DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 22c. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “22a” has been used to designate both transverse stitching and lateral stitching (paragraph 0023). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Duden (PGPub 20020025215).
Duden teaches a method, comprising: (a) providing one or more sections of material (textured films) having sufficient area to fully encompass one or more volumes of soap (solid cleanser), (b) placing the one or more volumes of soap in operative connection with the one or more sections of material, and (c) non-removably securing (paragraph 0041) the one or more volumes of soap within the one or more sections of material, whereby the one or more volumes of soap are fully enveloped (paragraph 0044) within a volume formed by the one or more sections of material, wherein at least one of the one or more sections of material is formed from an exfoliant material.
With regards to claim 2, the one or more volumes of soap are secured within the volume formed by the one or more sections of material by sewing, stitching (paragraph 0041), sonic welding, or heat sealing.
With regards to claim 3, each of the one or more sections of material is formed from an exfoliant material (textured films).
With regards to claim 4, Duden teaches one or more sections of material (textured films) fully encompassing (paragraph 0044) one or more volumes of soap (solid cleanser), the one or more sections of material being non-removably securing (stitching; paragraph 0041) so that one or more volumes of soap are fully encompassed within a volume formed by the one or more sections of material, wherein at least one of the one or more sections of material are formed from an exfoliant material (textured film).
With regards to claim 5, the one or more volumes of soap are secured within the volume formed by the one or more sections of material by sewing, stitching (paragraph 0044), sonic welding, or heat sealing.
With regards to claim 6, each of the one or more sections of material is formed from an exfoliant material (textured film).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duden (‘215) in view of Nyoca (GB 2606783).
Duden teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention including that stitching is used in connection with the one or more section of material to secure the one or more volumes of soap within the volume formed by the one or more sections of material (paragraph 0041) (claim 9). Duden however fails to teach that the exfoliant material comprises a biopolymer (claim 7), such as a burlap or a jute (claim 8).
Nyoca teaches a washing garment, wherein the garment is made from jute (page 5, 4th paragraph). The applicant describes jute as a biopolymer in paragraph 0023 in their specification.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Duden so that it is made from jute as taught by Nyoca since jute is a biodegradable material that can be easily disposed of after the soap is gone. Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use jute, since it has been held within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious engineering choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duden (‘215) and Nyoca (‘783) in view of Jiang (CN 202826600).
Duden and Nyoca teach all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fail to teach that the material for the stitching comprises a biopolymer (claim 10) such as cotton (claim 11).
Jiang teaches a cleaning cloth with stitching (15) that is a cotton thread (paragraph 0021). Cotton is described as a biopolymer in paragraph 0018 of the applicant’s specification.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Duden and Nyoca so that the stitching is made from a cotton thread as taught by Jiang to further assist in creating a completely biodegradable cleaning device. Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a cotton threading, since it has been held within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious engineering choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
/SHAY KARLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723