DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Final Office Action in response to the Amendment/Remarks received on 11 December 2025. Claims 1, 9, and 17 have been amended. Claims 2, 10, and 18 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 3-9, 11-17, 19, and 20 remain pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pgs. 7-12, filed 11 December 2025 with respect to rejected claims 1, 3-9, 11-17, 19, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the claim amendments filed on 11 December 2025. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as follows:
Claims 1, 3-6 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0405245 A1 (hereinafter Mo) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0371729 A1 (hereinafter Sugino) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0333013 A1 (hereinafter Starkey) and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0319014 A1 (hereinafter Ophardt).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mo in view of Sugino in further view of Starkey, Ophardt, and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0000733 A1 (hereinafter Jonte).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mo in view of Sugino in further view of Starkey, Ophardt, and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2010/0315245 A1 (hereinafter Wofford).
Claims 9 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mo in view of Sugino in further view of Starkey, Ophardt, and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0130841 A1 (hereinafter Young).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mo in view of Sugino in further view of Starkey, Ophardt, Young, and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0000733 A1 (hereinafter Jonte).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mo in view of Sugino in further view of Starkey, Ophardt, Young, and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2010/0315245 A1 (hereinafter Wofford).
With respect to the Applicant’s arguments,
In that regard, Mo, Sugino, and Starkey, even when combined, do not disclose or contemplate "responsive to the actuator on the dispensing valve being activated to dispense the liquid: continuously command the time-of-flight sensor to emit additional photons in the predefined direction; continuously command the time-of-flight sensor to receive the additional photons reflected off the target object; continuously compare the target object's distance to the predefined range; and responsive to the target object's distance being outside the predefined range, command the actuator on the dispensing valve to deactivate to prevent the liquid from dispensing," as recited (emphasis added). (see Remarks, pg. 8, paragraph 3)
Claim 17 recites features similar to those recited in claim 1. As established above, Mo, Sugino, and Starkey, even when combined, do not disclose or contemplate all the recited features of amended independent claim 1. Thus, a prima facie case of obviousness has not been established with respect to claim 17. (see Remarks, pg. 9, paragraph 2)
Claims 3-6, 19, and 20 variously depend from and add additional features to amended independent claims 1 and 17. For at least the same reasons as described above, Mo, Sugino, and Starkey, even when combined, do not disclose or contemplate each and every feature of claims 2-4, 3-6, 19, and 20. (see Remarks, pg. 9, paragraph 3)
Claim 7 depends from and adds additional features to independent claim 1. As established above, Mo, Sugino, and Starkey, even when combined, do not disclose or contemplate each and every feature of independent claim 1, and therefore, claim 7 as well. Jonte does not affect these deficiencies. (see Remarks, pg. 9, paragraph 4)
Claim 8 depends from and adds additional features to independent claim 1. As established above, Mo, Sugino, and Starkey, even when combined, do not disclose or contemplate each and every feature of independent claim 1, and therefore, claim 8 as well. Wofford does not affect these deficiencies. (see Remarks, pg. 10, paragraph 1)
In that regard, Mo, Sugino, Starkey and Young, even when combined, do not disclose or contemplate "responsive to the actuator on the dispensing valve being activated to dispense the liquid: continuously command the time-of-flight sensor to emit additional photons in the predefined direction; continuously command the time-of-flight sensor to receive the additional photons reflected off the target object; continuously compare the target object's distance to the predefined range; and responsive to the target object's distance being outside the predefined range, command the actuator on the dispensing valve to deactivate to prevent the liquid from dispensing," as recited (emphasis added). (pg. 11, paragraph 2)
Claims 11-14 variously depend from and add additional features to amended independent claim 9. For at least the same reasons as described above, Mo, Sugino, Starkey and Young, even when combined, do not disclose or contemplate each and every feature of claims 11-14. (see Remarks, pg. 12, paragraph 2)
As established above, Mo, Sugino, Starkey, and Young, even when combined, do not disclose or contemplate each and every feature of independent claim 1, and therefore, claim 15 as well. Jonte does not affect these deficiencies. (see Remarks, pg. 12, paragraph 3)
As established above, Mo, Sugino, Starkey, and Young, even when combined, do not disclose or contemplate each and every feature of independent claim 9, and therefore, claim 16 as well. Wofford does not affect these deficiencies. (see Remarks, pg. 12, paragraph 4)
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner emphasizes that all anticipated components and limitations
of pending claims are present in the prior art as supported below. In addition, the Examiner notes the limitations of “responsive to the actuator on the dispensing valve being activated to dispense the liquid: continuously command the time-of-flight sensor to emit additional photons in the predefined direction; continuously command the time-of-flight sensor to receive the additional photons reflected off the target object; continuously compare the target object's distance to the predefined range; and responsive to the target object's distance being outside the predefined range, command the actuator on the dispensing valve to deactivate to prevent the liquid from dispensing” in claim 1, and similarly in claims 9 and 17, were newly presented in the Amendment After Non-Final received on 11 December 2025 by the Office, and have been addressed as set forth in the Office Action below.
Claims 1, 3-9, 11-17, 19, and 20 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 17, and 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0405245 A1 (hereinafter Mo) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0371729 A1 (hereinafter Sugino) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0333013 A1 (hereinafter Starkey) and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0319014 A1 (hereinafter Ophardt).
As per claim 1, Mo substantially teaches the Applicant’s claimed invention. Mo teaches the limitations of a time-of-flight controlled touchless device (pg. 2, par. [0020] and Fig. 1, element 100; i.e. a hybrid sensor; i.e. “The hybrid sensor 100 may comprise circuit board 102 that includes processor 104, memory 106, connection module 112, a first capacitor 114, a second capacitor 116, a ToF sensor 122, and an IR sensor comprising a first IR transmitter 118, a second IR transmitter 120, and an IR receiver 128. A data bus (not shown) may interconnect processor 104, memory 106, the first IR transmitter 118, the second IR transmitter 120, the time-of-flight sensor 122, and/or the IR receiver 128.”), comprising:
a time-of-flight sensor (pg. 3, par. [0027] and Fig. 1, element 122; i.e. “ToF sensor 122 may comprise a ToF transmitter 124 and a ToF receiver 126. In this regard, the ToF transmitter 124 may be a diode configured to emit (e.g. transmit, send) a laser beam at one or more objects.”); and
a microcontroller (Fig .1, element 104; a processor) in operable communication with the time-of-flight sensor (pg. 2, par. [0020]; i.e. “A data bus (not shown) may interconnect processor 104, memory 106, the first IR transmitter 118, the second IR transmitter 120, the time-of-flight sensor 122, and/or the IR receiver 128.”),
the microcontroller (Fig. 1, element 104; i.e. the processor) configured to:
command the time-of-flight sensor (Fig. 1, element 122) to emit a photon in a predefined direction, wherein the time-of-flight sensor includes an infrared laser that emits the photon (pg. 3, par. [0027]; i.e. “… the ToF transmitter 124 may be a diode configured to emit (e.g. transmit, send) a laser beam at one or more objects. For example, ToF transmitter 124 may be a Vertical Cavity Surface-Emitting Laser (VCSEL) configured to transmit a laser at a predetermined wavelength (e.g., 940 nm). ToF receiver 126 may be a photodetector or a photoreceptor configured to receive the laser beam reflected off of the one or more objects. ToF sensor 122 may be configured to determine how far the one or more objects are from hybrid sensor 100 using the roundtrip time from when the laser was transmitted by ToF transmitter 124 until the reflected laser was received by ToF receiver 126. In some examples, ToF sensor 122 may use a SPAD (Single Photon Avalanche Diodes) array to measure distances up to several meters (e.g., ≥2) away in a short period of time (e.g., <30 ms). … processor 104 may transmit a signal to activate ToF sensor 122 to determine how far an object is from hybrid sensor 100.”);
command the time-of-flight sensor (Fig. 1, element 122) to receive the photon reflected off a surface (pg. 3, par. [0027]; i.e. “… the ToF transmitter 124 may be a diode configured to emit (e.g. transmit, send) a laser beam at one or more objects. For example, ToF transmitter 124 may be a Vertical Cavity Surface-Emitting Laser (VCSEL) configured to transmit a laser at a predetermined wavelength (e.g., 940 nm). ToF receiver 126 may be a photodetector or a photoreceptor configured to receive the laser beam reflected off of the one or more objects. ToF sensor 122 may be configured to determine how far the one or more objects are from hybrid sensor 100 using the roundtrip time from when the laser was transmitted by ToF transmitter 124 until the reflected laser was received by ToF receiver 126. In some examples, ToF sensor 122 may use a SPAD (Single Photon Avalanche Diodes) array to measure distances up to several meters (e.g., ≥2) away in a short period of time (e.g., <30 ms). … processor 104 may transmit a signal to activate ToF sensor 122 to determine how far an object is from hybrid sensor 100.”);
determine a target object's distance based on a time-of-flight between emitting the photon and receiving the photon (pg. 3, par. [0027]; i.e. “… the ToF transmitter 124 may be a diode configured to emit (e.g. transmit, send) a laser beam at one or more objects. For example, ToF transmitter 124 may be a Vertical Cavity Surface-Emitting Laser (VCSEL) configured to transmit a laser at a predetermined wavelength (e.g., 940 nm). ToF receiver 126 may be a photodetector or a photoreceptor configured to receive the laser beam reflected off of the one or more objects. ToF sensor 122 may be configured to determine how far the one or more objects are from hybrid sensor 100 using the roundtrip time from when the laser was transmitted by ToF transmitter 124 until the reflected laser was received by ToF receiver 126. In some examples, ToF sensor 122 may use a SPAD (Single Photon Avalanche Diodes) array to measure distances up to several meters (e.g., ≥2) away in a short period of time (e.g., <30 ms).”);
determine the target object’s presence in a predefined zone (pg. 2, par. [0018], pg. 4, par. [0033], pg. 5, par. [0040] and pg. 7, par. [0055]; i.e. [0018]: “The one or more IR sensors, working in conjunction with the one or more ToF sensors, may more accurately detect a user's position and/or distance from the hybrid sensor. A combination of measurements from the one or more IR sensors and the one or more ToF sensors may be provided to a controller to determine whether a user is proximately located to the hybrid sensor.” and [0033]: “… the hybrid sensor 100 may be implemented in a faucet that controls the flow of water in response to the presence (or absence) of a user. Similarly, hybrid sensor 100 may be used in an automatic soap dispenser, an automatic hand dryer, an automatic paper towel dispenser, etc.” and [0040]: “As shown in FIG. 4, flushometer may define a first detection zone 430, a second detection zone 440, and/or a third detection zone 450. The first detection zone 430 may be considered an entering zone, where a user makes an approach (e.g., an initial approach) toward the hybrid sensor. The second detection zone 440 may be considered a standing zone, where the user may be standing proximate to the hybrid sensor (e.g., evacuating their bladder over a toilet, standing at a sink to wash their hands, standing at hand dryer and/or paper towel dispenser, etc.). … While FIG. 4 shows three detection zones, it will be appreciated that more, or fewer, detection zones may be employed. For example, urinals, paper towel dispensers, hand dryers, and the like may eliminate the third zone (e.g., the sitting zone). Accordingly, these appliances may only need two detection zones to operate.”);
responsive to the target object’s presence being within the predefined area, command an actuator (i.e. a control module) to activate to dispense a liquid (pg. 3, par. [0024] and pg. 4, par. [0030] and [0033]; i.e. [0024]: “… processor 104 may communicate with the one or more control modules via connection module 112. For instance, processor 104 may send a signal and/or power, via connection module 112, to a flush control module. The flush control module may receive the signal and provide a signal to a solenoid, which may cause a plunger to move to effectuate flushing of a toilet (or urinal). Similar operations may occur to turn on a faucet, turn off a faucet, dispense soap, activate a hand dryer, dispense paper towels, open an automatic door, etc.”; [0030]: “… hybrid sensor 100 may be deployed in a variety of automated fixtures and/or appliances, including automatic faucets, automatic soap dispensers, automatic hand dryers, automatic paper towel dispensers, automatic doors, and the like. FIG. 2 illustrates a bathroom fixture 200 that comprises automatic flushometer 210 which may include a sensor, such as hybrid sensor 100 described above, and a light ring 217”, and [0033]: “… the hybrid sensor 100 may be implemented in a faucet that controls the flow of water in response to the presence (or absence) of a user. Similarly, hybrid sensor 100 may be used in an automatic soap dispenser, an automatic hand dryer, an automatic paper towel dispenser, etc.”);
command the time-of-flight sensor to emit additional photons in the predefined direction (pgs. 3-4, par. [0027] and [0029]; i.e. [0029]: “Once the ToF sensor 122 has taken the one or more measurements, it may return to a dormant state (e.g., low power or sleep mode) while the infrared sensor may continue to emit infrared light and/or detect the reflection of the infrared light off of one or more objects.”); and
command the time-of-flight sensor to receive the additional photons reflected off the target object (pgs. 3-4, par. [0027] and [0029]; i.e. [0029]: “Once the ToF sensor 122 has taken the one or more measurements, it may return to a dormant state (e.g., low power or sleep mode) while the infrared sensor may continue to emit infrared light and/or detect the reflection of the infrared light off of one or more objects.”).
Not explicitly taught are compare the target object's distance to a predefined range;
responsive to the target object's distance being within the predefined range, command an actuator on the dispensing valve to activate to dispense a liquid; and
responsive to the actuator on the dispensing valve being activated to dispense the liquid:
continuously command the time-of-flight sensor to emit additional photons in the predefined direction;
continuously command the time-of-flight sensor to receive the additional photons reflected off the target object;
continuously compare the target object's distance to the predefined range; and
responsive to the target object's distance being outside the predefined range, command the actuator on the dispensing valve to deactivate to prevent the liquid from dispensing.
However Sugino, in an analogous art of object detection and touchless control of a component/device (pg. 1, par. [0001] and [0008] and pgs. 9-10, par. [0110]) teaches the missing limitations of determine a target object's (pg. 2, par. [0019]; i.e. “…hands, the dishes, cooking tools, vegetables and fruit …”) presence in a predefined range (pgs. 1-2, [0018] and [0019] and pgs. 9-10, par. [0110]-[0112]; i.e. [0018]: “… ” the spatial information is selected from information on the distance to an object in the space, information representing whether or not an object is present in a monitoring region defined in the space, information representing whether or not an object in the monitoring region is a target object as a monitored object, and the like. In the sensor to be explained below, each of the information representing whether or not the object is present in the monitoring region and the information representing whether or not the object in the monitoring region is the target object is information based on information on the distance to the object in the space.”; [0019]: “A monitoring region for monitoring a target object is set in a predetermined rage near the outlet. The monitoring region is determined based on the distance from the sensor. The sensor is configured to extract, as the spatial information, information representing whether or not a target object such as hands, the dishes, cooking tools, vegetables and fruit is present in the monitoring region.”, [0110]: “A monitoring region of the sensor 10B is set to the vicinity of the outlet 214 so that when a target object enters the monitoring region, the sensor 10B outputs a control signal forcing the valve 213 to open. Specifically, arrangement of transmitting and receiving antennas 111 and 112 and setting conditions of a determination processor 132 are determined such that a region just under the outlet 214 and a periphery region thereof are the monitoring region. Therefore, when a target object such as hands, the dishes, cooking tools, vegetables and fruit approaches the outlet 214, the valve 213 opens to allow water to flow.”, [0111]: “Note that the valve 213 is preferably a latching solenoid valve configured to maintain On and Off states without power after being selectively turned on and off, respectively. The latching solenoid valve is merely one example, and the valve 213 is not limited thereto as long as it includes a solenoid valve.”, and [0112]: “In the sensor 10B of the faucet device 20, a range from about several centimeters to 50 centimeters with respect to the sensor 10B is defined as the monitoring region.”);
responsive to the target object's presence being within the predefined range, command an actuator (i.e. a solenoid of a solenoid valve (Fig. 6, element 213)) on a dispensing valve (Fig. 6, element 213; i.e. a solenoid valve) to activate to dispense a liquid (pg. 10, par. [0110]-[0112]; i.e. [0110]: “… the sensor 10B is disposed near an outlet 214 at a tip of the spout 212. A monitoring region of the sensor 10B is set to the vicinity of the outlet 214 so that when a target object enters the monitoring region, the sensor 10B outputs a control signal forcing the valve 213 to open.”, [0111]: “Note that the valve 213 is preferably a latching solenoid valve configured to maintain On and Off states without power after being selectively turned on and off, respectively. The latching solenoid valve is merely one example, and the valve 213 is not limited thereto as long as it includes a solenoid valve.”, and [0112]: “In the sensor 10B of the faucet device 20, a range from about several centimeters to 50 centimeters with respect to the sensor 10B is defined as the monitoring region.”); and
responsive to the target object's (pg. 2, par. [0019]; i.e. “…hands, the dishes, cooking tools, vegetables and fruit …”) presence being outside the predefined range (pgs. 1-2, [0018] and [0019] and pgs. 9-10, par. [0110]-[0112]; i.e. [0018]: “… ” the spatial information is selected from information on the distance to an object in the space, information representing whether or not an object is present in a monitoring region defined in the space, information representing whether or not an object in the monitoring region is a target object as a monitored object, and the like. In the sensor to be explained below, each of the information representing whether or not the object is present in the monitoring region and the information representing whether or not the object in the monitoring region is the target object is information based on information on the distance to the object in the space.”; [0019]: “A monitoring region for monitoring a target object is set in a predetermined rage near the outlet. The monitoring region is determined based on the distance from the sensor. The sensor is configured to extract, as the spatial information, information representing whether or not a target object such as hands, the dishes, cooking tools, vegetables and fruit is present in the monitoring region.”, [0110]: “A monitoring region of the sensor 10B is set to the vicinity of the outlet 214 so that when a target object enters the monitoring region, the sensor 10B outputs a control signal forcing the valve 213 to open. Specifically, arrangement of transmitting and receiving antennas 111 and 112 and setting conditions of a determination processor 132 are determined such that a region just under the outlet 214 and a periphery region thereof are the monitoring region. Therefore, when a target object such as hands, the dishes, cooking tools, vegetables and fruit approaches the outlet 214, the valve 213 opens to allow water to flow.”, [0111]: “Note that the valve 213 is preferably a latching solenoid valve configured to maintain On and Off states without power after being selectively turned on and off, respectively. The latching solenoid valve is merely one example, and the valve 213 is not limited thereto as long as it includes a solenoid valve.”, and [0112]: “In the sensor 10B of the faucet device 20, a range from about several centimeters to 50 centimeters with respect to the sensor 10B is defined as the monitoring region.”), command the actuator (i.e. the solenoid of the solenoid valve (Fig. 6, element 213)) on the dispensing valve (Fig. 6, element 213; i.e. the solenoid valve) to deactivate to prevent the liquid from dispensing (pg. 10, par. [0111] and [0112]; i.e. [0111]: “… when the sensor 10B detects no target object, the sensor 10B outputs a control signal forcing the valve 213 to close. Therefore, when the target object leaves the outlet 214, the valve 213 closes to stop water from flowing. Note that the valve 213 is preferably a latching solenoid valve configured to maintain On and Off states without power after being selectively turned on and off, respectively. The latching solenoid valve is merely one example, and the valve 213 is not limited thereto as long as it includes a solenoid valve.”, and [0112]: “In the sensor 10B of the faucet device 20, a range from about several centimeters to 50 centimeters with respect to the sensor 10B is defined as the monitoring region.”) for the purpose of controlling a flow of a liquid (pg. 1, par. [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Mo to include the addition of the limitations of determine a target object's presence in a predefined range; responsive to the target object's presence being within the predefined range, command an actuator on a dispensing valve; and responsive to the target object's presence being outside the predefined range, command the actuator on the dispensing valve to deactivate to prevent the liquid from dispensing to suppress unnecessary flow of water from a water faucet there by contributing to water savings (Sugino: pg. 12, par. [0146]).
Mo in view of Sugino does not expressly teach compare the target object's distance to a predefined range; and
responsive to the actuator on the dispensing valve being activated to dispense the liquid:
continuously command the time-of-flight sensor to emit additional photons in the predefined direction;
continuously command the time-of-flight sensor to receive the additional photons reflected off the target object;
continuously compare the target object's distance to the predefined range; and
the target object's distance being outside the predefined range.
However Starkey, in an analogous art of touch-free dispensing operation (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitation of compare a target object's (pg. 5, par. [0056]; i.e. a user’s hand) distance to a predefined range (pg. 2, par. [0022]-[0024], pg. 3, par. [0045] and pg. 5, par. [0058]; i.e. [0022]: “… the controller is configured to compare the calculated distance to a threshold range of distances and actuate the dispensing mechanism in response to a determination that the calculated distance is within the threshold range of distances.”, [0023]: “The time of flight is an amount of time that elapses between the first time and the second time. The processing circuit is configured to actuate the dispensing mechanism based on the calculated time of flight.”, [0024]: “… the processing circuit is configured to calculate a distance to the object based on the time of flight and actuate the dispensing mechanism based on the calculated distance.” and [0058]: “… controller 128 compares the calculated distance d to a predetermined range of distances. The range may be defined by a minimum distance dmin threshold and a maximum distance threshold dmax. If the calculated distance d is within the predetermined range (i.e., dmin≤d≤dmax), controller 128 may actuate the dispensing mechanism of paper towel dispenser 100.”); and
the target object's (pg. 5, par. [0056]; i.e. the user’s hand) distance being outside the predefined range (pg. 5, par. [0058]; i.e. “However, if the calculated distance d is not within the predetermined range (i.e., d<dmin or d>dmax), controller 128 may disregard the detected object and may not actuate the dispensing mechanism. The maximum distance threshold dmax prevents dispenser 100 from dispensing a paper towel if the detected object is too far away (e.g., a person walking past dispenser 100), whereas the minimum distance threshold dmin prevents dispenser 100 from dispensing a paper towel if the detected object is too close (e.g., light reflecting off the internal surface of window 104).”) for the purpose of automatic dispensing (pg. 1, par. [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Mo in view of Sugino to include the addition of the limitation of compare a target object's distance to a predefined range; and the target object's distance being outside the predefined range to advantageously prevent a dispenser from dispensing if a detected object is too far away (Starkey: pg. 5, par. [0058]).
Mo in view of Sugino in view of Starkey does not expressly teach responsive to the actuator on the dispensing valve being activated to dispense the liquid:
continuously command the time-of-flight sensor to emit additional photons in the predefined direction;
continuously command the time-of-flight sensor to receive the additional photons reflected off the target object; and
continuously compare the target object's distance to the predefined range.
However Ophardt, in an analogous art of a touchless dispenser (pg. 4, par. [0108]), teaches the missing limitations of responsive to dispensing being activated to dispense a liquid (pg. 5, par. [0112] and [0113]; i.e. [0112]: “Once the controller 15 has activated the pump 13 to dispense fluid, the controller 15 preferably increases the scan rate of the sensor 18 as, for example, to a gesture scan rate of, for example, about sixteen scans per second which gesture scan rate is selected such that the sensor 18 can detect the gestures of the hand 9, that is, for example, the movement of the hand 9 between the positions of FIGS. 4, 5 and 6 with time.”):
continuously command a time-of-flight sensor to emit additional photons in a predefined direction (pg. 4, par. [0104] and pg. 5, par. [0112], [0113] and [0116]: i.e. [0104]: “The sensor 18 is a precise distance measuring sensor, preferably a time of flight sensor which measures the distance between the sensor and a target object directly by measuring the flight time of photons transmitted from the sensor 18 that are reflected by a target to the sensor 18.”);
continuously command the time-of-flight sensor to receive additional photons reflected off a target object (pg. 4, par. [0104] and pg. 5, par. [0112] and [0113]; i.e. [0104]: “The time of flight sensor 18 emits a very short light pulse and uses a photosensitive element such as a photo diode to sense the photons reflected by a target object back to the sensor 18.”); and
continuously compare a target object's distance to a predefined range (pg. 4, par. [0104] and [0108] and pg. 5, par. [0112] and [0113]; i.e. [0104]: “Preferred precise distance measuring sensors preferably can measure the distance between the sensor and an object with the field of view of the sensor accurately …” and [0108]: “… the user's hand 9 has been moved so as to be located within a predetermined active range of distances below the outlet 12, for example, selected to be within the range of two to six inches below the outlet. The predetermined range or set of distances below the outlet is selected having regard to the field of view of the sensor to be such that fluid dispensed from the outlet will engage the user's hand.)”) for the purpose of dispensing a fluid (pg. 4, par. [0104]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Mo in view of Sugino in view of Starkey to include the addition of the limitations of responsive to dispensing being activated to dispense a liquid: continuously command a time-of-flight sensor to emit additional photons in a predefined direction; continuously command the time-of-flight sensor to receive additional photons reflected off a target; and continuously compare a target object's distance to a predefined range to advantageously control a sensor’s scan rate so as to reduce the scan rate, thus saving energy during dormant periods of time, and increasing the scan rate to provide fluid activation during certain periods of time when the sensor is desired to detect gestures of a hand (Ophardt: pg. 5, par. [0112]).
As per claim 3, Mo does not expressly teach the dispensing valve, wherein the actuator on the dispensing valve is configured to:
activate responsive to receiving an activation command from the microcontroller; and
deactivate responsive to receiving a deactivation command from the microcontroller.
However Sugino, in an analogous art of object detection and touchless control of a component/device (pg. 1, par. [0001] and [0008] and pgs. 9-10, par. [0110]), teaches the missing limitations of the dispensing valve (Fig. 6, element 213; i.e. the solenoid valve), wherein the actuator (i.e. the solenoid of the solenoid valve (Fig. 6, element 213)) on the dispensing valve (pg. 10, par. [0111] and[0112]; i.e. [0111]: “Note that the valve 213 is preferably a latching solenoid valve configured to maintain On and Off states without power after being selectively turned on and off, respectively. The latching solenoid valve is merely one example, and the valve 213 is not limited thereto as long as it includes a solenoid valve.”, and [0112]: “In the sensor 10B of the faucet device 20, a range from about several centimeters to 50 centimeters with respect to the sensor 10B is defined as the monitoring region.”) is configured to:
activate responsive to receiving an activation command from a microcontroller (pg. 10, par. [0110]-[0112], pg. 12, par. [0141], and Fig. 1, element 13; a microcontroller of a processing device in a sensor and [0110]: “… the sensor 10B is disposed near an outlet 214 at a tip of the spout 212. A monitoring region of the sensor 10B is set to the vicinity of the outlet 214 so that when a target object enters the monitoring region, the sensor 10B outputs a control signal forcing the valve 213 to open.”, [0111]: “Note that the valve 213 is preferably a latching solenoid valve configured to maintain On and Off states without power after being selectively turned on and off, respectively. The latching solenoid valve is merely one example, and the valve 213 is not limited thereto as long as it includes a solenoid valve.”, [0112]: “In the sensor 10B of the faucet device 20, a range from about several centimeters to 50 centimeters with respect to the sensor 10B is defined as the monitoring region.”, and [0141]: “… a sensor (10, 10A, 10B) according to a tenth aspect the processing device (13) preferably includes a determination processor (132) configured to determine whether or not the object is present in a range of a monitoring region defined based on the distance, and an output interface (133) configured to output a control signal for device control in accordance with a determination result by the determination processor (132).”); and
deactivate responsive to receiving a deactivation command from the microcontroller (pg. 10, par. [0111] and [0112], 12, par. [0141], and Fig. 1, element 13; i.e. [0111]: “… when the sensor 10B detects no target object, the sensor 10B outputs a control signal forcing the valve 213 to close. Therefore, when the target object leaves the outlet 214, the valve 213 closes to stop water from flowing. Note that the valve 213 is preferably a latching solenoid valve configured to maintain On and Off states without power after being selectively turned on and off, respectively. The latching solenoid valve is merely one example, and the valve 213 is not limited thereto as long as it includes a solenoid valve.”, [0112]: “In the sensor 10B of the faucet device 20, a range from about several centimeters to 50 centimeters with respect to the sensor 10B is defined as the monitoring region.”, and [0141]: “… a sensor (10, 10A, 10B) according to a tenth aspect the processing device (13) preferably includes a determination processor (132) configured to determine whether or not the object is present in a range of a monitoring region defined based on the distance, and an output interface (133) configured to output a control signal for device control in accordance with a determination result by the determination processor (132).”) for the purpose of controlling a flow of a liquid (pg. 1, par. [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Mo to include the addition of the limitations the dispensing valve, wherein the actuator on the dispensing valve is configured to: activate responsive to receiving an activation command from a microcontroller; and deactivate responsive to receiving a deactivation command from the microcontroller to suppress unnecessary flow of water from a water faucet there by contributing to water savings (Sugino: pg. 12, par. [0146]).
.
As per claim 4, Mo teaches dispensing at least one of water or soap (pg. 3, par. [0024] and pg. 4, par. [0030] and [0033]; i.e. [0024]: “… processor 104 may communicate with the one or more control modules via connection module 112. For instance, processor 104 may send a signal and/or power, via connection module 112, to a flush control module. The flush control module may receive the signal and provide a signal to a solenoid, which may cause a plunger to move to effectuate flushing of a toilet (or urinal). Similar operations may occur to turn on a faucet, turn off a faucet, dispense soap, activate a hand dryer, dispense paper towels, open an automatic door, etc.”; [0030]: “… hybrid sensor 100 may be deployed in a variety of automated fixtures and/or appliances, including automatic faucets, automatic soap dispensers, automatic hand dryers, automatic paper towel dispensers, automatic doors, and the like. FIG. 2 illustrates a bathroom fixture 200 that comprises automatic flushometer 210 which may include a sensor, such as hybrid sensor 100 described above, and a light ring 217”, and [0033]: “… the hybrid sensor 100 may be implemented in a faucet that controls the flow of water in response to the presence (or absence) of a user. Similarly, hybrid sensor 100 may be used in an automatic soap dispenser, an automatic hand dryer, an automatic paper towel dispenser, etc.”).
Mo does not expressly teach the dispensing valve.
However Sugino, in an analogous art of object detection and touchless control of a component/device (pg. 1, par. [0001] and [0008] and pgs. 9-10, par. [0110]) teaches the missing limitation of the dispensing valve (pgs. 9-10, par. [0110] and [0111]; i.e. [0110]: “A monitoring region of the sensor 10B is set to the vicinity of the outlet 214 so that when a target object enters the monitoring region, the sensor 10B outputs a control signal forcing the valve 213 to open. Specifically, arrangement of transmitting and receiving antennas 111 and 112 and setting conditions of a determination processor 132 are determined such that a region just under the outlet 214 and a periphery region thereof are the monitoring region. Therefore, when a target object such as hands, the dishes, cooking tools, vegetables and fruit approaches the outlet 214, the valve 213 opens to allow water to flow.” and [0111]: “Note that the valve 213 is preferably a latching solenoid valve configured to maintain On and Off states without power after being selectively turned on and off, respectively. The latching solenoid valve is merely one example, and the valve 213 is not limited thereto as long as it includes a solenoid valve.”) for the purpose of controlling a flow of a liquid (pg. 1, par. [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Mo to include the addition of the limitation of the dispensing valve to suppress unnecessary flow of water from a water faucet there by contributing to water savings (Sugino: pg. 12, par. [0146]).
As per claim 5, Mo teaches the time-of-flight sensor (Fig. 1, element 122) comprises an infrared emitter configured to emit the photon in the predefined direction responsive to receiving a command from the microcontroller (pg. 3, par. [0027]; i.e. “… the ToF transmitter 124 may be a diode configured to emit (e.g. transmit, send) a laser beam at one or more objects. For example, ToF transmitter 124 may be a Vertical Cavity Surface-Emitting Laser (VCSEL) configured to transmit a laser at a predetermined wavelength (e.g., 940 nm). ToF receiver 126 may be a photodetector or a photoreceptor configured to receive the laser beam reflected off of the one or more objects. ToF sensor 122 may be configured to determine how far the one or more objects are from hybrid sensor 100 using the roundtrip time from when the laser was transmitted by ToF transmitter 124 until the reflected laser was received by ToF receiver 126. In some examples, ToF sensor 122 may use a SPAD (Single Photon Avalanche Diodes) array to measure distances up to several meters (e.g., ≥2) away in a short period of time (e.g., <30 ms). … processor 104 may transmit a signal to activate ToF sensor 122 to determine how far an object is from hybrid sensor 100.”).
As per claim 6, Mo teaches the time-of-flight sensor (Fig. 1, element 122) comprises an infrared receiver configured to receive the photon reflected off the surface responsive to receiving a command from the microcontroller (pg. 3, par. [0027]; i.e. “… the ToF transmitter 124 may be a diode configured to emit (e.g. transmit, send) a laser beam at one or more objects. For example, ToF transmitter 124 may be a Vertical Cavity Surface-Emitting Laser (VCSEL) configured to transmit a laser at a predetermined wavelength (e.g., 940 nm). ToF receiver 126 may be a photodetector or a photoreceptor configured to receive the laser beam reflected off of the one or more objects. ToF sensor 122 may be configured to determine how far the one or more objects are from hybrid sensor 100 using the roundtrip time from when the laser was transmitted by ToF transmitter 124 until the reflected laser was received by ToF receiver 126. In some examples, ToF sensor 122 may use a SPAD (Single Photon Avalanche Diodes) array to measure distances up to several meters (e.g., ≥2) away in a short period of time (e.g., <30 ms). … processor 104 may transmit a signal to activate ToF sensor 122 to determine how far an object is from hybrid sensor 100.”).
As per claim 17, Mo substantially teaches the Applicant’s claimed invention. Mo teaches the limitations of a method of operating a time-of-flight controlled touchless device (pg. 2, par. [0020] and Fig. 1, element 100; i.e. a hybrid sensor; i.e. “The hybrid sensor 100 may comprise circuit board 102 that includes processor 104, memory 106, connection module 112, a first capacitor 114, a second capacitor 116, a ToF sensor 122, and an IR sensor comprising a first IR transmitter 118, a second IR transmitter 120, and an IR receiver 128. A data bus (not shown) may interconnect processor 104, memory 106, the first IR transmitter 118, the second IR transmitter 120, the time-of-flight sensor 122, and/or the IR receiver 128.”), the method comprising:
commanding, by a microcontroller (Fig .1, element 104; a processor), a time-of-flight sensor (pg. 3, par. [0027] and Fig. 1, element 122; i.e. “ToF sensor 122 may comprise a ToF transmitter 124 and a ToF receiver 126. In this regard, the ToF transmitter 124 may be a diode configured to emit (e.g. transmit, send) a laser beam at one or more objects.”) to emit a photon in a predefined direction, wherein the time-of-flight sensor includes an infrared laser that emits the photon (pg. 3, par. [0027]; i.e. “… the ToF transmitter 124 may be a diode configured to emit (e.g. transmit, send) a laser beam at one or more objects. For example, ToF transmitter 124 may be a Vertical Cavity Surface-Emitting Laser (VCSEL) configured to transmit a laser at a predetermined wavelength (e.g., 940 nm). ToF receiver 126 may be a photodetector or a photoreceptor configured to receive the laser beam reflected off of the one or more objects. ToF sensor 122 may be configured to determine how far the one or more objects are from hybrid sensor 100 using the roundtrip time from when the laser was transmitted by ToF transmitter 124 until the reflected laser was received by ToF receiver 126. In some examples, ToF sensor 122 may use a SPAD (Single Photon Avalanche Diodes) array to measure distances up to several meters (e.g., ≥2) away in a short period of time (e.g., <30 ms). … processor 104 may transmit a signal to activate ToF sensor 122 to determine how far an object is from hybrid sensor 100.”);
commanding, by the microcontroller (Fig .1, element 104; the processor), the time-of-flight sensor (pg. 3, par. [0027] and Fig. 1, element 122; i.e. “ToF sensor 122 may comprise a ToF transmitter 124 and a ToF receiver 126. In this regard, the ToF transmitter 124 may be a diode configured to emit (e.g. transmit, send) a laser beam at one or more objects.”) to receive the photon reflected off a surface (pg. 3, par. [0027]; i.e. “… the ToF transmitter 124 may be a diode configured to emit (e.g. transmit, send) a laser beam at one or more objects. For example, ToF transmitter 124 may be a Vertical Cavity Surface-Emitting Laser (VCSEL) configured to transmit a laser at a predetermined wavelength (e.g., 940 nm). ToF receiver 126 may be a photodetector or a photoreceptor configured to receive the laser beam reflected off of the one or more objects. ToF sensor 122 may be configured to determine how far the one or more objects are from hybrid sensor 100 using the roundtrip time from when the laser was transmitted by ToF transmitter 124 until the reflected laser was received by ToF receiver 126. In some examples, ToF sensor 122 may use a SPAD (Single Photon Avalanche Diodes) array to measure distances up to several meters (e.g., ≥2) away in a short period of time (e.g., <30 ms). … processor 104 may transmit a signal to activate ToF sensor 122 to determine how far an object is from hybrid sensor 100.”);
determining, by the microcontroller (Fig .1, element 104; the processor), a target object's distance based on a time-of-flight between emitting the photon and receiving the photon (pg. 3, par. [0027]; i.e. “… the ToF transmitter 124 may be a diode configured to emit (e.g. transmit, send) a laser beam at one or more objects. For example, ToF transmitter 124 may be a Vertical Cavity Surface-Emitting Laser (VCSEL) configured to transmit a laser at a predetermined wavelength (e.g., 940 nm). ToF receiver 126 may be a photodetector or a photoreceptor configured to receive the laser beam reflected off of the one or more objects. ToF sensor 122 may be configured to determine how far the one or more objects are from hybrid sensor 100 using the roundtrip time from when the laser was transmitted by ToF transmitter 124 until the reflected laser was received by ToF receiver 126. In some examples, ToF sensor 122 may use a SPAD (Single Photon Avalanche Diodes) array to measure distances up to several meters (e.g., ≥2) away in a short period of time (e.g., <30 ms).”);
determining, by the microcontroller (Fig .1, element 104; the processor), the target object’s presence in a predefined zone (pg. 2, par. [0018], pg. 4, par. [0033], pg. 5, par. [0040] and pg. 7, par. [0055]; i.e. [0018]: “The one or more IR sensors, working in conjunction with the one or more ToF sensors, may more accurately detect a user's position and/or distance from the hybrid sensor. A combination of measurements from the one or more IR sensors and the one or more ToF sensors may be provided to a controller to determine whether a user is proximately located to the hybrid sensor.” and [0033]: “… the hybrid sensor 100 may be implemented in a faucet that controls the flow of water in response to the presence (or absence) of a user. Similarly, hybrid sensor 100 may be used in an automatic soap dispenser, an automatic hand dryer, an automatic paper towel dispenser, etc.” and [0040]: “As shown in FIG. 4, flushometer may define a first detection zone 430, a second detection zone 440, and/or a third detection zone 450. The first detection zone 430 may be considered an entering zone, where a user makes an approach (e.g., an initial approach) toward the hybrid sensor. The second detection zone 440 may be considered a standing zone, where the user may be standing proximate to the hybrid sensor (e.g., evacuating their bladder over a toilet, standing at a sink to wash their hands, standing at hand dryer and/or paper towel dispenser, etc.). … While FIG. 4 shows three detection zones, it will be appreciated that more, or fewer, detection zones may be employed. For example, urinals, paper towel dispensers, hand dryers, and the like may eliminate the third zone (e.g., the sitting zone). Accordingly, these appliances may only need two detection zones to operate.”);
responsive to the target object’s presence being within the predefined area, commanding, by the microcontroller (Fig .1, element 104; the processor), an actuator (i.e. a control module) to activate to dispense a liquid pg. 3, par. [0024] and pg. 4, par. [0030] and [0033]; i.e. [0024]: “… processor 104 may communicate with the one or more control modules via connection module 112. For instance, processor 104 may send a signal and/or power, via connection module 112, to a flush control module. The flush control module may receive the signal and provide a signal to a solenoid, which may cause a plunger to move to effectuate flushing of a toilet (or urinal). Similar operations may occur to turn on a faucet, turn off a faucet, dispense soap, activate a hand dryer, dispense paper towels, open an automatic door, etc.”; [0030]: “… hybrid sensor 100 may be deployed in a variety of automated fixtures and/or appliances, including automatic faucets, automatic soap dispensers, automatic hand dryers, automatic paper towel dispensers, automatic doors, and the like. FIG. 2 illustrates a bathroom fixture 200 that comprises automatic flushometer 210 which may include a sensor, such as hybrid sensor 100 described above, and a light ring 217”, and [0033]: “… the hybrid sensor 100 may be implemented in a faucet that controls the flow of water in response to the presence (or absence) of a user. Similarly, hybrid sensor 100 may be used in an automatic soap dispenser, an automatic hand dryer, an automatic paper towel dispenser, etc.”);
commanding, by the microcontroller (Fig .1, element 104; the processor), the time-of-flight sensor to emit additional photons in the predefined direction (pgs. 3-4, par. [0027] and [0029]; i.e. [0029]: “Once the ToF sensor 122 has taken the one or more measurements, it may return to a dormant state (e.g., low power or sleep mode) while the infrared sensor may continue to emit infrared light and/or detect the reflection of the infrared light off of one or more objects.”); and
commanding, by the microcontroller (Fig .1, element 104; the processor), the time-of-flight sensor to receive the additional photons reflected off the target object (pgs. 3-4, par. [0027] and [0029]; i.e. [0029]: “Once the ToF sensor 122 has taken the one or more measurements, it may return to a dormant state (e.g., low power or sleep mode) while the infrared sensor may continue to emit infrared light and/or detect the reflection of the infrared light off of one or more objects.”).
Not explicitly taught are comparing the target object's distance to a predefined range;
responsive to the target object's distance being within the predefined range, commanding an actuator on a dispensing valve to activate to dispense a liquid; and
responsive to the actuator on the dispensing valve being activated to dispense the liquid:
continuously commanding, by the microcontroller, the time-of-flight sensor to emit additional photons in the predefined direction;
continuously commanding, by the microcontroller, the time-of-flight sensor to receive the additional photons reflected off the target object;
continuously comparing, by the microcontroller, the target object's distance to the predefined range; and
responsive to the target object's distance being outside the predefined range, commanding, by the microcontroller, the actuator on the dispensing valve to deactivate to prevent the liquid from dispensing.
However Sugino, in an analogous art of object detection and touchless control of a component/device (pg. 1, par. [0001] and [0008] and pgs. 9-10, par. [0110]) teaches the missing limitations of determining a target object's (pg. 2, par. [0019]; i.e. “…hands, the dishes, cooking tools, vegetables and fruit …”) presence in a predefined range (pgs. 1-2, [0018] and [0019] and pgs. 9-10, par. [0110]-[0112]; i.e. [0018]: “… ” the spatial information is selected from information on the distance to an object in the space, information representing whether or not an object is present in a monitoring region defined in the space, information representing whether or not an object in the monitoring region is a target object as a monitored object, and the like. In the sensor to be explained below, each of the information representing whether or not the object is present in the monitoring region and the information representing whether or not the object in the monitoring region is the target object is information based on information on the distance to the object in the space.”; [0019]: “A monitoring region for monitoring a target object is set in a predetermined rage near the outlet. The monitoring region is determined based on the distance from the sensor. The sensor is configured to extract, as the spatial information, information representing whether or not a target object such as hands, the dishes, cooking tools, vegetables and fruit is present in the monitoring region.”, [0110]: “A monitoring region of the sensor 10B is set to the vicinity of the outlet 214 so that when a target object enters the monitoring region, the sensor 10B outputs a control signal forcing the valve 213 to open. Specifically, arrangement of transmitting and receiving antennas 111 and 112 and setting conditions of a determination processor 132 are determined such that a region just under the outlet 214 and a periphery region thereof are the monitoring region. Therefore, when a target object such as hands, the dishes, cooking tools, vegetables and fruit approaches the outlet 214, the valve 213 opens to allow water to flow.”, [0111]: “Note that the valve 213 is preferably a latching solenoid valve configured to maintain On and Off states without power after being selectively turned on and off, respectively. The latching solenoid valve is merely one example, and the valve 213 is not limited thereto as long as it includes a solenoid valve.”, and [0112]: “In the sensor 10B of the faucet device 20, a range from about several centimeters to 50 centimeters with respect to the sensor 10B is defined as the monitoring region.”);
responsive to the target object's presence being within the predefined range, commanding, by a microcontroller (pg. 12, par. [0141]; i.e. “… a sensor (10, 10A, 10B) according to a tenth aspect the processing device (13) preferably includes a determination processor (132) configured to determine whether or not the object is present in a range of a monitoring region defined based on the distance, and an output interface (133) configured to output a control signal for device control in accordance with a determination result by the determination processor (132).”), an actuator (i.e. a solenoid of a solenoid valve (Fig. 6, element 213)) on a dispensing valve (Fig. 6, element 213; i.e. a solenoid valve) to activate to dispense a liquid (pg. 10, par. [0110]-[0112]; i.e. [0110]: “… the sensor 10B is disposed near an outlet 214 at a tip of the spout 212. A monitoring region of the sensor 10B is set to the vicinity of the outlet 214 so that when a target object enters the monitoring region, the sensor 10B outputs a control signal forcing the valve 213 to open.”, [0111]: “Note that the valve 213 is preferably a latching solenoid valve configured to maintain On and Off states without power after being selectively turned on and off, respectively. The latching solenoid valve is merely one example, and the valve 213 is not limited thereto as long as it includes a solenoid valve.”, and [0112]: “In the sensor 10B of the faucet device 20, a range from about several centimeters to 50 centimeters with respect to the sensor 10B is defined as the monitoring region.”); and
responsive to the target object's (pg. 2, par. [0019]; i.e. “…hands, the dishes, cooking tools, vegetables and fruit …”) presence being outside the predefined range (pgs. 1-2, [0018] and [0019] and pgs. 9-10, par. [0110]-[0112]; i.e. [0018]: “… ” the spatial information is selected from information on the distance to an object in the space, information representing whether or not an object is present in a monitoring region defined in the space, information representing whether or not an object in the monitoring region is a target object as a monitored object, and the like. In the sensor to be explained below, each of the information representing whether or not the object is present in the monitoring region and the information representing whether or not the object in the monitoring region is the target object is information based on information on the distance to the object in the space.”; [0019]: “A monitoring region for monitoring a target object is set in a predetermined rage near the outlet. The monitoring region is determined based on the distance from the sensor. The sensor is configured to extract, as the spatial information, information representing whether or not a target object such as hands, the dishes, cooking tools, vegetables and fruit is present in the monitoring region.”, [0110]: “A monitoring region of the sensor 10B is set to the vicinity of the outlet 214 so that when a target object enters the monitoring region, the sensor 10B outputs a control signal forcing the valve 213 to open. Specifically, arrangement of transmitting and receiving antennas 111 and 112 and setting conditions of a determination processor 132 are determined such that a region just under the outlet 214 and a periphery region thereof are the monitoring region. Therefore, when a target object such as hands, the dishes, cooking tools, vegetables and fruit approaches the outlet 214, the valve 213 opens to allow water to flow.”, [0111]: “Note that the valve 213 is preferably a latching solenoid valve configured to maintain On and Off states without power after being selectively turned on and off, respectively. The latching solenoid valve is merely one example, and the valve 213 is not limited thereto as long as it includes a solenoid valve.”, and [0112]: “In the sensor 10B of the faucet device 20, a range from about several centimeters to 50 centimeters with respect to the sensor 10B is defined as the monitoring region.”) commanding, by the microcontroller (pg. 12, par. [0141]; i.e. “… a sensor (10, 10A, 10B) according to a tenth aspect the processing device (13) preferably includes a determination processor (132) configured to determine whether or not the object is present in a range of a monitoring region defined based on the distance, and an output interface (133) configured to output a control signal for device control in accordance with a determination result by the determination processor (132).”), the actuator (i.e. the solenoid of the solenoid valve (Fig. 6, element 213)) on the dispensing valve (Fig. 6, element 213; i.e. the solenoid valve) to deactivate to prevent the liquid from dispensing (pg. 10, par. [0111] and [0112]; i.e. [0111]: “… when the sensor 10B detects no target object, the sensor 10B outputs a control signal forcing the valve 213 to close. Therefore, when the target object leaves the outlet 214, the valve 213 closes to stop water from flowing. Note that the valve 213 is preferably a latching solenoid valve configured to maintain On and Off states without power after being selectively turned on and off, respectively. The latching solenoid valve is merely one example, and the valve 213 is not limited thereto as long as it includes a solenoid valve.”, and [0112]: “In the sensor 10B of the faucet device 20, a range from about several centimeters to 50 centimeters with respect to the sensor 10B is defined as the monitoring region.”) responsive to the target object's (pg. 2, par. [0019]; i.e. “…hands, the dishes, cooking tools, vegetables and fruit …”) presence being outside the predefined range (pgs. 1-2, [0018] and [0019] and pgs. 9-10, par. [0110]-[0112]; i.e. [0018]: “… ” the spatial information is selected from information on the distance to an object in the space, information representing whether or not an object is present in a monitoring region defined in the space, information representing whether or not an object in the monitoring region is a target object as a monitored object, and the like. In the sensor to be explained below, each of the information representing whether or not the object is present in the monitoring region and the information representing whether or not the object in the monitoring region is the target object is information based on information on the distance to the object in the space.”; [0019]: “A monitoring region for monitoring a target object is set in a predetermined rage near the outlet. The monitoring region is determined based on the distance from the sensor. The sensor is configured to extract, as the spatial information, information representing whether or not a target object such as hands, the dishes, cooking tools, vegetables and fruit is present in the monitoring region.”, [0110]: “A monitoring region of the sensor 10B is set to the vicinity of the outlet 214 so that when a target object enters the monitoring region, the sensor 10B outputs a control signal forcing the valve 213 to open. Specifically, arrangement of transmitting and receiving antennas 111 and 112 and setting conditions of a determination processor 132 are determined such that a region just under the outlet 214 and a periphery region thereof are the monitoring region. Therefore, when a target object such as hands, the dishes, cooking tools, vegetables and fruit approaches the outlet 214, the valve 213 opens to allow water to flow.”, [0111]: “Note that the valve 213 is preferably a latching solenoid valve configured to maintain On and Off states without power after being selectively turned on and off, respectively. The latching solenoid valve is merely one example, and the valve 213 is not limited thereto as long as it includes a solenoid valve.”, and [0112]: “In the sensor 10B of the faucet device 20, a range from about several centimeters to 50 centimeters with respect to the sensor 10B is defined as the monitoring region.”), command the actuator (i.e. the solenoid of the solenoid valve (Fig. 6, element 213)) on the dispensing valve (Fig. 6, element 213; i.e. the solenoid valve) to deactivate to prevent the liquid from dispensing (pg. 10, par. [0111] and [0112]; i.e. [0111]: “… when the sensor 10B detects no target object, the sensor 10B outputs a control signal forcing the valve 213 to close. Therefore, when the target object leaves the outlet 214, the valve 213 closes to stop water from flowing. Note that the valve 213 is preferably a latching solenoid valve configured to maintain On and Off states without power after being selectively turned on and off, respectively. The latching solenoid valve is merely one example, and the valve 213 is not limited thereto as long as it includes a solenoid valve.”, and [0112]: “In the sensor 10B of the faucet device 20, a range from about several centimeters to 50 centimeters with respect to the sensor 10B is defined as the monitoring region.”) responsive to the target object's (pg. 2, par. [0019]; i.e. “…hands, the dishes, cooking tools, vegetables and fruit …”) presence being outside the predefined range (pgs. 1-2, [0018] and [0019] and pgs. 9-10, par. [0110]-[0112]; i.e. [0018]: “… ” the spatial information is selected from information on the distance to an object in the space, information representing whether or not an object is present in a monitoring region defined in the space, information representing whether or not an object in the monitoring region is a target object as a monitored object, and the like. In the sensor to be explained below, each of the information representing whether or not the object is present in the monitoring region and the information representing whether or not the object in the monitoring region is the target object is information based on information on the distance to the object in the space.”; [0019]: “A monitoring region for monitoring a target object is set in a predetermined rage near the outlet. The monitoring region is determined based on the distance from the sensor. The sensor is configured to extract, as the spatial information, information representing whether or not a target object such as hands, the dishes, cooking tools, vegetables and fruit is present in the monitoring region.”, [0110]: “A monitoring region of the sensor 10B is set to the vicinity of the outlet 214 so that when a target object enters the monitoring region, the sensor 10B outputs a control signal forcing the valve 213 to open. Specifically, arrangement of transmitting and receiving antennas 111 and 112 and setting conditions of a determination processor 132 are determined such that a region just under the outlet 214 and a periphery region thereof are the monitoring region. Therefore, when a target object such as hands, the dishes, cooking tools, vegetables and fruit approaches the outlet 214, the valve 213 opens to allow water to flow.”, [0111]: “Note that the valve 213 is preferably a latching solenoid valve configured to maintain On and Off states without power after being selectively turned on and off, respectively. The latching solenoid valve is merely one example, and the valve 213 is not limited thereto as long as it includes a solenoid valve.”, and [0112]: “In the sensor 10B of the faucet device 20, a range from about several centimeters to 50 centimeters with respect to the sensor 10B is defined as the monitoring region.”), command the actuator (i.e. the solenoid of the solenoid valve (Fig. 6, element 213)) on the dispensing valve (Fig. 6, element 213; i.e. the solenoid valve) to deactivate to prevent the liquid from dispensing (pg. 10, par. [0111] and [0112]; i.e. [0111]: “… when the sensor 10B detects no target object, the sensor 10B outputs a control signal forcing the valve 213 to close. Therefore, when the target object leaves the outlet 214, the valve 213 closes to stop water from flowing. Note that the valve 213 is preferably a latching solenoid valve configured to maintain On and Off states without power after being selectively turned on and off, respectively. The latching solenoid valve is merely one example, and the valve 213 is not limited thereto as long as it includes a solenoid valve.”, and [0112]: “In the sensor 10B of the faucet device 20, a range from about several centimeters to 50 centimeters with respect to the sensor 10B is defined as the monitoring region.”) for the purpose of controlling a flow of a liquid (pg. 1, par. [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Mo to include the addition of the limitations of determining a target object's presence in a predefined range; responsive to the target object's presence being within the predefined range, commanding, by a microcontroller, an actuator on a dispensing valve; and
responsive to the target object's presence being outside the predefined range, commanding, by a microcontroller, the actuator on the dispensing valve to deactivate to prevent the liquid from dispensing to suppress unnecessary flow of water from a water faucet there by contributing to water savings (Sugino: pg. 12, par. [0146]).
Mo in view of Sugino does not expressly teach comparing the target object's distance to a predefined range; and
responsive to the actuator on the dispensing valve being activated to dispense the liquid:
continuously commanding, by the microcontroller, the time-of-flight sensor to emit additional photons in the predefined direction;
continuously commanding, by the microcontroller, the time-of-flight sensor to receive the additional photons reflected off the target object;
continuously comparing, by the microcontroller, the target object's distance to the predefined range; and
the target object's distance being outside the predefined range.
However Starkey, in an analogous art of touch-free dispensing operation (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitation of comparing a target object's (pg. 5, par. [0056]; i.e. a user’s hand) distance to a predefined range (pg. 2, par. [0022]-[0024], pg. 3, par. [0045] and pg. 5, par. [0058]; i.e. [0022]: “… the controller is configured to compare the calculated distance to a threshold range of distances and actuate the dispensing mechanism in response to a determination that the calculated distance is within the threshold range of distances.”, [0023]: “The time of flight is an amount of time that elapses between the first time and the second time. The processing circuit is configured to actuate the dispensing mechanism based on the calculated time of flight.”, [0024]: “… the processing circuit is configured to calculate a distance to the object based on the time of flight and actuate the dispensing mechanism based on the calculated distance.” and [0058]: “… controller 128 compares the calculated distance d to a predetermined range of distances. The range may be defined by a minimum distance dmin threshold and a maximum distance threshold dmax. If the calculated distance d is within the predetermined range (i.e., dmin≤d≤dmax), controller 128 may actuate the dispensing mechanism of paper towel dispenser 100.”); and
the target object's (pg. 5, par. [0056]; i.e. the user’s hand) distance being outside the predefined range (pg. 5, par. [0058]; i.e. “However, if the calculated distance d is not within the predetermined range (i.e., d<dmin or d>dmax), controller 128 may disregard the detected object and may not actuate the dispensing mechanism. The maximum distance threshold dmax prevents dispenser 100 from dispensing a paper towel if the detected object is too far away (e.g., a person walking past dispenser 100), whereas the minimum distance threshold dmin prevents dispenser 100 from dispensing a paper towel if the detected object is too close (e.g., light reflecting off the internal surface of window 104).”) for the purpose of automatic dispensing (pg. 1, par. [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Mo in view of Sugino to include the addition of the limitation of comparing a target object's distance to a predefined range; and the target object's distance being outside the predefined range to advantageously prevent a dispenser from dispensing if a detected object is too far away (Starkey: pg. 5, par. [0058]).
Mo in view of Sugino in view of Starkey does not expressly teach responsive to the actuator on the dispensing valve being activated to dispense the liquid:
continuously commanding, by the microcontroller, the time-of-flight sensor to emit additional photons in the predefined direction;
continuously commanding, by the microcontroller, the time-of-flight sensor to receive the additional photons reflected off the target object;
continuously comparing, by the microcontroller, the target object's distance to the predefined range.
However Ophardt, in an analogous art of a touchless dispenser (pg. 4, par. [0108]), teaches the missing limitations of responsive to dispensing being activated to dispense a liquid (pg. 5, par. [0112] and [0113]; i.e. [0112]: “Once the controller 15 has activated the pump 13 to dispense fluid, the controller 15 preferably increases the scan rate of the sensor 18 as, for example, to a gesture scan rate of, for example, about sixteen scans per second which gesture scan rate is selected such that the sensor 18 can detect the gestures of the hand 9, that is, for example, the movement of the hand 9 between the positions of FIGS. 4, 5 and 6 with time.”):
continuously commanding a time-of-flight sensor to emit additional photons in a predefined direction (pg. 4, par. [0104] and pg. 5, par. [0112], [0113] and [0116]: i.e. [0104]: “The sensor 18 is a precise distance measuring sensor, preferably a time of flight sensor which measures the distance between the sensor and a target object directly by measuring the flight time of photons transmitted from the sensor 18 that are reflected by a target to the sensor 18.”);
continuously commanding the time-of-flight sensor to receive additional photons reflected off a target object (pg. 4, par. [0104] and pg. 5, par. [0112] and [0113]; i.e. [0104]: “The time of flight sensor 18 emits a very short light pulse and uses a photosensitive element such as a photo diode to sense the photons reflected by a target object back to the sensor 18.”); and
continuously comparing a target object's distance to a predefined range (pg. 4, par. [0104] and [0108] and pg. 5, par. [0112] and [0113]; i.e. [0104]: “Preferred precise distance measuring sensors preferably can measure the distance between the sensor and an object with the field of view of the sensor accurately …” and [0108]: “… the user's hand 9 has been moved so as to be located within a predetermined active range of distances below the outlet 12, for example, selected to be within the range of two to six inches below the outlet. The predetermined range or set of distances below the outlet is selected having regard to the field of view of the sensor to be such that fluid dispensed from the outlet will engage the user's hand.)”) for the purpose of dispensing a fluid (pg. 4, par. [0104]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Mo in view of Sugino in view of Starkey to include the addition of the limitations of responsive to dispensing being activated to dispense a liquid: continuously commanding a time-of-flight sensor to emit additional photons in a predefined direction; continuously commanding the time-of-flight sensor to receive additional photons reflected off a target; and continuously comparing a target object's distance to a predefined range to advantageously control a sensor’s scan rate so as to reduce the scan rate, thus saving energy during dormant periods of time, and increasing the scan rate to provide fluid activation during certain periods of time when the sensor is desired to detect gestures of a hand (Ophardt: pg. 5, par. [0112]).
As per claim 19, Mo teaches the time-of-flight sensor (Fig. 1, element 122) includes an infrared emitter to emit the photon in the predefined direction and an infrared receiver to receive the photon reflected off the surface (pg. 3, par. [0027]; i.e. “… the ToF transmitter 124 may be a diode configured to emit (e.g. transmit, send) a laser beam at one or more objects. For example, ToF transmitter 124 may be a Vertical Cavity Surface-Emitting Laser (VCSEL) configured to transmit a laser at a predetermined wavelength (e.g., 940 nm). ToF receiver 126 may be a photodetector or a photoreceptor configured to receive the laser beam reflected off of the one or more objects. ToF sensor 122 may be configured to determine how far the one or more objects are from hybrid sensor 100 using the roundtrip time from when the laser was transmitted by ToF transmitter 124 until the reflected laser was received by ToF receiver 126. In some examples, ToF sensor 122 may use a SPAD (Single Photon Avalanche Diodes) array to measure distances up to several meters (e.g., ≥2) away in a short period of time (e.g., <30 ms). … processor 104 may transmit a signal to activate ToF sensor 122 to determine how far an object is from hybrid sensor 100.”).
As per claim 20, Mo teaches the predefined direction is an area where the liquid will be dispensed (pg. 3, par. [0024] and pg. 4, par. [0030] and [0033]; i.e. [0024]: “… processor 104 may communicate with the one or more control modules via connection module 112. For instance, processor 104 may send a signal and/or power, via connection module 112, to a flush control module. The flush control module may receive the signal and provide a signal to a solenoid, which may cause a plunger to move to effectuate flushing of a toilet (or urinal). Similar operations may occur to turn on a faucet, turn off a faucet, dispense soap, activate a hand dryer, dispense paper towels, open an automatic door, etc.”; [0030]: “… hybrid sensor 100 may be deployed in a variety of automated fixtures and/or appliances, including automatic faucets, automatic soap dispensers, automatic hand dryers, automatic paper towel dispensers, automatic doors, and the like. FIG. 2 illustrates a bathroom fixture 200 that comprises automatic flushometer 210 which may include a sensor, such as hybrid sensor 100 described above, and a light ring 217”, and [0033]: “… the hybrid sensor 100 may be implemented in a faucet that controls the flow of water in response to the presence (or absence) of a user. Similarly, hybrid sensor 100 may be used in an automatic soap dispenser, an automatic hand dryer, an automatic paper towel dispenser, etc.”).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mo in view of Sugino in further view of Starkey, Ophardt, and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0000733 A1 (hereinafter Jonte).
As per claim 7, Mo in view of Sugino in further view of Starkey and Ophardt does not expressly teach a manual override configured to manually activate the actuator on the dispensing valve to dispense the liquid.
However Jonte, in an analogous art of an automatic dispenser (pg. 3, par. [0003]), teaches the missing limitation of a manual override (i.e. a manual mode of operation) configured to manually activate an actuator on a dispensing valve to dispense liquid (pg. 3, par. [0035] and pg. 4, par. [0043] and [0044]; i.e. [0035]: “… a manually controlled valve in series with an actuator driven valve, illustratively a magnetically latching pilot-controlled solenoid valve.”, [0043]: “… when the actuator driven valve 132 is open, the faucet system 100 may be operated in a conventional manner, i.e., in a manual control mode through operation of the handle 118 and the manual valve member of valve body assembly 104.)”, [0044]: “Thus, in the manual mode, the faucet assembly 100 is controlled by the position of the handle 118 in a manner similar to a conventional faucet …”) for the purpose of controlling a valve in a conventional manner (pg. 4, par. [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Mo in view of Sugino in further view of Starkey and Ophardt to include the addition of the limitation of manual override configured to manually activate an actuator on a dispensing valve to dispense liquid to advantageously limit power consumption of proximity detectors (Jonte: pg. 2, par. [0032]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mo in view of Sugino in further view of Starkey, Ophardt, and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2010/0315245 A1 (hereinafter Wofford).
As per claim 8, Mo teaches the time-of-flight controlled touchless device (Fig. 1, element 102 of Fig .1, element 100; i.e. a circuit board of the hybrid sensor) is configured to receive electrical power and distribute the electrical power to the time-of-flight sensor and other additional components (pg. 2, par. [0020]; i.e. “Additionally, a first electrical lead 108 and a second electrical lead 110 may connect circuit board 102 to a power supply (not shown). The power supply may be configured to supply power to hybrid sensor 100 and/or any additional components, such as a flushing mechanism, a soap dispenser, a faucet, etc. In some instances, the power supply may be a low voltage power supply (e.g., 6 volts provided by 4 AA alkaline batteries, a lithium-ion battery, etc.) configured to power hybrid sensor 100 and/or any additional components for between 3-6 years. In other embodiments, the power supply may be connected to a building power supply (e.g., 120 VAC, 60 Hz) via a standard electrical junction box. In these embodiments, a power back-up may be included, for example, in case the building loses power.”).
Mo does not expressly teach the microcontroller is configured to receive electrical power and distribute the electrical power to the time-of-flight sensor and the dispensing valve.
Mo in view of Sugino does not expressly teach the microcontroller is configured to receive electrical power and distribute the electrical power to the time-of-flight sensor and the dispensing valve.
Mo in view of Sugino in further view of Starkey does not expressly teach the microcontroller is configured to receive electrical power and distribute the electrical power to the time-of-flight sensor and the dispensing valve.
Mo in view of Sugino in further view of Starkey and Ophardt does not expressly teach the microcontroller is configured to receive electrical power and distribute the electrical power to the time-of-flight sensor and the dispensing valve.
However Wofford, in an analogous art of a dispensing system (pg. 1, par. [0006]), teaches the missing limitation of a microcontroller (Fig. 1, element “central controller”) is configured to receive electrical power and distribute the electrical power to a sensor (Fig 1, element 10, 2010, 3010, 4010, 5010, and 6010) and a dispensing valve (pg. 6, par. [0049] and Fig .1, element 184; i.e. “… the power supply is a conventional power adapter connected to a standard 115v source to provide power to a 15v rail of the central controller that supplies power to the central controller, to the sensor sets, to the aural buzzer, and to the water valve. The apparatus could also function properly with a power source of a reasonable voltage other than 15 volts.”) for the purpose of controlling a valve (pg. 1, par. [0006] and [0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Mo in view of Sugino in further view of Starkey and Ophardt to include the addition of the limitation of a microcontroller is configured to receive electrical power and distribute the electrical power to a sensor and a dispensing valve to advantageous provide a control apparatus that is robust, durable, and easy to use, as well as, provide a monitoring means that is convenient and easy to use (Wofford: pg. 1, par. [0006] and [0007]).
Claims 9 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mo in view of Sugino in further view of Starkey, Ophardt, and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0130841 A1 (hereinafter Young).
As per claim 9, Mo substantially teaches the Applicant’s claimed invention. Mo teaches the limitations of a lavatory (pg. 3, par. [0030]; i.e. a bathroom), comprising:
a time-of-flight controlled touchless device (pg. 2, par. [0020] and Fig. 1, element 100; i.e. a hybrid sensor; i.e. “The hybrid sensor 100 may comprise circuit board 102 that includes processor 104, memory 106, connection module 112, a first capacitor 114, a second capacitor 116, a ToF sensor 122, and an IR sensor comprising a first IR transmitter 118, a second IR transmitter 120, and an IR receiver 128. A data bus (not shown) may interconnect processor 104, memory 106, the first IR transmitter 118, the second IR transmitter 120, the time-of-flight sensor 122, and/or the IR receiver 128.”), the time-of-flight controlled touchless device (Fig. 1, element 100; i.e. the hybrid sensor) comprising:
a time-of-flight sensor (pg. 3, par. [0027] and Fig. 1, element 122; i.e. “ToF sensor 122 may comprise a ToF transmitter 124 and a ToF receiver 126. In this regard, the ToF transmitter 124 may be a diode configured to emit (e.g. transmit, send) a laser beam at one or more objects.”); and
a microcontroller (Fig .1, element 104; i.e. a processor) in operable communication with the time-of-flight sensor (pg. 2, par. [0020]; i.e. “A data bus (not shown) may interconnect processor 104, memory 106, the first IR transmitter 118, the second IR transmitter 120, the time-of-flight sensor 122, and/or the IR receiver 128.”) , the microcontroller (Fig .1, element 104; i.e. the processor) configured to:
command the time-of-flight sensor (Fig. 1, element 122) to emit a photon in a predefined direction, wherein the time-of-flight sensor includes an infrared laser that emits the photon (pg. 3, par. [0027]; i.e. “… the ToF transmitter 124 may be a diode configured to emit (e.g. transmit, send) a laser beam at one or more objects. For example, ToF transmitter 124 may be a Vertical Cavity Surface-Emitting Laser (VCSEL) configured to transmit a laser at a predetermined wavelength (e.g., 940 nm). ToF receiver 126 may be a photodetector or a photoreceptor configured to receive the laser beam reflected off of the one or more objects. ToF sensor 122 may be configured to determine how far the one or more objects are from hybrid sensor 100 using the roundtrip time from when the laser was transmitted by ToF transmitter 124 until the reflected laser was received by ToF receiver 126. In some examples, ToF sensor 122 may use a SPAD (Single Photon Avalanche Diodes) array to measure distances up to several meters (e.g., ≥2) away in a short period of time (e.g., <30 ms). … processor 104 may transmit a signal to activate ToF sensor 122 to determine how far an object is from hybrid sensor 100.”);
command the time-of-flight sensor (Fig. 1, element 122) to receive the photon reflected off a surface (pg. 3, par. [0027]; i.e. “… the ToF transmitter 124 may be a diode configured to emit (e.g. transmit, send) a laser beam at one or more objects. For example, ToF transmitter 124 may be a Vertical Cavity Surface-Emitting Laser (VCSEL) configured to transmit a laser at a predetermined wavelength (e.g., 940 nm). ToF receiver 126 may be a photodetector or a photoreceptor configured to receive the laser beam reflected off of the one or more objects. ToF sensor 122 may be configured to determine how far the one or more objects are from hybrid sensor 100 using the roundtrip time from when the laser was transmitted by ToF transmitter 124 until the reflected laser was received by ToF receiver 126. In some examples, ToF sensor 122 may use a SPAD (Single Photon Avalanche Diodes) array to measure distances up to several meters (e.g., ≥2) away in a short period of time (e.g., <30 ms). … processor 104 may transmit a signal to activate ToF sensor 122 to determine how far an object is from hybrid sensor 100.”);
determine a target object's distance based on a time-of-flight between emitting the photon and receiving the photon (pg. 3, par. [0027]; i.e. “… the ToF transmitter 124 may be a diode configured to emit (e.g. transmit, send) a laser beam at one or more objects. For example, ToF transmitter 124 may be a Vertical Cavity Surface-Emitting Laser (VCSEL) configured to transmit a laser at a predetermined wavelength (e.g., 940 nm). ToF receiver 126 may be a photodetector or a photoreceptor configured to receive the laser beam reflected off of the one or more objects. ToF sensor 122 may be configured to determine how far the one or more objects are from hybrid sensor 100 using the roundtrip time from when the laser was transmitted by ToF transmitter 124 until the reflected laser was received by ToF receiver 126. In some examples, ToF sensor 122 may use a SPAD (Single Photon Avalanche Diodes) array to measure distances up to several meters (e.g., ≥2) away in a short period of time (e.g., <30 ms).”);
responsive to the target object’s presence being within the predefined area, command an actuator (i.e. a control module) to activate to dispense a liquid (pg. 3, par. [0024] and pg. 4, par. [0030] and [0033]; i.e. [0024]: “… processor 104 may communicate with the one or more control modules via connection module 112. For instance, processor 104 may send a signal and/or power, via connection module 112, to a flush control module. The flush control module may receive the signal and provide a signal to a solenoid, which may cause a plunger to move to effectuate flushing of a toilet (or urinal). Similar operations may occur to turn on a faucet, turn off a faucet, dispense soap, activate a hand dryer, dispense paper towels, open an automatic door, etc.”; [0030]: “… hybrid sensor 100 may be deployed in a variety of automated fixtures and/or appliances, including automatic faucets, automatic soap dispensers, automatic hand dryers, automatic paper towel dispensers, automatic doors, and the like. FIG. 2 illustrates a bathroom fixture 200 that comprises automatic flushometer 210 which may include a sensor, such as hybrid sensor 100 described above, and a light ring 217”, and [0033]: “… the hybrid sensor 100 may be implemented in a faucet that controls the flow of water in response to the presence (or absence) of a user. Similarly, hybrid sensor 100 may be used in an automatic soap dispenser, an automatic hand dryer, an automatic paper towel dispenser, etc.”).
Not explicitly taught are an aircraft lavatory;
compare the target object's distance to a predefined range;
responsive to the target object's distance being within the predefined range, command an actuator on the dispensing valve to activate to dispense a liquid; and
responsive to the actuator on the dispensing valve being activated to dispense the liquid:
continuously command the time-of-flight sensor to emit additional photons in the predefined direction;
continuously command the time-of-flight sensor to receive the additional photons reflected off the target object;
continuously compare the target object's distance to the predefined range; and
responsive to the target object's distance being outside the predefined range, command the actuator on the dispensing valve to deactivate to prevent the liquid from dispensing.
However Sugino, in an analogous art of object detection and touchless control of a component/device (pg. 1, par. [0001] and [0008] and pgs. 9-10, par. [0110]) teaches the missing limitations of determine a target object's (pg. 2, par. [0019]; i.e. “…hands, the dishes, cooking tools, vegetables and fruit …”) presence in a predefined range (pgs. 1-2, [0018] and [0019] and pgs. 9-10, par. [0110]-[0112]; i.e. [0018]: “… ” the spatial information is selected from information on the distance to an object in the space, information representing whether or not an object is present in a monitoring region defined in the space, information representing whether or not an object in the monitoring region is a target object as a monitored object, and the like. In the sensor to be explained below, each of the information representing whether or not the object is present in the monitoring region and the information representing whether or not the object in the monitoring region is the target object is information based on information on the distance to the object in the space.”; [0019]: “A monitoring region for monitoring a target object is set in a predetermined rage near the outlet. The monitoring region is determined based on the distance from the sensor. The sensor is configured to extract, as the spatial information, information representing whether or not a target object such as hands, the dishes, cooking tools, vegetables and fruit is present in the monitoring region.”, [0110]: “A monitoring region of the sensor 10B is set to the vicinity of the outlet 214 so that when a target object enters the monitoring region, the sensor 10B outputs a control signal forcing the valve 213 to open. Specifically, arrangement of transmitting and receiving antennas 111 and 112 and setting conditions of a determination processor 132 are determined such that a region just under the outlet 214 and a periphery region thereof are the monitoring region. Therefore, when a target object such as hands, the dishes, cooking tools, vegetables and fruit approaches the outlet 214, the valve 213 opens to allow water to flow.”, [0111]: “Note that the valve 213 is preferably a latching solenoid valve configured to maintain On and Off states without power after being selectively turned on and off, respectively. The latching solenoid valve is merely one example, and the valve 213 is not limited thereto as long as it includes a solenoid valve.”, and [0112]: “In the sensor 10B of the faucet device 20, a range from about several centimeters to 50 centimeters with respect to the sensor 10B is defined as the monitoring region.”);
responsive to the target object's presence being within the predefined range, command an actuator (i.e. a solenoid of a solenoid valve (Fig. 6, element 213)) on a dispensing valve (Fig. 6, element 213; i.e. a solenoid valve) to activate to dispense a liquid (pg. 10, par. [0110]-[0112]; i.e. [0110]: “… the sensor 10B is disposed near an outlet 214 at a tip of the spout 212. A monitoring region of the sensor 10B is set to the vicinity of the outlet 214 so that when a target object enters the monitoring region, the sensor 10B outputs a control signal forcing the valve 213 to open.”, [0111]: “Note that the valve 213 is preferably a latching solenoid valve configured to maintain On and Off states without power after being selectively turned on and off, respectively. The latching solenoid valve is merely one example, and the valve 213 is not limited thereto as long as it includes a solenoid valve.”, and [0112]: “In the sensor 10B of the faucet device 20, a range from about several centimeters to 50 centimeters with respect to the sensor 10B is defined as the monitoring region.”); and
responsive to the target object's (pg. 2, par. [0019]; i.e. “…hands, the dishes, cooking tools, vegetables and fruit …”) presence being outside the predefined range (pgs. 1-2, [0018] and [0019] and pgs. 9-10, par. [0110]-[0112]; i.e. [0018]: “… ” the spatial information is selected from information on the distance to an object in the space, information representing whether or not an object is present in a monitoring region defined in the space, information representing whether or not an object in the monitoring region is a target object as a monitored object, and the like. In the sensor to be explained below, each of the information representing whether or not the object is present in the monitoring region and the information representing whether or not the object in the monitoring region is the target object is information based on information on the distance to the object in the space.”; [0019]: “A monitoring region for monitoring a target object is set in a predetermined rage near the outlet. The monitoring region is determined based on the distance from the sensor. The sensor is configured to extract, as the spatial information, information representing whether or not a target object such as hands, the dishes, cooking tools, vegetables and fruit is present in the monitoring region.”, [0110]: “A monitoring region of the sensor 10B is set to the vicinity of the outlet 214 so that when a target object enters the monitoring region, the sensor 10B outputs a control signal forcing the valve 213 to open. Specifically, arrangement of transmitting and receiving antennas 111 and 112 and setting conditions of a determination processor 132 are determined such that a region just under the outlet 214 and a periphery region thereof are the monitoring region. Therefore, when a target object such as hands, the dishes, cooking tools, vegetables and fruit approaches the outlet 214, the valve 213 opens to allow water to flow.”, [0111]: “Note that the valve 213 is preferably a latching solenoid valve configured to maintain On and Off states without power after being selectively turned on and off, respectively. The latching solenoid valve is merely one example, and the valve 213 is not limited thereto as long as it includes a solenoid valve.”, and [0112]: “In the sensor 10B of the faucet device 20, a range from about several centimeters to 50 centimeters with respect to the sensor 10B is defined as the monitoring region.”), command the actuator (i.e. the solenoid of the solenoid valve (Fig. 6, element 213)) on the dispensing valve (Fig. 6, element 213; i.e. the solenoid valve) to deactivate to prevent the liquid from dispensing (pg. 10, par. [0111] and [0112]; i.e. [0111]: “… when the sensor 10B detects no target object, the sensor 10B outputs a control signal forcing the valve 213 to close. Therefore, when the target object leaves the outlet 214, the valve 213 closes to stop water from flowing. Note that the valve 213 is preferably a latching solenoid valve configured to maintain On and Off states without power after being selectively turned on and off, respectively. The latching solenoid valve is merely one example, and the valve 213 is not limited thereto as long as it includes a solenoid valve.”, and [0112]: “In the sensor 10B of the faucet device 20, a range from about several centimeters to 50 centimeters with respect to the sensor 10B is defined as the monitoring region.”) for the purpose of controlling a flow of a liquid (pg. 1, par. [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Mo to include the addition of the limitations of determine a target object's presence in a predefined range; responsive to the target object's presence being within the predefined range, command an actuator on a dispensing valve; and responsive to the target object's presence being outside the predefined range, command the actuator on the dispensing valve to deactivate to prevent the liquid from dispensing to suppress unnecessary flow of water from a water faucet there by contributing to water savings (Sugino: pg. 12, par. [0146]).
Mo in view of Sugino does not expressly teach an aircraft lavatory;
compare the target object's distance to a predefined range; and
responsive to the target object's distance being within the predefined range, command an actuator on the dispensing valve to activate to dispense a liquid; and
responsive to the actuator on the dispensing valve being activated to dispense the liquid:
continuously command the time-of-flight sensor to emit additional photons in the predefined direction;
continuously command the time-of-flight sensor to receive the additional photons reflected off the target object;
continuously compare the target object's distance to the predefined range; and
the target object's distance being outside the predefined range.
However Starkey, in an analogous art of touch-free dispensing operation (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitation of compare a target object's (pg. 5, par. [0056]; i.e. a user’s hand) distance to a predefined range (pg. 2, par. [0022]-[0024], pg. 3, par. [0045] and pg. 5, par. [0058]; i.e. [0022]: “… the controller is configured to compare the calculated distance to a threshold range of distances and actuate the dispensing mechanism in response to a determination that the calculated distance is within the threshold range of distances.”, [0023]: “The time of flight is an amount of time that elapses between the first time and the second time. The processing circuit is configured to actuate the dispensing mechanism based on the calculated time of flight.”, [0024]: “… the processing circuit is configured to calculate a distance to the object based on the time of flight and actuate the dispensing mechanism based on the calculated distance.” and [0058]: “… controller 128 compares the calculated distance d to a predetermined range of distances. The range may be defined by a minimum distance dmin threshold and a maximum distance threshold dmax. If the calculated distance d is within the predetermined range (i.e., dmin≤d≤dmax), controller 128 may actuate the dispensing mechanism of paper towel dispenser 100.”) and
the target object's (pg. 5, par. [0056]; i.e. the user’s hand) distance being outside the predefined range (pg. 5, par. [0058]; i.e. “However, if the calculated distance d is not within the predetermined range (i.e., d<dmin or d>dmax), controller 128 may disregard the detected object and may not actuate the dispensing mechanism. The maximum distance threshold dmax prevents dispenser 100 from dispensing a paper towel if the detected object is too far away (e.g., a person walking past dispenser 100), whereas the minimum distance threshold dmin prevents dispenser 100 from dispensing a paper towel if the detected object is too close (e.g., light reflecting off the internal surface of window 104).”) for the purpose of automatic dispensing (pg. 1, par. [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Mo in view of Sugino to include the addition of the limitation of compare a target object's distance to a predefined range; and the target object's distance being outside the predefined range to advantageously prevent a dispenser from dispensing if a detected object is too far away (Starkey: pg. 5, par. [0058]).
Mo in view of Sugino in view Starkey does not teach an aircraft lavatory; and
responsive to the actuator on the dispensing valve being activated to dispense the liquid:
continuously command the time-of-flight sensor to emit additional photons in the predefined direction;
continuously command the time-of-flight sensor to receive the additional photons reflected off the target object; and
continuously compare the target object's distance to the predefined range.
However Ophardt, in an analogous art of a touchless dispenser (pg. 4, par. [0108]), teaches the missing limitations of responsive to dispensing being activated to dispense a liquid (pg. 5, par. [0112] and [0113]; i.e. [0112]: “Once the controller 15 has activated the pump 13 to dispense fluid, the controller 15 preferably increases the scan rate of the sensor 18 as, for example, to a gesture scan rate of, for example, about sixteen scans per second which gesture scan rate is selected such that the sensor 18 can detect the gestures of the hand 9, that is, for example, the movement of the hand 9 between the positions of FIGS. 4, 5 and 6 with time.”):
continuously command a time-of-flight sensor to emit additional photons in a predefined direction (pg. 4, par. [0104] and pg. 5, par. [0112], [0113] and [0116]: i.e. [0104]: “The sensor 18 is a precise distance measuring sensor, preferably a time of flight sensor which measures the distance between the sensor and a target object directly by measuring the flight time of photons transmitted from the sensor 18 that are reflected by a target to the sensor 18.”);
continuously command the time-of-flight sensor to receive additional photons reflected off a target object (pg. 4, par. [0104] and pg. 5, par. [0112] and [0113]; i.e. [0104]: “The time of flight sensor 18 emits a very short light pulse and uses a photosensitive element such as a photo diode to sense the photons reflected by a target object back to the sensor 18.”); and
continuously compare a target object's distance to a predefined range (pg. 4, par. [0104] and [0108] and pg. 5, par. [0112] and [0113]; i.e. [0104]: “Preferred precise distance measuring sensors preferably can measure the distance between the sensor and an object with the field of view of the sensor accurately …” and [0108]: “… the user's hand 9 has been moved so as to be located within a predetermined active range of distances below the outlet 12, for example, selected to be within the range of two to six inches below the outlet. The predetermined range or set of distances below the outlet is selected having regard to the field of view of the sensor to be such that fluid dispensed from the outlet will engage the user's hand.)”) for the purpose of dispensing a fluid (pg. 4, par. [0104])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Mo in view of Sugino in view of Starkey to include the addition of the limitations of responsive to dispensing being activated to dispense a liquid: continuously command a time-of-flight sensor to emit additional photons in a predefined direction; continuously command the time-of-flight sensor to receive additional photons reflected off a target; and continuously compare a target object's distance to a predefined range to advantageously control a sensor’s scan rate so as to reduce the scan rate, thus saving energy during dormant periods of time, and increasing the scan rate to provide fluid activation during certain periods of time when the sensor is desired to detect gestures of a hand (Ophardt: pg. 5, par. [0112])
Mo in view of Sugino in further view of Starkey and Ophardt does not teach an aircraft lavatory.
However Young, in an analogous art of a dispenser in an aircraft lavatory (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches an aircraft lavatory (pg. 3, par. [0031] and Fig. 1, element 102 of Fig. 1, element 104; i.e. “Modular faucet system 100 may be installed in lavatory 102 on aircraft 104. For example, without limitation, modular faucet system 100 may be installed on aircraft 104 as part of the modular lavatory monument described in the above-referenced related U.S. patent application No. (Boeing Docket No. 18-0453-US-NP). Alternatively, or in addition, modular faucet system 100 may be installed in any other appropriate location on aircraft 104, such as in a galley.”) for dispensing of a fluid on an aircraft (pg. 2, par. [0023]; i.e. “A touchless faucet is a faucet equipped with a proximity sensor and mechanism that automatically opens a valve to allow water to flow in response to the presence of a hand or hands in close proximity.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of in view of Sugino in further view of Starkey and Ophardt to include the addition of the limitation of an aircraft lavatory to advantageously reduce water waste (Young: pg. 2, par. [0024]).
As per claim 11, Mo does not expressly teach the time-of-flight controlled touchless device further comprises:
the dispensing valve, wherein the actuator on the dispensing valve is configured to:
activate responsive to receiving an activation command from the microcontroller; and
deactivate responsive to receiving a deactivation command from the microcontroller.
However Sugino, in an analogous art of object detection and touchless control of a component/device (pg. 1, par. [0001] and [0008] and pgs. 9-10, par. [0110]), teaches the missing limitations of the dispensing valve (Fig. 6, element 213; i.e. the solenoid valve), wherein the actuator (i.e. the solenoid of the solenoid valve (Fig. 6, element 213)) on the dispensing valve (pg. 10, par. [0111] and[0112]; i.e. [0111]: “Note that the valve 213 is preferably a latching solenoid valve configured to maintain On and Off states without power after being selectively turned on and off, respectively. The latching solenoid valve is merely one example, and the valve 213 is not limited thereto as long as it includes a solenoid valve.”, and [0112]: “In the sensor 10B of the faucet device 20, a range from about several centimeters to 50 centimeters with respect to the sensor 10B is defined as the monitoring region.”) is configured to:
activate responsive to receiving an activation command from a microcontroller (pg. 10, par. [0110]-[0112] and Fig. 1, element 13; a microcontroller of a processing device in a sensor and [0110]: “… the sensor 10B is disposed near an outlet 214 at a tip of the spout 212. A monitoring region of the sensor 10B is set to the vicinity of the outlet 214 so that when a target object enters the monitoring region, the sensor 10B outputs a control signal forcing the valve 213 to open.”, [0111]: “Note that the valve 213 is preferably a latching solenoid valve configured to maintain On and Off states without power after being selectively turned on and off, respectively. The latching solenoid valve is merely one example, and the valve 213 is not limited thereto as long as it includes a solenoid valve.”, and [0112]: “In the sensor 10B of the faucet device 20, a range from about several centimeters to 50 centimeters with respect to the sensor 10B is defined as the monitoring region.”); and
deactivate responsive to receiving a deactivation command from the microcontroller (pg. 10, par. [0111] and [0112] and Fig. 1, element 13; i.e. [0111]: “… when the sensor 10B detects no target object, the sensor 10B outputs a control signal forcing the valve 213 to close. Therefore, when the target object leaves the outlet 214, the valve 213 closes to stop water from flowing. Note that the valve 213 is preferably a latching solenoid valve configured to maintain On and Off states without power after being selectively turned on and off, respectively. The latching solenoid valve is merely one example, and the valve 213 is not limited thereto as long as it includes a solenoid valve.”, and [0112]: “In the sensor 10B of the faucet device 20, a range from about several centimeters to 50 centimeters with respect to the sensor 10B is defined as the monitoring region.”) for the purpose of controlling a flow of a liquid (pg. 1, par. [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Mo to include the addition of the limitations the dispensing valve, wherein the actuator on the dispensing valve is configured to: activate responsive to receiving an activation command from a microcontroller; and deactivate responsive to receiving a deactivation command from the microcontroller to suppress unnecessary flow of water from a water faucet there by contributing to water savings (Sugino: pg. 12, par. [0146]).
.
As per claim 12, Mo teaches dispensing at least one of water or soap (pg. 3, par. [0024] and pg. 4, par. [0030] and [0033]; i.e. [0024]: “… processor 104 may communicate with the one or more control modules via connection module 112. For instance, processor 104 may send a signal and/or power, via connection module 112, to a flush control module. The flush control module may receive the signal and provide a signal to a solenoid, which may cause a plunger to move to effectuate flushing of a toilet (or urinal). Similar operations may occur to turn on a faucet, turn off a faucet, dispense soap, activate a hand dryer, dispense paper towels, open an automatic door, etc.”; [0030]: “… hybrid sensor 100 may be deployed in a variety of automated fixtures and/or appliances, including automatic faucets, automatic soap dispensers, automatic hand dryers, automatic paper towel dispensers, automatic doors, and the like. FIG. 2 illustrates a bathroom fixture 200 that comprises automatic flushometer 210 which may include a sensor, such as hybrid sensor 100 described above, and a light ring 217”, and [0033]: “… the hybrid sensor 100 may be implemented in a faucet that controls the flow of water in response to the presence (or absence) of a user. Similarly, hybrid sensor 100 may be used in an automatic soap dispenser, an automatic hand dryer, an automatic paper towel dispenser, etc.”).
Mo does not expressly teach the dispensing valve.
However Sugino, in an analogous art of object detection and touchless control of a component/device (pg. 1, par. [0001] and [0008] and pgs. 9-10, par. [0110]) teaches the missing limitation of the dispensing valve (pgs. 9-10, par. [0110] and [0111]; i.e. [0110]: “A monitoring region of the sensor 10B is set to the vicinity of the outlet 214 so that when a target object enters the monitoring region, the sensor 10B outputs a control signal forcing the valve 213 to open. Specifically, arrangement of transmitting and receiving antennas 111 and 112 and setting conditions of a determination processor 132 are determined such that a region just under the outlet 214 and a periphery region thereof are the monitoring region. Therefore, when a target object such as hands, the dishes, cooking tools, vegetables and fruit approaches the outlet 214, the valve 213 opens to allow water to flow.” and [0111]: “Note that the valve 213 is preferably a latching solenoid valve configured to maintain On and Off states without power after being selectively turned on and off, respectively. The latching solenoid valve is merely one example, and the valve 213 is not limited thereto as long as it includes a solenoid valve.”) for the purpose of controlling a flow of a liquid (pg. 1, par. [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Mo to include the addition of the limitation of the dispensing valve to suppress unnecessary flow of water from a water faucet there by contributing to water savings (Sugino: pg. 12, par. [0146]).
As per claim 13, Mo teaches the time-of-flight sensor comprises an infrared emitter configured to emit the photon in the predefined direction responsive to receiving a command from the microcontroller (pg. 3, par. [0027]; i.e. “… the ToF transmitter 124 may be a diode configured to emit (e.g. transmit, send) a laser beam at one or more objects. For example, ToF transmitter 124 may be a Vertical Cavity Surface-Emitting Laser (VCSEL) configured to transmit a laser at a predetermined wavelength (e.g., 940 nm). ToF receiver 126 may be a photodetector or a photoreceptor configured to receive the laser beam reflected off of the one or more objects. ToF sensor 122 may be configured to determine how far the one or more objects are from hybrid sensor 100 using the roundtrip time from when the laser was transmitted by ToF transmitter 124 until the reflected laser was received by ToF receiver 126. In some examples, ToF sensor 122 may use a SPAD (Single Photon Avalanche Diodes) array to measure distances up to several meters (e.g., ≥2) away in a short period of time (e.g., <30 ms). … processor 104 may transmit a signal to activate ToF sensor 122 to determine how far an object is from hybrid sensor 100.”).
As per claim 14, Mo teaches the time-of-flight sensor comprises an infrared receiver configured to receive the photon reflected off the surface responsive to receiving a command from the microcontroller (pg. 3, par. [0027]; i.e. “… the ToF transmitter 124 may be a diode configured to emit (e.g. transmit, send) a laser beam at one or more objects. For example, ToF transmitter 124 may be a Vertical Cavity Surface-Emitting Laser (VCSEL) configured to transmit a laser at a predetermined wavelength (e.g., 940 nm). ToF receiver 126 may be a photodetector or a photoreceptor configured to receive the laser beam reflected off of the one or more objects. ToF sensor 122 may be configured to determine how far the one or more objects are from hybrid sensor 100 using the roundtrip time from when the laser was transmitted by ToF transmitter 124 until the reflected laser was received by ToF receiver 126. In some examples, ToF sensor 122 may use a SPAD (Single Photon Avalanche Diodes) array to measure distances up to several meters (e.g., ≥2) away in a short period of time (e.g., <30 ms). … processor 104 may transmit a signal to activate ToF sensor 122 to determine how far an object is from hybrid sensor 100.”).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mo in view of Sugino in further view of Starkey, Ophardt, Young, and Jonte.
As per claim 15, Mo in view of Sugino in further view of Starkey, Ophardt, and Young does not expressly teach a manual override configured to manually activate the actuator on the dispensing valve to dispense the liquid.
However Jonte, in an analogous art of an automatic dispenser (pg. 3, par. [0003]), teaches the missing limitation of a manual override (i.e. a manual mode of operation) configured to manually activate an actuator on a dispensing valve to dispense liquid (pg. 3, par. [0035] and pg. 4, par. [0043] and [0044]; i.e. [0035]: “… a manually controlled valve in series with an actuator driven valve, illustratively a magnetically latching pilot-controlled solenoid valve.”, [0043]: “… when the actuator driven valve 132 is open, the faucet system 100 may be operated in a conventional manner, i.e., in a manual control mode through operation of the handle 118 and the manual valve member of valve body assembly 104.)”, [0044]: “Thus, in the manual mode, the faucet assembly 100 is controlled by the position of the handle 118 in a manner similar to a conventional faucet …”) for the purpose of controlling a valve in a conventional manner (pg. 4, par. [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Mo in view of Sugino in further view of Starkey, Ophardt, and Young to include the addition of the limitation of manual override configured to manually activate an actuator on a dispensing valve to dispense liquid to advantageously limit power consumption of proximity detectors (Jonte: pg. 2, par. [0032]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mo in view of Sugino in further view of Starkey, Ophardt, Young, and Wofford.
As per claim 16, Mo teaches the time-of-flight controlled touchless device (Fig. 1, element 102 of Fig .1, element 100; i.e. a circuit board of the hybrid sensor) is configured to receive electrical power and distribute the electrical power to the time-of-flight sensor and other additional components (pg. 2, par. [0020]; i.e. “Additionally, a first electrical lead 108 and a second electrical lead 110 may connect circuit board 102 to a power supply (not shown). The power supply may be configured to supply power to hybrid sensor 100 and/or any additional components, such as a flushing mechanism, a soap dispenser, a faucet, etc. In some instances, the power supply may be a low voltage power supply (e.g., 6 volts provided by 4 AA alkaline batteries, a lithium-ion battery, etc.) configured to power hybrid sensor 100 and/or any additional components for between 3-6 years. In other embodiments, the power supply may be connected to a building power supply (e.g., 120 VAC, 60 Hz) via a standard electrical junction box. In these embodiments, a power back-up may be included, for example, in case the building loses power.”).
Mo does not expressly teach the microcontroller is configured to receive electrical power and distribute the electrical power to the time-of-flight sensor and the dispensing valve.
Mo in view of Sugino does not expressly teach the microcontroller is configured to receive electrical power and distribute the electrical power to the time-of-flight sensor and the dispensing valve.
Mo in view of Sugino in further view of Starkey does not expressly teach the microcontroller is configured to receive electrical power and distribute the electrical power to the time-of-flight sensor and the dispensing valve.
Mo in view of Sugino in further view of Starkey and Ophardt does not expressly teach the microcontroller is configured to receive electrical power and distribute the electrical power to the time-of-flight sensor and the dispensing valve.
Mo in view of Sugino in further view of Starkey, Ophardt, and Young does not expressly teach the microcontroller is configured to receive electrical power and distribute the electrical power to the time-of-flight sensor and the dispensing valve.
However Wofford, in an analogous art of a dispensing system (pg. 1, par. [0006]), teaches the missing limitation of a microcontroller (Fig. 1, element “central controller”) is configured to receive electrical power and distribute the electrical power to a sensor (Fig 1, element 10, 2010, 3010, 4010, 5010, and 6010) and a dispensing valve (pg. 6, par. [0049] and Fig .1, element 184; i.e. “… the power supply is a conventional power adapter connected to a standard 115v source to provide power to a 15v rail of the central controller that supplies power to the central controller, to the sensor sets, to the aural buzzer, and to the water valve. The apparatus could also function properly with a power source of a reasonable voltage other than 15 volts.”) for the purpose of controlling a valve (pg. 1, par. [0006] and [0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Mo in view of Sugino in further view of Starkey, Ophardt, and Young to include the addition of the limitation of a microcontroller is configured to receive electrical power and distribute the electrical power to a sensor and a dispensing valve to advantageous provide a control apparatus that is robust, durable, and easy to use, as well as, provide a monitoring means that is convenient and easy to use (Wofford: pg. 1, par. [0006] and [0007]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following references are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to touchless systems and methods of operations.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2011/0024449 A1 discloses a touchless dispenser for a pressurized container including a valve member.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0106159 A1 discloses systems and methods having a touchless operating panel with buttons and an electronic circuit (EC).
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0350095 A1 discloses a method for controlling a touchless lavatory.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0159032 A1 discloses a hybrid faucet assembly having a touch-free mode and a manual mode.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2025/0179781 A1 discloses a touchless faucet system may comprise a faucet housing defining an inlet of the touchless faucet.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER L NORTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117