DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted was filed after the mailing date. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Argument: Applicant argues that Park fails to teach each aspect of the amended claim 1 regarding the TSN bridge and the inclusion of all steps (a)-(d).
Examiner’s Response: Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant has amended the claim changing the scope of the invention. A new grounds of rejection is presented with a new reference following an updated search.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-13, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (“Park”) (US 20200084663 A1) in view of Bush (US 20240323088 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches:
A method of transmitting data via a bridge between a time-sensitive networking, TSN, system and a 5G network, the method comprising:
receiving, via a bridge from the time-sensitive networking, TSN, system [Figure 31 shows Host A with FRER, see ¶0286 “upper layer protocols, such as the IEEE TSN (Time Sensitive Networking) FRER (Frame Replication and Elimination for Reliability), to manage the replication and elimination of redundant packets/frames over the duplicate paths which may span both the 3GPP segments and possibly fixed network segments as well” corresponding to TSN system, see further ¶0287 TSN is an example, and ¶0326 5GS acts as TSN ethernet bridge for TSN applications, wherein this data may be received at network devices ¶0343], data comprising a plurality of frames [¶0343, uplink packets corresponding to data comprising a plurality of frames received at network device hosting FRER entity between FRER devices, FRER devices corresponding to IEEE TSN applications ¶0287 ]; defining k disjoint paths for transmitting the data across the 5G network, where k ≥2 [¶0343, different copy of packets may be forwarded via disjoint paths in the networks, the recitation of disjoint paths indicating plurality, to be transferred across 5G network including access nodes see ¶0293-294 redundant paths in Figure 30, 31 across gNBs]; and for each frame of the data, performing, by the 5G network, processes (a) and (b):(a) transmitting k copies of the frame to a transmission destination via a respective one of the disjoint paths [¶0293-294 Figure 31 shows transferring over 5G network on multiple paths to be forwarded to a destination Host B, ¶0343 “A different copy of the packets may be forwarded via disjoint paths (e.g. different access nodes, different UPFs, and/or different tunnels) in the network”]; determining, based on a redundancy policy of the 5G network indicating a protocol for deleting redundant copies of frames of TSN traffic, whether one or more of the transmitted k copies received at the transmission destination are redundant; and eliminating the copies determined to be redundant [¶0343 “At proxy in the core network, the duplicate packets may be identified based on the sequence numbers (redundancy policy), and one copy (e.g. one of original packet and duplicated packet) may be forwarded toward a data network. In an example, a duplicate copy (e.g. duplicated packets) of the first session may be eliminated”]; and (b) generating, based on a redundancy policy of the 5G network indicating a protocol for replicating frames of TSN traffic, k copies of the frame ¶0337, ¶0526, performs packet duplication, corresponding to generating copies “a base station (gNB, eNB) (e.g. comprising at least one of RRC,SDAP, PDCP, RLC, MAC, PHY sublayer functions and/or adaptive layer functions) and/or as a base station distributed unit (gNB-DU) (e.g. comprising at least one of RLC, MAC, PHY and/or adaptive layer functions). The first access node may determine the packet duplication (e.g. activation/deactivation of the packet duplication)” corresponding to generating k copies of the frame]; and transmitting the copies of the frame to a transmission destination via a respective one of the disjoint paths [¶0343 A different copy of the packets may be forwarded via disjoint paths (e.g. different access nodes, different UPFs, and/or different tunnels) in the network. At proxy in the core network, the duplicate packets may be identified based on the sequence numbers, and one copy (e.g. one of original packet and duplicated packet) may be forwarded toward a data network.],
wherein the TSN system implements frame replication and elimination for reliability, FRER, functionality and includes a station configured to transmit and receive between TSN systems [¶0343 “At proxy in the core network, the duplicate packets may be identified based on the sequence numbers (redundancy policy), and one copy (e.g. one of original packet and duplicated packet) may be forwarded toward a data network. In an example, a duplicate copy (e.g. duplicated packets) of the first session may be eliminated”], and the 5G network includes at least one user equipment, UE, and at least one base station for each frame of the data, performing, by the TSN system, processes (c) and (d): (c) based on the first redundancy policy of the 5G network indicating a protocol for deleting redundant copies of frames of TSN traffic and based on the second redundancy policy of the 5G network indicating a protocol for replicating frames of TSN traffic, obtaining k copies of the frame ; and transmitting the copies to a layer of the 5G network configured to eliminate, based on the first redundancy policy and the second redundancy policy, redundant copies of the frame [¶0343 applicable at UE and network entities (base station see ¶0481), A different copy of the packets may be forwarded via disjoint paths thus copies obtained and transmitted, and copies are deleted wherein copies are received at 5G network, and eliminating redundant copies]; and (d) receiving, from the 5G network, k copies of the frame; determining, based on the first redundancy policy of the 5G network indicating a protocol for deleting redundant copies of frames of TSN traffic, whether one or more of the received copies are redundant; and eliminating the copies determined to be redundant [¶0343 teaches d, wherein copies are received at 5G network, and eliminating redundant copies thus determining copies to be redundant based on a policy pertaining to sequence numbers of TSN traffic as the 5G network forms bridge between TSN applications ¶0326].
Park teaches transmitting k copies but does not teach a virtual bridge.
Bush teaches transmitting and receiving via the virtual TSN bridge from the 5G network, k copies of the frame [¶0017-18 teaches packet replication, ¶0078 teaches virtual bridge, see figure 5, bridging TSN and 5GS].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the TSN bridge as in Bush. Park teaches the TSN-5G replication and elimination steps but not the TSN bridge. It would have been obvious to specify the TSN bridge as in Bush who teaches this addresses the need for a time-based or time-sensitive solution for 5G networks with network slicing to meet the (timing) requirements for different services using customized, isolated, end-to-end logical networks over a common infrastructure ¶0003.
Regarding claim 2, Park-Bush teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the 5G network comprises a first user equipment, UE [Park ¶0343, UEs in network, and see Figure 31, 34 Host A], and a data network, DN, and defining the k disjoint paths comprises establishing a connection between the first user equipment, UE, and the data network, DN [Park ¶0343 “forwarded toward a data network” connected to UEs, see Figure 31-32, 34].
Regarding claim 3, Park-Bush teaches:
The method according to claim 2, wherein establishing the connection comprises establishing at least one protocol data unit, PDU, session for the first user equipment, UE [Park ¶0293, Figure 31, multiple PDU sessions from UE].
Regarding claim 4, Park-Bush teaches:
The method according to claim 3.
wherein the 5G network further comprises a second user equipment, UE, and establishing the connection comprises establishing a first protocol data unit, PDU, session with the first user equipment, UE, and establishing a second protocol data unit, PDU, session with the second user equipment, UE [Park Figure 31 shows two PDU sessions between first UE UE1, and a second UE, UE2, ¶0293].
Regarding claim 5, Park-Bush teaches:
The method according to claim 4, wherein establishing the first protocol data unit, PDU, session comprises selecting a first user plane function, UPF, for the first protocol data unit, PDU, session, and establishing the second protocol data unit, PDU, session comprises selecting a second user plane function, UPF, for the second protocol data unit, PDU, session [Park ¶0293-294 Figure 31 shows two UPFs connected to UE1, UE2, see also ¶0343 using UPFs,].
Regarding claim 6, Park-Bush teaches:
The method according to claim 4, wherein (a) eliminating the copies determined to be redundant and (b) generating, based on the second redundancy policy of the 5G network indicating a protocol for replicating frames of TSN traffic, k copies of the frame is performed by the data network, DN, of the 5G network [Park ¶0343 network performs forwarding of copies and elimination].
Regarding claim 7, Park-Bush teaches:
The method according to claim 3, wherein establishing the connection comprises establishing a first protocol data unit, PDU, session with the first user equipment, UE, and establishing a second protocol data unit, PDU, session with the first user equipment, UE [Park Figure 30-31 shows two PDU sessions between UE and two separate gNBs, see ¶0293].
Regarding claim 9, Park-Bush teaches
A method according to claim 7, wherein (a) eliminating the copies determined to be redundant and (b) generating, based on the second redundancy policy of the 5G network indicating a protocol for replicating frames of TSN traffic, k copies of the frame is performed: by an IP layer of the 5G network, by a user plane function, UPF, of the 5G network, or by the first user equipment, UE [¶0343, “An FRER entity (e.g. wireless device, proxy, PSA UPF, and/or the like) may play a replication role and/or an elimination role for the two different directions (e.g. downlink and/or uplink packet transmission).”].
Regarding claim 10, Park-Bush teaches:
A method according to claim 3, wherein establishing the connection comprises, by a user plane function, UPF, of the 5G network, establishing a first N3 tunnel and a second N3 tunnel for transmitting the data across the 5G network [Park ¶0285, ¶0305-311, “there may be two N3 and N9 tunnels between NG-RAN and UPF for redundant transmission”].
Regarding claim 11, Park-Bush teaches:
A method according to claim 10, wherein the first N3 tunnel connects the user- plane function, UPF, and a master base station, MgNB, and the second N3 tunnel connects the user-plane function, UPF, and a secondary base station, SgNB [Figure 35 shows N3 connection to M-RAN (corresponding to MgNB, see ¶0496 RAN corresponds to gNBs), and S-RAN being SgNB via N3].
Regarding claim 12, Park-Bush teaches:
A method according to claim 10, wherein (a) eliminating the copies determined to be redundant and (b) generating, based on the second redundancy policy of the 5G network indicating a protocol for replicating frames of TSN traffic, k copies of the frame are performed by a GPRS Tunnelling Protocol, GTP, layer of the 5G network [¶0308 “Packet replication and elimination may be realized by modifying the GTP-U protocol.”].
Regarding claim 13, Park-Bush teaches:
A method according to claim 10, wherein (a) eliminating the copies determined to be redundant and (b) generating, based on the second redundancy policy of the 5G network indicating a protocol for replicating frames of TSN traffic, k copies of the frame is performed by a layer of the air interface protocol stack of the 5G network [Park ¶0337, ¶0526, wherein SDAP layer corresponding to air interface protocol stack performs packet duplication, corresponding to option (ii) of generating copies “a base station (gNB, eNB) (e.g. comprising at least one of RRC,SDAP, PDCP, RLC, MAC, PHY sublayer functions and/or adaptive layer functions) and/or as a base station distributed unit (gNB-DU) (e.g. comprising at least one of RLC, MAC, PHY and/or adaptive layer functions). The first access node may determine the packet duplication (e.g. activation/deactivation of the packet duplication)”].
Regarding claim 19, Park-Bush teaches:
One or more non-transitory storage media comprising computer instructions executable by a processor, the computer instructions when executed by the processor causing the processor to perform a method according to claim 1 [Park ¶0650 teaches hardware elements ].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (“Park”) (US 20200084663 A1) in view of Bush (US 20240323088 A1) and Qiao et al. (“Qiao”) (US 20200359440 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Park-Bush teaches:
A method according to claim 7, wherein the first protocol data unit, PDU, session is established via a first data network name, DNN, of the 5G network and the second protocol data unit, PDU, session is established via a second data network name, DNN, of the 5G network [Park ¶0255 shows PDU establishment involves DNN, see also ¶0155 establishing a PDU session to specific DNN].
Park teaches a DNN associated with a first PDU session and shows a connection to a second 5G gNB, though it is not shown to include a second DNN.
Qiao teaches the second protocol data unit, PDU, session is established via a second data network name, DNN, of the 5G network [¶0169-171, establish two PDU sessions, with different DNNs].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to specify the first and second DNNs. Park teaches two PDU sessions in figure 30-31 and it would have been obvious to specify the different DNNs as it would have been a simple substitution of parts to replace the unspecified DNN of Park with a second, DNN as in Qiao who teaches ¶0162 “The enhanced communications may enable the communication network to establish and maintain different PDU sessions for uplink traffic and downlink traffic associated with the same application(s).”
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (“Park”) (US 20200084663 A1) in view of Bush (US 20240323088 A1) and Ni et al. (“Ni”) (WO 2022171261 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Park-Bush teaches:
A method according to claim 13, wherein the steps of generating, based on a redundancy policy of the 5G network indicating a protocol for replicating frames of TSN traffic, k copies of the frame are performed by a service data adaptation protocol, SDAP, layer of the 5G network [Park ¶0337, ¶0526, wherein SDAP layer corresponding to air interface protocol stack performs packet duplication, corresponding to option (ii) “a base station (gNB, eNB) (e.g. comprising at least one of RRC,SDAP, PDCP, RLC, MAC, PHY sublayer functions and/or adaptive layer functions) and/or as a base station distributed unit (gNB-DU) (e.g. comprising at least one of RLC, MAC, PHY and/or adaptive layer functions). The first access node may determine the packet duplication (e.g. activation/deactivation of the packet duplication)” ].
Park teaches generating copies via the SDAP layer but does not teach eliminating.
Ni teaches (i) eliminating the copies determined to be redundant [page 7 “Moreover, the communication network comprises a first packet duplication and elimination, PDE, entity in the first GTP-U entity and/or the first SDAP entity of the primary NG-RAN and a second PDE entity in the second GTP-U entity and/or the second SDAP entity (of the secondary NG-RAN.].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to specify the SDAP layer for eliminating copies as in Ni. Park teaches eliminating and the SDAP layer and it would have been obvious to specify the SDAP layer performing elimination as in Ni who teaches this allows for avoiding abnormal events such as packet loss see page 15.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (“Park”) (US 20200084663 A1) in view of Bush (US 20240323088 A1) and Miklos et al. (“Miklos”) (US 20240414792 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Park-Bush teaches:
A method according to claim 13, wherein the steps of generating, based on a redundancy policy of the 5G network indicating a protocol for replicating frames of TSN traffic, k copies of the frame are performed by a packet data convergence protocol, PDCP, layer of the 5G network [Park ¶0526 “In an example, the first access node may comprise a wireless network node, e.g., an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node as a base station (gNB, eNB) (e.g. comprising at least one of RRC, SDAP, PDCP, RLC, MAC, PHY sublayer functions and/or adaptive layer functions) and/or as a base station distributed unit (gNB-DU) (e.g. comprising at least one of RLC, MAC, PHY and/or adaptive layer functions). The first access node may determine the packet duplication (e.g. activation/deactivation of the packet duplication) based on wireless backhaul link conditions.” Corresponding to option (ii) performed by PDCP].
Park teaches a PDCP layer performing replication but does not teach elimination at this layer.
Miklos teaches PDCP eliminating the copies determined to be redundant [¶0004 receiving PDCP entity eliminates duplicates].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to specify the PDCP layer for eliminating copies as in Miklos. Park teaches eliminating and the PDCP layer and it would have been obvious to specify the PDCP layer performing elimination as in Miklos who teaches ¶0003 “the use of redundancy mechanisms can significantly increase the availability of the communication system.”
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17-18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAY L VOGEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478