DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority The instant application was effectively filed on 14 August 2023, but claims priority to a Korean Patent Application (App. No.: KR10-2022-0104947) filed on 22 August 2022. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 14 August 2023 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 1 , the recitation “a pouch cover formed of the pouch sheet” is indefinite because it is unclear whether the pouch cover and pouch sheet are two different structures composed of the same material, or if the claimed pouch sheet is the material that constitutes the pouch cover. In the latter interpretation, the pouch cover and pouch sheet would be the same structure. For examination purposes, the aforementioned recitation is interpreted to mean “a pouch cover comprising the pouch sheet”. Regarding claim 1 1 , the recitation “a pouch cover formed of the pouch sheet” is indefinite because it is unclear whether the pouch cover and pouch sheet are two different structures composed of the same material, or if the claimed pouch sheet is the material that constitutes the pouch cover. In the latter interpretation, the pouch cover and pouch sheet would be the same structure. For examination purposes, the aforementioned recitation is interpreted to mean “a pouch cover comprising the pouch sheet”. Claims 2- 10 and 12- 20 are rejected as they depend from, and therefore incorporate the claimed subject matter from claims rejected under this statute. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim s 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al (U.S. Pub. US 2022/0052403) . Regarding claim 1 , Chen teaches a battery cell ( 200, Fig. 2 ) comprising: a cell body ( body of 200 , Fig. 2 ) including an electrode assembly ( assembly of 210, 220, and 230, Fig. 2 ) and a pouch sheet ( layered material of 280, Fig. 2 , [0080] and see [0120] ) wrapping the electrode assembly, the cell body extending from a lower end ( lower end, Annotated Fig. 2 , below) and leading to an upper end ( upper end , Annotated Fig. 2 , below) , the pouch sheet being overlapped and contacted ( 240 sealed at 241, see [0100]) at the upper end; a pouch cover ( 280, Fig. 2 ) formed of the pouch sheet ( layered material of 280, Fig. 2 , [0080 and 0120], see 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection for interpretation ) , t he pouch cover extending from the upper end ( upper end, Annotated Fig. 2 , below) of the cell body ( body of 200 ) and facing a lateral face ( first lateral face, Annotated Fig. 2 , below) of the cell body; and a heat transfer unit ( 270a/b, Fig. 2 ) disposed between the cell body and the pouch cover ( see Fig. 2 ) . Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2 Regarding claim 2 , Chen teaches wherein the pouch cover ( 280, Fig. 2 ) includes a first pouch cover ( first pouch cover , Annotated Fig. 2 , above) that extends downward from the upper end ( upper end, Annotated Fig. 2 , above) of the cell body ( body of 200 , Fig. 2 ) and faces a first lateral face ( first lateral face, Annotated Fig. 2 , above) among the lateral face of the body. Regarding claim 3 , Chen teaches wherein the heat transfer unit ( 270a, Fig. 2 ) contacts the first lateral face ( first lateral face, Annotated Fig. 2 , above) of the cell body ( body of 200 , Fig. 2 ) and is connected to the lower end of ( lower end, Annotated Fig. 2 , above) the cell body. Examiner’s Note: It is the position of the Examiner that the heat transfer unit (270a) is indirectly connected to the lower end of the cell body ( body of 200 ), because the heat transfer unit (270a) is connected to the lateral face of the cell body, which is connected to the lower end of the cell body via 241. Regarding claim 4 , Chen teaches wherein the pouch cover ( 280, Fig. 2 ) includes a second pouch cover ( second pouch cover , Annotated Fig. 2 , under claim 1 ) that extends from a lower end ( lower end, see Annotated Fig. 2 , under claim 1) of the first pouch cover ( first pouch cover , Annotated Fig. 2 , above) and is positioned below the cell body ( body of 200 , Fig. 2 ). Regarding claim 5 , Chen teaches wherein the pouch cover ( 280, Fig. 2 ) includes a third pouch cover ( third pouch cover , Annotated Fig. 2 , under claim 1) that extends upwards from the second pouch cover ( second pouch cover , Annotated Fig. 2 , under claim 1 ) and faces a second lateral face ( second lateral face, Annotated Fig. 2 , under claim 1) among the lateral face of the body, and wherein the second lateral face ( second lateral face ) is positioned opposite the first lateral face ( first lateral face, Annotated Fig. 2 , under claim 1) . Regarding claim 6 , Chen teaches wherein the pouch cover ( 280, Fig. 2 ) includes a pouch cover wing ( first / second pouch cover wings, Annotated Fig. 2 , below) , and wherein the pouch cover wing includes a first pouch cover wing ( first pouch cover wing, Annotated Fig. 2 , below) and a second pouch cover wing ( second pouch cover wing, Annotated Fig. 2 , below) formed by bifurcating the overlapped sheet ( 240 sealed at left 2 81 , Fig. 2 , see [0100]) in opposite directions ( left and right , Annotated Fig. 2 , below) at the upper end of the cell body ( upper end , Annotated Fig. 2 , below ) . Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2 Regarding claim 8 , Chen teaches wherein the pouch cover includes: a first side pouch cover ( first side pouch cover, Annotated Fig. 2, above) bent ( at top gray circle, Annotated Fig. 2 , above) and extended downward ( down towards lower end , Annotated Fig. 2 , under claim 1) from the first pouch cover wing ( first pouch cover wing, Annotated Fig. 2 , above ) ; and a second side pouch cover ( second side pouch cover, Annotated Fig. 2, above) bent ( at bottom gray circle, Annotated Fig. 2 , above) and extended downward ( down towards lower end ) from the second pouch cover wing ( second pouch cover wing, Annotated Fig. 2 , above ) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. Pub. US 2022/0052403) , in view of Bae et al. (U.S. Pu b. US 2017/0040634). Regarding claim 7, Chen, does not teach wherein the pouch cover includes a reinforcement part coupled to an upper surface of the pouch cover wing. However, Bae teaches a pouch cover ( 100, Fig. 1 ) includes a reinforcement part ( 180, Fi gs. 1-3 , see [0021-0023]) coupled to an upper surface ( top side, Fig. 3 ) of the pouch cover wing ( 150, Fig. 3 , [0049]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify the pouch cover wing of Chen, by coupling a reinforcement part to an upper surface, as taught by Bae, to protect the battery from external impact (see [0041]). Clai ms 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. Pub. US 2022/0052403) , in view of Nakajima et al. (JP 2018/206605, Machine Translation attached). Regarding claim 9 , Chen teaches the heat transfer unit ( 270a/b, Fig. 2 ) is applied to or contacts the lateral face of the cell body ( first lateral face, Annotated Fig. 2 , under claim 1), but does not teach wherein the heat transfer unit includes a cooling member. However, Nakajima teaches a heat transfer unit ( 1, Fig. 8 ) includes a cooling member ( 3, Fig. 8, Page8:L23-26 and see Page9:L25-27/Page10:L11-12) that is applied to or contacts (see Fig. 8 ) the lateral face of the cell body ( side of 7, Fig. 8 ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the heat transfer unit of Chen, such that it includes a cooling member, as taught by Nakajima, to achieve a temperature rise suppression effect so that the volumetric energy density of the battery can be increased (see Page8:L26-28). Regarding claim 10 , Chen, in view of Nakajima, teaches the heat transfer unit ( 270a/b, Fig. 2 ) includes a flame blocking member ( flame retardant of 270 , [0101]) formed of a material including at least one of an ethylene copolymer, aluminum hydroxide ( aluminum trihydroxide , [0029]), or calcium carbonate, and the cooling member ( 3, Fig. 8 of Nakajima, see rejection of claim 9 for modification), but does not teach wherein the flame blocking member is applied to or contacts the cooling member. It is the position of the Examiner that the flame retardants 170 and 270 are described as being substantially similar ([0100]), and therefore would be formed of the same materials listed in [0029]. However, Nakajima teaches wherein the heat transfer unit ( 1, Fig. 8 ) includes a flame blocking member ( 2, Fig. 8 , Page3:L13-14, and see Page9:L25-27/Page10:L11-12), formed of a material including at least one of an ethylene copolymer, aluminum hydroxide ( aluminum hydroxide, Page3:L15-17) or calcium carbonate ( calcium carbonate, Page3:L15-17), and wherein the flame blocking member ( 2 ) is applied to or contacts the cooling member ( 3, Fig. 8 ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the heat transfer unit of Chen , in view of Nakajima, such that the flame blocking member contacts the cooling member , as taught by Nakajima, to improve fire protection performance (see Page8:L44-46). Clai ms 11- 16 and 1 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. Pub. US 2022/0052403) , in view of Kilhenny et al. (U.S. Pub. US 2021/0257690). Regarding claim 11 , Chen teaches a battery cell ( 200, Fig. 2 ) comprising: a cell body ( body of 200, Fig. 2 ) including an electrode assembly ( assembly of 210, 220, and 230, Fig. 2 ) and a pouch sheet ( layered material of 280, Fig. 2 , [0080], see [0120] ) wrapping the electrode assembly, the cell body extending from a lower end ( lower end, Annotated Fig. 2 , under claim 1) and leading to an upper end ( upper end , Annotated Fig. 2 , under claim 1) , the pouch sheet being overlapped and contacted ( 240 sealed at 241, see [0100]) at the upper end; a pouch cover ( 280, Fig. 2 ) formed of the pouch sheet ( layered material of 280, Fig. 2 , [0080 and 0120], see 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection for interpretation) , t he pouch cover extending from the upper end ( upper end, Annotated Fig. 2 , under claim 1) of the cell body ( body of 200 ) and facing a lateral face ( first lateral face, Annotated Fig. 2 , under claim 1) of the cell body; and a heat transfer unit ( 270a/b, Fig. 2 ) disposed between the cell body and the pouch cover ( see Fig. 2 ), but does not teach a battery cell assembly including a plurality of battery cells stacked forward and backward; and a bottom plate positioned below the battery cell assembly and contacting the battery cell assembly. However, Kilhenny teaches a battery cell assembly ( 1001, Fig. 5 ) including a plurality of battery cells ( cell 500 of 1000, Fig. 5 , [0037]) stacked forward and backward ( left and right, Fig. 5 ); and a bottom plate ( 300, Fig. 5 ) positioned below the battery cell assembly ( 1001 ) and contacting the battery cell assembly ( 1001 ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery cell of Chen, such that a plurality of each battery cell is stacked above a bottom plate, as taught by Kilhenny , to obtain a battery with delayed or prevented thermal runaway properties (see [0002]). Regarding claim 12 , Chen, in view of Kilhenny , teaches wherein the pouch cover ( 280, Fig. 2 ) includes a first pouch cover ( first pouch cover, Annotated Fig. 2 , under claim 1) that extends downward from the upper end ( upper end, Annotated Fig. 2 , under claim 1) of the cell body ( body of 200, Fig. 2 ) and faces a first lateral face ( first lateral face, Annotated Fig. 2 , under claim 1) among the lateral face of the body. Regarding claim 13 , Chen, in view of Kilhenny , teaches wherein the heat transfer unit ( 270a, Fig. 2 ) contacts the first lateral face ( first lateral face, Annotated Fig. 2 , under claim 1) of the cell body ( body of 200, Fig. 2 ) and is connected to the lower end of ( lower end, Annotated Fig. 2 , under claim 1) the cell body. Examiner’s Note: It is the position of the Examiner that the heat transfer unit (270a) is indirectly connected to the lower end of the cell body (body of 200), because the heat transfer unit (270a) is connected to the lateral face of the cell body, which is connected to the lower end of the cell body via 241. Regarding claim 14 , Chen, in view of Kilhenny , teaches wherein the pouch cover ( 280, Fig. 2 ) includes a second pouch cover ( second pouch cover, Annotated Fig. 2 , under claim 1) that extends from a lower end ( lower end, see Annotated Fig. 2 , under claim 1) of the first pouch cover ( first pouch cover, Annotated Fig. 2 , above) and is positioned below the cell body ( body of 200, Fig. 2 ). Regarding claim 15 , Chen, in view of Kilhenny , teaches wherein the pouch cover ( 280, Fig. 2 ) includes a third pouch cover ( third pouch cover, Annotated Fig. 2 , under claim 1) that extends upwards from the second pouch cover ( second pouch cover, Annotated Fig. 2 , under claim 1) and faces a second lateral face ( second lateral face, Annotated Fig. 2 , under claim 1) among the lateral face of the body, and wherein the second lateral face ( second lateral face ) is positioned opposite the first lateral face ( first lateral face, Annotated Fig. 2 , under claim 1). Regarding claim 16 , Chen, in view of Kilhenny , teaches wherein the pouch cover ( 280, Fig. 2 ) includes a pouch cover wing ( first/second pouch cover wings, Annotated Fig. 2 , under claim 6), and wherein the pouch cover wing includes a first pouch cover wing ( first pouch cover wing, Annotated Fig. 2 , under claim 6) and a second pouch cover wing ( second pouch cover wing, Annotated Fig. 2 , under claim 6) formed by bifurcating the overlapped sheet ( 240 sealed at left 2 81 , Fig. 2 , see [0100]) in opposite directions ( left and right, Annotated Fig. 2 , under claim 6) at the upper end of the cell body ( upper end , Annotated Fig. 2 , under claim 6). Regarding claim 18 , Chen, in view of Kilhenny , teaches wherein the pouch cover includes: a first side pouch cover ( first side pouch cover, Annotated Fig. 2, under claim 6) bent ( at top gray circle, Annotated Fig. 2 , under claim 6) and extended downward ( down towards lower end , Annotated Fig. 2 , under claim 1) from the first pouch cover wing ( first pouch cover wing, Annotated Fig. 2 , under claim 6); and a second side pouch cover ( second side pouch cover, Annotated Fig. 2, under claim 6) bent ( at bottom gray circle, Annotated Fig. 2 , under claim 6) and extended downward ( down towards lower end ) from the second pouch cover wing ( second pouch cover wing, Annotated Fig. 2 , under claim 6). C lai m 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. Pub. US 2022/0052403) and Kilhenny et al. (U.S. Pub. US 2021/0257690), further in view of Bae et al. (U.S. Pub. US 2017/0040634). Regarding claim 1 7, Chen , in view of Kilhenny , does not teach wherein the pouch cover includes a reinforcement part coupled to an upper surface of the pouch cover wing. However, Bae teaches a pouch cover ( 100, Fig. 1 ) includes a reinforcement part ( 180, Figs. 1-3 , see [0021-0023]) coupled to an upper surface ( top side, Fig. 3 ) of the pouch cover wing ( 150, Fig. 3 , [0049]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify the pouch cover wing of Chen , in view of Kilhenny , by coupling a reinforcement part to an upper surface, as taught by Bae, to protect the battery from external impact (see [0041]). Clai ms 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. Pub. US 2022/0052403) and Kilhenny et al. (U.S. Pub. US 2021/0257690), further in view of Nakajima et al. (JP 2018/206605, Machine Translation attached). Regarding claim 19 , Chen, in view of Kilhenny , teaches the heat transfer unit ( 270a/b, Fig. 2 ) is applied to or contacts the lateral face of the cell body ( first lateral face, Annotated Fig. 2 , under claim 1), but does not teach wherein the heat transfer unit includes a cooling member. However, Nakajima teaches a heat transfer unit ( 1, Fig. 8 ) includes a cooling member ( 3, Fig. 8, Page8:L23-26 and see Page9:L25-27/Page10:L11-12) that is applied to or contacts (see Fig. 8 ) the lateral face of the cell body ( side of 7, Fig. 8 ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the heat transfer unit of Chen, such that it includes a cooling member, as taught by Nakajima, to achieve a temperature rise suppression effect so that the volumetric energy density of the battery can be increased (see Page8:L26-28). Regarding claim 10 , Chen, in view of Kilhenny and Nakajima, teaches the heat transfer unit ( 270a/b, Fig. 2 ) includes a flame blocking member ( flame retardant of 270 , [0101]) formed of a material including at least one of an ethylene copolymer, aluminum hydroxide ( aluminum trihydroxide , [0029]), or calcium carbonate, and the cooling member ( 3, Fig. 8 of Nakajima, see rejection of claim 19 for modification), but does not teach wherein the flame blocking member is applied to or contacts the cooling member. It is the position of the Examiner that the flame retardants 170 and 270 are described as being substantially similar ([0100]), and therefore would be formed of the same materials listed in [0029]. However, Nakajima teaches wherein the heat transfer unit ( 1, Fig. 8 ) includes a flame blocking member ( 2, Fig. 8 , Page3:L13-14, and see Page9:L25-27/Page10:L11-12), formed of a material including at least one of an ethylene copolymer, aluminum hydroxide ( aluminum hydroxide, Page3:L15-17) or calcium carbonate ( calcium carbonate, Page3:L15-17), and wherein the flame blocking member ( 2 ) is applied to or contacts the cooling member ( 3, Fig. 8 ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the heat transfer unit of Chen, in view of Nakajima, such that the flame blocking member contacts the cooling member, as taught by Nakajima, to improve fire protection performance (see Page8:L44-46). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT Aidan L Papandria whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-1831 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 8-5 ET . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Tiffany Legette can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 270-7078 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /AIDAN LACHLAN PAPANDRIA/ Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723