DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–20 are pending.
Claims 1–10 are being treated on their merits.
Claims 11–20 are withdrawn from consideration.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2024/0128502 A1.
Election/Restrictions
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1–10, drawn to a solid electrolyte, classified in H01M10/0562.
II. Claims 11–20, drawn to a method for preparing a solid electrolyte, classified in C01D15/04.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions II and I are related as process of making and product made. The inventions are distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) that the process as claimed can be used to make another and materially different product or (2) that the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process (MPEP § 806.05(f)). In the instant case, the solid electrolyte as claimed can be made by another and materially different method for preparing a solid electrolyte, such as, preparing a starting material comprising a single compound including a single halogen element. The claimed method requires two or more compounds comprising different halogen elements, whereas the claimed product allows for X1 and X2 to be the same, which would not require two or more compounds comprising different halogen elements to be prepared.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification; and
the inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different class/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
During a telephone/email conversation with Ira Matsil (Reg. No. 35,272) on 18 March 2026, a provisional election was made with traverse to prosecute the invention of a solid electrolyte, claims 1–10. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 11–20 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 14 August 2023, 17 August 2023, and 11 July 2024 were filed before the mailing of a first Office Action on the merits. The submissions comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
The numbers, letters, and/or reference characters of FIGS. 3A–6B are not at least 0.32 cm (1/8 inch) in height. Numbers, letters, and reference characters must measure at least 0.32 cm. (1/8 inch) in height. See 37 CFR 1.84 (p)(3).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: SOLID ELECTROYTE INCLUDING LITHIUM THIOPHOSPHATE HALIDE AND METAL-DOPED LITHIUM THIOPHOSPHATE HALIDE, AND METHOD FOR PREPARING SAME.
The use of the term Ketjen black (e.g., [0072]), which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term is not accompanied by its generic terminology and does not include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ®. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1–10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "wherein X1 and X2 are the same or different and are each an element selected from the group consisting of F, Cl, Br, and I." Claim 1 also recites the limitations "a first chemical formula Li7-aPS6-a(X11-bX2b)a" prior to this limitation and "a second chemical formula Li7-cP1-2dMdS6-c-3d(X11-e X2e)c" subsequent to this limitation. It is unclear if the limitation "wherein X1 and X2 are the same or different and are each an element selected from the group consisting of F, Cl, Br, and I" applies to both "a first chemical formula" and "a second chemical formula" (i.e., X1 and X2 in the first chemical formula = X1 and X2 in the second chemical formula).
Claim 2 recites the limitation "a third chemical formula LifMgSh." Claim 1, which claim 2 is directly dependent, recites the limitation "wherein M comprises an element selected from the group consisting of Ge, Si, and Sn." It is unclear if the limitation "wherein M comprises an element selected from the group consisting of Ge, Si, and Sn" applies to both "a second chemical formula" and "a third chemical formula" (i.e., M in the second chemical formula = M in the third chemical formula).
Claim 3 is directly dependent from claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 3 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "a cubic argyrodite-type crystal structure." The addition of the word "type" extends the scope of the claims so as to render them indefinite since it is unclear what "type" is intended to convey. The addition of the word "type" to the otherwise definite expression renders the definite expression indefinite by extending its scope. Ex parte Copenhaver, 109 USPQ 118 (Bd. App. 1955). See MPEP 2173.05(b).
Claim 5 recites the limitation "a cubic argyrodite-type crystal structure." The addition of the word "type" extends the scope of the claims so as to render them indefinite since it is unclear what "type" is intended to convey. The addition of the word "type" to the otherwise definite expression renders the definite expression indefinite by extending its scope. Ex parte Copenhaver, 109 USPQ 118 (Bd. App. 1955). See MPEP 2173.05(b).
Claim 6 is directly dependent from claim 1 and includes all the limitation of claim 1. Therefore, claim 1 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "a ratio (I(25)/I(17)) of peak intensity at 2θ = 25 ± 0.5° to peak intensity at 2θ = 17 ± 0.5° in an X-ray diffraction pattern of 1 to 10." It is unclear if "1 to 10" is the ratio (I(25)/I(17)) (i.e., I(25)/I(17) = 1/10) or "1 to 10" is a range of ratios for (I(25)/I(17)) (i.e., 1 ≤ I(25)/I(17) ≤ 10).
Claims 8 and 9 are directly dependent from claim 1 and include all the limitation of claim 1. Therefore, claims 8 and 9 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the solid electrolyte of claim 1" and includes all the limitation of claim 1. Therefore, claim 10 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5–8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (WO 2022/094412 A1, hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a solid electrolyte (see solid state multilayer, P23/L13–18) comprising:
a first compound (see first solid state electrolyte, P23/L13–18) represented by a first chemical formula Li7-aPS6-a(X11-b X2b)a (TABLE 1, P23/L25–31),
wherein X1 and X2 are the same or different and are each an element selected from the group consisting of F, Cl, Br, and I (TABLE 1, P23/L25–31), and
wherein 0 < a ≤ 2 and 0 < b < 1 (TABLE 1, P23/L25–31); and
a second compound (see second solid state electrolyte, P23/L13–18) represented by a second chemical formula Li7-cP1-2dMdS6-c-3d(X11-e X2e)c (TABLE 2, P26/L3–4),
wherein M comprises an element selected from the group consisting of Ge, Si, and Sn, and combination thereof, and wherein 0 < c ≤ 2, 0 < d < 0.5, and 0 < e < 1 (TABLE 2, P26/L3–4).
Regarding claim 3, Li discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a solid electrolyte:
wherein, in the second chemical formula, 0 < d ≤ 0.1 (TABLE 7, P26/L3–4).
Regarding claim 5, Li discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose a solid electrolyte:
wherein the solid electrolyte has properties such that as d in the second chemical formula increases, 2θ value of a peak of a (220) plane in an X-ray diffraction pattern of the solid electrolyte shifts to lower angles by greater than 0° and 0.1° or less,
wherein the peak of the (220) plane is due to a cubic argyrodite-type crystal structure.
However, Li discloses a solid electrolyte comprising an identical second compound (TABLE 7, P26/L3–4). "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the solid electrolyte inherently possesses properties such that as d in the second chemical formula increases, 2θ value of a peak of a (220) plane in an X-ray diffraction pattern of the solid electrolyte shifts to lower angles by greater than 0° and 0.1° or less, wherein the peak of the (220) plane is due to a cubic argyrodite-type crystal structure.
Regarding claim 6, Li discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a solid electrolyte:
wherein the solid electrolyte has a ratio (I(38.5)/I(30.0)) of peak intensity at 2θ = 38.5 ± 0.5° to peak intensity at 2θ = 30 ± 0.5° in an X-ray diffraction pattern of 0.01 or less (FIG. 23, P35/L25–30).
FIG. 23 illustrates an XRD diffraction pattern of a first compound, which has a ratio (I(38.5)/I(30.0)) of peak intensity at 2θ = 38.5 ± 0.5° to peak intensity at 2θ = 30 ± 0.5° in an X-ray diffraction pattern of 0.01 or less. The I(38.5)/I(30.0) ratio of LPSCl-I LPSCl-F, and LPSCl are approximately 0.0, which is less than 0.01.
Regarding claim 7, Li discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a solid electrolyte:
wherein the solid electrolyte has a ratio (I(25)/I(17)) of peak intensity at 2θ = 25 ± 0.5° to peak intensity at 2θ = 17 ± 0.5° in an X-ray diffraction pattern of 1 to 10 (FIG. 23, P35/L25–30).
FIG. 23 illustrates an XRD diffraction pattern of a first compound, which has a ratio (I(25)/I(17)) of peak intensity at 2θ = 25 ± 0.5° to peak intensity at 2θ = 17 ± 0.5° in an X-ray diffraction pattern of 1 to 10. The I(25)/I(17) ratio of LPSCl-I LPSCl-Br, and LPSCl are approximately 2.0, which is greater than 1 and less than 10.
Regarding claim 8, Li discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above
wherein, when the solid electrolyte is analyzed by X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy, a first region and a second region with different contents of M appear (FIG. 29, P20/L25–30),
in which the content of M in the first region is 0.9 at % to 1.2 at % (FIG. 29, P20/L25–30; TABLE 7, P26/L3–4) and
the content of M in the second region is 0.2 at % to 0.5 at % (FIG. 29, P20/L25–30; TABLE 7, P26/L3–4).
FIG. 29 illustrates an X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy analysis illustrating a first region and a second region with different contents of M appear for a second compound; and TABLE 7 discloses contents of M in a second compound of 0.9 at/% to 1.2 at% and 0.2 at% to 0.5 at%.
Regarding claim 10, Li discloses an all-solid-state battery comprising a cathode layer; an anode layer; and a solid electrolyte layer interposed between the cathode layer and the anode layer; and wherein the cathode layer, the anode layer, or the solid electrolyte layer comprises a solid electrolyte (see rechargeable batteries, P23/L13–18), wherein the solid electrolyte (see solid state multilayer, P23/L13–18) comprises:
a first compound (see first solid state electrolyte, P23/L13–18) represented by a first chemical formula Li7-aPS6-a(X11-b X2b)a (TABLE 1, P23/L25–31),
wherein X1 and X2 are the same or different and are each an element selected from the group consisting of F, Cl, Br, and I (TABLE 1, P23/L25–31), and
wherein 0 < a ≤ 2 and 0 < b < 1 (TABLE 1, P23/L25–31); and
a second compound (see second solid state electrolyte, P23/L13–18) represented by a second chemical formula Li7-cP1-2dMdS6-c-3d(X11-e X2e)c (TABLE 2, P26/L3–4),
wherein M comprises an element selected from the group consisting of Ge, Si, and Sn, and combination thereof, and wherein 0 < c ≤ 2, 0 < d < 0.5, and 0 < e < 1 (TABLE 2, P26/L3–4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (WO 2022/094412 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2020/0227775 A1, hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 2, Li discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose a solid electrolyte:
wherein the solid electrolyte further comprises a third compound represented by a third chemical formula LifMgSh,
wherein 0 < f ≤ 10, 0 < g ≤ 5, and 0 < h ≤ 10.
Wang discloses a solid electrolyte further comprises a third compound represented by a third chemical formula LifMgSh (see LixSiySz, [0044]), wherein 0 < f ≤ 10, 0 < g ≤ 5, and 0 < h ≤ 10 (see LixSiySz, [0044]) to improve lithium-ion conductivity and stability of the solid electrolyte (see solid-state lithium-ion conducting material , [0025]). Li and Wang are analogous because they are directed to solid electrolytes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the solid electrolyte of Li with the third compound of Wang in order to improve lithium-ion conductivity and stability
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (WO 2022/094412 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choi et al., (EP 4068426 A1, hereinafter Choi).
Regarding claim 4, Li discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose a solid electrolyte:
wherein an X-ray diffraction pattern of the solid electrolyte comprises a peak due to a cubic argyrodite-type crystal structure; and a peak due to an orthorhombic crystal structure.
Choi discloses a solid electrolyte (FIG. 1, [0036]) having an X-ray diffraction pattern including a peak due to a cubic argyrodite-type crystal structure (see sulfide solid electrolyte, [0038]); and a peak due to an orthorhombic crystal structure (see metal oxides,. [0048]) to prevent side reactions of the solid electrolyte (see buffer layer, [0037]). Li and Choi are analogous because they are directed to solid electrolytes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the solid electrolyte of Li with the argyrodite-type crystal structure and orthorhombic crystal structure of Choi in order to prevent side reactions of the solid electrolyte.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (WO 2022/094412 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Li discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose a solid electrolyte:
wherein the solid electrolyte has properties such that as d in the second chemical formula increases, 2θ value of a peak of a (220) plane in an X-ray diffraction pattern of the solid electrolyte shifts to lower angles by greater than 0° and 0.1° or less,
wherein the peak of the (220) plane is due to a cubic argyrodite-type crystal structure.
However, Li discloses a solid electrolyte comprising an identical second compound (TABLE 7, P26/L3–4). "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the solid electrolyte inherently possesses properties such that as d in the second chemical formula increases, 2θ value of a peak of a (220) plane in an X-ray diffraction pattern of the solid electrolyte shifts to lower angles by greater than 0° and 0.1° or less, wherein the peak of the (220) plane is due to a cubic argyrodite-type crystal structure.
Where applicant claims a composition in terms of a function, property or characteristic and the composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103, expressed as a 102/103 rejection. "There is nothing inconsistent in concurrent rejections for obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 and for anticipation under 35 U.S.C. 102." In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 n.4, 195 USPQ 430, 433 n.4 (CCPA 1977). This same rationale should also apply to product, apparatus, and process claims claimed in terms of function, property or characteristic. Therefore, a 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejection is appropriate for these types of claims as well as for composition claims.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (WO 2022/094412 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0094824 A1, hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 9, Li discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose a solid electrolyte:
wherein the solid electrolyte has a lithium ion conductivity retention rate of 80% or more after 3 days under dry conditions in an air atmosphere having a dew point of -70° C. or less.
Lee discloses a solid electrolyte has a ion conductivity retention 80% or more after 3 days under dry conditions in an air atmosphere having a dew point of -70° C. or less (see ion conductivity retention, [0063]) to improve the stability of the solid electrolyte (TABLE 1, [0160]). Li and Lee are analogous because they are directed to solid electrolytes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the solid electrolyte of Li with the ion conductivity retention of Lee in order to improve the stability of the solid electrolyte.
Conclusion
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725