DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This Office Action responds to reply filed on 1/12/26 regarding application 18/449487 that was initially filed on 8/14/23. Claims 2, 5-7, 9-15, and 17-22 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 2, 5 - 7, 10, 15, and 17 - 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Puri, US 2017/0155906 A1 (hereinafter Puri) in view of Panusopone et al., US 2014/0092982 A1 (hereinafter Panusopone), and further in view of Moriya et al., US 2008/0123977 A1 (hereinafter Moriya).
As for claim 2, Puri discloses a method ([0250], e.g., processor and instruction and [0251], e.g., memory) of processing quantization data, the method comprising: obtaining, for each image ([0132], e.g., video frames) in a set of images ([0132], e.g., video), quantization data ([0150], e.g., quantizer values and quantizer (qp)) indicative of a quantization level of data useable by a decoder ([0133], e.g., decoder) to reconstruct a first representation ([0132], e.g., enhancement layer and prediction error and prediction error difference signal) of said each image at a first level ([0132], e.g., enhancement layer) of quality in a tiered hierarchy having multiple levels ([0132], e.g., enhancement layer and base layer) of quality using a second representation ([0132], e.g., co-located block from the lower layer) of said each image at the first level of quality, the second representation ([0132], e.g., co-located block from the lower layer) being based on a representation of said each image at a second ([0132], e.g., base layer), lower level ([0132], e.g., base layer) of quality in the tiered hierarchy; wherein the quantization data is included as a part of image configuration data ([0146], e.g., application parameters) corresponding to said each image in the set of images, and wherein the data includes residual data ([0132], e.g., enhancement layer and prediction error and prediction error difference signal) based on the first representation and the second representation; obtaining, for each image in the set of images, one or more image configuration parameters ([0146], e.g., application parameters), wherein the one or more image configuration parameters ([0146], e.g., application parameters) are also included as a part of the image configuration data ([0146], e.g., application parameters); applying a transformation operation ([0132], e.g., transform) on the residual data, resulting in transformed residual data being generated; outputting ([0102], e.g., transmission) the quantization data ([0150], e.g., quantizer values and quantizer (qp)) and the one or more image configuration parameters ([0146], e.g., application parameters) for the set of images for processing by the decoder to enable the decoder to reconstruct, for each image in the set of images, the first representation ([0132], e.g., enhancement layer and prediction error and prediction error difference signal) of said each image using the second representation ([0132], e.g., co-located block from the lower layer) of the image; wherein the one or more image configuration parameters comprise image set configuration data ([0146], e.g., resolution) that is applicable to a group of multiple images in the set of images such that the same image set configuration data is used for all images in the group, and the image set configuration data ([0146], e.g., resolution) indicates how ([0146], e.g., resolution, note that the residual data will be located in the images according to the given resolution) the residual data is to be processed by the decoder.
Puri does not explicitly disclose, but Panusopone teaches signaling ([0027], e.g., flag), to the decoder, that the transformation operation has been applied to the residual data by including, within the one or more image configuration parameters, a parameter specifying that the transformation operation was applied to the residual data, wherein the parameter ([0027], e.g., flag) is structured to enable the decoder to subsequently perform a second transformation operation on the transformed residual data, the second transformation operation ([0027], e.g., transform skip) being an inverse of the transformation operation, the second transformation operation ([0027], e.g., transform skip) enabling the decoder to obtain the residual data; and.
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Puri and Panusopone before him/her to modify the efficient and scalable intra video/image coding using wavelets and AVC, modified AVC, VPX, modified VPX, or modified HEVC coding of Puri with the teaching of scan pattern determination from base layer pixel information for scalable extension of Panusopone with a motivation to process the data quickly and/or efficiently by using the information in the flag transferred.
Puri as modified by Panusopone does not explicitly teach, but Moriya teaches wherein the one or more image configuration parameters (Fig. 37, e.g., profile information and/or sequence level) are output at a lower frequency as compared to the outputting of the quantization data (Fig. 37, e.g., quantization parameter).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Puri, Panusopone, and Moriya before him/her to modify the efficient and scalable intra video/image coding using wavelets and AVC, modified AVC, VPX, modified VPX, or modified HEVC coding of Puri with the teaching of image encoder and image decoder, image encoding method and image decoding method, image encoding program and image decoding program, and computer readable recording medium recorded with image encoding program and computer readable recording medium recorded with image decoding program of Moriya with a motivation to obtain an efficient bitstream and/or processing by using the less frequent parameter transmission and/or processing of the less frequently used parameters.
As for claim 5, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 2. In addition, Puri further discloses the data useable by the decoder to reconstruct the first representation comprises correction data ([0132], e.g., enhancement layer and prediction error and prediction error difference signal) useable to correct for errors in encoding and/or decoding the representation at the second level of quality.
As for claim 6, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 5. In addition, Puri further discloses the quantization data is indicative of a first quantization level applied to the residual data and a second quantization level applied to the correction data ([0150], e.g., quantizer values and quantizer (qp)).
As for claim 7, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 2. In addition, Puri further discloses outputting ([0102], e.g., transmission), for each image in the set of images, the representation of the image at the second level of quality ([0132], e.g., base layer).
As for claim 10, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 2. In addition, Puri further discloses obtaining one or more configuration parameters ([0146], e.g., application parameters) of configuration data relating to processing of residual data, the one or more configuration parameters ([0146], e.g., application parameters) being useable by the decoder to reconstruct the first representation for each image in the set of images, the one or more configuration parameters ([0146], e.g., application parameters) corresponding to multiple images in the set of images; and outputting the one or more configuration parameters ([0146], e.g., application parameters) for processing by the decoder.
Puri as modified by Panusopone does not explicitly teach, but Moriya teaches the number of times the one or more configuration parameters (Fig. 37, e.g., profile information and/or sequence level) is output for the set of images is less than the number of times the quantization data (Fig. 37, e.g., quantization parameter) is output for the set of images.
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Puri, Panusopone, and Moriya before him/her to modify the efficient and scalable intra video/image coding using wavelets and AVC, modified AVC, VPX, modified VPX, or modified HEVC coding of Puri with the teaching of image encoder and image decoder, image encoding method and image decoding method, image encoding program and image decoding program, and computer readable recording medium recorded with image encoding program and computer readable recording medium recorded with image decoding program of Moriya with a motivation to obtain an efficient bitstream and/or processing by using the less frequent parameter transmission and/or processing of the less frequently used parameters.
As for claim 15, the claim recites a method of processing quantitative data of the method of claim 2, and is similarly analyzed.
As for claim 17, the claim recites a method of processing quantitative data of the method of claim 7, and is similarly analyzed.
As for claim 18, the claim recites a method of processing quantitative data of the method of claim 10, and is similarly analyzed.
As for claim 19, the claim recites an apparatus of the method of claim 2, and is similarly analyzed.
As for claim 20, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 2. In addition, Puri further discloses the one or more image configuration parameters includes a bit depth parameter ([0179], e.g., 8-bit bit depth ).
As for claim 21, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 15. In addition, Puri further discloses the set of images forms a video stream ([0102], e.g., bitstream), and wherein a decoder, which is configured to process the quantization data ([0150], e.g., quantizer values and quantizer (qp)), enters partway ([0132], e.g., base layer) through the video stream, and wherein processing the quantization data further comprises at least one of: causing the decoder to enter a full operation mode and causing a display of the first representation ([0132], e.g., enhancement layer and prediction error and prediction error difference signal) of said each image at the first level ([0132], e.g., enhancement layer) of quality or, alternatively, causing the decoder to enter a minimum operation mode and causing a display of the second representation ([0132], e.g., co-located block from the lower layer) of said each image at the second, lower level of quality ([0132], e.g., base layer).
As for claim 22, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 1. In addition, Puri further discloses the residual data ([0121], e.g., a residual) is usable to reconstruct the first representation, the transformation operation ([0132], e.g., transform) exploits a spatial or a directional correlation between residual elements in the residual data, the transformed residual data ([0121], e.g., a transform coefficient) is smaller ([0107], e.g., small and few) than the residual data, and the transformed residual data has a lower ([0107], e.g., few higher magnitude coefficients that are sparse but most coefficients are relatively small (and carry relatively small amount of energy) and thus such coefficients after quantization quantize to zero) encoding entropy relative to the residual data.
2. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Puri in view of Panusopone, Moriya, and further in view of Kazui et al., US 2016/0134888 A1 (hereinafter Kazui).
As for claim 9, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 8.
Puri as modified by Panusopone and Moriya does not explicitly teach, but Kazui teaches the image configuration data comprises a configuration parameter that specifies whether the particular image in the set of images is interlaced or progressive ([0123], e.g., parameter, progressive, and interlaced).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Puri, Panusopone, Moriya, and Kazui before him/her to modify the efficient and scalable intra video/image coding using wavelets and AVC, modified AVC, VPX, modified VPX, or modified HEVC coding of Puri with the teaching of video encoding apparatus, video encoding method, video decoding apparatus, and video decoding method of Kazui with a motivation to allow a quick and/or efficient processing of the data.
3. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Puri in view of Panusopone, Moriya, and further in view of Mendenhall et al., US 5812760 (hereinafter Mendenhall).
As for claim 11, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 2.
Puri as modified by Panusopone and Moriya does not explicitly teach, but Mendenhall teaches performing byte-wise processing of the quantization data (col. 4, ll. 38-49, e.g., byte wise).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Puri, Panusopone, Moriya, and Mendenhall before him/her to modify the efficient and scalable intra video/image coding using wavelets and AVC, modified AVC, VPX, modified VPX, or modified HEVC coding of Puri with the teaching of programmable byte wise MPEG systems layer parser of Mendenhall with a motivation to process the data easily by handling a byte as a unit due to the regularity and commonality of the byte format.
4. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Puri in view of Panusopone, Moriya, and further in view of Kosai et al., US 2016/0380851 A1 (hereinafter Kosai).
As for claim 12, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 2.
Puri as modified by Panusopone and Moriya does not explicitly teach, but Kosai teaches arranging the quantization data into an integer number of bytes ([0003], e.g., arranged in bytes).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Puri, Panusopone, Moriya, and Kosai before him/her to modify the efficient and scalable intra video/image coding using wavelets and AVC, modified AVC, VPX, modified VPX, or modified HEVC coding of Puri with the teaching of heuristics for determining the layout of a procedurally generated user interface of Kosai with a motivation to process the data easily by handling a byte as a unit due to the regularity and commonality of the byte arranging format.
5. Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Puri in view of Panusopone, Moriya, and further in view of Luby et al., US 2014/0307734 A1 (hereinafter Luby).
As for claim 13, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 2.
Puri as modified by Panusopone and Moriya does not explicitly teach, but Luby teaches the quantization data comprises two bytes ([0163], e.g., four byte parameter).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Puri, Panusopone, Moriya, and Luby before him/her to modify the efficient and scalable intra video/image coding using wavelets and AVC, modified AVC, VPX, modified VPX, or modified HEVC coding of Puri with the teaching of methods for delivery of flows of objects over broadcast/multicast enabled networks of Luby with a motivation to process the data easily by handling a byte as a unit due to the regularity and commonality of the byte arranging format.
As for claim 14, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 2.
Puri as modified by Panusopone and Moriya does not explicitly teach, but Luby teaches the quantization data comprises four bytes ([0163], e.g., four byte parameter).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Puri, Panusopone, Moriya, and Luby before him/her to modify the efficient and scalable intra video/image coding using wavelets and AVC, modified AVC, VPX, modified VPX, or modified HEVC coding of Puri with the teaching of methods for delivery of flows of objects over broadcast/multicast enabled networks of Luby with a motivation to process the data easily by handling a byte as a unit due to the regularity and commonality of the byte arranging format.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 1/12/26, have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the citations being used in the current rejection.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
1. US 2003/0108099 discloses picture encoding method and apparatus, picture decoding method and apparatus and furnishing medium.
2. US 2005/0053294 discloses techniques and tools for progressive and interlaced video coding and decoding.
3. US 2006/0126962 discloses methods and systems for reducing blocking artifacts with reduced complexity for spatially-scalable video coding.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Jay Patel can be reached on 571-272-2988. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOSEPH SUH/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485