DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Horie (US 2015/0049877 A1 – cited in IDS).
As to claim 4, Horie discloses an electric device (Fig. 1.) comprising:
a sounding body configured to generate sound (¶0030, Fig. 1. “This external sound output part 910 includes a speaker SP that outputs external sound to the exterior of the vehicle.”);
a sound source storing unit storing an actual use sound source (¶0042, Fig. 1. “Sound data corresponding to externally outputted sound is stored in the sound source part 750.”);
a correction value storing unit storing a correction value for correcting the actual use sound source so that a sound pressure of the actual use sound source reproduced from the sounding body is brought close to a target value when the actual use sound source is reproduced by the sounding body (¶0032-0035, Fig. 1. “The storage part 710 stores information of various types for use by the acoustic device 700. Speaker characteristic information and a sound pressure adjustment table are included in this information.”);
a sound pressure correction unit configured to obtain a corrected actual use sound source by correcting the actual use sound source with the correction value (¶0057-0058, Fig. 1. “And the control part 740A performs control of the sound signal generation part 760 by taking the adjustment value corresponding to an adjustment subject frequency that is registered in the individual table referred to as being the gain value for the component of that adjustment subject frequency. As a result, externally outputted sound is outputted from the external sound output part 910 whose output sound volume has been minimized while still satisfying the conditions for required sound pressure level that have been specified by the user.”); and
a control unit configured to control the sounding body to reproduce the corrected actual use sound source from the sounding body (¶0057-0058, Fig. 1. “And the control part 740A performs control of the sound signal generation part 760 by taking the adjustment value corresponding to an adjustment subject frequency that is registered in the individual table referred to as being the gain value for the component of that adjustment subject frequency. As a result, externally outputted sound is outputted from the external sound output part 910 whose output sound volume has been minimized while still satisfying the conditions for required sound pressure level that have been specified by the user.”).
As to claim 8, Horie discloses a manufacturing method for an electric device (¶0045), comprising:
preparing a workpiece of the electric device that includes a sounding body (¶0030-0031, Fig. 1. External sound output part 910.),
a control unit configured to control the sounding body (¶0031, Fig. 1. Control part 740A.), and
a sound source storing unit storing an actual use sound source (¶0031, Fig. 1. Sound source part 750.);
controlling the sounding body by a controller via the control unit to cause the sounding body to generate an inspection sound of a frequency band including a frequency band of the actual use sound source (¶0050. “Upon receipt of this generation command for the test sound signal, the sound signal generation part 760 reads in from the sound source part 750 sound data corresponding to a test sound at the measurement subject frequency that has been designated.”);
causing a sound pressure inspection device to detect a sound pressure of the inspection sound generated by the sounding body (¶0051. “During this type of test sound output, the control part 740A receives the results of sound pickup by the sound pickup 950 via the acquisition part 730. And, on the basis of these sound pickup results sent from the sound pickup part 950, the control part 740A calculates the difference between the sound pressure level of the test sound at the sound pickup position, and the target sound pressure level.”);
calculating, by the controller, a correction value for bringing a sound pressure of the actual use sound source generated from the sounding body to a target value when the actual use sound source is reproduced by the sounding body, based on the sound pressure that is detected by the sound pressure inspection device (¶0050-0053. “Subsequently, on the basis of the calculated difference and the gain value at the present time point, the control part 740A derives a gain value.”); and
storing the correction value that is calculated by the controller on the workpiece (¶0054 and 0056. “Adjustment values that satisfy the target sound pressure specifications in the measurement conditions are registered in the sound pressure adjustment table in the storage part 710.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horie.
As to claim 1, Horie discloses an electric device (Fig. 1) comprising:
a sounding body configured to generate sound (¶0030, Fig. 1. “This external sound output part 910 includes a speaker SP that outputs external sound to the exterior of the vehicle.”);
a sound source storing unit storing an actual use sound source (¶0042, Fig. 1. “Sound data corresponding to externally outputted sound is stored in the sound source part 750.”);
a correction value storing unit storing a correction value for correcting the actual use sound source, respectively, so that respective sound pressures of the actual use sound source reproduced from the sounding body are brought close to respective target values when the actual use sound source is reproduced by the sounding body (¶0032-0035, Fig. 1. “The storage part 710 stores information of various types for use by the acoustic device 700. Speaker characteristic information and a sound pressure adjustment table are included in this information.”);
a sound pressure correction unit configured to obtain a corrected actual use sound sources by correcting the actual use sound source with the correction value (¶0057-0058, Fig. 1. “And the control part 740A performs control of the sound signal generation part 760 by taking the adjustment value corresponding to an adjustment subject frequency that is registered in the individual table referred to as being the gain value for the component of that adjustment subject frequency. As a result, externally outputted sound is outputted from the external sound output part 910 whose output sound volume has been minimized while still satisfying the conditions for required sound pressure level that have been specified by the user.”); and
a control unit configured to synthesize the corrected actual use sound source to obtain a synthesized actual use sound source and control the sounding body to reproduce the synthesized actual use sound source from the sounding body (¶0057-0058, Fig. 1. “And the control part 740A performs control of the sound signal generation part 760 by taking the adjustment value corresponding to an adjustment subject frequency that is registered in the individual table referred to as being the gain value for the component of that adjustment subject frequency. As a result, externally outputted sound is outputted from the external sound output part 910 whose output sound volume has been minimized while still satisfying the conditions for required sound pressure level that have been specified by the user.”).
Horie does not expressly disclose a plurality of actual use sound sources and a plurality of correction values.
However, having a plurality of sound source and correction values instead of a single sound source and single correction value is an obvious duplication of parts, which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation would have been to provide the user with multiple options for a sound source.
As to claim 7, Horie discloses a manufacturing method for an electric device (¶0045), comprising:
preparing a workpiece of the electric device that includes a sounding body (¶0030-0031, Fig. 1. External sound output part 910.),
a control unit configured to control the sounding body (¶0031, Fig. 1. Control part 740A.), and
a sound source storing unit storing an actual use sound source (¶0031, Fig. 1. Sound source part 750.);
controlling the sounding body by a controller via the control unit to cause the sounding body to generate an inspection sound of a frequency band including respective frequency bands of the actual use sound source (¶0050. “Upon receipt of this generation command for the test sound signal, the sound signal generation part 760 reads in from the sound source part 750 sound data corresponding to a test sound at the measurement subject frequency that has been designated.”);
causing a sound pressure inspection device to detect a sound pressure of the inspection sound generated by the sounding body (¶0051. “During this type of test sound output, the control part 740A receives the results of sound pickup by the sound pickup 950 via the acquisition part 730. And, on the basis of these sound pickup results sent from the sound pickup part 950, the control part 740A calculates the difference between the sound pressure level of the test sound at the sound pickup position, and the target sound pressure level.”);
calculating, by the controller, a correction value for bringing respective sound pressures of the actual use sound source generated from the sounding body to respective target values when the actual use sound source is reproduced by the sounding body, based on the sound pressure that is detected by the sound pressure inspection device (¶0050-0053. “Subsequently, on the basis of the calculated difference and the gain value at the present time point, the control part 740A derives a gain value.”); and
storing the correction value that is calculated by the controller on the workpiece (¶0054 and 0056. “Adjustment values that satisfy the target sound pressure specifications in the measurement conditions are registered in the sound pressure adjustment table in the storage part 710.”).
Horie does not expressly disclose a plurality of actual use sound sources and a plurality of correction values.
However, having a plurality of sound source and correction values instead of a single sound source and single correction value is an obvious duplication of parts, which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation would have been to provide the user with multiple options for a sound source.
Claims 2-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horie, as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, in view of Sakakibara et al. (US 2015/0035660 A1 - cited in IDS), hereinafter “Sakakibara.”
As to claim 5, Horie discloses wherein the sound source storing unit, the correction value storing unit, the sound pressure correction unit, the control unit, and the sounding body are configured to be mounted on a vehicle (¶0029-0030, Fig. 1. “This acoustic device 700 is mounted to a vehicle CR.” “An external sound output part 910 is installed within the vehicle CR.”),
the correction value storing unit is a first correction value storing unit, and the correction value is a sub correction value (¶0120-0121, Fig. 4. Individual tables with various adjustment values for sub frequencies.).
Horie does not expressly disclose a second correction value storing unit configured to store a candidate value group of a main correction value for correcting the sound pressure of the actual use sound source reproduced from the sounding body when the actual use sound source is reproduced by the sounding body; and
a correction value selection unit configured to select, as the main correction value, a candidate value for the actual use sound source that match information of the vehicle that is provided from an external electronic control unit, from the candidate value group of the main correction value, wherein the sound pressure correction unit is configured to obtain the corrected actual use sound source by correcting the actual use sound source with the main correction value and the sub correction value.
Sakakibara discloses a second correction value storing unit configured to store a candidate value group of a main correction value for correcting the sound pressure of the actual use sound source reproduced from the sounding body when the actual use sound source is reproduced by the sounding body (Sakakibara, ¶0056, ¶0062 and ¶0068, Figs. 3 and 7. SPL of adjusted based on travel speed of vehicle.); and
a correction value selection unit configured to select, as the main correction value, a candidate value for the actual use sound source that match information of the vehicle that is provided from an external electronic control unit, from the candidate value group of the main correction value, wherein the sound pressure correction unit is configured to obtain the corrected actual use sound source by correcting the actual use sound source with the main correction value and the sub correction value (Sakakibara, ¶0056, ¶0062 and ¶0062, Figs. 3 and 7. “The microcomputer 21 of the vehicle approach warning apparatus 2 maintains the sound pressure level of the warning sound in a predetermined range as a whole, adjusts the level of the signal of the low frequency component and the level of the signal of a high frequency component, and causes the speaker 3 to output the warning sound so that recognition to a pedestrian around the vehicle is improved according to increase of the travel speed.”).
Horie and Sakakibara are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to vehicle warning sounds.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to adjust warning sound pressure level based on vehicle travel speed, as taught by Sakakibara. The motivation would have been for improved pedestrian recognition without causing the user to feel uncomfortable (Sakakibara, ¶0007).
As to claim 6, Horie in view of Sakakibara does not expressly disclose wherein a circuit board on which the sound source storing unit, the correction value storing unit, the sound pressure correction unit, and the control unit are mounted; and a housing that accommodates the sounding body and the circuit board (Horie, ¶0031, ¶0102, Fig. 1. Implicit that the components would be mounted on a circuity board and in a housing. Further, mounting audio processing components on a circuit board and accommodating said circuit board and a speaker in a housing is well known routine and conventional in the art and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. ).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under claim 1 using the same motivation as claims 5-6 above.
Conclusion
/JAMES K MOONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695