DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed November 18, 2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-19 under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of 35 USC § 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 11153829 B2) in view of Fushiki (US 20250274742 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang et al. teaches a method performed by a base station, the method comprising: receiving, from a user equipment (UE), capability information for indicating that the UE supports an intra-band…new radio-carrier aggregation (NR-CA) (Paragraph 154, 184, 189, The UE transmits capability information identifying support for intra-band non-contiguous carrier aggregation based on the presence of multiple RF chains, which the base station explicitly receives as a UE capability indication) (Paragraph 18, 55, 58, 79, 81, The UE explicitly reports carrier-aggregation-related capabilities, including intra-band non-contiguous operation enabled by multiple RF chains, to the base station via RRC signaling, which constitutes receiving UE capability information indicating support for intra-band non-collocated NR carrier aggregation); and based on the capability information, transmitting, to the UE, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including information for indicating one of radio frequency (RF) requirements (Paragraph 150, 154, 162, 191, Based on the received UE capability indicating single-RF-chain intra-band contiguous operation versus multi-RF-chain intra-band non-contiguous operation, the base station configures and signals UE-specific control parameters via reconfiguration signaling that correspond to distinct RF requirement sets for the respective UE capability types) (Paragraph 55, 58, 81, 118, The base station uses the received UE capability information to configure carrier aggregation operation via RRC signaling, differentiating RF chain architectures that correspond to contiguous intra-band (type-1-like) versus non-contiguous intra-band (type-2-like) carrier aggregation requirements and conveying the appropriate configuration to the UE) (Paragraph 154, 184, 189, 191, The UE capability indication expressly differentiates single-RF-chain intra-band contiguous carrier operation from multi-RF-chain intra-band non-contiguous carrier operation, where multiple RF chains necessarily correspond to physically distinct, non-collocated RF processing paths, and the base station receives this capability and configures UE operation accordingly, thereby indicating RF requirements specific to intra-band non-collocated carrier aggregation).
Wang et al. does not explicitly teach non-collocated …of a type 1 UE for an intra band NR-CA and RF requirements of a type 2 UE for the intra-band non-collocated NR-CA.
However, Fushiki teaches non-collocated (Paragraph 30, 64, 65, 78, 79, 94, 97–99, The passage teaches that a base station explicitly receives UE capability information via UECapabilityInformation signaling that indicates UE support for intra-band non-collocated operation in carrier-aggregation/dual-connectivity scenarios)…of a type 1 UE for an intra band NR-CA and RF requirements of a type 2 UE for the intra-band non-collocated NR-CA (Paragraph 74, 75, 83, 97–99, The passage teaches that the base station uses received UE capability/type information (including Type 1 and Type 2 distinctions tied to collocated and non-collocated intra-band operation) to generate and transmit an RRCReconfiguration message conveying configuration information corresponding to those RF capability requirements).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to non-collocated …of a type 1 UE for an intra band NR-CA and RF requirements of a type 2 UE for the intra-band non-collocated NR-CA as taught by Fushiki in the system of Wang et al., so that it would enable the base station to accurately interpret UE collocation characteristics and reliably configure appropriate RRC reconfiguration parameters aligned with standardized Type-1 and Type-2 RF architectures for efficient and interoperable carrier aggregation operation.
Regarding claim 2, Wang et al. teaches the information further indicates one of maximum receiving time difference (MRTD) requirements for the intra-band NR-CA and MRTD requirements for the intra-band non-collocated NR-CA (Paragraph 19, 64–66, 80–81, 132, 142, These passages describe UE-signaled capability information that specifies a time-difference threshold (overlap/unsynchronization limit) for component carriers—i.e., a maximum allowable timing difference—covering intra-band CA generally and explicitly addressing different TAGs used by intra-band non-collocated carriers).
Regarding claim 3, Wang et al. teaches the MRTD requirements for the intra-band NR-CA correspond to 3 microseconds, and wherein the MRTD requirements for the intra-band non-collocated NR-CA correspond to 33 microseconds (Paragraph 55, 64, intra-band collocated NR-CA uses a single TAG with tightly aligned timing, while intra-band non-collocated NR-CA uses multiple TAGs that explicitly permit much larger timing misalignment on the order of tens of microseconds, corresponding to different MRTD requirements).
Regarding claim 4, Wang et al. teaches the RF requirements of the type 1 UE for the intra-band NR-CA does not include power imbalance requirements, and wherein the RF requirements of the type 2 UE for the intra-band non-collocated NR-CA include the power imbalance requirements (Paragraph 153–155, 159, 184, The passage separates intra-band contiguous/single-TAG CA (RF capability defined by RF chains with no overlap or imbalance handling) from intra-band non-contiguous/non-collocated CA across different TAGs that explicitly requires overlap thresholds and power control actions to handle transmit power imbalance).
Regarding claim 5, Wang et al. teaches the type 2 UE supports up to two multiple input multiple output (MIMO) layers (Paragraph 36, 79, 141, The passage teaches that a UE supports MIMO spatial layers and that the number of supported layers is limited by and reported based on the UE’s available RF chains).
Regarding claim 6, Wang et al. teaches a base station comprising: at least one transceiver; memory: and at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive, from a user equipment (UE), capability information for indicating that the UE supports an intra-band…new radio-carrier aggregation (NR-CA) (Paragraph 154, 184, 189, The UE transmits capability information identifying support for intra-band non-contiguous carrier aggregation based on the presence of multiple RF chains, which the base station explicitly receives as a UE capability indication) (Paragraph 18, 55, 58, 79, 81, The UE explicitly reports carrier-aggregation-related capabilities, including intra-band non-contiguous operation enabled by multiple RF chains, to the base station via RRC signaling, which constitutes receiving UE capability information indicating support for intra-band non-collocated NR carrier aggregation); and based on the capability information, transmit, to the UE, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including information for indicating one of radio frequency (RF) requirements (Paragraph 150, 154, 162, 191, Based on the received UE capability indicating single-RF-chain intra-band contiguous operation versus multi-RF-chain intra-band non-contiguous operation, the base station configures and signals UE-specific control parameters via reconfiguration signaling that correspond to distinct RF requirement sets for the respective UE capability types) (Paragraph 55, 58, 81, 118, The base station uses the received UE capability information to configure carrier aggregation operation via RRC signaling, differentiating RF chain architectures that correspond to contiguous intra-band (type-1-like) versus non-contiguous intra-band (type-2-like) carrier aggregation requirements and conveying the appropriate configuration to the UE) (Paragraph 154, 184, 189, 191, The UE capability indication expressly differentiates single-RF-chain intra-band contiguous carrier operation from multi-RF-chain intra-band non-contiguous carrier operation, where multiple RF chains necessarily correspond to physically distinct, non-collocated RF processing paths, and the base station receives this capability and configures UE operation accordingly, thereby indicating RF requirements specific to intra-band non-collocated carrier aggregation).
Wang et al. does not explicitly teach non-collocated …of a type 1 UE for an intra band NR-CA and RF requirements of a type 2 UE for the intra-band non-collocated NR-CA.
However, Fushiki teaches non-collocated (Paragraph 30, 64, 65, 78, 79, 94, 97–99, The passage teaches that a base station explicitly receives UE capability information via UECapabilityInformation signaling that indicates UE support for intra-band non-collocated operation in carrier-aggregation/dual-connectivity scenarios)…of a type 1 UE for an intra band NR-CA and RF requirements of a type 2 UE for the intra-band non-collocated NR-CA (Paragraph 74, 75, 83, 97–99, The passage teaches that the base station uses received UE capability/type information (including Type 1 and Type 2 distinctions tied to collocated and non-collocated intra-band operation) to generate and transmit an RRCReconfiguration message conveying configuration information corresponding to those RF capability requirements).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to non-collocated …of a type 1 UE for an intra band NR-CA and RF requirements of a type 2 UE for the intra-band non-collocated NR-CA as taught by Fushiki in the system of Wang et al., so that it would enable the base station to accurately interpret UE collocation characteristics and reliably configure appropriate RRC reconfiguration parameters aligned with standardized Type-1 and Type-2 RF architectures for efficient and interoperable carrier aggregation operation.
Regarding claim 7, Wang et al. teaches the information further indicates one of maximum receiving time difference (MRTD) requirements for the intra-band NR-CA and MRTD requirements for the intra-band non-collocated NR-CA (Paragraph 19, 64–66, 80–81, 132, 142, These passages describe UE-signaled capability information that specifies a time-difference threshold (overlap/unsynchronization limit) for component carriers—i.e., a maximum allowable timing difference—covering intra-band CA generally and explicitly addressing different TAGs used by intra-band non-collocated carriers).
Regarding claim 8, Wang et al. teaches the MRTD requirements for the intra-band NR-CA correspond to 3 microseconds, and wherein the MRTD requirements for the intra-band non-collocated NR-CA correspond to 33 microseconds (Paragraph 55, 64, intra-band collocated NR-CA uses a single TAG with tightly aligned timing, while intra-band non-collocated NR-CA uses multiple TAGs that explicitly permit much larger timing misalignment on the order of tens of microseconds, corresponding to different MRTD requirements).
Regarding claim 9, Wang et al. teaches the RF requirements of the type 1 UE for the intra-band NR-CA does not include power imbalance requirements, and wherein the RF requirements of the type 2 UE for the intra-band non-collocated NR-CA include the power imbalance requirements (Paragraph 153–155, 159, 184, The passage separates intra-band contiguous/single-TAG CA (RF capability defined by RF chains with no overlap or imbalance handling) from intra-band non-contiguous/non-collocated CA across different TAGs that explicitly requires overlap thresholds and power control actions to handle transmit power imbalance).
Regarding claim 10, Wang et al. teaches the type 2 UE supports up to two multiple input multiple output (MIMO) layers (Paragraph 36, 79, 141, The passage teaches that a UE supports MIMO spatial layers and that the number of supported layers is limited by and reported based on the UE’s available RF chains).
Regarding claim 11, Wang et al. teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: transmitting, to a base station, capability information for indicating that the UE supports an intra-band…new radio-carrier aggregation (NR-CA) (Paragraph 154, 203, The UE transmits capability information identifying support for intra-band non-collocated carrier aggregation by indicating availability of multiple RF chains that enable intra-band non-contiguous CC operation); receiving, from the base station, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including information for indicating one of radio frequency (RF) requirements (Paragraph 150, 154, 191, Based on the UE’s reported RF-chain-dependent capability, the base station configures and signals UE-specific control information that distinguishes RF requirements for intra-band contiguous operation using a single RF chain (type-1-equivalent) versus intra-band non-collocated operation using multiple RF chains (type-2-equivalent)); and applying the indicated RF requirements (Paragraph 150, 157, 164, 221, The UE applies the indicated RF requirements by operating its RF chains, power control, and transmission behavior in accordance with the capability-dependent configuration received from the base station).
Wang et al. does not explicitly teach non-collocated …of a type 1 UE for an intra band NR-CA and RF requirements of a type 2 UE for the intra-band non-collocated NR-CA.
However, Fushiki teaches non-collocated (Paragraph 30, 64, 65, 78, 79, 94, 97–99, The passage teaches that a base station explicitly receives UE capability information via UECapabilityInformation signaling that indicates UE support for intra-band non-collocated operation in carrier-aggregation/dual-connectivity scenarios)…of a type 1 UE for an intra band NR-CA and RF requirements of a type 2 UE for the intra-band non-collocated NR-CA (Paragraph 74, 75, 83, 97–99, The passage teaches that the base station uses received UE capability/type information (including Type 1 and Type 2 distinctions tied to collocated and non-collocated intra-band operation) to generate and transmit an RRCReconfiguration message conveying configuration information corresponding to those RF capability requirements).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to non-collocated …of a type 1 UE for an intra band NR-CA and RF requirements of a type 2 UE for the intra-band non-collocated NR-CA as taught by Fushiki in the system of Wang et al., so that it would enable the base station to accurately interpret UE collocation characteristics and reliably configure appropriate RRC reconfiguration parameters aligned with standardized Type-1 and Type-2 RF architectures for efficient and interoperable carrier aggregation operation.
Regarding claim 12, Wang et al. teaches the information further indicates one of maximum receiving time difference (MRTD) requirements for the intra-band NR-CA and MRTD requirements for the intra-band non-collocated NR-CA (Paragraph 19, 64–66, 80–81, 132, 142, These passages describe UE-signaled capability information that specifies a time-difference threshold (overlap/unsynchronization limit) for component carriers—i.e., a maximum allowable timing difference—covering intra-band CA generally and explicitly addressing different TAGs used by intra-band non-collocated carriers).
Regarding claim 13, Wang et al. teaches the MRTD requirements for the intra-band NR-CA correspond to 3 microseconds, and wherein the MRTD requirements for the intra-band non-collocated NR-CA correspond to 33 microseconds (Paragraph 55, 64, intra-band collocated NR-CA uses a single TAG with tightly aligned timing, while intra-band non-collocated NR-CA uses multiple TAGs that explicitly permit much larger timing misalignment on the order of tens of microseconds, corresponding to different MRTD requirements).
Regarding claim 14, Wang et al. teaches the RF requirements of the type 1 UE for the intra-band NR-CA does not include power imbalance requirements, and wherein the RF requirements of the type 2 UE for the intra-band non-collocated NR-CA include the power imbalance requirements (Paragraph 153–155, 159, 184, The passage separates intra-band contiguous/single-TAG CA (RF capability defined by RF chains with no overlap or imbalance handling) from intra-band non-contiguous/non-collocated CA across different TAGs that explicitly requires overlap thresholds and power control actions to handle transmit power imbalance).
Regarding claim 15, Wang et al. teaches the type 2 UE supports up to two multiple input multiple output (MIMO) layers (Paragraph 36, 79, 141, The passage teaches that a UE supports MIMO spatial layers and that the number of supported layers is limited by and reported based on the UE’s available RF chains).
Regarding claim 16, Wang et al. teaches a user equipment (UE) comprising: at least one transceiver; memory; and a processor, comprising processing circuitry, configured to: control to transmit, to a base station, capability information for indicating that the UE supports an intra-band…new radio-carrier aggregation (NR-CA) (Paragraph 154, 203, The UE transmits capability information identifying support for intra-band non-collocated carrier aggregation by indicating availability of multiple RF chains that enable intra-band non-contiguous CC operation); receive, from the base station, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including information for indicating one of radio frequency (RF) requirements (Paragraph 150, 154, 191, Based on the UE’s reported RF-chain-dependent capability, the base station configures and signals UE-specific control information that distinguishes RF requirements for intra-band contiguous operation using a single RF chain (type-1-equivalent) versus intra-band non-collocated operation using multiple RF chains (type-2-equivalent)); and apply the indicated RF requirements (Paragraph 150, 157, 164, 221, The UE applies the indicated RF requirements by operating its RF chains, power control, and transmission behavior in accordance with the capability-dependent configuration received from the base station).
Wang et al. does not explicitly teach non-collocated …of a type 1 UE for an intra band NR-CA and RF requirements of a type 2 UE for the intra-band non-collocated NR-CA.
However, Fushiki teaches non-collocated (Paragraph 30, 64, 65, 78, 79, 94, 97–99, The passage teaches that a base station explicitly receives UE capability information via UECapabilityInformation signaling that indicates UE support for intra-band non-collocated operation in carrier-aggregation/dual-connectivity scenarios)…of a type 1 UE for an intra band NR-CA and RF requirements of a type 2 UE for the intra-band non-collocated NR-CA (Paragraph 74, 75, 83, 97–99, The passage teaches that the base station uses received UE capability/type information (including Type 1 and Type 2 distinctions tied to collocated and non-collocated intra-band operation) to generate and transmit an RRCReconfiguration message conveying configuration information corresponding to those RF capability requirements).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to non-collocated …of a type 1 UE for an intra band NR-CA and RF requirements of a type 2 UE for the intra-band non-collocated NR-CA as taught by Fushiki in the system of Wang et al., so that it would enable the base station to accurately interpret UE collocation characteristics and reliably configure appropriate RRC reconfiguration parameters aligned with standardized Type-1 and Type-2 RF architectures for efficient and interoperable carrier aggregation operation.
Regarding claim 17, Wang et al. teaches the information further indicates one of maximum receiving time difference (MRTD) requirements for the intra-band NR-CA and MRTD requirements for the intra-band non-collocated NR-CA (Paragraph 19, 64–66, 80–81, 132, 142, These passages describe UE-signaled capability information that specifies a time-difference threshold (overlap/unsynchronization limit) for component carriers—i.e., a maximum allowable timing difference—covering intra-band CA generally and explicitly addressing different TAGs used by intra-band non-collocated carriers).
Regarding claim 18, Wang et al. teaches the MRTD requirements for the intra-band NR-CA correspond to 3 microseconds, and wherein the MRTD requirements for the intra-band non-collocated NR-CA correspond to 33 microseconds (Paragraph 55, 64, intra-band collocated NR-CA uses a single TAG with tightly aligned timing, while intra-band non-collocated NR-CA uses multiple TAGs that explicitly permit much larger timing misalignment on the order of tens of microseconds, corresponding to different MRTD requirements).
Regarding claim 19, Wang et al. teaches the RF requirements of the type 1 UE for the intra-band NR-CA does not include power imbalance requirements wherein the RF requirements of the type 2 UE for the intra-band non-collocated NR-CA include the power imbalance requirements (Paragraph 153–155, 159, 184, The passage separates intra-band contiguous/single-TAG CA (RF capability defined by RF chains with no overlap or imbalance handling) from intra-band non-contiguous/non-collocated CA across different TAGs that explicitly requires overlap thresholds and power control actions to handle transmit power imbalance), and wherein the type 2 UE supports up to two multiple input multiple output (MIMO) layers (Paragraph 36, 79, 141, The passage teaches that a UE supports MIMO spatial layers and that the number of supported layers is limited by and reported based on the UE’s available RF chains).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhou et al. (US 20210185646 A1)
Zhou et al. (US 20250233722 A1)
Xi et al. (US 20250202745 A1)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW SHAJI KURIAN/ /IQBAL ZAIDI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464 Examiner, Art Unit 2464