DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9, 11-14 and 19-20 (group II) in the reply filed on 01/09/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-18 and 21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/09/2026.
Claims
Claims 1-9, 11-14, 19, 20 and 22-24 are pending.
Claims 15-17 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 10, 18 and 21 are cancelled.
Drawings
Figures 1-2 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g).
Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraph 0043 says Fig 1 but appears to actually describe Fig 3. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11, and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bowie US10001220.
Regarding claim 1, Bowie discloses an inspection tool (isolation tool-10) comprising: a mechanical structure (tool-10 includes three modules 14, 16 and 18 which can also be formed as a single module) comprising: a chamber (See Fig 1 and 3);a housing (body-28) positioned adjacent the chamber; a fluid communication port (pipe-12 is connected to the chamber and supplies a bi-directional fluid to flow to move the tool) in fluid communication with the chamber; at least one pressurization channel (Chamber-48 includes pressure head-30 that moves piston-50 in a respective direction based on pressure flow) in fluid communication with the chamber; and a side coupling (mandrel-20 includes side couplings see Fig 1-2 and 5-6) disposed on an outer periphery of the mechanical structure; and a sealing assembly comprising: an inner seal (seal-34) clamped in the housing of the mechanical structure; and an outer seal (seal elements-22) clamped in the side coupling of the mechanical structure (See Figs 1-2 and 5-6). (See also Col 5 line 6- Col 7 line 34)
Regarding claim 2, Bowie discloses a valve (piston-50 includes a compression plate-58 and defines cylinder-54) coupled to the fluid communication port, the valve in fluid communication with the chamber. (See Figs 1-2 and 5-6). (See also Col 5 line 6- Col 7 line 34)
Regarding claim 3, Bowie discloses the chamber (See Fig 1 and 3) comprises a hemi-spherical volume and is centrally arranged on an underside of the mechanical structure. (See Figs 1-2 and 5-6). (See also Col 5 line 6- Col 7 line 34)
Regarding claim 4, Bowie discloses the mechanical structure (tool-10 includes three modules 14, 16 and 18 which can also be formed as a single module) and the sealing assembly (seals-34 and 22 make up sealing assembly) are circular in shape. (See Figs 1-2 and 5-6). (See also Col 5 line 6- Col 7 line 34)
Regarding claim 6, Bowie discloses the inner seal (seal-34) has a trapezoidal cross-sectional shape, which corresponds to a cross-sectional shape of the housing. (Col 6 line 25-52, Col 8 line 9-Col 9 line 3)
Regarding claim 7, Bowie discloses the outer seal (seal elements-22) has a triangular cross-sectional shape, which radially tapers in an outward direction. (Col 5 line 5-Col 6 line 24, Col 8 line 9-19)
Regarding claim 8, Bowie discloses the outer seal (seal elements-22) further comprises, in a thick upper portion clamped to the side coupling of the mechanical structure. (Col 5 line 5-Col 6 line 24, Col 8 line 9-19)
Regarding claim 9, Bowie discloses the side coupling (mandrel-20 includes side couplings see Fig 1-2 and 5-6) comprises a lock channel and a shoulder. (Col 5 line 5-Col 6 line 24)
Regarding claim 11, Bowie discloses the at least one pressurization channel (Chamber-48 includes pressure head-30 that moves piston-50 in a respective direction based on pressure flow) fluidly communicates with the housing. (Col 6 line 25- Col 7 line 24)
Regarding claim 22, Bowie discloses an approximation mechanism (tug module-14 and drag module-18) attached to the housing opposite from the sealing assembly, wherein the approximation mechanism is hydraulicly driven by a Remotely Operated Vehicle (ROV). (See Figs 1-2 and 5-6). (See also Col 5 line 6- Col 7 line 34)
Regarding claim 23, Bowie discloses the approximation mechanism (tug module-14 and drag module-18) is configured to axially or radially position the sealing assembly (seals-22 and 34) relative to a relief valve of a connector of a flexible pipe. (See Figs 1-2 and 5-6). (See also Col 5 line 6- Col 7 line 34)
Regarding claim 24, Bowie discloses the approximation mechanism (tug module-14 and drag module-18) is mounted on an anchoring mechanism comprising a claw and a pulley. (See Figs 1-2 and 5-6). (See also Col 5 line 6- Col 7 line 34)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowie US10001220 in view of Bull US4302976.
Regarding claim 5, Bowie discloses the inspection tool according to claim 1.
However, Bowie fails to disclose the sealing assembly comprises polyether-based polyurethane. Bull discloses the sealing assembly (sealing members-15) comprises polyether-based polyurethane. (Col 2 line 53-66)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Bull into Bowie for the purpose of increasing the life of the device. The modification would allow for higher durability and flexibility as to allow the device to last longer during operation use.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowie US10001220 in view of Penza et al US8723943 (hereinafter “Penza”).
Regarding claim 12, Bowie discloses the inspection tool according to claim 1.
However, Bowie fails to disclose the mechanical structure further comprises: a stem housing positioned centrally on an upper surface of the mechanical structure; and at least four mounting holes arranged circumferentially around the stem housing. Penza discloses the mechanical structure further comprises: a stem housing (conduit-30) positioned centrally on an upper surface of the mechanical structure; and at least four mounting holes (Fig 1-2 show valve system-24) arranged circumferentially around the stem housing. (Col 4 line 31-67)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Penza into Bowie for the purpose of increasing the life of the device. The modification would allow for stronger connection to ensure the device does not get damaged during operational use.
Regarding claim 13, Bowie discloses the inspection tool according to claim 12.
However, Bowie fails to disclose the stem housing is recessed from the upper surface of the mechanical structure and centralized in relation to the upper surface of the mechanical structure. Penza discloses the stem housing (conduit-30) is recessed from the upper surface of the mechanical structure and centralized in relation to the upper surface of the mechanical structure. (Col 4 line 31-67)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Penza into Bowie for the purpose of increasing the life of the device. The modification would allow for stronger connection to ensure the device does not get damaged during operational use.
Regarding claim 14, Bowie discloses the inspection tool according to claim 12.
However, Bowie fails to disclose the at least four mounting holes are arranged concentrically around the stem housing. Penza discloses the at least four mounting holes (screws shown in valve system-24) are arranged concentrically around the stem housing. (Col 4 line 31-67)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Penza into Bowie for the purpose of increasing the life of the device. The modification would allow for stronger connection to ensure the device does not get damaged during operational use.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowie US10001220 in view of Keskin et al US20210387118 (hereinafter “Keskin”).
Regarding claim 19, Bowie discloses the inspection tool according to claim 1.
However, Bowie fails to disclose the mechanical structure comprises stainless steel. Keskin discloses the mechanical structure comprises stainless steel. (Fig 6C, Paragraph 0065)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Keskin into Bowie for the purpose of increasing the life of the device. The modification would allow for an increase in corrosion resistance an durability which would increase the life of the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art as cited on the PTO-892 is made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/NIGEL H PLUMB/ /Eric S. McCall/Examiner, Art Unit 2855 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855