Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph 0011, “simply” should be corrected to “simplify”
In paragraph 0016, “before the task to be updated” should be corrected to “before the task is to be updated”
In paragraph 0023, “the computing devices 110, 130, and 150” should be corrected to “the computing devices 110, 120, and 130”
In paragraph 0032, “The version control engine 135” should be corrected to “The version control engine 125”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "for each task of the plurality of tasks of the task group, accessing, by a processing device, a version control system to retrieve the task" in lines 4-5. Although, “for each task”, is mentioned in line 4, it is unclear what “the task” is referring to, therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the task” in line 5.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "and transmitting the respective tasks of the plurality of tasks to one or more of the plurality of computing nodes for execution." in lines 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “respective tasks” in line 7.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "for each task of the plurality of tasks of the task group, accessing, by a processing device, a version control system to retrieve the task" in lines 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the task” in line 8.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "and transmit the respective tasks of the plurality of tasks to one or more of the plurality of computing nodes for execution” in lines 10-11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “respective tasks” in line 10.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "for each task of the plurality of tasks of the task group, accessing, by a processing device, a version control system to retrieve the task" in lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the task” in line 6.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "and transmit the respective tasks of the plurality of tasks to one or more of the plurality of computing nodes for execution” in lines 8-9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “respective tasks” in line 8.
Any claim not specifically mentioned above is rejected due to its dependency on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jones (US 2022/0171745 A1).
As per claim 1:
Jones teaches a method comprising:
Obtaining a configuration of a task group (par [0077]; lines 4-5; “the server process provides access to files”; “files” are being interpreted as a task group), the task group comprising a plurality of tasks (par [0077]; lines 4-5; “(118a, 118b, 118c, 118d, 118e, 118f, 118g, 118h)”; each file is being interpreted as a task)
Each of the plurality of tasks to execute (par [0077]; lines 8-9; “configured to provide check-out … and check-in of files”; “check-in” and “check-out” are being interpreted as forms of execution) on a computing node of a plurality of computing nodes (par [0077]; lines 8-9; “for use by client devices”; “client devices” are being interpreted as computing nodes)
For each task of the plurality of tasks of the task group, accessing, by a processing device (par [0077]; lines 1-3; “a server process … can be one or more server computers or other processing hardware”), a version control system to retrieve the task (par [0080]; lines 13-15; “the server process may retrieve and transmit requested information … of the asset management system”), wherein each task is stored as a data object within the version control system (par [0080]; lines 2-4; “the asset management … stores data to the node data storage and files data storage”) and
Transmitting (par [0080]; lines 16-18; “transmit a response including such information to a user of the client device”; “such information” references “tasks, assets, files”) the respective tasks of the plurality of tasks to one or more of the plurality of computing nodes (par [0080]; lines 4-6; “the server process communicates over a network with one or more client devices”)
As per claim 2:
Jones teaches the method of claim 1. Jones further teaches:
Wherein the task group is stored as a branch of a plurality of data objects of the version control system (par [0184]; lines 1-4; “versions” is interpreted as a plurality of data objects)
As per claim 3:
Jones teaches the method of claim 1. Jones further teaches:
Wherein the task group is a first task group (par [0083]; lines 1-2; “task version N” is interpreted as a first task group), and wherein the method further comprises: modifying a task of the first task group (par [0083]; lines 10-12; “works on the task” application is interpreted as modifying) to create a second task group (par [0084]; lines 6-7; “version N+1” is interpreted as the second task group”) by creating a branch from the first task group that includes a data object comprising a second task (par [0084]; lines 3-4; “version up” the task is interpreted as creating a branch”).
As per claim 4:
Jones teaches the method of claim 3. Jones further teaches:
Further comprising: merging the branch from the second task of the second task (par [0184]; lines 1-11; In the local site, because versions “1712a, 1714a, and 1716a” are the local development branch, any file of version “1716a” is interpreted as a first task of the first task group. Similarly, any file from version “1720a”, which was received from the remote site, is interpreted as a second task of the second task group) group to connect to a third task of the first task group (par [0188]; lines 18-21; the creation of the new version “1724a” through merging branches is interpreted as connecting the second task of the second task group to third task of the first group).
As per claim 5:
Jones teaches the method of claim 3. Jones further teaches:
wherein a first task of the plurality of tasks of the task group is included in at least one other task group (par [0089]; lines 1-4; “file 236” is included in the new version of the task as well).
As per claim 6:
Jones teaches the method of claim 1. Jones further teaches:
wherein, for each task of the plurality of tasks of the task group, accessing the version control system to retrieve the task comprises sequentially retrieving each of the plurality of tasks (par [0083]; line 7-8; “check-out” is interpreted as retrieving and an order for the retrieval, “files 202, 204, and 206”, is mentioned) from the version control system.
As per claim 7:
Jones teaches the method of claim 1. Jones further teaches:
wherein at least one task of the plurality of tasks of the task group comprises an execution variable, and wherein transmitting (par [0083]; lines 6-9; the version number “N” is being interpreted as an execution variable) the respective tasks of the plurality of tasks to the one or more of the plurality of computing nodes for execution comprises replacing the execution variable with a data value associated with the task group during the execution of the at least one task (par [0085]; lines 4-7; the version number being changed to “N + 1” is being interpreted as the replacement of the execution variable).
As per claim 8:
Jones teaches a system comprising:
a memory; (par [0230]; lines 7-9; “examples of the computer readable medium include … read-only memory, random access memory”) and
a processing device (par “0077”; lines 2-4; “processing hardware”)
operatively coupled to the memory (paragraph 0230; lines 11-15; “network-coupled computer system”) to:
obtain a configuration of a task group (par [0077]; lines 4-5; “the server process provides access to files”; “files” are being interpreted as a task group), the task group comprising a plurality of tasks (par [0077]; lines 4-5; “(118a, 118b, 118c, 118d, 118e, 118f, 118g, 118h)”; each file is being interpreted as a task),
each of the plurality of tasks to execute (par [0077]; lines 8-9; “configured to provide check-out … and check-in of files”; “check-in” and “check-out” are being interpreted as forms of execution) on a computing node of a plurality of computing nodes (par [0077]; lines 8-9; “for use by client devices”; “client devices” are being interpreted as computing nodes);
for each task of the plurality of tasks of the task group, access a version control system (par [0077]; lines 1-3; “a server process … can be one or more server computers or other processing hardware”) to retrieve the task (par [0080]; lines 13-15; “the server process may retrieve and transmit requested information … of the asset management system”), wherein each task is stored as a data object within the version control system (par [0080]; lines 2-4; “the asset management … stores data to the node data storage and files data storage”):
and transmit (par [0080]; lines 16-18; “transmit a response including such information to a user of the client device”; “such information” references “tasks, assets, files”) the respective tasks of the plurality of tasks to one or more of the plurality of computing nodes (par [0080]; lines 4-6; “the server process communicates over a network with one or more client devices”).
As per claim 9:
Jones teaches the system of claim 8. Jones further teaches:
wherein the task group is stored as a branch of a plurality of data objects of the version control system (par [0184]; lines 1-4; “versions” is interpreted as a plurality of data objects).
As per claim 10:
Jones teaches the system of claim 9. Jones further teaches:
wherein the task group is a first task group (par [0083]; lines 1-2; “task version N” is interpreted as a first task group), and wherein the processing device is further to: modify (par [0083]; lines 10-12; “works on the task” application is interpreted as modifying) a first task of the first task group to create a second task group (par [0084]; lines 6-7; “version N+1” is interpreted as the second task group”) by creating a branch from the first task group that includes a new data object comprising a second task (par [0084]; lines 3-4; “version up” the task is interpreted as creating a branch”).
As per claim 11:
Jones teaches system of claim 10. Jones further teaches:
wherein the processing device is further to: merge the branch from the second task of the second task group (par [0184]; lines 1-11; In the local site, because versions “1712a, 1714a, and 1716a” are the local development branch, any file of version “1716a” is interpreted as a first task of the first task group. Similarly, any file from version “1720a”, which was received from the remote site, is interpreted as a second task of the second task group) to connect to a third task of the first task group (par [0188]; lines 18-21; the creation of the new version “1724a” through merging branches is interpreted as connecting the second task of the second task group to third task of the first group).
As per claim 12:
Jones teaches the system of claim 9. Jones further teaches:
wherein a first task of the plurality of tasks of the task group is included in at least one other task group (par [0089]; lines 1-4; “file 236” is included in the new version of the task as well).
As per claim 13:
Jones teaches the system of claim 8. Jones further teaches:
wherein, for each task of the plurality of tasks of the task group, to access the version control system to retrieve the task, the processing device is to sequentially retrieve each of the plurality of tasks from the version control system (par [0083]; line 7-8; “check-out” is interpreted as retrieving and an order for the retrieval, “files 202, 204, and 206”, is mentioned).
As per claim 14:
Jones teaches the system of claim 8. Jones further teaches:
wherein at least one task of the plurality of tasks of the task group comprises an execution variable (par [0083]; lines 6-9; the version number “N” is being interpreted as an execution variable), and wherein, to transmit the respective tasks of the plurality of tasks to the one or more of the plurality of computing nodes for execution, the processing device is to replace the execution variable with a data value associated with the task group during the execution of the at least one task (par [0085]; lines 4-7; the version number being changed to “N + 1” is being interpreted as the replacement of the execution variable).
As per claim 15:
Jones teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium including instructions that, when executed by a processing device (par [0015]; lines 1-4), cause the processing device to:
obtain a configuration of a task group, the task group (par [0077]; lines 4-5; “the server process provides access to files”; “files” are being interpreted as a task group) comprising a plurality of tasks (par [0077]; lines 4-5; “(118a, 118b, 118c, 118d, 118e, 118f, 118g, 118h)”; each file is being interpreted as a task),
each of the plurality of tasks to execute (par [0077]; lines 8-9; “configured to provide check-out … and check-in of files”; “check-in” and “check-out” are being interpreted as forms of execution) on a computing node of a plurality of (par [0077]; lines 8-9; “for use by client devices”; “client devices” are being interpreted as computing nodes);
for each task of the plurality of tasks of the task group, access, by the processing device (par [0077]; lines 1-3; “a server process … can be one or more server computers or other processing hardware”), a version control system to retrieve the task (par [0080]; lines 13-15; “the server process may retrieve and transmit requested information … of the asset management system”), wherein each task is stored as a data object within the version control system (par [0080]; lines 2-4; “the asset management … stores data to the node data storage and files data storage”).
and transmit (par [0080]; lines 16-18; “transmit a response including such information to a user of the client device”; “such information” references “tasks, assets, files”) the respective tasks of the plurality of tasks to one or more of the plurality of computing nodes for execution (par [0080]; lines 4-6; “the server process communicates over a network with one or more client devices”).
As per claim 16:
Jones teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15. Jones further teaches:
wherein the task group is stored as a branch of a plurality of data objects of the version control system (par [0184]; lines 1-4; “versions” is interpreted as a plurality of data objects), wherein the task group is a first task group (par [0083]; lines 1-2; “task version N” is interpreted as a first task group), and wherein the processing device is further to: modify (par [0083]; lines 10-12; “works on the task” application is interpreted as modifying) a first task of the first task group to create a second task group (par [0084]; lines 6-7; “version N+1” is interpreted as the second task group”) by creating a branch from the first task group that includes a new data object comprising a second task (par [0084]; lines 3-4; “version up” the task is interpreted as creating a branch”).
As per claim 17:
Jones teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 16. Jones further teaches:
wherein the processing device is further to: merge (par [0184]; lines 1-11; In the local site, because versions “1712a, 1714a, and 1716a” are the local development branch, any file of version “1716a” is interpreted as a first task of the first task group. Similarly, any file from version “1720a”, which was received from the remote site, is interpreted as a second task of the second task group) the branch from the second task of the second task group to connect to a third task of the first task group (par [0188]; lines 18-21; the creation of the new version “1724a” through merging branches is interpreted as connecting the second task of the second task group to third task of the first group).
As per claim 18:
Jones teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 16. Jones further teaches:
wherein a first task of the plurality of tasks of the task group is included in at least one other task group least one other task group (par [0089]; lines 1-4; “file 236” is included in the new version of the task as well).
As per claim 19:
Jones teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15. Jones further teaches:
wherein, for each task of the plurality of tasks of the task group, to access the version control system to retrieve the task, the processing device is to sequentially retrieve each of the plurality of tasks from the version control system (par [0083]; line 7-8; “check-out” is interpreted as retrieving and an order for the retrieval, “files 202, 204, and 206”, is mentioned).
As per claim 20:
Jones teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15. Jones further teaches:
wherein at least one task of the plurality of tasks of the task group comprises an execution variable (par [0083]; lines 6-9; the version number “N” is being interpreted as an execution variable), and wherein, to transmit the respective tasks of the plurality of tasks to the one or more of the plurality of computing nodes for execution, the processing device is to replace the execution variable with a data value associated with the task group during the execution of the at least one task (par [0085]; lines 4-7; the version number being changed to “N + 1” is being interpreted as the replacement of the execution variable).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Caposella et al. (US 5897642 A) teaches a version control system that allows files of an object based-application to be versioned properly.
Jenkins et al. (US 10373218 B1) discusses techniques for facilitating use of software components by software applications in a configurable manner.
/JOSEPH MAXEN LANE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2196
/APRIL Y BLAIR/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2196