DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is reply to the Application Number 18/449,127 filed on 06/10/2026.
Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1, 2, 8 and 16 have been amended.
This action is made NON-FINAL.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6 and 8 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pettersson et al. (CN111692033A), further in view of Martin et al. (US 9862262 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Pettersson teaches a method, comprising: starting an engine (Pettersson: lines 14 – 15: “This specification relates to methods and systems for hybrid vehicles that include an integrated starter/generator for propelling the vehicle and starting the engine.”)
… via a controller, in response to an engine start request (Pettersson: lines 142 – 144: “The controller 12 is shown in FIG. 1 as a conventional microcomputer, which includes: a microprocessor unit 102, an input/output port 104, a read-only memory 106 (for example, a non-transitory memory), a random access memory 108, a keepalive Memory 110 and conventional data bus.”; lines 252 – 253: “The ISG 240 may be operated to provide power to the powertrain system 200 or convert the powertrain system power into electric energy for storage in the electric energy storage device 275 in a regenerative mode.”; lines 261 – 263: “The ISG 240 may provide positive or negative power to the powertrain system 200 via acting as a motor or generator as instructed by the motor controller 252.”)
rotating the engine to a speed greater than a threshold speed via transferring torque from the first electric machine through (Pettersson: lines 265 – 272: “The ISG 240 may rotate the turbine 286, which in turn may rotate the pump impeller 285 to start the engine 10 during engine start. When the driveline disconnect clutch 236 is fully closed, the torque converter 206 can double the torque of the ISG 240 to rotate the engine 10. Therefore, the torque of the ISG 240 may be increased via the torque converter 206 to rotate the engine 10 during engine start. When the ISG 240 is rotating to start the engine 10, the TCC 212 can be fully opened, so that the torque of the ISG 240 can be doubled. Alternatively, when the ISG 240 is turning to start the engine 10 to manage the torque transfer to the engine 10, the TCC 212 may be partially opened. During the start of the engine rotation, the ISG 240 can rotate at a higher speed than the engine 10.”; Lines 296 – 300: “In response to the request to accelerate the vehicle 225, the vehicle system controller may obtain the driver demand power or power request from the accelerator pedal or other device. The vehicle system controller 255 then allocates a portion of the requested driver's required power to the engine, and allocates the remaining portion to the ISG. The vehicle system controller 255 requests engine power from the engine controller 12 and requests ISG power from the motor controller 252.”,
Supplemental Note: The ISG is interpreted as the first electric machine and can input up to double the torque to the engine when starting the engine. In the example above, the engine is able to apply the desired power by the driver and the remaining to the ISG controller)
… ceasing to reduce torque output of the first electric machine at the rate in response to transferring torque from the engine to the first electric machine through the sun gear and to the planetary carrier gear set (Pettersson: lines 309 – 325: “the vehicle system controller may provide negative desired wheel power (eg, desired or requested driveline wheel power) based on vehicle speed and brake pedal position. The vehicle system controller 255 then allocates a portion of the negative desired wheel power to the ISG 240 and the engine 10. The vehicle system controller may also allocate a portion of the requested braking power to the friction brakes 218 (eg, required friction brake wheel power). In addition, the vehicle system controller may notify the transmission controller 254 that the vehicle is in the regenerative braking mode, so that the transmission controller 254 shifts the gear 211 based on the unique shift rule to improve the regeneration efficiency. The engine 10 and the ISG 240 can supply negative power to the transmission input shaft 270, but the negative power provided by the ISG 240 and the engine 10 can be limited by the transmission controller 254, which outputs the transmission input shaft negative power limit (for example, no The threshold that should be exceeded). In addition, the negative power of the ISG 240 may be limited by the vehicle system controller 255 or the motor controller 252 based on the operating conditions of the electrical energy storage device 275 (for example, restricted to less than the threshold negative threshold power). Any portion of the desired negative wheel power that cannot be provided by the ISG 240 due to transmission or ISG limits can be allocated to the engine 10 and/or the friction brake 218 so that the negative power (e.g., absorbed by the engine 10 and the ISG 240 via the friction brake 218) Power) to provide the desired wheel power.”,
Supplemental Note: in the example above, when the vehicle speed is too high, the torque from the ISG can be stopped and additional torque from the engine can be used to charge the battery).
In sum, Pettersson teaches a method, comprising: starting an engine via a controller, in response to an engine start request rotating the engine to a speed greater than a threshold speed via transferring torque from the first electric machine through ceasing to reduce torque output of the first electric machine at the rate in response to transferring torque from the engine to the first electric machine through the sun gear and to the planetary carrier gear set. Pettersson however does not teach a power split transmission coupled thereto, where the power split transmission includes a first electric machine and a second electric machine, a sun gear, a planetary carrier gear set, and a ring gear, including: the planetary carrier gear set and the sun gear to the engine; and determining a gear lash crossover between the sun gear and the carrier based on a difference in rotational speeds of gears in the power split transmission; in response to determining the gear lash crossover, reducing torque output of the first electric machine at a rate and decreasing intake manifold pressure of the engine and/or retarding spark timing of the engine.
Martin teaches with a power split transmission coupled thereto, where the power split transmission includes a first electric machine and a second electric machine, (Martin: Abstract: “Methods and systems for delivering powertrain torque of a hybrid vehicle are disclosed. In one example, torque is supplied to vehicle wheels from a piston engine, an electric machine, and a turbine engine via a planetary gear set. The planetary gear set may be configured with at least one sun gear and two ring gears.”; Col. 5, lines 54 – 62: “A second motor/generator 202 is shown mechanically coupled to planetary gear set 201A at sun gear 360 shown in FIG. 3 so that torque from second motor/generator 202 may be supplied to planetary gear set 201A. Second motor/generator 202 is in electrical communication with electric storage device 210. Traction motor 250 is shown mechanically coupled to powertrain 200A and planetary gear set 201A via gear set 290. Traction motor 250 is also in electrical communication with electric storage device 210”)
a sun gear, a planetary carrier gear set, and a ring gear, including: (Martin: Col. 5, lines 48 – 53: “Engine 10 of FIG. 1 is shown with exhaust manifold 48 in fluidic communication with turbine 164. Engine 10 is also shown mechanically coupled to planetary gear set 201A at planetary gears 362 shown in FIG. 3 so that engine torque may be transferred to planetary gear set 201A. Turbine 164 is mechanically coupled to planetary gear set 201A. Turbine 164 is mechanically coupled to planetary gears 304 shown in FIG. 3 so that turbine 164 may transfer torque to planetary gear set 201A. Motor/generator 220 is shown mechanically coupled to sun gear 302 shown in FIG. 3 so that motor/generator 220 may receive power from turbine 164 when turbine 164 is operated as a turbine engine. Motor/generator 220 may spin sun gear 302 to provide torque to planetary gear set 201A. Motor/generator 220 is also shown in electrical communication with electric energy storage device 210.”; Col. 5, lines 54 – 62: “A second motor/generator 202 is shown mechanically coupled to planetary gear set 201A at sun gear 360 shown in FIG. 3 so that torque from second motor/generator 202 may be supplied to planetary gear set 201A. Second motor/generator 202 is in electrical communication with electric storage device 210. Traction motor 250 is shown mechanically coupled to powertrain 200A and planetary gear set 201A via gear set 290. Traction motor 250 is also in electrical communication with electric storage device 210”,
Supplemental Note: please see the gear configuration as shown in Figure A)
Figure A - Martin; Fig. 4
… the planetary carrier gear set and the sun gear to the engine; and (Martin: Col. 5, lines 48 – 53: “Engine 10 of FIG. 1 is shown with exhaust manifold 48 in fluidic communication with turbine 164. Engine 10 is also shown mechanically coupled to planetary gear set 201A at planetary gears 362 shown in FIG. 3 so that engine torque may be transferred to planetary gear set 201A. Turbine 164 is mechanically coupled to planetary gear set 201A. Turbine 164 is mechanically coupled to planetary gears 304 shown in FIG. 3 so that turbine 164 may transfer torque to planetary gear set 201A. Motor/generator 220 is shown mechanically coupled to sun gear 302 shown in FIG. 3 so that motor/generator 220 may receive power from turbine 164 when turbine 164 is operated as a turbine engine. Motor/generator 220 may spin sun gear 302 to provide torque to planetary gear set 201A. Motor/generator 220 is also shown in electrical communication with electric energy storage device 210.”; Col. 5, lines 54 – 62: “A second motor/generator 202 is shown mechanically coupled to planetary gear set 201A at sun gear 360 shown in FIG. 3 so that torque from second motor/generator 202 may be supplied to planetary gear set 201A. Second motor/generator 202 is in electrical communication with electric storage device 210. Traction motor 250 is shown mechanically coupled to powertrain 200A and planetary gear set 201A via gear set 290. Traction motor 250 is also in electrical communication with electric storage device 210”,
Supplemental Note: please see the gear configuration as shown in Figure A)
determining a gear lash crossover between the sun gear and the carrier based on a difference in rotational speeds of gears in the power split transmission; (Martin: Col. 9, lines 19 – 33: “At 516, method 500 judges if the desired powertrain torque may be met by only the traction motor and the piston engine. The traction motor torque may be a function of battery state of charge and traction motor speed while the powertrain torque may be a function of an amount of air and fuel supplied to the turbine engine. In one example, battery state of charge and traction motor speed are used to index a table or function that outputs a value of maximum traction motor torque given the present traction motor speed and battery state of charge. Similarly, a maximum air flow and fuel flow for the present engine speed may be used to index a table or function that outputs maximum piston engine torque. If the desired powertrain torque may be met by only the traction motor and the piston engine, the answer is yes and method 500 proceeds to 520. Otherwise, the answer is no and method 500 proceeds to 518.”; Col. 9, lines 49 – 59: “At 518, method 500 activates the traction motor and the turbine engine so that the piston engine, turbine engine, and traction motor are active. The turbine engine, piston engine, and traction motor each provide at least a portion of the desired powertrain torque. The piston engine torque, turbine engine torque, and traction motor torque add to the desired powertrain torque. The piston engine torque and turbine engine torque are input to the planetary gear set and then combined with the traction motor torque to provide the desired powertrain torque. Method 500 proceeds to exit after the desired powertrain torque is provided.”,
Supplemental Note: when the driver applies the accelerator pedal, it changes the current operating condition thus interpreted as a lash crossing. The amount of desired wheel torque in the example above activates the various motors which are part of the sun and planetary gear set. This method is shown in Figure B. The sun and planetary gears in relation to the different motors are shown in Figure A)
Figure B - Martin; Fig. 5
in response to determining the gear lash crossover, reducing torque output of the first electric machine at a rate and decreasing intake manifold pressure of the engine and/or retarding spark timing of the engine; and (Martin: Col. 8, lines 59 – 64: “If the desired powertrain torque may be met by only the traction motor and the turbine engine, the answer is yes and method 500 proceeds to 512. Otherwise, the answer is no and method 500 proceeds to 514.”; Col. 9, lines 14 – 17: “At 514, method 500 starts and activates the piston engine. The piston engine is combusting air and fuel when activated. Further, the engine may provide positive torque to the powertrain when activated.”; Col. 4, line 66 – Col. 5, line 8: “Air flow through engine 10 begins at intake 42 and proceeds to compressor 162. Air exits compressor 162 entering boost chamber 46 before proceeding to intake manifold 44. The air then flows though cylinders 30 before exiting as exhaust gas after participating in combustion. Exhaust gases enter exhaust manifold 48 before proceeding to turbine 164. Exhaust gases exit turbine 164 and enter emissions device 70 before being released to atmosphere. Thus, intake 42 is located upstream of emissions device 70 based on a direction of flow through engine 10.”,
Supplemental Note: as seen in Figure B, the piston engine is activated while the traction motor (electric motor) is not, thus reducing the output of the first electric machine. The intake manifold pressure is known by one of ordinary art to decrease when the engine turns on as the engine is pulling air out of the intake faster, thus dropping pressure of the intake manifold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Pettersson with the teachings of Martin with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would find the power-split transmission system as taught by Martin to be a simple substitution with the vehicle system of Pettersson. Pettersson teaches an engine connected to a fly wheel and ring gear via crankshaft while a starter is connected to the pinion gears connected to the ring gear (Pettersson: lines 98 - 106). The configuration of Martin’s planetary gear set of also having a piston engine connected to a fly wheel while the electric motors/generators are connected to the sun gears provide a simple substitution with the power-split system of Pettersson. For example, both of the systems can be interchanged between the vehicles of Martin and Pettersson and they can both still connect to the same sources to fundamentally perform the same function. The power split systems as taught by Martin and Pettersson are of the same type which are used for configuring hybrid vehicles known to one of ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, the ability to allow the generator, traction motor and piston engine to both be utilized when the driver’s desired torque is greater than what a single motor can provide is obvious to try as it allows for the vehicle to be more responsive to the driver’s power demand. Pettersson already teaches that the engine is to provide the desired power of the user while the ISG provides the remaining power, thus it would be obvious to one with knowledge in the art to also get the ISG to provide the desired power as taught by Martin. Similarly, Martin also teaches the ability of just utilizing the power from the engine if the traction motor and turbine cannot handle the driver’s desired torque. This would also be obvious to try to implement with the vehicle of Pettersson by one of ordinary skill in the art as if the electric motor is unable to provide sufficient power, the vehicle responsiveness decreases. If the piston engine is able to provide the desired power, it should be utilized as taught by Martin, to increase the efficiency of the vehicle by meeting the driver’s desired torque.
Regarding claim 2, Pettersson, as modified, does not teach where reducing the torque output of the first electric machine includes reducing the torque output towards zero.
Martin teaches where reducing the torque output of the first electric machine includes reducing the torque output towards zero (Martin: Col. 8, lines 59 – 64: “If the desired powertrain torque may be met by only the traction motor and the turbine engine, the answer is yes and method 500 proceeds to 512. Otherwise, the answer is no and method 500 proceeds to 514.”; Col. 9, lines 14 – 17: “At 514, method 500 starts and activates the piston engine. The piston engine is combusting air and fuel when activated. Further, the engine may provide positive torque to the powertrain when activated.”,
Supplemental Note: as seen in Figure B, the piston engine is activated while the traction motor (electric motor) is not, thus reducing the output of the first electric machine. The intake manifold pressure is known by one of ordinary art to decrease when the engine turns on as the engine is pulling air out of the intake faster, thus dropping pressure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Pettersson with the teachings of Martin with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 5, Pettersson, as modified, teaches where reducing torque output of the first electric machine includes adjusting torque output of the first electric machine from a positive torque to a negative torque (Pettersson: lines 309 – 319: “In response to a request to decelerate the vehicle 225 and provide regenerative braking, the vehicle system controller may provide negative desired wheel power (eg, desired or requested driveline wheel power) based on vehicle speed and brake pedal position. The vehicle system controller 255 then allocates a portion of the negative desired wheel power to the ISG 240 and the engine 10. The vehicle system controller may also allocate a portion of the requested braking power to the friction brakes 218 (eg, required friction brake wheel power). In addition, the vehicle system controller may notify the transmission controller 254 that the vehicle is in the regenerative braking mode, so that the transmission controller 254 shifts the gear 211 based on the unique shift rule to improve the regeneration efficiency. The engine 10 and the ISG 240 can supply negative power to the transmission input shaft 270, but the negative power provided by the ISG 240 and the engine 10 can be limited by the transmission controller 254, which outputs the transmission input shaft negative power limit (for example, no The threshold that should be exceeded).”).
Regarding claim 6, Pettersson, as modified, teaches further comprising charging a battery via the first electric machine in response to transferring torque from the engine to the first electric machine (Pettersson: lines 252 – 253: “The ISG 240 may be operated to provide power to the powertrain system 200 or convert the powertrain system power into electric energy for storage in the electric energy storage device 275 in a regenerative mode.”; lines 316 – 325: “The engine 10 and the ISG 240 can supply negative power to the transmission input shaft 270, but the negative power provided by the ISG 240 and the engine 10 can be limited by the transmission controller 254, which outputs the transmission input shaft negative power limit (for example, no The threshold that should be exceeded). In addition, the negative power of the ISG 240 may be limited by the vehicle system controller 255 or the motor controller 252 based on the operating conditions of the electrical energy storage device 275 (for example, restricted to less than the threshold negative threshold power). Any portion of the desired negative wheel power that cannot be provided by the ISG 240 due to transmission or ISG limits can be allocated to the engine 10 and/or the friction brake 218 so that the negative power (e.g., absorbed by the engine 10 and the ISG 240 via the friction brake 218) Power) to provide the desired wheel power.”).
Regarding claim 8, Pettersson teaches a system, comprising:
an internal combustion engine; (Pettersson: line 78: “This description relates to operating a hybrid vehicle that includes an engine”; lines 92 – 93: “Referring to FIG. 1, an internal combustion engine 10 is controlled by an electronic engine controller 12, and the internal combustion engine includes a plurality of cylinders”)
… a controller including executable instructions stored in non-transitory memory that cause the controller to (Pettersson: lines 142 – 144)
rotate the internal combustion engine via the first electric machine to start the internal combustion engine, and (Pettersson: lines 265 – 272).
In sum, Pettersson teaches a system, comprising: an internal combustion engine; a controller including executable instructions stored in non-transitory memory that cause the controller to rotate the internal combustion engine via the first electric machine to start the internal combustion engine. Pettersson however does not teach a power split transmission coupled to the internal combustion engine, the power split transmission including a first electric machine, a second electric machine, a sun gear, a planetary carrier gear set, and a ring gear, where the first electric machine comprises a generator and the second electric machine comprises a motor; and additional executable instructions to; determine a gear lash crossover between the sun gear and the carrier based on a difference in rotational speeds of gears in the power split transmission; in response to determining the gear lash crossover, reduce torque output of the first electric machine at a rate and decreasing intake manifold pressure of the engine and/or retarding spark timing of the engine.
Martin teaches a power split transmission coupled to the internal combustion engine, the power split transmission including a first electric machine, a second electric machine, (Martin: Abstract; Col. 5, lines 54 – 62)
a sun gear, a planetary carrier gear set, and a ring gear, where the first electric machine comprises a generator and the second electric machine comprises a motor; and (Martin: Col. 5, lines 48 – 53; Col. 5, lines 54 – 62,
Supplemental Note: please see the gear configuration as shown in Figure A)
additional executable instructions to;
determine a gear lash crossover between the sun gear and the carrier based on a difference in rotational speeds of gears in the power split transmission; (Martin: Col. 9, lines 19 – 33; Col. 9, lines 49 – 59,
Supplemental Note: when the driver applies the accelerator pedal, it changes the current operating condition thus interpreted as a lash crossing. The amount of desired wheel torque in the example above activates the various motors which are part of the sun and planetary gear set. This method is shown in Figure B. The sun and planetary gears in relation to the different motors are shown in Figure A)
in response to determining the gear lash crossover, reduce torque output of the first electric machine at a rate and decreasing intake manifold pressure of the engine and/or retarding spark timing of the engine (Martin: Col. 8, lines 59 – 64; Col. 9, lines 14 – 17; Col. 4, line 66 – Col. 5, line 8,
Supplemental Note: as seen in Figure B, the piston engine is activated while the traction motor (electric motor) is not, thus reducing the output of the first electric machine. The intake manifold pressure is known by one of ordinary art to decrease when the engine turns on as the engine is pulling air out of the intake faster, thus dropping pressure of the intake manifold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Pettersson with the teachings of Martin with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 9, Pettersson, as modified, teaches further comprising additional instructions that cause the controller to initiate combustion in the internal combustion engine (Pettersson: lines 158 – 168: “The controller 12 can also receive input from the man/machine interface 11. The request to start or stop the engine or the vehicle may be generated via a human and input to the man/machine interface 11. The human/machine interface 11 may be a touch screen display, buttons, key switches or other known devices. During operation, each cylinder in engine 10 typically undergoes a four-stroke cycle: the cycle includes an intake stroke, a compression stroke, an expansion stroke, and an exhaust stroke. During the intake stroke, generally speaking, the exhaust valve 54 closes and the intake valve 52 opens. Air is introduced into the combustion chamber 30 via the intake manifold 44, and the piston 36 moves to the bottom of the cylinder to increase the volume in the combustion chamber 30. The position where the piston 36 is near the bottom of the cylinder and at the end of its stroke (for example, when the combustion chamber 30 is at its maximum volume) is generally referred to as bottom dead center (BDC) by those skilled in the art.”).
Regarding claim 10, Pettersson, as modified, teaches further comprising additional instructions that cause the controller to retard spark timing of the internal combustion engine and (Pettersson: lines 496 – 502: “At 558, method 500 supplies the amount of driveline power requested by the driver via the engine or engine and electric machine. In one example, the method 500 divides the amount of driveline power requested by the driver into engine power and motor power. The engine is commanded to provide the first portion of the power requested by the driver by adjusting the amount of throttle opening, fuel injection timing, spark timing, and cam timing. The motor (eg, ISG 240) is commanded to provide the second portion of the power requested by the driver by adjusting the amount of current flowing to the ISG. The engine power plus the ISG power equals the driveline power requested by the driver. Method 500 proceeds to exit.”,
Supplemental Note: the engine operates at a spark timing at a minimum of the requested driveline power from the user. Anything above that power is supplied by the ISG)
operate the internal combustion engine with a throttle of the internal combustion engine fully closed during starting of the internal combustion engine (Pettersson: lines 170 – 175: “During the compression stroke, intake valve 52 and exhaust valve 54 are closed. The piston 36 moves toward the cylinder head to compress the air in the combustion chamber 30. The point where the piston 36 is at the end of its stroke and closest to the cylinder head (for example, when the combustion chamber 30 is at its minimum volume) is commonly referred to by those skilled in the art as top dead center (TDC). In a process called injection hereinafter, fuel is introduced into the combustion chamber. In a process referred to below as ignition, the injected fuel is ignited by a known ignition device such as a spark plug 92, thereby causing combustion.”,
Supplemental Note: the intake valve is interpreted as the throttle as it is known to one with knowledge in the art that the throttle intakes air within the engine. Therefore, the combustion is performed when the intake valve is closed).
Claims 3, 4, 7 and 11 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pettersson et al. (CN111692033A), in view of Martin et al. (US 9862262 B2) and further in view of Pursifull et al. (US 20110288713 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Pettersson, as modified, does not teach where combusting fuel in the engine includes operating the engine with spark timing retarded from minimum spark advance for a maximum torque generated at a particular engine speed and load.
Pursifull teaches where combusting fuel in the engine includes operating the engine with spark timing retarded from minimum spark advance for a maximum torque generated at a particular engine speed and load (Pursifull: Paragraph 0035: “with nominally advanced spark timing, the spark timing of cylinders with overly advanced timing can also be adjusted responsive to engine speed feedback to enable rapid increases in engine torque to maintain accurate idle engine speed control, while providing excess heat to the cabin at zero fuel cost. For example, when operating in this mode, the spark timing can be retarded with respect to the nominal spark timing to enable a rapid increase in engine speed. That is, if there is a torque disturbance that reduces engine speed, spark timing can be retarded to increase engine torque and counteract the reduced speed. Further, in an assist mode, a motor torque output can be increased to counteract the reduced speed. By the examples presented above, the likelihood of stalling is substantially reduced.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Pettersson with the teachings of Pursifull with a reasonable expectation of success. Both Pettersson and Pursifull teach the ability to adjust the spark timing in which Pursifull specifies teaching to adjust the spark timing depending on the required speed and load. Pettersson teaches a similar method of which the spark timing is adjusted depending on the power requested by the driver (Pettersson: lines 496 – 502) and thus to one with knowledge in the art would be combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. For example, depending on the engine load required, both Pursifull and Pettersson teach the ability to adjust the spark timing as to adjust the amount of power supplied by the engine.
Regarding claim 4, Pettersson, as modified, teaches where combusting fuel in the engine includes fully closing a throttle of the engine (Pettersson: lines 170 – 175: “During the compression stroke, intake valve 52 and exhaust valve 54 are closed. The piston 36 moves toward the cylinder head to compress the air in the combustion chamber 30. The point where the piston 36 is at the end of its stroke and closest to the cylinder head (for example, when the combustion chamber 30 is at its minimum volume) is commonly referred to by those skilled in the art as top dead center (TDC). In a process called injection hereinafter, fuel is introduced into the combustion chamber. In a process referred to below as ignition, the injected fuel is ignited by a known ignition device such as a spark plug 92, thereby causing combustion.”,
Supplemental Note: the intake valve is interpreted as the throttle as it is known to one with knowledge in the art that the throttle intakes air within the engine. Therefore, the combustion is performed when the intake valve is closed).
Regarding claim 7, Pettersson, as modified, does not teach further comprising advancing spark timing in response to transferring torque from the engine to the first electric machine.
Pursifull teaches further comprising advancing spark timing in response to transferring torque from the engine to the first electric machine (Pursifull: Paragraph 0005: “The above issues are addressed by a method for controlling a vehicle engine having a plurality of cylinders and an electric motor configured to rotate the engine, comprising: during engine idling, advancing spark timing of at least one cylinder to substantially before a peak torque timing, and adjusting motor torque output of the electric motor to maintain engine idle speed.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Pettersson with the teachings of Pursifull with a reasonable expectation of success. Pursifull teaches the ability to advance the spark timing of the engine when the vehicle is idle to allow the torque to be transferred from the engine to the electric motor. One with knowledge in the art would find combining this method with Pettersson as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. For example, Pettersson teaches the ability of the engine to provide the desired power demanded by the driver while the rest of the power is supplied by the electric motor (Pettersson: lines 296 – 300) thus in idle condition when there is no desired power demand, the ability to advance the spark timing of the engine so the electric motor can maintain the engine idle speed is obtaining predictable results.
Regarding claim 11, Pettersson, as modified, does not teach further comprising additional instructions to adjust control parameters of a proportional integral derivative controller to a first set of values during engine starting.
Pursifull teaches further comprising additional instructions to adjust control parameters of a proportional integral derivative controller (Pursifull: Paragraph 0051: “The above example modes may also have various alternative implementations. In one example, all cylinders of the engine may be operated about a nominal timing as set by the various modes. For example, in mode 2, each cylinder may be operated about the same nominally advanced spark timing, with each cylinder's spark timing being adjusted responsive to the current desired and actual engine speed according to a control routine, such as a PID controller as described herein below.”)
to a first set of values during engine starting (Pursifull: Paragraph 0002: “spark timing may be retarded from MBT during initial starts to first heat an exhaust catalyst, and then once the catalyst is heated, spark timing may be advanced to before MBT to more rapidly heat engine coolant and/or lubricants to thereby provide increased engine efficiency.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Pettersson with the teachings of Pursifull with a reasonable expectation of success. A PID controller as utilized by Pursifull is a simple substitution with the controller already utilized by Pettersson. PID controllers are known to one with knowledge in the art to provide a precise stable control of the vehicle speed and engine control. The controllers utilized by Pettersson teach the ability to adjust the engine and electric motor parameters in regard to speed, torque, spark timing, throttle control, etc., therefore applying a PID controller would be nothing more than a simple substitution. Furthermore Pursifull teaches the ability to adjusts the spark timing of the engine which is also taught to be accomplished by the controller of Pettersson (Pettersson: lines 158 – 168 and lines 496 – 502), therefore combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 12, Pettersson, as modified, does not teach further comprising additional instructions adjust control parameters of the proportional integral derivative controller to a second set of values in response the speed of the internal combustion engine exceeding the threshold speed.
Pursifull teaches further comprising additional instructions adjust control parameters of the proportional integral derivative controller (Pursifull: Paragraph 0051: “The above example modes may also have various alternative implementations. In one example, all cylinders of the engine may be operated about a nominal timing as set by the various modes. For example, in mode 2, each cylinder may be operated about the same nominally advanced spark timing, with each cylinder's spark timing being adjusted responsive to the current desired and actual engine speed according to a control routine, such as a PID controller as described herein below.”)
to a second set of values in response the speed of the internal combustion engine exceeding the threshold speed (Pursifull: Paragraph 0062: “Once the nominal spark timing is achieved at 516, the desired idle engine speed N.sub.O and the actual idle engine speed N.sub.E are determined 518, 520 and the next spark timing adjustment based on these values, to achieve desired idle engine speed N.sub.O is determined at 522. The desired idle speed may be in a range of approximately 500-1300 RPM in one example. The spark adjustment is specifically determined as described at step 532. That is, in mode 1, spark timing is nominally retarded relative to MBT; thus, if N.sub.E is greater than N.sub.O as determined at 532, as may occur if a load is removed from the engine, an adjustment in spark timing that further retards the timing relative to the peak torque timing is determined at 534.”,
Supplemental Note: as shown in Figure C, if the actual engine speed is higher than the desired speed, the PID is able to adjust values in response. In this example it teaches to adjust the spark timing).
Figure C - Pursifull; Fig. 5
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Pettersson with the teachings of Pursifull with a reasonable expectation of success. In regard to the PID controller of Pursifull being combined with Pettersson, please refer to the rejection of claim 11. Furthermore, in regard to adjusting the spark timing of the engine in response to the engine speed being higher than the idle speed would be a use of known techniques to improve similar devices. As cited above by Pursifull and taught by Pettersson, the spark timing is one of the engine variables that is able to adjust the engine speed and torque output. In an example in which the actual engine speed is higher than the desired speed, the adjustment to the spark timing to also adjust the engine speed is taught by both Pursifull and Pettersson, thus the use of a known technique (adjusting spark timing) to improve similar devices (adjusting engine speed and torque to the desired level).
Regarding claim 13, Pettersson, as modified, does not teach further comprising additional instructions to adjust control parameters of the proportional integral derivative controller.
Pursifull teaches further comprising additional instructions to adjust control parameters of the proportional integral derivative controller (Pursifull: Paragraph 0051: “The above example modes may also have various alternative implementations. In one example, all cylinders of the engine may be operated about a nominal timing as set by the various modes. For example, in mode 2, each cylinder may be operated about the same nominally advanced spark timing, with each cylinder's spark timing being adjusted responsive to the current desired and actual engine speed according to a control routine, such as a PID controller as described herein below.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Pettersson with the teachings of Pursifull with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 11 as both state the same functional language and thus rejected under the same pretenses. Pettersson in view of Pursifull still do not teach to a third set of values in response the lash crossing between the sun gear and the planetary carrier gear set.
Martin teaches to a third set of values in response the lash crossing between the sun gear and the planetary carrier gear set (Martin: Col. 8, lines 4 – 23: “At 502, method 500 determines vehicle operating conditions. Vehicle operating conditions may include but are not limited to vehicle speed, driver demand torque, battery state of charge, engine speed, engine load, engine fuel amount, and engine air amount, traction motor speed, first generator speed, and second generator speed. Vehicle operating conditions may be determined via a controller receiving data from vehicle sensors and actuators. Method 500 proceeds to 504 after operating conditions are determined. At 504, method 500 determines a desired powertrain torque. In one example, the desired powertrain torque is a desire wheel torque. Further, the desired powertrain torque may include torque to operate one or two generators to charge the electric energy storage device. In other examples, the desired powertrain torque is an amount of torque output of the planetary gear set (e.g., 201A or 201B as shown in FIGS. 2A and 2B). The desired powertrain torque may be based off of a driver demand torque, and the driver demand torque is based on accelerator pedal position and vehicle speed.”; Col. 9, lines 19 – 33: “At 516, method 500 judges if the desired powertrain torque may be met by only the traction motor and the piston engine. The traction motor torque may be a function of battery state of charge and traction motor speed while the powertrain torque may be a function of an amount of air and fuel supplied to the turbine engine. In one example, battery state of charge and traction motor speed are used to index a table or function that outputs a value of maximum traction motor torque given the present traction motor speed and battery state of charge. Similarly, a maximum air flow and fuel flow for the present engine speed may be used to index a table or function that outputs maximum piston engine torque. If the desired powertrain torque may be met by only the traction motor and the piston engine, the answer is yes and method 500 proceeds to 520. Otherwise, the answer is no and method 500 proceeds to 518.”; Col. 9, lines 49 – 59: “At 518, method 500 activates the traction motor and the turbine engine so that the piston engine, turbine engine, and traction motor are active. The turbine engine, piston engine, and traction motor each provide at least a portion of the desired powertrain torque. The piston engine torque, turbine engine torque, and traction motor torque add to the desired powertrain torque. The piston engine torque and turbine engine torque are input to the planetary gear set and then combined with the traction motor torque to provide the desired powertrain torque. Method 500 proceeds to exit after the desired powertrain torque is provided.”,
Supplemental Note: when the driver applies the accelerator pedal, it changes the current operating condition thus interpreted as a lash crossing. The amount of desired wheel torque in the example above activates the various motors which are part of the sun and planetary gear set. This method is shown below in Figure B. The sun and planetary gears in relation to the different motors are shown below in Figure A ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Pettersson with the teachings of Martin with a reasonable expectation of success. Martin utilizes the planetary and sun gear system to coordinate power from the electric generator, traction motor and traction engine which are able to apply all of these components in regard to the desired power from the user being greater than them providing it individually. One with knowledge in the art would find this teaching to be obvious to try to implement with the vehicle of Pettersson. As stated in claim 1, planetary gears and sun gears are known to one with knowledge in the art to be known to be used for hybrid vehicles as the planetary carrier gear set connects to the ICE motors while the sun gears are dictated to the electric motors thus one with knowledge in the art would find this gear set to be simple substitution with the hybrid structure of vehicle taught by Pettersson. Furthermore, the ability to allow the generator, traction motor and traction engine to both be utilized when the desired power from the user is greater than a single motor can provide is obvious to try as it allows for the vehicle to be more responsive to the driver’s power demand. Pettersson already teaches that the engine is to provide the desired power of the user while the ISG provides the remaining power, thus it would be obvious to one with knowledge in the art to also get the ISG to provide the desired power as taught by Martin.
Regarding claim 14, Pettersson, as modified, teaches a controller that adjusts torque output of the first electric machine (Pettersson: lines 309 – 325: “the vehicle system controller may provide negative desired wheel power (eg, desired or requested driveline wheel power) based on vehicle speed and brake pedal position. The vehicle system controller 255 then allocates a portion of the negative desired wheel power to the ISG 240 and the engine 10. The vehicle system controller may also allocate a portion of the requested braking power to the friction brakes 218 (eg, required friction brake wheel power). In addition, the vehicle system controller may notify the transmission controller 254 that the vehicle is in the regenerative braking mode, so that the transmission controller 254 shifts the gear 211 based on the unique shift rule to improve the regeneration efficiency. The engine 10 and the ISG 240 can supply negative power to the transmission input shaft 270, but the negative power provided by the ISG 240 and the engine 10 can be limited by the transmission controller 254, which outputs the transmission input shaft negative power limit (for example, no The threshold that should be exceeded). In addition, the negative power of the ISG 240 may be limited by the vehicle system controller 255 or the motor controller 252 based on the operating conditions of the electrical energy storage device 275 (for example, restricted to less than the threshold negative threshold power). Any portion of the desired negative wheel power that cannot be provided by the ISG 240 due to transmission or ISG limits can be allocated to the engine 10 and/or the friction brake 218 so that the negative power (e.g., absorbed by the engine 10 and the ISG 240 via the friction brake 218) Power) to provide the desired wheel power.”,
Supplemental Note: in the example above, when the vehicle speed is too high, the torque from the ISG can be stopped and additional torque from the engine can be used to charge the battery).
In sum, Pettersson teaches a controller that adjusts torque output of the first electric machine. Pettersson however does not teach where the controller is a proportional integral derivative controller.
Pursifull teaches where the proportional integral derivative controller (Pursifull: Paragraph 0051: “The above example modes may also have various alternative implementations. In one example, all cylinders of the engine may be operated about a nominal timing as set by the various modes. For example, in mode 2, each cylinder may be operated about the same nominally advanced spark timing, with each cylinder's spark timing being adjusted responsive to the current desired and actual engine speed according to a control routine, such as a PID controller as described herein below.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Pettersson with the teachings of Pursifull with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 11 as both state the same functional language and thus rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 15, Pettersson, as modified, teaches further comprising additional instructions to propel a vehicle via a second electric machine of the two electric machines (Pettersson: lines 44 – 47: “This manual can provide several advantages. Specifically, the method can improve engine starting via an integrated starter/generator. In addition, the method can reduce system cost by starting the engine via an integrated starter/generator without having to use a starter motor. In addition, the method can reduce driveline noise and vibration when the engine is started via the integrated starter/generator rotation.”).
Regarding claim 16, Pettersson teaches a method, comprising: (Pettersson: lines 14 – 15)
… that operates with a third group of control parameters in response to the gear lash crossing having occurred (Pettersson: lines 309 – 325: “the vehicle system controller may provide negative desired wheel power (eg, desired or requested driveline wheel power) based on vehicle speed and brake pedal position. The vehicle system controller 255 then allocates a portion of the negative desired wheel power to the ISG 240 and the engine 10. The vehicle system controller may also allocate a portion of the requested braking power to the friction brakes 218 (eg, required friction brake wheel power). In addition, the vehicle system controller may notify the transmission controller 254 that the vehicle is in the regenerative braking mode, so that the transmission controller 254 shifts the gear 211 based on the unique shift rule to improve the regeneration efficiency. The engine 10 and the ISG 240 can supply negative power to the transmission input shaft 270, but the negative power provided by the ISG 240 and the engine 10 can be limited by the transmission controller 254, which outputs the transmission input shaft negative power limit (for example, no The threshold that should be exceeded). In addition, the negative power of the ISG 240 may be limited by the vehicle system controller 255 or the motor controller 252 based on the operating conditions of the electrical energy storage device 275 (for example, restricted to less than the threshold negative threshold power). Any portion of the desired negative wheel power that cannot be provided by the ISG 240 due to transmission or ISG limits can be allocated to the engine 10 and/or the friction brake 218 so that the negative power (e.g., absorbed by the engine 10 and the ISG 240 via the friction brake 218) Power) to provide the desired wheel power.”,
Supplemental Note: in the example above, when the vehicle speed is too high, the torque from the ISG can be stopped and additional torque from the engine can be used to charge the battery).
In sum, Pettersson teaches a method, comprising: that operates with a third group of control parameters in response to the gear lash crossing having occurred. Pettersson however does not teach operating an engine with a power split transmission coupled thereto, where the power split transmission includes a first electric machine and a second electric machine, a sun gear, a planetary carrier gear set, and a ring gear, including: determining a gear lash crossover between the sun gear and the carrier based on a difference in rotational speeds of gears in the power split transmission; in response to determining the gear lash crossover, reducing torque of the first electric machine and decreasing intake manifold pressure of the engine and/or retarding spark timing of the engine.
Martin teaches operating an engine with a power split transmission coupled thereto, where the power split transmission includes a first electric machine and a second electric machine, (Martin: Abstract; Col. 5, lines 54 – 62)
a sun gear, a planetary carrier gear set, and a ring gear, including: (Martin: Col. 5, lines 48 – 53; Col. 5, lines 54 – 62,
Supplemental Note: please see the gear configuration as shown in Figure A)
… determining a gear lash crossover between the sun gear and the carrier based on a difference in rotational speeds of gears in the power split transmission; (Martin: Col. 9, lines 19 – 33; Col. 9, lines 49 – 59,
Supplemental Note: when the driver applies the accelerator pedal, it changes the current operating condition thus interpreted as a lash crossing. The amount of desired wheel torque in the example above activates the various motors which are part of the sun and planetary gear set. This method is shown in Figure B. The sun and planetary gears in relation to the different motors are shown in Figure A).
in response to determining the gear lash crossover, reducing torque of the first electric machine and decreasing intake manifold pressure of the engine and/or retarding spark timing of the engine; and (Martin: Col. 8, lines 59 – 64; Col. 9, lines 14 – 17; Col. 4, line 66 – Col. 5, line 8: “,
Supplemental Note: as seen in Figure B, the piston engine is activated while the traction motor (electric motor) is not, thus reducing the output of the first electric machine. The intake manifold pressure is known by one of ordinary art to decrease when the engine turns on as the engine is pulling air out of the intake faster, thus dropping pressure of the intake manifold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Pettersson with the teachings of Martin with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses. Pettersson in view of Martin however still do not teach via a controller, rotating the engine via adjusting torque of the first electric machine based on an output of a proportionate integral derivative (PID) controller that operates with a first group of control parameters in response to an engine start request; adjusting torque of the first electric machine based on another output of the PID controller.
Pursifull teaches via a controller, rotating the engine via adjusting torque of the first electric machine based on an output of a proportionate integral derivative (PID) controller (Pursifull: Paragraph 0051: “The above example modes may also have various alternative implementations. In one example, all cylinders of the engine may be operated about a nominal timing as set by the various modes. For example, in mode 2, each cylinder may be operated about the same nominally advanced spark timing, with each cylinder's spark timing being adjusted responsive to the current desired and actual engine speed according to a control routine, such as a PID controller as described herein below.”)
that operates with a first group of control parameters in response to an engine start request; (Pursifull: Paragraph 0001: “The present application relates to a system for controlling idle engine speed control after a cold start in a hybrid vehicle.”; Paragraph 0002: “spark timing may be retarded from MBT during initial starts to first heat an exhaust catalyst, and then once the catalyst is heated, spark timing may be advanced to before MBT to more rapidly heat engine coolant and/or lubricants to thereby provide increased engine efficiency.”; Paragraph 0005: “The above issues are addressed by a method for controlling a vehicle engine having a plurality of cylinders and an electric motor configured to rotate the engine, comprising: during engine idling, advancing spark timing of at least one cylinder to substantially before a peak torque timing, and adjusting motor torque output of the electric motor to maintain engine idle speed.”)
… adjusting torque of the first electric machine based on another output of the PID controller (Pursifull: Paragraph 0051: “The above example modes may also have various alternative implementations. In one example, all cylinders of the engine may be operated about a nominal timing as set by the various modes. For example, in mode 2, each cylinder may be operated about the same nominally advanced spark timing, with each cylinder's spark timing being adjusted responsive to the current desired and actual engine speed according to a control routine, such as a PID controller as described herein below.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Pettersson with the teachings of Pursifull with a reasonable expectation of success. In regard to the PID controller of Pursifull being combined with Pettersson, please refer to the rejection of claim 11. Furthermore, in regard to adjusting the control parameters regarding the engine or the electric machine as taught by Pursifull would be combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results to one with knowledge in the art. Pettersson teaches the ability of the vehicle controller to adjust the control parameters of the engine and the ISG in regards to starting and engine and the desired torque applied by the driver. Both are utilizing controllers to adjust the torque applied to each of the hybrid motors, thus yielding in predicable results.
Claims 17 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pettersson et al. (CN111692033A), in view of Martin et al. (US 9862262 B2), Pursifull et al. (US 20110288713 A1) and further in view of Bhavsar et al. (US 7240749 B2).
Regarding claim 17, Pettersson, as modified, does not teach where the second group of control parameters operate to reduce a rate of torque change of the electric machine.
Bhavsar teaches where the second group of control parameters operate to reduce a rate of torque change of the first electric machine (Bhavsar: Col. 5, line 54 – Col. 6, line 11: “controller 24 receives the desired or demanded torque in functional block or step 52. Controller 24 then determines whether electrical power is available (e.g., within battery 15) to allow motor 14 to provide torque to the drive train 17, as illustrated in functional block or step 54. In one non-limiting embodiment, controller 24 determines whether electrical power is available by estimating the amount of charge remaining within battery 15 and comparing the measured amount or value to a predetermined value stored within controller 18. If electrical power is not available, controller 24 proceeds to functional block or step 56, otherwise controller 24 proceeds to functional block or step 58. In step 56, controller 24 determines whether the requested torque exceeds a "VDE mode" threshold torque value. If the requested torque exceeds the "VDE mode" threshold value, controller 24 "partitions" or allocates all of the requested torque to engine 16 (e.g., the "desired motor torque" is set to zero), and causes engine 16 to run in "ICE mode", as illustrated in functional block or step 60. Particularly, controller 24 sends a signal to engine 16 which is effective to activate all of the cylinders of the engine 16 and to deactivate the "variable displacement" function of engine 16. Thus, when operating in "ICE mode", engine 16 runs on a full complement of cylinders (e.g., on ten of ten cylinders).”,
Supplemental Note: the required torque is higher than what the electric motor can provide and therefore the vehicle operates solely on the engine to provide the torque).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Pettersson with the teachings of Bhavsar with a reasonable expectation of success. Both Bhavsar and Pettersson teach hybrid vehicles that differ in how the torque outputs of the electric motor and engine adjust depending on the circumstance (i.e. desired load by user). Pettersson teaches that once the driver has requested power, the engine is to provide the requested power while the electric motor provides additional power. One with knowledge in the art would find that the method of Bhavsar of only utilizing the engine to provide the requested power while the electric motor does not provide any as a use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way. For example, both arts teach the ability of the engine to provide the requested power while the electric motor does not, thus applying Bhavsar teaching of not utilizing the electric motor would reduce the load on the electric motor as the requested power demand is already met by the engine.
Regarding claim 18, Pettersson, as modified, teaches further comprising combusting fuel in the engine and (Pettersson: lines 158 – 168: “The controller 12 can also receive input from the man/machine interface 11. The request to start or stop the engine or the vehicle may be generated via a human and input to the man/machine interface 11. The human/machine interface 11 may be a touch screen display, buttons, key switches or other known devices. During operation, each cylinder in engine 10 typically undergoes a four-stroke cycle: the cycle includes an intake stroke, a compression stroke, an expansion stroke, and an exhaust stroke. During the intake stroke, generally speaking, the exhaust valve 54 closes and the intake valve 52 opens. Air is introduced into the combustion chamber 30 via the manifold 44 intake, and the piston 36 moves to the bottom of the cylinder to increase the volume in the combustion chamber 30. The position where the piston 36 is near the bottom of the cylinder and at the end of its stroke (for example, when the combustion chamber 30 is at its maximum volume) is generally referred to as bottom dead center (BDC) by those skilled in the art.”).
In sum, Pettersson teaches comprising combusting fuel in the engine. Pettersson however does not teach operating the engine with spark timing retarded from minimum spark advance for a maximum torque generated at a particular engine speed and load.
Pursifull teaches operating the engine with spark timing retarded from minimum spark advance for a maximum torque generated at a particular engine speed and load (Pursifull: Paragraph 0035: “with nominally advanced spark timing, the spark timing of cylinders with overly advanced timing can also be adjusted responsive to engine speed feedback to enable rapid increases in engine torque to maintain accurate idle engine speed control, while providing excess heat to the cabin at zero fuel cost. For example, when operating in this mode, the spark timing can be retarded with respect to the nominal spark timing to enable a rapid increase in engine speed. That is, if there is a torque disturbance that reduces engine speed, spark timing can be retarded to increase engine torque and counteract the reduced speed. Further, in an assist mode, a motor torque output can be increased to counteract the reduced speed. By the examples presented above, the likelihood of stalling is substantially reduced.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Pettersson with the teachings of Pursifull with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 3 as both state the same functional language and thus rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 19, Pettersson, as modified, teaches where the gear lash crossing is a first gear lash crossing since a most recent engine stop (Pettersson: lines 158 – 160: “The controller 12 can also receive input from the man/machine interface 11. The request to start or stop the engine or the vehicle may be generated via a human and input to the man/machine interface 11. The human/machine interface 11 may be a touch screen display, buttons, key switches or other known devices.”; lines 265 – 272: “The ISG 240 may rotate the turbine 286, which in turn may rotate the pump impeller 285 to start the engine 10 during engine start. When the driveline disconnect clutch 236 is fully closed, the torque converter 206 can double the torque of the ISG 240 to rotate the engine 10. Therefore, the torque of the ISG 240 may be increased via the torque converter 206 to rotate the engine 10 during engine start. When the ISG 240 is rotating to start the engine 10, the TCC 212 can be fully opened, so that the torque of the ISG 240 can be doubled. Alternatively, when the ISG 240 is turning to start the engine 10 to manage the torque transfer to the engine 10, the TCC 212 may be partially opened. During the start of the engine rotation, the ISG 240 can rotate at a higher speed than the engine 10.”,
Supplemental Note: to start the engine, the vehicle is able to start the engine with the use of the ISG. This is performing gear lash crossing as it changing gears from a stopped engine).
Regarding claim 20, Pettersson, as modified, teaches further comprising operating the engine with a fully closed throttle (Pettersson: lines 122 – 129: “In addition, the intake manifold 44 is shown as communicating with the turbocharger compressor 162 and the engine intake 42. In other examples, the compressor 162 may be a supercharger compressor. The shaft 161 mechanically couples the turbocharger turbine 164 to the turbocharger compressor 162. The optional electronic throttle 62 adjusts the position of the throttle plate 64 to control the air flow from the compressor 162 to the intake manifold 44. Because the inlet of the throttle valve 62 is in the booster chamber 45, the pressure in the booster chamber 45 may be referred to as a throttle inlet pressure. The throttle outlet is in the intake manifold 44. In some examples, the throttle 62 and the throttle plate 64 may be positioned between the intake valve 52 and the intake manifold 44 such that the throttle 62 is an intake port throttle.”)
prior to the gear lash crossing occurring (Pettersson: lines 265 – 272: “The ISG 240 may rotate the turbine 286, which in turn may rotate the pump impeller 285 to start the engine 10 during engine start. When the driveline disconnect clutch 236 is fully closed, the torque converter 206 can double the torque of the ISG 240 to rotate the engine 10. Therefore, the torque of the ISG 240 may be increased via the torque converter 206 to rotate the engine 10 during engine start. When the ISG 240 is rotating to start the engine 10, the TCC 212 can be fully opened, so that the torque of the ISG 240 can be doubled. Alternatively, when the ISG 240 is turning to start the engine 10 to manage the torque transfer to the engine 10, the TCC 212 may be partially opened. During the start of the engine rotation, the ISG 240 can rotate at a higher speed than the engine 10.”; lines 162 – 168: “During operation, each cylinder in engine 10 typically undergoes a four-stroke cycle: the cycle includes an intake stroke, a compression stroke, an expansion stroke, and an exhaust stroke. During the intake stroke, generally speaking, the exhaust valve 54 closes and the intake valve 52 opens. Air is introduced into the combustion chamber 30 via the intake manifold 44, and the piston 36 moves to the bottom of the cylinder to increase the volume in the combustion chamber 30. The position where the piston 36 is near the bottom of the cylinder and at the end of its stroke (for example, when the combustion chamber 30 is at its maximum volume) is generally referred to as bottom dead center (BDC) by those skilled in the art.”,
Supplemental Note: the ISG is able to start the engine prior to the engine performing intake as to start the engine).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see section Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 of the REMARKS, filed 06/10/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 prior art rejection of claim 1 – 20 have been fully considered but are not fully persuasive. Applicant states the amended claim limitation of claim 1, similarly recited in claims 8 and 16 stating: “determining a gear lash crossover between the sun gear and the carrier based on a difference in rotational speeds of gears in the power split transmission," and "in response to determining the gear lash crossover, reducing torque output of the first electric machine at a rate and decreasing intake manifold pressure of the engine and/or retarding spark timing of the engine” are not taught in view of the previously used prior art as they do not teach a gear lash crossover. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Martin teaches the ability of a gear lash crossover depending on the driver’s desired torque. An increase in driver torque is known to one of ordinary skill in the art to teach a gear lash crossing as torque of the engine is transitioning from one state to another. Depending on the desired torque, the vehicle system is able to identify which sources (engine, turbine, traction motor) to receive power from. Martin also teaches these sources coupled to a planetary gear system in which rotational speeds of the various gears (ring and sun gears) are directed towards how much torque is being provided to these gears. Based on the increase or decrease of the driver’s desired torque, the amount of torque to apply to the planetary gear set is determined, thus the gear lash crossings are directly related to the difference within the gear’s rational speeds of this planetary system. Therefore the prior art of Martin does teach the ability of a gear lash crossover. Furthermore, Martine also teaches the limitation of “in response to determining the gear lash crossover, reducing torque output of the first electric machine at a rate and decreasing intake manifold pressure of the engine and/or retarding spark timing of the engine”, as it teaches the ability of only powering the vehicle with the piston engine and not the turbine nor the traction motor depending on the driver’s desired torque. This allows for a reduction of torque output from the traction motor if the piston engine is used, which is known to one of ordinary skill in the art to decrease the intake manifold pressure of the engine. For example, as the engine is providing more torque, more air is being pulled out of the intake. This dissipation of air also provides reduction of the pressure within the intake manifold itself. Please refer to section Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 for the corresponding prior art citations and motivation to combine.
Conclusion
/SHIVAM SHARMA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/Erin D Bishop/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665