DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed 02/04/2026 with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
3. Applicant states that Rodriguez discloses key sharing between worker nodes within one cluster, but do not disclose the transmission of a key to a plurality of clusters.
4. Examiner would like to point out that Rodriguez in Fig. 1 and Para:0026 teaches server 104 and server 106 may be, for example, worker nodes within cluster 110 of open source container orchestration framework 112. Also, it should be noted that server 104 and server 106 may each represent clusters of computing nodes in one or more cloud environments. Alternatively, server 104 and server 106 may each represent clusters of servers in one or more data centers. Furthermore, 112 is a container with multiple clusters, and 110 is shown as teaching one of the many cluster.
As such, Figs 1,7 and Para:0036 teaches the set of processors, using the key orchestration agent of the worker nodes, generates a data encryption key and sharing the data encryption key between worker nodes in one or more clusters.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 2-4, 10-12 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
7. Claims 2,10 and 18 recites the limitation: “receiving, via a second user input, an indication of a selection of the first environment from a plurality of environments, wherein encrypting the user input is based at least in part on the selection of the first environment”.
It’s not clear what is meant by the term “environment” herein. Examiner suggested amending the limitation to recite “software environment”, for better clarity.
Also, it is not clear what is meant by, “receiving, via a second user input”.
Especially it is not clear, whether “a second user input” is the input received from the same user as mentioned in claim 1 or from a different user. Appropriate clarification is required.
8. Claims 3, 11 and 19 recites the limitation: “receiving, from the device associated with the operations cluster, the second user input comprising of the first environment based at least in part on the list of environments included in the plurality of environments”.
It’s not clear what is meant by the term “environment” herein. Examiner suggested amending the limitation to recite “software environment”, for better clarity.
Also, it is not clear what is meant by, “the second user input”.
Especially it is not clear, whether “a second user input” is the input received from the same user as mentioned in claim 1 or from a different user. .
Appropriate clarification is required.
9. Claim 20 recites the limitation: “determine that the encryption key is associated with the first environment based at least in part on the receiving the indication of the selection of the first environment; and retrieve the encryption key based at least in part on the encryption key being associated with the first environment, wherein encrypting the user input is further based at least in part on retrieving the encryption key”.
It’s not clear what is meant by the term “environment” herein. Examiner suggested amending the limitation to recite “software environment”, for better clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
11.Claim(s) 1,5-6, 8-9, 13-14 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rodriguez (US Pub.No.2020/0403784).
12. Regarding claims 1, 9 and 17 Rodriguez teaches a method, a non-transitory computer-readable medium and an apparatus comprising: detecting, by a first application executed on a plurality of clusters associated with a first environment, a generation of an encryption key on a primary cluster of the plurality of clusters; transmitting the encryption key to each cluster of the plurality of clusters in response to detecting the generation of the encryption key on the primary cluster; and encrypting, by a second application executed on an operations cluster of the plurality of clusters, a user input based at least in part on the encryption key and the first environment (Figs.1, 7 shows a process for sharing a data encryption key between worker nodes in a clustes.Para:0026, Para:0036 teaches a key orchestration agent 218 further controls the process of coordinating distribution of data encryption key 220 with a set of one or more other data processing systems (i.e., set of other worker nodes within the cluster). Key orchestration agent 218 performs a remote attestation process to ensure that each worker node in the set of other worker nodes is an authenticated, trusted worker node before sharing data encryption key 220 with a respective worker node in the cluster.
Para:0007 teaches a set of processors generates a worker node with a key orchestration agent in a cluster of an open source container orchestration framework. The set of processors, using the key orchestration agent of the worker node, generates a data encryption key. The set of processors, using the key orchestration agent, retrieves a sealing key of the first key orchestration agent from a secure enclave of the worker node. The set of processors, using the sealing key of the first key orchestration agent, seals the data encryption key. Further, the set of processors determines whether a container has been created in the worker node. In response to the set of processors determining that a container has been created in the worker node, the set of processors, using the first key orchestration agent, performs local attestation with the container to establish authenticity of the container. Then, the set of processors determines whether the container is trusted based on the local attestation. In response to the set of processors determining that the container is untrusted based on the local attestation, the set of processors denies access to the data encryption key by the container. In response to the set of processors determining that the container is trusted based on the local attestation, the set of processors, using the key orchestration agent, shares the data encryption key with the container, encrypts, using the data encryption key shared with the container, data corresponding to a workload of the container, and stores an identifier of the worker node and the data encryption key sealed with a unique sealing key of the container in a shared database. Para:0008 and Para:0053 teaches enable different containers running a distributed application on different worker nodes within the cluster to share sensitive application data between the different containers by using the data encryption key that is sealed with a unique sealing key. Para:0049 teaches when having a cluster with “n” number of worker nodes in an open source container orchestration framework, enable every worker node in the cluster to access sensitive application data inside a secure enclave by encrypting and decrypting the sensitive application data using a data encryption key. Illustrative embodiments share the data encryption key among trusted (i.e., attested) worker nodes. Each worker node protects its data encryption key by encrypting the data encryption key with a sealing key, which is unique to a secure enclave on a given worker node).
13. Regarding claims 5 and 13 Rodriguez teaches the method and the non-transitory computer-readable medium, further comprising: receiving, from a device associated with the operations cluster, the user input, wherein encrypting the user input is further based at least in part on receiving the user input; and providing the encrypted user input to the device (Para:0007 teaches a set of processors generates a worker node with a key orchestration agent in a cluster of an open source container orchestration framework. The set of processors, using the key orchestration agent of the worker node, generates a data encryption key. The set of processors, using the key orchestration agent, retrieves a sealing key of the first key orchestration agent from a secure enclave of the worker node. The set of processors, using the sealing key of the first key orchestration agent, seals the data encryption key. Further, the set of processors determines whether a container has been created in the worker node. In response to the set of processors determining that a container has been created in the worker node, the set of processors, using the first key orchestration agent, performs local attestation with the container to establish authenticity of the container. Then, the set of processors determines whether the container is trusted based on the local attestation. In response to the set of processors determining that the container is untrusted based on the local attestation, the set of processors denies access to the data encryption key by the container. In response to the set of processors determining that the container is trusted based on the local attestation, the set of processors, using the key orchestration agent, shares the data encryption key with the container, encrypts, using the data encryption key shared with the container, data corresponding to a workload of the container, and stores an identifier of the worker node and the data encryption key sealed with a unique sealing key of the container in a shared database. Para:0008 and Para:0053 teaches enable different containers running a distributed application on different worker nodes within the cluster to share sensitive application data between the different containers by using the data encryption key that is sealed with a unique sealing key. Para:0049 teaches when having a cluster with “n” number of worker nodes in an open source container orchestration framework, enable every worker node in the cluster to access sensitive application data inside a secure enclave by encrypting and decrypting the sensitive application data using a data encryption key. Illustrative embodiments share the data encryption key among trusted (i.e., attested) worker nodes. Each worker node protects its data encryption key by encrypting the data encryption key with a sealing key, which is unique to a secure enclave on a given worker node).
14. Regarding claims 6 and 14 Rodriguez teaches the method and the non-transitory computer-readable medium, further comprising: executing a third application on a cluster of the plurality of clusters using the encrypted user input, wherein the encrypted user input comprises a key-value pair associated with the third application (Para:0034-0037 teaches user input/user data comprises a key-value pair associated with the application).
15. Regarding claims 8 and 16 Rodriguez teaches the method and the non-transitory computer-readable medium, further comprising: detecting, by a third application executed on a plurality of second clusters associated with a second environment, a generation of a second encryption key on a primary second cluster of the plurality of second clusters; transmitting the second encryption key to each second cluster of the plurality of second clusters in response to detecting the generation of the second encryption key on the primary second cluster; and encrypting, by the second application executed on the operations cluster, a second user input based at least in part on the second encryption key and the second environment (Fig.7 shows a process for sharing a data encryption key between worker nodes in a cluster.Para:0036 teaches a key orchestration agent 218 further controls the process of coordinating distribution of data encryption key 220 with a set of one or more other data processing systems (i.e., set of other worker nodes within the cluster). Key orchestration agent 218 performs a remote attestation process to ensure that each worker node in the set of other worker nodes is an authenticated, trusted worker node before sharing data encryption key 220 with a respective worker node in the cluster.
Para:0007 teaches a set of processors generates a worker node with a key orchestration agent in a cluster of an open source container orchestration framework. The set of processors, using the key orchestration agent of the worker node, generates a data encryption key. The set of processors, using the key orchestration agent, retrieves a sealing key of the first key orchestration agent from a secure enclave of the worker node. The set of processors, using the sealing key of the first key orchestration agent, seals the data encryption key. Further, the set of processors determines whether a container has been created in the worker node. In response to the set of processors determining that a container has been created in the worker node, the set of processors, using the first key orchestration agent, performs local attestation with the container to establish authenticity of the container. Then, the set of processors determines whether the container is trusted based on the local attestation. In response to the set of processors determining that the container is untrusted based on the local attestation, the set of processors denies access to the data encryption key by the container. In response to the set of processors determining that the container is trusted based on the local attestation, the set of processors, using the key orchestration agent, shares the data encryption key with the container, encrypts, using the data encryption key shared with the container, data corresponding to a workload of the container, and stores an identifier of the worker node and the data encryption key sealed with a unique sealing key of the container in a shared database. Para:0008 and Para:0053 teaches enable different containers running a distributed application on different worker nodes within the cluster to share sensitive application data between the different containers by using the data encryption key that is sealed with a unique sealing key. Para:0049 teaches when having a cluster with “n” number of worker nodes in an open source container orchestration framework, enable every worker node in the cluster to access sensitive application data inside a secure enclave by encrypting and decrypting the sensitive application data using a data encryption key. Illustrative embodiments share the data encryption key among trusted (i.e., attested) worker nodes. Each worker node protects its data encryption key by encrypting the data encryption key with a sealing key, which is unique to a secure enclave on a given worker node).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
17. Claim(s) 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez (US Pub.No.2020/0403784) in view of Schwarz (US Pub.No.2018/0367528)
18. Regarding claims 7 and 15 Rodriguez teaches the method and the non-transitory computer-readable medium, further comprising: detecting, by the first application, a generation of one or more authentication credentials, wherein the generation is detected on at least one cluster of the plurality of clusters; generating, by the first application, one or more access credentials based at least in part on the one or more authentication credentials; and transmitting the one or more access credentials to the operations cluster based at least in part on generating the one or more access credentials (Para:0027-0028 and Fig.4 and Para:0064-0068); but fails to teach a generation of one or more authentication credentials for a namespace.
Schwarz teaches generation of one or more authentication credentials for a namespace (Para:0088-0089).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was filed to modify the teachings of Rodriguez to include generation of one or more authentication credentials for a namespace as taught by Schwarz such a setup would give a predictable result of creating authentication credential with namespace and grant access to specific resources.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEREENA T CATTUNGAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431