Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
2. This in response to an RCE amendment filed 12/05/2025. Claim 21 has been added. Claim 12 has been canceled. Claims 1, 10 and 13-14 have been amended. Claims 1-11 and 13-21 are now pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 and 13-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vandikas (Pub.No.: 2018/0270351 A1) in view of Riahi et al. (Pub.No.: 2014/0270109 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 14, Vandikas teaches a method, apparatus and one or more non-transitory computer readable storage media encoded with instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations (see abstract) comprising:
obtaining an incoming call directed to an enterprise entity (reads on receiving the call, see [0021] [0045-0055], [0061] and [0026] wherein the first group of subscribers already defined and registered in the call manger node 200);
identifying a candidate list of enterprise endpoint devices to which to route the incoming call (see [0045-0055] and [0061]);
transmitting, to a routing policy server, a query regarding whether the incoming call is to be routed to the candidate list of enterprise endpoint devices, wherein the query includes an indication of the candidate list of enterprise devices (reads on the first group list, see [0045-0055] and [0061]); and
obtaining, from the routing policy server, a response including an updated list of enterprise endpoint devices to which to route the incoming call, wherein the updated list is different than the candidate list (note that a call manager node may send a second caller-specific group number, see [0050]).
Vandikas does not specifically teach “a hunt group including a call hunt policy” wherein the call hunt policy”, “determining, by the call agent, that the call hunt policy includes a policy-enabled indicator that is set to true to indicate that the call agent is to query a routing policy server to determine whether the incoming call is to be routed to the candidate list of enterprise endpoint devices, wherein the call hunt policy further comprises identifying information for the routing policy server” and “based on policy-enabled indicator being set to true for the call hunt policy and the identifying information for the routing policy server included in the call hunt policy”. In other words, Vandikas does not specifically teach that the call hunt policy includes a policy-enabled indicator set to true or explicitly describe identifying information for the routing policy server as part of the call hunt policy.
However, Riahi teaches routing strategies/policies that enable or trigger routing server consultation, see ([0201]- [0202]). Riahi explicitly teaches a call server sends a routing request to a routing server (as in [0102]), upon receiving the request, the routing server consult other system components and determines how the call should be routed based on the enterprise contact center’s policy or strategy [see [0201]], then the routing server responds back to the call server with routing instructions that cause the call to be routed to a selected destination different from the original routing attempt (see [0102]-[0202]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify Vandikas to include an explicit policy-enabled indicator within the call hunt policy, as taught by Riahi, to control whether the call agent queries a routing policy server.
Regarding claims 2 and 15, the combination of Vandikas and Riahi teaches wherein the updated list identifies at least one new enterprise endpoint device that is not included in the candidate list of enterprise endpoint devices (see Vandikas [0050] and [0099]).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, the combination of Vandikas and Riahi teaches wherein the at least one new enterprise endpoint device is included in the updated list based on availability information of at least one enterprise user associated with the at least one new enterprise endpoint device (may reads on the availability for that specific caller, see Vandikas [0023]).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, the combination of Vandikas and Riahi teaches wherein the updated list does not include at least one endpoint device that is included in the candidate list of enterprise endpoint devices (reads on new second group, see Vandikas [0050] and [0099]).
Regarding claims 5, 11 and 18, the combination of Vandikas and Riahi teaches wherein the response further identifies a strategy through which to route the incoming call to the enterprise endpoint devices of the updated list (see Vandikas [0076-0077]).
Claims 6 and 19 recite “wherein the strategy indicates that the incoming call is to be routed to all of the enterprise endpoint devices simultaneously”. Vandikas features already addressed in the above rejection. Note that Vandikas teaches does not specifically teach “incoming call is to be routed to all of the enterprise endpoint devices simultaneously” as recited in dependent claims 6, 12 and 19, however, Vandikas disclosed sequential routing ad discussed in [0030] and Fig.2 elements D1, D2 and D3. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to choose best routing strategy based on need, desire and other rule/priorities within the Vandikas system.
Regarding claims 7 and 20, the combination of Vandikas and Riahi teaches wherein the strategy indicates one of:
a top-down serial strategy in which routing for the incoming call is to be provided in a fixed order from a first enterprise endpoint of the updated list to a last enterprise endpoint of the updated list (see Vandikas [0030] and Fig.2, elements D1, D2 and D3);
a circular serial strategy in which routing for the incoming call is to start with a first enterprise endpoint device of the updated list;
a longest-idle serial strategy in which routing for the incoming call is to start with an enterprise endpoint device of the updated list that has been idle a longest amount of time; or
a weighted serial strategy in which the incoming call is to start with an enterprise endpoint device of the updated list based on a statistical basis.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Vandikas and Riahi teaches wherein the strategy indicates one of:
a top-down serial strategy in which routing for the incoming call is to be provided in a fixed order from a first enterprise endpoint of the updated list to a last enterprise endpoint of the updated list (see Vandikas [0030] and Fig.2, elements D1, D2 and D3);
a circular serial strategy in which routing for the incoming call is to start with a first enterprise endpoint device of the updated list;
a longest-idle serial strategy in which routing for the incoming call is to start with an enterprise endpoint device of the updated list that has been idle a longest amount of time;
a weighted serial strategy in which the incoming call is to start with an enterprise endpoint device of the updated list based on a statistical basis; or
that the incoming call is to be routed to all of the enterprise endpoint devices simultaneously.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Vandikas and Riahi teaches wherein the identifying information for the routing policy server is a Uniform Resource Identifier (URI), an Internet Protocol (IP) address, or a fully qualified domain name (FQDN) for the routing policy server (see [0137] and [0208] of Riahi and [0028] of Vandikas).
Conclusion
/RASHA S AL AUBAIDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693