Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13, 5-13, 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Connor (20160375363).
In claims 1, 11, and 19, Connor discloses
Monitoring gameplay of a user of a game, wherein the gameplay is monitored to identify interactive skills of the gameplay by the user during a session of the game (paragraphs 21, 23, 28, 31, 34, 38, figure 2 #210-230, figure 3 #302, 320, 322)
Determining that the interactive skills of gameplay have fallen below a threshold level for progressing the game to a predetermined goal (paragraphs 29, 31, 37, 38, figure 2 #240, figure 3. It is noted by examiner that the BRI of the term “progressing” would simply mean any sort of goal that a player may set for themselves within the game, such as achieving a higher score, or winning a race. The game is assigning a skill level to the game and providing assistance which would result in better results within the game which would result in achieving goals, and thus progressing, see for example paragraph 17, where the races between an elite athlete and a patient become competitive. As the patients “compete against” the elite athlete in a “race”, the predetermined goal is to win the race against the elite athlete)
Initiating gameplay assistance responsive to the interactive skills falling below the threshold level for progressing the game to the predetermined goal, (paragraphs 29, 31, 38, figure 2 #245, figure 3) the gameplay assistance includes a blended bifurcation of user inputs to complete one or more interactive tasks of the game, wherein the blended bifurcation of user inputs includes an amount of assistance inputs that override selected ones of the user inputs (paragraphs 22-25, 29-31, 35-38, figure 2 #250, figure 3 #308, 330)
Wherein the amount of assistance inputs are configured to vary over time during the gameplay of the game to maintain the interactive skills of the gameplay above the threshold level for progressing the game to the predetermined goal (paragraphs 23-25, 29-31, 35-38, figure 3 #308, 330)
In claims 2 and 12, Connor discloses the interactive skills of gameplay include a level of the gameplay (paragraphs 14, 21, 28)
In claims 3 and 13, Connor discloses the threshold level for progressing the game to the predetermined goal is a level for achieving a task during the session or a predetermined number of virtual points during the session or a combination thereof (paragraphs 21, 33)
In claims 5 and 15, Connor discloses the blended bifurcation is provided, generating an indicator indicating the provision of the blended bifurcation (figure 1 #146, paragraph 25)
In claims 6 and 16, Connor discloses said varying amount of assistance includes overriding input controls of a device used by the user (paragraphs 24, 37, 38)
In claims 7, 17, and 20, Connor discloses the assistive inputs are generated by an AI bot (paragraphs 36-38)
In claims 8 and 18, Connor discloses the user is a first user, wherein the assistive inputs are received from a second user having access to the session of the game (paragraphs 18-31, babysitter, mother, husband)
In claim 9, Connor discloses said initiating the gameplay assistance begins an interactive cue is provided to the user to notify that the gameplay assistance is being provided via the blended bifurcation of inputs (figure 1 #146, paragraph 25)
In claim 10, Connor discloses enabling a cancel of the gameplay assistance by the user, responsive to the interactive cue being provided to the user. (paragraphs 25, 31, putting down controller)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Connor
In claims 4 and 14, Connor discloses providing a hint of an interactive skill of gameplay (It is noted by examiner that regular gameplay display output may teach the BRI of “hint”, as it at provides guidance as to what inputs should be pressed. For example, the display of the road in figure 1 would be a “hint” as to where you’d like for the car to go.), responsive to providing the hint, determining that the interactive skills of gameplay remain below the threshold level for progressing the game to the predetermined goal, (paragraphs 29, 31, 38, figure 2 #245, figure 3) wherein the blended bifurcation of user inputs to complete the one or more interactive tasks of the game is provided responsive to the determining that the interactive skills of gameplay remain below the threshold level for progressing the game to the predetermined goal (paragraphs 22-25, 29-31, 35-38, figure 2 #250, figure 3 #308, 330). Connor fails to disclose the hint is provided via a haptic input however Official notice is taken that use of haptic outputs within video games to provide information about a virtual world was notoriously well known in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Connor with this well known technique in order to allow for the gameplay experience to have enhanced realism
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the newly added limitations overcome the prior art of record, arguing “Applicant respectfully requests clarification or correction pointing to the paragraphs of Connor that teach or suggest “the goal of the game itself may be to beat other players”, Examiner already provided paragraph 17 which shows patients competing against an elite athlete in a race. The predetermined goal of a competitive race is to place as highly as possible against other racers.
Applicant argues that paragraph 38 may hurt the player’s ability to progress towards a predetermined goal in some counterexamples, however paragraph 37 discloses an embodiment where the steering values are compared against “a computer controlled player perfom[ing] a perfect turn”.
Conclusion
/THOMAS H HENRY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715