DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, and 3-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/452,015 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the amounts of hexafluoropropylene, perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether), and MFR overlap the amounts of the instant claims. Further it is noted that the features of instant claim 1 regarding the amounts of -CF=F2, -CF2H, -COF, COOH, -COOCH3, CONH2 and -CH2OH groups are found in an overlapping range in copending claim 5.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose any amount in the disclosed range including those in the claimed range and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claims 7-8, it would appear that “extrusion formed” and transfer molded are merely product by process limitations and although the copending claims do not disclose the processes as claimed, it is noted that “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process”, In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) . Further, “although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product”, In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir.1983). See MPEP 2113.
Therefore, absent evidence of criticality regarding the presently claimed processes and given that the copending claims meets the requirements of the instant claims, the copending claims clearly meet the requirements of the present claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-3, and 5-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/452,878 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the amounts of hexafluoropropylene, perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether), and MFR overlap the amounts of the instant claims. Further it is noted that the features of instant claim 1 regarding the amounts of -CF=F2, -CF2H, -COF, COOH, -COOCH3, CONH2 and -CH2OH groups are found in an overlapping range in copending claim 5.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose any amount in the disclosed range including those in the claimed range and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claims 7-8, it would appear that “extrusion formed” and transfer molded are merely product by process limitations and although the copending claims do not disclose the processes as claimed, it is noted that “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process”, In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) . Further, “although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product”, In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir.1983). See MPEP 2113.
Therefore, absent evidence of criticality regarding the presently claimed processes and given that the copending claims meets the requirements of the instant claims, the copending claims clearly meet the requirements of the present claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/452,892 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the amounts of hexafluoropropylene, perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether), and MFR overlap the amounts of the instant claims. Further it is noted that the features of instant claim 1 regarding the amounts of -CF=F2, -CF2H, -COF, COOH, -COOCH3, CONH2 and -CH2OH groups are found in an overlapping range in copending claim 5.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose any amount in the disclosed range including those in the claimed range and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claims 7-8, it would appear that “extrusion formed” and transfer molded are merely product by process limitations and although the copending claims do not disclose the processes as claimed, it is noted that “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process”, In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) . Further, “although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product”, In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir.1983). See MPEP 2113.
Therefore, absent evidence of criticality regarding the presently claimed processes and given that the copending claims meets the requirements of the instant claims, the copending claims clearly meet the requirements of the present claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/452,868 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the amounts of hexafluoropropylene, perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether), and MFR overlap the amounts of the instant claims. Further it is noted that the features of instant claim 1 regarding the amounts of -CF=F2, -CF2H, -COF, COOH, -COOCH3, CONH2 and -CH2OH groups are found in an overlapping range in copending claim 5.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose any amount in the disclosed range including those in the claimed range and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claims 7-8, it would appear that “extrusion formed” and transfer molded are merely product by process limitations and although the copending claims do not disclose the processes as claimed, it is noted that “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process”, In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) . Further, “although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product”, In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir.1983). See MPEP 2113.
Therefore, absent evidence of criticality regarding the presently claimed processes and given that the copending claims meets the requirements of the instant claims, the copending claims clearly meet the requirements of the present claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, and 3-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/451,213 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the amounts of hexafluoropropylene, perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether), and MFR overlap the amounts of the instant claims. Further it is noted that the features of instant claim 1 regarding the amounts of -CF=F2, -CF2H, -COF, COOH, -COOCH3, CONH2 and -CH2OH groups are found in an overlapping range in copending claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose any amount in the disclosed range including those in the claimed range and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claims 7-8, it would appear that “extrusion formed” and transfer molded are merely product by process limitations and although the copending claims do not disclose the processes as claimed, it is noted that “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process”, In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) . Further, “although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product”, In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir.1983). See MPEP 2113.
Therefore, absent evidence of criticality regarding the presently claimed processes and given that the copending claims meets the requirements of the instant claims, the copending claims clearly meet the requirements of the present claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiraga et al. (EP 1260526 A1) in view of Isaka et al. (US 2017/0008986 A1).
Regarding claims 1-10, Hiraga discloses a fluorine containing polymer for coating an electric wire or cable, wherein the fluorine containing polymer comprises tetrafluoroethylene, hexafluoropropylene and perfluoroalkyl vinyl ether, having a melt flow rate at 372°C in a range of 0.1 to 100, wherein the polymer may comprise 5 to 25% by weight of hexafluoropropylene and 0 to 20% by weight of perfluoroalkyl vinyl ether, and wherein the perfluoroalkyl vinyl ether may be a perfluoropropyl vinyl ether (i.e. a fluorine -containing copolymer, comprising tetrafluoroethylene unit, hexafluoropropylene unit and perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether) unit, wherein the copolymer has a content of hexafluoropropylene unit overlapping 7.5% to 10.3% or 7.8% to 9.8% by mass with respect to the whole of the monomer units, a content of perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether) unit overlapping 0.8 to 2.9% or 1.5 to 2.4% by mass with respect to the whole of the monomer units, and a melt flow rate at 372°C overlapping 0.7 to 9.5 g/10min or 1.0 to 8.0 g/10min; a coated electric wire comprising a coating layer comprising the fluorine-containing copolymer; a formed article comprising the fluorine-containing copolymer, wherein the formed article is an electric wire)(abstract, [0011]-[0015], [0023] claims 1-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose any amount in the disclosed range including those in the claimed range and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Hiraga discloses that the number of unstable end groups such as -CF=CF2, and -COF should be at most 20 per 106 carbon atoms of the polymer (i.e. 90 or less per 106 main-chain carbon atoms)(Hiraga [0022]). Hiraga does not recite a limitation on -CF2H, -COOH, -COOCH3, -CONH2, or CH2OH.
Isaka discloses a tetrafluoroethylene/hexafluoropropylene copolymer and that -CF2H and unstable end groups such as -COOH, -COOCH3, -CONH2, or CH2OH should be 120 or less per 106 main-chain carbon atoms to prevent lump formation (i.e. overlapping 90 or less per 106 main-chain carbon atoms)([0057]-[0061]).
It is the examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to limit the -CF2H and -COOH, -COOCH3, -CONH2, or CH2OH groups as taught by Isaka in order to prevent lump formation and would thereby arrive at the claimed amount of the -CF2H groups and -COOH, -COOCH3, -CONH2, or CH2OH groups.
Regarding claims 6-8, Hiraga discloses that the coating may be for an electric wire (i.e. an article)(abstract).
Although Hiraga does not disclose injection molded or extrusion formed or transfer molded as claimed, it is noted that “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process”, In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) . Further, “although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product”, In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir.1983). See MPEP 2113.
Therefore, absent evidence of criticality regarding the presently claimed injection molded or extrusion formed or transfer molded and given that Hiraga meets the requirements of the claimed article, Hiraga clearly meets the requirements of the present claims.
Regarding claims 9-10, Hiraga discloses that the coating may be for an electric wire (abstract).
Conclusion
/JAMES C YAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782