Status of Claims
Claims 1-22 are currently pending;
Claim 3 is currently amended;
Claim 22 is new.
Status of Rejections and Objections Pending Since the Office Action of 04/16/2026
The 112(b) rejection is withdrawn in view of the amendment of claim 3;
The 103 rejections are withdrawn and replaced with new 103 rejections in view of Applicant’s argument.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 07/13/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yamamura in view of Nakanishi and Fukazawa, Yamamura in view of Nakanishi, Fukazawa, and Furuya, Yamamura in view of Nakanishi, Fukazawa and Yamamoto, and Yamamura in view of Nakanishi, Fukazawa and Numata.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-12, 16, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamura et al. (US-20170012334-A1), hereinafter Yamamura in view of Nakanishi (US-20140004429-A1) and Fukazawa et al. (US-20190088967-A1), hereinafter Fukazawa.
Regarding claim 1, Yamamura teaches an air electrode/separator assembly, comprising: a hydroxide ion conductive separator ([0035] layered double hydroxide separator that is hydroxide ion conductive; fig. 3 separator 11; [0032]), an interface layer (fig. 3, layer 12a; [0032]) comprising a hydroxide ion conductive material (fig. 3, layer 12a has hydroxide ion conductive material 15; [0032]) and an electron conductive material (fig. 3, layer 12a has electron conductive material 14; [0030]-[0032]); [0032]) and covering one side of the hydroxide ion conductive separator (fig. 3 interface layer 12a covers separator 11; [0032]), an air electrode layer provided on the interface layer and comprising a catalyst layer (fig. 3 layer 12b; [0032]) composed of a layered double hydroxide (LDH) covering a surface thereof (fig. 3; layer 12b includes hydroxide ion conductive material 15; [0028] hydroxide ion conductive material 15 comprises a layered double hydroxide).
The embodiment of figure 3 of Yamamura does not include a porous current collector. However, Yamamura does teach that the air electrode may have a positive electrode current collector such as a metal mesh, carbon paper, or carbon cloth, on the air electrode layer remote from the separator ([0034]), and shows in figure 4 how the porous nickel current collector 23b is bonded to the air electrode layer 22 on the side remote from the separator 21 ([0059]).
Yamamura fails to teach that a catalyst layer composed of a porous current collector, instead teaching them as separate as detailed above.
Nakanishi is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of air electrodes ([0030] air cathode). Nakanishi teaches that a catalyst layer composed of a porous current collector, instead teaching them as separate as detailed above ([0073] when a porous current collector is used as the air cathode current collector, the current collector can be provided inside the air cathode layer rather than stacked; [0003] the air cathode layer includes the catalyst).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamamura and combined the porous current collector and catalyst layer such that the catalyst layer is composed of a porous current collector. Doing so has an effect of increasing the efficiency of current collection from the air cathode as opposed to when they are stacked (Nakanishi [0073]).
Yamamura also fails to teach a water repellent porous layer covering a surface of the air electrode opposite to the hydroxide ion conductive separator.
Fukazawa is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electrodes with catalyst layers ([0028]). Fukazawa teaches a water repellent porous layer covering a surface of the air electrode opposite to the hydroxide ion conductive separator (fig. 1; [0030] electrode includes catalyst layer 10 laminated with support layer 20; support layer 20 includes a water management layer and gas diffusion layer or a layer having both a water management property and gas infusibility; [0052] the water management layer is a water repellent porous layer; [0060] the catalyst layer faces the membrane side, meaning the supporting layer 20 is opposite to the separator).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Yamamura and provide a supporting layer with water repellent properties covering a surface of the air electrode opposite to the hydroxide ion conductive separator. Doing so prevents flooding and allows for maintaining a proper humidity (Fukazawa [0053]; [0062]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Yamamura teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Modified Yamamura also teaches wherein a water repellent porous material constituting the water repellent porous layer comprises a fluororesin material (Fukazawa [0056] fluororesin water repelling agent; [0058] water repellent polymer such as PTFE).
Regarding claim 3, modified Yamamura teaches all of the limitations of claim 2. Modified Yamamura also teaches wherein the fluororesin material is at least one selected from the group consisting of a fully fluorinated resin, a partially fluorinated resin, a polyvinyl fluoride, and a fluorinated resin copolymer (Fukazawa [0056] example of materials including copolymers and polyvinyl fluoride; [0058] water repellent polymer PTFE).
Regarding claim 7, modified Yamamura teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Modified Yamamura also teaches wherein the water repellent porous layer has a thickness of 0.01 to 1 mm (Fukazawa [0053] 2 μm to 70 μm). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 8, modified Yamamura teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Modified Yamamura also teaches wherein the water repellent porous layer has a porosity of 30% or more (Fukazawa [0054] void content of 30% or more and 80% or less). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 9, modified Yamamura teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Yamamura also teaches wherein the hydroxide ion conductive material included in the interface layer is the same type of material as the hydroxide ion conductive material included in the hydroxide ion conductive separator ([0035] layered double hydroxide separator that is hydroxide ion conductive; fig. 3 separator 11; [0032]; likewise, interface layer 12a has hydroxide ion conductive material 15; [0028] hydroxide ion conductive material 15 comprises a layered double hydroxide).
Regarding claim 10, modified Yamamura teaches all of the limitations of claim 9. Yamamura also teaches wherein the hydroxide ion conductive material included in the interface layer and the hydroxide ion conductive material included in the hydroxide ion conductive separator are both LDHs and/or LDH-like compounds ([0035] layered double hydroxide separator that is hydroxide ion conductive; fig. 3 separator 11; [0032]; likewise, interface layer 12a has hydroxide ion conductive material 15; [0028] hydroxide ion conductive material 15 comprises a layered double hydroxide).
Regarding claim 11, modified Yamamura teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Yamamura also teaches wherein the electron conductive material included in the interface layer comprises a carbon material ([0026]; electron-conductive material 14 can be a carbon black material, graphite, or conductive fiber).
Regarding claim 12, modified Yamamura teaches all of the limitations of claim 11. Yamamura also teaches wherein the carbon material is at least one selected from the group consisting of carbon black, graphite, carbon nanotubes, graphene, and reduced graphene oxide ([0026]; electron-conductive material 14 can be a carbon black, graphite, or any type having electrical conductivity and capable of conducting electrons between the air electrode catalyst and the separator).
Regarding claim 13, modified Yamamura teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Yamamura is silent as to the porosity of the catalyst layer.
Fukazawa is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electrodes with catalyst layers ([0028]). Fukazawa teaches wherein the catalyst layer has a porosity of 60% or more ([0034] 50 to 90% porosity of the catalyst layer). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Yamamura such that the catalyst layer has a porosity of 60% or more. Doing so allows for smoother discharge of a substance like water while maintaining efficiency of the noble metal catalyst (Fukazawa [0034]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Yamamura teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Yamamura also teaches wherein the porous current collector is composed of at least one selected from the group consisting of carbon, nickel, stainless steel, and titanium ([0034] porous current collector can be a carbon paper, carbon cloth, nickel mesh, or stainless steel mesh).
Regarding claim 18, modified Yamamura teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Yamamura also teaches wherein the catalyst layer comprises a mixture comprising a hydroxide ion conductive material (fig. 3; hydroxide ion conductive material 15; [0032]), an electron conductive material (fig. 3; electron conductive material 14; [0030]; [0032]), an organic polymer ([0029] hydroxide ion conductive material may contain a polymer in a mixture with the layered double hydroxide such as polystyrene; alternatively, [0031] the air electrode layer may contain a polymer binder such as polyethylene), and an air electrode catalyst (fig. 3; air electrode catalyst 13; [0032]), provided that the hydroxide ion conductive material may be the same material as the air electrode catalyst, and provided that the electron conductive material may be the same material as the air electrode catalyst ([0024] the air electrode layer may contain the air electrode catalyst also serving as the electron-conductive material and the hydroxide-ion-conductive material).
Regarding claim 19, modified Yamamura teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Yamamura also teaches wherein the hydroxide ion conductive separator is a layered double hydroxide (LDH) separator ([0035] layered double hydroxide separator that is hydroxide ion conductive).
Regarding claim 20, modified Yamamura teaches all of the limitations of claim 19. Yamamura also teaches wherein the LDH separator is composited with a porous substrate ([0038]-[0039] separator may be in the form of a composite body with a porous body substrate and an inorganic solid electrolyte).
Regarding claim 21, modified Yamamura teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Modified Yamamura also teaches a metal negative electrode, and an electrolyte, wherein the electrolyte is separated from the air electrode layer by the hydroxide ion conductive separator interposed therebetween (Yamamura [0015]; [0040] metal negative electrode and an electrolytic solution separated from the air electrode layer by the separator), and the metal negative electrode, the hydroxide ion conductive separator, the air electrode layer (Yamamura [0040] the metal negative electrode is on the other side of the separator; fig. 3 shows the lamination of the separator and the air electrode layer), and the water repellent porous layer are laminated and positioned in order from top to bottom (Fukazawa [0060] the catalyst layer faces the membrane side, meaning the supporting layer 20 is opposite to the separator).
Regarding claim 22, modified Yamamura teaches all of the limitations of claim 3. Modified Yamamura also teaches wherein the fluororesin material is a polyvinyl fluoride (Fukazawa [0056] polyvinylidene fluoride).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamura in view of Nakanishi and Fukazawa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Furuya (JP-H1150290-A).
Regarding claim 4, modified Yamamura teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Modified Yamamura fails to teach wherein the water repellent porous layer is composed of a porous material covered with water repellent fine particles.
Furuya is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of water repellent layers ([0003] water-repellent porous thin layer). Furuya teaches wherein the water repellent porous layer is composed of a porous material covered with water repellent fine particles ([0003] gas supply layer of water-repellent porous thin layer formed from fine particles of fluororesin-based polymers; [0021] gas supply layer is formed by placing he water-repellent fluororesin fine particles into the porous body; alternatively [0019] providing fluororesin onto the gas supply surface of the conductive porous body).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Yamamura such that the water repellent porous layer is composed of a porous material covered with water repellent fine particles. Doing so improves the uniformity of gas supply (Furuya [0008]) and provides the predictable result of forming a water-repellent layer that prevents leakage of the electrolyte (Furuya [0003]; [0019]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Yamamura teaches all of the limitations of claim 4. Modified Yamamura also teaches wherein the water repellent fine particles comprise a fluororesin material (Furuya [0003] gas supply layer of water-repellent porous thin layer formed from fine particles of fluororesin-based polymers; [0021] gas supply layer is formed by placing the water-repellent fluororesin fine particles into the porous body)
Regarding claim 6, modified Yamamura teaches all of the limitations of claim 4. Modified Yamamura also teaches wherein the porous material is at least one selected from the group consisting of a polymer material, a metal mesh, and a carbon sheet (Furuya [0016] metal porous body, continuous foam of plastic, carbon material plated with nickel, metal mesh).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamura in view of Nakanishi and Fukazawa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamamoto et al. (US-20170260048-A1), hereinafter Yamamoto.
Regarding claim 14, modified Yamamura teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Yamamura also teaches that the LDH included in the catalyst layer has a form of a plurality of LDH platy particles ([0048] LDH has the form of a plate shape).
Modified Yamamura fails to teach wherein the plurality of LDH platy particles are bonded vertically or obliquely to a surface of the porous current collector.
Yamamoto is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of LDH separators ([0011]). Yamamoto teaches wherein the plurality of LDH platy particles are bonded vertically or obliquely to a surface of the porous current collector ([0036]-[0039] LDH platy particles oriented such that the tabular faces of the platy particles are substantially perpendicular to or oblique to the surface of the porous substrate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to have further modified Yamamura such that the the plurality of LDH platy particles are bonded vertically or obliquely to a surface of the porous current collector. Doing so fully or significantly reduces the anisotropic hydroxide ion conductivity of the LDH to the thickness direction n of the layer, such that the conductivity along the thickness direction can be increased (Yamamoto [0036]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Yamamura teaches all of the limitations of claim 14. Modified Yamamura also teaches wherein the plurality of LDH platy particles are connected to one another in the catalyst layer (Yamamoto [0036]-[0039]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamura in view of Nakanishi and Fukazawa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Numata et al. (US-20210175520-A1), hereinafter Numata.
Regarding claim 17, modified Yamamura teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Modified Yamamura is silent as to the thickness of the porous current collector.
Numata is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of air electrodes ([0010]) Numata teaches wherein the porous current collector has a thickness of 0.1 to 1 mm ([0042]; [0050] 0.2 mm to 2 mm and more preferably 0.5 mm to 1 mm for the porous body that constitutes the air electrode current collector). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Yamamura such the porous current collector has a thickness of 0.1 to 1 mm. Doing so reduces the amount of metal required while maintaining the necessary strength of the current collector (Numata [0050]).
Conclusion
/M.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722