Response to Amendment
The amendment filed December 16, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-7 and 8-21 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on December 16, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pp 9 and 10 of the Applicant’s response, Applicant argues that Clement does not teach the limitations “switch, during the ride cycle of the ride vehicle, the data source from transmitting the first streamed VR/AR data to transmitting the second streamed VR/AR data for an HMD of the plurality of HMDs, wherein the data source continues to transmit the first streamed VR/AR data to the remaining HMDs of the plurality of HMDs” because Applicant contends that Clement discloses “switching all HMDs as a group from a wired connection to a wireless connection to permit users to exit a seated phase and enter another stage.” Examiner disagrees.
Clement describes “a multistage-VR environment” (i.e., a ride cycle) that includes “a series of VR stages sequenced” where the system can “concurrently support both wired-in immersants 702 (e.g. experiencing a joint transport or vehicular VR experience, an audience-based VR experience, or the like) and wireless immersants 704, each migrating in and out of different VR stages, rooms and/or situations throughout the course of an integrated immersive user experience.” Clement, ¶ [0109]. In other words, Clement discloses a system where some of the users and their corresponding HMDs are in a wired connection while some other users and their corresponding HMDs have switched to a wireless connection. Indeed, this is further illustrated by FIG. 17 of Clement, where some of the users have their HMDs switched to wireless connection while the other users can have their HMDs in a wired connection. Additionally, paragraph [0110] describes that in the multi-stage VR experience “subsequent stages can alternate between a tethered experience and a mixed tethered/untethered experience.” (Emphasis added). Accordingly, in at least some of the stages of the ride cycle of the ride vehicle, some immersants can receive VR/AR data through the wireless connection, while others in the vehicle continue to receive VR/AR data through the wired connection.
Furthermore, nothing in paragraphs [0113]-[0115] describe that all HMDs must be switched as a group from a wired connection to a wireless connection. Rather, as explained in paragraph [0114] and also in paragraphs [0117] and [0118], an HMD can switch to a wireless connection from a wired connection by disconnecting the tether/cable connected to the HMD. Additionally, as already mentioned above, paragraph [0110] describes that in the multi-stage VR experience “subsequent stages can alternate between a tethered experience and a mixed tethered/untethered experience.” (Emphasis added). Therefore, Clement does not require every single HMD on the transport/ride vehicle during the multi-stage/multi-locational VR experience to switch to wireless from wired. Accordingly, Clement teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 9-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitations "the first connection" and “the second connection” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. For examination purposes, these limitations are interpreted as “a first connection” and “a second connection” in claim 6. (Emphasis added). Claim 7 depends from claim 6 and recites the above mentioned limitations of claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Clement (WO 2017/193218).
Regarding claim 1, Clement teaches “[a] data communication system for virtual reality or augmented reality data, comprising: a plurality of head mounted devices (HMDs), wherein each respective HMD of the plurality of HMDs corresponds to a respective seat of a ride vehicle and is configured to receive streamed virtual reality or augmented reality (VR/AR) data through a wired connection coupled to the ride vehicle and a wireless connection” (see ¶¶ [0001], [0012], [0014], [0106], [0107], [0109], [0117], and [0119], and FIGS. 16A, 16B, and 17; the disclosure relates to a virtual reality systems (i.e., data communication system for virtual reality), and in particular, to a virtual reality head mounting display (HMD); each HMD will include a wireless HDMI or like receiver to receive and process an immersive wireless VR feed (i.e., receive streamed virtual reality or augmented reality (VR/AR) data) via onboard video imaging resources); a wired communication interface operable to feed a wired VR feed to said VRD upon being physically connected to a wired VR feed source and the wired VR feed(s) can be provided through respective wired connection interfaces on their seats (i.e., receive streamed (VR/AR) data through a wired connection coupled to the ride vehicle), and a wireless communication interface operable to feed a distinct wireless VR feed to said VRD upon wirelessly connecting with a wireless VR feed source (i.e., receive streamed (VR/AR) data through a wireless connection); the streamed VR/AR data is through a wired connection and a wireless connection; the data source for the wireless VR feed source and the wired VR feed source is the same data source; furthermore, as shown in FIGS. 16A, 16B, and 17 each immersant in a joint transport or vehicle (i.e., a ride vehicle) is in a respective seat and has their own HMD (i.e., the plurality of HMDs corresponds to a respective seat of a ride vehicle); thus, each respective HMD of the plurality of HMDs corresponds to a respective seat of a ride vehicle and is configured to receive streamed virtual reality or augmented reality (VR/AR) data through a wired connection coupled to the ride vehicle and a wireless connection);
Clement further teaches “a controller comprising a memory storing instructions and a processor configured to execute the instructions to: transmit, during a ride cycle of the ride vehicle, first streamed VR/AR data from a data source to the plurality of HMDs via the wired connection; transmit, during the ride cycle of the ride vehicle, second streamed VR/AR data from the data source to the plurality of HMDs via the wireless connection” (see ¶¶ [0106] – [0110], [0117], and [0119], and FIG. 17; each VR HMD will include a wired connection interface so to selectively connect the HMD to a wired VR feed (i.e., transmit first streamed VR/AR data from a data source to the HMD via the wired connection); each HMD will also include a wireless HDMI or like receiver to receive and process an immersive wireless VR feed via onboard video imaging resources (i.e., transmit second streamed VR/AR data from the data source to the HMD via the wireless connection); in other words, HMD is receiving the VR data from a data source connected to the HMD; thus, a computing device/a controller comprising a memory storing instructions and a processor configured to execute the instructions to transmit the VR data; the system is configured to concurrently support both wired-in immersants and wireless immersants, each migrating in and out of different VR stages, rooms and/or situations throughout the course of an integrated immersive user experience, and in one embodiment, the HMD will automatically toggle from a wireless VR feed to a wired VR feed; therefore, at least in some embodiments, the data source for the wireless VR feed source and the wired VR feed source is the same data source; furthermore, the system is configured to support a multistage-VR environment that includes a series of VR stages sequenced, where the system can concurrently support both wired-in immersants (e.g. experiencing a joint transport or vehicular VR experience, an audience-based VR experience, or the like) and wireless immersants, each migrating in and out of different VR stages, rooms and/or situations throughout the course of an integrated immersive user experience; the multistage-VR environment as a whole can be considered a ride cycle of one or more ride vehicles; additionally, in the multi-stage VR experience, some stages can be a mixed tethered/untethered, therefore, during a ride cycle of one or more ride vehicles, some immersants can receive VR/AR data through the wireless connection, while others in the vehicle continue to receive VR/AR data through the wired connection; thus, a controller configured to transmit, during a ride cycle of the ride vehicle, first streamed VR/AR data from a data source to the plurality of HMDs via the wired connection; transmit, during the ride cycle of the ride vehicle second streamed VR/AR data from the data source to the HMD via the second connection);
Clement also teaches “switch, during the ride cycle of the ride vehicle, the data source from transmitting the first streamed VR/AR data to transmitting the second streamed VR/AR data for an HMD of the plurality of HMDs, wherein the data source continues to transmit the first streamed VR/AR data to the remaining HMDs of the plurality of HMDs” (see ¶¶ [0109], [0110], [0113]-[0115], [0117], and [0118], and FIG. 17; a multistage-VR environment that includes a series of VR stages sequenced where the system can concurrently support both wired-in immersants (e.g. experiencing a joint transport or vehicular VR experience, an audience-based VR experience, or the like) and wireless immersants, each migrating in and out of different VR stages, rooms and/or situations throughout the course of an integrated immersive user experience; an HMD can switch to a wireless connection from a wired connection by disconnecting the tether/cable connected to the HMD; the multi-stage VR experience includes subsequent stages that are mixed tethered/untethered experience; therefore in at least some of the stages of the ride cycle of the ride vehicle, some immersants can receive VR/AR data through the wireless connection, while others in the vehicle continue to receive VR/AR data through the wired connection; in such stages, when an immersant switches to wireless connection, the data source switches to transmitting VR/AR data for that immersant’s HMD via the wireless connection (i.e., transmitting the second streamed VR/AR data for an HMD of the plurality of HMDs);
Clement also teaches “wherein the HMD of the plurality of HMDs receives a continuous stream of VR/AR data when the data source switches from transmitting the first streamed VR/AR data to transmitting the second streamed VR/AR data” (see ¶¶ [0106] and [0109]; the HMD automatically toggles (i.e., switches) from a wireless VR feed to a wired VR feed (i.e., the data source switches from transmitting the first streamed VR/AR data to transmitting the second streamed VR/AR data); the system is configured to concurrently support both wired-in immersants and wireless immersants, each migrating in and out of different VR stages, rooms and/or situations throughout the course of an integrated immersive user experience; since the HMD/system supports automatically toggling between the wireless VR feed and wired VR feed and/or migrating through a course of immersive user experience, the HMD is receiving a continuous stream of VR/AR data when it automatically switches from one streamed data to another streamed data).
Regarding claim 2, Clement teaches the system of claim 1 and further teaches “wherein the data source is configured to receive a control signal to switch from the first streamed VR/AR data to the second streamed VR/AR data” (see ¶¶ [0106] and [0117]; the HMD automatically toggles (i.e., switches) from a wireless VR feed to a wired VR feed upon the user connecting (i.e., a control signal) the HMD to a given wired VR feed source, and vice- versa; thus, when user input connects (control signal) to a wired/wireless feed source, the data source receives the control signal).
Regarding claim 3, Clement teaches the system of claim 1 and further teaches “wherein the VR/AR data is associated with a VR/AR-compatible ride or queue of an amusement park” (see ¶ [0109]; a multi-stage VR environment (e.g. experiencing a joint transport or vehicular VR experience (i.e., a VR/AR-compatible ride), an audience-based VR experience, or the like)).
Regarding claim 4, Clement teaches the system of claim 1 and further teaches “wherein the data source is configured to transmit the first streamed VR/AR data and the second streamed VR/AR data to the HMD at the same time” (see ¶¶ [0106] and [0109]; the HMD will automatically toggle from a wireless VR feed (i.e., first streamed VR/AR data) to a wired VR feed (i.e., second streamed VR/AR data), and the system is configured to concurrently support both wired-in immersants and wireless immersants, each migrating in and out of different VR stages, rooms and/or situations throughout the course of an integrated immersive user experience; since the HMD/system supports automatically toggling between the wireless VR feed and wired VR feed and/or migrating through a course of immersive user experience, the data source of the VR feed is configured to transmit the first streamed VR/AR data and the second streamed VR/AR data to the HMD at the same time).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clement in view of Wang et al. (CN Publication No. 113824746).
Regarding claim 5, Clement teaches the system of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose “wherein the data source is configured to transmit the first streamed VR/AR data at a first frequency and the second streamed VR/AR data at a second frequency” of claim 5. However, the foregoing limitation is well known in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Wang teaches “wherein the data source is configured to transmit the first streamed VR/AR data at a first frequency and the second streamed VR/AR data at a second frequency” (see p. 5, lines 47-49; virtual reality data need to occupy a certain time domain resource and a certain frequency domain resources; two virtual reality data can occupy the same time but occupy different frequencies (i.e., first streamed VR/AR data at a first frequency and second streamed VR/AR data at a second frequency)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Clement to incorporate the teachings of Wang to transmit the first streamed VR/AR data at a first frequency and the second streamed VR/AR data at a second frequency. The suggestion to do so would have been to enhance coordination of resources between two virtual reality data (see p. 4, lines 38 and 39 of Wang).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clement in view of Hancock et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0078447).
Regarding claim 6, Clement teaches the system of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose “wherein the data source is configured to switch between streaming the first streamed VR/AR data to the HMD via the first connection and streaming the second streamed VR/AR data to the HMD via the second connection based on a data quality signal of the first streamed VR/AR data or the second streamed VR/AR data” of claim 6. However, streaming VR data based on data quality including the limitations of claim 6 are well known in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Hancock teaches “wherein the data source is configured to switch between streaming the first streamed VR/AR data to the HMD via a first connection and streaming the second streamed VR/AR data to the HMD via a second connection based on a data quality signal of the first streamed VR/AR data or the second streamed VR/AR data” (see ¶¶ [0205], [0210], and [0217]; select data segments of VR content for streaming based on evaluating one or more selection factors; the selection factors include video device frame rate and network bandwidth (i.e., data quality signals) switching to a lower quality based on receiving device’s capability to handle the video rendition at a higher quality or if bandwidth is insufficient to transmit at the higher quality; thus, the VR data streamed to the receiving device (i.e., HMD) is switched based on a data quality signal of the first streamed VR/AR data or the second streamed VR/AR data). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Clement to incorporate the teachings of Hancock to switch between the first streamed VR/AR data and the second streamed VR/AR data based on data quality. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve immersive on-demand VR experiences (see ¶ [0010] of Hancock).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Clement and Hancock teaches the system of claim 6, and further teaches “wherein the first streamed VR/AR data and the second streamed VR/AR data is buffer content while the data source is switching between streaming the first streamed VR/AR data and the second streamed VR/AR data” (see ¶¶ [0084], [0085], and [0243] of Hancock; streamed data segments (i.e., the streamed VR data) may be received at the viewing device; received data segments may be queued in one or more buffers on the viewing device; the buffers may be synchronized to provide the viewer with an immersive VR experience; thus, the streamed VR data, which would include VR data from all connections (i.e., the first streamed VR/AR data and the second streamed VR/AR data) to the viewing device is stored in buffers (i.e., they are buffer[ed] content); the viewing device may be programmed to begin buffering data segments from a rendition that has a lower bit-rate or a lower resolution to continue playback uninterrupted (i.e., the VR data is being buffered to while the data is switching to a different VR data). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Clement to incorporate the teachings of Hancock to have the first streamed VR/AR data and the second streamed VR/AR data as buffered and to enable a seamless switching experience between the two connections or streams of VR/AR data. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve immersive on-demand VR experiences (see ¶ [0010] of Hancock).
Claims 9, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clement in view of Zalewski et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0209658), further in view of Griswold et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0312887), and further in view of Anil (WO 2017051429).
Regarding claim 9, Clement teaches “[a] data communication system for virtual reality or augmented reality data, comprising: a data source configured to transmit a first portion of a virtual reality or augmented reality (VR/AR) data stream through a wired connection and to transmit a second portion of the VR/AR data stream through a wireless connection when a switch to the wireless connection is initiated” (see ¶¶ [0106] – [0109], [0117], and [0119]; each VR HMD will also include a wired connection interface so to selectively connect the HMD to a wired VR feed (i.e., a data source transmits a portion of a virtual reality or augmented reality (VR/AR) data stream through a wired connection); each HMD will include a wireless HDMI or like receiver to receive and process an immersive wireless VR feed via onboard video imaging resources (i.e., transmits a second portion of the VR/AR data stream through a wireless connection); in other words, HMD is receiving the VR data from a data source connected to the HMD; thus, a computing device of the data source has been configured to configured to transmit a first portion of a virtual reality or augmented reality (VR/AR) data stream through a wired connection and to transmit a second portion of the VR/AR data stream through a wireless connection when a switch to the wireless connection is initiated);
Clement further teaches “a head mounted device (HMD) configured to: receive the first portion of the VR/AR data stream via the wired connection; and receive the second portion of the VR/AR data stream via the wireless connection” (see ¶¶ [0001], [0012], [0014], [0106], [0107], [0109], [0117], and [0119]; the disclosure relates to a virtual reality systems (i.e., data communication system for virtual reality), and in particular, to a virtual reality head mounting display (HMD); each HMD will include a wireless HDMI or like receiver to receive and process an immersive wireless VR feed (i.e., receive streamed virtual reality or augmented reality (VR/AR) data via the wireless connection); each VR HMD will also include a wired connection interface so to selectively connect the HMD to a wired VR feed (i.e., receive streamed virtual reality or augmented reality (VR/AR) data via the wired connection),
Clement also teaches “wherein the HMD is configured to transition from displaying the first portion of the VR/AR data stream to displaying the second portion of the VR/AR data stream” (see ¶ [0106]; the HMD automatically toggles (i.e., switches) from a wireless VR feed to a wired VR feed (i.e., the HMD is configured to transition from displaying the first portion of the VR/AR data stream to displaying the second portion of the VR/AR data stream)); and
Clement further teaches “a controller configured to . . . initiate the switch between the wired connection and the wireless connection” (see ¶¶ [0106] and [0117]; the HMD automatically toggles (i.e., switches) from a wireless VR feed to a wired VR feed upon the user connecting (i.e., a control signal) the HMD to a given wired VR feed source, and vice- versa; thus, when user input connects (control signal) to a wired/wireless feed source, the data source receives the control signal).
While Clement teaches displaying VR/AR data via a wired connection and via wirelessly, it does not explicitly disclose displaying VR/AR data received wirelessly “while retaining the wired connection” and also does not explicitly disclose “generate a data quality signal indicative of a data quality of the first portion or the second portion of the VR/AR data stream;” “receive the data quality signal from the HMD” and initiate the switch “based on the data quality signal of the first portion or the second portion of the VR/AR data stream” of claim 1. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Zalewski teaches displaying VR/AR data received wirelessly “while retaining the wired connection” (see ¶¶ [0047] and [0050]; a head mounted device includes a slot for receiving a smartphone, and the smartphone is connected to the head mounted device via a wired connection; the content rendered on the display of the phone is distorted to produce three dimensional images, and the optics of the head mounted display can un-distort the images so that the content displayed by the smartphone, when viewed via the optics of the head mounted device, will appear to be rich three dimensional image/video/interactive data (i.e., head mounted display displaying VR/AR data); the smartphone can smartphone can use its native wireless communication circuitry to communicate with the network, such as the Internet; therefore, head mounted display is displaying VR/AR data received via wireless connection while retaining the wired connection). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Clement to incorporate the teachings of Zalewski to transmit the display wirelessly received VR/AR data while retaining a wired connection to the HMD. The suggestion to do so would have been to achieve different configurations of HMD systems (see ¶ [0008] of Zalewski).
The combination of Clement and Zalewski does not explicitly disclose “generate a data quality signal indicative of a data quality of the first portion or the second portion of the VR/AR data stream;” “receive the data quality signal from the HMD” and initiate the switch “based on the data quality signal of the first portion or the second portion of the VR/AR data stream” of claim 9. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Griswold teaches “generate a data quality signal indicative of a data quality of the first portion or the second portion of the VR/AR data stream . . . receive the data quality signal from the HMD” (see ¶¶ [0080] and [0081]; HMDs can analyze the strength of various signals (i.e., data quality signal indicative) from various stations that contain presentation content (VR/AR data stream) for the HMDs; analyzing signal strength from a station inherently teaches determining data quality of a data stream, and in this case the data stream from a station is VR/AR data; therefore, HMDs are determining data quality of a VR/AR data stream; HMDs transmit information related to the analyzed the strength of signals to a server; transmitting such information inherently teaches generating the information, therefore, HMDs are generating a data quality signal indicative of a data quality of VR/AR data stream; and the server (e.g., a controller) receives the data quality signal from the HMD; thus, Griswold teaches generate a data quality signal indicative of a data quality of the first portion or the second portion of the VR/AR data stream and receive the data quality signal from the HMD).
Griswold further teaches initiating a switch “based on the data quality signal of the first portion or the second portion of the VR/AR data stream” (see ¶¶ [0075], [0080], [0081], and [0083]; server (controller) can determine a station closest to HMD based on the signal strength information received from HMD (received data quality signal of the VR/AR data stream) and instruct the HMD to switch to the presentation content (VR/AR data stream) from that station; the presentation content can be the same at that station as what was being viewed from a different station; therefore, the presentation content from the previous station can be the first portion of the VR/AR data stream and the presentation content from the new station can be the second portion of the VR/AR data stream; thus Griswold teaches initiation the switch based on the data quality signal of the first portion or the second portion of the VR/AR data stream).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Clement in view of Zalewski to incorporate the teachings of Griswold to have an HMD generate a data quality signal indicative of AR/VR data and a controller to receive such data quality signal. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve content delivery to HMD systems (see ¶ [0003] of Griswold).
The combination of Clement, Zalewski, and Griswold also teaches initiating switch of VR/AR data stream based on the generated data quality signal of the VR/AR data stream, but does not explicitly disclose switching between the wired connection and the wireless connection based on the data quality signal. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Anil teaches “initiating the switch between the wired connection and the wireless connection based on the data quality signal of . . . the . . . data stream” (see ¶¶ [0031] and [0041]; a computing device is communicatively connected to a connecting device through a communication protocol/medium; communication protocol includes a wired and wireless communication medium/protocol; computing device is configured to contextually switch from one protocol to another based on a signal strength (i.e., data quality signal) of a communication medium or protocol (i.e., the wired connection); thus, the computing device can switch from receiving data from a wired connection to receiving data from another medium/protocol (e.g., a wireless connection) based on signal quality of the wired connection). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Clement in view of Zalewski, further in view of Griswold to incorporate the teachings of Anil to initiate switch between wired connection to a wireless connection based on data quality signal of connection. The suggestion to do so would have been to enable automatic transitioning from one communication connection to another (see ¶ [0004] of Anil).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Clement, Zalewski, and Griswold teaches the system of claim 9 and further teaches “wherein the wired connection is via a removable cable” (see ¶ [0106] of Clement; each VR HMD will also include a wired connection interface so to selectively connect the HMD to a wired VR feed; HMD's onboard processor first determines if a wired VR source is connected to the VRD, for example, whether an HDMI or like cable is currently connected to an HDMI or like hot plug (i.e., the wired connection is via a removable cable)).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Clement, Zalewski, Griswold, Anil and Hancock teaches the system of claim 9, and further teaches “wherein the HMD is configured to transition from receiving the first portion to receiving the second portion responsive to the data responsive to the data quality signal indicating a poor signal quality of the wired connection” of claim 15 (see ¶¶ [0106] of Clement, and ¶¶ [0031] and [0041] of Anil; Clement teaches the HMD automatically toggles (i.e., transitions) from a wireless VR feed to a wired VR feed and vice- versa; Anil teaches a computing device is communicatively connected to a connecting device through a communication protocol/medium; communication protocol includes a wired and wireless communication medium/protocol; computing device is configured to contextually switch from one protocol to another based on a signal strength (i.e., signal quality) of a communication medium or protocol (i.e., the wired connection); thus, the computing device can switch from receiving data from a wired connection to receiving data from another medium/protocol (e.g., a wireless connection) based on signal quality of the wired connection). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Clement in view of Zalewski, further in view of Griswold to incorporate the teachings of Anil to transition from one VR data to another based on signal quality of connection of the wired connection. The suggestion to do so would have been to enable automatic transitioning from one communication connection to another (see ¶ [0004] of Anil).
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clement in view of Zalewski, further in view of Griswold, further in view of Anil, and further in view of Hancock et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0078447).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Clement, Zalewski, Griswold, and Anil teaches the system of claim 9, but does not explicitly disclose “wherein the data source transmits a third portion of the VR/AR data stream at a same time as the first portion or the second portion” of claim 10. However, transmitting multiple portions of VR/AR data at the same time was well known in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Hancock teaches “wherein the data source transmits a third portion of the VR/AR data stream at a same time as the first portion or the second portion” (see ¶¶ [0084] and [0085]; received data segments (i.e., multiple portions) of the VR content may be queued in one or more buffers on the viewing device; thus, a stream of VR data transmitted at a time are segments/portions (i.e., first portion, second portion, third portion) of the transmitted VR data stream). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Clement in view of Zalewski, further in view of Griswold and Anil to incorporate the teachings of Hancock to have different portions of streamed VR data transmitted at same time. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve immersive on-demand VR experiences (see ¶ [0010] of Hancock).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Clement, Zalewski, Griswold, Anil and Hancock teaches the system of claim 10, and further teaches “wherein the HMD is configured to display either the first portion or the second portion at a given time” (see ¶ [0016] of Clement; HMD comprises an onboard feed switch configured to responsively switch between the wired feed source and the wireless feed source; thus, the HMD is configured to display either the first portion or the second portion at a given time).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Clement, Zalewski, Griswold, Anil and Hancock teaches the system of claim 10, and further teaches “wherein the HMD is configured to store the third portion in a memory of the HMD” (see ¶¶ [0084] and [0085] of Hancock; received data segments (i.e., one of which is third portion) of the VR content may be queued in one or more buffers (i.e., memory of the receiving device (HMD)) on the viewing device). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Clement to incorporate the teachings of Hancock to store in memory the received VR data. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve immersive on-demand VR experiences (see ¶ [0010] of Hancock).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Clement, Zalewski, Griswold, Anil and Hancock teaches the system of claim 12, and further teaches “wherein the third portion comprises buffer content that is displayed upon identification of a discontinuity in data streaming of the first portion or the second portion” (see ¶¶ [0084], [0085], and [0243] of Hancock; streamed data segments (i.e., the streamed VR data) may be received at the viewing device; received data segments may be queued in one or more buffers on the viewing device; the buffers may be synchronized to provide the viewer with an immersive VR experience; a data segment may exist in a plurality of renditions and each may have different tier of quality or quality level, and the methods include switching between renditions of the different quality levels; the viewing device may be programmed to begin buffering data segments from a rendition that has a lower bit-rate or a lower resolution to continue playback uninterrupted (i.e., the third portion is displayed during discontinuity, such as when switching from a first/second portion to a second/first portion to ensure the playback is uninterrupted)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Clement to incorporate the teachings of Hancock to display a third portion of the VR content displayed to avoid interruptions in displaying the first or the second content. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve immersive on-demand VR experiences (see ¶ [0010] of Hancock).
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clement in view of Griswold, and further in view of Anil.
Regarding claim 16, Clement teaches “[a] data communication method for virtual reality or augmented reality data, the method comprising: selectively transmitting, via a data source, first streamed virtual reality or augmented reality (VR/AR) data to a plurality of head mounted devices (HMDs) of a ride vehicle via a wired connection; selectively transmitting, via the data source, second streamed VR/AR data to the plurality of HMDs via a wireless connection” (see ¶¶ [0106] – [0109], [0117], and [0119]; each VR HMD will also include a wired connection interface so to selectively connect the HMD to a wired VR feed (i.e., a data source selectively transmit first streamed virtual reality or augmented reality (VR/AR) data to a plurality of head mounted devices (HMDs) of a ride vehicle via a wired connection); each HMD will include a wireless HDMI or like receiver to receive and process an immersive wireless VR feed via onboard video imaging resources (i.e., selectively transmit second streamed VR/AR data to the plurality of HMDs via a wireless connection); in other words, HMD is receiving the VR data from a data source connected to the HMD; thus, a computing device of the data source has been configured to configured to selectively transmit first streamed virtual reality or augmented reality (VR/AR) data to a plurality of head mounted devices (HMDs) of a ride vehicle via a wired connection and to selectively transmit second streamed VR/AR data to the plurality of HMDs via a wireless connection);
Clement further teaches “wherein the HMD of the plurality of HMDs receives a continuous stream of data when the data source switches from transmitting the first streamed VR/AR data to transmitting the second streamed VR/AR data to the HMD of the plurality of HMDs . . . wherein the data source continues transmitting the first streamed VR/AR data to the remaining HMDs of the plurality of HMDs” (see ¶¶ [0106] and [0109]; the HMD automatically toggles (i.e., switches) from a wireless VR feed to a wired VR feed (i.e., the data source switches from transmitting the first streamed VR/AR data to transmitting the second streamed VR/AR data); the system is configured to concurrently support both wired-in immersants and wireless immersants, each migrating in and out of different VR stages, rooms and/or situations throughout the course of an integrated immersive user experience; since the HMD/system supports automatically toggling between the wireless VR feed and wired VR feed and/or migrating through a course of immersive user experience, the HMD is receiving a continuous stream of VR/AR data when it automatically switches from one streamed data to another streamed data, and the data source continues transmitting the first streamed VR/AR data to the other HMDs that didn’t switch (i.e., the remaining HMDs of the plurality of HMDs)).
Clement does not explicitly disclose “receiving, from an HMD of the plurality of HMDs, a data quality signal indicative of a data quality of the first streamed VR/AR data to the HMD of the plurality of HMDs via the wired connection” and initiate the switch “based on the data quality signal”. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Griswold teaches “receiving, from an HMD of the plurality of HMDs, a data quality signal indicative of a data quality of the first streamed VR/AR data to the HMD of the plurality of HMDs” (see ¶¶ [0080] and [0081]; HMDs can analyze the strength of various signals (i.e., data quality signal indicative) from various stations that contain presentation content (VR/AR data stream) for the HMDs; analyzing signal strength from a station inherently teaches determining data quality of a data stream, and in this case the data stream from a station is VR/AR data; therefore, HMDs are determining data quality of a VR/AR data stream; HMDs transmit information related to the analyzed the strength of signals to a server; transmitting such information inherently teaches generating the information, therefore, HMDs are generating a data quality signal indicative of a data quality of VR/AR data stream; and the server receives the data quality signal from the HMD; thus, Griswold teaches receiving, from an HMD of the plurality of HMDs, a data quality signal indicative of a data quality of the first streamed VR/AR data to the HMD of the plurality of HMDs via the wired connection);
Griswold further teaches initiating a switch “based on the data quality signal” (see ¶¶ [0075], [0080], [0081], and [0083]; server (controller) can determine a station closest to HMD based on the signal strength information received from HMD (received data quality signal of the VR/AR data stream) and instruct the HMD to switch to the presentation content (VR/AR data stream) from that station; the presentation content can be the same at that station as what was being viewed from a different station; therefore, the presentation content from the previous station can be the first portion of the VR/AR data stream and the presentation content from the new station can be the second portion of the VR/AR data stream; thus Griswold teaches initiation the switch based on the data quality signal of the first portion or the second portion of the VR/AR data stream). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Clement in view of Zalewski to incorporate the teachings of Griswold to have an HMD generate a data quality signal indicative of AR/VR data and a controller to receive such data quality signal. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve content delivery to HMD systems (see ¶ [0003] of Griswold).
The combination of Clement and Griswold does not explicitly disclose receiving the data quality signal “via the wired connection” of claim 16. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Anil teaches “receiving the data quality signal “via the wired connection” (see ¶¶ [0031] and [0041]; a computing device is communicatively connected to a connecting device through a communication protocol/medium; communication protocol includes a wired and wireless communication medium/protocol; computing device is configured to contextually switch from one protocol to another based on a signal strength (i.e., data quality signal) of a communication medium or protocol (i.e., the wired connection); thus, wired connection being source of the data quality signal). Therefore, given the teachings of Clement in view of Griswold to receive data quality signal and using a wired communications network, and the teachings of Anil that a data quality signal of a wired connection can also be measured, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Clement in view of Griswold to incorporate the teachings of Anil to initiate switch based on data quality signal received via a wired connection. The suggestion to do so would have been to enable automatic transitioning from one communication connection to another (see ¶ [0004] of Anil).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Clement, Griswold, and Anil teaches the system of claim 16, and further teaches “further comprising generating a control signal that controls switching of the data source” (see ¶¶ [0106] and [0117] of Clement; the HMD automatically toggles (i.e., switches) from a wireless VR feed to a wired VR feed upon the user connecting (i.e., a control signal) the HMD to a given wired VR feed source, and vice- versa; thus, when user input connects (control signal) to a wired/wireless feed source, the data source receives the control signal).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clement in view of Griswold, and further in view of Anil, and further in view of Hancock.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Clement, Griswold, and Anil teaches the system of claim 17, but does not explicitly disclose “wherein the control signal is generated based on a reduction of data quality of the first streamed VR/AR data” of claim 18. However, the foregoing limitation is well known in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Hancock teaches “wherein the control signal is generated based on a reduction of data quality of the first streamed VR/AR data” (see ¶¶ [0205], [0210], [0217], and [0243]; select data segments of VR content for streaming based on evaluating one or more selection factors; the selection factors include video device frame rate and network bandwidth (i.e., data quality signals) switching to a lower quality based on receiving device’s capability to handle the video rendition at a higher quality or if bandwidth is insufficient to transmit at the higher quality; thus, the VR data streamed to the receiving device (i.e., HMD) is switched based on a data quality signal of the first streamed VR/AR data or the second streamed VR/AR data; each of the plurality of renditions may have a different tier of quality or quality level; methods may include switching between renditions of the different quality levels; thus, control signals are generated to initiate the switching based on reduction of data quality of streamed VR data). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of the invention of Clement in view of Griswold and further in view of Anil to incorporate the teachings of Hancock to generate signals to switch between the first streamed VR/AR data and the second streamed VR/AR data based on data quality. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve immersive on-demand VR experiences (see ¶ [0010] of Hancock).
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clement in view of Griswold, and further in view of Anil, and further in view of Wang.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Clement, Griswold, and Anil teaches the system of claim 16, but does not explicitly disclose “wherein the first streamed VR/AR data is streamed at a first frequency and the second streamed VR/AR data is streamed at a second frequency” of claim 19. However, the foregoing limitation is well known in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Wang teaches “wherein the first streamed VR/AR data is streamed at a first frequency and the second streamed VR/AR data is streamed at a second frequency” (see p. 5, lines 47-49; virtual reality data need to occupy a certain time domain resource and a certain frequency domain resources; two virtual reality data can occupy the same time but occupy different frequencies (i.e., first streamed VR/AR data at a first frequency and second streamed VR/AR data at a second frequency)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of the invention of Clement in view of Griswold and further in view of Anil to incorporate the teachings of Wang to transmit the first streamed VR/AR data at a first frequency and the second streamed VR/AR data at a second frequency. The suggestion to do so would have been to enhance coordination of resources between two virtual reality data (see p. 4, lines 38 and 39 of Wang).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Clement, Griswold, Anil, and Wang teaches the system of claim 19 and further teaches “displaying, by the HMD, the first streamed VR/AR data or the second streamed VR/AR data, based on a frequency setting of the HMD” (see ¶ [0117] of Wang, and p. 5, lines 47-49; HMD receives VR data based on different connections including a wireless transmission and displays the received data; thus, the HMD is configured with at least default frequency setting to receive the transmission).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clement in view of Griswold.
Regarding claim 21, Clement the system of claim 1 and further teaches “wherein the controller is configured to execute the instructions to switch, during the ride cycle, the data source from transmitting the first streamed VR/AR data to transmitting the second VR/AR data for the HMD of the plurality of HMDs” (see ¶¶ [0109], [0110], [0113]-[0115], [0117], and [0118], and FIG. 17). But Clement does not explicitly disclose the switch “in response to a data quality signal generated by the respective HMD” of claim 21. However, the foregoing limitation is well known in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention.
For example Griswold teaches the switch “in response to a data quality signal generated by the respective HMD” (see ¶¶ [0075], [0080], [0081], and [0083]; HMDs can analyze the strength of various signals (i.e., data quality signal indicative) from various stations that contain presentation content (VR/AR data stream) for the HMDs; analyzing signal strength from a station inherently teaches determining data quality of a data stream, and in this case the data stream from a station is VR/AR data; therefore, HMDs are determining data quality of a VR/AR data stream; HMDs transmit information related to the analyzed the strength of signals to a server; transmitting such information inherently teaches generating the information, therefore, HMDs are generating a data quality signal; furthermore, server (controller) can determine a station closest to HMD based on the signal strength information received from HMD (data quality signal generated by the HMD) and instruct the HMD to switch to the presentation content (VR/AR data stream) from that station; the presentation content can be the same at that station as what was being viewed from a different station; therefore, the presentation content from the previous station can be the first portion of the VR/AR data stream and the presentation content from the new station can be the second portion of the VR/AR data stream; thus Griswold teaches initiation the switch in response to a data quality signal generated by the respective HMD).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SRIHARSHA REDDY VANGAPATY/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/HASHIM S BHATTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475