and col 9 lines 4-14 the input image at multiple different scales within the input meeting the above claim limitations). Before the effective filing date of the invention was made, NPL1 and Xiong are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor and are analogous art of image processing. The suggestion/motivation would be a faster and cost-effective method/system at col 9 lines 44-51. As seen above NPL1 discloses the self-attention mechanism applied to the multi-scale features. NPL1 and Xiong however are silent and fails to disclose self-attention to a subset of features and the subset comprising fewer than all of the multi-scale visual features.
Singh discloses using a self-attention to a subset of features and the subset comprising fewer than all of the multi-scale visual features (para 0103 discloses a self-attention to a subset of features and the subset comprising fewer than all of the multi-scale visual features). Before the effective filing date of the invention was made, Singh, Xiong and NPL1 are combinable because they are from the same filed of endeavor and are analogous art of image processing. The suggestion/motivation would be a faster and efficient system/method at para 0103. Therefore, it would be obvious and within one of ordinary skill in the art to have recognized the advantages of Singh and Xiong in the method of NPL1 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 19.
20. Claim 20 is a corresponding non-transitory computer readable medium claim of claim 2. See the corresponding explanation of claim 2.
21. Claim 21 is a corresponding non-transitory computer readable medium claim of claim 5. See the corresponding explanation of claim 5.
22. Claim 22 is a corresponding non-transitory computer readable medium claim of claim 6. See the corresponding explanation of claim 6.
23. Claim 23 is a corresponding non-transitory computer readable medium claim of claim 8. See the corresponding explanation of claim 8.
24. Claim 24 is a corresponding apparatus claim of claim 1. See the corresponding explanation of claim 1. NPL discloses and shows the means for (structure/architecture) in figs 1-3 and pages 56-58.
25. Claim 25 is a corresponding apparatus claim of claim 2. See the explanation of claim 2.
26. Claim 26 is a corresponding apparatus claim of claim 5. See the explanation of claim 5.
27. Claim 27 is a corresponding apparatus claim of claim 6. See the explanation of claim 6.
28. Claim 28 is a corresponding apparatus claim of claim 8. See the explanation of claim 8.
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited figures, and paragraphs in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested for the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Examiner has also cited references in PTO892 but not relied on, which are relevant and pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure, and may also be reading (anticipatory/obvious) on the claims and claimed limitations. Applicant is advised to consider the references in preparing the response/amendments in-order to expedite the prosecution.
Conclusion
/JAYESH A PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2677
JAYESH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2677