DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is reply to the Application Number 18/449,127 filed on 12/04/2025.
Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1, 2, 8, 16 and 17 have been amended.
This action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6 and 8 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pettersson et al. (CN111692033A), in view of Liang et al. (US 20150032309 A1), further in view of Bhavsar et al. (US 7240749 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Pettersson teaches a method for starting an engine, (Pettersson: lines 14 – 15: “This specification relates to methods and systems for hybrid vehicles that include an integrated starter/generator for propelling the vehicle and starting the engine.”)
… via a controller, in response to an engine start request rotating (Pettersson: lines 142 – 144: “The controller 12 is shown in FIG. 1 as a conventional microcomputer, which includes: a microprocessor unit 102, an input/output port 104, a read-only memory 106 (for example, a non-transitory memory), a random access memory 108, a keepalive Memory 110 and conventional data bus.”;) (Pettersson: lines 252 – 253: “The ISG 240 may be operated to provide power to the powertrain system 200 or convert the powertrain system power into electric energy for storage in the electric energy storage device 275 in a regenerative mode.”; lines 261 – 263: “The ISG 240 may provide positive or negative power to the powertrain system 200 via acting as a motor or generator as instructed by the motor controller 252.”)
rotating the engine to a speed greater than a threshold speed via transferring torque from the first electric machine through (Pettersson: lines 265 – 272: “The ISG 240 may rotate the turbine 286, which in turn may rotate the pump impeller 285 to start the engine 10 during engine start. When the driveline disconnect clutch 236 is fully closed, the torque converter 206 can double the torque of the ISG 240 to rotate the engine 10. Therefore, the torque of the ISG 240 may be increased via the torque converter 206 to rotate the engine 10 during engine start. When the ISG 240 is rotating to start the engine 10, the TCC 212 can be fully opened, so that the torque of the ISG 240 can be doubled. Alternatively, when the ISG 240 is turning to start the engine 10 to manage the torque transfer to the engine 10, the TCC 212 may be partially opened. During the start of the engine rotation, the ISG 240 can rotate at a higher speed than the engine 10.”; Lines 296 – 300: “In response to the request to accelerate the vehicle 225, the vehicle system controller may obtain the driver demand power or power request from the accelerator pedal or other device. The vehicle system controller 255 then allocates a portion of the requested driver's required power to the engine, and allocates the remaining portion to the ISG. The vehicle system controller 255 requests engine power from the engine controller 12 and requests ISG power from the motor controller 252.”,
Supplemental Note: The ISG is interpreted as the first electric machine and can input up to double the torque to the engine when starting the engine. In the example above, the engine is able to apply the desired power by the driver and the remaining to the ISG controller)
… ceasing to reduce torque output of the first electric machine at the rate in response to transferring torque from the engine to the first electric machine through the sun gear and to the planetary carrier gear set (Pettersson: lines 309 – 325: “the vehicle system controller may provide negative desired wheel power (eg, desired or requested driveline wheel power) based on vehicle speed and brake pedal position. The vehicle system controller 255 then allocates a portion of the negative desired wheel power to the ISG 240 and the engine 10. The vehicle system controller may also allocate a portion of the requested braking power to the friction brakes 218 (eg, required friction brake wheel power). In addition, the vehicle system controller may notify the transmission controller 254 that the vehicle is in the regenerative braking mode, so that the transmission controller 254 shifts the gear 211 based on the unique shift rule to improve the regeneration efficiency. The engine 10 and the ISG 240 can supply negative power to the transmission input shaft 270, but the negative power provided by the ISG 240 and the engine 10 can be limited by the transmission controller 254, which outputs the transmission input shaft negative power limit (for example, no The threshold that should be exceeded). In addition, the negative power of the ISG 240 may be limited by the vehicle system controller 255 or the motor controller 252 based on the operating conditions of the electrical energy storage device 275 (for example, restricted to less than the threshold negative threshold power). Any portion of the desired negative wheel power that cannot be provided by the ISG 240 due to transmission or ISG limits can be allocated to the engine 10 and/or the friction brake 218 so that the negative power (e.g., absorbed by the engine 10 and the ISG 240 via the friction brake 218) Power) to provide the desired wheel power.”,
Supplemental Note: in the example above, when the vehicle speed is too high, the torque from the ISG can be stopped and additional torque from the engine can be used to charge the battery).
In sum, Pettersson teaches a method for starting an engine, via a controller, in response to an engine start request rotating the engine to a speed greater than a threshold speed via transferring torque from the first electric machine through ceasing to reduce torque output of the first electric machine at the rate in response to transferring torque from the engine to the first electric machine through the sun gear and to the planetary carrier gear set. Pettersson however does not teach a power split transmission coupled thereto, where the power split transmission includes a first electric machine and a second electric machine, a sun gear, a planetary carrier gear set, and a ring gear.
Liang teaches with a power split transmission coupled thereto, where the power split transmission includes a first electric machine and a second electric machine, (Liang: Paragraph 0038: “As shown in FIG. 2B, a series HEV configuration may have two electric machines with a different layout from the power split design. The engine is connected to the generator only to generate electricity. The traction motor drives the vehicle all the time using the power provided by the battery and the generator.”: Paragraph 0008: “In a first illustrative embodiment, a vehicle comprises an engine, a damper, an electric machine configured to be selectively mechanically coupled with the engine via the damper, and at least one controller. The controller may be programmed and configured to filter a frequency content of a speed or torque command for the electric machine corresponding to a resonant frequency of the powertrain system including, but not limited to, the interaction between the engine, damper and electric machine. Based on the target speed, the controller may filter a frequency content of the speed or torque command for the electric machine to reduce resonance of the engine, damper and electric machine.”)
a sun gear, a planetary carrier gear set, and a ring gear, including: (Liang: Paragraph 0021: “The disclosed hybrid electric vehicle powertrain has a parallel-series configuration, as shown in FIG. 1. A vehicle system controller 10, a battery 12 and a transaxle 14, together with a motor-generator subsystem, are under control of a control area network (CAN). An engine 16, controlled by module 10, distributes torque through torque input shaft 18 to transmission 14.”; Paragraph 0022: “The transmission 14 includes a planetary gear unit 20, which comprises a ring gear 22, a sun gear 24, and a planetary carrier assembly 26.”)
… the planetary carrier gear set and the sun gear to the engine; and (Liang: Paragraph 0021: “An engine 16, controlled by module 10, distributes torque through torque input shaft 18 to transmission 14.”; Paragraph 0022: “The transmission 14 includes a planetary gear unit 20, which comprises a ring gear 22, a sun gear 24, and a planetary carrier assembly 26. ”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Pettersson with the teachings of Liang with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to try to implement the power-split transmission system as taught by Liang with the vehicle system of Pettersson to reduce vibrations caused to the vehicle by the engine. Pettersson states utilizing the electric motor to start the engine by adjusting the drive train to reduce the noises and vibrations caused on the vehicle by the engine (Pettersson: lines 37 – 42). Liang teaches the ability of utilizing a power-split transmission wherein the vehicle has two electric motors used to reduce the vibrations caused to the vehicle by the engine. Liang teaches filtering out a frequencies of the engine which is causing these vibrations by the use of a damper while the electric motors are powering the vehicle (Liang: Paragraphs 0008 – 0010). This would be obvious to try to combine with the vehicle system of Pettersson as this further reduces vehicle vibrations after the vehicle has been started. This increases the user experience as they are not limited to a vibration reduction only when starting the vehicle but also, for example, when the vehicle is idling. Using the teaching of Liang, the vehicle of Pettersson can now identify frequencies causing vibrations from the engine and allow the electric motors to take the torque load accordingly. Furthermore the configuration of the engine consisting of a sun gear and planetary carrier assembly is merely be a simple substitution with the engine of Pettersson. For example, the transmission for the engine is taught by Liang to consist of all of these components, thus the engine used by Pettersson can be easily substituted with the engine Liang and perform the same function of propelling the vehicle. However neither Pettersson or Liang teach reducing torque output of the first electric machine at a rate in response to engine speed being greater than the threshold speed.
Bhavsar teaches reducing torque output of the first electric machine at a rate in response to engine speed being greater than the threshold speed; and (Bhavsar: Col. 5, line 54 – Col. 6, line 11: “controller 24 receives the desired or demanded torque in functional block or step 52. Controller 24 then determines whether electrical power is available (e.g., within battery 15) to allow motor 14 to provide torque to the drive train 17, as illustrated in functional block or step 54. In one non-limiting embodiment, controller 24 determines whether electrical power is available by estimating the amount of charge remaining within battery 15 and comparing the measured amount or value to a predetermined value stored within controller 18. If electrical power is not available, controller 24 proceeds to functional block or step 56, otherwise controller 24 proceeds to functional block or step 58. In step 56, controller 24 determines whether the requested torque exceeds a "VDE mode" threshold torque value. If the requested torque exceeds the "VDE mode" threshold value, controller 24 "partitions" or allocates all of the requested torque to engine 16 (e.g., the "desired motor torque" is set to zero), and causes engine 16 to run in "ICE mode", as illustrated in functional block or step 60. Particularly, controller 24 sends a signal to engine 16 which is effective to activate all of the cylinders of the engine 16 and to deactivate the "variable displacement" function of engine 16. Thus, when operating in "ICE mode", engine 16 runs on a full complement of cylinders (e.g., on ten of ten cylinders).”,
Supplemental Note: the required torque is higher than what the electric motor can provide and therefore the vehicle operates solely on the engine to provide the torque).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Pettersson with the teachings of Bhavsar with a reasonable expectation of success. Both Bhavsar and Pettersson teach hybrid vehicles that differ in how the torque outputs of the electric motor and engine adjust depending on the circumstance (i.e. desired load by user). Pettersson teaches that once the driver has requested power, the engine is to provide the requested power while the electric motor provides additional power. One with knowledge in the art would find that the method of Bhavsar of only utilizing the engine to provide the requested power while the electric motor does not provide any as a use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way. For example, both arts teach the ability of the engine to provide the requested power while the electric motor does not, thus applying Bhavsar teaching of not utilizing the electric motor would reduce the load on the electric motor as the requested power demand is already met by the engine.
Regarding claim 2, Pettersson, as modified, teaches where the starting further comprising combusting fuel in the engine while the engine is being rotated via the first electric machine (Pettersson: lines 158 – 168: “The controller 12 can also receive input from the man/machine interface 11. The request to start or stop the engine or the vehicle may be generated via a human and input to the man/machine interface 11. The human/machine interface 11 may be a touch screen display, buttons, key switches or other known devices. During operation, each cylinder in engine 10 typically undergoes a four-stroke cycle: the cycle includes an intake stroke, a compression stroke, an expansion stroke, and an exhaust stroke. During the intake stroke, generally speaking, the exhaust valve 54 closes and the intake valve 52 opens. Air is introduced into the combustion chamber 30 via the intake manifold 44, and the piston 36 moves to the bottom of the cylinder to increase the volume in the combustion chamber 30. The position where the piston 36 is near the bottom of the cylinder and at the end of its stroke (for example, when the combustion chamber 30 is at its maximum volume) is generally referred to as bottom dead center (BDC) by those skilled in the art.”; lines 265 – 272: “The ISG 240 may rotate the turbine 286, which in turn may rotate the pump impeller 285 to start the engine 10 during engine start. When the driveline disconnect clutch 236 is fully closed, the torque converter 206 can double the torque of the ISG 240 to rotate the engine 10. Therefore, the torque of the ISG 240 may be increased via the torque converter 206 to rotate the engine 10 during engine start. When the ISG 240 is rotating to start the engine 10, the TCC 212 can be fully opened, so that the torque of the ISG 240 can be doubled. Alternatively, when the ISG 240 is turning to start the engine 10 to manage the torque transfer to the engine 10, the TCC 212 may be partially opened. During the start of the engine rotation, the ISG 240 can rotate at a higher speed than the engine 10.”,
Supplemental Note: the ISG can be used to rotate the engine when starting the vehicle which in turn performs combustion within the engine to start the vehicle).
Regarding claim 5, Pettersson, as modified, teaches where reducing torque output of the first electric machine includes adjusting torque output of the first electric machine from a positive torque to a negative torque (Pettersson: lines 309 – 319: “In response to a request to decelerate the vehicle 225 and provide regenerative braking, the vehicle system controller may provide negative desired wheel power (eg, desired or requested driveline wheel power) based on vehicle speed and brake pedal position. The vehicle system controller 255 then allocates a portion of the negative desired wheel power to the ISG 240 and the engine 10. The vehicle system controller may also allocate a portion of the requested braking power to the friction brakes 218 (eg, required friction brake wheel power). In addition, the vehicle system controller may notify the transmission controller 254 that the vehicle is in the regenerative braking mode, so that the transmission controller 254 shifts the gear 211 based on the unique shift rule to improve the regeneration efficiency. The engine 10 and the ISG 240 can supply negative power to the transmission input shaft 270, but the negative power provided by the ISG 240 and the engine 10 can be limited by the transmission controller 254, which outputs the transmission input shaft negative power limit (for example, no The threshold that should be exceeded).”).
Regarding claim 6, Pettersson, as modified, teaches further comprising charging a battery via the first electric machine in response to transferring torque from the engine to the first electric machine (Pettersson: lines 252 – 253: “The ISG 240 may be operated to provide power to the powertrain system 200 or convert the powertrain system power into electric energy for storage in the electric energy storage device 275 in a regenerative mode.”; lines 316 – 325: “The engine 10 and the ISG 240 can supply negative power to the transmission input shaft 270, but the negative power provided by the ISG 240 and the engine 10 can be limited by the transmission controller 254, which outputs the transmission input shaft negative power limit (for example, no The threshold that should be exceeded). In addition, the negative power of the ISG 240 may be limited by the vehicle system controller 255 or the motor controller 252 based on the operating conditions of the electrical energy storage device 275 (for example, restricted to less than the threshold negative threshold power). Any portion of the desired negative wheel power that cannot be provided by the ISG 240 due to transmission or ISG limits can be allocated to the engine 10 and/or the friction brake 218 so that the negative power (e.g., absorbed by the engine 10 and the ISG 240 via the friction brake 218) Power) to provide the desired wheel power.”).
Regarding claim 8, Pettersson teaches a system, comprising:
an internal combustion engine; (Pettersson: line 78: “This description relates to operating a hybrid vehicle that includes an engine”; lines 92 – 93: “Referring to FIG. 1, an internal combustion engine 10 is controlled by an electronic engine controller 12, and the internal combustion engine includes a plurality of cylinders”)
… a controller including executable instructions stored in non-transitory memory that cause the controller to (Pettersson: lines 142 – 144: “The controller 12 is shown in FIG. 1 as a conventional microcomputer, which includes: a microprocessor unit 102, an input/output port 104, a read-only memory 106 (for example, a non-transitory memory), a random access memory 108, a keepalive Memory 110 and conventional data bus.”)
rotate the internal combustion engine via the first electric machine to start the internal combustion engine, and (Pettersson: lines 265 – 272: “The ISG 240 may rotate the turbine 286, which in turn may rotate the pump impeller 285 to start the engine 10 during engine start. When the driveline disconnect clutch 236 is fully closed, the torque converter 206 can double the torque of the ISG 240 to rotate the engine 10. Therefore, the torque of the ISG 240 may be increased via the torque converter 206 to rotate the engine 10 during engine start. When the ISG 240 is rotating to start the engine 10, the TCC 212 can be fully opened, so that the torque of the ISG 240 can be doubled. Alternatively, when the ISG 240 is turning to start the engine 10 to manage the torque transfer to the engine 10, the TCC 212 may be partially opened. During the start of the engine rotation, the ISG 240 can rotate at a higher speed than the engine 10.”)
… additional instructions to further adjust torque output of the first electric machine in response to lash crossing…during engine starting (Pettersson: lines 265 – 272: “The ISG 240 may rotate the turbine 286, which in turn may rotate the pump impeller 285 to start the engine 10 during engine start. When the driveline disconnect clutch 236 is fully closed, the torque converter 206 can double the torque of the ISG 240 to rotate the engine 10. Therefore, the torque of the ISG 240 may be increased via the torque converter 206 to rotate the engine 10 during engine start. When the ISG 240 is rotating to start the engine 10, the TCC 212 can be fully opened, so that the torque of the ISG 240 can be doubled. Alternatively, when the ISG 240 is turning to start the engine 10 to manage the torque transfer to the engine 10, the TCC 212 may be partially opened. During the start of the engine rotation, the ISG 240 can rotate at a higher speed than the engine 10.”; Lines 296 – 300: “In response to the request to accelerate the vehicle 225, the vehicle system controller may obtain the driver demand power or power request from the accelerator pedal or other device. The vehicle system controller 255 then allocates a portion of the requested driver's required power to the engine, and allocates the remaining portion to the ISG. The vehicle system controller 255 requests engine power from the engine controller 12 and requests ISG power from the motor controller 252.”,
Supplemental Note: lash crossing is interpreted to when the vehicle is changing from one gear to another, in this example when the vehicle is starting and rotating gears to transfer torque to the engine).
In sum, Pettersson teaches a system, comprising: an internal combustion engine; a controller including executable instructions stored in non-transitory memory that cause the controller to rotate the internal combustion engine via a first electric machine of the two electric machines to start the internal combustion engine, and additional instructions to further adjust torque output of the first electric machine in response to lash crossing during engine starting. Pettersson however does not teach a power split transmission coupled to the internal combustion engine, the power split transmission including a first electric machine and a second electric machine, a sun gear, a planetary carrier gear set, and a ring gear, where the first electric machine comprises a generator and the second electric machine comprises a motor.
Liang teaches a power split transmission coupled to the internal combustion engine, the power split transmission including a first electric machine and a second electric machine, (Liang: Paragraph 0038: “As shown in FIG. 2B, a series HEV configuration may have two electric machines with a different layout from the power split design. The engine is connected to the generator only to generate electricity. The traction motor drives the vehicle all the time using the power provided by the battery and the generator.”: Paragraph 0008: “In a first illustrative embodiment, a vehicle comprises an engine, a damper, an electric machine configured to be selectively mechanically coupled with the engine via the damper, and at least one controller. The controller may be programmed and configured to filter a frequency content of a speed or torque command for the electric machine corresponding to a resonant frequency of the powertrain system including, but not limited to, the interaction between the engine, damper and electric machine. Based on the target speed, the controller may filter a frequency content of the speed or torque command for the electric machine to reduce resonance of the engine, damper and electric machine.”)
a sun gear, a planetary carrier gear set, and a ring gear, (Liang: Paragraph 0021: “The disclosed hybrid electric vehicle powertrain has a parallel-series configuration, as shown in FIG. 1. A vehicle system controller 10, a battery 12 and a transaxle 14, together with a motor-generator subsystem, are under control of a control area network (CAN). An engine 16, controlled by module 10, distributes torque through torque input shaft 18 to transmission 14.”; Paragraph 0022: “The transmission 14 includes a planetary gear unit 20, which comprises a ring gear 22, a sun gear 24, and a planetary carrier assembly 26.”)
where the first electric machine comprises a generator and the second electric machine comprises a motor; and (Liang: Paragraph 0038: “As shown in FIG. 2B, a series HEV configuration may have two electric machines with a different layout from the power split design. The engine is connected to the generator only to generate electricity. The traction motor drives the vehicle all the time using the power provided by the battery and the generator.”)
… between the sun gear and the planetary carrier gear set (Liang: Paragraph 0021: “An engine 16, controlled by module 10, distributes torque through torque input shaft 18 to transmission 14.”; Paragraph 0022: “The transmission 14 includes a planetary gear unit 20, which comprises a ring gear 22, a sun gear 24, and a planetary carrier assembly 26. ”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Pettersson with the teachings of Liang with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both state the same functional language and thus rejected under the same pretenses. Pettersson in view of Liang however still do not teach additional executable instructions reduce torque output of the first electric machine at a rate in response to a speed of the internal combustion engine exceeding a threshold speed.
Bhavsar teaches additional executable instructions to reduce torque output of the first electric machine at a rate in response to a speed of the internal combustion engine exceeding a threshold speed, and (Bhavsar: Col. 5, line 54 – Col. 6, line 11: “controller 24 receives the desired or demanded torque in functional block or step 52. Controller 24 then determines whether electrical power is available (e.g., within battery 15) to allow motor 14 to provide torque to the drive train 17, as illustrated in functional block or step 54. In one non-limiting embodiment, controller 24 determines whether electrical power is available by estimating the amount of charge remaining within battery 15 and comparing the measured amount or value to a predetermined value stored within controller 18. If electrical power is not available, controller 24 proceeds to functional block or step 56, otherwise controller 24 proceeds to functional block or step 58. In step 56, controller 24 determines whether the requested torque exceeds a "VDE mode" threshold torque value. If the requested torque exceeds the "VDE mode" threshold value, controller 24 "partitions" or allocates all of the requested torque to engine 16 (e.g., the "desired motor torque" is set to zero), and causes engine 16 to run in "ICE mode", as illustrated in functional block or step 60. Particularly, controller 24 sends a signal to engine 16 which is effective to activate all of the cylinders of the engine 16 and to deactivate the "variable displacement" function of engine 16. Thus, when operating in "ICE mode", engine 16 runs on a full complement of cylinders (e.g., on ten of ten cylinders).”,
Supplemental Note: the required torque is higher than what the electric motor can provide and therefore the vehicle operates solely on the engine to provide the torque).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Pettersson with the teachings of Bhavsar with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both state the same functional language and thus rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 9, Pettersson, as modified, teaches further comprising additional instructions that cause the controller to initiate combustion in the internal combustion engine (Pettersson: lines 158 – 168: “The controller 12 can also receive input from the man/machine interface 11. The request to start or stop the engine or the vehicle may be generated via a human and input to the man/machine interface 11. The human/machine interface 11 may be a touch screen display, buttons, key switches or other known devices. During operation, each cylinder in engine 10 typically undergoes a four-stroke cycle: the cycle includes an intake stroke, a compression stroke, an expansion stroke, and an exhaust stroke. During the intake stroke, generally speaking, the exhaust valve 54 closes and the intake valve 52 opens. Air is introduced into the combustion chamber 30 via the intake manifold 44, and the piston 36 moves to the bottom of the cylinder to increase the volume in the combustion chamber 30. The position where the piston 36 is near the bottom of the cylinder and at the end of its stroke (for example, when the combustion chamber 30 is at its maximum volume) is generally referred to as bottom dead center (BDC) by those skilled in the art.”).
Regarding claim 10, Pettersson, as modified, teaches further comprising additional instructions that cause the controller to retard spark timing of the internal combustion engine and (Pettersson: lines 496 – 502: “At 558, method 500 supplies the amount of driveline power requested by the driver via the engine or engine and electric machine. In one example, the method 500 divides the amount of driveline power requested by the driver into engine power and motor power. The engine is commanded to provide the first portion of the power requested by the driver by adjusting the amount of throttle opening, fuel injection timing, spark timing, and cam timing. The motor (eg, ISG 240) is commanded to provide the second portion of the power requested by the driver by adjusting the amount of current flowing to the ISG. The engine power plus the ISG power equals the driveline power requested by the driver. Method 500 proceeds to exit.”,
Supplemental Note: the engine operates at a spark timing at a minimum of the requested driveline power from the user. Anything above that power is supplied by the ISG)
operate the internal combustion engine with a throttle of the internal combustion engine fully closed during starting of the internal combustion engine (Pettersson: lines 170 – 175: “During the compression stroke, intake valve 52 and exhaust valve 54 are closed. The piston 36 moves toward the cylinder head to compress the air in the combustion chamber 30. The point where the piston 36 is at the end of its stroke and closest to the cylinder head (for example, when the combustion chamber 30 is at its minimum volume) is commonly referred to by those skilled in the art as top dead center (TDC). In a process called injection hereinafter, fuel is introduced into the combustion chamber. In a process referred to below as ignition, the injected fuel is ignited by a known ignition device such as a spark plug 92, thereby causing combustion.”,
Supplemental Note: the intake valve is interpreted as the throttle as it is known to one with knowledge in the art that the throttle intakes air within the engine. Therefore, the combustion is performed when the intake valve is closed).
Claims 3, 4, 7, 11, 12 and 16 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pettersson et al. (CN111692033A), in view of Liang et al. (US 20150032309 A1), Bhavsar et al. (US 7240749 B2) and further in view of Pursifull et al. (US 20110288713 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Pettersson, as modified, does not teach where combusting fuel in the engine includes operating the engine with spark timing retarded from minimum spark advance for a maximum torque generated at a particular engine speed and load.
Pursifull teaches where combusting fuel in the engine includes operating the engine with spark timing retarded from minimum spark advance for a maximum torque generated at a particular engine speed and load (Pursifull: Paragraph 0035: “with nominally advanced spark timing, the spark timing of cylinders with overly advanced timing can also be adjusted responsive to engine speed feedback to enable rapid increases in engine torque to maintain accurate idle engine speed control, while providing excess heat to the cabin at zero fuel cost. For example, when operating in this mode, the spark timing can be retarded with respect to the nominal spark timing to enable a rapid increase in engine speed. That is, if there is a torque disturbance that reduces engine speed, spark timing can be retarded to increase engine torque and counteract the reduced speed. Further, in an assist mode, a motor torque output can be increased to counteract the reduced speed. By the examples presented above, the likelihood of stalling is substantially reduced.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Pettersson with the teachings of Pursifull with a reasonable expectation of success. Both Pettersson and Pursifull teach the ability to adjust the spark timing in which Pursifull specifies teaching to adjust the spark timing depending on the required speed and load. Pettersson teaches a similar method of which the spark timing is adjusted depending on the power requested by the driver (Pettersson: lines 496 – 502) and thus to one with knowledge in the art would be combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. For example, depending on the engine load required, both Pursifull and Pettersson teach the ability to adjust the spark timing as to adjust the amount of power supplied by the engine.
Regarding claim 4, Pettersson, as modified, teaches where combusting fuel in the engine includes fully closing a throttle of the engine (Pettersson: lines 170 – 175: “During the compression stroke, intake valve 52 and exhaust valve 54 are closed. The piston 36 moves toward the cylinder head to compress the air in the combustion chamber 30. The point where the piston 36 is at the end of its stroke and closest to the cylinder head (for example, when the combustion chamber 30 is at its minimum volume) is commonly referred to by those skilled in the art as top dead center (TDC). In a process called injection hereinafter, fuel is introduced into the combustion chamber. In a process referred to below as ignition, the injected fuel is ignited by a known ignition device such as a spark plug 92, thereby causing combustion.”,
Supplemental Note: the intake valve is interpreted as the throttle as it is known to one with knowledge in the art that the throttle intakes air within the engine. Therefore, the combustion is performed when the intake valve is closed).
Regarding claim 7, Pettersson, as modified, does not teach further comprising advancing spark timing in response to transferring torque from the engine to the first electric machine.
Pursifull teaches further comprising advancing spark timing in response to transferring torque from the engine to the first electric machine (Pursifull: Paragraph 0005: “The above issues are addressed by a method for controlling a vehicle engine having a plurality of cylinders and an electric motor configured to rotate the engine, comprising: during engine idling, advancing spark timing of at least one cylinder to substantially before a peak torque timing, and adjusting motor torque output of the electric motor to maintain engine idle speed.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Pettersson with the teachings of Pursifull with a reasonable expectation of success. Pursifull teaches the ability to advance the spark timing of the engine when the vehicle is idle to allow the torque to be transferred from the engine to the electric motor. One with knowledge in the art would find combining this method with Pettersson as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. For example, Pettersson teaches the ability of the engine to provide the desired power demanded by the driver while the rest of the power is supplied by the electric motor (Pettersson: lines 296 – 300) thus in idle condition when there is no desired power demand, the ability to advance the spark timing of the engine so the electric motor can maintain the engine idle speed is obtaining predictable results.
Regarding claim 11, Pettersson, as modified, does not teach further comprising additional instructions to adjust control parameters of a proportional integral derivative controller to a first set of values during engine starting.
Pursifull teaches further comprising additional instructions to adjust control parameters of a proportional integral derivative controller (Pursifull: Paragraph 0051: “The above example modes may also have various alternative implementations. In one example, all cylinders of the engine may be operated about a nominal timing as set by the various modes. For example, in mode 2, each cylinder may be operated about the same nominally advanced spark timing, with each cylinder's spark timing being adjusted responsive to the current desired and actual engine speed according to a control routine, such as a PID controller as described herein below.”)
to a first set of values during engine starting (Pursifull: Paragraph 0002: “spark timing may be retarded from MBT during initial starts to first heat an exhaust catalyst, and then once the catalyst is heated, spark timing may be advanced to before MBT to more rapidly heat engine coolant and/or lubricants to thereby provide increased engine efficiency.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Pettersson with the teachings of Pursifull with a reasonable expectation of success. A PID controller as utilized by Pursifull is a simple substitution with the controller already utilized by Pettersson. PID controllers are known to one with knowledge in the art to provide a precise stable control of the vehicle speed and engine control. The controllers utilized by Pettersson teach the ability to adjust the engine and electric motor parameters in regards to speed, torque, spark timing, throttle control, etc., therefore applying a PID controller would be nothing more than a simple substitution. Furthermore Pursifull teaches the ability to adjusts the spark timing of the engine which is also taught to be accomplished by the controller of Pettersson (Pettersson: lines 158 – 168 and lines 496 – 502), therefore combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 12, Pettersson, as modified, does not teach further comprising additional instructions adjust control parameters of the proportional integral derivative controller to a second set of values in response the speed of the internal combustion engine exceeding the threshold speed.
Pursifull teaches further comprising additional instructions adjust control parameters of the proportional integral derivative controller (Pursifull: Paragraph 0051: “The above example modes may also have various alternative implementations. In one example, all cylinders of the engine may be operated about a nominal timing as set by the various modes. For example, in mode 2, each cylinder may be operated about the same nominally advanced spark timing, with each cylinder's spark timing being adjusted responsive to the current desired and actual engine speed according to a control routine, such as a PID controller as described herein below.”)
to a second set of values in response the speed of the internal combustion engine exceeding the threshold speed (Pursifull: Paragraph 0062: “Once the nominal spark timing is achieved at 516, the desired idle engine speed N.sub.O and the actual idle engine speed N.sub.E are determined 518, 520 and the next spark timing adjustment based on these values, to achieve desired idle engine speed N.sub.O is determined at 522. The desired idle speed may be in a range of approximately 500-1300 RPM in one example. The spark adjustment is specifically determined as described at step 532. That is, in mode 1, spark timing is nominally retarded relative to MBT; thus, if N.sub.E is greater than N.sub.O as determined at 532, as may occur if a load is removed from the engine, an adjustment in spark timing that further retards the timing relative to the peak torque timing is determined at 534.”,
Supplemental Note: as shown in Figure A, if the actual engine speed is higher than the desired speed, the PID is able to adjust values in response. In this example it teaches to adjust the spark timing).
Figure A - Pursifull; Fig. 5
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Pettersson with the teachings of Pursifull with a reasonable expectation of success. In regards to the PID controller of Pursifull being combined with Pettersson, please refer to the rejection of claim 11. Furthermore, in regards to adjusting the spark timing of the engine in response to the engine speed being higher than the idle speed would be a use of known techniques to improve similar devices. As cited above by Pursifull and taught by Pettersson, the spark timing is one of the engine variables that is able to adjust the engine speed and torque output. In an example in which the actual engine speed is higher than the desired speed, the adjustment to the spark timing to also adjust the engine speed is taught by both Pursifull and Pettersson, thus the use of a known technique (adjusting spark timing) to improve similar devices (adjusting engine speed and torque to the desired level).
Regarding claim 16, Pettersson teaches a method, comprising: operating an engine (Pettersson: lines 14 – 15: “This specification relates to methods and systems for hybrid vehicles that include an integrated starter/generator for propelling the vehicle and starting the engine.”)
… via a controller, (Pettersson: lines 142 – 144: “The controller 12 is shown in FIG. 1 as a conventional microcomputer, which includes: a microprocessor unit 102, an input/output port 104, a read-only memory 106 (for example, a non-transitory memory), a random access memory 108, a keepalive Memory 110 and conventional data bus.”)
… adjusting torque of the first electric machine based on output … operating with a third group of control parameters in response to a gear lash crossing having occurred (Pettersson: lines 309 – 325: “the vehicle system controller may provide negative desired wheel power (eg, desired or requested driveline wheel power) based on vehicle speed and brake pedal position. The vehicle system controller 255 then allocates a portion of the negative desired wheel power to the ISG 240 and the engine 10. The vehicle system controller may also allocate a portion of the requested braking power to the friction brakes 218 (eg, required friction brake wheel power). In addition, the vehicle system controller may notify the transmission controller 254 that the vehicle is in the regenerative braking mode, so that the transmission controller 254 shifts the gear 211 based on the unique shift rule to improve the regeneration efficiency. The engine 10 and the ISG 240 can supply negative power to the transmission input shaft 270, but the negative power provided by the ISG 240 and the engine 10 can be limited by the transmission controller 254, which outputs the transmission input shaft negative power limit (for example, no The threshold that should be exceeded). In addition, the negative power of the ISG 240 may be limited by the vehicle system controller 255 or the motor controller 252 based on the operating conditions of the electrical energy storage device 275 (for example, restricted to less than the threshold negative threshold power). Any portion of the desired negative wheel power that cannot be provided by the ISG 240 due to transmission or ISG limits can be allocated to the engine 10 and/or the friction brake 218 so that the negative power (e.g., absorbed by the engine 10 and the ISG 240 via the friction brake 218) Power) to provide the desired wheel power.”,
Supplemental Note: in the example above, when the vehicle speed is too high, the torque from the ISG can be stopped and additional torque from the engine can be used to charge the battery).
In sum, Pettersson teaches a method for operating an engine, comprising: via a controller, adjusting torque of the electric machine based on output operating with a third group of control parameters in response to a gear lash crossing having occurred. Pettersson however does not teach a power split transmission coupled thereto, where the power split transmission includes a first electric machine and a second electric machine, a sun gear, a planetary carrier gear set, and a ring gear.
Liang teaches with a power split transmission coupled thereto, where the power split transmission includes a first electric machine and a second electric machine, (Liang: Paragraph 0038: “As shown in FIG. 2B, a series HEV configuration may have two electric machines with a different layout from the power split design. The engine is connected to the generator only to generate electricity. The traction motor drives the vehicle all the time using the power provided by the battery and the generator.”: Paragraph 0008: “In a first illustrative embodiment, a vehicle comprises an engine, a damper, an electric machine configured to be selectively mechanically coupled with the engine via the damper, and at least one controller. The controller may be programmed and configured to filter a frequency content of a speed or torque command for the electric machine corresponding to a resonant frequency of the powertrain system including, but not limited to, the interaction between the engine, damper and electric machine. Based on the target speed, the controller may filter a frequency content of the speed or torque command for the electric machine to reduce resonance of the engine, damper and electric machine.”)
a sun gear, a planetary carrier gear set, and a ring gear, including (Liang: Paragraph 0021: “The disclosed hybrid electric vehicle powertrain has a parallel-series configuration, as shown in FIG. 1. A vehicle system controller 10, a battery 12 and a transaxle 14, together with a motor-generator subsystem, are under control of a control area network (CAN). An engine 16, controlled by module 10, distributes torque through torque input shaft 18 to transmission 14.”; Paragraph 0022: “The transmission 14 includes a planetary gear unit 20, which comprises a ring gear 22, a sun gear 24, and a planetary carrier assembly 26.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Pettersson with the teachings of Liang with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both state the same functional language and thus rejected under the same pretenses. Pettersson in view of Liang however still do not teach rotating the engine via adjusting torque of the electric machine based on output of a proportionate integral derivative (PID) controller operating with a first group of control parameters in response to an engine start request; adjusting torque of the first electric machine based on output of the PID controller.
Pursifull teaches rotating the engine via adjusting torque of the electric machine based on output of a proportionate integral derivative (PID) controller (Pursifull: Paragraph 0051: “The above example modes may also have various alternative implementations. In one example, all cylinders of the engine may be operated about a nominal timing as set by the various modes. For example, in mode 2, each cylinder may be operated about the same nominally advanced spark timing, with each cylinder's spark timing being adjusted responsive to the current desired and actual engine speed according to a control routine, such as a PID controller as described herein below.”)
operating with a first group of control parameters in response to an engine start request; (Pursifull: Paragraph 0002: “spark timing may be retarded from MBT during initial starts to first heat an exhaust catalyst, and then once the catalyst is heated, spark timing may be advanced to before MBT to more rapidly heat engine coolant and/or lubricants to thereby provide increased engine efficiency.”; Paragraph 0005: “The above issues are addressed by a method for controlling a vehicle engine having a plurality of cylinders and an electric motor configured to rotate the engine, comprising: during engine idling, advancing spark timing of at least one cylinder to substantially before a peak torque timing, and adjusting motor torque output of the electric motor to maintain engine idle speed.”)
adjusting torque of the first electric machine based on output of the PID controller (Pursifull: Paragraph 0051: “The above example modes may also have various alternative implementations. In one example, all cylinders of the engine may be operated about a nominal timing as set by the various modes. For example, in mode 2, each cylinder may be operated about the same nominally advanced spark timing, with each cylinder's spark timing being adjusted responsive to the current desired and actual engine speed according to a control routine, such as a PID controller as described herein below.”)
of the PID controller (Pursifull: Paragraph 0051: “The above example modes may also have various alternative implementations. In one example, all cylinders of the engine may be operated about a nominal timing as set by the various modes. For example, in mode 2, each cylinder may be operated about the same nominally advanced spark timing, with each cylinder's spark timing being adjusted responsive to the current desired and actual engine speed according to a control routine, such as a PID controller as described herein below.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Pettersson with the teachings of Pursifull with a reasonable expectation of success. In regards to the PID controller of Pursifull being combined with Pettersson, please refer to the rejection of claim 11. Furthermore, in regards to adjusting the control parameters regarding the engine or the electric machine as taught by Pursifull would be combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results to one with knowledge in the art. Pettersson teaches the ability of the vehicle controller to adjust the control parameters of the engine and the ISG in regards to starting and engine and the desired torque applied by the driver. Both are utilizing controllers to adjust the torque applied to each of the hybrid motors, thus yielding in predicable results. Pettersson in view of Pursifull however do not teach operating with a second group of control parameters in response to engine speed exceeding a threshold speed.
Bhavsar teaches operating with a second group of control parameters in response to engine speed exceeding a threshold speed; and (Bhavsar: Col. 5, line 54 – Col. 6, line 11: “controller 24 receives the desired or demanded torque in functional block or step 52. Controller 24 then determines whether electrical power is available (e.g., within battery 15) to allow motor 14 to provide torque to the drive train 17, as illustrated in functional block or step 54. In one non-limiting embodiment, controller 24 determines whether electrical power is available by estimating the amount of charge remaining within battery 15 and comparing the measured amount or value to a predetermined value stored within controller 18. If electrical power is not available, controller 24 proceeds to functional block or step 56, otherwise controller 24 proceeds to functional block or step 58. In step 56, controller 24 determines whether the requested torque exceeds a "VDE mode" threshold torque value. If the requested torque exceeds the "VDE mode" threshold value, controller 24 "partitions" or allocates all of the requested torque to engine 16 (e.g., the "desired motor torque" is set to zero), and causes engine 16 to run in "ICE mode", as illustrated in functional block or step 60. Particularly, controller 24 sends a signal to engine 16 which is effective to activate all of the cylinders of the engine 16 and to deactivate the "variable displacement" function of engine 16. Thus, when operating in "ICE mode", engine 16 runs on a full complement of cylinders (e.g., on ten of ten cylinders).”,
Supplemental Note: the required torque is higher than what the electric motor can provide and therefore the vehicle operates solely on the engine to provide the torque)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Pettersson with the teachings of Bhavsar with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both state the same functional language and thus rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 17, Pettersson, as modified, does not teach where the second group of control parameters operate to reduce a rate of torque change of the electric machine.
Bhavsar teaches where the second group of control parameters operate to reduce a rate of torque change of the first electric machine (Bhavsar: Col. 5, line 54 – Col. 6, line 11: “controller 24 receives the desired or demanded torque in functional block or step 52. Controller 24 then determines whether electrical power is available (e.g., within battery 15) to allow motor 14 to provide torque to the drive train 17, as illustrated in functional block or step 54. In one non-limiting embodiment, controller 24 determines whether electrical power is available by estimating the amount of charge remaining within battery 15 and comparing the measured amount or value to a predetermined value stored within controller 18. If electrical power is not available, controller 24 proceeds to functional block or step 56, otherwise controller 24 proceeds to functional block or step 58. In step 56, controller 24 determines whether the requested torque exceeds a "VDE mode" threshold torque value. If the requested torque exceeds the "VDE mode" threshold value, controller 24 "partitions" or allocates all of the requested torque to engine 16 (e.g., the "desired motor torque" is set to zero), and causes engine 16 to run in "ICE mode", as illustrated in functional block or step 60. Particularly, controller 24 sends a signal to engine 16 which is effective to activate all of the cylinders of the engine 16 and to deactivate the "variable displacement" function of engine 16. Thus, when operating in "ICE mode", engine 16 runs on a full complement of cylinders (e.g., on ten of ten cylinders).”,
Supplemental Note: the required torque is higher than what the electric motor can provide and therefore the vehicle operates solely on the engine to provide the torque).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Pettersson with the teachings of Bhavsar with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both state the same functional language and thus rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 18, Pettersson, as modified, teaches further comprising combusting fuel in the engine and (Pettersson: lines 158 – 168: “The controller 12 can also receive input from the man/machine interface 11. The request to start or stop the engine or the vehicle may be generated via a human and input to the man/machine interface 11. The human/machine interface 11 may be a touch screen display, buttons, key switches or other known devices. During operation, each cylinder in engine 10 typically undergoes a four-stroke cycle: the cycle includes an intake stroke, a compression stroke, an expansion stroke, and an exhaust stroke. During the intake stroke, generally speaking, the exhaust valve 54 closes and the intake valve 52 opens. Air is introduced into the combustion chamber 30 via the intake manifold 44, and the piston 36 moves to the bottom of the cylinder to increase the volume in the combustion chamber 30. The position where the piston 36 is near the bottom of the cylinder and at the end of its stroke (for example, when the combustion chamber 30 is at its maximum volume) is generally referred to as bottom dead center (BDC) by those skilled in the art.”).
In sum, Pettersson teaches comprising combusting fuel in the engine. Pettersson however does not teach operating the engine with spark timing retarded from minimum spark advance for a maximum torque generated at a particular engine speed and load.
Pursifull teaches operating the engine with spark timing retarded from minimum spark advance for a maximum torque generated at a particular engine speed and load (Pursifull: Paragraph 0035: “with nominally advanced spark timing, the spark timing of cylinders with overly advanced timing can also be adjusted responsive to engine speed feedback to enable rapid increases in engine torque to maintain accurate idle engine speed control, while providing excess heat to the cabin at zero fuel cost. For example, when operating in this mode, the spark timing can be retarded with respect to the nominal spark timing to enable a rapid increase in engine speed. That is, if there is a torque disturbance that reduces engine speed, spark timing can be retarded to increase engine torque and counteract the reduced speed. Further, in an assist mode, a motor torque output can be increased to counteract the reduced speed. By the examples presented above, the likelihood of stalling is substantially reduced.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Pettersson with the teachings of Pursifull with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 3 as both state the same functional language and thus rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 19, Pettersson, as modified, teaches where the gear lash crossing is a first gear lash crossing since a most recent engine stop (Pettersson: lines 158 – 160: “The controller 12 can also receive input from the man/machine interface 11. The request to start or stop the engine or the vehicle may be generated via a human and input to the man/machine interface 11. The human/machine interface 11 may be a touch screen display, buttons, key switches or other known devices.”; lines 265 – 272: “The ISG 240 may rotate the turbine 286, which in turn may rotate the pump impeller 285 to start the engine 10 during engine start. When the driveline disconnect clutch 236 is fully closed, the torque converter 206 can double the torque of the ISG 240 to rotate the engine 10. Therefore, the torque of the ISG 240 may be increased via the torque converter 206 to rotate the engine 10 during engine start. When the ISG 240 is rotating to start the engine 10, the TCC 212 can be fully opened, so that the torque of the ISG 240 can be doubled. Alternatively, when the ISG 240 is turning to start the engine 10 to manage the torque transfer to the engine 10, the TCC 212 may be partially opened. During the start of the engine rotation, the ISG 240 can rotate at a higher speed than the engine 10.”,
Supplemental Note: to start the engine, the vehicle is able to start the engine with the use of the ISG. This is performing gear lash crossing as it changing gears from a stopped engine)
Regarding claim 20, Pettersson, as modified, teaches further comprising operating the engine with a fully closed throttle (Pettersson: lines 122 – 129: “In addition, the intake manifold 44 is shown as communicating with the turbocharger compressor 162 and the engine intake 42. In other examples, the compressor 162 may be a supercharger compressor. The shaft 161 mechanically couples the turbocharger turbine 164 to the turbocharger compressor 162. The optional electronic throttle 62 adjusts the position of the throttle plate 64 to control the air flow from the compressor 162 to the intake manifold 44. Because the inlet of the throttle valve 62 is in the booster chamber 45, the pressure in the booster chamber 45 may be referred to as a throttle inlet pressure. The throttle outlet is in the intake manifold 44. In some examples, the throttle 62 and the throttle plate 64 may be positioned between the intake valve 52 and the intake manifold 44 such that the throttle 62 is an intake port throttle.”)
prior to the gear lash crossing occurring (Pettersson: lines 265 – 272: “The ISG 240 may rotate the turbine 286, which in turn may rotate the pump impeller 285 to start the engine 10 during engine start. When the driveline disconnect clutch 236 is fully closed, the torque converter 206 can double the torque of the ISG 240 to rotate the engine 10. Therefore, the torque of the ISG 240 may be increased via the torque converter 206 to rotate the engine 10 during engine start. When the ISG 240 is rotating to start the engine 10, the TCC 212 can be fully opened, so that the torque of the ISG 240 can be doubled. Alternatively, when the ISG 240 is turning to start the engine 10 to manage the torque transfer to the engine 10, the TCC 212 may be partially opened. During the start of the engine rotation, the ISG 240 can rotate at a higher speed than the engine 10.”; lines 162 – 168: “During operation, each cylinder in engine 10 typically undergoes a four-stroke cycle: the cycle includes an intake stroke, a compression stroke, an expansion stroke, and an exhaust stroke. During the intake stroke, generally speaking, the exhaust valve 54 closes and the intake valve 52 opens. Air is introduced into the combustion chamber 30 via the intake manifold 44, and the piston 36 moves to the bottom of the cylinder to increase the volume in the combustion chamber 30. The position where the piston 36 is near the bottom of the cylinder and at the end of its stroke (for example, when the combustion chamber 30 is at its maximum volume) is generally referred to as bottom dead center (BDC) by those skilled in the art.” ,
Supplemental Note: the ISG is able to start the engine prior to the engine performing intake as to start the engine).
Claims 13 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pettersson et al. (CN111692033A), in view of Liang et al. (US 20150032309 A1), Bhavsar et al. (US 7240749 B2), Pursifull et al. (US 20110288713 A1) and further in view of Martin et al. (US 9862262 B2).
Regarding claim 13, Pettersson, as modified, does not teach further comprising additional instructions to adjust control parameters of the proportional integral derivative controller.
Pursifull teaches further comprising additional instructions to adjust control parameters of the proportional integral derivative controller (Pursifull: Paragraph 0051: “The above example modes may also have various alternative implementations. In one example, all cylinders of the engine may be operated about a nominal timing as set by the various modes. For example, in mode 2, each cylinder may be operated about the same nominally advanced spark timing, with each cylinder's spark timing being adjusted responsive to the current desired and actual engine speed according to a control routine, such as a PID controller as described herein below.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Pettersson with the teachings of Pursifull with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 11 as both state the same functional language and thus rejected under the same pretenses. Pettersson in view of Pursifull still do not teach to a third set of values in response the lash crossing between the sun gear and the planetary carrier gear set.
Martin teaches to a third set of values in response the lash crossing between the sun gear and the planetary carrier gear set (Martin: Col. 8, lines 4 – 23: “At 502, method 500 determines vehicle operating conditions. Vehicle operating conditions may include but are not limited to vehicle speed, driver demand torque, battery state of charge, engine speed, engine load, engine fuel amount, and engine air amount, traction motor speed, first generator speed, and second generator speed. Vehicle operating conditions may be determined via a controller receiving data from vehicle sensors and actuators. Method 500 proceeds to 504 after operating conditions are determined. At 504, method 500 determines a desired powertrain torque. In one example, the desired powertrain torque is a desire wheel torque. Further, the desired powertrain torque may include torque to operate one or two generators to charge the electric energy storage device. In other examples, the desired powertrain torque is an amount of torque output of the planetary gear set (e.g., 201A or 201B as shown in FIGS. 2A and 2B). The desired powertrain torque may be based off of a driver demand torque, and the driver demand torque is based on accelerator pedal position and vehicle speed.”; Col. 9, lines 19 – 33: “At 516, method 500 judges if the desired powertrain torque may be met by only the traction motor and the piston engine. The traction motor torque may be a function of battery state of charge and traction motor speed while the powertrain torque may be a function of an amount of air and fuel supplied to the turbine engine. In one example, battery state of charge and traction motor speed are used to index a table or function that outputs a value of maximum traction motor torque given the present traction motor speed and battery state of charge. Similarly, a maximum air flow and fuel flow for the present engine speed may be used to index a table or function that outputs maximum piston engine torque. If the desired powertrain torque may be met by only the traction motor and the piston engine, the answer is yes and method 500 proceeds to 520. Otherwise, the answer is no and method 500 proceeds to 518.”; Col. 9, lines 49 – 59: “At 518, method 500 activates the traction motor and the turbine engine so that the piston engine, turbine engine, and traction motor are active. The turbine engine, piston engine, and traction motor each provide at least a portion of the desired powertrain torque. The piston engine torque, turbine engine torque, and traction motor torque add to the desired powertrain torque. The piston engine torque and turbine engine torque are input to the planetary gear set and then combined with the traction motor torque to provide the desired powertrain torque. Method 500 proceeds to exit after the desired powertrain torque is provided.”,
Supplemental Note: when the driver applies the accelerator pedal, it changes the current operating condition thus interpreted as a lash crossing. The amount of desired wheel torque in the example above activates the various motors which are part of the sun and planetary gear set. This method is shown below in Figure B. The sun and planetary gears in relation to the different motors are shown below in Figure C ).
Figure B - Martin; Fig. 5
Figure C - Martin; Fig. 4
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Pettersson with the teachings of Martin with a reasonable expectation of success. Martin utilizes the planetary and sun gear system to coordinate power from the electric generator, traction motor and traction engine which are able to apply all of these components in regards to the desired power from the user being greater than them providing it individually. One with knowledge in the art would find this teaching to be obvious to try to implement with the vehicle of Pettersson. As stated in claim 1, planetary gears and sun gears are known to one with knowledge in the art to be known to be used for hybrid vehicles as the planetary carrier gear set connects to the ICE motors while the sun gears are dictated to the electric motors thus one with knowledge in the art would find this gear set to be simple substitution with the hybrid structure of vehicle taught by Pettersson. Furthermore, the ability to allow the generator, traction motor and traction engine to both be utilized when the desired power from the user is greater than a single motor can provide is obvious to try as it allows for the vehicle to be more responsive to the driver’s power demand. Pettersson already teaches that the engine is to provide the desired power of the user while the ISG provides the remaining power, thus it would be obvious to one with knowledge in the art to also get the ISG to provide the desired power as taught by Martin.
Regarding claim 14, Pettersson, as modified, teaches a controller that adjusts torque output of the first electric machine (Pettersson: lines 309 – 325: “the vehicle system controller may provide negative desired wheel power (eg, desired or requested driveline wheel power) based on vehicle speed and brake pedal position. The vehicle system controller 255 then allocates a portion of the negative desired wheel power to the ISG 240 and the engine 10. The vehicle system controller may also allocate a portion of the requested braking power to the friction brakes 218 (eg, required friction brake wheel power). In addition, the vehicle system controller may notify the transmission controller 254 that the vehicle is in the regenerative braking mode, so that the transmission controller 254 shifts the gear 211 based on the unique shift rule to improve the regeneration efficiency. The engine 10 and the ISG 240 can supply negative power to the transmission input shaft 270, but the negative power provided by the ISG 240 and the engine 10 can be limited by the transmission controller 254, which outputs the transmission input shaft negative power limit (for example, no The threshold that should be exceeded). In addition, the negative power of the ISG 240 may be limited by the vehicle system controller 255 or the motor controller 252 based on the operating conditions of the electrical energy storage device 275 (for example, restricted to less than the threshold negative threshold power). Any portion of the desired negative wheel power that cannot be provided by the ISG 240 due to transmission or ISG limits can be allocated to the engine 10 and/or the friction brake 218 so that the negative power (e.g., absorbed by the engine 10 and the ISG 240 via the friction brake 218) Power) to provide the desired wheel power.”,
Supplemental Note: in the example above, when the vehicle speed is too high, the torque from the ISG can be stopped and additional torque from the engine can be used to charge the battery).
In sum, Pettersson teaches a controller that adjusts torque output of the first electric machine. Pettersson however does not teach where the controller is a proportional integral derivative controller.
Pursifull teaches where the proportional integral derivative controller (Pursifull: Paragraph 0051: “The above example modes may also have various alternative implementations. In one example, all cylinders of the engine may be operated about a nominal timing as set by the various modes. For example, in mode 2, each cylinder may be operated about the same nominally advanced spark timing, with each cylinder's spark timing being adjusted responsive to the current desired and actual engine speed according to a control routine, such as a PID controller as described herein below.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Pettersson with the teachings of Pursifull with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 11 as both state the same functional language and thus rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 15, Pettersson, as modified, teaches further comprising additional instructions to propel a vehicle via a second electric machine of the two electric machines (Pettersson: lines 44 – 47: “This manual can provide several advantages. Specifically, the method can improve engine starting via an integrated starter/generator. In addition, the method can reduce system cost by starting the engine via an integrated starter/generator without having to use a starter motor. In addition, the method can reduce driveline noise and vibration when the engine is started via the integrated starter/generator rotation.”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see section Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 of the REMARKS, filed 12/04/2025, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 prior art rejection of claim 1 – 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant states the amended claim limitation of “with a power split transmission coupled thereto, where the power split transmission includes a first electric machine and a second electric machine, a sun gear, a planetary carrier gear set, and a ring gear, including:” for claim 1 is not taught in view of Pettersson, Martin or Bhavsar. Examiner agrees however, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Liang et al. (US 20150032309 A1). Please refer to section Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 for the corresponding prior art citations and motivation to combine.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIVAM SHARMA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/Erin D Bishop/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665