DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siomina et al. (Patent No. 11190319).
- With respect to claim 1, Siomina teaches a method for dynamic controlling a modem chip, comprising: obtaining at least one traffic type factor or at least one channel condition factor (e.g. abstract discloses “A method is disclosed that includes determining a presence of a first type of reference signal having a first bandwidth configuration; obtaining a second bandwidth configuration associated with a second type of reference signal, the second bandwidth configuration being based on the presence of the first type of reference signal”); deciding a cell-specific reference signal (CRS) reception mode according to the traffic type factor or the channel condition factor (e.g. block S108, S128 in Fig. 8-9 discloses “Performing one or more operational tasks, based on the obtained second bandwidth configuration”); and setting at least one hardware parameter including a partial off time of a baseband processing circuit (e.g. col. 2, lines 36-37, where in the DRX sleep period such as partial off time a baseband processing circuit) according to the CRS reception mode to receive a plurality of cell-specific reference signals fully or partially (e.g. Fig. 1 shows the CRS bandwidth with full and smaller bandwidth e.g. step 3 in Fig. 8). Siomina implicitly fails to discloses setting at least one hardware parameter, however it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to consider the setting bandwidth in Siomina’s invention as the setting hardware parameter for reducing power.
- With respect to claim 3, Siomina teaches wherein the traffic type factor includes a transmission content (see col. 12, lines 48-55).
- With respect to claim 4, Siomina teaches wherein the channel condition factor is a Block Error Rate (BLER), a Signal-to-Noise Ratio (SNR), a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) (see col. 11, lines 35-55), a mobility of a communication device, a valid downlink sub-frame number or a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) error rate.
- With respect to claim 5, Siomina teaches wherein the hardware parameter is a partial off time of a Radio Frequency Front-End (RFFE) circuit, a Radio Frequency Integrated Circuit (RFIC) (e.g. col. 12, lines 10-17), an Analog-to-Digital Converter (ADC) or a digital hardware accelerator of a baseband processing circuit.
- With respect to claim 7, Siomina teaches wherein the CRS reception mode is decided according to a synchronization state of a synchronization circuit, wherein the synchronization state includes a plurality of synchronization gears (e.g. time/frequency synchronization in col 2, lines 1-5; col. 5, lines 25-45).
- With respect to claim 8, Siomina teaches wherein the CRS reception mode is decided according to a channel estimation state of a channel estimation circuit, wherein the channel estimation state includes a plurality of channel estimation gears (e.g. network based CRS mitigation in bridge paraph between col. 1-2).
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siomina et al. (Patent No. 11190319) in view of Homchaudhuri et al. (Pub. No. 20170301259).
- With respect to claim 6, Siomina fails to teaches the hardware parameter is a setting voltage of a Dynamic Voltage and Frequency Scaling (DVFS) circuit, but Homchaudhuri teaches DVFS (see abstract) for saving power in wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to implement the DVFS of Homchaudhuri into Siomina’s invention for saving power in wireless communication.
Claim(s) 9, 11-17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Homchaudhuri et al. (Pub. No. 20170301259) in view of Siomina et al. (Patent No. 11190319).
- With respect to claims 9, 14 and 17, Homchaudhuri teaches a modem chip, comprising: a baseband processing circuit; a Dynamic Voltage and Frequency Scaling (DVFS) circuit (see par. 56, 71); and a controller, coupled to the baseband processing circuit and the DVFS circuit (see Fig. 3, par. 72), but fails to discloses the controller is configured to obtain at least one traffic type factor or at least one channel condition factor, decide a cell-specific reference signal (CRS) reception mode according to the traffic type factor or the channel condition factor, and set at least one hardware parameter of the baseband processing circuit or the DVFS circuit according to the CRS reception mode to receive a plurality of cell-specific reference signals fully or partially. Siomina teaches obtaining at least one traffic type factor or at least one channel condition factor (e.g. abstract discloses “A method is disclosed that includes determining a presence of a first type of reference signal having a first bandwidth configuration; obtaining a second bandwidth configuration associated with a second type of reference signal, the second bandwidth configuration being based on the presence of the first type of reference signal”); deciding a cell-specific reference signal (CRS) reception mode according to the traffic type factor or the channel condition factor (e.g. block S108, S128 in Fig. 8-9 discloses “Performing one or more operational tasks, based on the obtained second bandwidth configuration”); and setting at least one hardware parameter according to the CRS reception mode to receive a plurality of cell-specific reference signals fully or partially and the hardware parameter includes a partial off time of the baseband processing circuit (e.g. col. 2, lines 36-37 discloses DRX sleep periods) (e.g. Fig. 1 shows the CRS bandwidth with full and smaller bandwidth e.g. step 3 in Fig. 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to implement the Siomina’s invention in to Homchaudhuri’s invention for reducing power in wireless communication.
- With respect to claim 11, Siomina teaches wherein the traffic type factor includes a transmission content (see col. 12, lines 48-55).
- With respect to claim 12, 19, Siomina teaches wherein the channel condition factor is a Block Error Rate (BLER), a Signal-to-Noise Ratio (SNR), a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) (see col. 11, lines 35-55), a mobility of a communication device, a valid downlink sub-frame number or a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) error rate.
- With respect to claim 13, 20, Siomina teaches wherein the hardware parameter is a partial off time of a Radio Frequency Front-End (RFFE) circuit, a Radio Frequency Integrated Circuit (RFIC) (e.g. col. 12, lines 10-17), an Analog-to-Digital Converter (ADC) or a digital hardware accelerator of a baseband processing circuit.
- With respect to claim 15, Siomina teaches wherein the CRS reception mode is decided according to a synchronization state of a synchronization circuit, wherein the synchronization state includes a plurality of synchronization gears (e.g. time/frequency synchronization in col 2, lines 1-5; col. 5, lines 25-45).
- With respect to claim 16, Siomina teaches wherein the CRS reception mode is decided according to a channel estimation state of a channel estimation circuit, wherein the channel estimation state includes a plurality of channel estimation gears (e.g. network based CRS mitigation in bridge paraph between col. 1-2).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHUC H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471