Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: it appears that the enclosure “320” should be changed to “20” in the paragraph [0025].
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 11, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ina et al (US 2019/0100171 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ina discloses an apparatus comprising:
a working machine (Fig. 1 and para 32 “vehicle S”) to perform one or more work tasks (capturing images from para 33 “captured image of the rear of the vehicle S”), wherein the working machine (vehicle S) includes a transportation system (car cabin) and one or more implements (attaching camera 1 from para 32 “onboard camera 1 serving as an onboard optical sensor is arranged on the back door Ba”) to perform the one or more work tasks (capturing image);
wherein the working machine (vehicle S) includes a perception system to generate a display for an operator of the working machine or map an environment based data collected by one or more
sensors on the working machine, or wherein motorized components of the transportation system
or the one or more implements are driven by actuators controlled autonomously or semi-
autonomously, based on the collected data, to perform the one or more work tasks (para 33 “As shown in FIG. 1, when, for example, a shift lever SL of a transmission is operated to a reverse position, the onboard camera 1 transmits a captured image of the rear of the vehicle S to a display DSP in the vehicle so that the display DSP shows the captured image”);
a sensor assembly (Figs. 2 and 3, and para 32 “onboard camera 1 serving as an onboard optical sensor”) having a housing defining an environmentally isolated cavity (inside of 1) with at least one of the one or more sensors (onboard camera 1 contains an onboard sensor as supported in para 32) contained therein, the sensor assembly further including:
a signal-permeable material (“lens surface 3” in the front face of 1) having an interior surface (inside of 1) and an exterior surface (outside of 1), the interior surface defining part of the environmentally isolated cavity (interior surface is the environmentally isolated cavity, see 1); and
a body (body of para 34 “first nozzle unit 5”; body of 7) to passively divert the water and/or debris away from the exterior surface of the signal-permeable material, at least part the exterior surface of the signal-permeable material inset with respect to a part of the body (the body of first nozzle unit 5 passively divert any foreign materials on lens surface 3);
one or more devices (Fig. 3 and para 34 “cleaning liquid ejection port 4”; para 36 “air ejection port 7”) to generate a barrier (para 34 “cleaning liquid 6”; para 36 air or fluid from “fluid ejection port”) over part of the exterior surface of the signal-permeable material (lens surface 3), wherein the actively generated barrier repeals particulate from at least part of the exterior surface of the signal-permeable material (the cleaning liquid repeals particulate from the exterior surface of lens surface 3).
Regarding claim 2, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the body (body of 7) comprises an overhanging lip (see the overhanging lip of 7 as shown in Fig. 5) above the exterior surface of the signal-permeable material (Fig. 3, the exterior surface of lens surface 3), wherein a top of the overhanging lip diverts the water and/or debris (the lip diverts the water and/or debris), and wherein the one or more devices include one or more fluid output ports located on an underside of the overhanging lip (at least air ejection port 7 is located on an underside of overhanging lip shown in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 3, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the body (Fig. 8, the body of 7) defines a channel having an ingress to receive the water and/or debris and an egress to release the water and/or debris away from the exterior surface of the signal-permeable material (the channel at 10 can retain any water and/or debris and prevent the water and/or debris from the exterior surface of lens surface 3).
Regarding claim 4, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the actively generated barrier comprises an gas barrier (air form air ejection port 7) and the one or more devices include one or more fluid ports to output gas of the gas barrier (fluid from cleaning liquid ejection port 4).
Regarding claim 6, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein a first side of the body passively diverts the
water and/or debris away from the exterior surface of the signal-permeable material (top surfaces of 5 and 7 passively diverts the water and/or debris away from the exterior surface of lens surface 3), wherein the body comprises a second different side including one or more cleaning ports to output a solvent or other fluid on the exterior surface of the signal-permeable material during a cleaning cycle (bottom surfaces of 5 and 7 include cleaning ports 4 and 7 to output a solvent or other fluid on the exterior surface of lens surface 3).
Regarding claim 11, Ina discloses a sensor assembly (Figs. 2 and 3, and para 32 “onboard camera 1 serving as an onboard optical sensor”) for a working machine (Fig. 1 and para 32 “vehicle S”), the sensor assembly comprising:
at least one sensor (onboard camera 1 contains an onboard sensor as supported in para 32) to collect at least a portion of data driving a perception system of the working machine or driving autonomously or semi-autonomously control of actuators of the working machine (para 33 “As shown in FIG. 1, when, for example, a shift lever SL of a transmission is operated to a reverse position, the onboard camera 1 transmits a captured image of the rear of the vehicle S to a display DSP in the vehicle so that the display DSP shows the captured image”);
a housing (Fig. 3, inside of 1) defining an environmentally isolated cavity containing the at least one sensor (onboard camera 1 contains an onboard sensor as supported in para 32), the housing comprising:
a signal-permeable material (“lens surface 3” in the front face of 1) having an interior surface (inside of 1) and an exterior surface (outside of 1), the interior surface defining part of the environmentally isolated cavity (interior surface is the environmentally isolated cavity, see 1);
a body (body of para 34 “first nozzle unit 5”; body of 7) to passively divert the water and/or debris away from the exterior surface of the signal-permeable material, at least part the exterior surface of the signal-permeable material inset with respect to a part of the body (the body of first nozzle unit 5 passively divert any foreign materials on lens surface 3); and
one or more devices (Fig. 3 and para 34 “cleaning liquid ejection port 4”; para 36 “air ejection port 7”) to generate a barrier (para 34 “cleaning liquid 6”; para 36 air or fluid from “fluid ejection port”) over part of the exterior surface of the signal-permeable material (lens surface 3), wherein the actively generated barrier repeals particulate from at least part of the exterior surface of the signal-permeable material (the cleaning liquid repeals particulate from the exterior surface of lens surface 3).
Regarding claim 12 the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the actively generated barrier comprises an gas barrier (air form air ejection port 7) and the one or more devices include one or more fluid ports to output gas of the gas barrier (fluid from cleaning liquid ejection port 4).
Regarding claim 14, the apparatus of claim 11, wherein a first side of the body passively diverts the
water and/or debris away from the exterior surface of the signal-permeable material (top surfaces of 5 and 7 passively diverts the water and/or debris away from the exterior surface of lens surface 3), wherein the body comprises a second different side including one or more cleaning ports to output a solvent or other fluid on the exterior surface of the signal-permeable material during a cleaning cycle (bottom surfaces of 5 and 7 include cleaning ports 4 and 7 to output a solvent or other fluid on the exterior surface of lens surface 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ina et al (US 2019/0100171 A1) in view of Mazumder (US 2013/0263393 A1).
Ina discloses the claimed invention as set forth above except for wherein the actively generated barrier comprises an electrostatic barrier and the one or more devices include one or more electrodes to generate the electrostatic static barrier.
Mazumder discloses the actively generated barrier comprises an electrostatic barrier and the one or more devices include one or more electrodes to generate the electrostatic static barrier (para 8 “when the electrodes are activated by phased voltage, the dust particles on the surface of the film become electrostatically charged and are removed by the alternating electric field. Over 90% of deposited dust can be removed within minutes, using a very small fraction of the energy produced by the panels. No water or mechanical action is involved. Also described are processes for manufacturing self-cleaning solar panels and concentrators, with emphasis on scalability, durability and on large-scale production cost”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention before the effective filing date to the actively generated barrier comprises an electrostatic barrier and the one or more devices include one or more electrodes to generate the electrostatic static barrier as taught by Mazumder for the purpose of providing barriers that use a very small fraction of energy (para 8).
Claims 7-10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ina et al (US 2019/0100171 A1) in view of Frederick et al (US 2020/0047717 A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Ina discloses the claimed invention as set forth above except for further comprising circuitry to detect signal degradation of a signal collected by the at least one sensor and initiate the cleaning cycle in response to the detected signal degradation.
Frederick discloses a circuitry to detect signal degradation of a signal collected by the at least one sensor and initiate the cleaning cycle in response to the detected signal degradation (para 43 “a pre-determined signal quality degradation level is usually defined as the signal quality threshold of a sensor below which the field of view of the sensor is affected and the normal operation of the sensor is not guaranteed. Once the signal quality of the sensor is below its pre-determined signal quality threshold, a cleaning program will be initiated and the processing circuitry will propose a cleaning plan based on the collected real-time weather data and the estimated features of the obstructions. Following approval of the proposed cleaning plan, a cleaning system will clean the obstructions according to the proposed cleaning plan”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention before the effective filing date to further comprising circuitry to detect signal degradation of a signal collected by the at least one sensor and initiate the cleaning cycle in response to the detected signal degradation as taught by Frederick for the purpose of obtaining a clear view of vehicle surrounding.
Regarding claim 8, in combination, Frederick discloses a circuitry to detect one or more
characteristics of contaminant attached to the exterior surface of the signal-permeable material, wherein the cleaning cycle is based on the one or more detected characteristics (para 43 “a pre-determined signal quality degradation level is usually defined as the signal quality threshold of a sensor below which the field of view of the sensor is affected and the normal operation of the sensor is not guaranteed. Once the signal quality of the sensor is below its pre-determined signal quality threshold, a cleaning program will be initiated and the processing circuitry will propose a cleaning plan based on the collected real-time weather data and the estimated features of the obstructions. Following approval of the proposed cleaning plan, a cleaning system will clean the obstructions according to the proposed cleaning plan”).
Regarding claim 9, in combination, Frederick discloses wherein the at least one sensor located in the cavity (Fig. 4 “sensor system 404”) is used to detect the one or more characteristics of the attached debris (see Figs 2 and 3 “obstructions detection”).
Regarding claim 10, Ina in view of Frederick discloses the claimed invention as set forth above except for wherein the one or more sensors include at least one sensor located outside the cavity, wherein the at least one sensor located outside the cavity is used to detect the one or more characteristics of the attached contaminant.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention before the effective filing date to add one or more sensors located outside the cavity to increase the monitoring and managing the cleanliness vehicle surrounding.
Conclusion
6/11/2026
/EUNCHA P CHERRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872