DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Remarks/Arguments
This Office Action is in response to the communications for the present US application number 18/449,345 last filed on December 19th, 2025.
Claims 1 and 9 were amended.
Claims 1-15 remain pending and have been examined, directed to DEVICE, METHOD, AND COMPUTER PROGRAM FOR PERFORMING ACTIONS ON IOT DEVICES.
Upon further review of the latest claim amendments along with the applicant’s representative’s response, the examiner appreciated the claim amendments that make a clear distinction on the different entities involved now, with an electronic device, an IoT and a database. After an updated search, the Examiner has found some other prior art that is comprehensive enough and discloses of all of the key features that were previously raised, with respect to how a system can handle new or unidentified “inputs” and having that “input” associated or correspond to some IoT device and having it all captured/saved/stored within the system. This would address all previous concerns about a singular concept being split across two references. Now, the concept that if an unknown or unidentified input is received, the system can treat that “input” as a new addition. As a result of the new reference being applied, and ruling out Maiya and McNamara, all other comments directed to Maiya and McNamara are now moot.
The independent claims 1 and 9 were similarly amended and thus were similarly rejected under the same rationale with the updated prior art.
The remaining dependent claims were not specifically argued at this time.
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. US 10,847,135 B2 to Robinson et al. (referred to hereafter as “Robinson”).
As to claim 1, Robinson further discloses a method of controlling an Internet of Things (IoT) device, by an electronic device, the method comprising:
obtaining a user input directed to controlling the IoT device (Robinson discloses of an overall system that can receive and respond to different user inputs/commands with respect to controlling one or more applications on one or more endpoint (digital assistant) devices (110, and 115s), e.g., Fig. 1 and col. 2, ll. 50-60 and col. 8, ll. 50-61 and col. 11, ll. 45 – col. 12, ll. 4);
determining whether a predefined action, which is to be performed on the IoT device, corresponding to the user input is identifiable based on a database (Robinson goes through different variations on how the system can determine if the received inputs/commands will invoke a command or action from an action dataset, stored within the database(s), whether there’s a match or if there’s some new inputs/commands, etc., e.g., col. 3, ll. 57 – col. 4, ll. 9 and col. 7, ll. 15-20);
in case that the predefined action corresponding to the user input is not identifiable, tracking at least one interaction of a user with the IoT device (For a scenario that involves a new input/command in which the system wouldn’t be able to identify, Robinson’s system can record the inputs and save and categorize it as a new action dataset, e.g., col. 3, ll. 57 – col. 4, ll. 9 and col. 7, ll. 15-20, and col. 8, ll. 15-20); and
updating the database based on the at least one interaction and the user input, wherein the database comprises information regarding a matching relationship between at least one user input and at least one action (Following the above steps and example(s), Robinson’s system would store the newly created/defined action datasets within the server databases, e.g., col. 3, ll. 57 – col. 4, ll. 9 and col. 7, ll. 15-20, and col. 8, ll. 15-30 and Fig. 1).
As to claim 2, Robinson further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the updating the database comprises, based on the at least one interaction, mapping any one of the at least one interaction corresponding to the user input (Following claim 1, the system can map or associate the input/commands to a template and/or an action dataset, which would then be used and directed to one or more application(s) or the one or more digital assistant device(s), e.g., col. 7, ll. 15-27 and 33-54 and col. 2, ll. 52-58).
As to claim 3, Robinson further discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising:
in case of obtaining a new user input identical to the user input after the mapping is completed, operating at least one of IoT devices according to the mapped interactions (Following claims 1 and 2, the input/commands are directed to controlling the one or more applications on the one or more digital assistant device(s), e.g., col. 7, ll. 15-27 and 33-54 and col. 2, ll. 52-58).
As to claim 4, Robinson further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the electronic device performs functionalities of a server (system server 120, e.g., Fig. 1).
As to claim 5, Robinson further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one interaction comprise at least one action performed with at least one IoT device (the action can be to play some music, via a digital assistant device, e.g., col. 4, ll. 38).
As to claim 6, Robinson further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
based on the at least one interaction, identifying a context of the user (the system can determine contextual information from a command operation, e.g., col. 9, ll. 42-66).
As to claim 7, Robinson further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
based on the at least one interaction, providing information for suggesting an action to be performed (Similar to claim 6, in one example, the system can provide suggestions based on historical data, e.g., col. 9, ll. 42-66).
As to claim 8, Robinson further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon a program for performing the method of claim 1, on a computer (e.g., col. 21, ll. 1-15).
As to claims 9-15, see the similar corresponding rejections of claims 1-7 respectively.
Conclusion
/Xiang Yu/Examiner, Art Unit 2455