DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 5/13/2026 is acknowledged. Claim 56 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
Patent applicant has duty not just to disclose pertinent prior art references but to make the disclosure in such way as not to "bury" it within other disclosures of less relevant prior art. See Golden Valley Microwave Foods Inc. v. Weaver Popcorn Co. Inc., 24 USPQ2d 1801 (N.D.I. 1992); Molins PLC v. Textron Inc., 26 USPQ2d 1889, at 1899 (D.Del. 1992); Penn Yan Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark Boats, Inc. et al., 175 USPQ 260, at 272 (S.D. Fl. 1972).
The IDS filed 4/26/2024 contains a large number of references that do not appear to be relevant to the present application. The IDS has been considered to the best extent possible by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the insert electrically couples ground conductors of the first plurality of conductive elements and the second plurality of conductive elements, as required by claim 33, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 23, 30, 35, 37, 52, 55, and 57 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 23, the multiple use of “a contact tail” makes the claim unclear. The use of “a first contact tail,” “a second contact tail,” etc. is recommended. See also claims 37 and 57.
In claim 30, “the first housing member” and “the second housing member” lack antecedent basis.
In claim 35, “the first portion” and “the second portion” lack antecedent basis.
In claim 52, “the third direction” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 55, “The electronic device” and “the device” lack antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
At least claim 23 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,757,224. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while the claims are not identical, the differences do not obviate the issue of double patenting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 23-28, 34, 35, 57-60 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Niwa et al. (US 5,474,472).
Regarding claim 23, Niwa discloses a multi-port receptacle adapted for mounting to a printed circuit board, the receptacle comprising: a housing (24) having a first cavity (bottom cavity in Fig. 5) bounded by a first surface that is parallel to the printed circuit board and a second surface that faces the first surface and is parallel to the printed circuit board and a second cavity (top cavity in Fig. 5) bounded by a third surface that is parallel to the printed circuit board and a fourth surface that faces the third surface and is parallel to the printed circuit board; a first lead assembly (16d) comprising: a first plurality of conductive elements disposed in a first row extending in a first direction (left to right in Fig. 5), each of the first plurality of conductive elements comprising: a mating contact portion adjacent the first surface of the cavity and extending in a second direction (left to right in Fig. 2) perpendicular to the first direction; a contact tail (16d’) adapted for attachment to the printed circuit board; and an intermediate portion (not labeled, extending L shape between 16d and 16d’ in Fig. 2) coupling the contact tail to the mating contact portion, wherein the intermediate portion transitions from extending in the second direction at the mating contact portion to extending towards the printed circuit board, in a third direction (vertically in Fig. 2) perpendicular to each of the first and second directions, wherein the first plurality of conductive elements comprises signal pairs and ground conductors with the signal pairs positioned between adjacent ground conductors (intended use limitations); and a first insulative member (not labeled, above 16d’ in Fig. 2) molded over (at least part of) the intermediate portions of conductive elements of the first plurality of conductive elements, so as to hold conductive elements of the first plurality of conductive elements in the first row; and a second lead assembly (16c), separate from the first lead assembly, comprising: a second plurality of conductive elements disposed in a second row extending in the first direction, each of the second plurality of conductive elements comprising: a mating contact portion adjacent the second surface of the first cavity and extending in the second direction; a contact tail (16c’) adapted for attachment to the printed circuit board; and an intermediate portion coupling the contact tail to the mating contact portion, wherein the intermediate portion transitions from extending in the second direction at the mating contact portion to extending in the third direction towards the printed circuit board, wherein the second plurality of conductive elements comprises signal pairs and ground conductors with the signal pairs positioned between adjacent ground conductors; and a second insulative member (not labeled, above 16c’) molded over the intermediate portions of conductive elements of the second plurality of conductive elements, so as to hold conductive elements of the second plurality of conductive elements in the second row, a third lead assembly (16b) comprising: a third plurality of conductive elements disposed in a third row extending in the first direction, each of the third plurality of conductive elements comprising: a mating contact portion extending in the second direction; a contact tail (16b’) adapted for attachment to the printed circuit board; and an intermediate portion coupling the contact tail to the mating contact portion, wherein the intermediate portion transitions from extending in the second direction at the mating contact portion to extending in the third direction towards the printed circuit board, wherein the third plurality of conductive elements comprises signal pairs and ground conductors with the signal pairs positioned between adjacent ground conductors; and a third insulative member (not labeled, above 16b’) molded over the intermediate portions of conductive elements of the third plurality of conductive elements, so as to hold conductive elements of the third plurality of conductive elements in the third row; and a fourth lead assembly (16a), separate from the third lead assembly, comprising: a fourth plurality of conductive elements (16a) disposed in a fourth row extending in the first direction, each of the second plurality of conductive elements comprising: a mating contact portion extending in the second direction; a contact tail (16a’) adapted for attachment to the printed circuit board; and an intermediate portion coupling the contact tail to the mating contact portion, wherein the intermediate portion transitions from extending in the second direction at the mating contact portion to extending towards the printed circuit board in the third direction, wherein the fourth plurality of conductive elements comprises signal pairs and ground conductors with the signal pairs positioned between adjacent ground conductors; and a fourth insulative member (above 16a’ in Fig. 2) molded over the intermediate portions of conductive elements of the fourth plurality of conductive elements, so as to hold conductive elements of the second plurality of conductive elements in the fourth row; wherein the intermediate portions of the second plurality of conductive elements are longer (left to right in Fig. 2) than the intermediate portions of the first plurality of conductive elements; and wherein the intermediate portions of the fourth plurality of conductive elements are longer (left to right in Fig. 2) than the intermediate portions of the third plurality of conductive elements; and wherein (at least some of) the contact tails of the first plurality of conductive elements are aligned along the first direction, and (at least some of) the contact tails of the second plurality of conductive elements are aligned along the first direction, (at least some of) the contact tails of the third plurality of conductive elements are aligned along the first direction, and (at least some of) the contact tails of the fourth plurality of conductive elements are aligned along the first direction.
Regarding claim 24, Niwa discloses that each of the first plurality of conductive elements, the second plurality of conductive elements, the third plurality of conductive elements and the fourth plurality of conductive elements have a broad side (top/bottom in Fig. 5) and edges (sides in Fig. 5); the first plurality of conductive elements are disposed with an edge of each conductive element facing an edge of an adjacent conductive element of the first plurality of conductive elements; the second plurality of conductive elements are disposed with an edge of each conductive element facing an edge of an adjacent conductive element of the second plurality of conductive elements; the third plurality of conductive elements are disposed with an edge of each conductive element facing an edge of an adjacent conductive element of the third plurality of conductive elements; and the fourth plurality of conductive elements are disposed with an edge of each conductive element facing an edge of an adjacent conductive element of the fourth plurality of conductive elements.
Regarding claim 25, Niwa discloses a conductive cage (14), wherein the housing is disposed within the cage.
Regarding claim 26, ,Niwa discloses that the intermediate portions of the first plurality of conductive elements transition about a line perpendicular to the edges of the first plurality of conductive elements; and the intermediate portions of the second plurality of conductive elements transition about a line perpendicular to the edges of the second plurality of conductive elements (Figs. 2 and 5).
Regarding claim 27, Niwa discloses the contact tails of the first plurality of conductive elements and second plurality of conductive elements are adapted for attachment to conductive pads on at least one surface of the printed circuit board (intended use, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 28, Niwa discloses the first and second surfaces including slots configured to receive the first and second pluralities of conductive elements, respectively (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 34, Niwa discloses the mating contact portions of the first plurality of conductive elements, the second plurality of conductive elements, the third plurality of conductive elements and the fourth plurality of conductive elements comprise contact surfaces; a first portion of the contact surfaces are aligned in the third direction; a second portion of the contact surface are aligned in the third direction; contact surfaces of the first portion are offset from contact surfaces of the second portion in the second direction (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 35, Niwa discloses a conductive cage (14), wherein: the housing is disposed within the cage; the cage comprises an opening (left opening) configured to receive a plug (intended use); and the first portion of the contact surfaces are further from the opening of the cage than the second portion of the contact surfaces.
Regarding claim 57, Niwa discloses a receptacle adapted for mounting to a printed circuit board, comprising: a monolithic housing (24) comprising: a first cavity (bottom cavity in Fig. 5) bounded by a first surface (bottom) that is parallel to the printed circuit board and an opposing second surface (top) that is parallel to the printed circuit board, each of the first and second surfaces being disposed above a first side of the printed circuit board; and a second cavity (top cavity in Fig. 5) bounded by a third surface (bottom) and an opposing fourth surface (top), each of the third and fourth surfaces being disposed above the first side of the printed circuit board; a first lead assembly (16d), comprising: a first monolithic housing member (not labeled, above 16’d); and a first plurality of conductive elements each comprising a contact tail (16d’) adapted for attachment to the printed circuit board, a mating contact portion (at 16d) disposed along the first surface of the first cavity, and an intermediate portion (L shape between 16d and 16d’) disposed in the first monolithic housing member and coupling the contact tail to the mating contact portion, wherein the contact tail is exposed through the monolithic housing at a first face (bottom face) for mounting to the printed circuit board, and the mating contact portion is exposed through the monolithic housing at a second face perpendicular to the first face; a second lead assembly (16c), comprising: a second monolithic housing member (above 16c’); and a second plurality of conductive elements each comprising a contact tail adapted for attachment to the printed circuit board, a mating contact portion disposed along the second surface of the first cavity, and an intermediate portion disposed in the second monolithic housing member and coupling the contact tail to the mating contact portion, wherein the contact tail is exposed through the monolithic housing at the first face for mounting to the printed circuit board and the mating contact portion is exposed through the monolithic housing at the second face; a third lead assembly (16b), comprising: a third monolithic housing member (above 16b’); and a third plurality of conductive elements each comprising a contact tail adapted for attachment to the printed circuit board, a mating contact portion disposed along the third surface of the second cavity, and an intermediate portion disposed in the third monolithic housing member and coupling the contact tail to the mating contact portion, wherein the contact tail is exposed through the monolithic housing at the first face for mounting to the printed circuit board and the mating contact portion is exposed through the monolithic housing at the second face; and a fourth lead assembly (16a), comprising: a fourth monolithic housing member (above 16a’); and a fourth plurality of conductive elements each comprising a contact tail adapted for attachment to the printed circuit board, a mating contact portion disposed along the fourth surface of the second cavity, and an intermediate portion disposed in the fourth monolithic housing member and coupling the contact tail to the mating contact portion, wherein the contact tail is exposed through the monolithic housing at the first face for mounting to the printed circuit board and the mating contact portions exposed through the monolithic housing at the second face.
Regarding claim 58, Niwa discloses that the first and second lead assemblies are interlocked and the third and fourth lead assembles are interlocked and held together by the monolithic housing (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 59, Niwa discloses the first plurality of conductive elements stamped from a conductive sheet and overmolded by the first monolithic housing member with separation between adjacent ones of the first plurality of conductive elements defined by the stamping (method of manufacturing).
Regarding claim 60, Niwa discloses that the first monolithic housing member exposes ones of the first plurality of conductive elements through respective openings in the first monolithic housing member; and the second monolithic housing member exposes ones of the second plurality of conductive elements through respective openings in the second monolithic housing member (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 29-33 and 36 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Niwa in view of Cohen et al. (US 7,163,421).
Regarding claim 29, Cohen teaches the use of an insert (151) disposed between the first and second lead assemblies, wherein the insert includes projections (152) extending towards the ground conductors of the first plurality of conductive elements. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use inserts, as taught by Cohen, in order to provide the desired interference protection between the lead assemblies.
Regarding claim 30, Niwa discloses the ground conductors (intended use) of the first plurality of conductive elements exposed through the first housing member (Fig. 2); and the ground conductors of the second plurality of conductive elements exposed through the second housing member.
Regarding claim 31, Cohen teaches the projections (152) contacting the ground conductors of the first plurality of conductive elements through the first housing member.
Regarding claim 32, Cohen teaches the insert further comprising projections (157) extending towards and contacting the ground conductors of the second plurality of conductive elements through the second housing member.
Regarding claim 33, Cohen teaches the insert electrically coupling ground conductors of the first plurality of conductive elements and the second plurality of conductive elements.
Regarding claim 36, Niwa discloses that ones of the first plurality of conductive elements are aligned with respective ones of the third plurality of conductive elements in the third direction; and ones of the second plurality of conductive elements are aligned with respective ones of the fourth plurality of conductive elements in the third direction (Fig. 2).
Claims 37-40 and 50-55 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Niwa in view of Andrews et al (US 5,743,765).
Regarding claim 37, Niwa discloses a multi-port receptacle adapted for mounting to a printed circuit board with a first face adjacent to and facing the printed circuit board, comprising: a housing (24) made of an insulative material and comprising a first port (bottom opening in Fig. 5) and a second port (top opening in Fig. 5); a first lead assembly (16d) comprising: a first plurality of conductive elements disposed in a first row extending in a first direction (left to right in Fig. 5), each of the first plurality of conductive elements comprising: a mating contact portion (at 16d) extending in a second direction (left to right in Fig. 2) perpendicular to the first direction and comprising a contact surface, a contact tail (16d’) adapted for attachment to at least one first conductive pad on a surface of the printed circuit board (intended use), and an intermediate portion (L shaped portion between 16d and 16d’) coupling the contact tail to the mating contact portion, wherein each intermediate portion comprises a first portion (extending left to right in Fig. 2) parallel to the first face at an end adjacent the mating contact portion and a second portion (extending vertically in Fig. 2) perpendicular to the first face at an end adjacent the contact tail; and a first member (not labeled, above 16d’ in Fig. 2) made of an insulative material molded over portions of the intermediate portions of each conductive element of the first plurality of conductive elements, wherein the first member is disposed within the housing and shaped to leave exposed respective portions of ones of the first plurality of conductive elements; a second lead assembly (16c), comprising: a second plurality of conductive elements disposed in a second row extending in the first direction, each of the second plurality of conductive elements comprising: a mating contact portion (at 16c) extending in the first direction and comprising contact surface, a contact tail (at 16c’) adapted for attachment to at least one second conductive pad on the surface of the printed circuit board, and an intermediate portion coupling the contact tail to the mating contact portion, wherein each intermediate portion comprises a first portion parallel to the first surface at an end adjacent the mating contact portion and a second portion extending towards the first surface at an end adjacent the contact tail; and a second member (above 16c’) made of an insulative material molded over portions of the intermediate portions of each conductive element of the second plurality of conductive elements, wherein the second member is disposed within the housing and shaped to leave exposed respective portions of ones of the second plurality of conductive elements; a third lead assembly (16b) comprising: a third plurality of conductive elements disposed in a third row extending in the first direction, each of the third plurality of conductive elements comprising: a mating contact portion extending in the second direction and comprising a contact surface, a contact tail (16b’) adapted for attachment to at least one third conductive pad on the surface of the printed circuit board, and an intermediate portion coupling the contact tail to the mating contact portion, wherein each intermediate portion comprises a first portion parallel to the first face at an end adjacent the mating contact portion and a second portion perpendicular to the first face at an end adjacent the contact tail; and a third member (above 16b’) made of an insulative material molded over the intermediate portions of each conductive element of the third plurality of conductive elements, wherein the third member is disposed within the housing; and a fourth lead assembly (16a), comprising: a fourth plurality of conductive elements disposed in a fourth row extending in the first direction, each of the fourth plurality of conductive elements comprising: a mating contact portion extending in the second direction, a contact tail (16a’) adapted for attachment to at least one fourth conductive pad on the surface of the printed circuit board, and an intermediate portion coupling the contact tail to the mating contact portion, wherein each intermediate portion comprises a first portion parallel to the first face at an end adjacent to the mating contact portion and a second portion perpendicular to the first face at an end adjacent to the contact tail; and a fourth member (above 16a’) made of an insulative material, wherein the first member is disposed within the housing; and wherein the contact surfaces of the first plurality of conductive elements, the second plurality of conductive elements, the third plurality of conductive elements, and the fourth plurality of conductive elements are exposed in the first port or the second port (Fig. 5).
Niwa discloses substantially the claimed invention except for the insulating material members molded over the first portions of the intermediate portion of each conductive elements. Andrews teaches an insulative member (4) molded over the first (horizontal) portions of the first, second, third and fourth plurality of conductive elements. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to form the insulating member molder over the first horizontal portion of the intermediate portions of the conductive elements, as taught by Andrews, in order to provide better support for the intermediate portions.
Regarding claim 38, Niwa discloses that each of the first port and the second port comprises opposing first and second surfaces; the first and second surfaces of the first and second ports comprise slots configured to receive of the first plurality of conductive elements, the second plurality of conductive elements, the third plurality of conductive elements, and the fourth plurality of conductive elements (Figs. 2 and 5).
Regarding claim 39, Niwa discloses a conductive cage (14), wherein, the housing is disposed within the cage and the cage comprises an opening configured to receive a plug (intended use).
Regarding claim 40, Niwa discloses the first plurality of conductive elements comprising a plurality of pairs of signal conductors and a plurality of ground conductors (intended use), with ones of the plurality of ground conductors disposed between adjacent ones of the plurality of pairs of signal conductors; and the second plurality of conductive elements comprising a plurality of pairs of signal conductors and a plurality of ground conductors (intended use), with ones of the plurality of ground conductors disposed between adjacent ones of the plurality of pairs of signal conductors.
Regarding claim 50, Niwa discloses (at least some of) the contact tails (16d’) of the first plurality of conductive elements aligned along the first direction, and (at least some of) the contact tails (16c’) of the second plurality of conductive elements aligned along the first direction
Regarding claim 51, Niwa discloses (at least some of) the contact tails of the first plurality of conductive elements are aligned along the first direction; (at least some of) the contact tails of the second plurality of conductive elements are aligned along the first direction; (at least some of) the contact tails of the third plurality of conductive elements are aligned along the first direction; and (at least some of) the contact tails of the fourth plurality of conductive elements are aligned along the first direction (Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 52, Niwa discloses (at least) ones of the first plurality of conductive elements are aligned with respective ones of the third plurality of conductive elements in the third direction (vertically in Fig. 2); and ones of the second plurality of conductive elements are aligned with respective ones of the fourth plurality of conductive elements in the third direction (vertically in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 53, Niwa discloses that each of the first port and the second port comprises opposing first and second surfaces; the first and second surfaces of the first and second ports comprise slots configured to receive of the first plurality of conductive elements, the second plurality of conductive elements, the third plurality of conductive elements, and the fourth plurality of conductive elements (see Figs. 5 and 5).
Regarding claim 54, Niwa discloses the opening (left side in Fig. 2) of the conductive cage configured to receive a plug (intended use).
Regarding claim 55, Niwa discloses the device configured to processes signals at frequencies beyond 16 GHz passing through the multi-port receptacle (intended use).
Claims 41-49 and 61-62 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Niwa and Andrews, and further in view of Cohen.
Regarding claim 41, Cohen teaches an insert (151) disposed between the first and second lead assemblies, wherein: the ones of the first plurality of conductive elements comprise the plurality of ground conductors of the first plurality of conductive elements; and the insert includes projections (152, 156) extending towards the respective portions of the ground conductors of the first plurality of conductive elements. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use inserts, as taught by Cohen, in order to provide the desired interference protection between the lead assemblies.
Regarding claim 42, Cohen teaches the insert electrically coupled to the ground conductors (136) of the first plurality of conductive elements via the projections.
Regarding claim 43, Cohen teaches the ones of the second plurality of conductive elements comprising the plurality of ground conductors of the second plurality of conductive elements; the insert includes projections (152, 156) extending towards the respective portions of the ground conductors of the second plurality of conductive elements; and the insert is electrically coupled to the ground conductors of the first plurality of conductive elements and the second plurality of conductive elements via the projections.
Regarding claim 44, Cohen teaches the insert being a first insert; the multi-port receptacle further comprises a second insert (Fig. 4); the second insert comprises: projections extending towards the ground conductors of the third plurality of conductive elements; projections extending towards the ground conductors of the fourth plurality of conductive elements; the second insert is electrically coupled to the ground conductors of the third plurality of conductive elements and the fourth plurality of conductive elements via the projections.
Regarding claim 45, Niwa, as modified, discloses the pairs of signal conductors having a differential mode impedance of between 75 Ohms and 100 Ohms (intended use, impedance depends on the strength of the signal applied).
Regarding claim 45, Niwa, as modified, discloses the pairs of signal conductors having a differential mode impedance of 85 Ohms +/- 10% (intended use, impedance depends on the strength of the signal applied).
Regarding claim 47, Niwa discloses the ground conductors of the first plurality of conductive elements exposed in openings of the first member; the ground conductors of the second plurality of conductive elements are exposed in openings of the second member.
Regarding claim 48, Cohen discloses the projections contacting the ground conductors of the first plurality of conductive elements through the first housing member (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 49, Cohen teaches the insert further comprising projections (156) extending towards and contacting the ground conductors of the second plurality of conductive elements through the second housing member (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 61, Cohen teaches an insert (160) disposed between the first and second monolithic housing members, wherein: the ones of the first plurality of conductive elements comprise ground conductors; and the insert includes projections (152) extending towards the ground conductors through ones of the respective openings in the first monolithic housing member.
Regarding claim 62, Cohen teaches the ones of the second plurality of conductive elements comprise ground conductors (136); the insert further including projections (152, 156) extending towards the ground conductors of the second plurality of conductive elements through ones of the respective openings in the second monolithic housing member; and the insert is electrically coupled to the ground conductors of the first plurality of conductive elements and the second plurality of conductive elements via the projections (Fig. 4).
Conclusion
/FELIX O FIGUEROA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831