DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 20-26, 28, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsuno (US2016/0132055 A1).
Regarding to Claim 20, Matsuno teaches a vehicle steering system comprising:
automated driving control code interfaced to a forward-looking sensor system and configured to receive a data signal indicating road trajectory and vehicle position information, and to generate a signal representing a target steering angle in dependence on the received data signal (Paragraphs 9, 32, based on the teachings, it would be known the vehicle comprises system to perform certain operation to reflect the limitations under the broadest reasonable interpretation); and
power assisted steering code interfaced to the automated driving control code and configured to receive the signal representing the target steering angle and to calculate, from the target steering angle, a motor torque value for controlling a steering motor (Paragraphs 37-41);
wherein the power assisted steering code comprises dynamic limit calculation code configured to regulate the motor torque value that is to be applied to the steering motor when the driver applies a steering input (Paragraphs 37-41).
Regarding to Claim 21, Matsuno teaches the vehicle steering system, wherein the motor torque value is regulated based on a driver-applied steering input parameter (Paragraphs 37-41)
Regarding to Claim 22, Matsuno teaches the vehicle steering system, wherein the driver-applied steering input parameter is a torque parameter calculated at the automated driving controller and communicated to the power assisted steering module (Paragraphs 37-41).
Regrading to Claim 23, Matsuno teaches the vehicle steering system, wherein the influence of the automated driving controller is reduced as the driver-applied steering input parameter increases (Paragraph 44).
Regarding to Claim 24, Matsuno teaches the vehicle steering system, wherein the regulation of the motor torque value is further dependent on a steering angle error which is the difference between the target steering angle and an actual steering angle provided to a steering wheel of the steering system (Paragraphs 37-41, the actual turn angle and the target steering angle would reflect the limitations under the broadest reasonable interpretation).
Regarding to Claim 25, Matsuno teaches the vehicle steering system, wherein if a driver-applied steering input parameter resulting from a significant steering input from the driver corresponds to a divergence from a current path of the vehicle according to the target steering angle, the motor torque value is regulated to reduce the influence of the automated driving controller to zero (Paragraphs 44, the examiner considered any input larger than zero can be considered as a significant steering input).
Regarding to Claim 26, Matsuno teaches the vehicle steering system, wherein if a driver-applied steering input parameter resulting from a steering input from the driver corresponds, within a certain tolerance, to the target steering angle, the influence of the automated driving controller is not reduced (Paragraph 44 would teach the limitations under the broadest reasonable interpretation if the tolerance is zero).
Regarding to Claim 28, Matsuno teaches a vehicle comprising a vehicle steering system as claimed in claim 20 (Abstract).
Regarding to Claim 29, Matsuno teaches the vehicle steering system, wherein the automated driving control code comprises lateral control code for generating the signal representing the target steering angle (Paragraphs 37-41).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuno (US2016/0132055 A1) in view of Takashima (US2015/0068833 A1).
Regarding to Claim 27, Matsuno fails to explicitly disclose, but Takashima teaches a vehicle steering system, wherein the driver-applied steering input is based on an output from a torsion bar sensor of the steering system, the torsion bar sensor being operable in response to a driver input at the steering wheel [Matsuno teaches a torsion bar but silent about any detect mechanism to detect the torsion. Takashima teaches a steering system comprises a torsion bar sensor to detect the torsion to output the torque of the system (Takashima, Fig. 1, Part 51, Paragraphs 34, 35).]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Matsuno to incorporate the teachings of Takashima to add a torsion bar sensor in order to detect the torsion to output the torque of the system (Takashima, Paragraphs 34, 35).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Burton (US2011/0010054 A1) teaches a steering system.
/YI-KAI WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747