DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment submitted 01/30/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 10, 14-15, 24, and 28-29 are amended. In view of the amendment submitted 01/30/2026, the objections to claim 28 and the specification are withdrawn. Claims 1-29 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues with respect to claims 1, 15, and 29 that Matsumura fails to teach 1) at least one absolute anchor value, and 2) other RS measurements expressed only as differentials relative to that anchor. Applicant argues Matsumura discloses multiple alternative CSI formats, not a single reporting structure that includes both absolute and differential values. Applicant argues with respect to claim 12 that Matsumura does not teach a grouping approach where “each group includes one of the absolute values and differential values that represent a difference between values of an RS measurement and the absolute value included in the group.” (see pages 11-12 of Remark). Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant.
Re. Claims 1, 15, and 29: Fig. 8 of Matsumura, as detailed in ¶0141, discloses an example CSI report indicating an absolute L1-RSRP measurement for the first cell (serving cell) and differential L1-RSRP measurements for non-serving cells, and that the differential L1-RSRP measurements may be the difference from the L1-RSRP of the first cell. In this case, Matsumura discloses an anchor absolute value (L1-RSRP (absolute) in Fig. 8) and RS measurements expressed only as differentials relative to that anchor (L1-RSRP (differential) in fig. 8). As can be seen in Fig. 8 of Matsumura, the report contains both absolute and differential values.
[AltContent: textbox (1: Matsumura Fig. 8)][AltContent: textbox (2: Matsumura Fig. 7)]
Re. Claim 12: Fig. 7 of Matsumura, as detailed in ¶¶0139-0140, discloses an example CSI report using a grouping approach in which each group includes one of the absolute values and a differential value that represents a difference between values of the RS measurements. The L1-RSRP (differential) of Fig. 7, rows 4, 8, and 12 are the differences between second SSB (beam) and the first L1-RSRP (absolute), rows 1, 5, and 9 respectively. Each CSI (shown below) includes both absolute and differential values.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-9, 12, 14, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsumura et al. (US 2024/0196250), Matsumura hereinafter.
Re. Claim 1, Matsumura teaches an apparatus for wireless communication (Matsumura, Fig. 11, ¶0203: FIG. 11 is a diagram to show an example of a structure of the user terminal according to one embodiment. [Fig. 11 is a diagram in functional blocks in the UE.]), comprising:
at least one transceiver (Matsumura, Fig. 11, ¶0203: The user terminal 20 includes a control section 210, a transmitting/receiving section 220, and transmitting/receiving antennas 230.);
at least one memory comprising computer-executable instructions (Matsumura, Fig. 12, ¶0225: FIG. 12 is a diagram to show an example of a hardware structure of the base station and the user terminal according to one embodiment. And ¶0231: The memory 1002 can store executable programs (program codes), software modules, and the like for implementing the radio communication method according to one embodiment of the present disclosure.); and
one or more processors configured to execute the computer-executable instructions (Matsumura, Fig. 12, ¶0225: For example, a base station, a user terminal, and so on according to one embodiment of the present disclosure may function as a computer that executes the processes of the radio communication method of the present disclosure. FIG. 12 is a diagram to show an example of a hardware structure of the base station and the user terminal according to one embodiment. Physically, the above-described base station 10 and user terminal 20 may each be formed as a computer apparatus that includes a processor 1001, a memory 1002, a storage 1003, a communication apparatus 1004, an input apparatus 1005, an output apparatus 1006, a bus 1007, and so on.) and cause the apparatus to:
measure reference signals (RSs) (Matsumura, ¶0024: The UE may measure the channel state by using a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS), a synchronization signal/broadcast channel (Synchronization Signal/Physical Broadcast Channel (SS/PBCH)) block, a synchronization signal (SS), a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), or the like. ¶0069: It is considered that a UE receives channels/signals from a plurality of cells/TRPs in inter-cell mobility (e.g., L1/L2 inter cell mobility) (refer to FIGS. 1A and 1B).),
wherein each of the RSs is associated with a cell and a beam (Matsumura, ¶0035: The UE may report (transmit) a measurement result for the beam management by using a PUCCH or a PUSCH. The measurement result may be, for example, CSI including at least one of an L1-RSRP, an L1-RSRQ, an L1-SINR, an L1-SNR, and the like. And ¶0129: The CSI report includes one or a plurality of non-serving cell index (indices) (PCI (s) or new ID(s) of a non-serving cell (s) with a small bit size (Re-indexing index (indices) of cell (s))). The CSI report may include, but need not necessarily include, one of or both an indication of a serving cell (e.g., new ID=0) and a BW_P ID.);
generate, based on the measuring (Matsumura, ¶0101: A UE may determine whether an event to be a trigger of a CSI report has occurred, based on a measurement result related to channel state information (CSI) of at least one of a serving cell, a neighbour cell, a primary cell, a primary secondary cell, and a secondary cell, and transmit an aperiodic CSI report when the event has occurred (first embodiment).),
a report that indicates RS measurements associated with different cells (Matsumura, ¶0092: In the present disclosure, a CSI report, a beam report, and an L1 beam report may be interpreted inter changeably. Report and measurement may be interpreted interchangeably. And ¶¶0128-0129: When an aperiodic CSI report is triggered by an event in the UE (for example, by any of the examples in the first embodiment), the UE may transmit a CSI report including at least part of the following contents. The CSI report includes one or a plurality of non-serving cell index (indices) (PCI(s) or new ID(s) of a non-serving cell (s) with a small bit size (Re-indexing index (indices) of cell (s))). And ¶0131: One or a plurality of SSB/CSI-RS indices (beam indices) may be included in the CSI report for each non-serving cell.), wherein the report indicates:
one or more absolute values of one or more of the RS measurements (Matsumura, ¶0132: The CSI report may include an L1-RSRP/L1-SINR value (absolute value or differential value) for each SSB/ CSI-RS index.), and
one or more differential values of other RS measurements (Matsumura, ¶0132: The CSI report may include an L1-RSRP/L1-SINR value (absolute value or differential value) for each SSB/ CSI-RS index. And ¶0141: In FIG. 8, a report for the first cell (e.g., the serving cell) is similar to that in FIG. 7, but an L1-RSRP (differential) is included instead of an L1-RSRP (absolute) for each of the second and third cells (e.g., non-serving cells).),
wherein each of the differential values represents a difference between a value of one of the other RS measurements and one of the one or more absolute values (Matsumura, ¶0139: An L1-RSRP (absolute) in the example in FIG. 6 is an absolute value (largest value). The L1-RSRP (differential) is the difference between the L1-RSRP of the second SSB index (beam) and the first L1-RSRP (absolute).); and
[AltContent: textbox (3: Matsumura Fig. 8)]
transmit the report via the at least one transceiver (Matsumura, FIG. 11 ¶¶0128-0132: When an aperiodic CSI report is triggered by an event in the UE (for example, by any of the examples in the first embodiment), the UE may transmit a CSI report including at least part of the following contents. The CSI report includes one or a plurality of non-serving cell index (indices) (PCI (s) or new ID(s) of a non-serving cell(s) with a small bit size (Re-indexing index (indices) of cell(s))). … One or a plurality of SSB/CSI-RS indices (beam indices) may be included in the CSI report for each non-serving cell. … The CSI report may include an L1-RSRP/L1-SINR value (absolute value or differential value) for each SSB/CSI-RS index.).
Re. Claim 2, Matsumura teaches claim 1.
Matsumura further teaches wherein the report indicates a first quantity of one or more RS measurements (Matsumura, ¶¶0131-0132: One or a plurality of SSB/CSI-RS indices (beam indices) may be included in the CSI report for each non-serving cell. One or a plurality of SSB/CSI-RS indices from the serving cell may be included, but need not necessarily be included, in the CSI report. … The CSI report may include an L1-RSRP/L1-SINR value (absolute value or differential value) for each SSB/CSI-RS index.)
for each of a second quantity of one or more cells (Matsumura, ¶0141: In FIG. 8, a report for the first cell (e.g., the serving cell) is similar to that in FIG. 7, but an L1-RSRP (differential) is included instead of an L1-RSRP (absolute) for each of the second and third cells (e.g., non-serving cells).).
Re. Claim 3, Matsumura teaches claim 1.
Matsumura further teaches wherein:
the one or more absolute values comprise an absolute value for a strongest RS measurement in terms of RS received power (RSRP) associated with at least one of the cells (Matsumura, ¶0138: An L1-RSRP (absolute) in the example in FIG. 6 is an absolute value (largest value).); and
each of the differential values represents a difference between a value and the absolute value for the strongest RS measurement (Matsumura, ¶0138: The L1-RSRP (differential) is the difference between the L1-RSRP of the second SSB index (beam) and the first L1-RSRP (absolute).).
Re. Claim 7, Matsumura teaches claim 3.
Matsumura further teaches wherein:
the different cells comprise at least one serving cell and one or more candidate cells (Matsumura, Figs. 3-8, ¶0135: In each drawing, for example, a report related to one serving cell and a report(s) related to one or more non-serving cell(s) may be included. And ¶0152: The UE may receive a configuration of a specific index (new ID: Re-indexing index of cell) created based on a physical cell ID (Physical Cell Identifier (PCI)) that is different from the physical cell ID and indicating a serving cell or a non-serving cell, and control transmission of a channel state information report (CSI report) corresponding to the configured specific index. [Figs. 3-8 are diagrams showing examples of the MAC CE used for the CSI report.]); and
the one or more absolute values comprise a first absolute value for an RS measurement associated with the at least one serving cell and a second absolute value for an RS measurement associated with one of the one or more candidate cells (Matsumura, ¶¶0139-0140: FIG. 6 is a diagram to show a fourth example of the MAC CE used for the CSI report. An L1-RSRP (absolute) in the example in FIG. 6 is an absolute value (largest value). The L1-RSRP (differential) is the difference between the L1-RSRP of the second SSB index (beam) and the first L1-RSRP (absolute). An L3-RSRP (absolute, cell-level) is an absolute value (largest value) of a cell-level (each cell) L3-RSRP. FIG. 7 is a diagram to show a fifth example of the MAC CE used for the CSI report. In the example in FIG. 7, the contents excluding the L3-RSRP from the example in FIG. 6 are mapped for each of three cells. [It can be seen in fig. 7, that there are three L1-RSRP absolute values, one for each cell.]).
Re. Claim 8, Matsumura teaches claim 7.
Matsumura further teaches wherein the differential values comprise:
a first set of differential values that represent differences between values of RS measurements associated with the at least one serving cell and the first absolute value (Matsumura, Fig. 8, ¶¶0139-0141: An L1-RSRP (absolute) in the example in FIG. 6 is an absolute value (largest value). The L1-RSRP (differential) is the difference between the L1-RSRP of the second SSB index (beam) and the first L1-RSRP (absolute). … In the example in FIG. 7, the contents excluding the L3-RSRP from the example in FIG. 6 are mapped for each of three cells. … In FIG. 8, a report for the first cell (e.g., the serving cell) is similar to that in FIG. 7, but an L1-RSRP (differential) is included instead of an L1-RSRP (absolute) for each of the second and third cells (e.g., non-serving cells). For example, the L1-RSRP (differential) may be a measurement result of each beam and may be the difference from the L1-RSRP (absolute) of the first cell.); and
a second set of differential values that represent differences between values of RS measurements associated with candidate cells and the second absolute value (Matsumura, Figs 6-7, ¶¶0139-0140 quoted above.).
Re. Claim 9, Matsumura teaches claim 7.
Matsumura further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to:
select the at least one serving cell and the one or more candidate cells (Matsumura, ¶0129: The CSI report includes one or a plurality of non-serving cell index (indices) (PCI (s) or new ID(s) of a non-serving cell (s) with a small bit size (Re-indexing index (indices) of cell (s))). The CSI report may include, but need not necessarily include, one of or both an indication of a serving cell (e.g., new ID=0) and a BW_P ID.),
wherein the report includes an indication of the selection (Matsumura, ¶0130: The actual number of selected/reported non-serving cells may be the maximum number of reports or may be determined by the UE according to measurement results. For example, the UE may transmit a CSI report for only a non-serving cell (s) with an L1/L3 measurement result being larger than a specific threshold.).
Re. Claim 12, Matsumura teaches claim 1.
Matsumura further teaches wherein at least one of:
the one or more absolute values comprise absolute values (Matsumura, ¶0132: The CSI report may include an L1-RSRP/L1-SINR value (absolute value or differential value) for each SSB/ CSI-RS index.),
each absolute value corresponding to a strongest RS measurement associated with one or more of the different cells (Matsumura, Figs. 6-7, ¶¶0139-0140: An L1-RSRP (absolute) in the example in FIG. 6 is an absolute value (largest value). The L1-RSRP (differential) is the difference between the L1-RSRP of the second SSB index (beam) and the first L1-RSRP (absolute). … FIG. 7 is a diagram to show a fifth example of the MAC CE used for the CSI report. In the example in FIG. 7, the contents excluding the L3-RSRP from the example in FIG. 6 are mapped for each of three cells.); and
the report includes groups of RS measurements (Matsumura, Figs. 6-7, ¶¶0139-0140 quoted above.),
wherein each group includes one of the absolute values and differential values that represent a difference between values of an RS measurement and the absolute value included in the group (Matsumura, Figs. 6-7, ¶¶0139-0140 quoted above.).
Re. Claim 14., Matsumura teaches claim 1.
Matsumura teaches wherein the apparatus is configured as a user equipment (UE) (Matsumura, Fig. 11, ¶0203: FIG. 11 is a diagram to show an example of a structure of the user terminal according to one embodiment. [Fig. 11 is a diagram in functional blocks in the UE.])
Re. Claim 29. Claim 29 is directed toward a method corresponding the apparatus of claim 1. Claim 29 does not further define over the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 29 is rejected for similar reasons as set forth in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6, 10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura in view of 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #113: FL summary 4 on L1 enhancements for inter-cell beam management (R1-2306168), D1 hereinafter.
Re. Claim 4, Matsumura teaches claim 1.
Matsumura further teaches wherein:
the report includes groups of RS measurements (Matsumura, ¶¶0143-0144: A trigger of a CSI report by an event may be applied only to an L1-RSRP report in a non-group-based CSI report, L1-RSRP and L1-SINR reports in a non-group based CSI report, an L1-RSRP report in each of both of non-group-based and group-based CSI reports, or an L1-RSRP or L1-SINR report in each of both of non-group based and group-based CSI reports. When a group-based CSI report is configured and a CSI report to be triggered by an event in the first aspect of the first embodiment is configured, only a non-group-based CSI report may be considered (used), or a group-based CSI report may be used according to the function of the UE, for the CSI report.); and
each RS measurement indicated in the report is associated with an RS ID (Matsumura, ¶0041: In the example in FIG. 3, a new ID (Re-indexing index of cell) and an L1-RSRP corresponding to each SSB index are reported. First report (SSB index, Re-indexing index of cell, and L1-RSRP) may relate to the serving cell, and second report and third report may relate to non-serving cells.).
Yet, Matsumura does not explicitly teach wherein RS measurements within each group are associated with a same cell identifier (ID).
However, in the related art, D1 teaches
wherein RS measurements within each group are associated with a same cell identifier (ID) (D1, 5.2.2, pg. 48, Ericsson: The beam measurements are grouped per cell.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Terminal, radio communication method, and base station of Matsumura with the L1 enhancements for inter-cell beam management of D1. The resulting invention could support sequential L1/L2 cell change between [cell] Candidates without RRC reconfiguration (D1, A.10, pg. 147, RRC).
Re. Claim 5, Matsumura in view of D1 teaches claim 4.
Matsumura further teaches wherein the cell IDs comprise:
cell IDs for cells that support mobility via physical (PHY) layer signaling or medium access control (MAC) layer signaling (Matsumura, ¶¶0087-0088: An event drive mechanism in a beam level for L1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility may be employed. After initialization by an event triggered by L3 mobility measurement, an L1-RSRP report including a new candidate beam and neighbour cell information (PCI and the like) may be performed by a MAC-CE. … Note that the report may include a candidate SSB(s)/cell ID(s).); or
physical cell IDs (PCIs) (Matsumura, ¶0128: The CSI report includes one or a plurality of non-serving cell index (indices) ([physical cell IDs] PCI(s) or new ID(s) of a non-serving cell(s) with a small bit size (Re-indexing index (indices) of cell(s))).).
Re. Claim 6, Matsumura in view of D1 teaches claim 4.
Matsumura further teaches wherein the RS IDs comprise:
synchronization signal block (SSB) IDs within cells that support mobility via physical (PHY) layer signaling or medium access control (MAC) layer signaling (Matsumura, ¶¶0087-0088: An event drive mechanism in a beam level for L1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility may be employed. After initialization by an event triggered by L3 mobility measurement, an L1-RSRP report including a new candidate beam and neighbour cell information (PCI and the like) may be performed by a MAC-CE. … Note that the report may include a candidate SSB(s)/cell ID(s). And ¶0263: Note that physical layer signaling may be referred to as "Layer 1/Layer 2 (L1/L2) control information (L1/L2 control signals)," "L1 control information (L1 control signal)," and so on.);
RS IDs indicated by indices in a SSB list associated with the configuration for the report (Matsumura, ¶0036: The resource for the CSI measurement may be, for example, at least one of an SS/PBCH block resource, a CSI-RS resource, other reference signal resources, and the like. Configuration information of a CSI measurement report may be configured for the UE by using higher layer signaling. And ¶0025: The SS/PBCH block is a block including synchronization signals (e.g., a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS)) and a PBCH (and a corresponding DMRS) and may also be referred to as an SS block (SSB) and so on. An SSB index may be given to a time location of the SSB in a half frame. And ¶0135: A "report" in the following description may mean an SSB index, a Re-indexing index of cell, or a set of L1-RSRP/L3-RSRP, for example.).
Re. Claim 10, Matsumura in view of D1 teaches claim 4.
Matsumura further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to:
receive, via the at least one transceiver (Matsumura, FIG. 11 ¶0029: The UE may be notified of information related to the CSI report (which may also be referred to as CSI report configuration information) by using higher layer signaling or physical layer signaling (e.g., downlink control information (DCI)), or a combination of these.),
signaling configuring the apparatus to measure different quantities of RSs for the different cells (Matsumura, ¶¶0039-0040: Regarding CSI report configuration information considering beam management of current NR is included in an RRC information element "CSI-ReportConfig." … The CSI report configuration information (CSI-ReportConfig) may include report quantity information ("report quantity," which may be expressed using an RRC parameter "reportQuantity"), which is information of a parameter to be reported. … Hence, one of parameters defined as the report quantity information ([channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resource indicator (CRI)] cri-RSRP, ssb-Index-RSRP, and the like) is configured. And ¶0100: In the present disclosure, an RS, a beam, a measurement result, and a configuration of an RS may be interpreted interchangeably. An RS may mean at least one of a CRI and an SSBRI in a CSI report.); and
indicate the RS IDs in the report in at least one format based on the configuration (Matsumura, ¶¶0041-0042: The UE configured with a higher layer parameter (e.g., an RRC parameter "groupBasedBeamReporting") included in the CSI report configuration information being enabled may include, for each report configuration, a plurality of resource IDs for beam measurement (e.g., [SS/PBCH block resource indicators] SSBRIs, [channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resource indicator (CRI)] CRIs) and a plurality of measurement results (e.g., L1-RSRPs) corresponding to the resource IDs, in the beam report. The UE configured with the number of report target RS resources being one or more by a higher layer parameter (e.g., an RRC parameter "nrofReportedRS") included in the CSI report configuration information may include, for each report configuration, one or more resource IDs for beam measurement and one or more measurement results (e.g., an L1-RSRP(s)) corresponding to the resource ID(s), in the beam report. And ¶¶0098-0100: In the present disclosure, an index, an ID, an indicator, and a resource ID may be interpreted interchangeably. … In the present disclosure, an RS, a beam, a measurement result, and a configuration of an RS may be interpreted interchangeably. An RS may mean at least one of a CRI and an SSBRI in a CSI report.).
Re. Claim 13., Matsumura teaches claim 1.
Matsumura further teaches wherein at least one of: the report includes a first group of RS measurements, wherein the first group includes the first absolute value and differential values (Matsumura, Fig. 8, ¶¶0139-0141: An L1-RSRP (absolute) in the example in FIG. 6 is an absolute value (largest value). The L1-RSRP (differential) is the difference between the L1-RSRP of the second SSB index (beam) and the first L1-RSRP (absolute). … In the example in FIG. 7, the contents excluding the L3-RSRP from the example in FIG. 6 are mapped for each of three cells. … In FIG. 8, a report for the first cell (e.g., the serving cell) is similar to that in FIG. 7, but an L1-RSRP (differential) is included instead of an L1-RSRP (absolute) for each of the second and third cells (e.g., non-serving cells).),
each differential value representing a difference between a value of an RS measurement and the first absolute value (Matsumura, Fig. 8, 0141: For example, the L1-RSRP (differential) may be a measurement result of each beam and may be the difference from the L1-RSRP (absolute) of the first cell.); or
Yet, Matsumura does not explicitly teach the one or more absolute values comprise a first absolute value that represents a strongest RS measurement across the different cells.
However, in the related art, D1 teaches the one or more absolute values comprise a first absolute value that represents a strongest RS measurement across the different cells (D1, pg. 48, Samsung: The first reported beam is the strongest beam across all cells.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Terminal, radio communication method, and base station of Matsumura with the L1 enhancements for inter-cell beam management of D1. The resulting invention could support sequential L1/L2 cell change between [cell] Candidates without RRC reconfiguration (D1, A.10, pg. 147, RRC).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0053342), Kim hereinafter.
Re. Claim 11, Matsumura teaches claim 1.
Matsumura further teaches wherein the report:
indicates, for each listed RS measurement, an associated cell and an associated beam (Matsumura, ¶¶0128-0129: When an aperiodic CSI report is triggered by an event in the UE (for example, by any of the examples in the first embodiment), the UE may transmit a CSI report including at least part of the following contents. The CSI report includes one or a plurality of non-serving cell index (indices) (PCI(s) or new ID(s) of a non-serving cell (s) with a small bit size (Re-indexing index (indices) of cell (s))). And ¶0131: One or a plurality of SSB/CSI-RS indices (beam indices) may be included in the CSI report for each non-serving cell.).
Yet, Matsumura does not explicitly teach wherein the report: lists RS measurements in order of RS measurement strength [To clarify, Matsumura does not explicitly teach ordering the RS measurements by measurement strength.].
However, in the related art, Kim teaches
wherein the report: lists RS measurements in order of RS measurement strength (Kim, ¶0239: The UE may select some of the signal strengths of all measurable SS/PBCH blocks and/or CSI-RS resources and transmit information about the selected signal strengths to the BS. In this case, the UE may select K signal strengths in descending order and transmit information about the K signal strengths to the BS.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the terminal, radio communication method, and base station of Matsumura with the method for transmitting and receiving AoD information and device therefor of Kim. The resulting invention would provide for improved accuracy of positioning (Kim, ¶0017).
Claims 15-17, 21-23, 26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura in view of Zhang et al. (US 2020/0228297), Zhang hereinafter.
Re. Claim 15, Matsumura teaches
an apparatus for wireless communication (Matsumura, Fig. 10, 0184: FIG. 10 is a diagram to show an example of a structure of the base station according to one embodiment. [Fig. 10 is a diagram in functional blocks of a base station.]), comprising:
at least one transceiver (Matsumura, FIG. 10 ¶0233: The communication apparatus 1004 is hardware (transmitting/receiving device) for allowing inter-computer communication via at least one of wired and wireless networks, and may be referred to as, for example, a “network device,” a “network controller,” a “network card,” a “communication module,” and so on.);
at least one memory comprising computer-executable instructions (Matsumura, Fig. 12, ¶0225: FIG. 12 is a diagram to show an example of a hardware structure of the base station and the user terminal according to one embodiment. And ¶0231: The memory 1002 can store executable programs (program codes), software modules, and the like for implementing the radio communication method according to one embodiment of the present disclosure.); and
one or more processors configured to execute the computer-executable instructions (Matsumura, Fig. 12, ¶0225: For example, a base station, a user terminal, and so on according to one embodiment of the present disclosure may function as a computer that executes the processes of the radio communication method of the present disclosure. FIG. 12 is a diagram to show an example of a hardware structure of the base station and the user terminal according to one embodiment. Physically, the above-described base station 10 and user terminal 20 may each be formed as a computer apparatus that includes a processor 1001, a memory 1002, a storage 1003, a communication apparatus 1004, an input apparatus 1005, an output apparatus 1006, a bus 1007, and so on.) and cause the apparatus to:
receive, via the at least one transceiver (Matsumura, Fig. 10, ¶¶0200-0201: Note that the transmitting section and the receiving section of the base station 10 in the present disclosure may be constituted with at least one of the transmitting/receiving section 120, the transmitting/receiving antennas 130, and the communication path interface 140. Note that, when it is determined that an event to be a trigger of an aperiodic CSI report occurs, based on a measurement result related to channel state information (CSI) of at least one of a serving cell, a neighbour cell, a primary cell, a primary secondary cell, and a secondary cell, the transmitting/receiving section 120 receives the aperiodic CSI report.),
a report that indicates reference signal (RS) measurements of RSs associated with different cells (Matsumura, Fig. 10, ¶0201: Note that, when it is determined that an event to be a trigger of an aperiodic CSI report occurs, based on a measurement result related to channel state information (CSI) of at least one of a serving cell, a neighbour cell, a primary cell, a primary secondary cell, and a secondary cell, the transmitting/receiving section 120 receives the aperiodic CSI report.),
wherein each of the RSs is associated with a cell and a beam (Matsumura, ¶0035: The UE may report (transmit) a measurement result for the beam management by using a PUCCH or a PUSCH. The measurement result may be, for example, CSI including at least one of an L1-RSRP, an L1-RSRQ, an L1-SINR, an L1-SNR, and the like. And ¶0129: The CSI report includes one or a plurality of non-serving cell index (indices) (PCI (s) or new ID(s) of a non-serving cell (s) with a small bit size (Re-indexing index (indices) of cell (s))). The CSI report may include, but need not necessarily include, one of or both an indication of a serving cell (e.g., new ID=0) and a BW_P ID.), and the report indicates:
one or more absolute values of one or more of the RS measurements (Matsumura, ¶0132: The CSI report may include an L1-RSRP/L1-SINR value (absolute value or differential value) for each SSB/ CSI-RS index.), and
one or more differential values of other RS measurements (Matsumura, ¶0132: The CSI report may include an L1-RSRP/L1-SINR value (absolute value or differential value) for each SSB/ CSI-RS index. And ¶0141: In FIG. 8, a report for the first cell (e.g., the serving cell) is similar to that in FIG. 7, but an L1-RSRP (differential) is included instead of an L1-RSRP (absolute) for each of the second and third cells (e.g., non-serving cells).),
wherein each of the differential values represents a difference between a value of one of the other RS measurements and one of the one or more absolute values (Matsumura, ¶0139: An L1-RSRP (absolute) in the example in FIG. 6 is an absolute value (largest value). The L1-RSRP (differential) is the difference between the L1-RSRP of the second SSB index (beam) and the first L1-RSRP (absolute).).
Yet, Matsumura does not explicitly teach and process the report to obtain absolute values of the other RS measurements.
However, in the related art, Zhang teaches
and process the report to obtain absolute values of the other RS measurements (Zhang, ¶0136: 307. The network device receives two RSRP reporting results; the network device learns, based on QCL configuration information, that reference signals of the two reporting results meet the QCL assumption; and the network device uses an RSRP result that is reported the first time as a reference RSRP, uses a result that is reported the second time as a differential value, and obtains through decoding an absolute value of an RSRP that is reported the second time.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the terminal, radio communication method, and base station of Matsumura with the channel quality information reporting method, terminal device, and network device of Zhang. The resulting invention would reduce the resource overhead for reporting channel quality information (Zhang, Abstract).
Re. Claim 16, Matsumura in view of Zhang teaches claim 15.
Matsumura further teaches
wherein the report indicates a first quantity of one or more RS measurements (Matsumura, ¶¶0131-0132: One or a plurality of SSB/CSI-RS indices (beam indices) may be included in the CSI report for each non-serving cell. One or a plurality of SSB/CSI-RS indices from the serving cell may be included, but need not necessarily be included, in the CSI report. … The CSI report may include an L1-RSRP/L1-SINR value (absolute value or differential value) for each SSB/CSI-RS index.)
for each of a second quantity of one or more cells (Matsumura, ¶0141: In FIG. 8, a report for the first cell (e.g., the serving cell) is similar to that in FIG. 7, but an L1-RSRP (differential) is included instead of an L1-RSRP (absolute) for each of the second and third cells (e.g., non-serving cells).).
Re. Claim 17, Matsumura in view of Zhang teaches claim 15.
Matsumura further teaches wherein:
the one or more absolute values comprise an absolute value for a strongest RS measurement in terms of RS received power (RSRP) associated with at least one of the cells (Matsumura, ¶0138: An L1-RSRP (absolute) in the example in FIG. 6 is an absolute value (largest value).); and
each of the differential values represents a difference between a value of an RS measurement and the absolute value for the strongest RS measurement (Matsumura, ¶0138: The L1-RSRP (differential) is the difference between the L1-RSRP of the second SSB index (beam) and the first L1-RSRP (absolute).).
Re. Claim 21, Matsumura in view of Zhang teaches claim 17.
Matsumura further teaches wherein:
the different cells comprise at least one serving cell and one or more candidate cells (Matsumura, Figs. 3-8, ¶0135: In each drawing, for example, a report related to one serving cell and a report(s) related to one or more non-serving cell(s) may be included. And ¶0152: The UE may receive a configuration of a specific index (new ID: Re-indexing index of cell) created based on a physical cell ID (Physical Cell Identifier (PCI)) that is different from the physical cell ID and indicating a serving cell or a non-serving cell, and control transmission of a channel state information report (CSI report) corresponding to the configured specific index. [Figs. 3-8 are diagrams showing examples of the MAC CE used for the CSI report.]); and
the one or more absolute values comprise a first absolute value for an RS measurement associated with the at least one serving cell and a second absolute value for an RS measurement associated with one of the one or more candidate cells (Matsumura, ¶¶0139-0140: FIG. 6 is a diagram to show a fourth example of the MAC CE used for the CSI report. An L1-RSRP (absolute) in the example in FIG. 6 is an absolute value (largest value). The L1-RSRP (differential) is the difference between the L1-RSRP of the second SSB index (beam) and the first L1-RSRP (absolute). An L3-RSRP (absolute, cell-level) is an absolute value (largest value) of a cell-level (each cell) L3-RSRP. FIG. 7 is a diagram to show a fifth example of the MAC CE used for the CSI report. In the example in FIG. 7, the contents excluding the L3-RSRP from the example in FIG. 6 are mapped for each of three cells. [It can be seen in fig. 7, that there are three L1-RSRP absolute values, one for each cell.]).
Re. Claim 22, Matsumura in view of Zhang teaches claim 21.
Matsumura further teaches wherein the differential values comprise:
a first set of differential values that represent differences between values of RS measurements associated with the at least one serving cell and the first absolute value (Matsumura, Figs. 6-7, ¶¶0139-0140: An L1-RSRP (absolute) in the example in FIG. 6 is an absolute value (largest value). The L1-RSRP (differential) is the difference between the L1-RSRP of the second SSB index (beam) and the first L1-RSRP (absolute). … FIG. 7 is a diagram to show a fifth example of the MAC CE used for the CSI report. In the example in FIG. 7, the contents excluding the L3-RSRP from the example in FIG. 6 are mapped for each of three cells.); and
a second set of differential values that represent differences between values of RS measurements associated with candidate cells and to the second absolute value (Matsumura, Figs 6-7, ¶¶0139-0140 quoted above.).
Re. Claim 23, Matsumura in view of Zhang teaches claim 21.
Matsumura further teaches
wherein the report indicates a selection of the at least one serving cell and the one or more candidate cells (Matsumura, ¶¶0087-0088: After initialization by an event triggered by L3 mobility measurement, an L1-RSRP report including a new candidate beam and neighbour cell information (PCI and the like) may be performed by a MAC-CE. … Note that the report may include a candidate SSB(s)/cell ID(s).).
Re. Claim 26, Matsumura in view of Zhang teaches claim 15,
Matsumura further teaches wherein at least one of:
the one or more absolute values comprise absolute values (Matsumura, ¶0132: The CSI report may include an L1-RSRP/L1-SINR value (absolute value or differential value) for each SSB/ CSI-RS index.),
each absolute value corresponding to a strongest RS measurement associated with one or more of the different cells (Matsumura, Figs. 6-7, ¶¶0139-0140: An L1-RSRP (absolute) in the example in FIG. 6 is an absolute value (largest value). The L1-RSRP (differential) is the difference between the L1-RSRP of the second SSB index (beam) and the first L1-RSRP (absolute). … FIG. 7 is a diagram to show a fifth example of the MAC CE used for the CSI report. In the example in FIG. 7, the contents excluding the L3-RSRP from the example in FIG. 6 are mapped for each of three cells.); and
the report includes groups of RS measurements (Matsumura, Figs. 6-7, ¶¶0139-0140 quoted above.),
wherein each group includes one of the absolute values and differential values that represent a difference between a value of an RS measurement and the absolute value included in the group (Matsumura, Figs. 6-7, ¶¶0139-0140 quoted above.).
Re. Claim 28, Matsumura in view of Zhang claim 15,
wherein the apparatus is configured as a network entity (Matsumura, ¶¶0275-0276: Furthermore, the base station in the present disclosure may be interpreted as a user terminal. … In this case, user terminals 20 may have the functions of the base stations 10 described above. … Likewise, the user terminal in the present disclosure may be interpreted as base station. In this case, the base station 10 may have the functions of the user terminal 20 described above.).
Claims 18-20, 24, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura in view of Zhang, further in view of D1.
Re. Claim 18, Matsumura in view of Zhang teaches claim 15.
Matsumura further teaches wherein:
the report includes groups of RS measurements (Matsumura, ¶¶0143-0144: A trigger of a CSI report by an event may be applied only to an L1-RSRP report in a non-group-based CSI report, L1-RSRP and L1-SINR reports in a non-group based CSI report, an L1-RSRP report in each of both of non-group-based and group-based CSI reports, or an L1-RSRP or L1-SINR report in each of both of non-group based and group-based CSI reports. When a group-based CSI report is configured and a CSI report to be triggered by an event in the first aspect of the first embodiment is configured, only a non-group-based CSI report may be considered (used), or a group-based CSI report may be used according to the function of the UE, for the CSI report.), and
each RS measurement indicated in the report is associated with an RS ID (Matsumura, ¶0041: In the example in FIG. 3, a new ID (Re-indexing index of cell) and an L1-RSRP corresponding to each SSB index are reported. First report (SSB index, Re-indexing index of cell, and L1-RSRP) may relate to the serving cell, and second report and third report may relate to non-serving cells.).
Yet, Matsumura and Zhang do not explicitly teach wherein RS measurements within each group are associated with a same cell identifier (ID).
However, in the related art, D1 teaches
wherein RS measurements within each group are associated with a same cell identifier (ID) (D1, 5.2.2, pg. 48, Ericsson: The beam measurements are grouped per cell.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Matsumura as modified by the teaching of Zhang with the L1 enhancements for inter-cell beam management of D1. The resulting invention could support sequential L1/L2 cell change between [cell] Candidates without RRC reconfiguration (D1, A.10, pg. 147, RRC).
Re. Claim 19, Matsumura in view of Zhang and D1 teaches claim 18.
Matsumura further teaches wherein the cell IDs comprise:
cell IDs for cells that support mobility via physical (PHY) layer signaling or medium access control (MAC) layer signaling (Matsumura, ¶¶0087-0088: An event drive mechanism in a beam level for L1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility may be employed. After initialization by an event triggered by L3 mobility measurement, an L1-RSRP report including a new candidate beam and neighbour cell information (PCI and the like) may be performed by a MAC-CE. … Note that the report may include a candidate SSB(s)/cell ID(s).); or
physical cell IDs (PCIs) (Matsumura, ¶0128: The CSI report includes one or a plurality of non-serving cell index (indices) ([physical cell IDs] PCI(s) or new ID(s) of a non-serving cell(s) with a small bit size (Re-indexing index (indices) of cell(s))).).
Re. Claim 20, Matsumura in view of Zhang and D1 teaches claim 18.
Matsumura further teaches wherein the RS IDs comprise:
synchronization signal block (SSB) IDs within cells that support mobility via physical (PHY) layer signaling or medium access control (MAC) layer signaling (Matsumura, ¶¶0087-0088: An event drive mechanism in a beam level for L1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility may be employed. After initialization by an event triggered by L3 mobility measurement, an L1-RSRP report including a new candidate beam and neighbour cell information (PCI and the like) may be performed by a MAC-CE. … Note that the report may include a candidate SSB(s)/cell ID(s). And ¶0263: Note that physical layer signaling may be referred to as "Layer 1/Layer 2 (L1/L2) control information (L1/L2 control signals)," "L1 control information (L1 control signal)," and so on.);
RS IDs indicated by indices in a SSB list associated with the configuration for the report (Matsumura, ¶0036: The resource for the CSI measurement may be, for example, at least one of an SS/PBCH block resource, a CSI-RS resource, other reference signal resources, and the like. Configuration information of a CSI measurement report may be configured for the UE by using higher layer signaling. And ¶0025: The SS/PBCH block is a block including synchronization signals (e.g., a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS)) and a PBCH (and a corresponding DMRS) and may also be referred to as an SS block (SSB) and so on. An SSB index may be given to a time location of the SSB in a half frame. And ¶0135: A "report" in the following description may mean an SSB index, a Re-indexing index of cell, or a set of L1-RSRP/L3-RSRP, for example.).
Re. Claim 24, Matsumura in view of Zhang and D1 teaches claim 18.
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to
transmit, via the at least one transceiver, configuration information configuring a wireless node to measure different quantities of RSs for the different cells (Matsumura, ¶¶0039-0040: Regarding CSI report configuration information considering beam management of current NR is included in an RRC information element "CSI-ReportConfig." … The CSI report configuration information (CSI-ReportConfig) may include report quantity information ("report quantity," which may be expressed using an RRC parameter "reportQuantity"), which is information of a parameter to be reported. … Hence, one of parameters defined as the report quantity information ([channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resource indicator (CRI)] cri-RSRP, ssb-Index-RSRP, and the like) is configured. And ¶0100: In the present disclosure, an RS, a beam, a measurement result, and a configuration of an RS may be interpreted interchangeably. An RS may mean at least one of a CRI and an SSBRI in a CSI report.),
wherein the report indicates the RS IDs in at least one format based on the configuration information (Matsumura, ¶¶0041-0042: The UE configured with a higher layer parameter (e.g., an RRC parameter "groupBasedBeamReporting") included in the CSI report configuration information being enabled may include, for each report configuration, a plurality of resource IDs for beam measurement (e.g., [SS/PBCH block resource indicators] SSBRIs, [channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resource indicator (CRI)] CRIs) and a plurality of measurement results (e.g., L1-RSRPs) corresponding to the resource IDs, in the beam report. The UE configured with the number of report target RS resources being one or more by a higher layer parameter (e.g., an RRC parameter "nrofReportedRS") included in the CSI report configuration information may include, for each report configuration, one or more resource IDs for beam measurement and one or more measurement results (e.g., an L1-RSRP(s)) corresponding to the resource ID(s), in the beam report. And ¶¶0098-0100: In the present disclosure, an index, an ID, an indicator, and a resource ID may be interpreted interchangeably. … In the present disclosure, an RS, a beam, a measurement result, and a configuration of an RS may be interpreted interchangeably. An RS may mean at least one of a CRI and an SSBRI in a CSI report.).
Re. Claim 27, Matsumura in view of Zhang teaches claim 15.
Matsumura further teaches wherein at least one of:
the report includes a first group of RS measurements, wherein the first group includes the first absolute value and differential values (Matsumura, Fig. 8, ¶¶0139-0141: An L1-RSRP (absolute) in the example in FIG. 6 is an absolute value (largest value). The L1-RSRP (differential) is the difference between the L1-RSRP of the second SSB index (beam) and the first L1-RSRP (absolute). … In the example in FIG. 7, the contents excluding the L3-RSRP from the example in FIG. 6 are mapped for each of three cells. … In FIG. 8, a report for the first cell (e.g., the serving cell) is similar to that in FIG. 7, but an L1-RSRP (differential) is included instead of an L1-RSRP (absolute) for each of the second and third cells (e.g., non-serving cells).),
each differential value representing a difference between a value of an RS measurement and the first absolute value (Matsumura, Fig. 8, 0141: For example, the L1-RSRP (differential) may be a measurement result of each beam and may be the difference from the L1-RSRP (absolute) of the first cell.); or
Yet, Matsumura and Zhang do not explicitly teach the one or more absolute values comprise a first absolute value that represents a strongest RS measurement across the different cells.
However, in the related art, D1 teaches
the one or more absolute values comprise a first absolute value that represents a strongest RS measurement across the different cells (D1, pg. 48, Samsung: The first reported beam is the strongest beam across all cells.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Matsumura as modified by the teaching of Zhang with the L1 enhancements for inter-cell beam management of D1. The resulting invention could support sequential L1/L2 cell change between [cell] Candidates without RRC reconfiguration (D1, A.10, pg. 147, RRC).
Claims 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura in view of Zhang, further in view of Kim.
Re. Claim 25, Matsumura in view of Zhang teaches claim 15.
Matsumura further teaches wherein the report:
indicates, for each listed RS measurement, an associated cell and an associated beam (Matsumura, ¶¶0128-0129: When an aperiodic CSI report is triggered by an event in the UE (for example, by any of the examples in the first embodiment), the UE may transmit a CSI report including at least part of the following contents. The CSI report includes one or a plurality of non-serving cell index (indices) (PCI(s) or new ID(s) of a non-serving cell (s) with a small bit size (Re-indexing index (indices) of cell (s))). And ¶0131: One or a plurality of SSB/CSI-RS indices (beam indices) may be included in the CSI report for each non-serving cell.).
Yet, Matsumura and Zhang do not explicitly teach wherein the report: lists RS measurements in order of RS measurement strength [To clarify, Matsumura does not explicitly teach ordering the RS measurements by measurement strength.].
However, in the related art, Kim teaches wherein the report:
lists RS measurements in order of RS measurement strength (Kim, ¶0239: The UE may select some of the signal strengths of all measurable SS/PBCH blocks and/or CSI-RS resources and transmit information about the selected signal strengths to the BS. In this case, the UE may select K signal strengths in descending order and transmit information about the K signal strengths to the BS.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Matsumura as modified by the teaching of Zhang with the method for transmitting and receiving AoD information and device therefor of Kim. The resulting invention would provide for improved accuracy of positioning (Kim, ¶0017).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.H.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417