DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claim 1-3, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (US-20180375089-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Gosner’
Regarding Claim 1,
Gosner teaches an electrolyte for use in a secondary battery, a partially halogenated saturated polyalkene (Gosner, “By polymerizing fluorinated alkenes such as 1,1-difluoroethylene it is advantageously possible to constitute on the particles an artificial SEI layer made of a fluorinated polymer, for example one based on polyvinylidene fluoride (PVdf). Such polymers can advantageously form a gel, for instance in the context of assembly of a cell and/or battery, in the presence of at least one electrolyte solvent, for example at least one liquid organic carbonate, such as ethylene carbonate (EC) and/or ethyl methyl carbonate (EMC) and/or dimethyl carbonate (DMC) and/or diethyl carbonate (DEC), or of at least one liquid electrolyte”, see [0130]) the electrolyte in combination with a C2-C4 alkene substituted with a halogen atom and/or a partially halogenated saturated polyalkene (Gosner, “for example at least one alkene, for instance ethene, such as 1,1-difluoroethene (1,1-difluoroethylene, vinylidene fluoride) and/or tetrafluoroethylene (TFE)”, see [0062]).
Regarding Claim 2,
Gosner teaches the electrolyte according to claim 1, wherein the C2-C4 alkene substituted with a halogen atom comprises one or more of the compounds represented by Formula 1,
wherein R11 and R13 are each independently selected from a hydrogen atom, a halogen atom, substituted or unsubstituted C1-C2 alkyl, and a number of carbon atoms in R11 to R13 adds up to 0,1, or 2; optionally the halogen atoms comprises a fluorine atom or chlorine atom; and optionally R11 to R13 are each independently selected from a hydrogen atom, a fluorine atom, or CF3 (Gosner, “for example at least one alkene, for instance ethene, such as 1,1-difluoroethene (1,1-difluoroethylene, vinylidene fluoride) and/or tetrafluoroethylene (TFE)”, see [0062]).
Regarding Claim 3,
Gosner teaches the electrolyte according to claim 1 , wherein, the C2-C4 alkene substituted with a halogen atom comprises one or more compounds represented by Formulas (I-1) to (I-5) (Gosner, “for example at least one alkene, for instance ethene, such as 1,1-difluoroethene (1,1-difluoroethylene, vinylidene fluoride) and/or tetrafluoroethylene (TFE)”, see [0062]),
Regarding Claim 6,
Gosner teaches the electrolyte according to any one of claims 1 to 5, wherein, the partially halogenated saturated polyolefin comprises one or more of the structural unit represented by Formulas (II-1) to (II-5), and the partially halogenated saturated polyolefin comprises at least one structural unit of a partially fluorinated alkene (Gosner, “By polymerizing fluorinated alkenes such as 1,1-difluoroethylene it is advantageously possible to constitute on the particles an artificial SEI layer made of a fluorinated polymer, for example one based on polyvinylidene fluoride (PVdf).”, see [0130])(PVDF is the first structure below);
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-20180375089-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Gosner’ in view of (US-20210098829-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Rustomji’
Regarding Claim 4,
Gosner does not teach the electrolyte according to claim 1, wherein, the C2-C4 alkene substituted with a halogen atom has a mass percentage b that satisfies 0.05%≤a≤10%, and optionally 0.1%≤a≤1%, by weight of the electrolyte.
Rustomji teaches the electrolyte according to claim 1, wherein, the C2-C4 alkene substituted with a halogen atom has a mass percentage b that satisfies 0.05%≤a≤10%, and optionally 0.1%≤a≤1%, by weight of the electrolyte (Rustomji, “In some embodiments, the amount of the additive is less than… about 1% by weight based on the total weight of the liquefied gas electrolyte.”, see [0035]).
Rustomji teaches that concentration of C2-C4 alkene substituted with a halogen atom improves solubility and conductivity (Rustomji, “Disclosed here are additives that may be used in liquefied gas electrolytes to improve salt solubility, electrolyte conductivity, and voltage stability. In some embodiments, the additives are used in combination with fluoromethane or difluoromethane as a primary solvent and lithium based salts. In some embodiments, other liquefied gas solvents such as fluoromethane, difluoromethane, trifluoromethane, fluoroethane, tetrafluoroethane, pentafluoroethane, 1,1-difluoroethane, 1,2-difluoroethane,”, see [0035]).
Gosner and Rustomji are analogous as they are both of the same field of electrolytes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte as taught in Gosner with concentration as taught in Rustomji in order to improve solubility and conductivity .
Regarding Claim 9,
Gosner does not explicitly teach a secondary battery, comprising: a positive electrode plate; a negative electrode plate; a separator arranged between the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate; and the electrolyte according to claim 1; optionally, the positive electrode plate comprises a lithium element and/or a sodium elementRustomji teaches a secondary battery, comprising: a positive electrode plate; a negative electrode plate; a separator arranged between the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate; and the electrolyte according to claim 1; optionally, the positive electrode plate comprises a lithium element and/or a sodium element (Rustomji, “Two battery coin cells composed of a lithium metal anode and a lithium nickel-manganese-cobalt oxide (NMC622) cathode were assembled. The first cell used an Electrolyte 1 having 1.0 M LiTFSI and 1.0 M 2-methyl tetrahydrofuran in CH3F:CO2 in a molar ratio of 9:1.”, see [0047]).
Rustomji teaches that the electrolyte improves the electrochemical stability of the entire device (Rustomji, “The electrolyte solutions use a mixture of some amount of solvent and salt and additional components, or additives, for improved electrochemical stability of the device”, see [0005])
Gosner and Rustomji are analogous as they are both of the same field of electrolyte solutions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the electrolyte solution as taught in Gosner to the device as taught in Rustomji in order to improve the stability of the electrochemical device.
Regarding Claim 10,
Modified Gosner does not teach a battery module, comprising the secondary battery according to claim 9.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to duplicate the battery in order to make a module, as an obvious matter of duplication of parts (see MPEP 2144 (VI)(B)).
Regarding Claim 11,
Modified Gosner does not teach a battery pack, comprising the battery module according to claim 10.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to duplicate the module in order to make a battery pack, as an obvious matter of duplication of parts (see MPEP 2144 (VI)(B)).
Regarding Claim 12,
Modified Gosner teaches an electrical device, comprising the secondary battery according to claim 9 (Rustomji, “Embodiments of the present disclosure relate to chemical formulations, electrolyte compositions, electrochemical devices of use thereof, and methods of use thereof.”, see [0006]).
Claims 5,7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-20180375089-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Gosner’ in view of (WO-2015016189-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Toshihiko’
Regarding Claim 5,
Gosner teaches the electrolyte according to claim 1, wherein, the partially halogenated saturated polyolefin comprises one or more of a structural unit represented by Formula II, and the partially halogenated saturated polyolefin comprises at least one structural unit of a partially halogenated alkene ,
wherein R21 to R24 are each independently selected from a hydrogen atom, a halogen atom, or a linear or branched C1-C8 alkyl substituted or unsubstituted with a halogen atom; optionally, the halogen atom comprises a fluorine atom or a chlorine atom; and optionally, R21 to R24 are each independently selected from a hydrogen atom, a fluorine atom, or -CF3 (Gosner, “By polymerizing fluorinated alkenes such as 1,1-difluoroethylene it is advantageously possible to constitute on the particles an artificial SEI layer made of a fluorinated polymer, for example one based on polyvinylidene fluoride (PVdf).”, see [0130])(PVDF corresponds to the first structure as mentioned above)
Gosner does not teach total polymerization degree m that satisfies 1 < m≤220, and m is a positive integer; optionally, 4 <m≤220.
Toshihiko teaches total polymerization degree m that satisfies 1 < m≤220, and m is a positive integer; optionally, 4 <m≤220 (Toshihiko, “, a polymer compound having a weight average molecular weight of 500 or more, and a nonaqueous solvent An electrolytic solution for a secondary battery, wherein the polymer compound is dissolved in a liquid in an amount of 0.1% by mass or more and 20% by mass or less.”, see pg. 1)(Toshihiko, “wherein the polymer compound is selected from the group consisting of polyacrylonitrile, poly (meth) acrylate, polyvinylidene fluoride, polysiloxane and polyalkylene”, see pg. 1)(The examiner notes that degree of polymerization is molecular weight/ monomer molar mass, considering that the monomer for PVDF is 64.03 g/mol, the degree of polymerization is 500/64.03= 7.81)
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 7.81 or more broadly overlaps the claimed range of 1 to 220. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Toshihiko teaches that this molecular weight allows for solubility in the electrolyte (Toshihiko, “The weight average molecular weight of the polymer compound is preferably 500 or more... By setting the molecular weight of the polymer compound to the upper limit value or less, the solubility in the electrolytic solution is improved and deterioration of the battery performance can be suppressed. Moreover, flame retardance can be improved and it is preferable by setting it as the said lower limit or more.”, pg. 5).
Gosner and Toshihiko are analogous as they are both of the same field of polymers and electrolytes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polymer as taught in Gosner to have the molecular weight as taught in Toshiko, in order to improve the solubility in the electrolyte and improve the stability.
Regarding Claim 7,
Gosner does not teach wherein, the partially halogenated saturated polyolefin has a weight average molecular weight of less than or equal to 10000Da; and optionally, the partially halogenated saturated polyolefin has a weight average molecular weight of 200Da to 10000Da.
Toshihiko teaches wherein, the partially halogenated saturated polyolefin has a weight average molecular weight of less than or equal to 10000Da; and optionally, the partially halogenated saturated polyolefin has a weight average molecular weight of 200Da to 10000Da (Toshihiko, “, a polymer compound having a weight average molecular weight of 500 or more, and a nonaqueous solvent An electrolytic solution for a secondary battery, wherein the polymer compound is dissolved in a liquid in an amount of 0.1% by mass or more and 20% by mass or less.”, see pg. 1)(Toshihiko, “wherein the polymer compound is selected from the group consisting of polyacrylonitrile, poly (meth) acrylate, polyvinylidene fluoride, polysiloxane and polyalkylene”, see pg. 1)
Toshihiko teaches that this molecular weight allows for solubility in the electrolyte (Toshihiko, “The weight average molecular weight of the polymer compound is preferably 500 or more... By setting the molecular weight of the polymer compound to the upper limit value or less, the solubility in the electrolytic solution is improved and deterioration of the battery performance can be suppressed. Moreover, flame retardance can be improved and it is preferable by setting it as the said lower limit or more.”, pg. 5).
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 500 or more broadly overlaps the claimed range of 200 to 10,000. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Gosner and Toshihiko are analogous as they are both of the same field of polymers and electrolytes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polymer as taught in Gosner to have the molecular weight as taught in Toshiko, in order to improve the solubility in the electrolyte and improve the stability.
Regarding Claim 8,
Gosner does not teach the electrolyte according to claim 1, wherein, the partially halogenated saturated polyolefin has a mass percentage b that satisfies 0.05%≤a≤10%, optionally, 0.1%≤a≤1%, by weight of the electrolyte.
Toshihiko teaches wherein, wherein, the partially halogenated saturated polyolefin has a mass percentage b that satisfies 0.05%≤a≤10%, optionally, 0.1%≤a≤1%, by weight of the electrolyte.
(Toshihiko, “An electrolytic solution for a secondary battery, wherein the polymer compound is dissolved in a liquid in an amount of 0.1% by mass or more and 20% by mass or less”, see pg. 1)(Toshihiko, “wherein the polymer compound is selected from the group consisting of polyacrylonitrile, poly (meth) acrylate, polyvinylidene fluoride, polysiloxane and polyalkylene”, see pg. 1)
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 0.1 to 20% broadly overlaps the claimed range of 0.05 to 10 %. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Toshihiko teaches that this percentage allows for optimal fluidity of the solution (Toshihiko, “Regarding the lower limit side, it is 0.1 mass% or more, and more preferably 1 mass% or more. Good fluidity of the electrolytic solution can be maintained by blending the polymer compound at the upper limit or less.”, pg. 5).
Gosner and Toshihiko are analogous as they are both of the same field of polymers and electrolytes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polymer as taught in Gosner to have the percentage in the electrolyte as taught in Toshiko, in order to improve the fluidity of the electrolyte solution.
Conclusion
/S.P.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752