DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chia-Wei (TW 202147080).
Considering claim 1, Chia-Wei (Figures 1-2) teaches a piezoelectric unit comprising: a piezoelectric element (113 + page 2 + 5th paragraph); an output part that performs an output vibrating (114a-114d + page 2 + 4-6th paragraphs) the piezoelectric element; an input part (page 2 + 6th-7th paragraphs) that receives an input of a voltage generated by the piezoelectric element (113 + page 2 + 5th paragraph) and a control part (120 + paragraph 3 + 7th paragraph) that performs switching such that the output performed by the output part and the input performed by the input part alternate with each other (page 3 + 7th paragraph).
Considering claim 2, Chia-Wei (Figures 1-2) teaches comprising an oscillation circuit that oscillates a periodic signal wherein the output performed by the output part and the input performed by the input part are switched based on the periodic signal oscillated by the oscillation circuit (120 + page 3 + 7th paragraph).
Considering claim 3, Chia-Wei (Figures 1-2) teaches wherein the output part comprises: a first oscillation circuit (HF1 + page 3 + 7th paragraph) that oscillates a first signal of a frequency; a second oscillation circuit (HF2 + page 3 + 7th paragraph) that oscillates a second signal of a second frequency different from the first frequency; and an addition circuit (HF3 + page 3 + 7th paragraph) that combines a waveform of the first signal oscillated by the first oscillating circuit and a waveform of the second signal oscillated by the second oscillating circuit and the output vibrating the piezoelectric element is an output that vibrates the piezoelectric element based on a waveform combined by the addition circuit (page 3 + 7th paragraph).
Considering claim 7, Chia-Wei (Figures 1-2) teaches wherein a housing (area between 116 and 110 + page 2 + 5th-7th paragraphs) that accommodates the piezoelectric unit (113 + page 2 + 5th paragraph) and a contact part (116 + page 2 + 6th paragraph) arranged on an outer surface of the housing, wherein the contact part outputs vibration caused by the piezoelectric element and transmits an input resulting from contact from outside to the piezoelectric element (116 + page 2 + 7th paragraph).
Considering claim 8, Chia-Wei (Figures 1-2) teaches wherein a housing (area between 116 and 110 + page 2 + 5th-7th paragraphs) that accommodates the piezoelectric unit (113 + page 2 + 5th paragraph) and a contact part (116 + page 2 + 6th paragraph) arranged on an outer surface of the housing, wherein the contact part outputs vibration caused by the piezoelectric element and transmits an input resulting from contact from outside to the piezoelectric element (116 + page 2 + 7th paragraph).
Considering claim 9, Chia-Wei (Figures 1-2) teaches wherein a housing (area between 116 and 110 + page 2 + 5th-7th paragraphs) that accommodates the piezoelectric unit (113 + page 2 + 5th paragraph) and a contact part (116 + page 2 + 6th paragraph) arranged on an outer surface of the housing, wherein the contact part outputs vibration caused by the piezoelectric element and transmits an input resulting from contact from outside to the piezoelectric element (116 + page 2 + 7th paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chia-Wei (TW 202147080).
Considering claim 4, Chia-Wei discloses the claimed invention except for wherein a difference between the first frequency and the second frequency is 1 to 50 Hz. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a difference between the first frequency and the second frequency is 1 to 50 Hz, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Considering claim 5, Chia-Wei discloses the claimed invention except for where the first frequency and the second frequency are 50 to 500 Hz. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a the first frequency and the second frequency are 50 to 500 Hz, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Considering claim 6, Chia-Wei discloses the claimed invention except for where the first frequency and the second frequency are 50 to 500 Hz. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a the first frequency and the second frequency are 50 to 500 Hz, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
/BRYAN P GORDON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837