DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the reference Murakami et al [US 2020/0378577 A1] does not teach or discloses “A method of operating a vehicle, comprising: activating a light source at a headlight of the vehicle activating a first light function at a headlight of the vehicle to project a beam of light from the light source through a lens along a first direction; and testing the headlight against requirements for the vehicle activating a second light function at the headlight to rotate the headlight to rotate the headlight to project the beam of light from the light source through the lens along a second direction,; and driving the vehicle with the beam of light projected along the second direction.” (see page 6-10).
Examiner disagrees:
(1) Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Murakami et al [US 2020/0378577 A1] in view of (newly cited reference) Tatara [US 2009/0279317 A1] discloses the claim invention.
(2) the amendment raises 112 (b) In regards to claims 1-20, recites “.. testing the headlight against requirements for the vehicle activating a second light function to rotate the headlight to project the beam of light from the light source through the lens along a second direction, and driving the vehicle with the beam of light projected along the second direction.” renders the claim to be indefinite because what is the requirements for the vehicle? There are no meets and bounds describe within the claims on what the requirements are.
Murakami discloses a method of operating a vehicle (Fig. 2, 1), comprising:
activating a light source (Fig. 1, 110) at the headlight of the vehicle (Fig. 2, 1)
the light source (Fig. 1, 110) through a lens (Fig. 1, 102)
activating a first light function (Fig. 2, 100 & Paragraph [0036]) at a headlight of the vehicle to project a beam of light (Fig. 2, 100)
activating a second light function at the headlight to control motor (Fig. 2, 122 & Paragraph [0035])
Murakami does not specify in Fig. 2 activating a first light function at a headlight of the vehicle to project a beam of light along a first direction; and activating a second light function to rotate the headlight to project the beam of light along a second direction, and driving the vehicle with the beam of the light projected along the second direction
Murakami discloses activating a first light function (Fig. 8, Light Source On at t1) at a headlight of the vehicle to project a beam of light along a first direction (Fig. 11a, 110); and activating a second light function (Fig. 8, Motor Speed at t1 to t4 & Fig. 11b, 142) to rotate the headlight (Fig. 11b, 142-144 & Paragraph [0088-89]) the headlight to project the beam of light along a second direction (Fig. 11b, arrows moving up and down), and driving the vehicle with the beam of the light projected along the second direction (Fig. 11b, arrows moving up and down)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Murakami with activating a first light function at a headlight of the vehicle to project a beam of light along a first direction; and activating a second light function to rotate the headlight to project the beam of light along a second direction, and driving the vehicle with the beam of the light projected along the second direction for purpose of starts the motion of the motor, in response to a lighting command for headlight flashing during a stop period of the motor, and continuously lights the semiconductor light source asynchronously with the motion of the motor, during a start-up period that precedes the normal lighting period and improve response to the flashing operation as disclosed by Murakami (Abstract).
Murakami does not specify testing the headlights against requirements for the vehicle
Tatara discloses the headlights against requirements for the vehicle (Paragraph [0099])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use the teachings of Tatara with Murakami to discloses testing the headlights against requirements for the vehicle for purpose of provide a technology for improving the visibility by reducing the glare experienced by a vehicle running in front as disclosed by Tatara (Paragraph [0009]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claims 1-7, recites “A method of operating a vehicle, comprising: activating a light source at a headlight of the vehicle activating a first light function to project a beam of light from the light source through a lens along a first direction; and testing the headlight against requirements for the vehicle activating a second light function to rotate the headlight to project the beam of light from the light source through the lens along a second direction, and driving the vehicle with the beam of light projected along the second direction.” renders the claim to be indefinite because what is the requirements for the vehicle? There are no meets and bounds describe within the claims on what the requirements are.
In regards to claims 8-14, recites “A headlight for a vehicle, comprising: a light source, a lens; a processor configured to: perform a first light function of projecting to project a beam of light from the light source through the lens along a first direction with respect to a horizontal line; and perform a test of the headlight against requirements for the vehicle perform a second light function of the headlight for projecting to project the beam of light from the light source through the lens at a second angle of declension from along a second direction with respect to the horizontal line; and wherein the vehicle is driven with the beam of light projected along the second direction.” renders the claim to be indefinite because what is the requirements for the vehicle? There are no meets and bounds describe within the claims on what the requirements are.
In regards to claims 15-20, recites “A vehicle, comprising: a headlight comprising a light source and a lens: a light source a processor configured perform a first light function of projecting to project a beam of light from the light source through the lens along a first direction with respect to at a first angle of declension from a horizontal line; and perform a test of the headlight against requirements for the vehicle; perform a second light function to project the beam of light from the light source through the lens along a second direction with respect to the horizontal line; and, wherein the first light function is optically combined with the second light function and drive the vehicle with the beam of light projected at the second direction.” renders the claim to be indefinite because what is the requirements for the vehicle? There are no meets and bounds describe within the claims on what the requirements are.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami et al [US 2020/0378577 A1] in view of Tatara [US 2009/0279317 A1]
In regards to claim 1. Murakami discloses a method of operating a vehicle (Fig. 2, 1), comprising:
activating a light source (Fig. 1, 110) at the headlight of the vehicle (Fig. 2, 1)
the light source (Fig. 1, 110) through a lens (Fig. 1, 102)
activating a first light function (Fig. 2, 100 & Paragraph [0036]) at a headlight of the vehicle to project a beam of light (Fig. 2, 100)
activating a second light function at the headlight to control motor (Fig. 2, 122 & Paragraph [0035])
Murakami does not specify in Fig. 2 activating a first light function at a headlight of the vehicle to project a beam of light along a first direction; and activating a second light function to rotate the headlight to project the beam of light along a second direction, and driving the vehicle with the beam of the light projected along the second direction
Murakami discloses activating a first light function (Fig. 8, Light Source On at t1) at a headlight of the vehicle to project a beam of light along a first direction (Fig. 11a, 110); and activating a second light function (Fig. 8, Motor Speed at t1 to t4 & Fig. 11b, 142) to rotate the headlight (Fig. 11b, 142-144 & Paragraph [0088-89]) the headlight to project the beam of light along a second direction (Fig. 11b, arrows moving up and down), and driving the vehicle with the beam of the light projected along the second direction (Fig. 11b, arrows moving up and down)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Murakami with activating a first light function at a headlight of the vehicle to project a beam of light along a first direction; and activating a second light function to rotate the headlight to project the beam of light along a second direction, and driving the vehicle with the beam of the light projected along the second direction for purpose of starts the motion of the motor, in response to a lighting command for headlight flashing during a stop period of the motor, and continuously lights the semiconductor light source asynchronously with the motion of the motor, during a start-up period that precedes the normal lighting period and improve response to the flashing operation as disclosed by Murakami (Abstract).
Murakami does not specify testing the headlights against requirements for the vehicle
Tatara discloses the headlights against requirements for the vehicle (Paragraph [0099])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use the teachings of Tatara with Murakami to discloses testing the headlights against requirements for the vehicle for purpose of provide a technology for improving the visibility by reducing the glare experienced by a vehicle running in front as disclosed by Tatara (Paragraph [0009]).
In regards to claim 2. Murakami in view of Tatara discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising activating the second light function (Fig. 8, Motor Speed at t1 to t4 & Fig. 11b, 142) independently of activating the first light function (Fig. 8, Light Source On at t1).
In regards to claim 4. Murakami in view of Tatara discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the headlight includes an Adaptive Driving Beam lamp (ADB lamp) for performing the first light function (Paragraph [0004-0005]).
In regards to claim 5. Murakami in view of Tatara discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the ADB lamp includes an array of light emitting diodes (Paragraph [0027]).
In regards to claim 6. Murakami in view of Tatara discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the first direction (Fig. 8, Light Source On at t1) is at a first angle (Fig. 11a, 110), the second direction is at a second angle, and activating the second light function (Fig. 8, Motor Speed at t1 to t4 & Fig. 11b, 142) causes the headlight to rotate (Fig. 11b, 142-144 & Paragraph [0088-89]) upward from the first angle to the second angle (Fig. 11b, 142-144). a first downward angle (Tatara: Paragraph [0132-133]) of from a horizontal line; the second downward angle (Tatara: Paragraph [0132-133]) from a horizontal line.
In regards to claim 7. Murakami in view of Tatara discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the second downward angle is zero (Tatara: Paragraph [0132-133]).
In regards to claim 8. Murakami in view of Tatara discloses a headlight for a vehicle, comprising:
a processor (Fig. 2, 200 & Paragraph [003]) configured to:
perform a first light function (Fig. 8, Light Source On at t1) to project a beam of light (Fig. 2, 100 & Paragraph [0036]) from the light source (Fig. 2, 110) through the lens (Fig. 1, 102); and perform a second light function (Fig. 8, Motor Speed at t1 to t4 & Fig. 11b, 142) to project the beam of light (Fig. 2, 122 & Paragraph [0035]) the light source (Fig. 2, 110) through the lens (Fig. 1, 102)
a lens (Fig. 1, 102); the light source (Fig. 2, 110) through the lens (Fig. 1, 102);
Murakami does not specify in Fig. 2 along a first direction with respect to a horizontal line; along a second direction with respect to the horizontal line and wherein the vehicle is driven with the beam of light projected along the second direction.
Murakami discloses along a first direction (Fig. 11b, arrows moving up and down) with respect to a horizontal line (Fig. 11b, arrows moving up and down); along a second direction (Fig. 11b, arrows moving up and down) with respect to the horizontal line (Fig. 11b, arrows moving up and down) and wherein the vehicle is driven with the beam of light projected along the second direction (Fig. 11b, arrows moving up and down).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Murakami with along a first direction with respect to a horizontal line; along a second direction with respect to the horizontal line and wherein the vehicle is driven with the beam of light projected along the second direction for purpose of starts the motion of the motor, in response to a lighting command for headlight flashing during a stop period of the motor, and continuously lights the semiconductor light source asynchronously with the motion of the motor, during a start-up period that precedes the normal lighting period and improve response to the flashing operation as disclosed by Murakami (Abstract).
Murakami does not specify testing the headlights against requirements for the vehicle
Tatara discloses the headlights against requirements for the vehicle (Paragraph [0099])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use the teachings of Tatara with Murakami to discloses testing the headlights against requirements for the vehicle for purpose of provide a technology for improving the visibility by reducing the glare experienced by a vehicle running in front as disclosed by Tatara (Paragraph [0009]).
In regards to claim 9. Murakami in view of Tatara discloses the headlight of claim 8, wherein the second light function (Fig. 8, Motor Speed at t1 to t4 & Fig. 11b, 142) is configured to be activated independently of the first light function (Fig. 8, Light Source On at t1).
In regards to claim 10. Murakami in view of Tatara discloses the headlight of claim 9, further comprising a switch (Fig. 8, Motor Speed at t1 to t4 & Fig. 11b, 142 & Paragraph [0035]) configured to activate the second light function (Fig. 8, Motor Speed at t1 to t4 & Fig. 11b, 142).
In regards to claim 11. Murakami in view of Tatara discloses the headlight of claim 8, wherein the light source is an Adaptive Driving Beam lamp (ADB lamp) disposed (Paragraph [0004-0005]) within a compartment of the headlight.
In regards to claim 12. Murakami in view of Tatara discloses the headlight of claim 11, wherein the ADB lamp includes an array of light emitting diodes (Paragraph [0004-0005]).
In regards to claim 13. Murakami in view of Tatara discloses the headlight of claim 12, wherein the first direction (Tatara: Paragraph [0132-133]) is at a first downward angle (Fig. 11b, arrows moving up and down) with respect to the horizontal line, the second direction (Tatara: Paragraph [0132-133]). is at second downward angle (Fig. 11b, arrows moving up and down) with respect to the horizontal line and the headlight is configured to rotate (Fig. 8, Motor Speed at t1 to t4 & Fig. 11b, 142) upward from the first downward angle (Tatara Paragraph [0063]) to the second angle (Tatara Paragraph [0063]) upon activating the second light function (Fig. 8, Motor Speed at t1 to t4 & Fig. 11b, 142).
In regards to claim 14. Murakami in view of Tatara discloses the headlight of claim 13, wherein the second downward angle is zero (Tatara Paragraph [0063]).
In regards to claim 15. Murakami in view of Tatara discloses a vehicle, comprising:
a headlight (Fig. 1, 2) comprising a light source (Fig. 1, 110) and a lens (Fig. 1, 102):
a processor (Fig. 2, 206) configured to:
perform a first light function (Fig. 8, Light Source On at t1) of projecting a beam of light (Fig. 2, 100 & Paragraph [0036]); and a second light function (Fig. 8, Motor Speed at t1 to t4 & Fig. 11b, 142). of the headlight for projecting the beam of light (Fig. 2, 122 & Paragraph [0035]),
Murakami does not specify in Fig. 2 along a first direction with respect to a horizontal line; along a second direction with respect to the horizontal line; drive the vehicle with the beam of light projected at the second direction.
Murakami discloses along a first direction with respect to a horizontal line (Fig. 11b, arrows moving up and down); along a second direction with respect to the horizontal line (Fig. 11b, arrows moving up and down); drive the vehicle with the beam of light projected at the second direction (Paragraph [0088-89])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Murakami with wherein the first light function is optically combined with the second light function for purpose of starts the motion of the motor, in response to a lighting command for headlight flashing during a stop period of the motor, and continuously lights the semiconductor light source asynchronously with the motion of the motor, during a start-up period that precedes the normal lighting period and improve response to the flashing operation as disclosed by Murakami (Abstract).
Murakami does not specify testing the headlights against requirements for the vehicle
Tatara discloses the headlights against requirements for the vehicle (Paragraph [0099])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use the teachings of Tatara with Murakami to discloses testing the headlights against requirements for the vehicle for purpose of provide a technology for improving the visibility by reducing the glare experienced by a vehicle running in front as disclosed by Tatara (Paragraph [0009]).
In regards to claim 16. Murakami in view of Tatara the vehicle of claim 15, wherein the second light function (Fig. 8, Motor Speed at t1 to t4 & Fig. 11b, 142) is configured to be activated independently of the first light function (Fig. 8, Light Source On at t1).
In regards to claim 17. Murakami in view of Tatara the vehicle of claim 16, further comprising a switch (Fig. 8, Motor Speed at t1 to t4 & Fig. 11b, 142 & Paragraph [0035]) configured to activate the second light function (Fig. 8, Motor Speed at t1 to t4 & Fig. 11b, 142).
In regards to claim 18. Murakami in view of Tatara the vehicle of claim 15, wherein the light source is an Adaptive Driving Beam lamp (ADB lamp) disposed within a compartment of the headlight (Paragraph [0004-0005]).
In regards to claim 19. Murakami in view of Tatara the vehicle of claim 18, wherein the ADB lamp includes an array of light emitting diodes (Paragraph [0004-0005]).
In regards to claim 20. Murakami in view of Tatara the vehicle of claim 19, wherein wherein the first direction (Tatara: Paragraph [0132-133]) is at a first downward angle (Fig. 11b, arrows moving up and down) with respect to the horizontal line, the second direction (Tatara: Paragraph [0132-133]) is at second downward angle (Fig. 11b, arrows moving up and down) with respect to the horizontal line; the headlight is configured to rotate upward (Fig. 8, Motor Speed at t1 to t4 & Fig. 11b, 142) from the first downhole angle (Tatara Paragraph [0063]) to the second downward angle (Tatara Paragraph [0063]) upon activating the second light function (Fig. 8, Motor Speed at t1 to t4 & Fig. 11b, 142).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami et al [US 2020/0378577 A1] in view of Wille et al [US 2012/0044709 A1]
In regards to claim 3. Murakami discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising activating the second light function (Fig. 8, Motor Speed at t1 to t4 & Fig. 11b, 142)
Murakami does not specify via a switch operated by a driver.
Wille discloses via a switch operated by a driver (Paragraph [0004] “With the manual headlamp leveling customary in today's motor vehicles the driver has the possibility to adapt the inclination of the headlamp to the current load condition by means of a switch on the dashboard”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Murakami with via a switch operated by a driver for purpose of allowing the driver to adjust the angle of the headlamps to prevent glare on oncoming vehicles as discloses by Wille (Paragraph [0004]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
WEI (VICTOR) CHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2844
/WEI (VICTOR) Y CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844