Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "inter-UE cross-link interference measurements" in claim 19 line 5. It is unclear if it is new or referred to "inter-UE cross-link interference measurements" in claim 6 lines 5, 6.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements" in claim 19 line 11. It is unclear if it is referred to "inter-UE cross-link interference measurements" in claim 6 lines 5, 6 or "inter-UE cross-link interference measurements" in claim 19 line 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6, 7, 9, 11, 13, 23, 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by YUK et al. (US 20250234306).
Regarding claim 6, YUK et al. (US 20250234306) teaches a user equipment (UE) (fig. 12, par. 72, 83, UE), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (fig. 12, par. 72, 83, UE); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE (fig. 12, par. 72, 83, UE) to:
receive measurement resource configuration for performing inter-UE cross-link interference measurements during one or more overlapping subband full-duplex symbols and in an uplink subband associated with an uplink timing and in at least one downlink subband associated with a downlink timing that is different from the uplink timing (par. 72, 76, 78, 79, 80, Based on the reported capability, the gNB 170 might apply UE power reductions during mixed slots… the gNB's configuration of the DL sensitivity level, and the gNB's configuration of CLI measurement; fig. 3A, 10, par. 52, 73, overlapping slot or symbols with duplex (DL and UL) in different subband in mixed slot);
perform, in accordance with the measurement resource configuration, the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband, in the at least one downlink subband, or both, according to the uplink timing or to the downlink timing to obtain a measurement result (par. 52, 73-75, Reports CSI for a Mixed Slot with the Configuration of IMR for CLI Measurement… the effective CLI to DL reception from the CLI-RSSI measured in CSI-IM 1011 in UL subband 1012); and
transmit a measurement report message indicating the measurement result for the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements (par. 59, 76, 80, Victim UE 110-2 reports the CLI measurement result for aggressor UE 110-1 in terms of SRS-RSRP or CLI-RSSI to the serving gNB 170-1 to indicate how strong CLI 302 is received from the other cell UL UE 110-1).
Regarding claim 7, YUK et al. (US 20250234306) teaches the UE of claim 6, wherein, to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements (par. 73-75, Reports CSI for a Mixed Slot with the Configuration of IMR for CLI Measurement… the effective CLI to DL reception from the CLI-RSSI measured in CSI-IM 1011 in UL subband 1012), the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband and in the at least one downlink subband according to the uplink timing (fig. 3A, 10, par. 52, 73-75, Reports CSI for a Mixed (DL/UL) Slot with the Configuration of IMR for CLI Measurement… the effective CLI to DL reception from the CLI-RSSI measured in CSI-IM 1011 in UL subband 1012).
Regarding claim 9, YUK et al. (US 20250234306) teaches the UE of claim 7, wherein, to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements (par. 73-75, Reports CSI for a Mixed Slot with the Configuration of IMR for CLI Measurement… the effective CLI to DL reception from the CLI-RSSI measured in CSI-IM 1011 in UL subband 1012), the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
measure, using the uplink timing, a first reference signal strength indicator (RSSI) in the at least one downlink subband, a reference signal receive power (RSRP) in the uplink subband, a second RSSI in the uplink subband, or a combination thereof (fig. 3A, 10, par. 52, 73-75, Reports CSI for a Mixed Slot with the Configuration of IMR for CLI Measurement… DL RSRP can be reported, or SNR=DL RSRP-CLI-RSSI can be reported…the effective CLI to DL reception from the CLI-RSSI measured in CSI-IM 1011 in UL subband 1012).
Regarding claim 11, YUK et al. (US 20250234306) teaches the UE of claim 6, wherein, to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband and in the at least one downlink subband according to the downlink timing (fig. 3A, 10, par. 52, 73-75, Reports CSI for a Mixed (DL/UL) Slot with the Configuration of IMR for CLI Measurement… the effective CLI to DL reception from the CLI-RSSI measured in CSI-IM 1011 in UL subband 1012).
Regarding claim 13, YUK et al. (US 20250234306) teaches the UE of claim 11, wherein, to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
measure, using the downlink timing, a first reference signal strength indicator (RSSI) in the at least one downlink subband, a second RSSI in the uplink subband, or a combination thereof (fig. 3A, 10, par. 52, 73-75, Reports CSI for a Mixed Slot with the Configuration of IMR for CLI Measurement… DL RSRP can be reported, or SNR=DL RSRP-CLI-RSSI can be reported…the effective CLI to DL reception from the CLI-RSSI measured in CSI-IM 1011 in UL subband 1012).
Regarding claim 23, YUK et al. (US 20250234306) teaches the UE of claim 6, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
identify an overlap between one or more uplink subband measurement instances and one or more downlink subband measurement instances according to the measurement resource configuration (fig. 3A, 3B, par. 52, 59, 73, 74, inter-cell CLI 302, the interference source is the signals transmitted in the same resource as the desired signal, while for intra-cell case CLI 320, the interference source is in-band emission 401 of a UL signal 322 to the adjacent DL resource blocks (202, 204)…Reports CSI for a Mixed Slot with the Configuration of IMR (interference measurement resource) for CLI Measurement),
wherein performing the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband, in the at least one downlink subband, or both, is in accordance with the overlap (par. 59, 61, Victim UE 110-2 reports the CLI measurement result for aggressor UE 110-1 in terms of SRS-RSRP or CLI-RSSI to the serving gNB 170-1 to indicate how strong CLI 302 is received from the other cell UL UE 110-1).
Regarding claim 28, YUK et al. (US 20250234306) teaches a network entity (fig. 12, par. 72, 83, gNB), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (fig. 12, par. 72, 83, gNB); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity (fig. 12, par. 72, 83, gNB) to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a measurement resource configuration for the UE to perform inter-UE cross-link interference measurements during one or more overlapping subband full-duplex symbols and in an uplink subband associated with an uplink timing and in at least one downlink subband associated with a downlink timing that is different from the uplink timing (par. 72, 76, 78, 79, 80, Based on the reported capability, the gNB 170 might apply UE power reductions during mixed slots… the gNB's configuration of the DL sensitivity level, and the gNB's configuration of CLI measurement; fig. 3A, 10, par. 52, 73, overlapping slot or symbols with duplex (DL and UL) in different subband in mixed slot), wherein the UE performs the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband, in the at least one downlink subband, or both, according to the uplink timing or to the downlink timing (par. 52, 73-75, Reports CSI for a Mixed Slot with the Configuration of IMR for CLI Measurement… the effective CLI to DL reception from the CLI-RSSI measured in CSI-IM 1011 in UL subband 1012); and
receive a measurement report message indicating a measurement result for the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements (par. 59, 76, 80, Victim UE 110-2 reports the CLI measurement result for aggressor UE 110-1 in terms of SRS-RSRP or CLI-RSSI to the serving gNB 170-1 to indicate how strong CLI 302 is received from the other cell UL UE 110-1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R2-1913392 (“CLI measurements UE capability”, Qualcomm Incorporated) in view of YUK et al. (US 20250234306).
Regarding claim 1, R2-1913392 teaches a user equipment (UE) (section 2.1, 2.2, UE), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (section 2.1, 2.2, UE); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE (section 2.1, 2.2, UE) to:
transmit a capability message indicating that the UE supports performing inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in an uplink subband and in at least one downlink subband during one or more overlapping subband full-duplex symbols (section 2.1, 2.2, proposal 2 and 3 cit. "Proposal 3: Define a UE radio capability bit to indicate whether serving cell DL signal/channel (e.g.PDSCH/PDCCH) and SRS-RSRP FDMed reception is supported.....Proposal 4: Define a UE radio capability bit to indicate whether serving cell DL signal/channel (e.g.PDSCH/PDCCH) and CLI-RSSI FDMed reception is supported..."); section 2.3, a strong CLI RSSI to be measured in one subband may overwhelm a weaker CLI RSSI to be measured in another subband if the two CLI RSSI measurement resources overlap in time);
receive, based at least in part on the capability message, a measurement resource configuration for performing the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband and the at least one downlink subband; and
transmit, according to the measurement resource configuration, a measurement report message indicating a measurement result for the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements (section 2.1, maximum total number of configured CLI SRS-RSRP resources that are supported by the UE for CLI SRS-RSRP reporting within a slot and across all serving cells).
However, R2-1913392 does not teach receive, based at least in part on the capability message, a measurement resource configuration for performing the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband and the at least one downlink subband;
But, YUK et al. (US 20250234306) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches
receive, based at least in part on the capability message, a measurement resource configuration for performing the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband and the at least one downlink subband (par. 72, 76, 78, 79, 80, Based on the reported capability, the gNB 170 might apply UE power reductions during mixed slots… the gNB's configuration of the DL sensitivity level, and the gNB's configuration of CLI measurement); and
transmit, according to the measurement resource configuration, a measurement report message indicating a measurement result for the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements (par. 59, 76, 80, Victim UE 110-2 reports the CLI measurement result for aggressor UE 110-1 in terms of SRS-RSRP or CLI-RSSI to the serving gNB 170-1 to indicate how strong CLI 302 is received from the other cell UL UE 110-1).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by YUK in the system of R2-1913392 to configure CLI measurement.
The motivation would be to reduce interference for a user equipment in a communication network.
Regarding claim 25, R2-1913392 teaches a network entity (section 2.1, 2.2, serving cell would include access node), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (section 2.1, 2.2, serving cell would include access node); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity (section 2.1, 2.2, serving cell would include access node) to:
receive, from a user equipment (UE), a capability message indicating that the UE supports performing inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in an uplink subband and in at least one downlink subband during one or more overlapping subband full-duplex symbols (section 2.1, 2.2, proposal 2 and 3 cit. "Proposal 3: Define a UE radio capability bit to indicate whether serving cell DL signal/channel (e.g.PDSCH/PDCCH) and SRS-RSRP FDMed reception is supported.....Proposal 4: Define a UE radio capability bit to indicate whether serving cell DL signal/channel (e.g.PDSCH/PDCCH) and CLI-RSSI FDMed reception is supported..."); section 2.3, a strong CLI RSSI to be measured in one subband may overwhelm a weaker CLI RSSI to be measured in another subband if the two CLI RSSI measurement resources overlap in time); and
receive, according to the measurement resource configuration, a measurement report message indicating a measurement result for the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements (section 2.1, maximum total number of configured CLI SRS-RSRP resources that are supported by the UE for CLI SRS-RSRP reporting within a slot and across all serving cells).
However, R2-1913392 does not teach transmit, based at least in part on the capability message, a measurement resource configuration for the UE to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband and in the at least one downlink subband;
But, YUK et al. (US 20250234306) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches transmit, based at least in part on the capability message, a measurement resource configuration for the UE to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband and in the at least one downlink subband (par. 72, 76, 78, 79, 80, Based on the reported capability, the gNB 170 might apply UE power reductions during mixed slots… the gNB's configuration of the DL sensitivity level, and the gNB's configuration of CLI measurement); and
receive, according to the measurement resource configuration, a measurement report message indicating a measurement result for the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements (par. 59, 76, 80, Victim UE 110-2 reports the CLI measurement result for aggressor UE 110-1 in terms of SRS-RSRP or CLI-RSSI to the serving gNB 170-1 to indicate how strong CLI 302 is received from the other cell UL UE 110-1).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by YUK in the system of R2-1913392 to configure CLI measurement.
The motivation would be to reduce interference for a user equipment in a communication network.
Claim(s) 2, 3, 4, 5, 26, 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R2-1913392 (“CLI measurements UE capability”, Qualcomm Incorporated) and YUK et al. (US 20250234306) as applied to claim 1, 25 above, and further in view of JUNG (US 20250365122).
Regarding claim 2, R2-1913392 does not teach the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband and in the at least one downlink subband during the one or more overlapping subband full-duplex symbols to obtain the measurement result.
But, JUNG (US 20250365122) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches
perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband and in the at least one downlink subband during the one or more overlapping subband full-duplex symbols to obtain the measurement result (par. 75, UE1 or UE2 can be configured with multiple measurement slots within a measurement periodicity, which can be dependent on time domain configuration of the full duplex UL sub-band 402 in cell 1… perform CLI measurement according to time domain configuration information of the full duplex UL sub-band, e.g., by performing measurements on slots configured with the full duplex UL sub-band 402).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by JUNG in the system of R2-1913392 and YUK to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements.
The motivation would be to provide CLI measurement resources that result in efficient CLI measurement and decreased signaling overhead.
Regarding claim 3, R2-1913392 does not teach the UE of claim 2, wherein performing the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband is in accordance with an uplink timing associated with the uplink subband and performing the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the at least one downlink subband is in accordance with a downlink timing associated with the at least one downlink subband, the uplink timing being different from the downlink timing.
But, JUNG (US 20250365122) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein performing the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband is in accordance with an uplink timing associated with the uplink subband and performing the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the at least one downlink subband is in accordance with a downlink timing associated with the at least one downlink subband, the uplink timing being different from the downlink timing (fig. 3, 4, par. 70-73, a UE receives a cross-link CLI measurement configuration included in a DL BWP configuration, where the CLI measurement configuration configures multiple measurement time instances or measurement occasions…time-domain CLI measurement configuration can be enhanced to configure multiple measurement slots within a measurement periodicity; par. 74, The UE can perform CLI measurement on the CLI resource based on the time domain allocation for the full duplex UL sub-band).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by JUNG in the system of R2-1913392 and YUK to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements.
The motivation would be to provide CLI measurement resources that result in efficient CLI measurement and decreased signaling overhead.
Regarding claim 4, R2-1913392 does not teach the UE of claim 2, wherein performing the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband and in the at least one downlink subband is in accordance with one or more measurement windows associated with the uplink subband and the at least one downlink subband.
But, JUNG (US 20250365122) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein performing the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband and in the at least one downlink subband is in accordance with one or more measurement windows associated with the uplink subband and the at least one downlink subband (fig. 3, 4, par. 70-73, a UE receives a cross-link CLI measurement configuration included in a DL BWP configuration, where the CLI measurement configuration configures multiple measurement time instances or measurement occasions…time-domain CLI measurement configuration can be enhanced to configure multiple measurement slots within a measurement periodicity; par. 74, The UE can perform CLI measurement on the CLI resource based on the time domain allocation for the full duplex UL sub-band).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by JUNG in the system of R2-1913392 and YUK to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements.
The motivation would be to provide CLI measurement resources that result in efficient CLI measurement and decreased signaling overhead.
Regarding claim 5, R2-1913392 does not teach the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more overlapping subband full-duplex symbols are associated with subband full-duplex communications using the uplink subband and the at least one downlink subband.
But, JUNG (US 20250365122) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the one or more overlapping subband full-duplex symbols are associated with subband full-duplex communications using the uplink subband and the at least one downlink subband (fig. 3, 4, par. 73, a full duplex UL sub-band 402 is configured within a bandwidth of an active DL BWP 404a of a UE1 in a Cell 1 and a DL BWP 404b of a UE3 in a Cell 2, where the active DL BWP 404b of UE3 overlaps in frequency with the full duplex UL sub-band 402).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by JUNG in the system of R2-1913392 and YUK to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements.
The motivation would be to provide CLI measurement resources that result in efficient CLI measurement and decreased signaling overhead.
Regarding claim 26, R2-1913392 does not teach the network entity of claim 25, wherein the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband is in accordance with an uplink timing associated with the uplink subband and performing the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the at least one downlink subband is in accordance with a downlink timing associated with the at least one downlink subband, the uplink timing being different from the downlink timing.
But, JUNG (US 20250365122) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband is in accordance with an uplink timing associated with the uplink subband and performing the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the at least one downlink subband is in accordance with a downlink timing associated with the at least one downlink subband, the uplink timing being different from the downlink timing (fig. 3, 4, par. 70-73, a UE receives a cross-link CLI measurement configuration included in a DL BWP configuration, where the CLI measurement configuration configures multiple measurement time instances or measurement occasions…time-domain CLI measurement configuration can be enhanced to configure multiple measurement slots within a measurement periodicity; par. 74, The UE can perform CLI measurement on the CLI resource based on the time domain allocation for the full duplex UL sub-band).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by JUNG in the system of R2-1913392 and YUK to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements.
The motivation would be to provide CLI measurement resources that result in efficient CLI measurement and decreased signaling overhead.
Regarding claim 27, R2-1913392 does not teach the network entity of claim 25, wherein the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband and in the at least one downlink subband is in accordance with one or more measurement windows associated with the uplink subband and the at least one downlink subband.
But, JUNG (US 20250365122) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband and in the at least one downlink subband is in accordance with one or more measurement windows associated with the uplink subband and the at least one downlink subband (fig. 3, 4, par. 70-73, a UE receives a cross-link CLI measurement configuration included in a DL BWP configuration, where the CLI measurement configuration configures multiple measurement time instances or measurement occasions…time-domain CLI measurement configuration can be enhanced to configure multiple measurement slots within a measurement periodicity; par. 74, The UE can perform CLI measurement on the CLI resource based on the time domain allocation for the full duplex UL sub-band).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by JUNG in the system of R2-1913392 and YUK to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements.
The motivation would be to provide CLI measurement resources that result in efficient CLI measurement and decreased signaling overhead.
Claim(s) 8, 12, 14, 29, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUK et al. (US 20250234306) in view of AZARIAN YAZDI et al. (US 20180323887).
Regarding claim 8, YUK et al. (US 20250234306) does not teach the UE of claim 7, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
switching, during a set of precede gap symbols, from the downlink timing to the uplink timing to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband and in the at least one downlink subband.
But, AZARIAN YAZDI et al. (US 20180323887) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches switching, during a set of trail gap symbols, from the uplink timing to the downlink timing to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband and in the at least one downlink subband (par. 34, 53, 130, going to switch to uplink communications in the slot or a next slot, can schedule an uplink reference signal transmission from the UE to allow neighboring UEs receiving downlink transmissions from other base stations to receive the uplink reference signal for measuring cross-link interference from the UE…a normal cyclic prefix, an RB may contain 12 consecutive subcarriers in the frequency domain and 7 consecutive symbols (for DL, OFDM symbols; for UL, SC-FDMA symbols) in the time domain, for a total of 84 REs…measure cross-link interference…BS2 425 can place the DL CSI-RS 1430 upfront and after the gap to save the BS and UE in number of RX-to-TX/TX-to-RX switches and gaps… This can allow the DL and UL CSI-RS symbols to be aligned within one cyclic prefix in both UE1 and BS2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by AZARIAN YAZDI in the system of YUK to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements.
The motivation would be to provide large number of connected devices and transmission of a relatively low volume of non-delay-sensitive information.
Regarding claim 12, YUK et al. (US 20250234306) does not teach the UE of claim 11, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
switching, during a set of trail gap symbols, from the uplink timing to the downlink timing to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband and in the at least one downlink subband.
But, AZARIAN YAZDI et al. (US 20180323887) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches switching, during a set of trail gap symbols, from the uplink timing to the downlink timing to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband and in the at least one downlink subband (par. 53, 94, 108, 130, a normal cyclic prefix, an RB may contain 12 consecutive subcarriers in the frequency domain and 7 consecutive symbols (for DL, OFDM symbols; for UL, SC-FDMA symbols) in the time domain, for a total of 84 REs… where the UE is UE2 420 switching from uplink to downlink communications in an uplink centric slot…use the measured cross-link interference in transmitting uplink communications to the serving base station in a subsequent symbol of the slot and/or a next slot …BS2 425 can place the DL CSI-RS 1430 upfront and after the gap to save the BS and UE in number of RX-to-TX/TX-to-RX switches and gaps… This can allow the DL and UL CSI-RS symbols to be aligned within one cyclic prefix in both UE1 and BS2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by AZARIAN YAZDI in the system of YUK to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements.
The motivation would be to provide large number of connected devices and transmission of a relatively low volume of non-delay-sensitive information.
Regarding claim 14, YUK et al. (US 20250234306) does not teach the UE of claim 11, wherein a set of preceding gap symbols are removed in accordance with performing the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements according to the downlink timing.
But, AZARIAN YAZDI et al. (US 20180323887) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein a set of preceding gap symbols are removed in accordance with performing the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements according to the downlink timing (par. 124, no additional gaps or signaling (e.g., RTS/CTS) may be required to accommodate the scheduled uplink CSI-RS…dynamic measurement of cross-link interference that can take into account both pathloss and beam directionality).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by AZARIAN YAZDI in the system of YUK to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements.
The motivation would be to provide large number of connected devices and transmission of a relatively low volume of non-delay-sensitive information.
Regarding claim 29, YUK et al. (US 20250234306) does not teach the network entity of claim 28, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:
allocate a set of preceding gap symbols before the one or more overlapping subband full-duplex symbols for the UE to switch from the downlink timing to the uplink timing to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband and in the at least one downlink subband.
But, AZARIAN YAZDI et al. (US 20180323887) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches allocate a set of preceding gap symbols before the one or more overlapping subband full-duplex symbols for the UE to switch from the downlink timing to the uplink timing to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband and in the at least one downlink subband (par. 53, 94, 108, 130, a normal cyclic prefix, an RB may contain 12 consecutive subcarriers in the frequency domain and 7 consecutive symbols (for DL, OFDM symbols; for UL, SC-FDMA symbols) in the time domain, for a total of 84 REs… where the UE is UE2 420 switching from uplink to downlink communications in an uplink centric slot…use the measured cross-link interference in transmitting uplink communications to the serving base station in a subsequent symbol of the slot and/or a next slot …BS2 425 can place the DL CSI-RS 1430 upfront and after the gap to save the BS and UE in number of RX-to-TX/TX-to-RX switches and gaps… This can allow the DL and UL CSI-RS symbols to be aligned within one cyclic prefix in both UE1 and BS2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by AZARIAN YAZDI in the system of YUK to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements.
The motivation would be to provide large number of connected devices and transmission of a relatively low volume of non-delay-sensitive information.
Regarding claim 30, YUK et al. (US 20250234306) does not teach the network entity of claim 29, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: allocate a set of trailing gap symbols before the one or more overlapping subband full-duplex symbols for the UE to switch from the uplink timing to the downlink timing to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband and in the at least one downlink subband.
But, AZARIAN YAZDI et al. (US 20180323887) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches allocate a set of trailing gap symbols before the one or more overlapping subband full-duplex symbols for the UE to switch from the uplink timing to the downlink timing to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband and in the at least one downlink subband (par. 53, 94, 108, 130, a normal cyclic prefix, an RB may contain 12 consecutive subcarriers in the frequency domain and 7 consecutive symbols (for DL, OFDM symbols; for UL, SC-FDMA symbols) in the time domain, for a total of 84 REs… where the UE is UE2 420 switching from uplink to downlink communications in an uplink centric slot…use the measured cross-link interference in transmitting uplink communications to the serving base station in a subsequent symbol of the slot and/or a next slot …BS2 425 can place the DL CSI-RS 1430 upfront and after the gap to save the BS and UE in number of RX-to-TX/TX-to-RX switches and gaps… This can allow the DL and UL CSI-RS symbols to be aligned within one cyclic prefix in both UE1 and BS2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by AZARIAN YAZDI in the system of YUK to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements.
The motivation would be to provide large number of connected devices and transmission of a relatively low volume of non-delay-sensitive information.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUK et al. (US 20250234306) in view of XU et al. (US 20220141687).
Regarding claim 10, YUK et al. (US 20250234306) does not teach the UE of claim 7, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements according to the uplink timing is based on a timing rule associated with the UE.
But, XU et al. (US 20220141687) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements according to the uplink timing is based on a timing rule associated with the UE (par. 62, to determine the CLI signal measurement, the UE (e.g., 508) may determine a symbol timing estimate between the CLI signal (e.g., UL signal 518) received at the first UE (e.g., UE2 508) and a signal between the first UE (e.g., 508) and the first base station (e.g., 510) that is interfered by the CLI signal (e.g., UL signal 518)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by XU in the system of YUK to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements.
The motivation would be to provide CLI measurement resources that result in efficient CLI measurement and decreased signaling overhead.
Claim(s) 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUK et al. (US 20250234306) in view of KIM et al. (US 20220159596).
Regarding claim 15, YUK et al. (US 20250234306) does not teach the UE of claim 6, wherein, to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
drop the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the at least one downlink subband in accordance with the downlink timing being different from the uplink timing; and
perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband according to the uplink timing.
But, KIM et al. (US 20220159596) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches drop the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the at least one downlink subband in accordance with the downlink timing being different from the uplink timing (par. 3, 168, 169, 171, 176, 235, UE-to-UE measurement and reporting for mitigation or cancellation of cross-link interference between wireless devices in a flexible duplex radio transmission system that assigns a previously assigned DL or UL band to UL or DL that is a different duplex… DL and UL can be distinguished from each other using different frequency resources or different time or code resources); and
perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband according to the uplink timing (par. 3, 169, 235, The UE-to-UE CLI may be measured based on the SRS configuration for UE-to-UE CLI measurement, in place of the existing uplink timing configuration).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by KIM in the system of YUK to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements.
The motivation would be to suppress or cancel cross-link interference.
Regarding claim 16, YUK et al. (US 20250234306) teaches the UE of claim 15, wherein, to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
measure, using the uplink timing and in accordance with the dropping, a reference signal receive power (RSRP) in the uplink subband, a reference signal strength indicator (RSSI) in the uplink subband, or a combination thereof (fig. 3A, 10, par. 52, 73-75, Reports CSI for a Mixed Slot with the Configuration of IMR for CLI Measurement… DL RSRP can be reported, or SNR=DL RSRP-CLI-RSSI can be reported…the effective CLI to DL reception from the CLI-RSSI measured in CSI-IM 1011 in UL subband 1012).
Regarding claim 17, YUK et al. (US 20250234306) does not teach the UE of claim 6, wherein, to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
drop the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband in accordance with the downlink timing being different from the uplink timing; and
perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the at least one downlink subband according to the downlink timing.
But, KIM et al. (US 20220159596) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches drop the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband in accordance with the downlink timing being different from the uplink timing (par. 3, 168, 169, 171, 176, 235, UE-to-UE measurement and reporting for mitigation or cancellation of cross-link interference between wireless devices in a flexible duplex radio transmission system that assigns a previously assigned DL or UL band to UL or DL that is a different duplex… DL and UL can be distinguished from each other using different frequency resources or different time or code resources); and
perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the at least one downlink subband according to the downlink timing (par. 3, 169, 250, the SRS for UE-to-UE CLI measurement should be transmitted within the CP of the downlink timing of the receiving U).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by KIM in the system of YUK to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements.
The motivation would be to suppress or cancel cross-link interference.
Regarding claim 18, YUK et al. (US 20250234306) does not teach the UE of claim 17, wherein, to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
measure, using the downlink timing and in accordance with the dropping, a reference signal strength indicator (RSSI) in the at least one downlink subband.
But, KIM et al. (US 20220159596) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches measure, using the downlink timing and in accordance with the dropping, a reference signal strength indicator (RSSI) in the at least one downlink subband (par. 195, performing Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) or Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) based CLI measurement).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by KIM in the system of YUK to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements.
The motivation would be to suppress or cancel cross-link interference.
Regarding claim 19, YUK et al. (US 20250234306) does not teach the UE of claim 6, wherein, to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
detect an error state in accordance with the measurement resource configuration being received for inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband and the at least one downlink subband during the one or more overlapping subband full-duplex symbols,
the error state corresponding to an expectation that the UE is not to receive the measurement resource configuration for performing simultaneous inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband and in the at least one downlink subband during the one or more overlapping subband full-duplex symbols,
wherein performing the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements and transmitting the measurement report message are in accordance with the error state.
But, KIM et al. (US 20220159596) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches detect an error state in accordance with the measurement resource configuration being received for inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband and the at least one downlink subband during the one or more overlapping subband full-duplex symbols (par. 212, 213, it becomes incorrect CLI measurement (e.g., resource allocation)), the error state corresponding to an expectation that the UE is not to receive the measurement resource configuration for performing simultaneous inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband and in the at least one downlink subband during the one or more overlapping subband full-duplex symbols (par. 213, a case of a UE located at the center of a cell, a case of a UE necessary to reduce power consumption), a BS may explicitly configure CLI_measurement_disable for the corresponding UE in order not to perform (a)periodic UE-to-UE measurement and a measurement reporting), wherein performing the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements and transmitting the measurement report message are in accordance with the error state (par. 213, a BS may explicitly configure CLI_measurement_disable for the corresponding UE in order not to perform (a)periodic UE-to-UE measurement and a measurement reporting…if it is determined that the UE is located at a cell edge, the UE may make (a)periodic UE-to-UE CLI measurement and measurement reporting).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by KIM in the system of YUK to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements.
The motivation would be to suppress or cancel cross-link interference.
Regarding claim 20, YUK et al. (US 20250234306) does not teach the UE of claim 6, wherein, to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
drop the measurement resource configuration in accordance with an expectation that the UE is not to receive cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband and in the at least one downlink subband during the one or more overlapping subband full-duplex symbols,
wherein performing the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements and transmitting the measurement report message are in accordance with the dropping.
But, KIM et al. (US 20220159596) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches drop the measurement resource configuration in accordance with an expectation that the UE is not to receive cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband and in the at least one downlink subband during the one or more overlapping subband full-duplex symbols (par. 213, a BS may explicitly configure CLI_measurement_disable for the corresponding UE in order not to perform (a)periodic UE-to-UE measurement and a measurement reporting),
wherein performing the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements and transmitting the measurement report message are in accordance with the dropping (par. 213, a BS may explicitly configure CLI_measurement_disable for the corresponding UE in order not to perform (a)periodic UE-to-UE measurement and a measurement reporting).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by KIM in the system of YUK to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements.
The motivation would be to suppress or cancel cross-link interference.
Regarding claim 21, YUK et al. (US 20250234306) does not teach the UE of claim 6, wherein, to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive an indication to drop the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband or in the at least one downlink subband,
the indication in accordance with the UE not supporting simultaneous cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband and in the at least one downlink subband during the one or more overlapping subband full-duplex symbols.
But, KIM et al. (US 20220159596) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches receive an indication to drop the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband or in the at least one downlink subband (par. 213, a BS may explicitly configure CLI_measurement_disable for the corresponding UE in order not to perform (a)periodic UE-to-UE measurement and a measurement reporting),
the indication in accordance with the UE not supporting simultaneous cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband and in the at least one downlink subband during the one or more overlapping subband full-duplex symbols (par. 213, in case of a UE that satisfies a specific condition (e.g., a case of a UE moving fast, a case of a UE located at the center of a cell, a case of a UE necessary to reduce power consumption), a BS may explicitly configure CLI_measurement_disable for the corresponding UE in order not to perform (a)periodic UE-to-UE measurement and a measurement reporting).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by KIM in the system of YUK to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements.
The motivation would be to suppress or cancel cross-link interference.
Claim(s) 22, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUK et al. (US 20250234306) in view of JUNG (US 20250365122).
Regarding claim 22, YUK et al. (US 20250234306) does not teach the UE of claim 6, wherein, to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive an indication to use the uplink timing or the downlink timing for the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband, in the at least one downlink subband, or both,
the indication in accordance with the UE not supporting simultaneous inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband and in the at least one downlink subband during the one or more overlapping subband full-duplex symbols.
But, JUNG (US 20250365122) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches receive an indication to use the uplink timing or the downlink timing for the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband, in the at least one downlink subband, or both (par. 64, 65, 73, 75, measuring cross-link interference with sub-band based full duplex operation, such as where a serving network entity performs simultaneous reception and transmission in non-overlapping sub-bands within a carrier…a UE receives information of a time resource and a frequency resource (e.g., full duplex UL sub-band) for UL transmission on symbols configured as DL and/or flexible symbols, and/or a time resource and/or a frequency resource (e.g., full duplex DL sub-band) for DL reception on symbols configured as UL or flexible symbols),
the indication in accordance with the UE not supporting simultaneous inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband and in the at least one downlink subband during the one or more overlapping subband full-duplex symbols (fig. 3, par. 64, 65, 76, 82, configuring a full duplex UL and DL sub-band for full duplex operation in a cell and measuring cross-link interference with sub-band based full duplex operation, such as where a serving network entity performs simultaneous reception and transmission in non-overlapping sub-bands within a carrier…the network entity can configure a first sub-band of a carrier as an UL resource and a second sub-band of the carrier not overlapping with the first sub-band as a DL resource for full duplex cell operation within the carrier at least for a certain duration).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by JUNG in the system of YUK to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements.
The motivation would be to signaling overhead is reduced and the speed with which interference measurement can be performed is increased.
Regarding claim 24, YUK et al. (US 20250234306) does not the UE of claim 23, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
identify a first periodicity for the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband and a second periodicity for the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the at least one downlink subband, wherein the overlap is in accordance with the first periodicity and the second periodicity.
But, JUNG (US 20250365122) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches identify a first periodicity for the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband and a second periodicity for the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the at least one downlink subband (par. 70, 71, 73, a DL-UL pattern of periodicity of 5 slots… interference measurement for sub-band based full duplex operation such as to implement enhanced time-domain CLI measurement configuration…where the CLI measurement configuration configures multiple measurement time instances or measurement occasions (e.g., multiple measurement slots) within a measurement periodicity), wherein the overlap is in accordance with the first periodicity and the second periodicity (fig. 3, par. 70, 71, 82, a DL-UL pattern of periodicity of 5 slots).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by JUNG in the system of YUK to perform the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements.
The motivation would be to signaling overhead is reduced and the speed with which interference measurement can be performed is increased.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
IBRAHIM et al. (US 20220014954) teaches drop the inter-UE cross-link interference measurements in the uplink subband in accordance with the downlink timing being different from the uplink timing (par. 145);
/THINH D TRAN/for /Thinh Tran/, Patent Examiner of Art Unit 2466 02/07/2026