DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (WO 2018/016786). Copies of the original and a machine translation are included with this Office action.
Claim 1: Park et al. teaches compound P-16, which has the structure
(page 12). This compound anticipates formula 1 of claim 1. As applied to Formula 1, compound P-16 has R1 and R2 equal to phenyl, A equal to an unsubstituted m-phenylene, R3 is equal to a pyridyl-substituted phenyl group, k is equal to 1, B is equal to an unsubstituted m-phenylene, n is equal to 1, R5 is equal to phenyl, and R4 is equal to -L-Har where L is equal to a single bond and Har is equal to an unsubstituted phenanthrobenzofuranyl group, and l and m are equal to zero.
Claim 2: The unsubstituted phenanthrobenzofuranyl group in compound P-16 above anticipates formula (a) with one or R15 being joined to L, and all remaining R12-R15 being equal to hydrogen atoms.
Claim 4: In compound P-16 above, Har anticipates formula 1-15 with X11 equal to O, all R12 and R14 groups equal to hydrogen atoms, one R15 group being bonded to L, and all other R15 groups being equal to hydrogen atoms.
Claim 5: In compound P-16 above, n is equal to 1, m is equal to zero, and both A and B is equal to the first formula recites in claim 5 with e equal to 4, and all R’1 equal to hydrogen atoms.
Claim 6: Claim 6 serves to further limit the optional embodiment where n is equal to zero and m is equal to 1. Because this is not required, Park et al. may be properly relied upon to reject claim 6.
Claim 7: In compound P-16 above, the pyridyl-substituted phenyl group in R3 is a group which anticipates claim 7.
Claim 13: Park et al. teaches organic electroluminescent devices which comprise one of the inventive compounds taught therein. This includes compound P-16. As such, the preparation of an organic electroluminescent device as taught in the device examples of Park et al., where compound P-16 is employed, is at once envisaged, thereby anticipating claim 13.
Claims 1, 2, 4-7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2022/0238811).
Claim 1: Park et al. teaches compound P-112, which has the structure,
(page 28). This compound anticipates formula 1 of claim 1. As applied to Formula 1, l and m are equal to zero, R1, R2, and R3 are equal to phenyl, A is equal to a m-phenylene, k is equal to 1, B is equal to a substituted aryl group (a diphenylamino-substituted fluorenyl group), n is equal to 1, R4 is equal to phenyl, R5 is equal to -L-Har where L is a single bond and Har is an unsubstituted phenanthrobenzothiophenyl group.
Claim 2: In compound P-112 above, Har is equal to a group which anticipates formulae (a) and (a-2) where all R12-R14 groups are equal to hydrogen atoms, one R15 is equal to a bond with L, the other R15 groups are equal to hydrogen atoms, and X11 is equal to S.
Claim 4: In compound P-112 above, Har anticipates formula 1-15 with X11 equal to S, all R12 and R14 groups equal to hydrogen atoms, one R15 group being bonded to L, and all other R15 groups being equal to hydrogen atoms.
Claim 5: In compound P-112 above, n is equal to 1, m is equal to zero, and A is equal to the first formula recites in claim 5 with e equal to 4, and all R’1 equal to hydrogen atoms.
Claim 6: Claim 6 serves to further limit the optional embodiment where n is equal to zero and m is equal to 1. Because this is not required, Park et al. may be properly relied upon to reject claim 6.
Claim 7: In compound P-112 above, the substituent in the B group is a diphenylamino group which is a arylamino group satisfying claim 7.
Claim 13: Park et al. teaches organic electroluminescent devices which comprise one of the inventive compounds taught therein. This includes compound P-112. As such, the preparation of an organic electroluminescent device as taught in the device examples of Park et al., where compound P-16 is employed, is at once envisaged, thereby anticipating claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2022/0238811), as applied to claim 1 above.
Claims 9, 10, and 14: The compounds taught by Park et al., which includes compound P-112, is taught as being a suitable first host material in an emission layer of an organic electroluminescent device. The emission layer is taught by Park et al. as further comprising a second host material which includes those specific compounds P2-1 through P2-152. Compounds P2-1 through P2-64 adhere to formula (2) of claim 9 and compounds P2-3 through P2-8, P2-10 through P2-13, P2-15 through P2-17, P2-19, P2-22 through P2-48, P2-50 through P2-54, and P2-56 through P2-64 satisfying formula (2-1) of claim 10. While Park et al. does not exemplify a single device which satisfies the limitations of claim 9, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have prepared an emission layer comprising any one of the explicitly taught first host materials and any one of the explicitly taught second host materials as taught by Park et al. with a reasonable expectation of success. This includes embodiments where the first host material is compound P-112 and the second host material is one of the specific compounds recited above. Such a device would satisfy all of the limitations of claims 9 and 10 as well as claim 14.
Claim 11: Regarding claim 11, Park et al. teaches that the second host material includes compounds such as P2-1, P2-2 and P2-49 where all of Ar1 through Ar3 are equal to aryl groups. For the same reasons as claims 9 and 10 above, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have employed any combination of a first host material and a second host material as taught by Park et al. with the expectation that any of the combinations disclosed would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 8, and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The specific compounds recited in claims 8 and 12 are novel and unobvious over the prior art. Additionally, claim 3 requires that Har is one of Formulae 1-1 or 1-2, which is also not taught or suggested in the prior art.
/Robert S Loewe/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766