DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 10 on which it depends already recites that the RESS enclosure is part of a vehicle body structure. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Edwards (US 2023/0075142 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Edwards discloses an apparatus comprising: an enclosure 101 surrounded by an external environment and having an enclosure tray 114 and an enclosure cover 116 (paragraph 47); and a plurality of battery cell blocks 104 arranged in the enclosure 101, wherein each battery cell block 104 includes: a cell case 105 including a cell vent 118 and at least one electrically insulated structural connector 206 configured to link the cell case with an adjacent battery cell block (paragraph 58); a thermal mitigation barrier (TMB) segment 207 fixed to the cell case and configured to contact the adjacent battery cell block (paragraph 58); an insulator 200 configured to line the cell vent (paragraph 53); and a bus bar segment 204 configured to interconnect with a bus bar segment of the adjacent battery cell block (paragraph 52).
Regarding claim 2, Edwards discloses that each battery cell block additionally includes a cold plate segment 130 configured to interconnect with a cold plate segment of the adjacent battery cell block (paragraph 50).
Regarding claim 3, Edwards discloses that each battery cell block additionally includes a thermal interface material (TIM) segment arranged between the cold plate segment and the cell case (paragraph 61).
Regarding claim 4, Edwards discloses that the battery cell block is an edge-positioned battery cell block incorporating an endplate fixed to the cell case of the edge-positioned battery cell block (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Edwards discloses that the plurality of battery cell blocks is arranged in one or more battery modules and mounted to the enclosure tray, the modular RESS further comprising a mica cover sheet arranged between the enclosure cover and the one or more battery modules and fixed to the enclosure cover (paragraph 44).
Regarding claim 6, Edwards discloses that the one or more battery modules includes a plurality of battery modules, the modular RESS further comprising a mid-plate sandwiched between structural adhesive layers and together arranged between neighboring battery modules (paragraph 61).
Regarding claim 7, Edwards discloses that the mid-plate includes an electrically insulating foam element (paragraph 54).
Regarding claim 8, Edwards discloses that the cell case is configured to be mounted to the enclosure tray (paragraph 57).
Regarding claim 9, Edwards discloses that the RESS enclosure is part of a vehicle body structure (paragraph 46).
Regarding claims 10 and 18, Edwards discloses an apparatus comprising: a power-source configured to generate power-source torque (paragraph 44); a vehicle body structure incorporating, as part thereof, a modular multi-cell rechargeable energy storage system (RESS) configured to supply electrical energy to the power-source (paragraph 46), the modular RESS including: an enclosure 101 surrounded by an external environment and having an enclosure tray 114 and an enclosure cover 116 (paragraph 47); and a plurality of battery cell blocks 104 arranged in the enclosure 101, wherein each battery cell block 104 includes: a cell case 105 including a cell vent 118 and at least one electrically insulated structural connector 206 configured to link the cell case with an adjacent battery cell block (paragraph 58); a thermal mitigation barrier (TMB) segment 207 fixed to the cell case and configured to contact the adjacent battery cell block (paragraph 58); an insulator 200 configured to line the cell vent (paragraph 53); and a bus bar segment 204 configured to interconnect with a bus bar segment of the adjacent battery cell block (paragraph 52).
Regarding claim 11, Edwards discloses that each battery cell block additionally includes a cold plate segment 130 configured to interconnect with a cold plate segment of the adjacent battery cell block (paragraph 50).
Regarding claim 12, Edwards discloses that each battery cell block additionally includes a thermal interface material (TIM) segment arranged between the cold plate segment and the cell case (paragraph 61).
Regarding claim 13, Edwards discloses that the battery cell block is an edge-positioned battery cell block incorporating an endplate fixed to the cell case of the edge-positioned battery cell block (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 14, Edwards discloses that the plurality of battery cell blocks is arranged in one or more battery modules and mounted to the enclosure tray, the modular RESS further comprising a mica cover sheet arranged between the enclosure cover and the one or more battery modules and fixed to the enclosure cover (paragraph 44).
Regarding claim 15, Edwards discloses that the one or more battery modules includes a plurality of battery modules, the modular RESS further comprising a mid-plate sandwiched between structural adhesive layers and together arranged between neighboring battery modules (paragraph 61).
Regarding claim 16, Edwards discloses that the mid-plate includes an electrically insulating foam element (paragraph 54).
Regarding claim 17, Edwards discloses that the cell case is configured to be mounted to the enclosure tray (paragraph 57).
Regarding claim 19, Edwards discloses an apparatus comprising: an enclosure 101 surrounded by an external environment and having an enclosure tray 114 and an enclosure cover 116 (paragraph 47); and a plurality of battery cell blocks 104 arranged in the enclosure 101, wherein each battery cell block 104 includes: a cell case 105 including a cell vent 118 and at least one electrically insulated structural connector 206 configured to link the cell case with an adjacent battery cell block (paragraph 58); a thermal mitigation barrier (TMB) segment 207 fixed to the cell case and configured to contact the adjacent battery cell block (paragraph 58); an insulator 200 configured to line the cell vent (paragraph 53); and a bus bar segment 204 configured to interconnect with a bus bar segment of the adjacent battery cell block (paragraph 52). Edwards discloses that each battery cell block additionally includes a cold plate segment 130 configured to interconnect with a cold plate segment of the adjacent battery cell block (paragraph 50).
Regarding claim 20, Edwards discloses that each battery cell block additionally includes a thermal interface material (TIM) segment arranged between the cold plate segment and the cell case (paragraph 61).
Conclusion
/IMRAN AKRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725