DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments have overcome all previous § 112 rejections.
Applicant’s arguments concerning the previous prior art rejections have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Bornn fails to teach electrodes on the patient’s side(s). The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Bornn teaches in at least Col. 10 lines 24-30 that “These common or reference electrodes are typically located on the side or back portion of the torso band 14, FIG. 1A. The preferred embodiment of the present invention uses several of such electrodes, for example a dozen, so that contact with at least one reference electrode can be ensured at all times” (emphasis added) and Col. 9 lines 26-33: “In one embodiment of the present invention, a minimum of eight ecg electrodes 24 are used, although other numbers of ecg electrodes 24 can be used within the spirit of the invention. Two are used as references and the other six form three pairs of electrodes. They can be configured in a number of different ways, but they are generally configured around the heart and evenly spaced through the bands.”). Since the bands clearly extend around all of the patient’s front, back, and sides as seen in FIG. 1A, it stands to reason that the electrodes “evenly spaced through the bands” will include some along the front, some along the back, and some along the sides. In view of at least these portions, the Examiner respectfully submits that Bornn teaches electrodes that can be fairly considered to be placed on the patient’s “side” and on a “side section” of the band, in addition to those which are clearly on the front and back.
The Examiner notes that the previous § 102 rejections have been updated to § 103 rejections in view of an additional reference to address the amendments concerning the releasable connector.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 8, the last word “electrodes” is misspelled as “electrods.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,348,008 to Bornn et al. (hereinafter “Bornn”) in view of US 2013/0131460 A1 to Yuen (hereinafter “Yuen”).
Regarding Claims 1 and 6, Bornn teaches equipment for monitoring the effectiveness of physical activities, comprising:
a plurality of electrodes placed on an upper body of a user, wherein said at least two electrodes are fixed in an electrode strap (see e.g. 1000 in FIG. 1A);
a connector secured on the strap and providing an electrical connection to the electrodes (see e.g. Col. 23 lines 10-13: “in the preferred embodiment of the present invention, signals from the ecg electrodes 24 are coupled to the processing module 102B by way of shielded cables or wires”);
evaluating electronics attached to the electrode strap, communicating with the at least two electrodes (see 102A and/or 102B in FIG. 1A: see FIG. 3A); and
a display unit realized with a mobile personal digital computing device communicating wirelessly with the evaluating electronics (e.g. 3004 in FIG. 1A);
wherein the at least two electrodes are unipolar or bipolar lead electrodes arranged in the strap and are located to anatomically fit the body size of the user so that the top row of the permissible measuring point matrix determining the location of the electrodes is located at the height of the user's collarbone, its lowest line is located at the height of the user's navel, and in the case of the electrode, applicable both for male and female body geometry, the connection between the cervical band and the waist strap is provided by a connecting band running along the collarbone insensitive to the body geometry (see generally patient unit 1000 in e.g. FIG. 1A),
wherein the strap comprises a front section contacting the front surface of the user's body, side sections contacting respective side surfaces of the user, and a back section contacting the back of the user (visible in e.g. FIG. 1A; for example, strap 14 extends all around the front, back and sides of the user);
wherein a respective electrode is located in the front, side, and back sections of the strap for contact with corresponding surfaces of the user's body (see e.g. FIG. 1A showing them clearly on at least the front and back; concerning the sides, see e.g. Col. 10 lines 24-30: “These common or reference electrodes are typically located on the side or back portion of the torso band 14, FIG. 1A. The preferred embodiment of the present invention uses several of such electrodes, for example a dozen, so that contact with at least one reference electrode can be ensured at all times” and Col. 9 lines 26-33: “In one embodiment of the present invention, a minimum of eight ecg electrodes 24 are used, although other numbers of ecg electrodes 24 can be used within the spirit of the invention. Two are used as references and the other six form three pairs of electrodes. They can be configured in a number of different ways, but they are generally configured around the heart and evenly spaced through the bands.” Since the bands clearly extend around all of the patient’s front, back, and sides as seen in FIG. 1A, it stands to reason that electrodes “evenly spaced through the bands” will include some along the front, some along the back, and some along the sides.)
Bornn teaches that the electrodes are connected to the evaluating electronics via wire(s) (i.e. connector(s)), but there appears to be no disclosure of the connector being releasable. However, releasable electrical connections are extremely commonplace, easy to implement, and presents predictable benefits. An example of a similar device using such a releasable connection can be seen in Yuen (evaluating electronics 200 connects to strap 100 via releasable connections such as snap connections, which allows for communication with electrodes 120 and 140). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of Applicant's effective filing date to modify Bornn to provide a releasable electrical connection between the electrodes and evaluating electronics because it would provide the well known and predictable benefits of releasable connections, e.g. allowing individual components to be replaced and/or cleaned.
Regarding Claims 2 and 7, see e.g. FIG. 12A of Bornn (various sets of equal resistors are seen).
Regarding Claims 3 and 8, Bornn fails to specify if the electrodes are dome-shaped, elastic conductive rubber. However, the Examiner previously noted that this is extraordinarily well-known configuration for diagnostic electrodes. Applicant' s reply did not traverse the Examiner's assertion of official notice; therefore, the facts under official notice are now taken to be admitted prior art. See MPEP § 2144.03(C) (“If applicant does not traverse the examiner' s assertion of official notice or applicant' s traverse is not adequate, the examiner should clearly indicate in the next Office action that the common knowledge or well-known in the art statement is taken to be admitted prior art because applicant either failed to traverse the examiner' s assertion of official notice or that the traverse was inadequate.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of Applicant's effective filing date to modify Bornn to utilize dome-shaped, elastic conductive rubber electrodes because it would amount to merely selecting an extraordinary well-known electrode shape and material configuration.
Regarding Claims 5 and 10, see e.g. sensors 26 (in Bornn) which detect respiration.
Claim 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bornn in view of Yuen and further in view of WO 2017/009880 A1 to Boldi (hereinafter “Boldi”) (cited in Applicant’s IDS).
Regarding Claim 4, Bornn as modified above teaches the equipment of claims 1 and 6 but fails to specifically teach that the mobile device is a smartphone (as they were not invented and widespread as of the time of Bornn’s invention). Another reference, Boldi, teaches an analogous wearable vital sign monitoring device including a smartphone (203) in communication with the measuring unit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of Applicant's effective filing date to further modify Bornn to utilize a smartphone as the mobile device because smartphones are incredibly common and well known mobile computing devices with powerful processing, communication and display technologies and which are widely used in medical contexts for diagnostic monitoring.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN R DOWNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792