DETAILED ACTION
Claims
Claims 1-9, 11-17, 19, 20, and 22-24 are pending.
Claims 1-9, 11-14, 19, 20, and 22-24 are under consideration.
Claims 15-17 are withdrawn.
Claim 1 is amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but is moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically, the limitations of “a housing positioned adjacent the chamber at a first end of the mechanical structure” and “wherein the sealing assembly is configured to seal around a valve of a connector of a pipe”. These limitations are addressed below by Petroleo Brasilerio S.A. -PeTrobras WO2021108878.
Applicant's arguments regarding the Bowie US10001220 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues, Bowie is not an “inspection tool” as recited in claim 1 but rather just simply an “isolation plug”. Examiner respectfully disagrees and points out that the isolation plug (10) is also described as being used as a “check plug apparatus” in the event of a breach in the pipeline being detected. The plug can be actively controlled or pre-set based on operator input and pig itself to the location of the breach in a pipeline if it detects ingress. Furthermore, Bowie discloses monitoring annulus pressure as a function to determine sealing integrity and/or leak-detection and can be connected to a communication system. Check plugs routinely used in art are provided with sensors that can detect desired parameters such as water ingress and move to the location and seal off the pipeline for desired operations. (See Col 1 line 39-46, Col 5 line 5-26 and Col 8 line 24-Col 9 line 3). Therefore, the check plug of Bowie reads on the “inspection tool” limitation.
As there being no arguments regarding the dependent claims rejected under respective 102 and 103 rejections, the rejections of those claims remain rejected. Furthermore, in light of the new 103 rejection below, the allowable subject matter of claim 20 is withdrawn and is now rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11, and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowie US10001220 in view of Petroleo Brasilerio S.A. -PeTrobras WO202108878 (hereinafter “Petroleo”).
Regarding claim 1, Bowie discloses an inspection tool (isolation tool-10) comprising:
a mechanical structure (tool-10 includes three modules 14, 16 and 18 which can also be formed as a single module) comprising:
a chamber (See Fig 1 and 3);a housing (body-28) positioned adjacent the chamber;
a fluid communication port (pipe-12 is connected to the chamber and supplies a bi-directional fluid to flow to move the tool) in fluid communication with the chamber;
at least one pressurization channel (Chamber-48 includes pressure head-30 that moves piston-50 in a respective direction based on pressure flow) in fluid communication with the chamber; and
a side coupling (mandrel-20 includes side couplings see Fig 1-2 and 5-6) disposed on an outer periphery of the mechanical structure; and
a sealing assembly comprising:
an inner seal (seal-34) clamped in the housing of the mechanical structure; and
an outer seal (seal elements-22) clamped in the side coupling of the mechanical structure (See Figs 1-2 and 5-6; See also Col 5 line 6- Col 7 line 34).
However, Bowie fails to disclose the housing positioned adjacent toe chamber at a first end of the mechanical structure and the sealing assembly is configured to seal around a valve of a connector of a pipe. Petroleo discloses the housing (See Fig 2) positioned adjacent the chamber (front chamber of cylinder-12) at a first end of the mechanical structure (See Fig 2) and the sealing assembly (sealing system-10) is configured to seal around a valve (relief vakve-11) of a connector (flexible duct connector-1) of a pipe (See Fig 1-2, Paragraphs 0017 and 0022).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Petroleo into Bowie for the purpose of increasing seal integrity. The modification would allow for decreasing potential damage seals and alignment of the device during pressure relief operations.
Regarding claim 2, Bowie in view of Petroleo discloses the tool according to claim 1.
Furthermore, Bowie discloses a valve (piston-50 includes a compression plate-58 and defines cylinder-54) coupled to the fluid communication port, the valve in fluid communication with the chamber (See Figs 1-2 and 5-6; See also Col 5 line 6-Col 7 line 34).
Regarding claim 3, Bowie in view of Petroleo discloses the tool according to claim 1.
Furthermore, Bowie discloses the chamber (See Fig 1 and 3) comprises a hemi-spherical volume and is centrally arranged on an underside of the mechanical structure (See Figs 1-2 and 5-6; See also Col 5 line 6-Col 7 line 34).
Regarding claim 4, Bowie in view of Petroleo discloses the tool according to claim 1.
Furthermore, Bowie discloses the mechanical structure (tool-10 includes three modules 14, 16 and 18 which can also be formed as a single module) and the sealing assembly (seals-34 and 22 make up sealing assembly) are circular in shape (See Figs 1-2 and 5-6; See also Col 5 line 6- Col 7 line 34).
Regarding claim 6, Bowie in view of Petroleo discloses the tool according to claim 1.
Furthermore, Bowie discloses the inner seal (seal-34) has a trapezoidal cross-sectional shape, which corresponds to a cross-sectional shape of the housing (Col 6 line 25-52 and Col 8 line 9-Col 9 line 3).
Regarding claim 7, Bowie in view of Petroleo discloses the tool according to claim 1.
Furthermore, Bowie discloses the outer seal (seal elements-22) has a triangular cross-sectional shape, which radially tapers in an outward direction (Col 5 line 5-Col 6 line 24, Col 8 line 9-19).
Regarding claim 8, Bowie in view of Petroleo discloses the tool according to claim 7.
Furthermore, Bowie discloses the outer seal (seal elements-22) further comprises in a thick upper portion clamped to the side coupling of the mechanical structure (Col 5 line 5-Col 6 line 24; Col 8 line 9-19).
Regarding claim 9, Bowie in view of Petroleo discloses the tool according to claim 7.
Furthermore, Bowie discloses the side coupling (mandrel-20 includes side couplings see Fig 1-2 and 5-6) comprises a lock channel and a shoulder (Col 5 line 5-Col 6 line 24).
Regarding claim 11, Bowie in view of Petroleo discloses the tool according to claim 1.
Furthermore, Bowie discloses the at least one pressurization channel (Chamber-48 includes pressure head-30 that moves piston-50 in a respective direction based on pressure flow) fluidly communicates with the housing (Col 6 line 25-Col 7 line 24).
Regarding claim 22, Bowie in view of Petroleo discloses the tool according to claim 1.
Furthermore, Bowie discloses an approximation mechanism (tug module-14 and drag module-18) attached to the housing opposite from the sealing assembly, wherein the approximation mechanism is hydraulicly driven by a Remotely Operated Vehicle (ROV; See Figs 1-2 and 5-6; See also Col 5 line 6- Col 7 line 34).
Regarding claim 23, Bowie in view of Petroleo discloses the tool according to claim 22.
Furthermore, Bowie discloses the approximation mechanism (tug module-14 and drag module-18) is configured to axially or radially position the sealing assembly (seals-22 and 34) relative to a relief valve of a connector of a flexible pipe (See Figs 1-2 and 5-6; See also Col 5 line 6- Col 7 line 34).
Regarding claim 24, Bowie in view of Petroleo discloses the tool according to claim 23.
Furthermore, Bowie discloses the approximation mechanism (tug module-14 and drag module-18) is mounted on an anchoring mechanism comprising a claw and a pulley (See Figs 1-2 and 5-6; See also Col 5 line 6- Col 7 line 34).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowie US10001220 in view of Petroleo Brasilerio S.A. -PeTrobras WO202108878 (hereinafter “Petroleo”) in further view of Bull US4302976.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Bowie in view of Petroleo discloses the tool according to claim 1.
However, the combination fails to disclose the sealing assembly comprises polyether-based polyurethane. Bull discloses the sealing assembly (sealing members-15) comprises polyether-based polyurethane (Col 2 line 53-66).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Bull into Bowie for the purpose of increasing the life of the device. The modification would allow for higher durability and flexibility as to allow the device to last longer during operation use.
Claims 12-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowie US10001220 in view of Petroleo Brasilerio S.A. -PeTrobras WO202108878 (hereinafter “Petroleo”) in further view of Penza et al US8723943 (hereinafter “Penza”).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Bowie in view of Petroleo discloses the tool according to claim 1.
However, the combination fails to disclose the mechanical structure further comprises: a stem housing positioned centrally on an upper surface of the mechanical structure; and at least four mounting holes arranged circumferentially around the stem housing. Penza discloses the mechanical structure further comprises: a stem housing (conduit-30) positioned centrally on an upper surface of the mechanical structure; and at least four mounting holes (Fig 1-2 show valve system-24) arranged circumferentially around the stem housing (Col 4 line 31-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Penza into Bowie for the purpose of increasing the life of the device. The modification would allow for stronger connection to ensure the device does not get damaged during operational use.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Bowie in view of Petroleo discloses the tool according to claim 12.
However, the combination fails to disclose the stem housing is recessed from the upper surface of the mechanical structure and centralized in relation to the upper surface of the mechanical structure. Penza discloses the stem housing (conduit-30) is recessed from the upper surface of the mechanical structure and centralized in relation to the upper surface of the mechanical structure (Col 4 line 31-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Penza into Bowie for the purpose of increasing the life of the device. The modification would allow for stronger connection to ensure the device does not get damaged during operational use.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Bowie in view of Petroleo discloses the tool according to claim 12.
However, the combination fails to disclose the at least four mounting holes are arranged concentrically around the stem housing. Penza discloses the at least four mounting holes (screws shown in valve system-24) are arranged concentrically around the stem housing (Col 4 line 31-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Penza into Bowie for the purpose of increasing the life of the device. The modification would allow for stronger connection to ensure the device does not get damaged during operational use.
Regarding claim 20, Bowie discloses the tool according to claim 12.
However, Bowie fails to disclose the fluid communication port is positioned on a side of the mechanical structure between the sealing assembly and the stem housing. Petroleo discloses the fluid communication port (fluid chamber of cylinder-12 connected to valve-8) is positioned on a side of the mechanical structure between the sealing assembly (sealing system-10) and the stem housing (See housing in Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Petroleo into Bowie for the purpose of increasing seal integrity. The modification would allow for decreasing potential damage seals and alignment of the device during pressure relief operations.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowie US10001220 in view of Petroleo Brasilerio S.A. -PeTrobras WO202108878 (hereinafter “Petroleo”) in further view of Keskin et al US20210387118 (hereinafter “Keskin”).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Bowie in view of Petroleo discloses the tool according to claim 1.
However, the combination fails to disclose the mechanical structure comprises stainless steel. Keskin discloses the mechanical structure comprises stainless steel (Fig 6C, Paragraph 065).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Keskin into Bowie for the purpose of increasing the life of the device. The modification would allow for an increase in corrosion resistance and durability which would increase the life of the device.
Conclusion
The prior art as cited on the PTO-892 is made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chien et al US11391390 (hereinafter “Chien“) discloses a diaphragm valve structure having application in diaphragm valves made completely from fluororesin at an operating temperature of 200° C. The diaphragm valve uses a heat isolation method that consists of a heat transfer limiting structure and a heat dissipating structure, ensuring rigidity of the gas cylinder structure. The heat transfer limiting structure uses lattice-shaped ribbed plates with horizontal openings, wherein the lattice-shaped ribbed plates and a minimum diameter area of an annular portion are all provided with heat transfer section thickness. The heat dissipating structure consists of a multilayered structure for a preferred external natural cooling and further using a coolant gas ensuring that the peripheral portion of the diaphragm and gas-tight components on the valve shaft are sufficiently cooled (Fig 1A-5, Col 5 line 38 - Col 39 line 33).
Gillam US20060037659 discloses a probe (10) may be used to test or patch pipes where an operator (11) manually feeds the probe (10) along a pipe (12) by reason of an air tube (13) and CCTV cable (14). The operator may view via screen (16) the output from camera head (15) on the probe (10). The camera views the interior of a pipe in the direction of feed. The probe (10) has an elongate flexible body (16) so that it may deform to pass around corners in the pipe and be inflated to seal or apply patches (Fig 1-10, Paragraph 0015-0020).
The Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). The Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NIGEL H PLUMB/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/Eric S. McCall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855