DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 4/21/26 is acknowledged. Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/21/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites that the drain tank section comprises an internal barrier that physically separates the critical region from the subcritical region. However, this conflicts with parent claim 3, which recited that the drain tank section was defining a subcritical region. Therefore, the subcritical region of the drain tank cannot comprise a barrier that houses, and physically separates, a critical region and a subcritical region because the drain tank was previously defined as allegedly distinct from the critical region.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected for the same reasons as immediately above.
Any claim not specifically addressed in this section that depends from a rejected claim is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for its dependency upon an above–rejected claim and for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
For Applicant’s benefit, portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection, it is noted that the prior art must be considered in its entirety, including disclosures that teach away from the claims. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claims 1-4, 8-9, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wilson (US20150243376A1).
Regarding claims 1-4, Wilson discloses (figs. 1-2) an integral molten salt nuclear reactor (“molten salt fission reactor,” title) comprising a drain tank section (including 220) configured to hold a volume of fuel salt; a reactor section (e.g., including at least core 208) configured to receive the volume of fuel salt from the drain tank and heat the fuel salt through fission reactions; and a heat exchange section (216) configured to receive a flow of the heated fuel salt from the reactor section and remove heat therefrom; wherein the drain tank section, the reactor section, and the heat exchange section are each sections of a common, integrally constructed vessel (202, fig. 2); the reactor section and the heat exchange section collectively define a critical region of the vessel, and the drain tank section defines a subcritical region of the vessel (the manner in which portions of a physical structure are “defined” is not patentably limiting; the skilled artisan can draw different lines or encircle different parts of fig. 2 of Wilson and call them “critical regions” or “subcritical regions”; the term “region” is akin to the term “portion”—it is not a distinct structure with defined boundaries); wherein the drain tank section comprises an internal barrier (e.g., 222, although this is complicated by the indefiniteness rejection above) that physically separates the critical region from the subcritical region; further comprising a heat exchanger (e.g., 218) arranged in the heat exchange section (216) and fluidly coupled with a coolant salt (“molten salt fission reactor,” title), gas and/or other heat transfer fluid, the coolant salt and/or a gas being configured to receive heat from the heated fuel salt at the heat exchange section (this is how heat exchange works); further comprising one or more control rods (“neutron absorbers (such as Boron Carbide (B4C) placed in the dump tank to further ensure that any nuclear reactions cease,” 49) extendable into the reactor section (neutron poisons may be incorporated into the fuel section, ¶ 39; Examiner notes that nearly all commercial nuclear reactors have control rods insertable into the fission section of the reactor to prevent out-of-control chain reactions).
Regarding claims 11-15, Wilson discloses (figs. 1-2) an integral molten salt nuclear reactor (“molten salt fission reactor,” title) comprising a common, integrally constructed vessel (202, fig. 2) defining a critical region and a subcritical region (the manner in which portions of a physical structure are “defined” is not patentably limiting; the skilled artisan can draw different lines or encircle different parts of fig. 2 of Wilson and call them “critical regions” or “subcritical regions”; the term “region” is akin to the term “portion”—it is not a distinct structure with defined boundaries), wherein the critical region defines a critical volume for fission reactions (e.g., including at least core 208) and for the circulation of a fuel salt therethrough, wherein the subcritical region defines a subcritical volume for the storage of the fuel salt away from a reactor core, and wherein, in response to a shutdown event, the fuel salt is passively transferable from the critical volume to the subcritical volume; wherein the subcritical region comprises a drain tank section (including 220) having an internal barrier (e.g., 222, although this is complicated by the indefiniteness rejection above) that physically separates the critical volume from the subcritical volume; wherein the internal barrier defines a fuel salt passage (e.g., 222, although this is complicated by the indefiniteness rejection above) configured to allow the passive transfer of the fuel salt in response to the shutdown event; wherein the fuel salt passage is pressurizable to maintain the fuel salt in circulation in the critical region during the undergoing of the fission reaction by the fuel salt (this is a capable-of limitation; Wilson’s passage is structurally capable of being pressurized); wherein the critical volume is adapted to permit circulation of the fuel salt through the critical region by convection (the critical volume is capable of this intended use limitation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
For Applicant’s benefit, portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection, it is noted that the prior art must be considered in its entirety, including disclosures that teach away from the claims. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claims 5-6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson in view of KR764 (KR10-2495764B11).
Regarding claims 5-6, Wilson anticipates all the elements of the parent claim 4, and Wilson further discloses wherein the internal barrier (e.g., 222, although this is complicated by the indefiniteness rejection above) defines a fuel salt passage configured to allow a flow of fuel salt therethrough for dumping of the fuel salt into the subcritical region, wherein in an operational state, the fuel salt is maintained in the critical region by the internal barrier and an inert gas pressure held in the fuel salt passage (“an inert and controlled atmosphere,” ¶ 20), and in a non-operational state (“a problem were to occur with the reactor,” ¶ 49), the inert gas pressure held in the fuel salt passage is equalized, allowing the fuel salt to exit the critical region and flow, gravitationally, into the drain tank section (“Dump tank 220 may be coupled, e.g., via connection 222. For example, with a molten salt fuel, by providing the dump tank below the reactor vessel, the fuel is able to passively drain into the dump tank simply using gravity,” ¶ 49).
Wilson does not explicitly state that the passage/barrier is adapted for loading of the fuel salt into the critical region. KR764 does.
KR764 is in the same art area of integral molten salt reactors and teaches (see the pressure control system shown in the lower half of Fig. 1) a subcritical region (e.g., including drain tank 200) below a critical region (e.g., including RV 100) wherein the fuel salt may be loaded into the critical region: see highlights on mid-page 6—e.g., “the molten salt in the drain tank 200 … flows into the molten salt flow space 311.” Following an accident, the molten salt from critical region including RV 100 flows into the drain tank 200, and when the accident is over, the pressure is adjusted again so that the molten salt flows backwards out of the drain tank and back into the RV 100.
The skilled artisan would have been motivated to utilize the inert gas system of KR764 because, as explained by KR764 (page 6), “When an accident occurs in the molten salt reactor 1 according to an embodiment of the present invention, the molten salt in the reactor vessel 100 flows into the drain tank 200, and when the accident ends, the molten salt accommodated in the drain tank 200 Since [salt] can be accommodated in the reactor vessel 100 again, the molten salt can be reused.” This is an improvement over conventional molten salt reactors wherein the discharged molten salt “cannot be flowed back to the container after the accident is over…cannot be reused,” page 2. Wilson appears to fall into this category: as shown in Fig. 2 by the one-way dump line 222 and as described in ¶ 49, following an accident, it does not appear that Wilson’s molten salt can be reused. The capability to reuse this molten salt would have been an improvement over Wilson’s one-way design.
Regarding claim 10, Wilson anticipates all the elements of the parent claim but does not explicitly teach the claimed inert gas lines. KR764 does. KR764 teaches a pair of inert gas lines (310/320), including a first inert gas line configured to deliver inert gas into the reactor (100) and/or the heat exchange region, and a second inert gas line configured to deliver inert gas into the drain tank section (200), wherein in an operational state, the pair of inert gas lines are operable to cause a pressure of inert gas in the drain tank section to be higher than a pressure of inert gas in the reactor and/or the heat exchange region, and in a non-operational state, the pair of inert gas lines are operable to cause the pressure of inert gas in the drain tank section to be lower than the pressure of the inert gas in the reactor and/or the heat exchange region (following an accident, the inert gas system adjusts the pressure so that molten salt from reactor vessel 100 flows into the drain tank 200, and when the accident is over, the pressure is adjusted again so that the molten salt flows backwards out of the drain tank and back into the reactor vessel 100, as explained mid-page 6).
The skilled artisan would have been motivated to utilize the inert gas system of KR764 because, as explained by KR764 (page 6), “When an accident occurs in the molten salt reactor 1 according to an embodiment of the present invention, the molten salt in the reactor vessel 100 flows into the drain tank 200, and when the accident ends, the molten salt accommodated in the drain tank 200 Since [salt] can be accommodated in the reactor vessel 100 again, the molten salt can be reused.” This is an improvement over conventional molten salt reactors wherein the discharged molten salt “cannot be flowed back to the container after the accident is over…cannot be reused,” page 2. Wilson appears to fall into this category: as shown in Fig. 2 by the one-way dump line 222 and as described in ¶ 49, following an accident, it does not appear that Wilson’s molten salt can be reused. The capability to reuse this molten salt would have been an improvement over Wilson’s one-way design.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Wilson in further view of Young (US 20100124303).
Regarding claim 7, Wilson anticipates all the elements of the parent claim and further discloses wherein the vessel (202) is encompassed by an outer container (106) (“Reaction module 200 may be, e.g., reaction module 102 in FIG. 1,” ¶ 20) but does not explicitly describe the pressure in the ambient environment inside the containment vessel.
Young is in the same art area of nuclear reactors and teaches a sealed containment structure (54) that is held at a vacuum pressure about the reactor (52) contained therein. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to utilize the containment vacuum of Young because this “significantly reduces convective and conductive heat transfer through the containment gases,” as explained in ¶ 40.
Conclusion
LILY CRABTREE GARNER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3646
/LILY C GARNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646
1 see attached 30-page foreign reference.