DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responded to the amendment filed on 09/05/2025.
According to the amendment filed on 09/05/2025:
Claims 1-4, 10-13, 15 and 16 have been amended.
Claims 5-9, 14, 17-20 are as previously presented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues Yu does not disclose, teach, or suggest “…providing a telematics system including a telematics module, at least one external data source, a utility data source, and at least one user interface, wherein the telematics module is disposed in the vehicle, and the telematics module is in communication with the at least one external data source, the utility data source, at least on user interface, and the vehicle” applicant’s argument is respectfully traverse.
Yu discloses providing a telematics system including a telematics module, at least one external data source, a utility data source, and at least one user interface, wherein the telematics module is disposed in the vehicle, and the telematics module is in communication with the at least one external data source, the utility data source, at least on user interface, and the vehicle (the HEMS controller may be remotely implemented via a cloud server through the Internet and configured to monitor which the telematics control unit of the vehicle can access to implement various content for various purpose, furthermore the HEMS may be implemented by a desktop or laptop which can be located inside the vehicle – see include but are not limited to paragraphs 0020, 0024; Diamond paragraph 0048).
Furthermore, applicant argues that Yu does not teach or suggest “…where in charging of the vehicle start automatically when an auto-charge is enabled…” applicant’s argument is respectfully traversed.
Yu discloses where in charging of the vehicle start automatically when an auto-charge is enabled (when the power drop to a certain threshold HEMS may instruct the vehicle to recharge the battery and return to the house, the vehicle is provided with autonomous driving features, autonomous driving instruction may be provided. In case that the vehicle is provided with autonomous driving features, the instructions may further include driving instructions for the ADC to direct the vehicle to drive to the target charging station autonomously – see include but are not limited to paragraphs 0029, 0031, Diamond paragraphs 0018, 0068).
For the reason giving above, rejections of claims 1-20 are as discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US 20220080852) in view of Diamond et al (US 20230094216).
Regarding claim 1, Yu discloses a method of predictively charging a vehicle including a rechargeable energy storage system (RESS) (home energy management system include a rechargeable energy storage– see include but are not limited to Fig.2, paragraphs 0002-0003), the method comprising: providing a telematics system including a telematics module (telematics control unit – see paragraph 0024) , at least one external data source, a utility data source (data receive utility data from the cloud – see paragraph 0026), and at least one user interface (user interface – see paragraph 0020), wherein the telematics module is disposed in a vehicle (telematics control unit is within the vehicle – see Fig 2. Paragraph 0024) and the telematics module is in communication with the at least one external data source, the utility data source, the at least one user interface, and the vehicle (telematics control receiving data from the cloud – see include but are not limited to paragraph 0024); receiving, via the telematics system weather forecast data from the at least one external data source (receiving weather data from the cloud using the telematics control – see include, but are not limited to paragraphs 0020, 0024); monitoring, via the telematics system the weather forecast data for a predicted weather event (monitoring the weather forecast for predict weather event- see paragraph 0026); determining, via the telematics system, whether the predicted weather event is indicative of a potential power disruption based upon the comparison (determining power outage based on weather forecast – see include but are not limited to paragraph 0026); generating a power status report via the telematics system, wherein the power status report is generated based upon determining that the predicted weather event is indicative of the potential power disruption (generating report of energy status based on the predicted weather event that lead to a potential power outage – see include but are not limited to paragraphs 0027-0028), and wherein generating the power status report includes: analyzing an amount of energy stored in the vehicle (analyzing amount of energy stored in the vehicle – see paragraph 0031); analyzing a household power consumption based on household power consumption data from the utility data source (analyze power consumption of the household based on data from utility course collected from the cloud – see include but are not limited to Fig. 5A-5B, paragraphs 0031-0032); analyzing predicted conditions of the predicted weather event (predict weather event based on the weather forecast – see include but are not limited to paragraph 0026) and sending the power status report to the at least one user interface (sending power status to user interface – see include but are not limited to FIG. 5A-5B paragraphs 0020, 0026); and commanding a charging of the vehicle based on the power status report in preparation for the potential power disruption indicated by the predicted weather event (suggesting a charging of vehicle based on the power status in preparation for the power outage – see include but are not limited to paragraph 0030-0031). Where in charging of the vehicle start automatically when an auto-charge is enabled, and/or starts based on a user input to the at least one user interface when the auto-charge is not enabled (when the power drop to a certain threshold HEMS may instruct the vehicle to recharge the battery and return to the house, the vehicle is provided with autonomous driving features, autonomous driving instruction may be provided. In case that the vehicle is provided with autonomous driving features, the instructions may further include driving instructions for the ADC to direct the vehicle to drive to the target charging station autonomously – see include but are not limited to paragraphs 0029, 0031).
However, Yu does not explicitly disclose comparing the predicted weather event to historical weather events during which power disruptions occurred as indicated by historical utility data corresponding to the historical weather events. And analyzing the costs to charge the vehicle.
Diamond discloses comparing the predicted weather event to historical weather events during which power disruptions occurred as indicated by historical utility data corresponding to the historical weather events (anticipation of providing preemptive reenergizing alerts. In an embodiment, the server system 54 includes a weather data server 60 that stores weather related data. The weather related data may include, but is not limited to, weather history including historic weather data including storm information that has caused power outages in the past – see include, but are not limited to paragraph 0050. And analyzing the costs to charge the vehicle (analyze cost to charge the vehicle – see include but are not limited to Fgi.4, paragraph 0070-0071).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yu with the teaching of comparing the predicted weather event to historical weather events during which power disruptions occurred as indicated by historical utility data corresponding to the historical weather events. And analyzing the costs to charge the vehicle as taught by Diamond in order to yield predicable result of informing user of potential outage and the cost to charge the vehicle if the outage occurred.
Regarding claim 2, Yu in view of Diamond disclose the method as recited in claim 1, as discussed supra with respect to the same.
Yu teach, wherein generating the power status report further includes generating a charge strategy to charge the vehicle to a maximum charge possible before the potential power disruption while minimizing charging costs, wherein the charge strategy is based on a predictive algorithm (generating charge strategy to charge the vehicle before the potential power outage to minimize the charging cost -see include but are not limited to Yu paragraphs 0028, 0031-0033; Diamond paragraph 0081).
Regarding claim 3, Yu in view of Diamond disclose the method as recited in claim 2, as discussed supra with respect to the same.
Yu teach, wherein commanding charging of the vehicle includes charging the vehicle according to the charge strategy (the charging of the vehicle is being notifies to the user to recharge the vehicle, the vehicle is automatically giving driving instruction to drive to the charging station – see include but are not limited to Yu paragraph 0029- 0031).
Regarding claim 4, Yu in view of Diamond disclose the method as recited in claim 1, as discussed supra with respect to the same.
Diamond teach, wherein monitoring the weather forecast data for updates occurs when charging the vehicle starts (power disruption data continued to be monitor when charging – see include but are not limited to Diamond paragraph 0081).
Regarding claim 5, Yu disclose the method as recited in claim 4, further comprising commanding a connecting of the vehicle to a power station when the vehicle is charging (command the vehicle to recharge the battery at the charging station – see include but are not limited to paragraph 0033),
However, Yu does not explicitly disclose commanding an automatic disconnecting of the vehicle from the power station when one of the updates to the weather forecast data includes a lightning strike within a predetermined distance of the vehicle.
Diamond disclose commanding an automatic disconnecting of the vehicle from the power station when one of the updates to the weather forecast data includes a lightning strike within a predetermined distance of the vehicle (commanding the charging of the vehicle when the vehicle is charging and command stop charging when the cost surge occurs due to detected storm within the distance of the vehicle – see include but are not limited to Diamond paragraphs 0050, 0067-0068).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yu with the teaching of commanding an automatic disconnecting of the vehicle from the power station when one of the updates to the weather forecast data includes a lightning strike within a predetermined distance of the vehicle as taught by Diamond in order to yield predicable result ensure the safety of the user and avoid cost surge due to the predicted weather event.
Regarding claim 6, Yu in view of Diamond disclose the method as recited in claim 5, as discussed supra with respect to the same.
Diamond teach, further comprising monitoring the weather forecast data after the lightning strike (power disruption data (including weather event like storm) continued to be monitor when charging – see include but are not limited to Diamond paragraph 0081); and automatically reconnecting the vehicle to the power station after a predetermined time has elapsed without a subsequent lightning strike (automatically recharging the vehicle if the brown out and costs surge caused by the detected storm – see include but are not limited to Diamond paragraphs 0062-0063, 0067-0068).
Regarding claim 7, Yu in view of Diamond disclose the method as recited in claim 5, as discussed supra with respect to the same.
Diamond teach, further comprising automatically alerting a user, via the at least one user interface, when the lightning strike is within the predetermined distance of the vehicle (automatically alert user through an interface the storm in within the region of the vehicle – see include but are not limited to Diamond paragraphs 0046, 0050)
Regarding claim 8, Yu in view of Diamond disclose the method as recited in claim 1, as discussed supra with respect to the same.
Diamond teach, wherein charging the vehicle based upon the power status report includes sending the power status report to the at least one user interface (sending power status report to the user interface – see include but are not limited to Diamond Fig. 4-5 paragraphs 70-71; see Yu Fig. 5A-5B, paragraph 0026).
Regarding claim 9, Yu in view of Diamond disclose the method as recited in claim 1, as discussed supra with respect to the same.
Diamond teach, wherein the at least one user interface includes an HMI in the vehicle and/or a mobile application (user interface include a mobile application – see Diamond Fig. 4) (HMI in vehicle Yu- 0026).
Regarding claim 10, Yu disclose a method of predictively charging a vehicle including a rechargeable energy storage system (RESS) (home energy management system include a rechargeable energy storage– see include but are not limited to Fig.2, paragraphs 0002-0003), the method comprising: providing a power station that is connectable to a vehicle including a RESS (power station (EVSE) that connectable to the vehicle – see include but are not limited to Fig. 2 paragraphs 0020); providing a telematics system including a telematics module (telematics control unit – see paragraph 0024) , at least one external data source, a utility data source (data receive utility data from the cloud – see paragraph 0026), and at least one user interface (user interface – see paragraph 0020), wherein the telematics module is disposed in a vehicle (telematics control unit is within the vehicle – see Fig 2. Paragraph 0024) and the telematics module is in communication with the at least one external data source, the utility data source, the at least one user interface, and the vehicle (telematics control receiving data from the cloud – see include but are not limited to paragraph 0024); receiving, via the telematics system weather forecast data from the at least one external data source (receiving weather data from the cloud using the telematics control – see include, but are not limited to paragraphs 0020, 0024); monitoring, via the telematics system the weather forecast data for a predicted weather event (monitoring the weather forecast for predict weather event- see paragraph 0026); determining, via the telematics system, whether the predicted weather event is indicative of a potential power disruption based upon the comparison (determining power outage based on weather forecast – see include but are not limited to paragraph 0026); generating a power status report via the telematics system, wherein the power status report is generated based upon determining that the predicted weather event is indicative of the potential power disruption (generating report of energy status based on the predicted weather event that lead to a potential power outage – see include but are not limited to paragraphs 0027-0028), and wherein generating the power status report includes: analyzing an amount of energy stored in the vehicle (analyzing amount of energy stored in the vehicle – see paragraph 0031); analyzing a household power consumption based on household power consumption data from the utility data source (analyze power consumption of the household based on data from utility course collected from the cloud – see include but are not limited to Fig. 5A-5B, paragraphs 0031-0032); analyzing predicted conditions of the predicted weather event (predict weather event based on the weather forecast – see include but are not limited to paragraph 0026) and sending the power status report to the at least one user interface (sending power status to user interface – see include but are not limited to FIG. 5A-5B paragraphs 0020, 0026); and commanding a charging of the vehicle based on the power status report in preparation for the potential power disruption indicated by the predicted weather event (suggesting a charging of vehicle based on the power status in preparation for the power outage – see include but are not limited to paragraph 0030-0031). Where in charging of the vehicle start automatically when an auto-charge is enabled, and/or starts based on a user input to the at least one user interface when the auto-charge is not enabled (when the power drop to a certain threshold HEMS may instruct the vehicle to recharge the battery and return to the house, the vehicle is provided with autonomous driving features, autonomous driving instruction may be provided. In case that the vehicle is provided with autonomous driving features, the instructions may further include driving instructions for the ADC to direct the vehicle to drive to the target charging station autonomously – see include but are not limited to paragraphs 0029, 0031).
However, Yu does not explicitly disclose comparing the predicted weather event to historical weather events during which power disruptions occurred as indicated by historical utility data corresponding to the historical weather events. And analyzing the costs to charge the vehicle.
Diamond discloses comparing the predicted weather event to historical weather events during which power disruptions occurred as indicated by historical utility data corresponding to the historical weather events (anticipation of providing preemptive reenergizing alerts. In an embodiment, the server system 54 includes a weather data server 60 that stores weather related data. The weather related data may include, but is not limited to, weather history including historic weather data including storm information that has caused power outages in the past – see include, but are not limited to paragraph 0050. And analyzing the costs to charge the vehicle (analyze cost to charge the vehicle – see include but are not limited to Fgi.4, paragraph 0070-0071).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yu with the teaching of comparing the predicted weather event to historical weather events during which power disruptions occurred as indicated by historical utility data corresponding to the historical weather events. And analyzing the costs to charge the vehicle as taught by Diamond in order to yield predicable result of informing user of potential outage and the cost to charge the vehicle if the outage occurred.
Regarding claim 11, Yu in view of Diamond disclose the method as recited in claim 10, as discussed supra with respect to the same.
Yu teach, wherein generating the power status report further includes generating a charge strategy to charge the vehicle to a maximum charge possible before the potential power disruption while minimizing charging costs, wherein the charge strategy is based on a predictive algorithm (generating charge strategy to charge the vehicle before the potential power outage to minimize the charging cost -see include but are not limited to Yu paragraphs 0028, 0031-0033; Diamond paragraph 0081).
Regarding claim 12, Yu in view of Diamond disclose the method as recited in claim 11, as discussed supra with respect to the same.
Yu teach, wherein commanding charging of the vehicle includes charging the vehicle according to the charge strategy (the charging of the vehicle is being notifies to the user to recharge the vehicle, the vehicle is automatically giving driving instruction to drive to the charging station – see include but are not limited to Yu paragraph 0031).
Regarding claim 13, Yu disclose Regarding claim 1, Yu discloses a system for predictively charging a vehicle including a rechargeable energy storage system (RESS) (home energy management system include a rechargeable energy storage– see include but are not limited to Fig.2, paragraphs 0002-0003), the method comprising: providing a telematics system including a telematics module (telematics control unit – see paragraph 0024) , at least one external data source, a utility data source (data receive utility data from the cloud – see paragraph 0026), and at least one user interface (user interface – see paragraph 0020), wherein the telematics module is disposed in a vehicle (telematics control unit is within the vehicle – see Fig 2. Paragraph 0024) and the telematics module is in communication with the at least one external data source, the utility data source, the at least one user interface, and the vehicle (telematics control receiving data from the cloud – see include but are not limited to paragraph 0024); receiving weather forecast data from the at least one external data source via the telematics system (receiving weather data from the cloud using the telematics control – see include, but are not limited to paragraphs 0020, 0024); monitoring the weather forecast data for a predicted weather event via the telematics system (monitoring the weather forecast for predict weather event- see paragraph 0026); determining whether the predicted weather event is indicative of a potential power disruption based upon the comparison (determining power outage based on weather forecast – see include but are not limited to paragraph 0026); generating a power status report via the telematics system, wherein the power status report is generated based upon determining that the predicted weather event is indicative of the potential power disruption (generating report of energy status based on the predicted weather event that lead to a potential power outage – see include but are not limited to paragraphs 0027-0028), and wherein generating the power status report includes: analyzing an amount of energy stored in the vehicle (analyzing amount of energy stored in the vehicle – see paragraph 0031); analyzing a household power consumption based on household power consumption data from the utility data source (analyze power consumption of the household based on data from utility course collected from the cloud – see include but are not limited to Fig. 5A-5B, paragraphs 0031-0032); analyzing predicted conditions of the predicted weather event (predict weather event based on the weather forecast – see include but are not limited to paragraph 0026) and sending the power status report to the at least one user interface (sending power status to user interface – see include but are not limited to FIG. 5A-5B paragraphs 0020, 0026); and commanding a charging of the vehicle based on the power status report in preparation for the potential power disruption indicated by the predicted weather event (suggesting a charging of vehicle based on the power status in preparation for the power outage – see include but are not limited to paragraph 0030-0031). Where in charging of the vehicle start automatically when an auto-charge is enabled, and/or starts based on a user input to the at least one user interface when the auto-charge is not enabled (when the power drop to a certain threshold HEMS may instruct the vehicle to recharge the battery and return to the house, the vehicle is provided with autonomous driving features, autonomous driving instruction may be provided. In case that the vehicle is provided with autonomous driving features, the instructions may further include driving instructions for the ADC to direct the vehicle to drive to the target charging station autonomously – see include but are not limited to paragraphs 0029, 0031).
However, Yu does not explicitly disclose comparing the predicted weather event to historical weather events during which power disruptions occurred as indicated by historical utility data corresponding to the historical weather events. And analyzing the costs to charge the vehicle.
Diamond discloses comparing the predicted weather event to historical weather events during which power disruptions occurred as indicated by historical utility data corresponding to the historical weather events (anticipation of providing preemptive reenergizing alerts. In an embodiment, the server system 54 includes a weather data server 60 that stores weather related data. The weather related data may include, but is not limited to, weather history including historic weather data including storm information that has caused power outages in the past – see include, but are not limited to paragraph 0050. And analyzing the costs to charge the vehicle (analyze cost to charge the vehicle – see include but are not limited to Fgi.4, paragraph 0070-0071).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yu with the teaching of comparing the predicted weather event to historical weather events during which power disruptions occurred as indicated by historical utility data corresponding to the historical weather events. And analyzing the costs to charge the vehicle as taught by Diamond in order to yield predicable result of informing user of potential outage and the cost to charge the vehicle if the outage occurred.
Regarding claim 14, Yu in view of Diamond disclose the method as recited in claim 13, as discussed supra with respect to the same.
Yu teach, wherein generating the power status report includes generating a charge strategy to charge the vehicle to a maximum charge possible before the potential power disruption while minimizing charging costs, wherein the charge strategy is based on a predictive algorithm (generating charge strategy to charge the vehicle before the potential power outage to minimize the charging cost -see include but are not limited to Yu paragraphs 0028, 0031-0033; Diamond paragraph 0081).
Regarding claim 15, Yu in view of Diamond disclose the method as recited in claim 14, as discussed supra with respect to the same.
Yu teach, wherein commanding charging of the vehicle includes charging the vehicle according to the charge strategy (the charging of the vehicle is being notifies to the user to recharge the vehicle, the vehicle is automatically giving driving instruction to drive to the charging station – see include but are not limited to Yu paragraph 0031).
Regarding claim 16, Yu in view of Diamond disclose the method as recited in claim 13, as discussed supra with respect to the same.
Diamond teach, wherein monitoring the weather forecast data for updates occurs when charging the vehicle starts (power disruption data continued to be monitor when charging – see include but are not limited to Diamond paragraph 0081).
Regarding claim 17, Yu disclose the method as recited in claim 16, further comprising commanding a connecting of the vehicle to a power station when the vehicle is charging (command the vehicle to recharge the battery at the charging station – see include but are not limited to paragraph 0033),
However, Yu does not explicitly disclose commanding an automatic disconnecting of the vehicle from the power station when one of the updates to the weather forecast data includes a lightning strike within a predetermined distance of the vehicle.
Diamond disclose commanding an automatic disconnecting of the vehicle from the power station when one of the updates to the weather forecast data includes a lightning strike within a predetermined distance of the vehicle (commanding the charging of the vehicle when the vehicle is charging and command stop charging when the cost surge occurs due to detected storm within the distance of the vehicle – see include but are not limited to Diamond paragraphs 0050, 0067-0068).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yu with the teaching of commanding an automatic disconnecting of the vehicle from the power station when one of the updates to the weather forecast data includes a lightning strike within a predetermined distance of the vehicle as taught by Diamond in order to yield predicable result ensure the safety of the user and avoid cost surge due to the predicted weather event.
Regarding claim 18, Yu in view of Diamond disclose the method as recited in claim 17, as discussed supra with respect to the same.
Diamond teach, further comprising automatically alerting a user, via the at least one user interface, when the lightning strike is within the predetermined distance of the vehicle (automatically alert user through an interface the storm in within the region of the vehicle – see include but are not limited to Diamond paragraphs 0046, 0050)
Regarding claim 19, Yu in view of Diamond disclose the method as recited in claim 17, as discussed supra with respect to the same.
Diamond teach, further comprising monitoring the weather forecast data after the lightning strike (power disruption data (including weather event like storm) continued to be monitor when charging – see include but are not limited to Diamond paragraph 0081); and automatically reconnecting the vehicle to the power station after a predetermined time has elapsed without a subsequent lightning strike (automatically recharging the vehicle if the brown out and costs surge caused by the detected storm – see include but are not limited to Diamond paragraphs 0062-0063, 0067-0068).
Regarding claim 20, Yu in view of Diamond disclose the method as recited in claim 13, as discussed supra with respect to the same.
Diamond teach, wherein the at least one user interface includes an HMI in the vehicle and/or a mobile application (user interface include a mobile application – see Diamond Fig. 4) (HMI in vehicle Yu- 0026).
Conclusion
The Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Page et al. (US 20050041355) disclose detect and lightning strike and device protection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.K.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3665 /CHRISTIAN CHACE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665